Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grand Theft Auto Online is a dynamic and persistent online world for SIXTEEN players that begins by sharing gameplay features, geography and mechanics with Grand Theft Auto V, but continues to expand and evolve with new content created by Rockstar Games and the Grand Theft Auto community.Grand Theft Auto Online is a dynamic and persistent online world for SIXTEEN players that begins by sharing gameplay features, geography and mechanics with Grand Theft Auto V, but continues to expand and evolve with new content created by Rockstar Games and the Grand Theft Auto community. Grand Theft Auto Online takes the fundamental Grand Theft Auto concepts of freedom, ambient activity and mission-based gameplay and makes them available to multiple players in a detailed and responsive online world. In GTA Online, players have the freedom to explore alone or with friends, work cooperatively to complete missions, come together to participate in activities and ambient events, or compete in traditional game modes with the larger community, all with the personality and refined mechanics of Grand Theft Auto V. Players can invest in their character through customizing their appearance, improving their stats, owning customized vehicles, purchasing personal property, and taking part in missions, jobs and activities to earn reputation and cash to open up new opportunities to rise through the criminal ranks. The world of Grand Theft Auto Online will constantly grow and change as new content is added, creating the first ever persistent and dynamic Grand Theft Auto game world. Access to Grand Theft Auto Online is free with every retail copy of Grand Theft Auto V. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    95
    An ambitious project that delivers one of the most compelling and enjoyable online experiences ever. GTA Online is an amusement park at your disposal where the player decides what to do and how to do it. Amazing.
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    91
    Grand Theft Auto Online is very entertaining and it has a lot of variation. Perhaps more than any online action game before. The player collecting routines could be better, though. [Nov 2013]
  3. 76
    A plethora of content plagued by a buggy release that can be ridiculously frustrating.
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    75
    When everything works, it can be a really fun experience. But the character lost bug is inexcusable in a permanent online experience and the stability problems show this was not ready for prime time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 36
  2. Negative: 19 out of 36
  1. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    everything is up and running compared to the problems at launch. very very addicting and fun. putting bounties on people and putting out hitseverything is up and running compared to the problems at launch. very very addicting and fun. putting bounties on people and putting out hits are only a couple of the things that make gta online so much fun. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    it seems all the bad reviews are about the bugs, which were fixed when I was playing and with friends this is fun otherwise its a fragfest butit seems all the bad reviews are about the bugs, which were fixed when I was playing and with friends this is fun otherwise its a fragfest but you should be use to that if you play cod or bf, im just glad I can do it in a sports car or golf cart so its fun for me and I really like the level creator for deathmatches and races. so all the neg reviews need to try it again, it is free to play online after all and 1 month after it launched all the bugs were gone, atleast not any when I would play, so they didn't even give the gme a month, you don't need ps plus to play it and no monthly charge, so quit being whiners Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    8
    So after 1 week of issues, I have finally gone to the moment of playing GTA online. Despite network issues, it feels like a good game (withSo after 1 week of issues, I have finally gone to the moment of playing GTA online. Despite network issues, it feels like a good game (with the only issues of going into a session or timing out in a match that is about to begin. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    I have held back on writing a review on this hoping the issues would be solved, however since the latest patch made it so hours spent on myI have held back on writing a review on this hoping the issues would be solved, however since the latest patch made it so hours spent on my character were lost as it did not save I no longer will hold back. Other multiplayer games (MMO's) do not get the favourable treatment that some review sights are giving Rockstar by holding back with reviews. Rockstar anticipated there would be issues, if so why was there no public beta testing period before release!? I admit when it works, I have had one hell of a laugh with my friends online. The graphics are really good, it runs smoothly 99% of the time but the issues with the cloud servers plague this game either not letting you in at all or now not saving progress meaning wasted hours. This is now weeks after release and is unacceptable with no signs of improving and as stated the last patch seems to have made it worse. The character creator is the worst I have ever come across, why they didn't go for something that allowed the player to be in full control of how they look is beyond me, I am forced to wear something on my face due to the fact that my eyes look extremely freakish as though they are trying to drill through to the back of my head. I really hope all issues with this game are solved but I have to admit I'm in doubt Rockstar will be able to fix the mess the game is left in seeing as there is no sign of light at the end of the tunnel. I have given it a 4 out of 10 as when it has briefly worked, I have never laughed so much in my life with my friends online Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    2
    How rockstar could up the online part of the greatest game this year is beyond me, it seems like they spent all the developing time of GTAHow rockstar could up the online part of the greatest game this year is beyond me, it seems like they spent all the developing time of GTA online on marketing since the game is in no way as good as it was portrayed to be. One of the biggest reasons for that is the way rockstar talked about performing heists with your friends when the only "heist" you can perform is robbing a liquor store or a 24/7 not robbing banks as they showed in the trailer.
    The worst thing is the community where everyone just shoots everyone on sight because no one uses voice chat, and if you don't want to play on public like me and just with your friends you will have a hard time doing missions and jobs since when you leave a job you will be kicked right back into public instead of private and sometimes you end up in different jobs then your friends after starting a tennis match for example.
    If you expected a multiplayer like rockstar talked about you better have 15 friends that want's to play like you otherwise you mighte wanna wait for something else.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    0
    The concept of GTA:O is a good one, but extremely poorly executed. The progression works in a nice flowing way. Winning races unlock carThe concept of GTA:O is a good one, but extremely poorly executed. The progression works in a nice flowing way. Winning races unlock car upgrades - Good. level progression unlocks weapons, clothing etc - good. The Huge downside is the abysmal amount of money you get from completing missions. A quick example: the mission that is shortest and gives the most cash for your time gives $18750. Subtract the average amount to refill ammo and armour before/after missions 2-3k. this means to buy the bugatti veyron, the fastest car in the game you would need to grind this mission approx 60 times.
    Thats far too long for 1 car. this doesn't take into consideration the purchasing of weapons/vehicles/garages you need along the way.

    Way to go Rockstar, force people to grind for a huge amount of time just to get 1 vehicle.
    Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    Shows so much promise, but remains unplayable a week into launch due to glitches and server problems. Players are plagued with connectionShows so much promise, but remains unplayable a week into launch due to glitches and server problems. Players are plagued with connection issues, with many reporting complete loss of progress after logging hours into characters due to an unreliable cloud server. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews