User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3246 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I found this game to be in pretty good taste. I enjoyed the story and how it revolves around 3 protagonist that come from different places in their lives and how they come together for a common purpose. The side missions in the story mode can become repetitive but overall they were decent. This game shines in the main story and its online component was clever but missed the mark because of its bugs. Overall this game gets a 9 in my book because the story was fun and the online, once fixed, will be a very fun addition to the GTA world Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    GTA V is simply amazing. The huge open world and the realism of it are enough to seduce you for many hours. The deep story and the well-developed characters are superb. The multiplayer is also fun, albeit somewhat flawed. This game truly deserves Game Of The Year.

    P.S. For all of you people ranting about how the online multiplayer is annoying, due to people randomly shooting at you, you
    can always start a solo session. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    7
    Its good but its not great. The story lacks and is very boring for most of the game. The controls are a bit clunky especially when it comes walking/running.
  4. Apr 26, 2014
    7
    This game is so overrated. The single player mode and story I must admit is top notch, but GTA online is literally worthless if you have no friends to play it with. This decreases the replayability a tonne. GTA online is full of pre pubescent 12 year olds that constantly kill you because they must get this game confused with Call of Duty. The map is also a lot more boring in my opinion compared to GTA IV which then again makes the game get boring rather quickly. Saying that, I did pump in about 80 hours into the game in the first two weeks of release, but haven't really played it an awful lot since. Looking forward to a PC release sometime soon so I can play with all my friends on that. Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Holy Crap. What an awesome game. Story deserves an Academy Award. Fantastic characters and very involving plot. Witty writing and tense atmospheric moments. Great gameplay. Sometimes, maps of this size can be somewhat reminiscent of a corridor in a Scooby Doo cartoon where it seems endless but filled with repetitions of the same recycled landscapes. Los Santos however, appears seamless with effortless transitions through country and cityscapes. Rockstar have simply nailed it. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    This game is fun and addictive i recommend playing this with your friends. Online would be better if you wait a shorter amount of time for people to join your lobby when hosting. 9/10
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    I have been a fan of the GTA series for a long time and don't get me wrong this game was brilliant but it lacked content after completion and just felt a little bit empty.
  8. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece and the best way to wrap up the life cycle of the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Rockstar Games perfectly crafted a game where the player takes control of 3 different characters in a beautiful sandbox world. Would recommend to anyone and anyone with a brain wouldn't rate this a 0. Expand
  9. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    I don't see how anyone can give a negative review on this one... GTA V is simply the best of all put into one. Even if you do finish100% of the campaign you'll still have a beautiful open world game to play. Gameplay is better than it's ever been and the amount of stuff you can do it's so massive it deserves an essay. Thanks rockstar!
  10. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    For sure one of the best games ever, great story, great gameplay, great multiplayer The company suffered through bugs in multiplayer, but their attention did not disappoint the fans
  11. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    no doudt gta v is a great game one of the best I ve played the story mode was awesome the graphics were great voice acting very convincing...gameplay-wise it is also top class the driving is much improved the beat ups are preety nice i ve never really been a big fan of the shooting in this game but it never ruins the experience for me....mission were entertaining (mostly the heists) and in general i never found myself bored the game had me always interested....the online was a disappointment at fists (thank god it never deleted a character of mine) but its ok now its fun but i had more fun on the offline mode than the online overall a top game that deserves the sales it had Expand
  12. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Dont listen when people say that this game is "overhyped". This game is simple incredible. The map, the gameplay, characters, the....everything.

    Disregard the people giving bad scores for the buggy online (which was fixed) or that its not out for pc yet, or that it is only for current gen consols.
  13. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    GTA V...
    Preciso falar mais?? kkk
    GTA um jogo que apenas pelo nome ja possivel saber da qualidade do jogo do jogo, pq quando vc fala em GTA, vc ja pensa logo R*, e definitivamente uma das melhores empresas de games atualmente no mercado, o jogo veio correspondendo totalmente ao HYPE em torno dele, missões muito diversificadas, um mapa enorme, personagens cativantes, e uma história bem
    divertida, no geral um jogo técnicamente beirando a perfeição para a geração atual de consoles, e definitivamente um jogo que vale a pena ser conferido, não um jogo que vai te marcar, te emocionar ou coisa parecida, mas inquestionavelmente divertido por um bommm tempo, recomendo. Expand
  14. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Technologically brilliant game that allows you to play 3 protaganists in tandem. Satirical and witty themes with properly fleshed out environments that allow freedom for non-linear exploration. The story is forgettable and lacks the plot depth and character complexities seen in some of the previous games from the franchise. The online portion is quirky, and when it does works properly it proves to be non-intuitive and generally unlikable. Overall I think Rockstar took a few too many steps in the wrong direction, but their game is still a worthy addition to the franchise and it's one of the few AAA games that is worth the money spent. 8/10 Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Great game! Rockstar every time surpass themselves! Never these developers were not bad games. Graphics pleasing to the eye, I could not imagine that you can still squeeze out the old generation of consoles in terms of graphics, but Rockstar VERY surprised. In all other respects the same as everywhere I wondered. 10 of 10 uniquely.
  16. Mar 2, 2014
    6
    It was okay. My problem was with the seemingly ruined driving mechanics. I'm not sure if it was just me, but it feels like they dumbed down the driving a LOT, leading to a rather boring experience in what used to be the centerpiece of the game. Even just going around and blowing things up became rather boring, especially without tons of money to buy the higher-tier items. In reality, it's a ton of different things all done in a rather mediocre fashion. Also, it just felt... empty. It's an odd thing to feel in a GTA game but I felt closer to others playing DayZ than I did playing this game. They tried too much and due to the hideous technological constraints of such old and dated hardware they couldn't do what they should have been able to.

    As for multiplayer, you can get considerably more fun on a scale that is literally exponentially larger (2000+ players on a map that's several times larger) for under $10 with the Just Cause 2 multiplayer mod.

    Frankly I played it on the last gen consoles and I don't care to see it come to PC, and I feel like not many others will, either. GTA IV was the best, hands down. Was just okay at best. Who knows, though, if they do more than port the game and decide to exploit the power of the PC platform maybe the game will live up to its full potential.
    Expand
  17. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    As a gaming platform i prefer PC, and i think it will be great loss for humanity not to have version for this platform. But then again it doesnt change the fact that this game is awesome.
  18. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Graphics: Amazing graphics, definitely an upgrade from GTAIV, some of the best water/graphics on PS3. 10.

    Sound: Triple A voice acting, amazing soundtrack/variety of radio stations, gun sounds are more realistic, this is a believable GTA. 10.

    Gameplay: The best sandbox open world game to date, the amount of freedom is only surpassed by future GTA games. The game's innovative
    new mechanics allows you to control 3 characters that you switch back and forth from. There's too much to say, and not enough words on paper that can describe this game, it really is top notch. 10.

    Story: The story is interesting and will keep you coming back to finish it. 10.

    Replay Value: Do I even need to talk about replay value in a GTA game? This is a game we only get every 4 to 5 years, and there's a reason for that. 10.

    Overall Score: 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  19. Aug 25, 2014
    0
    Game is nothing short of disappointing.The main characters were dull as a rock.The game has no replay value after u finish it.It's the same game 10 years ago.It's just mindless killing prostitutes,stealing cars and that's it.Very generic and bland story.GTAIV and San Andreas blow this game
  20. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto V is by far the best game of the GTA series (although i know Rockstar Games could have done much better). The game itself is near perfect despite many of the online problems for the multiplayer. I would recommend this to all the real GTA fans.
  21. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    One word can be used to describe this game, jaw-dropping. Grand Theft Auto V takes place in Vinewood otherwise known as a parody of modern day Southern California. There are 3 playable characters who are Michael, Franklin and Trevor and the game is played in a third person perspective.

    Firstly, the visuals are absolutely beautiful. Honestly, at times I felt as though I was playing on a
    high -end PC. For example, if you go to the top of the Vinewood sign and look out at the city, it sparkles with a gorgeous lighting engine.

    Secondly, the characters are exceptional. The voice acting is superb and the actors must commended for their exceptional performance. Reason being, because the characters fulfill their purpose as big time burglars and manage to trap you in the moment.

    Thirdly, the gameplay is definitive. It is the best feeling game I have ever played. Movement is fluid, driving is fast and responsive, shooting is bold and flying is realistic. If i were to recommend any game for its gameplay it would be this.

    In summary, this is an essential if you love face-paced action.
    Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Witnessing anything less then absolute success is a near impossible task by the developers at Rockstar. It further seems impossible with their latest release. Grand Theft Auto 5 is the most recent in a series of successful video games that have stood the test of time. From GTA to GTA 5 every one in between has its audience. An audience that is expanding.

    Rockstar has turned this
    extravagant game from a third person sandbox action game into a lush beautiful realm that the players can indulge in with hours of game play and fun.

    Each character has an in depth life that the gamer can discover as they transition from location to location.

    Stunning graphics and appeal has made this game a fantastic competitor that will be tough to beat.
    Expand
  23. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    GTA V is obviously the best open-world game of this generation.It beat every other game in every aspect,i.e.,graphics, gameplay, driving mechanics, story, etc.
  24. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This game has it all.
    open sandbox, Trevor, loads of different htings to do, racing all kinds of vehicles, shooting, great storyline, and side missions, funny, gorey, messing. And least of all the graphics and lighting are so amazing. And all of that on the current gen of consoles. Sows up every other dev company in the world who clearly arent making any effort in their games(Battlefield
    4 for example, need I say any more). Dice you bunch of scando hipsters.

    Someone needs to unleash the power of Trevor Philips on your money grabbing asses
    Expand
  25. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    Can't say it is better than GTA 4 in term of story part ,but it's certainly the best looking open world game of this generation.If you have a ps3 or xbox360 then you must certainly buy this.
  26. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Jugabilidad: El juego es divertido, entretenido y engancha, por lo tanto, perfecto. Tecnología: Tiene muy pocos errores, es muy fluido y los tiempos de carga son cortos, genial teniendo en cuenta sus dimensiones jugables. Gráficos: Son excelentes, pero algunas cosas me decepcionaron, como por ejemplo las imágenes de fotos en ventanas de casas y tiendas para fingir interiores...pero supongo que al ser un juego con un mapeado tan inmenso no se lo tendré en cuenta. Sonido; Este es el apartado donde más lo criticaré, es lamentable que no esté traducido, pero lo es mucho mas por subtitularlo de una forma tan penosa, apenas se distinguen las letras y menos en mitad de las persecuciones. Innovación: Muchísimo mejor que el aburrido IV, con mucha variedad y muy innovador, es el mejor juego que he podido disfrutar junto a The Last Of Us y Tomb Raider. Espectacular e imprescindible. Expand
  27. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    The GTA series has been around for awhile and is always entertaining and enjoyable so it's no surprise that GTA V is a fantastic game. The story is very enjoyable and the open world is realistic as well as the many vehicles available for operating with the addition of customizing them as well. There's a great amount of weapons as well and they are customizable too. The online mode of GTA V is fun as well but needs great improvement like the addition of abilities and patches for the many glitches the online contains. Heists and content creator will be added soon but have no official release date. Overall GTA V is a very enjoyable game and you will enjoy it and it very well earns it's M rating so I wouldn't recommend letting your kids play it. Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    An amazing game from the get go. Not just because of the fact that Rockstar pay attention to every little bit of detail... No, beyond that is a game that tries hard to do everything right, and bar a few small niggles (which are mostly personal anyway) it delivers on a huge scale.

    Single player is perfect. A brilliant story that is told across all three characters, and this is a mechanic
    that I think Rockstar will now have to stick to, and in my opinion that is great! Multiplayer, for me, is where it shines. I have dumped 80 hours already into the multiplayer, and I am steadily leveling up. This game, although being for current gen systems, just shows that the PS3 and Xbox 360 still have a lot of life left in them.

    If you haven't played this game already, I urge you to. Because you won't be disappointed. Bring on the next GTA, but for now, spend some time in Los Santos.
    Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    I really loved the game I played about 50 hours and I'm at 80% and I'm sure I'll play this game until the launch of gta 6. Online and also this really cool now that rockstar gave us 500,000 to do what want
    Its like a golden key to close our beloved GENERATION
  30. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Okay now that I finished the game I will give my review on it. This is 10 times better than GTA 4. I felt like Rockstar learned their lesson and they made this game turned out to be really awesome. I loved the idea of switching characters and each of them having their own story. But here are my downsides. The ending was a little rubbish. Could've been better but its still a good ending and I don't want to spoil it. Also you couldn't buy any safe houses. I mean each character has their own house but come on I wanted them to get better homes. But overall this is the best game I've played so far. I give it a 9.5/10 Expand
  31. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    good game no flaws.ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg
  32. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto V as compared to all its preceedors had 1 thing a dog. i waited 4 long GTA games just to play with a dog companion :'D the game introduced a lot of real life happening into the game. the game is long and awesome to explore. the last exploration game i played that i loved was just cause 2. Gta 5 surpassed JC2 and i had spent hours exploring it and still haven't tired a bit. i'm more of a slow gamer so i'm exploring every detail side missions loving it all still haven't completed :p -1 for multiplayer as i didn't like it much Expand
  33. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Simply the greatest game I've ever played. Both the single player experience and the online (not that its functioning fine) are 2 of the most fun experiences I've ever had with countless years of gaming, nothing comes close
  34. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    This is a great game with a great story mode, and a fun online game play where you can do what you want with your friends, The good parts of the online mode is the fun missions, races, and overall activities that you can enjoy, as well as join your friends to add to the fun. But there are a few short comings for online, one is the bugs in the game can really mess you up some times, also it is hard to make a good amount of money in the game to buy any of the guns, cars, and so on. But on the bright side of things Rockstar Games promises to keep working on the game until it's better as well as adding a few more things to do online.
    ( Like the Heist missions.)
    Expand
  35. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Graphics this sector of the GTA games never was the strongest part, but after a few minutes of playing the whole thing is growing in you so you start to notice the beauty of the visuals. 8/10
    Gameplay In my opinion the best thing the series deliver to the player!.strong controls with clever ideas make the game an obsolute experience. shooting, driving, fighting, running and much much
    more to do with none noticable mistake. 10/10
    Story Maybe the least good part of the game. The story goes well for the most part of the game and the 3 characters are very interesting and some missions wil blown your mind. the thing, although, turns for the worst at the end when the story doesn't actually has good finale. 8/10
    Final Verdic This is another great game with many thing to deliver to you!...it lives up to his ancestors and sometimes it sucks you in so much that you will not notice that 3-4 hours have past!!! unfortunatelly the dissappointing story doesnt "let" the game to be an absolut perfect 10/10....so 9/10 is the most suitable score for GTA V.
    Expand
  36. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome! They really created a masterpiece for the old generation. Massive open world with a lot of possibilities and side quests. You can spend hours of hours playing this game
  37. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    Another standard GTA game, fun to play and great story line. Nothing outstanding in terms of game play, tho the character switching is a good idea it only brings that little something different. Not a good looking as more current games but not terrible. I've not finished it yet, I'm close, but I've not got the urge to complete it it. I got it on Day One too...
  38. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Fun and Addicting! Great storyline but could be longer. Stunning visuals especially for a 7 yr old console. The online segment is fun for quite a while... if you have people to play with! !!10!!
  39. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    To call it excellent would be disingenuous. GTA V is a good game. It has very high quality banter going between characters most of the game and it does have a wealth of content. Main story missions are somewhat varied even if all of the side missions are mind numbingly generic.

    The game suffers from occasional pop-ins, a still inept multiplayer experience, and the famous jack of all
    trades master of none phenomenon. You can do anything which often feels a lot like nothing.

    Ultimately, I sunk a week into it and have no inspiration to continue the game. Not something I'm fond of with full price games. Get it on a sale or in an inevitable bundle some day.
    Expand
  40. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Multiple characters is a unique feature that brings a cool feeling of a special immersion into their world. Rockstar delivered on their promises. The game features a fantastic 16-player online mode. I could not ask for more. A brilliant checkpoint system, unlike GTA IV. The whole game could be accurately subtitled "Unlike GTA IV." Everything GTA IV did wrong, they fixed, and did better than any other game. Shooting isn't great, but that's not the main part of the game, so I don't care.

    P.S. if you dislike the genre/series, then why are you on here rating it a zero? It makes absolutely no sense.
    From "saintsrowiv" rating it a 0: "I hate this game man the worced game i have ever played!!!! especiall this one i am not a realistic guy if you know what i mean like ime more of a saints row guy"
    Expand
  41. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    *sigh* Sharing opinion about this game could make me a fool, but doesn't matter; YOLO. Needless to say, I found it extremely difficult not to enjoy this game. Might you agree that awesome games like this are able to keep the gaming industry on its feet. We all like different games and nothing's wrong about that. On Internets I am often finding comments in which someone says to gamers to get a f*****g life or articles in which some criminal committed murder, because GTA. I am not like that. Time to time I'm playing games... and I enjoy them. The time enjoyed wasting is not a wasted time; remember this, people Expand
  42. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    GTA is a great game! Fun combat system, Great driving and an huge open world is really fun. Also love the good story. Nearly an perfect game. If you love action games with a great story, than this is for you
  43. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    Excellent game as often mention. Definitely a must-have for any PS3 owner.
    Deserves all the good that was said about it. It's huge, beautiful (in its universe...), catchy, enjoyable.
    Only point to avoid the 10 I found the open world was a bit too "open" sometimes. As a more mid-core gamer, some tips, pop-ups and guidance to find missions would be helpful. Controls are a bit complex to
    me but I guess it's a plus for more hardcore gamers. Expand
  44. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    This game is just awesome! It is like Read Dead Redemption in many ways, but for me it is more funny, there are so many things to do, map is so huge and so varied. All three characters are fine. Ok, I hate Trevor!
  45. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    GTA V is a good, but not masterful. Great Visuals, many annoying bugs and a minimalistic story With a multiplayer I am not a fan of. I recommend it to everyone, but it wasn't good enough this time Rockstar. Even though this is a massive step from the disaster called GTA IV.
  46. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    By far the best GTA game in the franchise. everything was near flawless. The graphics, the vehicle handling systems, and things to do was dramatically increased and improved compared to GTA IV. However, there is still some issues (more so online) that they are still trying to fix. I could care less for those issues to be fixed, but if it makes the experience better than it already is, then hey, fantastic! from breathtaking views, to the more rural parts of Los Santos. GTA V will surly live up to its reputation. Expand
  47. May 6, 2014
    9
    Ok I doubted the idea of having 3 main characters to play as but after playing it when it came out it seemed to work perfectly. The gameplay is very good, the graphics are great, Attention to Detail is just breathtaking and GTA Online is fairly good now as well. This is definitely a lot better than GTA 4 in my opinion and was certainly one of the best games of 2013
  48. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game, in every aspect this game is superb. Great graphics, epic gameplay, fantastic story and really good music including the best set of radio stations ever in a gta game. There is a ton of stuff to do and it's all extremely polished and fun. Plus, when you buy the game, you also get gta online, which is easily worth the price of the game. Gta online has an unlimited amount of things to do and I enjoy it more than the main game. Gta 5 is the best game I have ever played. Expand
  49. Jan 15, 2014
    2
    I'm going to get a lot of hate for this....but this game is nothing innovative, creative, or memorable. It's simply muscle power.

    Don't get me wrong, as of today, this is a very very good game. Super fun and addicting. Problem is, this is the definition of playing it safe. Rockstar had a massive amount of cash to blow, endorsements, major backings, hype, and what did they do? They
    gave us a half-decent story line, and a gigantic map to wreak havock. Boom, millions of violence-obsessed morons shout "game of the year!"

    In reality, games like this are going to, in the near future, become all to commonplace. As memory's grow on consoles and games become larger and larger, budgets become bigger and bigger, it will be less costly than ever before to make a game with a bigass map and an okay storyline.

    That's why I believe games like The Last of Us are so much more deserving of GOTY. If you gave Rockstar a frickin PS50 and 500 million dollars, they would still struggle to make a game as hard-hitting, emotional, and applicable to reality as TLOU.
    Expand
  50. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    The attention to detail in this game is unlike any other. You can literally almost do anything in this game, while pushing the graphical limits of the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3.
  51. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. WARNING! THE FLOWING REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!

    Let me start by saying this, I adore GTA V. Sure it can go a bit over the top at times, such as the torture mission, but we must remember that it's a GTA game and that it is rated 18+ for a reason.

    GTA V is a beautiful game, although with some occasional texture pop-in, which became more apparent as I progressed through the main story. However the world is absolutely HUGE! The is so much to do in both Los Santos and the Blaine County that it's hard to run out of things to do. The are a few mini-games on top of free roam such as golf, tennis, skydiving and darts, just to name a few. However, the biggest thing that GTA V has going for it is free roam and cheat codes. The game is so much fun with low gravity and explosive melee attacks, while invincible of course.

    Although every game has it's faults and one I found in GTA V was that the final heist just didn't reward me enough. Sure $26 million might sound like more than enough, especially over all three characters, but it just isn't. Though this issue isn't enough to bring down my score for the game, a perfect 10. I hope you found my review helpful and I will we you all on my next review.
    Expand
  52. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Most videogames I dislike quite a bit in the final wash up (if I even make it to the end). One or more aspects are poor to horrible and this greatly detracts from the overall experience. The games come across as rushed and uninspired. People remark that The Last of Us (a great game) had a more emotional and 'engaging' plot/story to GTA V. I prefer laughing than being moved. As regards gameplay, in all its many facets, GTA V is either much better or on par with other games. Normally I focus on main storylines with other games, completing some sidequests (until I become bored). GTA V is so well constructed, so entertaining, that I'm not thinking about the next game to play. It's going to be hard act to follow for Rockstar. But then they have five years to spend on the next one, as they actually make games to be played, not 'finished'. Looking forward to the DLC, and might give GTA Online a look, despite negative press. Maybe GTA 6 will be a killer sandbox straight MMO to change things up again? Lastly, this game deserves to sell PS3s and 360s (with the new consoles a couple of months away). AC4 with next generation graphics is nothing on this. It's only an improvement on post AC2 releases. It's still got those horrible aspects I mentioned. Game of the year? Of course. Game of the generation. Followed by The Last of Us. The two games that were truly polished. Expand
  53. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Rockstar ended the seventh generation with a fantastic game. GTA 5's map if gigantic, with a variety of environments including beaches, forests, mountains, deserts, cities and towns, and plains. The 3 main characters in the game have very different personalities: a retired criminal who hates his life, a gang banger who has grown up in the hood, and a psychotic drug dealer. GTA 5 is a must-have for those still playing their xbox 360 or ps3. Expand
  54. Dec 24, 2013
    3
    I think the game was a little too over-hyped. The game world is large, but sadly, there isn't very much to do in it after the story and it get's boring very quickly.
    All the reviews I had read, except this one: http://gmacwebs.blogspot.co.uk/2013/11/gta-v-not-as-good-as-expected_4.html seemed to just over-sell he game, claiming it is the most advanced, immerdive and indepth game which,
    once I had actually gotten my hands on the game, just seemed to ring totally untrue.
    I understand that people gave it such a high and glowing review because either Rockstar told them too (it's too clear that IGN, Gamestop and Game Informer were in some way "bribed" to give it such a glowing review) or because they're die hard fans of the Grand Theft Auto series.
    In my personal opinion, the game is much less than I overall expected. I listened to the reviews and thought "wow! this game looks incredible" but was massively disappointed by the vast majority of the game.

    The game does have some good sides. For example, the graphics are better than most of the games out this generation, the lighting is very good and the storyline, in places, was very good. But all of this is countered-out by the irritating police, the lack of things to do, lack of discovery aspect (there wasn't much to find from exploring as there were next-to no easter eggs or very interesting things to find once you just went on a ramble), lack of vehicular customisation, repetitive nature of the things to find (i.e: letter scraps) and many more features just took the wind out of my enjoyment of the game.
    Also, when they said the game would be largest, most in depth, immersive and advanced, clearly they had never played a Bethesda game namely: Skyrim which had more content and much more things to do outside of missions.

    Overall, I give the game 3/10. This is simply due to the over-hype Rockstar gave, the over-selling IGN, Gamespot and Game Informer gave, and the lack of delivery the game gave. In short: It came up, sadly, too far under par. I really wanted to give the game 10/10 or oeve 9/10, but sadly, there's too many things wrong with the game, and too many of them are too frequent which takes the immersivity, enjoyment and pleasure out from the game.
    Expand
  55. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    GTA V offer the BEST open world in a game ive ever seen EVER. it is alive and awesome ranging from the city to the giant mountain scapes GTA V has detail everywhere. You play as 3 main charters Michael the rich dude, Franklin the guy who likes to go the strip club and then the best of them all the psychopath trevor philips. Michael and Franklin are horrible protagonist feeling very weak development and generic with Michael getting a little better charter at the end Trevor is amazing this psychopath dose whatever the he wants and great charter with amazing development ahh i just love trevor. The gameplay is really weak with the guns felling all the same and generic the gunplay is really garbage and with the auto assit running aiming the gun recoil is horrible if there is any the cars handle and drive very well tho with plenty of cars and upgrades to them the story is very weak but the heist are amazing with a depth planing setting up and varying the gameplay. GTA V is packed with a whole load of content that im surprised it runs on the 360 and ps3 the graphics are fairly decent but in certain parts looking amazing. the gta online allows you to go online with friends and take part in missions but where it really shines is the creator mode you can make races and death matches its very deep and amazing. I rate GTA V a 7.5 this game is great but in my opinion its not the 10 out 10 game of year masterpiece but i can see why people would think that GTA V is more of a mess around sim for me i loved messing around making my own fun exploring the open world and chilling with mates in the gta online i can redmond this game to anyone who wants to mess around in a open world and found the one in saints row 4 and Trevor ahhhhhh when the price drops this a defiant buy you need to explore the open world you get alot of play time and fun but the general gameplay really lacks Expand
  56. Apr 25, 2014
    1
    I got this game because of the positive reviews. I played Grand Theft Auto: Vice City and Grand Theft Auto 3 and those were good so I was excited to play 5. Playing the campaign was fun with all the cool characters, but there were two things that killed it for me. The first thing were the freezes and bugs I got. The second thing was the auto aim in multiplayer. The auto aim makes the game-play feel shallow and boring. It's also annoying that the reticule is hard to see when you shoot out your vehicle. (For me at least.) Expand
  57. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game. Fun, open, hilarious, enough said.

    I have played every Grand theft auto game and this is the most brilliant and open game ever created. This game is amazingly fun and should me a model to others on how to make a game.
  58. MSY
    Jan 18, 2014
    6
    Would have rated this higher if it wasn't for the bug-ridden multiplayer. If it was just based on singleplayer I would give it an 8/10 maybe 9/10 but I can't ignore the multiplayer.

    Single player - 8.5/10
    The story is fun and the characters interesting. The world is massive but it's lacking something, it's too big. The world lacks character and there is no incentive to explore the
    massive map. The graphics are fantastic but there are some pop-in issues.

    Multiplayer - 2/10
    Bug-ridden, terrible launch, characters lost in the cloud, countless people hacking giving themselves and many others millions of dollars. Dying was a big problem, especially when you are trying to save, you would just lose thousands and slowly get back to square one. Rockstar intended multiplayer to be played for months, slowly getting enough money together to buy an apartment but all of that became pointless when people started hacking. Not enough to do, many of the races are the same generic bland. Rockstar promised so much with the multiplayer and didn't deliver. God awful.
    Expand
  59. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    If you want a game where you're unbound by the rules of the society with a sh*t load of money, guns, fast cars, planes and boats, this is the best you're going to get at the moment. You're literally thrown into one of the biggest video game maps and given the freedom to do whatever you want. The story itself is really interesting and the missions are just pure gold. The only complaint I have is that I could play through the game quite fast, but there are lot of side missions to do after that. The controls are almost perfect, responsive and make the gameplay fast, smooth and thrilling at times. Even though the consoles are really old, GTA V somehow manages to pull out power to make this game really beautiful. The only thing I have to complain is that once you've done pretty much everything, you have to make your own fun because the game doesn't offer anything interesting.

    Overall, it's one of the best games of this generation but don't expect the fun to last after you've done everything there's to do.
    Expand
  60. Mar 28, 2014
    8
    Good game, felt a bit short for its own good especially compared to the previous titles (San Andreas, being my favorite). It almost felt easy too, outside of the final mission there was really no difficult missions like there was in the previous installments. Game play is solid, characters are good but the story is lacking compared if you compare it to the previous titles but it gets alot better once you get toward the end and more into Trevor and Michael's "complex" friendship. I liked Franklin, I liked the idea of him as sort of a "protege" to Michael and Trevor. Overall, it was a good game not as good as I expected but still a good game. Expand
  61. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    What can I say about GTA that has not already been said, It has a giant open world with tones of stuff to do, 3 characters that Trever is the best and more activities then any other rockstar game out there, if you have not played this or think it is bad there is something wrong with you, pick it put and play it, you will not regret it
  62. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    People please stop rating the game before completing the story! That's like righting a review for a movie or book before it's finished, it just doesn't make sense and isn't fair to the story.
  63. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    To be honest I feel like this game is a taaaaaaad overrated, but still a fantastic game. What else do you expect from GTA?
    The only cons for me:
    -Although there is a lot to do, some of those things aren't that fun (parachuting, rampage missions, ect), but again, this is in MY opinion.
    -Characters are either love or hate, and to be honest, I hated Trevor and Michael, and loved Franklin.

    -Story wasn't great, but I didn't really expect it to be.

    But in the end, GTA is an extremely fun game and is definitely a good buy for $65.
    I would give it a 9, but I want to stress the fact that I didn't find it quite as fun as most people say.
    Expand
  64. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    This is the best game i've ever played. Graphics are awesome and the story is wonderful.
    Online is very fun to play with friends. All the tiny things and details are awesome as well as secrets and easter eggs!
  65. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    All i can say is that GTA 5 is my favorite game of 2013.
    The game improve what's missing on the previous GTA games.With Amazing Graphic and Amazing Gameplay,This Game will be the best game of 2013 easily.With GTA 4 only focusing on the graphic and remove some of it's fun content,GTA 5 has all of the content from the previous GTA Games,like Sports,Fun Activity,Hangout with friends and many
    other stuff and don't listen to some of the PC-Gamers who critised this game just because it's not released on the PC yet.Buy This Game! Expand
  66. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    This is a great game. OK, it's not that original, but it shoudn't be: it is part of a franchise, and as a part of a franchise, the buyer has to know what he/she is getting. If Rockstar ever betrays the style of GTA's, it will be the end of these games. Besides, it changes and adds things as much as it is possible for a GTA. There are little details that could be better: some graphics, as well as the plot and a couple of characters (I never felt so close to Franklin's motivations, and Haines is a very repetitive character compared to others that have appeared in other GTA and Rockstar games), but those are my only complains. Expand
  67. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto V, is Rockstar Games latest release title and by golly it is something simple wonderful.
    Right off the bat you can tell many hours of work have been put into this game. It feels and handles like a GTA title should, but It also brings about a multitude of new aspects to the series such as the ability to switch between three different characters who are the anti-heroes of
    the game (Michael, Trevor and Franklin). This also, not only changes the way you think as a player, but it means that you're having to change the way you tackle a situation too. Maybe you want to control Franklin, while he raids a ship but then realise you can't take out all the men gunning for him, so you can switch to Trevor who is nestled safely some, 200 metres away and scope them out with a sniper. This is only one tiny aspect of the huge plethora that is GTA 5.
    The game-play feels very polished and well done, the controls don't feel sluggish like in some sandbox games. You feel as though you can easily move your player around and he will react to what you're telling him to do. You also get a feel of the immense size of the world you're in. From City, to desert to waterways to industrial areas, to mountain top ranges. The scope is enormous.
    The music offered throughout the series has always amazed me and it does not disappoint in in GTA 5. Just tuning into chatterbox and listening to the Sh*t people say is quite hilarious. That is not the only thing that the world has Rockstar have created has to offer mind you. My suggestion, along with a lot of other people, is to walk from place to place when you can because you take in so much more that is around you. You hear the hum of the building and cars, the chatter of the people who will react to things you do, the noise of the animals around you. It is quite spectacular.
    Once you've finished GTA there is still so,so, so many activities that can be completed. (Hunting, parachuting, hitman, Triathlons.) The list goes on. During my first play through I finished a lot of the side missions before tackling the new story related mission to push the game longer. In a sense, that would be the one thing that let me down in this game, which was it went too quickly. It left me wanting more which is a good thing for a game to do but at the same time I felt a little let down by how quick it was (main story). However, the game does live on through multiplayer which brings about even more fun to be had. It doesn't seem like a cheap ad-on at the last minute either, Rockstar have carefully crafted the multiplayer to suit the game-play of the single player missions.
    Fantastic Series and amazing sequel. Deserves all the hype and spotlight it has received

    Game-play 9/10
    Audio 10/10
    Story 9/10
    Replay-ability 10/10
    Graphics 10/10
    ---------------------------
    Overall 10/10
    Expand
  68. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Игра хорошая. Самое что удивило это дальность обзора.Было видно все от начало Лос-Сантоса до гор. Персонажей тоже сделали хорошо
  69. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    I love this game! It is so much more than shoot that guy and then kill that other guy, it is very diverse. I had so much fun with my friends and this game runs smoothly. The graphics are great and the overall gameplay is excellent. This game is a must buy!
  70. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    its not perfect but it is better than GTA 4 (which i don't think should have a metacritic score of 98) that being said there are so many things the developer could of improved on such as being able to go into more buildings, i mean come on, look at all the things san andreas had compared to this game, you could even play pool in san andreas, why would they replace that with yoga. Definitely a great game and the graphics are top notch but the hype was a bit too much Expand
  71. Feb 10, 2014
    9
    It was awesome playing the most beautiful and incredible game Iever playd, full of hot beaches incredible montains and awesome game play. The story is amazing. However, there are some bad bugs.
  72. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    What a game. The plot is captivating, the gameplay is perfect.

    GTA V was massively hyped, and it's definitely lived up to everyone's expectation. From the first mission to the end, I couldn't fault the execution of both the storyline and the game itself. Switching between the three characters is flawless. The shooting mechanics are vastly improved from GTA IV. The graphics are
    beautiful. Los Santos is massive. You will not get bored playing this game. For a game this ambitious there are very few glitches, which is amazing considering the seven year old hardware it is running on.

    The only reason I haven't scored this game a perfect ten is because of the online mode. The missions are great, but they become quite repetitive after a while. With many online experiences, it is ruined by the poor servers. The online experience is better now than it was at launch, but it is still difficult to connect to a server a lot of the time.

    However, the offline mode is full of things to do. Main story missions, side missions, tennis, darts, golf, flying lessons, street races - quite simply, the game is packed with great activities. Making Trevor Phillips look as much of a hobo as possible is quite fun too!

    You can get this game at a good price now so if you haven't played it yet, what are you waiting for? I can't wait for a potential PS4 version - it'll look ace.
    Expand
  73. Feb 13, 2014
    9
    This game has a perfect plot, perfect ambientation and a perfect music with well-built characters. On the other hand, graphics could have been better; also the maps feels empty after 100% accomplishment; there should me more usable spaces (Casino, Theatre, Bars, Skyscrapers).

    It is definitely a MUST.
  74. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    i give this game a 6/10. for me it is overrated. sure the city is big and the graphics are awesome but the gameplay is where it lacks. you dont fell anymore like an unstoppable badass like in vice city or san andreas. but its decent.
  75. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    No doubt it's the greatest game of 2013 and Angry Joe said so as well. This game allows you to play 3 characters and it was perfectly executed. It allows you to explore the game's open world more freely (you can go from one place to another at an instant as soon as you switch characters) and it broadens the scope of the game's action sequences. So if your mission is a 2 or 3 man job (one of your characters is the driver and the other one is the shooter for example) you can switch between both characters so you're doing the driving as well as the shooting as oppose to only one. Past GTA games are mostly "go there shoot that" kind of missions but this one is more varied thanks to the game's heist missions (and the bank robbery mission is the most epic). You can choose whether you want to go with Plan A or B and you can choose your own crew mates for the mission. And because you can replay all missions, you can choose to go with a different plan (just to see how it would turn out) if you choose to replay some of the heist missions. In GTA IV, you only get a few choices that alters the story but there are even more choices in GTA V giving you all the more reason to play this game. The open world is well-designed, capturing LA in great detail and it's a much bigger world than GTA IV. You can see the tall buildings from afar very realistically and the graphics as well as art design (while far from The Last of Us) is gorgeous. It's a shame that PC gamers are missing out on epic games like this one. The cars respond better so if you want to speed and turn without crashing, it's a lot easier. I hate the helicopter controls (especially when I land because I keep wobbling) but then again, I was never really good at driving helicopters. Shooting mechanics has also improved as you can lock onto your target much quicker when you auto aim, making the game more fun. While I do like the chemistry between Michael and Franklin, Trevor steals the show. He's a messed-up, psychotic and truly horrible human being but that seems to make him the most interesting character. As soon as you can play Trevor, the other two characters feel more diminished but the characters are well-rounded overall (each one has their showcase and not one feels left out). However, with every praise comes some criticism. Because it's GTA, it's extremely violent and this game is even more so with the inclusion of Trevor (who is very violent) and his Rampage missions where you shoot waves after waves of enemies. Women are reduced to mere sex objects and strippers. This game is obviously intended for mature gamers but it has the ability to appeal to a mass number of gamers (including kids) so if you're a parent who's thinking about buying their kid(s) a brand new game, don't buy this one. There are many other great games out there that are suitable for children. You won't be a bad parent if you buy your kid this game (as I've played GTA when I was a kid and I turned out fine) but you won't be a responsible one either. Does this make my parents irresponsible? Maybe, but they taught me to be responsible for my own actions as well as the difference between right and wrong. Despite some of my criticism, the scope of this game overshadows every flaws making this game another Rockstar/GTA masterpiece. Overall, GTA V is one of the best games, and the perfect closing title, of the seventh generation, I can't wait to see what Rockstar will do next for the eighth generation. I pre-ordered this game so yes, I did pay full price but it was worth every single penny. Pick this game up now if you haven't already, because I know some people who are missing out. Expand
  76. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    Decent. Gets boring when you finish it, and online mode is garbage. Worth a rent, but buying it, it's a waste of money. .
  77. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    I think its time to improve on the missions. They are all very similar since firts GTA games. Everything else in this game, is FANTASTIC. Incredible cars, a fantastic gigantic map to explore, lots of improvements on the gameplay and having 3 characters to choose its a succesfull one.
  78. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    I'm not the typical GTA player, in fact this is the first GTA game I've ended. I started it due to the positive critics that it was receiving (I use to play games for their history) and all the people where saying that this game was going to make and after and a before.
    On the beginning I get a little bit disappointed because for me, Franklin is a plane character, he doesn't aport
    anything interesting to the game. But after having played a few hours I realised that most critics were right.With Michael and Trevor you get to another dimension of madness, fun and pure GTA.
    I think that it isn't necessary to say that I ended the game and I enjoyed It like I've ever done with only a few ones.
    If I had to say something that I didn't like about the game It'll be that the game is too short.
    Expand
  79. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    Great game! You can only put 10/10! Definitely a masterpiece! It's no wonder this game took many awards! And most importantly, this game will be released on PC this fall;)
  80. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    This is an instant 10 / 10 from me. This is the best PS3 game I have played in current gen
    I hope R* are proud of themselves because I am. The game features 3 main characters: Michael, Franklin and Trevor. They all have their own personalities which I like. The story is epic - I won't spoil it don't worry :D

    Don't get me started on Online! It's amazing! I can already think of 1,000
    words to describe it: awesome, endless, fun, exciting, free, open, realistic and a lot, lot more. Online is what most people crave for when they get GTA V, but I see why. It's just so fun! It's addictive, but in a good way, not repetitive at least. But there is only 1 thing I don't like about online: people who just troll. It may seem too much to ask them to stop, it may be funny at first, but gets frustrating over time, most servers you can hear young children playing this game. It's not bad, but it's really awkward. People drive into you for no reason? Sniping you and killing you even if you don't have a bounty on your head? It's not like they are going to get rewarded for that! But that's not going to stop me from scoring 10 / 10 because it's just THE BEST.

    It's pretty much better than Call Of Duty by over 9,000 miles. Recommended for anyone WHO ARE OVER 12
    Expand
  81. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Rockstar yet again proves its excellence in making the optimal game in this generation. While GTA IV was a big tech test, GTA V does everything you couldn't do in the previous game. Every detail, programming, mechanic, everything was build with utmost caution and dedication.

    The story is by far one of the best, if not the best, in the series. You control three totally different
    characters, but still you can't hate them and get really attached to them. A perfect satire of the modern California, explored in various perspectives. The cost of fame, futility, friendship, dubious government's actions... and Trevor Philips.

    Rockstar reached the top of this generation, and makes a daring challenge to other companies throughout the next generations: make it better.
    Expand
  82. Feb 21, 2014
    5
    GTA V is OKAY. Its not terrible its not amazing. after playing it i feel so bored of just going around and killing people, the game-play is just so slow compared to older games. I do play this game from time to time, but for no longer then MAYBE 5 or 10 minutes. I honestly have more fun playing San Andreas, A game released 10 years ago then playing this game. Overall GTA V isn't the worst game ever, but its certainly not as amazing as it is thought to be.

    Gameplay-4/10
    Graphics-9/10
    Sound-7/10
    Presentation-3/10
    Lasting Appeal- 6.5/10

    OVERALL RATING- 5.9/10
    Expand
  83. May 28, 2014
    1
    Terrible graphics, but it is on consoles so thats why, but still why the f''k is it not on pc???? the game is pretty boring to be honest, it doesen't deserve a 0 but im just darging down the overall from all the noobs who things bad games are cool like Call of Duty: Ghost for PC
  84. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    This game was simply amazing in almost every way possible. The missions were awesome and highly entertaining. The story takes about 18 hours to beat. Also there is so much you can do after you beat the game that you can easily spend 100 hours playing it. Online is also pretty cool even though I thought it would be horrible. Overall, I am amazed by how much you can do in this game!
  85. Jun 3, 2014
    3
    This game is terrible, the worst characters ever made for a gta game, worst gta ever made, no much improves, too agressive and ugly characters, poor storyline, i have the disgrace to play this game for the ps3, and the driving mechanics are a disaster, if you want to go hunt, you can't, you want a race, you can't, you can't do nothing in this trash of game. I think rockstar is destroying his franchises like max payne 3.
    Just one of the worst titles for the ps3.
    Expand
  86. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    This is the best sandbox game ever made !! lots of vehicles , great story , the possibility to use three characters . After you finish the story there is still lots of things to do in the game . A great game for this generation .
  87. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    By now everybody knows what's so great about this game, and I do believe this is one of the best games I've ever played. However, it does not deserve unadulterated praise. I'll give reasons for this.

    (1) a sandbox should allow you much more freedom than this. For instance, why on earth can't you just rob a store, a feature which previous GTA games had?!?! Why can't you kill just
    anybody?

    (2) getting and losing a couple of wanted stars is too easy, and the police can spawn literally in the middle of nowhere; there's no point in going in the middle of the forest and/or to use a suppressor. This is actually quite unrealistic.

    (3) they should never have released GTA online before it could work properly. This is a shame for such a hyped product.

    That said, it is a great game, and it is most definitely worth its price!! But Rockstar SHOULD take into consideration these things when designing the next title in the franchise.
    Expand
  88. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    Okay, I spent my time thinking about this. I had come to terms that GTA 5 in fact all Gta's aren't me to be realistic. No it's not, it's meant to be an exaggeration. Of Rockstars opinion of modern day life. They give stereotypes the depth they need, too feel familiar but interesting. Here is my review of Grand Theft Auto V.

    Story.
    Well I'm not going to describe the story, everyone's
    herd of it already. But I'm going to tell you if it's any good. Well it's well written, in depth, lengthy and rich. Personally Michael is my favourite protagonist in gta 5. His touch of thievery expertise is great. His family troubles are realistic. His skill is great. Trevor is okay, but he's too crazy. The writers wanted to make Trevor a statement. I like how he gets the job done and tries to run his own business. Franklin, is not deepest, I don't really care about him. He's not a main character even though he's meant to be as important as the other 2. He's just not. A guy trying to get out of the hood but just shuts up and listens to Michael and Trevor for guidance isn't doing him any good. Overall the story is great, Michael is the real seller here. It has 3 endings but the one dubbed 'death wish' is the best one honestly, don't want to spoil it so I won't say no more.

    Graphics.
    Graphics are great, colours are amazing, draw distance, traffic count. Etc

    Gameplay
    Pretty much the same as every other gta. Unfountantly. While it isn't bad, it's not very different. Couple of tweaks. Like the driving, nice and arcadey, special abilities like slow mo. but the stealth doesn't work, suppressors and such. You can't crouch. But has hilarious physics that make driving off the cliff of my chilliard a blast.

    Sound.
    Cars sound great, with variation. Guns sound great and feel good. Nature sounds good. Radio tracks are as good as ever, with hilarious talk shows. Music for in game missions or cop chases, new addition in gta finally. Sound great and the radio list is as good as ever. Voice acting is well done.

    Animations.
    Very well done, crash physics are great.

    Content.
    Lots of cars, guns, outfits, to buy. Activities to do like golf, tennis, hiking etc. side missions have a lot of work, like breaking 46 signs only to get like 10 bucks? It's frustrating. I have all these contacts in my phone, but I call and only goes to the voice mail. Hanging out with characters isn't good as 4 because there is a shortage of dialogue. And 4 had abilities unlocked after hanging out with them. So you get to know the characters better and you used to unlock discounted guns or free helicopter rides. But none of that here. Hunting is bad. Why can I skin? And sell pelts. Why in one location only? Why only 4 street races when I can mod my car and stuff. They have all these elements. But feels unfinished or un cared for. But the map is expansive. And it's amazing. Too bad the side missions aren't as useful. Side missions to freak into homes are rob specific stores for a 30 grand payout would be great.

    Things I didn't like worth mentioning.
    - no difficulty setting, needs to harder.
    - recycled gameplay
    - stealth doesn't work.
    - side missions are unrewarding.
    - no skinning of animals.

    Things I really liked.
    - graphics
    - Map
    - Michael
    - content.
    - music.

    Not a bad game. It's a great game for all out carnage. But lacks rewarding side missions like other games (skyrim) and has good elements but great. Or the ones id like.

    8/10.
    Expand
  89. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    GTA rarely makes appearances with it's releases, but when it does, it's sure to make itself viewable. While a masterpiece, GTA V is not perfect. It has it's share of flaws, and people expected way to much from this game. This game gives a gamer everything it wants; from the gameplay, to the beautiful visuals and it's realistic surroundings, this is simply the best Grand Theft Auto game to date. Whatever you may have found boring or you simply hated in GTA IV, it's not here any longer. The driving is fun, the world is more beautiful, and there's a lot more to it.

    1 - Missions
    A mechanic that made GTA what it is today was it's originality; unlike linear games, the player is free to do whatever is possible in this world. But eventually, you will have to complete the game's missions to complete the game. I feel that with this game, the missions were also better, and worse. Why? The variety offered is simply astonishing. Even through you'll find yourself in a firefight quite often, the scenario is always different, and it always makes a difference between the gunfights. The missions are structured well, and the difficulty is just for the average gamer. Sometimes way too easy, and sometimes just challenging enough that you won't throw the controller out the window. Hardcore GTA fans (including myself) will not find the frustration in missions that is present in GTA: San Andreas. But - the missions are way too scripted. Unlike the prequels, where just like in-between missions, you are offered freedom in missions as well, you won't find that same level of freedom in GTA V. During missions, the game will hold your hand, and if you dare let go; mission failed. There is choice offered; where you can change between characters in missions, and sometimes the character's roles are quite different. But even with that, you won't help but feel that despite such a huge world is offered, you're locked between walls. And let's not forget about the dynamic soundtracks.

    2 - Gameplay
    This is what GTA is all about. From stealing a car, to breaking out a gunfight against the cops, the choices are almost limitless. And every one of them is fun... almost. GTA V gets to be the most satisfying experience when it comes to gameplay, and it has it's share of side-missions, unlike GTA IV, which many people complained about. But some of the side-missions are plain pointless, or don't offer fun. An example of this is tennis, or golf. I've found it to be fun for a while, but I don't understand how did it get a place in GTA. Or there's yoga; which is simply put, plain stupid. Nevertheless, you will always find something to do.

    3 - Graphics/Map
    It's not a graphical marvel, and I have to say, despite Rockstar giving their best, I still think that their best looking game up to date is Max Payne 3. But that's not to say it's not beautiful. GTA IV was considered a beauty, and when I saw how huge and detailed the map is, I was wondering how Rockstar pulled this off. Despite some areas of the game feeling empty, Los Santos is beautiful, varied, full with different people, and the random events, that can go from a man being robbed of it's money, up to biker gangs kidnapping women, just make the game feel even more lively.

    4 - Story
    While certainly not an award-winning story, I personally liked it. The protagonists certainly don't show new, original personalities, but with a game like GTA, it's not needed in my opinion. While GTA IV had a serious, impressive story to follow, GTA V returns to the old times, where it's cheesy, fun, and over the top. And that's exactly how I like my GTA. Without spoiling too much, even if you don't like the story and/or the characters, I have to admit that the story is presented beautifully.

    I believe no game is perfect, and that is true, every game has it's faults, but a score given to a game can be perfect. And I think this is one of those games. GTA V gets a 10/10 from me.
    Expand
  90. Mar 4, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is such a disappointment, the game makes everything pretty easy, just a few simple missions before the first heist, I never got into the story, it was really boring, I barely completed the game only for the trophies, which was a pain because of the boring missions, the gameplay is not as funny as previous game, even Grand Theft Auto IV is better than this game, I tried the online, and it's really really boring, bad servers and very glitchy with all those cheaters around, but all because of bugs of the game to get so many RP and Money, just makes the game so annoying to play, but playing with friends is a bit funny for a moment, but gets boring really really fast. It's just the hype. Expand
  91. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    Grand theft auto took a leap into a different type of story and character development, playing 3 different characters kind of took me out of the story all together, and after I started playing online, I never felt the need to go back, even after 3 months. Still, awesome gameplay, and environment, nothing can touch rock star in that regard.
  92. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    great game, i wonder how to play this game, i have 2 bluray disk, why? i dont want to missed this game until die, so i bought two, just make sure that one is broken i can play another one...
  93. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    2014 and still playing GTA 5.This is R* Head dude now,Online is a blast with friends espicially the jerking move.Campaign is 40-50+ and side is 20-25+.In a nutshell this is a must own game for people who are a fan of gangsters and virtually doing heists.
  94. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    I love grand theft auto V it improves on every aspect of Grand theft auto IV. Shooting mechanics are better than before, the shooting is somewhat improved. My favorite part of grand theft auto V is the story they have great characters some are Trevor, Lamar, Franklin have different personalitys and great in their own ways. You will probably never get bored Los Santos have many things to do like watching a movie or bike riding or getting a five star rampage with the cops. The online in my opinion is not very fun and i get really bored but if you play with your friends it could be fun for a while. The graphics has improved so much making Los santos fell alive more than Liberty City. I really like this game even though to me it is not game of the year it has a lot of things to do and it's fun Expand
  95. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    Where do we start with you Grand Theft Auto five. Well. This is an very good game, To say the least, Its not one of those games you ever want to get off and then you anticipate getting back onto each and every weekend, Its just a game you don't want to get away from. Honestly. Lets get raw with this. Lets go for a list with this one, As there is so much more to talk about.
    Graphics: Some
    of the best I've seen on PS3. Gripping.
    Story: Great, Puts games to shame on its own.
    Shooting: Good. You can flick from Left hand and Right hand, Great for everyone.
    Weapons Wheel: Nice variety, Easy to flick to.
    Driving: Great, LS Customs actually makes a visible difference.
    Clothing: Yes clothing, Good variety.
    Map: Large and fun to explore.
    AI: Best I've seen.
    Cheats and Secrets: Tons and fun. Skyfall and Invincibility are my two favourites, As I literally become an indestructible human missile.
    Voice Acting: Up to par.
    Multiplayer: For me, The best part. Playing GTA as my own character with my mates, Extraordinary.
    Everyone, Please, Look up to this game as your role model. This is THE perfect free roaming game.
    Gentleman.
    Expand
  96. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto Five is the best video game I have ever played!! It's full of realism which makes it an incredible video game.
  97. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Perfection in a game is hard to come by an Rockstar have achieved this with GTA5.
    Worth every cent i spent on it and recomend a 11/10gfdsddhgfggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg
  98. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    This game is great... for about a month. Sure, jumping out of airplanes and stealing fancy cars is fun, but it gets old after a while. The story was amazing, but after you finish it, the game loses all of it's challenges. I found most of the side missions to be quite boring as well. I bought this game the day it was released and I have to say that I was expecting more. GTA online is okay, but it could have been done better. I just wish this game was like San Andreas or GTA 4. I definitely recommend it though. Expand
  99. Apr 9, 2014
    6
    After you finish the extremely short campaign, you're stuck with the very boring grind multiplayer where the game expects you to pay real money for the in game money. This game was a big let down to me, but it's not a horrible game. If you can find it somewhere for around 30 dollars, I'd say it's worth that.
  100. Jun 1, 2014
    6
    Now im not trying to be an **** on this site, but let me give you the experience of a guy that wasn´t overhyping/overrating things here.
    GTA is a really great game.. After 1 month, it isn´t anymore. The story didn´t feel like anything special though, but i must say that the characters in this game has a really interesting experience. GTA Wouldn´t have got a so big score, if it wasn´t
    because it was so extremely popular as it is. The series are legend, the games are always not extremely disappointing us, but giving it 90, 90, 100, 95, 95, 100.. ETC. is really making me thinking "You´re kidding me." And why do i think like this? Because it´s like Justin Bieber, girls are **** crazy with him, some don´t care about he´s music, they care about HIM. He can be an **** but still some people loves him, like many girls do, but the boys are just hating on him most of the time. Think about what i mean. Now to be honest, when i first played this game, i was seriously pissing my pants, even starting my Xbox 360 got me to think "Holy **** I´m going to play this game!" (i was borrowing it on the library), and i must say, that the Design, and Technology in this game was incredibly good balanced, even though that the PS3, and X360 Couldn´t even run this game, but that one little thing that probably pissed me most off, was that i WASNT on Next-Gen, it WASNT on PC, and GTA Earned around 1 Billion dollars on this game (so far from now), but you know what? They could´ve **** earned 1.5 Billion dollars if it was on PC, and maybe if we take the next-gen following 1.7 Billion dollars, then they had alot more profit to a new, perfect art of a game. The history feels like: "KILL, STEAL, ROBBERY, **** SHOOOOOT!!", but it doesn´t have that little thing that makes me cry (as i´ve done to alot of ends in some games). I feel too, that this game is not even for kids, or 18+ Years old people, its more for people around 16 Years old. The physics in this game is one thing i like about this game, and the different vehicles you can drive/fly/dive with.

    One thing GTA Was about the whoole time in this game, was to make a Realistic, bloody, ****-the-world, kind of game, and i think that GTA Offered alot of details in the entire game, and it was damn fun playing in 1 week, but hey, let me give you an example here: "You´re playing GTA At summer, you just got the game, and you´re that kind of nerd that doesn´t have anything to do at home, so you´re going to nerd this game EVERYDAY in one straight week, and you´ll keep going, but you know what? The game is slowly getting boring, and it feels like the way it´s slowly killing your fun, because you´re beginning to play online now. You dont have any friends to play with, and the game feels a bit more boring time after time."

    GTA Online (Stand-Alone review):
    When you start GTA Online, you can make you character, which i think many people love about video games when you´re playing online. The little problem about GTA Online When you´re making a character, is the way it´s getting you to think "Soo... This is how i can make my character? Well.. Ok." Because first of all, it´s almost impossible to make a really ugly character, and it´s too almost impossible to make a character looking cool, and good. The most funny thing is, that you for some reason just NEEDS to looks really damn ugly around the eyes, and if you´re making a girl character, you can´t extend her boobs.

    The main online free-roam is **** annoying. People are trying to kill you EVERYTIME they see you, so if you´re trying to be a friendly guy, they´ll just react like they were the biggest ****s of all time. The little problem about GTA Online was they sweared to every single fan, that you could be able to earn mon ey through being shares/companies, but we got completely nothing. The first thing i checked, was all the they promised us, but not many of the things was there. After some time, they told us too we could rob banks like in single-player. But still this day nothing happened. Now i dont want to be evil through the community, but mother of lord, please stop giving children access to these kind of games, even the main director (this is TRUE words) said that people that gave their childs access to Rockstar games were psychopaths.

    In GTA V There´s too many bugs too, not the glitches are bad, but the bugs. Rockstar vs GTA Community was like World War II. People are finding more and more to bomb Rockstar with, even money was beginning to be send illegally to each other. The thing i didn´t get about Rockstar, was WHY they´ve maked so many spots in the game, that people got in because of glitching, and bugging, but they didn´t open it to the game? It was like they said "Hehe! Lets get people to glitching through this **** so they can experience the game another way". It was a waste of time making it like that, even through they had ideas with these spots, why not unlock them?

    Final Quote: Dont make things you cant handle
    Expand
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    The best way to bid farewell to the retiring consoles is to spend dozens of hours having fun in Los Santos: robbing, abusing illegal substances, breaking all laws and enjoying everything else that GTA V has to offer. And after we finish the game, we should all say loudly: ‘okay, Rockstar girls and boys, it’s high time to make a truly new GTA, not just a gigantic DLC’. [12/2013, p.36]
  2. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    97
    Gigantic and stupidly detailed, GTA V is everything we hoped it would be. Individual components could be a touch better, but when a game does literally everything, nobody can expect perfection across the board. That it even comes close is incredible. [Issue#236, p.62]