User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3115 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is
    endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The journey of the three protagonists and their pursuit of the dollar in the beautiful, sun-drenched state of San Andreas is a breath taking experience. Quite simply put, this is the best video game I have played for the current generation of consoles.

    EDIT:

    It seems as though the user score is being attacked by disgruntled PC fans. For the time being, i'd disregard the user score.
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    What an absolutely incredible game.

    I luckily received the game early to review it for a smaller gaming journalism website and I legitimately feel that this is the best game i've played in these eight years of the seventh console generation, perhaps even of all time. I hope I don't lose any manpoints but I am happy to tell you that at a certain point of the game (avoiding spoilers) I
    shed a tear. This isn't just a video game, it's artwork.

    Regardless of the consoles it has been released for, this game isn't just a 'taste' of next-gen... it IS next-gen.

    10/10

    (Be wary. It seems that the trolls are out in droves and giving it a negative userscore to lower the average. Likely PC users who won't have a chance to play the game for a very long time. My heart *bleeds*.)
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Best gta game ever made massive, detailed map and lots of entertaining stuff to do. Those who cry about graphics think again its open world you see it, you can go there. It is still looking 2x as good as gta iv. And also it is running on 7 year old hardware.
    As a gaming platform i prefer PC, and i think it will be great loss for humanity not to have version for this platform. But then
    again it doesnt change the fact that this game is awesome. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    In 2008 I was severely disappointed by a game known as GTA4. It had extremely high reviews but was plagued with many issues. The cars controlled horribly, like slippery boats. There were many steps backward in customization. Only a few outfits were available and you couldn't really change Niko, the main character. Pop-in textures were common and really hindered the actual gameplay. The game just wasn't as good as its predecessor, San Andreas. Now we have GTAV, a game that brings back all the features that made the series great in the first place. I can tell you right now that this is the most ambitious game ever. It has introduced a large amount of new features and fixed nearly every issue that GTA4 created. Now the cars have tight handling. The controls are 100% responsive. This even includes the gunplay, which feels smooth and comfortable. The amount of content and world to explore will keep you playing forever. Add in the awesome narrative and missions with actual variety and you get a nearly flawless experience. One of the best games ever made. PERIOD. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This Game's truly a masterpiece. Everything seems smooth and belonging together, starting from the excellent 3 characters, their personality, their voice, their movements, just everything. Then teh World, this unbelievable huge, content-stuffed masterpiece; you can find something new everywhere, there's so much to discover, it's like chasing butterflies in skyrim, same goes for GTA V. Every second you spend in the Game is fascinating and seems unique, the missions are a huge amount of fun and they finally managed to improve the variety greatly!
    This Game's definitely one of the best games i played in the last 15 Years!
    Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The game has it all, it's basically the best aspects of multiple games all wrapped into one. The mechanics like fighting are greatly improved and much smoother now and the dialog is very entertaining and humorous. There's so much to get into and the AI is polished as well. It's definitely the game of the year. With GTA V being as good as advertised, I'd imagine GTA Online which comes in a couple of weeks will put the game well over the top and add even more time worth of game-play. There's simply nothing to dislike about this game. A huge ovation to Rockstar for being a company willing to actually put all it's time and effort into a game without seeming like there holding back one bit to milk a future project. They went all in with every idea they had and set a high standard for other game developers to follow. Expand
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    A widespread of land that is Los Santos gives you the chance to do things you're not legally capable of doing in real life. The graphics are better, the space has increased and the functionality of the game has improved. Nothing can be said about GTA V except "hard work and patients really pays off." Rockstar has grown to become one of the best video game creators in history and with their latest installment in the franchise, we wonder what they will come up with next? Expand
  9. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best and most ambitious title i have played this generation and its a mayor improvment over GTA IV. Combine the best parts from San Andreas, Red Dead Redemption, GTA IV, some Max Payne 3 add some new extra features and you got this game. The level of the detail and the effort to make this game is mind blowing. It cant be any other than a 10/10 game.

    I was hyped about
    this game and it exceeds my expectations. Expand
  10. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Best multiplatform game for the current-gen consoles! It's one massive story that if you don't get sidetracked (and you get that easily) spans over 25+ hours without even touching the sidequests. Considering that the game runs on quite 'old' hardware it can be considered a masterpiece in terms of content and graphics.
    Things i've been missing were:
    -Sniping the moon doesn't change it's
    size anymore
    -The unrealistic vehicle overtakes (on bikes). But you can have most of that crazy open world stuff with saints row 4

    Things that made me smile:
    -Retro-like cheats (I loved those button combos as a child and now they are back! Get ready to remember those in no time)
    -All those small details that make this game great. The whole world creates an illusion where every piece fits together and after a short time you'll get to love it

    tl;dr
    This massive open world masterpiece sucks you in and devours your time like no other multi platform game before. Must have for every current-gen console owner.
    Expand
  11. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Wow! Just wow. I can't fully review it as I have only had it a matter of hours. However. It is better than GTA4 in every way. Driving is better, Shooting is better more like Red Dead). The graphics are better, the map is bigger...well you get what I am saying. Changing between characters gives a real opportunity to explore more than just a single viewpoint of a mission of situation. It also allows you to travel around a lot quicker. Although cabs are now included from the start and they arrive pretty quick don't get me started on cabby AI .....one thing Rockstar haven't cracked yet) You can also go anywhere from the get go no bridges with police guarding them hehe). The general feel of the world is more fluid and believable than GTA4 Although the cleaner graphics do sometimes mean it lacks the same atmosphere 4 had hard to explain but sometimes in 4 is was so bright it made me happy The stories are good so far) some of the other characters are rather annoying Lamar and such) but they are still believable. It is great to have a dog and watch him maul streetpunks. I have to stop here however as I haven't done much more. Oh and missions are now auto-saved so none of the whole 'lets drive for an hour only to die' moments. Multi-player isn't around until OCT 1 ETA) so I can't comment...but if it is half as good as the single player then I'm hooked for years. I just hope they have better game modes DOM SABO or assassination games modes please). So overall yes I am just 10% in but so far it is epic. If it all turns to crap which I can't see it doing then I will gladly eat my words. So far the main protagonists aren't as likeable as Nico Belic but hey I am a stubborn man and need a few hours in their skins to like them. 10/10. Epic. Expand
  12. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is simply a brilliant game. Rockstar North have invented the wheel all o er again. Never has a sandbox game had this much content and life and at the same time wonderfully stunnig graphics. And of course GTA V is misogynistic, racist, violent and tabu.... It's a satire. And with a story critisizing not just the aftermath of the economy crash but the whole political system it manages to be smart, entertaining and funny. Buy-play-enjoy. Expand
  13. Sep 17, 2013
    5
    This game is great for an open world experience but when it comes to raw gameplay, it grows boring. Gameplay is such a key aspect of a video game and this one's grows tiresome before long.
  14. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect sequel in the GTA series and one of the most anticipated games of all time. Rockstar is one of the few developers that deliver and live upto the hype. I can't call it the best in the series since it depends on one's opinion but its on par with Sanandreas and the other major Gta titles that made Gta what it is today...

    A solid 10/10
  15. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I am a seasoned gamer and a middle aged man by now. I have seen and played many games by now.
    I don't really like playing with a controller (I prefer kb+m) or playing on a console.
    For this title I simply don't care.
    The game is so good, so rich, so full of story that controls, graphics (surprisingly beautiful for an aging PS3) just don't get in the way of full immersion.
    I challenge
    anyone to do a better game, I don't hesitate to give it a full 10, just for the sheer amount of content that's in it in day one.
    In the days of DLCs, freeemium, getting such a vast expanse of a game to play with is just pure bliss.
    Expand
  16. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Until now, my favorite game in this generation was Red Dead Redemption. Now, its GTA V.
    Rockstar thinks about every little details to make it better. I dont know how a game can be this huge and this perfect at the same time.
  17. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Best game of the outgoing generation. Definitely.
    The variety in the game just rolls over. It has everything: car chases, great music, great story, and as many different animals. Which have previously generally been in the series. In general I advise you to buy, and if you do not buy, you lose a lot.
  18. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I know there are a ton of positive things to say about this game, but i would like to point out what I feel is its biggest weakness. The look sensitivity is too way slow, even on the highest setting. Any possibly of this game winning over FPS fans seems doubtful in its current state due to this oversight. This disappointing blunder severely needs to be addressed in a future patch. At some points the limitations of current-gen gaming already make me hope for an announcement from Rockstar of a PS4 version of the game. That, with the aim sensitivity fixed, would truly be your perfect-10 game. However, this is still one of the best games available on the current-gen systems. 9.75 out of 10. Expand
  19. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is absolutely the best game i have ever played in my 24 years of living. For all those who are bashing the game are literally brain dead and dont know a true masterpiece go play saints row aka knock off infamous. This game does absolutely everything right!!
  20. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Ladies and gentleman, this is GTA V, the best game ever made! I don't know if Rockstar had some help from God or aliens or other force majeure, because it seems to be impossible to create this game only by hands of a man. And no! This game ain't overrated. This game is deserves the highest ratings and
    rewards. Man, in this game even the sky is awesome! I salute and congratulate Rockstar,
    they have made a totally miraculous piece of art. Peace and good gaming! Expand
  21. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    OK, the game overall is pretty ok. The story is perfect but what the game lacks is improved gameplay (gameplay is not as swift as eg in RDR) and mainly the visuals... Graphics is bit oldish, but that would not bother me much, what bothers me is REALLY TERRIBLE FRAMERATE... yes, I cannot take that Rockstar released game with such bad framerate. Along with enslaved those are probably games with the worst framerate on PS3... Pitty Expand
  22. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    GTA V brings just what the fans of the series hoped for; a huge open world you can explore with plenty of interesting additions and three interesting characters you can control. The game not only provides a truckload of fun, but it also showcases the obstacles troubled people like our three protagonists have to overcome everyday, both emotional and physical ones. The graphics weren't what I expected to be honest, but I am guessing Rockstar had to tone them a bit because of the limitations of the hardware.
    Overall, this game provides us with an engaging story, a vast open world to explore with lots of spare activities to do and three awesome characters each one with unique abilities and vehicles. The only reason why I wouldn't suggest it is that maybe you just might get too addicted to it and drool all over the floor after 60 hours of gameplay.

    10/10
    Expand
  23. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    This game has the same problem GTA IV had, the world may be large but the game has nothing to do other than the activities, i will adjust my score when the MP comes out.
  24. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is simply one of the best games ever and the best game in the series cant be better buy this game and play it as soon as possible this is a must must play game
  25. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Awesome game, truly awesome!!!
    The world is massive massive massive! The actual map, the amount of missions, the variety, the outcomes, everything!
    The ONLY downside is vehicles handling is still a bit poor (But i play a lot of racing games so have a high expectation)
  26. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    WOW just wow the best game i've ever played... this game will throw me in my cave again for the winter haha! seriously the game have sooooo much variety and sooo much things to do!!
  27. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is the best game of the decade, hands-up. GTA IV is like an average game in front of GTA V. Tons of content, customisation, vehicles a gripping storyline and 3 crazy protagonists. Unmissable.
  28. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    GTA5 versus. GTA IV:
    Better graphics
    Better controls
    Better story
    Better alter egos
    The best GTA game so far.Period!
    Hope vision of GTA6 on Playstation 4 will make me another step forward.
  29. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    One word: MASTERPIECE. Believe the hype: this is the greatest GTA, and the best game out there. The amount of content in this game is really, in its literal form, AWESOME. My only gripe? There aren't enough hours in the day to play this game.
  30. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    hands down best game of the year! better yet this is one of the best games i played in my life. great storyline and exciting gameplay. this tops anything that came out this year so glad i bought it day one! i think a lot of people are going like this game.
  31. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It appears to be a lot of nay sayers in these review, I'm never opposed to adversity, but when it comes from the mouth of the ignorant, It's simply belligerent. Not a single one of the bad reviews gives a solid reason, they all simply complain about the graphics or having to play as a "bad-guy misogynist", and then afford the game a 0. I'm absolutely glad they aren't real reviewers. The game is not only great for a GTA game. It's great for a game period, The map is gigantic of course, and it isn't mostly just filler like some games I know, *cough* skyrim. The gunplay is fantastic for and OtS game, very responsive, the game is long, and will offer alot of replay value, not to mention the free gtaonline that releases to us later, all in all It's generally hard to get me to admit spending 60 on a launch title is a good idea, but this game is worth every penny. Expand
  32. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Great Work, Rockstar.

    New game big company "Rockstar" gave a great twist to this year with its latest release, the "GTA V" certainly was improved to its maximum capacity, the graphics editing astonishing at the "PS3", the gameplay is improved considerably, also here is notice the effort and commitment of the company to the fans of the series "GTA", I will most certainly "Rockstar" will
    hit home to the "PS3", this game gave him a great end to a generation of "PS3", well if you subsequently create more games for "PS3", but what is inportant that left a great impression to the fans of GTA. Expand
  33. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Certainly the best game for this generation. Overall the games is perfect, the physics, all the activities and things to do. The story is great, and the script is awesome. Simply the best game of the series.
  34. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Well what can i say, this is one of the best games i have ever played, rockstar have excelled them self's again, if you liked San Andres and IV you will love this game
  35. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Loving it, so much better than the really very poor GTA 4. Loadning times are kept to a minimum. GFX scale up to close to 1080 (they aren't I'm sure but close), controls are spot on. And the stuff to do. 13 hours play so far. I've played tennis and golf, rode a bike up the pier, played the stock market, bought cars, clothes and businesses, raced, had a lap dance (ahem, that is pretty XXX) swam, driven a boat, been to the shooting range, been on a hunt (complete with stupid headgear)...
    Got to add the the "mini" games are hardly mini at all. The golf and tennis are almost release worthy games in themselves, the stock market is mondo impressive. I'm looking after a dog FFS! (and improving his temprament via my Ipad) And it's all FUN, you feel like you are progressing. Yeah I'm reviewing after 13 hours play. Brilliant
    Expand
  36. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    VERY STRONG CONTENDER FOR GAME OF THE GENERATION! --

    You gotta be stupid to not buy this... Seriously, go buy it now. So much to do, so much to see, GTA Online looks epic.
  37. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The transmission between the characters is well made, the city and the surroundings look absolutely stunning, the story line is compelling. Gta V simply is one amazing game!
  38. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is the best free roam game of this generation. Skyrim just its pants while playin this game. It covers a vast area. The city is just the beginning. Liberty City in gta4 is just a little bit bigger than los santos, but when you compare it to the whole entire map it like 10x bigger. One minus about it is the graphics. rockstar is mostly using the same engine. Overall gta5 is perfect for any gamer. It shines number 1 as the best sandbox game ever made. It might even win game of the year 2013. Gta online is going to be the best!!! Expand
  39. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    All these people about graphics: Buy a better TV, ****
    GTA V brings the good things back from older GTA's. We liked SA for the story and the things you could do when you were not on a mission, so they brought it back, but even better. The things you can do give you unlimited fun!

    The world of GTA V is huge! So you knew they actually put some time in developing the world, since it
    looks beautiful. It surprises me that consoles from 2005/6 can handle that.

    The story is awesome. It gives you the feeling of SA, since you team up with friends/gang-members from time to time. Also, since there are 3 protagonists, it makes it even more exiting.

    The (bad) user score are just butthurt PC fans, about the graphics being bad because it's console. It are not the best graphics, I agree, but for old consoles they are just amazing and beautiful.
    Expand
  40. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Great game! Nice physics, interesting story and characters. Robbery-missions are superb! Car's physics is easier than in GTA 4, but driving is more funny. You always have something to activities. Tuning are more diverse than in last NFS. Control is simple when you are driving or walking, but hard when you are shooting. The only thing that spoils the impression graphics. If you haven't PS3, don't worry. You will enjoy nice graphics in PC on the future. Expand
  41. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    It can't top two hot chicks making out in front of you. I mean, two really hot chicks, and you know them both. The only way that gets better is if they bring you home. The game is pretty cool too, I guess.
  42. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It hasn't only reached my expectations, it has blown them away. This is like the best game ever, no I'm not even kidding I think this is the greatest video game ever made. Congratulations Rockstar games!
  43. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Best multiplatform game for the current-gen consoles! It's one massive story that if you don't get sidetracked (and you get that easily) spans over 25+ hours without even touching the sidequests. Considering that the game runs on quite 'old' hardware it can be considered a masterpiece in terms of content and graphics.
    Things i've been missing were:
  44. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This as to be the BEST GTA ever made by rockstar and if they keep to what the say and give us free updates and DLC this game will get better and better over the years to come!
  45. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    How do you define Genius?? The answer must be GTA V!! The experience of this game defines what this generation of consoles is best at by trial and error learned over the years and proves it with a satirical, dark universe that is propelled by the stories of the three main characters--- in this case the sum of the parts is the total enjoyment that is so much fun....Be warned though, you will be enthralled by challenges that are never repetitive and so entertaining and you will be truly spoiled.... Expand
  46. Sep 17, 2013
    5
    It's a big impressive game but when it comes down to it it simply isn't that fun. Grand Theft Auto fans will likely be pleased but it didn't convert me.
  47. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I usually hate paying the price for video games because almost always you never get your moneys worth, GTA5 is worth every cent, its the most massive, fun, incredible gaming experience I have ever experienced. If there was ever such thing as perfection its GTA5!
  48. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    This aint your father's GTA...as it's been stated already, the major difference with number Five is the ability to change main characters, opening new missions and side missions. It is still basically Grand Theft Auto centering on stealing cars, gunfights, revenge, more f-bombs than Scarface, and not PC in any way shape or form. But the gameplay and graphics are polished to near perfection. Expect to spend a LOT of time exploring this baby. Expand
  49. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    People need to stop yelling GOTY at this game, because that title belongs to The Last of Us. GTA V is a great game, but it just doesn't have the same level of polish and immersion as the TLoU. Period. That being said, the world is massive and there's a ton of stuff to do. R* did manage to improve upon many of the mechanics presented in GTA IV, but at times, it will seem a bit repetitive.
  50. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The game is everything you'd expect after all the hype.
    Rockstar has delivered what was promised, and this is the best GTA so far, and possibly one of the best games of this generation.
    I think the mission system has been improved over gta IV's,with a better checkpoint system and more variety.
    the only thing I didn't like is the button mapping, but if you use the "alternate" layout, it
    gets a lot better. so no loss.
    bottom line is, this game is just as good as we all hoped for, so let's all hope it also gets released on PC and next gen consoles!
    GG
    Expand
  51. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Outstanding game worth every freaking penny!!!!!! Outstanding in every aspect from graphics story to every little detail the city the countryside full of details and and enormous map that more than lives to it's expectations for you to explore. Best Grand Theft Auto Sequel. R* made another AAA title.
    A MUST for every gamer. Do yourself a favor and play it.
  52. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    GTA V is the best game i had ever played. Big, beautiful world, wonderful gameplay. At PS3 framerate is good (in my PS3 after 6 hours of playing). 10/10
  53. Law
    Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Thank you based Rockstar, thank you for making me hyped for a game. I missed this feeling, with nowadays games, which get boring after a while, finally I can spend some time in a really well-made game. Loving the game so far! It's definitely the best GTA to date! What was missing in SA what was missing in IV has been added in GTA V! This game is a masterpiece. Hands down Rockstar, you did a really good job. Expand
  54. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Best Game i have ever played, Graphics are awesome, Game play is amazing and the characters compelling! Well Done Rockstar! This is a definite Buy! 10/10
  55. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Rockstar has done it again. First off, the visuals are spectacular! A great open world experience that pulls the best elements from previous games in the series as well as Red Dead Redemption. The driving and shooting mechanics have been improved tremendously, but it still feels like a GTA game (Which is a good thing.) The upcoming GTA Online is certainly going to add a whole new dimension which will keep it relevant long after the XBox One and PS4 have released. Expand
  56. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Why do people like to troll the user scores of every single big game is beyond me! Why the jealousy!!?

    Anyway.. I'm talking as a fan so excuse me if I seem a bit biased, but believe me, this game is PERFECT! It's the best game I have played since Red Dead Redemption! GTA V is so ambitious it might frustrate you! So many things to do, a huuuuuuuuuge map, a very good and long storyline.
    Amazing graphics. Everything is perfect! Expand
  57. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    This sure as hell is one of the greatest game of this year! Just keep getting better and better! Very nice story and gameplay, you really feel for the characters in the game and just keep playing!
    I can't even wait for the online mode, gonna be some crazy stuff
  58. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games I have played. Ever. The amount of Detail Rockstar put into this game is absolutely staggering. I have never felt more immersed in a video game in my life. This is all serious. I am in love with this game. This is exactly what I was hoping for. Rockstar put out the game, and it lived up to the hype!
  59. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    This is no doubt the best in the series, but like any game. It can't be perfect. You start off with Michael and Franklin for the first few hours. Everything isn't unlocked from the beginning, you unlock activities by completing missions with the three protagonists. I have been playing for merely six hours and I have uncovered a small fraction of the map and I'm only 7 completed.At the very beginning it throws you into the action. The mechanics are much much improved from previous games and has a Midnight Club/ Max Payne vibe to it. (Previous Rockstar games) The controls will take awhile to get used to. Even if you played GTA IV for hundreds of hours...You'll still have a hard time adjusting. The controls are a bit more tight and fluent and the cars have appropriate weight with them...If your at all like me...All you wanted to do was to drive around in sports car getting to know your surroundings. There are countless things to do in Los Santos...All within a 20 year period. (Grand Theft Auto timeline) It took me an half hour just to play two games of tennis, and I enjoyed every second of it. I spent a while doing taxi fairs just so I could scrape up some money and get Franklin a haircut. If you loved any of the previous Grand Theft Auto game, you will with this one. There are some texture pop-ins sometimes but that really only happens if your going real fast in a vehicle. I can't tell you what is all in the game, for this is just a written review. But, I hope this helped what you think of Grand Theft Auto V. If you have any questions, just ask and i'll be able to answer them. Expand
  60. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This game will never end.

    The most amazing game this current get has ever encountered. The graphics are incredibly optimized for the PS3 and runs very smoothly! Just mind blowing
  61. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Look, I'm not going to act like there is NO flaw at all with the game. No game is perfect, but this REALLY the closest you can get to a perfect game. GTA V is seriously the most ambitious video game of all-time. I just can't imagine how will this be toppped, even on next-gen! Yes, you can improve the graphics, but will you be able to produce a game that is as full of content as this game. I doubt it. Rockstar might though! GTA V is almost perfect. 9.9/10. Go buy it! Expand
  62. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Serious butthurt from some PC fanboys here. Why? I'm mainly a PC gamer, but I do have a console and well, I bought this game. It's perfect. It might not be if you care too much about graphics, but I personally don't, and they're amazing for a game this big running on a 7 years old hardware anyway. This game is massive, ambitious, beautiful, funny. Everything. This game is almost perfect. Buy it ASAP! Expand
  63. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    GTAV is the best game I've played in a long time, It is a must own game for anyone who is old enough, as nudity and violence is regular. I vote this the game of the decade. The size of the map. endless random stuff, one could easily put 200+ hours into this game, $60 price is a steal. it is simply the best PS3 game with surprisingly few bugs considering the size, not to mention GTA Online isn't even up and running yet. If don't dont own a current gen console, this game alone would justify buying the bundle. NOT A GAME FOR KIDS by any means. Expand
  64. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Simply the best open world game ever made -so far- R* pushed PS3 system to it's edges. Stunning graphics, acting and music. Awesome gameplay experience. And plenty of things to do in an open world. And everything you do is contributing to your playable characters skills. So playing tennis or other sports like cycling will help them be more strong.
    It's a live open world. Close to real
    world Might get confusing from controlling point of view at some points but your are going to overcome this.
    It goes beyond the story and side missions. You have a world to explore and gain experience and skills when you do.
    This is the best open world game in this generation and it deserves 10/10
    Expand
  65. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft auto V has left me so mind blown that I can only describe it in singular non sequential words (Kinda) beginning with "Huge", the size of this game is like nothing else I've played on the ps3, With incredible detail to everything composing it's many environments.

    "Beautiful, not a single thing in this game is ugly, even things intended to be ugly, It's undeniable that this
    is one of the best looking games to come to console.

    "Insane" I've been playing for a day and I've flown planes between buildings, fought aliens with a minigun, gone on multiple drug trips and encountered some of the strangest game personality's in the history of the GTA series.

    GTA V is the best installment of The GTA series so far, and anyone not playing this game is missing out on one of the most beautiful, action packed and hilarious adventures they'll ever encounter!
    Expand
  66. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    This game is perfect. Anyone giving it a rating under an 8 either hasn't played it or is blind and deaf. Just playing for half an hour you can tell how much hard work was put into making this game and that is what I appreciate most about it. Most of the games that are released these days do not have the polished feel of Grand Theft Auto V. I did not experience any bugs or glitches during my play through of the main story (which I just completed) or the side missions. There are plenty of things to do and random events that occur while you traverse the city and countryside which can shake things up in a good way. I recommend this game to anyone here on metacritic, you will not regret buying this game. Expand
  67. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    The game is great and the story is a lot better than I expected. Plenty of things to do, so many that I was not even sure what I should take on first when I got past the intro mission. The game is amazing and most of the negative reviews are idiots looking for attention or PC Elitests who are mad they didn't get such an amazing game for PC.
  68. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Absolutely stellar sandbox action with three fantastically funny protagonists who mix together well with their humor and hijinks in a dark satirical take of California.

    Everything that could have been improved on in GTA IV has been, everything that needed to be brought back from San Andreas has been. It's without a doubt the best GTA game in the series so far. The world is jam packed
    with activities ranging from sports, street racing, submarine diving, rampages, strangers and freaks to meet, collectibles, random events, you name it. Even for the island's vast size it doesn't feel like any part is really wasted.

    Without a doubt my new favorite entry in the series.
    Expand
  69. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    I need to set this up properly, I found GTA 4 boring, plain and simple. I sold it after a month back in 08. It had many problems, most of which broke the experience for me. Needless to say, I was apprehensive about the 5th installment, But let me be clear, this is the most cohesive gaming experience I've had in a long while, letting it contend with The Last of Us as my favorite game of this generation.
    The cars handle much better, and they've borrowed almost all of what really worked from RDR, making the problems I had from 4 a thing of the past. The world is absolutely massive, but an important thing to note is that none of it seems wasted. Buildings seemingly lack the cut and paste of previous iterations, creating an extremely immersive setting for a sandbox. The graphic qualities are great, only made even better by the detailed lighting. The sheen on a car or the blurring of light in the background are stellar and make everything feel true to life.
    The story is an obvious. Rockstar pumps out another quality script, putting satire to good use. It did, however, feel strange and a little disturbing to have no outward motive to rob banks other than just wanting money. These guys aren't anti-heroes, they're just villains, albeit extremely likable. It plays with your perception of right and wrong.
    There are a few nit picks I have, but they honestly can be overlooked for the most part.
    THIS IS WHAT A GAME CAN BE WHEN DEVELOPERS ARE GIVEN PROPER TIME. I would say that this is proof that the annual release method is often detrimental and produces mediocre work.
    In short, please play this. Not for brand recognition, but because this is just a good game.
    Expand
  70. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    With Consistent story that flows well and amazing features def the game of the year. Hours of gameplay and that just the first. When online is added will be able to have thousands of hrs of gameplay
  71. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    GTA V A Bright New Future

    For me I have always loved Grand Theft Auto games, my first game being Vice City, and then going back in the series to GTA 3, and then of course San Andreas and GTA 4. I have always gone back to Vice City when wanting to play a bit of casual GTA. For me Vice City was a hassle free fun open world game at the time something really quite special, from the music
    to the cars to the compelling story line it has always been a deep rooted personal best when it comes to gaming. Most recently in the series GTA 4 was impressive the new world was a tall new world and was exciting to explore, but it always felt 'dark' to me, there's no other way to explain it, just 'dark'.

    So when I saw the gameplay and trailers of the latest development of Grand Theft Auto from Rockstar I was excited, it seemed they were really taking a massive leap forward in the open world game. And when I received my game today my expectations were met. The game is bright and open, the map is dense yet personal, getting to know the areas around Michael's and Franklin's house's has been a joy. The city feels alive, the free ways feel real, and the desserts are superb to explore.

    The brightness has well and truly been turned up, but it's not just the stunning graphics and huge new world we have to enjoy. We now have three characters, to begin with it felt complex and slightly annoying having to switch characters in high octane situations, but bit by bit, mission by mission it's starting to feel a little more fluid, I'm not there yet and it still feels slightly confusing, but I am sure as the missions get more complex the enjoyment from switching perspectives will increase. The three characters are so different and interesting in their different ways. I must admit I wasn't massively looking forward to playing with Trevor but his 'different' personality has become something you just want to explore more and more. Michael continues to be my favoured character. I really enjoyed the growing dynamic of Franklin and Michael, and seeing it develop into the first heist was great.

    I have enjoyed the driving and find the mechanics enjoyable and realistic, I can see why some do not like these, but I just think it's a case of getting used to it. There are so many different cars and other road traffic to see and drive. I thought the amount of different looking buses was amazing, as small a detail as it may be it just felt nothing had been ignored. The roads are highly detailed in the city, and feel real to real life cities roads the road markings for example have been developed further. In addition the road driving AI are much more realistic and add to the experience.

    The missions are different and interesting, however can sometimes be slightly tedious and mundane but still excite in many areas. And it's all worth it for the heists, were I thought they freedom given to players is a class act from Rockstar. I was also very impressed with how choosing different crew members not only had a real difference on the outcome but also a difference on the dialogue between characters, very interesting indeed!

    The small mini games are fun and put GTA into a league of it's own. I loved the triathlon game and am looking forward to developing my skills further. Tennis and Yoga also exsist. With access to stock markets and transport and real estate markets adding an extra dimension to an already jam-packed game. With GTA you really do get a full game, there is no skimping from Rockstar, no corner cutting, and it is fully worth their long waits between games, when you get such a polished and finished game.

    For me Grand Theft Auto is the pinnacle of gaming, it is a game that has thought of just about everything, Rockstar haven't rushed a game out to try and make money with minimal improvements (Saints Row 4 springs to mind here) They have spent a great deal of time and money and resources to making a stunning looking, and compelling to play gameplay. For me GTA is the best all round game I have ever played, it perhaps doesn't come close to other games in certain areas, for example dialogues and emotion goes to The Last of Us. But Rockstar have delivered on what were monumental expectations, for me GTA V will always go down as a game changer. It's very fitting that perhaps the best game ever of this current generation will be this generations swan song. It's been a long ride Playstation 3 and Xbox 360 but we meet the end of the road with this amazing ending. Rockstar have excelled as per usual.
    Expand
  72. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Best Grand Theft Auto game to date. The amount of effort and time Rockstar put in to this is amazing. The city itself almost feels real. The dynamic car chases and events that happen around the city are just great. Only played around 7 hours but I can tell this will be GOTY. Do yourself a favor and get this game!
  73. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I've played, graphics and sound are brilliant. Thought I'd be disappointed due to hype but it's a fantastic game, well recommended.
  74. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Just amazing, marvelous sandbox and probably the best game that exists. The story is very exiting and with three characters this game is just stunning
  75. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    GTA V(PS3) is more than 97.5 if you calculate the average score then why is it still being shown as 97? I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.
    Expand
  76. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I waited a few days with writing this, just because I wanted to play the game more before judging.
    But after 3 days of gaming I can say this...
    This is most definitely the swan song of this generation.

    If they can make games like this on the PS3 then Gaming on the PS4 is going to be heaven.
  77. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    GTA V could easily be Game of the Year it has an outstanding story, gorgeous graphics and fantastic gameplay. The world is gorgeous there is so much to do. The story thus far is perfect in every way. The world feels and looks real. This is by far the best GTA game to date and is 10 times better than GTA IV. Forget and ignore the negative reviews they are clearly from very jealous and angry pc gamers because GTA V is not on PC. I would give GTA V a perfect 100 if I could. If you love playing video games then GTA V is for you my friend. Expand
  78. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    PC community is going nuts and giving 0 even they haven't played the game. Please stop this and grow up, Pc also has timed exclusives but we dont cry like you nerds. Btw game is fukin awesome!
  79. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    If someone have a problems with GTA series got problem with himself. I've played from GTA SA, GTA IV trilogy and GTA V now and I have to say I love Rockstar and this game. GTA V is just perfect. Nothing more to say. All need to have it. Im sorry about PC for now but hope GTA V will be on PC too (and Im gonna buy it too). In GTA IV I modded almost everything on PC. GTA V? I dont think that this game needs mods. Nothing more! Just play! Expand
  80. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Rockstar have outdone themselves yet again, and show why they are the absolute best when it comes to open world games. With GTA V, they have flawlessly set the precedence for all open world games that will follow. An impressive and astonishing feat, considering that they used current gen hardware. GTA V has dethroned GTA: San Andreas as my favorite after only a few days. Despite only featuring one city from the state of San Andreas, the map is massive with limitless activities to do. I've played and loved Bioshock Infinite and The Last of Us, but if you can only buy ONE game this year, this is the game to get. This is the game that you will spend countless hours in. And it'll only get worse when GTA Online launches. It may not be my personal game of the year, but it's definitely one of the best video games ever made, period. Expand
  81. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Michael, Franklin y Trevor, tres tipos muy distintos unidos por el destino. Ver Los Santos desde lo alto es sólo uno de los grandes espectáculos de GTAV. Un mundo vivo, complejo y gigantesco! GTAV es simplemente espectacular!!!
  82. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    about 10% into the game.. completed 1st heist... up to the heist cash was hard to come by, especially for Franklin... thus far, a well rounded game... only improvement I would make would be the tageting 'dot'.. it's a little small... maybe the 'holo-graphic dot' would have been better...

    love the humor and spoofs at "the american dream"
  83. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This game gets a 10 because I can literally spend 4-5 hours getting sidetracked and have a complete blast. Not even including everything R* has made to keep me entertained. They have reverted back to the open-world fun that was dripping in GTA:San Andreas on PS2 and that is everything that I have ever wanted. BTW.....it looks GORGEOUS!
  84. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    As someone who lives in LA, this game is totally on point.

    If you've never been here, there's a lot of details you might not get. One little example is the Italian restaurant right up the street from the pier, there's one in real life in that exact spot (Bruno's in RL, great food). There are hundreds of little things like that I've noticed already.

    Personally, I like the new driving
    mechanics. I didn't like the feeling of driving a top heavy tug boat in GTA 4.

    More cars, and more realistic looking. The music is great as usual. Graphics are amazing.

    Story line is great thus far. Characters are interesting and believable.

    If I had any beef, it would be that there is waaay to much cussing in the dialogue. I'm no prude, but my neighbors are probably thinking "wtf is going on in there?" A couple graphics glitches, but nothing serious. Being such a complex game, the controls are equally complex. Each button has multiple functions. Be prepared to fail a few missions till the controls become more second nature.

    Anyone giving this game bellow an 8 is just a hater, and probably thinks every game sucks.
    Expand
  85. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Just joining the hype train. After a good solid 2 days playing this game, I wish i could give it a 11/10. Now if you'll excuse me I have to go pick up hookers in my upgraded $1 million dollar Buggati and kill them afterwards.
  86. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Ok I am going to preface this by saying, I am a PC gamer. Like Hardcore PC gamer. Not a "Console Hater" or whatever but I prefer to do all my gaming on my PC and have for years. Technically, I spent over $300 bucks on GTA 5 because I bought a PS3 for the sole purpose of playing GTA 5. I would not have bought the PS3 if a PC version was available or had been announced. So, having spent so much on 1 game you can say my expectations are kinda high. Well, this is what I think:

    Masterpiece! Plain and simple. This is the first game I have ever let the hype get a hold of me before the launch and not come away disappointed in some way or another. Seriously. Rockstar has delivered on everything, every aspect and every nook and cranny. This metric they use to rate games should be blown apart by this game smashing through the "10" ceiling and blasting off into outer space.

    I dare to say, I would not be surprised if the people giving the bad user reviews are jealous because they for some reason cant play it and can only find solace is trying to prevent others from enjoying it too by attempting to lower its user score. That is the only reason i can think for this game having a 8.1 user score at the time of this review. It makes no sense to me that anybody who has played it could give it anything less than a perfect score, a 9 at the lowest for those super hard to please grumpy folks maybe.

    Anyway, about the game, the story is what you would expect from a Rockstar game, over the top but grounded just enough to make it seem possible. The decision to move to three protagonist was genius. There is always something to do and each has their own wallet, stats and personal belongings to maximize.

    The graphics are amazing for running on 7 year old hardware. I have no idea how they did it but they did. I cant wait to see what the PS4/XBone/PC maybe versions look like. Very few pop outs or glitches on my PS3 version.

    The amount of customization in this game is absurd, the weapon customization is what you would find in a current gen Call of Duty game and the vehicle customization is almost on par with Forza and Gran Turismo, and this is a GTA game!!

    To be honest, I am still in shock. I have to cut myself off here because I will go on forever about this game and I must get back to playing it NAO!!! lololol. Nah, but seriously I'm going to go play it now. Bye
    Expand
  87. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Greatest game ever. Period. I don't care if you're not a fan of open-world games or can't stand the violence. If you can't appreciate the effort that Rockstar North has put into every facet of this game then why are you even playing video games?
  88. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Having played a few previous GTA 3 and GTA Vice City, I can say that I had never been impressed with Grand Theft Auto. Often, the open world would leave me bored as I would not be drawn into the story enough to keep moving forward. Combined with the time necessary to travel, repetitiveness of the missions, I felt as though I would never play open world games again.

    After much time
    though, I saw the trailer for Grand Theft Auto V. The trailer looked stunning featuring planes, scuba diving, and multiple playable characters. After reading about the improvements Rockstar, the developer, has made in other games (Red Dead Redemption, Midnight Club, and LA Noir) I knew that it would be unfair to write this off as "just another GTA". Upon putting in the disc (PS3), you are greeted with an 8GB installation. This took about 15 minutes on my PS3 Slim, your mileage may vary though. The game immediately begins with the characters in a fantastic tutorial that not only introduces some characters, but also gets you intrigued by the plot early. The tutorial is interesting and fun, though the tutorial text in the upper left of the screen was hard to read on my screen (1080i on a 42" Plasma TV). This was easily supplemented fixed by the print manual or the iOS "GTA Manual" application but did lead to an unnecessary death rather early in the game.

    Upon playing this, you immediately will notice that many of the controls have been refined in comparison to previous GTA games. The shooting feels much tighter (it's easier to aim clearly and quickly, switching weapons is simple and doesn't get in the way), the driving is better (cars and trucks feel as though they drive like the type of car they are. Sports car handle amazingly while a tow truck is much slower and harder to maneuver). This makes for a much more enjoyable experience and thus far in my travels have fixed the issues I have had.

    Unlike previous games, this also features one huge update, a quick save/autosave which fixes the need to drive for 15 minutes each time you fail a mission. Now, you can pick it back up and keep trying making the game more involved and less repetitious.

    The graphics in Los Santos, the city in which GTA V occurs, are fantastic. Explosions feature depth and clarity, the characters are well detailed and thus far I have not seen any technical issues where textures appear randomly. The views from the different parts of the city are amazing as well, with nice sunsets and sunrise, beautiful villas, and more.

    The audio is fantastic as well, featuring Dolby Digital surround sound, which uses all the speakers to create a wonderful and involving soundtrack. Whether providing off-screen directional cues, subtle background noise, or enveloping you in your favorite radio station, Grand Theft Auto V provides a wonderful soundstage.

    Overall Grand Theft Auto V feels like a new game. With the revised controls, improved graphics, and new mechanics, I feel like this game address most if not all of the biggest issues I have with open world video games. The story thus far is captivating and enticing and is keeping me coming back for more. I would highly recommend this game even if you do not consider yourself a huge fan of previous entries into the series. I hope you enjoy this game as much as I am.
    Expand
  89. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Possibly one of the best examples of open world game design to date.

    Grand Theft Auto has always been a game franchise that pushes boundaries, not only in their controversial subject matter and take on plot and story following the (mis)adventures of criminals and their cohorts, but also the technical way they achieve their vision in the medium. Starting with their first forays, they
    pushed new limits in the way a game can be (and possibly should be) designed and have not stopped in their continuing process of evolution since.

    Many have argued which game is their favorite in the franchise for either story and/or mechanics, and there is no doubt that argument will continue with this entry into the series, but what cannot be argued is this game may well be the next step in evolution not only of the series as a whole, but the potential future of open world games.

    Continuing the more "real" approach to the game that Grand Theft Auto 4 took, this game, in some ways, is more realistic than any previous game. There are moments of over the top action and scenes which play out more like a movie than anything one might encounter in real life, but it is still a game, and sometimes fun over rules real.

    Fun is a key word that the developers obviously held high in the making of this game. There are a great deal of activities and diversions to partake of in this game as well as random side missions and missions that are stranger than sense might allow (aptly named Stranger and Freak missions). The main missions are well designed (tho still fall prey to many "flaws" in mission design, such as forcing you to chase someone to kill them when they reach their destination instead of just letting you use your equipped gun to blast them on route, or simply forcing you into a specific vehicle when another might be better) and the story is such that you remain invested in the characters as they develop.

    That may be the main draw of this game. The characters are so interesting all of them, from main, to side, to extras on the street that you want to see them develop. You feel interested in their weird over the top, and sometimes disturbing lives and want to see "how it all ends". Whether you want it to end well or end badly for each character is personal taste.

    Again, you end up with one of the best aspects of the whole game. Personal taste. Whether it is how you complete the missions, when you decide to do them, which side activities you do, how you dress, what cars you drive, or the hair on your head (and face), personal choice is exemplified in this game. The mission structure is so well designed that it makes the open world feel far more open and at the same time inviting. Whether you are out in the country, up in the mountains, or in the main city, you will always feel the freedom to do whatever you want however you want (even if it is simply a game of golf).

    The mission structure does not suffer from the absolute open design in this case either. Unlike some games that have tried to give you absolute freedom to take missions in any order you want, but fail at various points, this game has a way of making it feel compelling when you do the missions, but not restrictive when you choose to take them. The story never suffers from the order in which you choose to complete it and in some ways, completing things in a different order might give you different perspectives and lead to new ways to attempt missions.

    Replay is high for this game in the franchise. Not only can you replay individual missions by using your in game phone, but the game offers a scoring system for each mission that rates your completion on various factors, leading to built in replay. In addition, you may want to go about playing from a new save multiple times as the open nature of the structure allows for differing perspectives on the overall play through. Without spoiling it, I will say that you should play through every available mission at the beginning of the game between Michael and Franklin from one perspective first, then on a second play from the other... it leads to some interesting views on missions.

    Overall the game is a vast improvement in not only the franchise, but in the genre first made famous by the Grand Theft Auto name. We can only hope other developers (and Rockstar too) pay attention to this games successful points and start a new trend in designing future games in the genre.

    If you want a comparison, Grand Theft Auto 4, meets Grand Theft Auto San Andreas, Meets Red Dead Redemption (without the old west themes).

    Note: I cannot in good conscience give this game a 10 as it has some flaws that probably could have been remedied that have plagued the genre since it's inception. Not fixing these after so many years is just not forgivable at this point... a shame too, because otherwise this game is nearly perfect.
    Expand
  90. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best and most ambitious title i have played this generation and its a mayor improvment over GTA IV. Amazing game, would definitely recommend it to everyone. It's a game you can play for hours and have nonstop fun!
  91. okk
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth $108 dollars,probably the best game of the year.the only bad thing is it can be predictable at times.Aside from that, it is an excellent game.
  92. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Spectacularly grand in every sense of the word, Grand Theft Auto V delivers a refreshing and vividly satirically take on our modern American style of living. Enjoyable from beginning to end, the game contains three times the amount of replay value thanks to the addition of three protagonists, and an a stunning amount of in-depth mini-games. The graphics are spectacular, and the game has established itself as not only one of the best looking multi-platform game, but also as one of the best looking games ever. If you do not enjoy any of the GTA games, then now is the time to jump on the bandwagon. Superior writing, and finally modernized gameplay ensure that Grand Theft Auto V is not only the best GTA game, but also the best game that Rockstar has made yet. Expand
  93. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    I will say that the story line is very innovative. The massive world became a instant escape from reality so much to do play tennis play golf (which Ive never been so excited to actually play golf) Driving was very fluent and easy to control I hate playing the others where im crashing everywhere. The gun play is easy and comfortable for a non gun gamer. It has decent amount of replay value I hope the Online changes my mind on that. I dont really consider a goty for me persay but I do think its one thats it up on that list. Expand
  94. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    A near perfect came. Minus the shooting while driving mechanics. A complete redemption from GTA 4. Moving between characters is easy. Great graphics, good story so far. Contacts not irritating like GTA 4. A must buy.
  95. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Hats off to Rockstar North whom have taken the lessons learnt from San Andreas, IV, and Read Dead Redemption to create a game that is extremely well crafted and incredibly polished. Although the game mechanics are amazing, the sandbox world is beautifully rendered and the storyline amusing, I cannot help feeling I have played it all before, and here lies perhaps the games only negative. There is little new or surprising elements in the gameplay; no new standout, amazing technological breakthrough. It can best be compared to the new iPhone 5s, which is a little bit faster, has a slightly improved camera and is a touch better looking but is still essentially the same as my old iPhone 4. Perhaps the hint is in the title, GTA V, which implies it's the continuation of a theme and my expectations for some glimmer of true originality are set too high. Instead I should just sit back and enjoy the game for what it is, the best iteration of the title to date where every aspect is implemented to its fullest potential. Expand
  96. Sep 18, 2013
    4
    GTA5 is essentially what GTA4 should have been. However the gameplay grows boring after a while. And it got to the point that playing a psychopath senselessly killing people made me turn off the game. I'm sure it will please fans of the series but it definitely not GOTY like so many say
  97. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    A great game with many hours of gameplay. I wont go overboard and give the game a perfect score as most people here seem to be doing, or lowball it with a really low score it doesn't deserve. The game is much improved over GTA IV in a few different areas. Mainly the graphics, driving, and stat additions.

    While driving is improved and the vehicles are much better to control instead of
    sliding around everywhere annoyingly, I am slightly disappointed at the arcade style damage and crashes. I can drive around and slam into other cars/objects all day and my car hardly takes a dent nor is any health drained.

    Graphically I have no issues with the game and they are improved quite a bit. I am also not experiencing any framerate issues like others are complaining about. Maybe that has something to do with having an older model playstation or something? Driving, running, shooting, and the cinema scenes are all very smooth for me.

    Besides the driving my other major gripe is the story/characters you control. The characters are not likable at all, and the dialogue is just awful. It's basically as someone else summed it with Franklin using the N word in every sentence(gets very old), Michael being a whinny prick, and Trevor a psychopath. They could have toned down the cursing as well as it just makes the characters in the game seem unintelligible in spots, and just plain unintelligent for not using better words.

    Overall the game is fun, and you will easily get your money's worth even with those few gripes as the open world and other aspects are all great. The online aspect is not out yet, but it's supposed to be a significant aspect to the game which will help as well.
    Expand
  98. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    Don't listen to the fan boys, I'm re-reviewing after initially giving this game a solid 7. The single player is good value, apart from the low frame rate everything else is pretty fun. Online mode is a joke, once you get online lots of people can't for obvious and understandable reasons it's nothing more than a fancy lobby for death matches, racing minigames and mindless robbing of stores. You do these activities to earn money, to buy cars, houses, garages to set you up for the heists which are not included just yet. A free DLC at a future date will be released with this content available.

    The combat is awful, auto aim, and free roam is like a ghost town, 16 players in a map so large. It can only really be played with friends.

    Not what i expected.
    Expand
  99. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Seriously though, stop reading this and go buy the game right now. The next generation of gaming is here. I have to add more characters however, since it must be 150 long.
  100. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    One of the things I really liked about the GTA IV was driving with the cars and crashing them.... now in GTA V driving cars feels boring and unrealistic and when it comes to wrecking cars... I mean it feels like GTA 3 or san andreas. And that is why I hate this game 0/10.
  101. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    Great script corrupts absolutely murdered approach to gameplay. The game went back arcade elements, the police still appears from nowhere and knows exactly where the years. In the missions, as there is only one version of the action: the one that came up with the designers. If you have not guessed their plan to fail. No freedom of action. No use of modified cars they still disappear, and their take on the job in 90% of cases it is impossible. AI traffic has not changed since the days of GTA 3.

    Damn Google translator. From Russia with vodka, punks
    Collapse
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    The best way to bid farewell to the retiring consoles is to spend dozens of hours having fun in Los Santos: robbing, abusing illegal substances, breaking all laws and enjoying everything else that GTA V has to offer. And after we finish the game, we should all say loudly: ‘okay, Rockstar girls and boys, it’s high time to make a truly new GTA, not just a gigantic DLC’. [12/2013, p.36]
  2. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    97
    Gigantic and stupidly detailed, GTA V is everything we hoped it would be. Individual components could be a touch better, but when a game does literally everything, nobody can expect perfection across the board. That it even comes close is incredible. [Issue#236, p.62]