User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3280 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    GTA V is one of the most technologically advanced games on the PS3. The game is endlessly fun and exciting. The setting is huge and beautiful and the characters are wacky and fun. GTA V's story is fun and the heist missions are exciting and the overall plot is well executed and almost flawless. The mechanics are tight and responsive and feel like the perfect combination of Rockstar's games since GTA IV. The game's ambient music is nice and the radio library is larger than ever. The addition of a Smartphone in the game and the great connection the game has with Rockstar's Social Club makes the game all the more fun. GTA Online, although buggy at first is a lot of fun to play, especially with friends. However, robbing gas stations and participating in races and deathmatches does get old after awhile. When online heists arrive, that will be when GTA Online will live up to its potential. As for now, GTA V is an amazing game and a true testament to the powers of the PS3 and Xbox 360. Rockstar is by far the best AAA video game publisher around. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    To nie to, czego się spodziewaliśmy. TO ZNACZNIE WIĘCEJ. Gra jest tak niesamowita, że pisanie o niej pozytywnej recenzji nie ma tak naprawdę sensu każda zwykła recenzja wychwali tą grę pod niebiosa. Nie bez powodu jest to najdroższa gra w historii (265 milionów dolarów) i zarazem najlepiej sprzedająca się w pierwszych dniach po premierze. Widać olbrzymią skalę tego przedsięwzięcia w każdym momencie gry. Przejdźmy zatem do rzeczy.

    grand theft auto v

    Już przed premierą Rockstar Games powiadomił nas specjalnym filmikiem, że do dyspozycji w grze będziemy mieli nie jednego, a aż trzech głównych bohaterów. Każdy z nich jest pod wieloma aspektami unikalny, lecz nie wszyscy są dostępni od samego początku. Zaczynamy grę Franklinem, czarnoskórym, hip-hopowym młodzieniaszkiem, który zajmuje się drobnymi przekrętami, pali trawkę i reprezentuje młody, skromny tryb życia. Dużo czasu nie mija jak w pewnej misji pojawi się dużo bardziej doświadczony Michael, z którym szybko się skumpluje i zaczynają współpracować. Na końcu tej drogi gra przedstawi nam Trevora... Szalony psychol, który robi okrutne zamieszanie i z niczym się nie cacka. Masakrator.

    Jak jest to zastosowane w mechanice gry? Gdy poruszamy się swobodnie bez misji po mieście, w każdej chwili możemy przełączyć się, na którąś z pozostałych postaci. Jesteśmy wtedy świadkami świetnego odbicia do widoku satelitarnego i przeniesienia nas w miejsce aktualnego przebywania drugiej bohatera. Co on w tym momencie robi? Zostaniesz zaskoczony! Będziesz świadkiem tego, czym się on zajmował w wolnej chwili i przejmiesz nad nim kontrolę! Możemy trafić na moment, gdzie Trevor budzi się nachlany w śmietniku, Franklin załatwia interesy na dzielni lub gdy Michael pije whisky i pali cygaro oglądając tv w domowym zaciszu. Wygląda to mega realistycznie i jest świetnie zrealizowanym pomysłem zresztą nie tylko to... Gra jest na tyle rozbudowana, iż pierwszy raz muszę odejść od konwencji wymienienia trzech najlepszych zalet, a zaprezentować Ci ich aż pięć. Zatem do dzieła:

    Więcej na http://www.colubie.pl/2013/09/gta-v.html
    Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    O jogo ótimo, a Rock Star investiu pesado nele para termos a melhor experiencia... O problema que vem uns palhaços aqui e negativam o jogo, vão se foderem.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Another reason why Rockstar is great, very liberty until the start of the game, lovely gameplay, graphics and its all new for the rockstar fans of course, Grand Thefth Auto...
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Best game of the year by far, this game is truly what a next gen game should be, probably few next gen games will be as good as this current gen game though, as the attention to detail in this game is phenomenal, and the game play which casts you in the role of three amazingly driven characters, has never been better! The mechanics of the game has taken the best of all the rockstar franchises. I could spend time praising the games radio alone as every part of the game is phenomenal. If you did not like GTA before this may not be or game, as they have changed up alot and made the game a lot more accessible and entertaining, but it still is at its core GTA. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the best games this generation.
    My SP experience is flawless, but there where problems with the Online portion which is totally understandable seeing that 13+ million people bought the game.
    Overall this game is a blast and must own!
  7. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    GTA V is a sandbox for adults! One GREAT game, for sure. You absolutely get your moneys worth!!!
    A MUST OWN for any gamer...
    I love the story and characters that have musch more to them then in any other GTA I have played before.
  8. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    I really like the game and online is so awesome but the problem is if any one has a small brother or sister what if they play it and see the bad things and hear the bad words.
  9. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    I've been a fan of the GTA series since III, but this has to be the best one of them, this is the first one I have beaten. If I were to say one flaw with it, it would be multiplayer, they promised so much but cut short, but who knows, they're still releasing patches for it and maybe those big heists are coming soon.
  10. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Only GTA game Ive actually played from start to finish. The fact that you had to use three different characters made it really refreshing and really kept me interested and invested in their story lines. Of course theres still the minor glitches here and there, but honestly, the game is so good that it doesnt even matter. Loved it! Bravo Rockstar!
  11. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Great game. I loved how you can switch between characters and play different side stories. One of the best editions to the series. Overall it is a great game you can spend hours playing with out getting bored
  12. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    The best game of the year 2013 for me.

    This game is a lesson of open world for each video game developer who wants to touch this genre. The story is excellent and the controls have been improved compared to GTA 4. The ability to switch between 3 characters when you want is also very impressive. The only weak point is the online mode but I have not bought the game to play online initially.
  13. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    brilliant game, it is worth good money, but not too much money. free roaming in los santos and blaine county
    is really fun but you need to complete 1 or 2 of the heists before you can have some money-spending, car-exploding fun. what is bad is the police are sooooo mean in this game. if you look at a police officer for too long, the officer will shoot you! if you explode your own car in
    this game, cops. also, hospital bills cost way too much. overall, the cops were more generous in gta 4, but the graphics in gta 5 are the most amazing graphics i have ever seen! and the missions are fun, the choice of 3 characters is a nice addition
    and open-world gameplay is better than ever. grand theft auto 5 is a new gta game with near endless possibilities, the only annoyances are the cops and the hospital bills...
    Expand
  14. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    This game is simply THE BEST GAME EVER, and I am talking about everything here from graphics to gameplay. once you finish the story mode the game becomes boring but who needs the story mode when you can play ONLINE with your friends.

    The choices in online mode are endless, you can play absolutely anything in this game if you like racing, deathmatches, parachuting , survivals ... etc
    and of course the freemode where you can just go goof around with your friends in the huge city of Los Santos killing people, players, robbing stores and of course running away from the police . what IF you didn't like the maps created by Rockstar Games or got bored of playing the same maps over and over again ? guess what ! you can create your own deathmatch or race !! and if people liked it and gave it a high rating it will become certified.

    Whoever says this game is boring definitely didn't try playing online .
    Expand
  15. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Perfect end to the generation. Great story, acting, and full of laughs. If there's one complaint is that the gunplay is a bit lacking, but it doesn't detract from what is an amazing gaming experience.
  16. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Among the greatest games I've ever played. The character switching is phenomenal, the story is awesome, the graphics are jawdropping, the score is rich and the gameplay is so phucking fantastic. There is just so much to do. It's amazing.
  17. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    A brilliant comeback for the GTA franchise, with a massive map, new characters (as well as the odd cameo), fantastic script. This game leaves you with so much to do, so much to explore and you can spend hours and hours on this game having all the fun you want!
  18. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    I'm an expert player and i play almost any genre out there and after playing the gtaV really A LOT, i can say it's a new masterpiece of the serie. Single player is superb, with beautiful acting and characters that you will love, improved game mechanics, the best graphic you will get on PS3 (natural and artificial lighting is just wonderful... astonishing sunsets and the city by night is just beautiful) and an enormous living world. It just looks so real, so many details. And... GTA online is just FANTASTIC, i will play this game a lot in the next years. So what are you waiting. BUY IT now. Expand
  19. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I was skeptical about this game as I've grown tired of the open world format these days. However, I received the game as a gift and was happily surprised! Improved graphics, more control over how heists are done. Deeper characters that you can switch between at anytime even during missions. The drives aren't as long and tedious to get where your going as they were in previous installments of this franchise. The online mode is exceptionally improved as well Expand
  20. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    GTA V is everything you could want and more in a game. Rockstar have delivered the ultimate sandbox experience! It more than lives up to the hype and as such is without doubt is utterly unmissable. The game was arguably the most anticipated off all time and as soon as the action starts you'll know straight away that you are in for something extraordinary. Baring in mind the next gen consoles are fast approaching, this is the last hurrah on the current gen and it's one that you will savour for many years to come. GTA IV at the time was regarded as one of, if not the, greatest game but for me GTA V eclipses it's predecessor. Ditching the dark and gloomy Libery City in favour of the rich, classy, vibrancy of Los Santos, GTA V isn't just better than IV but so much bigger and beautiful. Infact, it's colossal! But what's so impressive is how detailed every last component is. The possibilities are literally endless. It's so open that you will never struggle for something to do. That's the beauty of GTA! The characters Rockstar create are always awesome, Niko was and is still a much loved creation but the ever innovative guys behind GTA have gone even bolder and braver and given is the luxury of 3 lead characters. And all 3 are amazing! Each to their own they have their own personalities but when they come together it's simply sensational. Trevor Phillips is possibly the greatest video game character ever made. Steven Ogg is outstanding in his stellar portrayal. He's an aggressive, rude, crude, violent, egotistic psychopath but absolutely hilarious from his introduction. The other playable characters are Michael and Franklin. Both, particularly Michael are excellent, are good but not quite Trevor, who i'm sure will be remembered for years to come. The gameplay is has refined and tweaked and despite some minor gripes the epic and exhilariating fun that is here to be had it's impossible not to overlook them and just become engrossed in such an exceptional experience. The driving aspect is one key area where there has been an overwhelming improvement. It was frustrating last time out but this time round it's enjoyable and the simplicity of it means going for a spin was never more relaxing. Then single player focuses mainly on heists and how all 3 main characters intertwine with one another which produces some truly magnificent missions to be had as you explore Los Santos to it's bare bones. The set pieces are stunning throughout and often leave you in awe. What's also genius is the way the characters interchange, being able to change between the 3 leads is brilliant and the it's always brilliant to see what scenario your character is when you change from one to another. To top it all off, GTA Online is now available and the problems have been addressed. They've even added some funs out of generosity! Online is going to better and bigger. It's a certainty! And you have to remember that it's in it's early stages and that makes it even more intriguing and impressive. The opportunities Rockstar will supply everybody online with is very much a fantastic prospect. Create your character, join a clan, play with some mates, do some missions.. You'll never run out of things to do!

    All in all GTA V is just an unbelievable package. Rockstar have once again delivered the essential game and presented the current generation consoles with one of the greatest games of all time! It's epic fun. With endless possibilties ranging from the gigantic world of Los Santos, the incredible story, 3 genius and enthralling characters, a great and an ever expanding online mode... Grand Theft Auto V is another landmark moment for gaming and a game that anyone with a console should own!
    Expand
  21. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    I enjoy playing the game... but some of the dialogue and scenes are on the level of elementary-to-high school level. If it didn't have the overly immature parts, it would be 10/10... but I gave it 9/10.
  22. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Así que nada es suficiente
    Y que yo soy la que miente
    Y que todo tú me diste
    Que tú siempre me quisiste
    Que tú nunca hiciste nada
    Que soy yo la que te hace sufrir

    Y le dices a la gente
    Que me buscas que me quieres
    Que sin mí de amor te mueres
    Y que solo son rumores
    Que fue todo un error
    Que por eso ahora estás así
    Suplicando que te escuche
    Y diciendo que todo cambió
  23. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    You know that feeling you get... that sad feeling you get when Christmas day is over and you realize that the day you've anticipated for so long has come and gone? That's how I felt when the credits started rolling when I completed GTA 5. This is actually the first GTA I've played. Yes, there are shocking moments, but this game is a masterpiece. It's my guilty pleasure for sure. The story is awesome and the gameplay is so fun. Worth every penny and more. Expand
  24. Oct 17, 2014
    9
    Rockstar last GTA installment is a masterpiece for what concerns scale and spectacularity. It depicts Los Angeles and California pretty closely, ironically exaggerating its defects and letting the setting magnify its bright spots. The way the player is treated feels bitter, anyway.
    Programmers are always sure you get to see the best landscaping views, and didn't bother giving a
    significance to side missions outside of just enjoying them. These make a player feel like he is being shown a game he doesn't have any possibility to change, which is the intention you buy a sandbox game with.
    The plot is well written and linear. That is a plus since you really went to play a big game like this without leaving anything back. The only characters that stands out is Trevor, while Franklin and Michael feel cliché. The overall 'decading age' feeling is very well portrayed and represents modern society in a great way.
    GTA V is fun, big, and breathtaking. Just be aware that the low interaction between what you do and what you are told makes everything less personal.
    Expand
  25. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Do you love causing mayhem? Don't lie, the answer is Yes.

    This game is not just Grand Theft Auto. This game is Tiger Woods Pro Golf, this game is Need For Speed, this game is WaveRunner (N64 throwback), this game is basically every type of game you would want all bundled into one. Epic characters, insane heists (which you can play multiple ways!), and room for many, MANY expansions
    makes this game incredible to say the least.

    Buy or Rent?

    If you only want to experience the bare minimum the game has to offer, then rent. It will still take a solid 20 hours to beat, even if you rush the main story. The thing is, the main story is not where the game really shines (it is but it isn't), the "real" enjoyment of the game (IMO) is in the ambient world. It is fully alive with everyday activities and things going on around you. Ever stopped outside the skyscraper downtown to hear a lawyer to complain about his client on the cell? Epic stuff.

    This game will always sit on my shelf as a milestone of gaming history.
    Expand
  26. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto V was released with massive hype and limited spoilers as to how the gameplay and mechanics would work. RockStar spent the better part of 5 years developing the concept for this game.
    With the expectations so high prior to it's release. This reviewer was honestly expecting a failure of a game.
    What I did not expect was a game to exceed the hype and create a game so large
    in scale that it creates a new standard for all open world games.
    The game focuses on three protagonists. Trevor. Michael and Franklin.
    Each of whom have different backgrounds and life situations. Who all stories intertwine and become a trio of anti-heroes who organise bank heists.
    Without delving too much into the characters. Rockstar do a fantastic job creating a basic prologue of each character do make each of them mildly interesting to the player.
    The interchangeable players is a nice touch. But this sacrifices deep storytelling of a single lead character.
    A small irk though. Graphically it is amazing. Among the best realism on the current gen. The simple control's stay true to the traditional style. Set in a reimagined Los Santos and Blaine County. This visual masterpiece is this franchise best release since San Andreas on PS2.
    My only problems with this game. Reused dialogue. Lack of in depth character development and at times it feels a little lacklustre but that is few and far and between.
    On the upside Missions are fun. The Chemistry between Micheal and Trevor is hilarious. There is always something to do.
    This game is a new level of quality which will take some beating.
    Expand
  27. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Fun in all Senses, this masterpiece guide you to the life of 3 different kind of people to accomplish something together, is really funny how the interact with everything in this gorgeous world, tons os things to do, excellent main missions and a really good on-line companion to add more fun, perfect 10 for me
  28. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    It's been 5 years since we last heard from Grand Theft Auto IV, but now how in the world did they come up with #5? Damn. It's a whole new experience to wind down the Seventh-generation era as I'm about to buy one of the games that should be no doubt Game of the Year. You've got your Bioshock, Tomb Raider, The Last of Us, but after so much critically-acclaimed games this year this is the big one. Grand Theft Auto V. I'm getting a bit nervous on which GTA is the best, IV or V? After seeing the new GTA V trailer at E3, I was stoked and how exciting is this work of art. Rockstar did it again. First was Red Dead Redemption, then L.A. Noire, then Max Paine 3, and finally Grand Theft Auto V. I would agree that 2013 belongs to the Rockstar in all of us. The story is amazing, the explosive missions, the acting, I've never seen anything like this before. Never in my life as how beautiful open-world sandbox games can be. It's like "Blade Runner" meets "The Fifth Element." This is a must-own game. I know the eighth-generation is here and now, but we don't have to wait any longer. I'd say don't wait for the holiday traffic, just race down to GameStop and buy it before it's gone. Expand
  29. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    I took my time before handing out a score. I didn't want to be like all the fans/antifans that gave the game 10 or 0, right at launch day. I finished the game now, and I took my time.
    Still, I had to give it a 10. I had a 9 marked, but at the end I had to admit it deserves a 10. I can't chose decimals, otherwise I would give it a 9.5

    The game is just awesome. I am no GTA fan. I played
    several of the GTA games, but didn't finish any of them. I prefered Saints Row 3, Prototype, and other games in this genre over any GTA. But GTA5 is a masterpiece.

    I would give it a 9.5 because since I finished all the missions, even though the game is great, I am not having much fun anymore. But Since I can't give it a 9.5, there goes a well deserved 10
    Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Not counting the Online mode, Grand Theft Auto V is an impressive open world game from Rockstar North with a meticulously-crafted new rendition of Los Santos and Blaine County. There's plenty to do and see though, once again, various interiors are locked away (unless you choose to replay missions). However, there are some fantastic missions such as Hood Safari, Caida Libre and Fresh Meat. Overall, Grand Theft Auto V is a testament to Rockstar's impressive knowledge of current-gen tech and a blast to play. My second favorite GTA game (first being Grand Theft Auto III). Expand
  31. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Another Rockstar game and yet another masterpiece. For a game of this magnitude Rockstar have really pushed the boat out on this one, considering we are now around the 7 year console life cycle you will be amazed in how far they have come not only for a GTA title in itself but for also how amazing it looks and feels on an 7 year old piece of hardware.

    Despite the phenomenal graphical
    technical achievements, the game play has also vastly improved over it's predecessors; Thanks to Max Payne 3 they were able to implement the gun mechanics and now the gun shooting is so fluid and responsive which makes a big deal in a big open world crime game. The driving has also been vastly improved; now I know there is a lot of complaints regarding the driving but in my opinion it's definitely a lot tighter and is a lot more enjoyable and fun to drive compared to GTA IV. The activities are more diverse this time, (respectfully because of the huge diverse open world) ranging from parachuting to jet skiing, playing golf to hunting. There is so much to do, you will easily clock a 100hrs maybe even more you will just have to let your imagination run wild.

    However as with any GTA title the story is what the core of the game is all about and I gotta say this is by far the best story/plot in any GTA game ever produced. The missions are so enjoyable to play and they actually make sense now as oppose to some of the mindless pointless missions in GTA IV. There was not a single mission where I was bored and it's very cool to see a lot of references to films of what the missions were based on. The story length might be a little shorter compared to previous GTA titles but I take quality over quantity any day.

    All we can wait for now is GTA: Online and I have no doubt that will also be equally as awesome if not better.

    So what you all waiting for, if you haven't picked up this title go frigging do it no!
    Expand
  32. May 3, 2014
    10
    One of the best game I've ever played, with a huge world which offers days of gametime. The story is good and the character design is fantastic. Only issue is the Multiplayer, which is chaotic and at times difficult to navigate. Worth getting solely for single player though.
  33. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    Excellent single player game. The characters are engaging and relateable. Everything controls great frankly there's not much to say. The single player is wonderful. GTA Online is horribly boring (I'm completely ignoring the ongoing technical issues, I've been able to play online a few times this past week). The trailer for online looked so much better than the online game itself. It's just awful. The single player make everything worth it. Not much more to say this is classic GTA, only better. It just doesn't make any progress in the online world. Expand
  34. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have about 100 hours of play time (none online). Once you learn the roads and can handle a vehicle at 180-200 miles per hour the physics really start to shine, hitting a car head on and being thrown 400 meters through the windshield into a concrete overpass and splatting like a bug is pretty cool. Using Franklin's special ability to wreck cars at these speeds is much more fun than avoiding wrecks. The game deserves a 10 rating on physics alone....regardless of how "tasteless" the story and characters are. I feel bad for all the kids that will miss out on this awesome experience, but would never recommend letting anyone under 18 years old play or even be in the same room as this game. The mature rating is an understatement! It's going to rub a lot of people the wrong way. I love it! Expand
  35. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Story: 8.5 out of 10 Graphics: 9.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 9 out of 10 Fun: 8.5 out of 10 Controls: 10 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 9.5 out of 10
    Multiplayer: 7 out of 10
    Length: 9 out of 10
    Re-play: 9 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: barely any
  36. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Possibly the best game to date. It is hard to dislike the game. Everything has improved compare to GTA 4. Everything. Main characters are all jerk, but with enjoyable plots. Los Santos is also a very beautiful city. and large). I think I shall not dwell on gameplay too much, since the reviews should be on every gaming site. Thank you rockstar, for this gem. I will always buy another GTA title.
  37. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    GTA V has breathed life back into my favourite hobby and is the reason I have cancelled my PS4 pre order!
    I love this game, it is massive, vibrant, funny, violent and most of all FUN.
    Up until GTA V came out my PS3 had been gathering dust. I was bored of video games. GTA V is THE best game I have played since the N64 days. It's full of character and even away from the main plot, the side
    missions are interesting and a great way to earn some cash. The graphics aren't perfect but considering the scope and size of the game, they are top notch. The sound track is awesome and the voice acting is excellent. I have enjoyed every hour of this game so far. If you haven't played it yet, get it today, you'll love it. Shame the online isn't working yet but you can't have everything! Expand
  38. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto V is a landmark in both culture and gaming. Rockstar have taken all of their current generation games and put everything that made them good into one game, its not just good its damn near perfect.
    The story follows three main characters; Michael, a middle aged father who hates his children and is in a loveless marriage with his sexually promiscuous wife. Having been in
    witness protection for 9 years after ratting out his friends in a bank robbery he is growing tired of the easy life and wants some excitement back in hope of re-kindling his youth. Franklin is a wannabe two-bit gangbanger living in the poorest part of Los Santos who wants to make it big by any means necessary. Then there is Trevor, Michaels ex colleague and the only survivor of the bank robbery from 9 years ago, when he finds out that Michael is still alive he brings both he and Franklin together for a series of robberies that will get Michael out of a midlife crisis, Franklin set up for life and to give Trevor something to do besides mercilessly maiming, torturing and killing people.
    Los Santos is a huge and highly detailed game world, one of the best looking games this generation. Plus GTA V isnt just a 3rd person action game, each gameplay element from racing, sports minigames, life simulation and even stock markets have been intricately placed into the game to make it last for not only weeks or months but years, all of which are of a very high quality and could easily make up their own individual games worth of high scores.
    GTA V simply cannot be summed up in a 5000 character limit so I may as well cut it at just over 2000. In short buy this game, you are doing a disservice to yourself and gamers everywhere if you do not play this game, I can guarantee that you will find at least one thing that you like in this game and if you dont then nothing will ever please you.
    GTA V is a game that not only defines this generation of games but defines society as it is today, something everyone, whether game or not, should take a moment to look at and realise how terrible we really are and that despite our best efforts, we will never change.
    Expand
  39. Oct 3, 2013
    9
    if you see the score for the critics review, you've thought this was the best game ever made. It's an amazing game, but I would'nt say it's close to a 10 as all the critics say. I respect that rockstar could've just tried the same formula like in all the others gta's; but decided to change it up with three characters in the game; which brings variety in how you do missions. However, I just did'nt get attached to the characters and story like i did in gta 4; mainly because you switch between characters. The story is good but not great. The gameplay was also tweaked with new special abilities, which was a good change of pace. The driving feels a lot easier to handle which is not really an improvement or neccesarily a bad thing. The huge world is huge, however I never found the drive to fully explore inside" blaine county, nor hunt animals. I also felt like they juiced the cops too much ,and it's no longer fun to mess with them. Everything else is what you expect, repetitive strangers and freaks except for a few, long story, relatively good missions, beautiful cars and graphics, fun to drive around and explore. It's GTA, they never had a bad one and this is a great game just not a "masterpiece". Expand
  40. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Anyone giving this game a 0 is probably someone who works for another company trying to get their game nominated for GOY. GTAV not only immerses you into a world of chaos and hilarity, it embarks on a quest to flex the muscles of the current gen consoles. It is by far the most beautiful game I have ever played. The single player's story line is the best story line I've ever played of any game, including any previous GTA video games. It allows you to switch effortlessly between the three main characters. And each character's path is completely different from the next, while also intertwining their stories after a certain point in the story. You'll find yourself completely immersed into the game as you rip through the city of Los Santos (an almost identical replica of today's Los Angeles). The weapons are very well designed and sound very realistic. The vehicles, while some will look exactly like real world vehicles, Rockstar has taken several real world vehicles and have created their own by combining looks and feels of multiple vehicles. Character models are especially something to be amazed of, as hundreds of citizens take the streets of Los Santos. The violence is real, or as real as it can possibly get. The missions are intense and full of humor and action. And that's just the single player. With most video games, the online portion can have it's glitches. GTAV Online definitely has had some problems. The only reason I'm giving it a 9.0 and not a 10 is because of the issues that the online portion has had. So I'm not ignoring the fact that it has had some issues. Players lost their characters, money that players earned was lost, vehicles that were purchased by players were lost, and a lot of loading issues were there as well. But since its release, Rockstar has worked diligently at fixing these issues, and most, if not, all have been alleviated at this point. Players are still waiting for heists, which would be my only complaint at this point. But I know Rockstar is working hard to get this feature to its players. The online missions get tougher as you rank up. Survival has by far been my favorite mode, playing online with friends, surviving waves of military personnel, thugs, or crazy rednecks out in the desert or in the city. You also have races that help you unlock vehicles and vehicle upgrades. This game is just short of being the perfect video game. Two things I can tell you that might sell you on this video game... I've never once completed an entire GTA video game in its entirety... this one, GTAV, I have. I've also never been so engrossed into a video game's online feature to the point where I've reached a somewhat high rank, and I'm at a decent rank at this point already. It's very addictive and time consuming, very fun and worth buying. And just so you know I'm genuine and not a fanboy, I thought GTAIV was garbage. Expand
  41. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Only thing I can say about this masterpiece is: BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE!!!!!! This is one of the greatest experiences you will have in any console EVER, BUY IT NOW!!!!
  42. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Indeed a great game for this generation. At first I thought giving this game a 9+. The game is fantastic, yet it is not perfect. But actually, not one game is perfect. When the online mode was (fully) functional (despite the fact Heists need to be released online) I was 100% sold. Online totally finished a legendary Rockstar title once again.

    Mostly the fact that they used game
    mechanics created for (for example) Max Payne and Red Dead is genius in my opnion. As a game artist, I really think I as well as other game developers can finally see how great this technique can be.

    Must have, must play, game of the year without a doubt.
    Expand
  43. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    Grand Theft Auto V, on all fronts, has finally met it's true potential as a rpg/shooter, finally blending the joys of both in tangent. With a more vibrant colorful boost up from GTA IV, more diversity of weapons and cheats, weapon customizations and the return of vehicle customizations that have been amped from the San Andreas predecessor, GTA V is a game for anyone willing to either go on a rampage or just soak in how alive the city feels, not only by the development of the buildings but also by the interactions of people that are just if not more dynamic than the interactions in Skyrim.

    Sure, GTAV faulted on it's GTA Online concept, but I'm glad that, despite that it was still a flop at launch, Rockstar actually had their head on a swivel enough to try to patch it as best as they could without expecting any sort of problems to be expected. For my experiences on the PS3 and in terms of Single Player, the Single Player has a lot to offer, with a 3-protagonist web that never interferes with the joys of gameplays, as each character get their own personal properties and garages to stack their items. The new introduction of the Heists is the highest selling point of this game, a new aspect that allow you to attack and diverge an operation in any sort of way you see fit, mostly in the prospect of benefiting the biggest payout to your main protagonists. The protagonists themselves also have their own situations and issues, being 3 diverse characters with their own prospects and woes. Points are slightly taken away for some of the disturbing imagery that comes about in the story mode, not to mention how the story mode loses a lot of gravity at the end and ends on a short note. The cheat system has returned to the combo mashing, which was somewhat of a pain since GTAIV had the phone dial up that made activating cheats easier, but I could see why they did return: You can make yourself invincible for 5 minutes. No fall damage, no bullet damage, no melee, explosion or fire damage. If one was able to just simply press the cheat at the end time, a person could make themselves invincible indefinitely. But anyhow, Cheat diversity has largely increased, with a lot more exciting cheats rather than the stock cheats. Weapons also have returned with a more satisfying arsenal, with stun guns, machine pistols, light machine guns and my favorite, the minigun. Also, these weapons can have modifications and tints to diversity your need for stopping power. Vehicles have increased in diversity, with even more exotic vehicles to test your limits. IN terms of the general area, Los Santos has a lot of callbacks to it's San Andreas counterpart, increased in size and moved some prominent areas, such as the Stadium and Grove Street. The river layout has become muchmore real and diverse, and Blaine County, serving as the secondary area, also is incredibly diverse with the first introduction of animal life in a GTA GAme since. (if you cant flying rats in GTAIV). This game, alone, is a fun ride that takes you on a new, grandiose tale through the american wastes of capitalism and egotism.
    Expand
  44. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Massive, immersive and VERY detailed. A true epic that will be setting the standard for open world games for years to come. The campaign is fun with plenty of interesting missions that add context to the impressive action and game play. The game is not perfect but, for what it does accomplish, giving this game anything less than a 10 would be criminal. The characters are kind of cliche and the story is not always as tense as it could be but these are minor issues in the grand scheme of things. There are some minor graphical glitches so I hope that they do release a PC and/or next gen version at some point (this game is worth buying twice). I'm not interested in multiplayer so my review does not contain information regarding that portion of the game. Expand
  45. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    No need for generic introduction; its GTA and that's all you need to know about what kind of game this is! All the sandbox elements are still there, only better: more vehicles, a tonne of customization, more activities, etc, etc.
    What I want to focus on in this review, however, is the single player of GTA5. Sure you can forget about campaign and only play online, which is a ton of fun if
    you got friends to play with you (I'm not saying you have to play with a friend though), but the campaign of this game... is incredible. It seemed normal that few people would ever beat the gta campaign (not me), but this convention might end with GTA5. Here you got so much content; its like Skyrim, where unlike other rpgs its all about multiple story lines. They are all interesting too; I will be honest I haven't progressed too much in the campaign because I was playing online, but in the first few missions I already had a lot of fun, the game becoming exciting or gripping or funny when it needs be, unlike older GTA titles where the awesome missions only appear after you are well progressed through the game. Characters in GTA5 are vibrant and alive. They might not make you really care about them as if they were your best friends, but they are definitely likable.
    Also like Skyrim you will be kind of "integrated" with the game as you will very likely be playing non-stop. Los Santos really is a place you can live in. GTA5 is a dam good game with its single player alone--since it also offers a multiplayer that is just as big and as deep, GTA5 really is one of the few games that you must play.
    Expand
  46. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    What to say? Rockstar is probably the best gaming developer there is. I mean, when you play a game like this you immediately take conscience that you're in front of something special and perfect in every way.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: I admit that i was sceptical with the fact of an alternating gameplay between three characters. Forget it it only enhances the experience and My God Trevor...

    PRESENTATION: Los Santos is alive in every sense of the word. You have to love it. Period.
    GAMEPLAY: GTA at it's finest.
    ONLINE: Did not played that much but i believe to be an extension of the campaign.
    A masterpiece.
    Expand
  47. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Here we return to San Andreas witha new chapter & you are given 3 Main Protagonists, first of is: Franklin, who is a Repo man by day & gang banger by night who is seeking a bigger score but keeps on coming up short, he coincidentally bumps into our next protagonist during one of his Repo jobs and is given a new line of work which leads to the 2nd Protagonist: Michael, a retired bank robber/thief under witness protection who is settled down but struggling to keep composure of himself and his own family oh & he is also believed to be dead to none other then our 3rd & last Protagonist: Trevor, a unpredictable & unstable friend of Michael, they are separated after a bank job gone wrong and is forced into hiding (the prologue), years after sadly he's turnout into a crazy redneck who finds out his long lost friend Michael is alive & well who's living in Los Santos. So he journeys to him in hope of either old times sake or vengeance. The Plot: its the same typical ol' story from R* (not in a bad way), its over the top, comically dark & frantically fun, which is why GTA V is so damn enjoyable especially with the beauty of how well everything syncs into place. They have changed from 1 to 3 protagonists for us which is gold & not only that but how they had implemented the switch through all 3 characters in the game, the way you can freely transition between them(except during missions) is nothing but awesome. The diversity of each character also blends well together with outrageous & serious dialogues which help keep the story smooth and addictive even when doing side missions they've managed to keep them short & simple but fun & crazy too. You can go from helping old overseas tourists stalk washed up Los Santos stars to being a wannabe paparazzi recording a celeb sex video and the list of obscenity goes go on. The in game society is based around todays modern society from spoilt children too new technology & many more which makes their options endless. The gameplay is the usual but it does get boring & repetitive with the same ol' car jacking, 5 star wanted system etc but there is definitely new positive features to the gameplay that spice the game up to new heights. 1 is that all 3 main characters have a special ability each which makes them standout from one another, Franklin can slow down time while driving, Michael can slow down time while on foot and Trevor goes berserk and rages where he becomes superhuman, simply a great feature. Second is single player Heists & Raids which are utterly amazing, The Heists are the pinnacle of each Chapter, let it be from robbing a bank or Raids where you are infiltrating a FIB HQ for data but it's not just that but the way you operate the whole Heist/Raid from scratch, Heists will have you meeting up with the creepy but mastermind behind the Heists: Lester a friend of Michael who gives you choices on how to approach a Heist, from doing it dumb & loud or silent & smooth too the people you want on the job and more, the choices feel linear still but choice always betters a forced option in most cases, same goes for most Raids. These new features show R* are really innovating the GTA franchise without compromising its foundation of the game. The location of it all is a revisit of San Andreas the same proving ground for CJ in GTA: San Andreas hence the name, again R* worked their magic with the size of the map & detail, i barely witnessed any frame rate drops during my play through the game & the bugs were almost oblivious but i'm sure many witnessed some problems during their gameplay through. LA is used as a model format for San Andrea (if you didn't know by now), the game really shows the beauty of SA but also shows their attention to detail by capturing a spitting image of LA in the game from buildings and landmarks to the beach & countryside. The music will always be on the table for debate in games, the music chosen was very unique & most stations provided good music for their genre and even the talk shows were very amusing but there will be many mixed thoughts on this, for me the music/radio stations were on point. Now on to the biggest disappointment of the game: Multiplayer, it had the potential to be one of the greatest online experiences in a long time for consoles but it was bombarded with issues since Day 1, it fell to many problems: server issues, player deletion, cloud issues, reoccurring changes in game (payouts), delay of content release and more. But besides the GTA:O problems it still has great features in it that automatically makes GTAO worth the wait: character customization, playing with friends, doing more missions, dairy stick ups, races, leveling up but still its missing a key ingredient that STILL hasn't been released, HEISTS. The damage is done but it doesn't take away the fact GTAV is a superb game. Overall GTA V is proof of a long running franchise that can still evolve, i'm glad R* has finally found out how to refresh the series & put GTA back on top. Expand
  48. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Gta V's storyline will keep you interested until the end but still lacks in originality. Those last few side missions are also hard to find and can waste alot of time.
  49. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    greatest game ever created in the history of the universe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  50. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    This game has it all. When I saw the trailers for this game, it made me eager and ready for the next instalment of the Grand Theft Auto series. I was blown away when I finally played it and when I finished the story mode, I had logged 50 hours into the game. Lets start off by saying this game has copious amounts more variety thrown into it compared to the last instalment of GTA IV. While Grand Theft Auto IV is an amazing game, it is true that it did not as much to do while not performing missions. GTA V has definitely made you have the sheer amount of joy you experienced in San Andreas by briniging in so much tasks to do while not on the story. This game is amazing and is well worth the $60-80 dollar price range. 10/10. Expand
  51. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    Excellent game, possibly best GTA yet. First GTA with awesome graphics, shooting/cover system first time right in a GTA title. Best sandbox game yet, most believable world yet and the classic GTA atmosphere/humor in every tiny little detail and then some. Full of secrets and easter eggs.

    Cons: You' ll drive A LOT and it gets a bit repetitive, though there is the fast travel via taxi
    mode which is way better used than in GTA IV. The story has some excellent dialogue, though the overall picture isn't the most compelling one ever. Also, it could have used more heists, which is probably one of the title's highlights. Lastly some odd developer's choices such as the missing "restart mission" or the missing objectives the first time you play a mission (for the gold medal). But... minor things in a ocean full of awesomeness.

    My 2nd best game of this gen (behind The Last of Us) and probably one of the best games I've ever played.
    Expand
  52. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Better than GTA IV. This is everything that San Andreas was to PS2. GTA V brings everything great about gta to one great package. Best PS3 game for sure.
  53. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    Best game ever? It could be. While not perfect I honestly don't think perfection truly exists GTA V is as close to perfection as a game has come to date. With the most fleshed out and entertaining protagonists, amazingly well-acted, top notch dialog, and a plot full of humor and intrigue...well, it'll be a long time before any developer comes close to topping this game.
  54. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the best games I've ever played. With the exception of a few technical hiccups, this is a near perfect game that's a joy to watch, play and experience. Throughout the entire single player I was never bored. Every mission is different from the last and there is just so much fun to be had. GTA V oozes variety and is the pinnacle of sandbox games in general. The map is gargantuan in size and is just so beautifully designed. Many area's look aesthetically different ranging from cities, to mountains, to deserts, the list goes on and on. The story is also decent along with some memorable characters over the top dialogue and action sequences. After the rather beefy campaign you still have tons of side missions, 100%ing story missions, purchasing property, free roaming and... oh yeah online, which could honestly last you forever. This game is jam-packed with non-stop fun content which will just leave you wanting more. I can easily say this is my favorite game this console generation, surpassing previous favorites like Uncharted 2, inFamous 2, Rayman Origins, and the Last of Us. I just can't stress enough how much fun I had playing this game, and the fun has only just begun. After beating the single player I hopped over to multiplayer with my buddies and it's just a blast. I still have to complete all those single player side missions as well. This game will keep me busy for months to come and is the BEST game this generation and the best sandbox game of all time. Expand
  55. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    I've been waiting for this game since the 2nd trailer came out. A lot of possible outcomes came into mind whether it would turn out to be the worst of the GTA games or the best of them all. In my opinion, this is the best GTA of the series and the most ambitious. So much detail was put in the game and that devotion warrants a recognition. GTA kept a humorous tone in the narrative while keeping it action-packed and intense. The only problem I have with this game is the length because it ended too soon for me. Hoping there would be a DLC release to add more to the story. As for the addition feature GTA online, I'd say it needs more improvement, which is nothing patches can't take care of. I also felt the city looked barren with only 16 players per session. Overall, I'm rating this game for the single player experience and it is one of a kind. Expand
  56. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Up until this point never got on with GTA games, not my sort of thing. Wasn't even sure whether or not to buy this one, but succumbed to marketing pressure Glad I did, I like this game. I don't know why to be honest, perhaps it's because Trevor is just so funny in a psychotic sort of way. Listening to the chat shows on the radio is an hysterical commentary on the society of today. The world is vast an interesting. The fact you can decide what to do with any of the three protagonists and not have things dictated to you is nice. Means you can just idle the hours away doing what you fancy doing.

    Overall brilliant game to close out the current series of consoles and shift to the next-gen.
    Expand
  57. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    I have nothing to say. Great game. Great story. Great online. Free dlc's. Own creator. Races. Music and city is realistic. Huge open world. What else gamer needs? Idk, but everyone have to got. 10/10 masterpiece and best game of 2013 :)
  58. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Rockstar made of the greatest games of all-time! Grand Theft Auto V is a MUST BUY for all PS3 and XBOX 360 owners! So many things to do! Amazing graphics! Fun missions! Great character switching and absolutely fantastic multiplayer!
  59. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Part V is the best GTA to date and had exceeded its high expectations. The three main character premise works well in both gameplay and story-telling. Rockstar fixed previous issues with added checkpoints, quick saves, and keeping your weapons when arrested.

    It is a good year of gaming but GTA:V will be many people's Game Of The Year, and it is well-deserved.
  60. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Grand Theft Auto V is an improvement over its predecessor in almost every possible way! I believe that this entry in the series will go down as the instant classic that IV was supposed to be! By far the most remarkable thing about this game is its presentation, every single thing all the way down to the smallest detail is rendered with the utmost quality and care. The gameplay is also tuned to perfection, you can see elements of both L.A. Noire as well as Red Dead Redemption in it. The only two things that really took me out of the experience were one the story, which has its moments but ultimately falls flat compared to Red Dead or L.A. Noire. It's not the story was bad or that the missions weren't fun, it just failed to hit me on the emotional level that those two games did. Secondly, is GTA Online. Again, it's not bad it just got really boring really fast and didn't keep me addicted and coming back the way that Red Dead's online did. Still GTA V is an absolutely phenomenal game when looked at as a whole and will definitely will be remembered for years to come! Expand
  61. AK7
    Sep 26, 2013
    9
    I grew up with Grand Theft Auto. Yeah, I know GTA was never meant for kids, but hey, couldn't resist playing. I was so excited to finally get to play this game after that delay in April and the wait was worth it. As much as I love EVERY GTA, this game has come with some things I just don't like, but there are a lot of things I do like.

    Things I don't like so much:
    - No crouch.
    -
    Driving feels more sensitive and harder than GTA IV.
    - Car spawning, what I mean by this is that you always see the same car. Now I know that this is a memory problem and these outdated consoles just can't handle it. I hope the next-gen/PC versions will do better than this.
    - Quite some bugs and glitches.

    Things I like (There are so many things I like, I think I would be going on for a couple of days):
    - Huge and I mean seriously HUGE map.
    - A beautiful interactive world, that responds to what you do.
    - 3 fun and very different main characters (However I do prefer one protagonist, but this was pretty good too).
    - All the different minigames.
    - Immersion. This game does so well to draw you in and just says do whatever you want to do.
    - Finally the REAL cheat codes are back and in action.

    Maybe it's not my favourite GTA of all time, but it's also not my least favourite, that one goes to GTA IV.
    All in all it's a fantastic game, however I cannot give this game a 10, because of it's issues. I wish I could've given this game a 9.5. Is it GOTY worthy? Definitely. It is the best game I've played so far in 2013 and it will probably stay that way.
    Expand
  62. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    If ever you needed a game that was not an exclusive to define the end of an amazing generation, look no further.

    Grand Theft Auto 5 is the sum of five hard years work and it shows. The sprawling world that is yours to explore is gorgeous and vast. With an amazing array of things to do and sights to see.
    The visuals are top notch and work so perfectly to put you right in this
    re-imagined version of southern California, everything from the beaches baked in sunlight, to the neon lit city by the night... The game is really a sight to behold.
    Gameplay mechanics, though still a little finicky at times, have been sharply honed since GTA 4. Things like moving from cover to cover and shooting, to driving and general mobility mechanics, have been hugely refined.

    The story, however memorable for each person, is most likely the weakest part of GTA 5. We are treated to three phenomenal playable characters, Michael, Franklin, and the hilariously over-the-top, Trevor, who all have their own agendas in San Andreas. The character development that takes place between the three is what truly kept me hooked on the story over the (around) 35hrs for a full play through. Though unlike other GTA games, the side-characters were not nearly as memorable, save for a few honourable mentions, like the extremely stereotypical gang banger, Lamar.
    That being said, with the addition of checkpoints (at last!) during missions, and the ability to replay any mission at any given time, on top of all the side-quests and bonus missions, there are definitely a fair amount of reasons to stay and explore San Andreas long after even the next generation launches.

    The multiplayer known as GTA Online, has now been up for about two weeks. There were some notable problems during the first three to four days of launch, including character deletion, matchmaking timeouts, and constant freezing. The community did not hesitate to lash out, not once thinking that even RockStar had anticipated issues from the sheer number of people that had eagerly been awaiting the online to launch.
    The issues were quickly resolved and RockStar have rewarded devoted players for the patience with in game currency.
    The Online totes its own story and new characters alike, and sees players creating their own avatar to explore the huge world alone or with friends. There is a massive amount to do online, from a simple free-roam mode in a player populated world, where you can make new friends or enemies while you cruise around in your custom ride, seeing the sights, or getting into trouble, to traditional death match modes.
    You can also create your own missions in the content creator, plan your own heists, rob a convenience store, or set a custom marker and challenge anyone to a spur-of-the-moment race across the state.
    With RockStar adding new content on a regular basis, and the promise of years of support, GTA Online is shaping up to be GTA 5's defining experience, as well as a new standard for online games.

    If you are one of the handful of people wondering why they should get this game now, with a new generation of consoles on the horizon, know this: Grand Theft Auto 5 is one of the finest games ever made, and is the result of huge technical achievements and years of hard work. It is a masterpiece that needs to be savoured and experienced from start to finish.
    Though I will soon be moving onto my new PlayStation 4, GTA 5 is one of the reasons that I will be returning to my PS3, because it is just that good.
    Expand
  63. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    It comes to a point where "gaming", has evolved, it has evolved into something, not better, nor worse, but something different, Grand Theft Auto 5 it's the branch and justification on how games can, and will, talk about society at a whole other level, or even revolutionize the way we see technology to this date.

    Grand theft auto does not only jokes and critiques the whole, "american
    society" as we know it, but at the same time adds up several different in game mechanics and tweaks them like no other open world game ever has.
    One of the best things that Gta V increases it's his magnitude of the three dimensional world that presents to you by the name of "Los Santos", it's massive and each different area feels unique and special in it's on way. You don't necessarily need to be playing on a scripted sequence nor a unscripted sequence to enjoy the vast array that the city of Los Santos has to offer.

    Every activity, or mission, depending on how you want to call them, feels fresh and new, this happens because of the different areas where missions develop and present themselves, while at the same time keeping it's charm with crisp new dialog, every time you jump back in a different occasion into them. They really assimilate an illusion, and a reality that represents perfectly the effort and love that was put in the making of this "game".
    The missions and the characters are written and presented perfectly to, every single one of the main and co stars that appear in the game are lovable, and sometimes even identifiable, this adds up a huge feel of immersion that no other game manages to accomplish at such a scale as this game has.

    The game has his fare share of problems too, though most of them could give you the appearance that are mistakes that could've been fixed in a quick and efficient way, the vast majority of them tend to be there, for really complex reasons, that really make you question the design choices, that the team at Rockstar's headquarters had in their mind. Some of the missions feel, completely and utterly silly, and unnecessary, while some other feel extremely unique, and satisfying to accomplish. The real beauty of the game comes from the sense of maturity that handles, and the way it those it, the game it's mature for several different aspects and subjects that the game handles, and the way it handles them. They never feel unnecessary or dull, they always feel with a purpose and a reason in behind them being there, it's perfect while at the same time keeping the integrity of the criminality, and the brutality, of the reality, that some of this characters manage to have.

    Gta V never manages to break the experience and the illusion of being part of this terrible reality that can and will most of the times be comparable to our own society and the way it affects each single type of person, no matter what your political preferences are, or if you hate violence in entertainment, Gta V will always shine as being one of the best works of criminal entertainment and art, that has ever reached into our circle of appreciable culture, it's beautiful, terrifying, and brutal at the same time, Gta V it's a masterpiece, and a must play of anyone that has an interest in the series until now.
    Expand
  64. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This game is among my top ten games of all time. Inifinte out of ten if it was an possible. Truly an original masterpiece exceeds the typical gamers' expectations. Better than the fourth GTA. A great experience on the PS3 while the xbox port is dumb.
  65. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    So close to being one of the best games ever IMO, if only another Rockstar game didn't already have that title (Red Dead Redemption). I missed out on playing GTA 4 when it came out, but was a big fan of GTA San Andreas, and was looking forward to GTA V. As many people have already mentioned, despite the massive hype for this game, it not only delivers, but generally exceeds it in many cases.

    The game has all the elements of brilliance, from the fantastic heist setups, voice acting, driving, action/gun mechanics, cut scenes etc, it continues to deliver awesomeness from start to finish. But despite all that, the one thing which constantly stood out beyond all that, was Los Santos/San Andreas itself....essentially - mammoth! And most critically, mammothly detailed and unique! Going on 70hrs+ playing the game, I was still discovering brand new areas. Little nooks in the hills with houses, vineyards, factories, crazy people etc. There is just so much depth to the "GTA 5 World", it surpasses anything any game has ever tried to do beforehand. And it's a step above other big map games (ala Just Cause 2), because it isn't just copy+paste landscapes....every location is unique and it's clear the game designers have spent a lot of time making this right.

    If I had to choose any downside to the game, it's probably only that some side missions are insanely time-consuming for little benefit (aside from trophies) - i.e. Spaceship Parts, Letter Scraps etc. But even then, they give you an opportunity to do some more exploring.

    I'll be sad to leave Michael, Franklin and Trevor behind...
    Expand
  66. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Possibly the best of all GTA games, GTA V is the one to beat, no other console or PC game provides this much entertainment on the scale that GTA V does.
  67. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Well deserving of the Game of the Year award from nearly every publication ever. I won't list the things that are wrong with it because there are none, save the lack of heist missions which I thought the game was about...
  68. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    Great game and story plus alot more in-depth than any previous GTA game I've ever played, without taking itself too seriously in the process while still knowing what it is.... thankfully also not as dull as it's predecessor!
  69. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    Rockstar has done a great job making the games. But I have the feeling that they could've done better. There are some minor bugs and some stuttering moments but overall it is a great game.
  70. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Awesome story, awesome concept, and great characters. The On-line side of things, took a while to get going, but once it did, it turned out to be really good. The only downside to the game, are the occasional glitches, which let it down; But apart from that, it's an absolute must-buy!
  71. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    This game is a technical masterpiece. It has got the best storyline in the history of GTAs. The three characters are awesome together. Only bad thing is the Stunt Jumps. Those are a pain in the ass. Way too hard. Since that is not required (At least not all 50) in perfecting (100%) the game I do not count that as a huge bad thing. Still a 10/10.
  72. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    GTA V is what GTA should be all about freedom, options, and expansiveness. With a cast of colourful and interesting characters, GTA V is humorous, detailed, and beautiful. The new in-game world has truly revolutionised open-world exploration and game-play, and the character switching feature is absolutely marvellous.
  73. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    simply awesome, and more fun than GTA IV. One of the best game ever played, only driving is a bit boring i stick to GTA IV driving system, now need to wait for GTA online
  74. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    I've always been a fanboy of 'Grand Theft Auto'. Ever since I played the first game, I knew that this game had the potential of becoming something amazing. I was pleasantly surprised with 'GTA II', amazed by 'III', astonished by 'IV', and then I played 'V'. What can I say? I was blown away, seriously blown away of how much effort and work Rockstar had put into the next installment in their best-selling gaming franchise. Everything about it was perfect; Michael, Trevor, and Franklin are some of the best protagonists a game has ever seen. The gameplay, the controls, the mechanics, and the graphics are all amazingly brilliant.

    I'm serious. 'GTA V' has to be one of the best, if not the best installment in the series.
    Please; don't listen to the hipsters who claim this game is overrated- they just want to stand out, either that or they're trolls, or haven't played this game.

    'GTA V' blew me off my feet, and I assure you that it will have a very positive effect on you if you go out and buy/rent/play this game today. It's a step forward for the series, and a step forward for gaming.
    Expand
  75. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    This is the definitive open-world game. Rockstar have yet again set the bar for open-world games, along with their gameplay, and their story. Getting 100% is an achievement and this is something you'll definitely be playing for hours.

    GTA V is a technical achievement for open-world games. How they managed to cram all that detail into an open-world game, on two current-gen consoles
    approaching 8 years old just boggles my mind. The draw distance itself is all you need to see to realize what this game shows in it's technical heights. The story shows us not one, but three main protagonists, all with their own unique abilities, which makes roaming the vast map given to you a different adventure with each character. The missions all have variety, so it'll never feel like you're doing the same thing twice, even though you are on the rare occasion. The autosave functionality is great, and mission checkpoints are now (as I've heard) improved from previous games. The best new additions are easily the new Heists. These are big missions you pull off, which can be taken in two different ways (usually either loud and dumb or more undercover and smart), which allows you to play the heist from two different approaches. These are also the only real effective way to make income in the game, but the final heist will pay off, no doubt.

    GTA Online is also a great achievement. It manages to retain the freedom and choice of the open-world in GTA V and translate that into the online world in near-mint condition. Running around and holding up stores, putting the pedal to the metal in races, shooting out in deathmatches, getting into a deadly 5-star chases with the police, attempting to grab yourselves a jet from Fort Zancudo, just messing around in the open-world, and even just relaxing in your apartments are a ton of fun, and as is with most multiplayer games, GTA Online is best played with a headset and a group of friends. All the important major bugs are a thing of the past now, and once you get into it, it's a great game. And it's only going to get better with the content creator, heists, and more all coming for free in updates. A few technical hiccups and bad design choices are all that keep GTA Online from being the perfect online experience. GTA Online alone feels worth the asking price of £40 £50.

    Overall, I wouldn't call this game the best game ever (and that's probably just down to my personal favorite game genres), but it is without a doubt a nominee for Game of the Year, and even Game of the Decade. If you even remotely like open-world games, this will be a delight to sink your teeth into.
    Expand
  76. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Wow , people really rate gta v 0 ? That's just some **** . This game , just few so fresh , amazingly fun , and you would find so many new ways to entertain yourself in this huge and detailed world. Even if you're not a fan of sandbox , this game must be in your collection.
  77. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This game is a 10. High Production value.

    My roommate played the game for like 12hr straight, my brother loves it and loves talking about it... when you go to restaurants you hear people talk about it in the background. It's a top game.
  78. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Great game... a "must have".
    You allways have something to do in this game, the scores are great.
    Having several playable characters is very funny, specially when you change and the new character is in a funny situation.
  79. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    The first game i bought as i bought the PS3. Worth buying..!! It worths every penny.!! This game's great its actually should deserve a rating of 99 or 98, 97 is i feel is quite low The user score should be 9.0 like that. People who give ratings and comments are obviously GTA haterrszz!!! Graphics of this game is just good This game has no glitches..att all only the car upgrade or parking glitch stg!! Its fixed now i think!! The online gameplay in this game is massive, amazing and mindblowing They've added new weapons which makes the action better I love doing heist misssons!! Its real good Sets up a new standard Expand
  80. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Well GTA 5 has came out and is better than EVER. Rockstar has a new Grand Theft Auto witch has bank robberies. it is a 10/10 game i also recommend this game to ANYONE.
  81. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto V shines as the greatest Grand Theft Auto game to date, and one of the greatest games of all time.

    GTA V has a rich storyline and narrative, coupled with excellently written characters that are each unique in their personalities and motivations. The gameplay is top notch, shooting borrows elements from the already top notch Max Payne 3 formula, and driving is the best
    it has ever been in a Grand Theft Auto game. Rockstar has been known to satirize American life and culture, but in 2013, during a time of hyper partisan political environments, niche cultures and movements, and a vapid pop culture media, GTA V shines in it's ability to poke fun at issues, both small and large.

    Grand Theft Auto V is truly one of the most fun, and greatest games of our current generation. Rockstar games continues to shine in it's ability to create brilliant and mindbogglingly fun video games.
    Expand
  82. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Ami este juego me encanta ha sido como un estallido de graficos super buenosen la cara la historia no me aburria como en gta sa nose perque la historia de gta sa me aburria pero el caso esta me ha parecido muy intensa i divertida i el online bueno hubo problas pero ahora todo esta bien
  83. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    SO AWESOME GAME!!! BEST GTA BY FAR!!!!!! Forget about the last of us and bioshock! This is game of easily the true game of the year! Or the game of this generation or even the best game of all time! Just the redefined gameplay, awesome world, awesome characters and the incredible attention to detail! Just buy it already!!!
  84. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto is by far my favourite series type of game but, I have to say Grand Theft Auto V has really made an improvement! from driving or just walking around free-roaming, ect The single player of this game is really great, it has alot of potential and it is alot of fun and I loved it! Although, the online is not the best but, it's alright in my opinion, reason being is that random people randomly kill you for no reason, it takes too long to get an upgrade and in my opinion it's just too hard, and really? 16 player maximum in a huge fricken map? the only thing I really do in GTA Online is do Survival games, I do it mainly for fun when i'm bored and it actually is entertaining for me! and don't mean to alarm anyone but, I just don't know why people think that this game is really bad???? maybe it's because they never really give it a chance, they were just like yeah screw this game and left it at that, yeah that's real mature, I am just ashamed on how people can be so negative these days. Anyways, there should really be heists pretty soon tho, not next year, I just think that's ridiculous! The only reason I wanted to play GTA Online in the first place was to play heists in it but, since it hasn't even been released yet I guess I can't. plus I don't even play this game all that much anymore, some may say that it has got boring and it may be too good to be true but, it is in fact true.

    The reason being that I give this a 9 is that I love GTA for life, I will never hate on it. but it was a bit disappointing, but if you knew me you would know that I am absolutely abscessed with GTA, I have been playing GTA ever since I was 4 years old, and that was when the very first GTA game was out at that time and I have been playing GTA ever since. I have played all GTA games and beat pretty well all of them.
    The activities in this game are, meh some are fun some are not as fun but, that's just my own opinion. Now when I play GTA V, the only thing I do is either beat people up or kill people, just for the heck of it. Sometimes I do an activity if I'm bored of killing people.
    Expand
  85. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    This game is like movie,in fact, as a set of films. This game have so much epic moments, so epic that you cant belive when you see it. When i see the scene from movie no country for old man, i say damn, this game keep surprising me. This game has its flawsm technical problems, but they cant spoil the overall impression. The most epic thing here is freedom, you can do it same thing on many ways. Bad thing about this game, so far, because i didnt finish yet (i dont want to haha) is that thing "i want more", for example why only few bonuty mission or only few assassinate mission? In my opinion it need to better exploit the potential of this game, more side mission, more everything, it is never enough. Imagine become true mafia boss, hire bodyguards and drivers, protect your business, deliver drugs, guns and so on, AFTER THE GAME IS FINISH, so you can keep playing and do stuff after main story is finish. That thing that missing in all games today is their "lifetime". Also i think this game must come to PC, because that players should not be withhold. This is certainly the game of the year, who still have room for improvement! Expand
  86. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    There is so much to do in Grand Theft Auto V. The missions and game play are very fun. For me, a game hyped this much I'm usually let down. But this game stood tall and was even better than I expected. The world is huge, with beautiful sights and fun activities throughout. Random activities are scattered through the world as well, which are fun little side missions for a bit of extra cash. The heists in this game are what really stood out too me. The heists were great, and now you can do heists with your friends online? Sign me up! This was an amazing experience and definitely should be on top of all your "To Play" lists if you haven't played it already. Expand
  87. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    I really like this game. I think Los Santo's is a way better city then Liberty City and the strip clubs are awesome!!!! I also think the thing where you get to switch between Micheal, Franklin and Trevor is really neat.
  88. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This is what current-gen GTA should look like. In my opinion GTA IV was most overrated game of this generation. GTA V is better in all possible ways. Starting from graphics, through missions, ending on optional activities.
  89. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto V does everything a realistic video game should do. Every mechanic from Grand Theft Auto IV has been improved, and also borrows some from both Red Dead Redemption and Max Payne 3. Now when anything dies there is an X and a millisecond of blue screen. GTA V is about 3 protagonists, Michael De Santa, retired bank robber and family man, Franklin Clinton, Los Santos native and gang banger who wants out of small time, and Trevor Phillips, a phyco drug dealer and Michael's former partner in crime. Each character has their own skill set and special ability. Michael can slow down time while using a weapon and has a higher shooting skill. Franklin can slow down time while driving and has a higher driving skill. Trevor can take half damage and give double damage while in combat as well as having a higher flying skill. All of these skills can be increased by use or lessons. Missions can be started by one character and be played with another, and can be switched between. Los Santos is a very large city that is filled with very colorful npcs and random events. It also takes up about one third of map. The rest of the map is either small towns or wilderness filled with animals. These animals can be hunted by Trevor and pictures of them can be sent to a friend of his after a stranger mission. Other stranger missions can unlock other side missions and activities. The world of San Andreas is the largest map Rockstar has ever made. Many types of vehicles can be driven, including boats, cars, helicopters, and planes (finally!). There are many fun things to do and see in GTA V, including one time when switching to Trevor, he was riding a scooter shouting "SCOOTER BROTHER" at another scooter motorist. Some pop in is a small sacrifice for such an amazing game. Expand
  90. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Never got into the series, hated Gta 4, couldn't get into it at all... But I can't put 5 down. Congratulations Rockstar! Definitely sitting on the top of the chain for GOTY. Sales figures talk kiddies. And lol at all the worried tlou fanboys who keep mentioning tlou because deep down they know gta 5 is top dog now. Rockstar I can't wait for the multiplayer. 10/10 GOTY
  91. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    The best game since a long time, and for a long time I guess! I just Wonder what they will be able to improve in GTA VI, except the rendering engine!
    Also, I can't wait to be able to play it on PC with all the mods!
  92. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Si este tipo de videojuegos va a comenzar con la nueva generación de consolas, estoy totalmente impresionado. Recuerden que esto es solo mi opinión, o sea, que este fue el mejor título de Grand Theft Auto de todos los tiempos y uno de los mejores juegos de la historia. Ojalá que Rockstar siga realizando joyas como ésta y su gran historia como sus personajes simpáticos (y a veces arcaicos) sigan en nuestras memorias hasta el final. Grand Theft Auto V es uno de esos (simplemente) videojuegos adictivos y apasionantes que no querrás soltar jamás. Expand
  93. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Probably the best Game of this generation, Combining a plethora of game mechanics new to the series, everything Rockstar games attempted to do in this game, they succeeded, I was initially a bit worried when i saw the trailers, thinking this game might have gone back to the basics of gta, mindless fun with 3 bit gangster protagonists, but boy was I ever WRONG 'nuff said, just buy this game already and U'll know exactly what I'm talking about Expand
  94. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    This is game is grand in every possible scale there's everything anyone can possibly think of. The missions story characters, graphics background score music in radios chemistry between characters this is simply perfect. This happens when genius people are given unlimited amount of time money and talent. The game is for current gen and it made everyone go haywire when shown at E3 most of the people like myself were more excited for this game than ps3 or Xbox 1. The heists are grand and action is so awesome that you will actually open your mouth wide open looking at the awesomeness of this game. A perfect 10 from me hooked to this game since the day i got it enjoy people. Expand
  95. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    GTA V is the game of this console generation

    Rockstar has really done something special with GTA V. To begin the scale and amount of detail Rockstar put in to this game is immense, everything from the cracks in the roads to the small detail on Michael's flip flops. The scale of the map is massive and vast, coming from dense city streets out to the top of mount chilled, everything looks
    and feels great, exploring the world is fun and exciting. Los Santos and Blaine County Feel like they are part of a real world with real people. GTA V is packed with a very exciting campaign, it should take the average gamer around 30 hours to finish it. In my opinion most of the missions were very diverse and challenging. A main part of the storyline being able to plan and orchestrate heists. I found these heists very fun and each one was very entertaining to setup and execute. Considering the game is running on 8 year old hardware I think that the game looks and runs beautifully, there are times when the frame rate definitely dipped below 30 but it did not take away from the immersive experience. The random occurring events felt very fun though some felt a little repetitive. A large selling point for the game was the use of 3 charters which you could switch during missions and also in free roam, the loading times were a little lengthier then advertised, but I can't complain because it is running on my ps3 from 2006. To sum it up for you GTA V is the pinnacle of gaming and should defiantly be on your list of games to play. Expand
  96. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    Sure it is not like san andreas but rockstar nailed it this time with making a great game i love how you can change to trevor and he just wakes up drunk or something i love the humor too 10/10 a most play!
  97. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    I have to say I was somewhat skeptical for GTA V before it released. It was on of the most anticipated games of all time, and after playing and finishing it I can say that it has lived up to the hype it built up before the release. The game is perfect in any way, huge world that feels more alive than ever, amazing story that's neither too long or too short, and all the little bits that make Rockstar one of, if not the best gaming developer and publisher. It is relatively bug-less, especially when looking at other AAA releases in the past few years (I'm looking at you Battlefield 3). With GTA Online just few hours away I can honestly say that this is going to be considered by many as the best game ever created. Expand
  98. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 5 for me is the GTA I have been waiting for yes it has its glitches and bugs and gamers will get annoyed at it but doesn't all games have bugs and glitches the textures on the game weren't great but what can you expect from a 3.25 year old consoles its a next gen game and they had to limit what they could do to get it to work on the old gen consoles and for that I am giving Rockstar and there game a 10 out 10 I am sure Grand Theft Auto 5 will be an amazing game when they can release it for the new gen consoles as there limits will be much much larger and they will give Rockstar plenty of ways to expand there game and make it better as the graphics and gameplay can be upgraded finally we have all been waiting for this game and now that we have it we are upset that the graphics are bad and gameplay was terrible but why are we complaining about the game that has been made for the old gen consoles that we know are horrible are expectations should be set for the next gen consoles to make are game experience a lot better and make Grand Theft Auto 5 an amazing game with the new graphics and the gameplay extended. Expand
  99. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    I wa never a fan of Rockstar's GTA games...until I met GTA V...there are too much improvements to be highlighted so I'm gonna say 'she' is just great. If it was between 'her' and my girlfriend, I guess it wasn't meant to be babe...though some minor improvements can be made
  100. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    amazing game, there is many things to do, great visual graphic, huge map game, and outstanding action. with current generation console, hopefully will release on pc, will be the perfect game in pc.!!
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    The best way to bid farewell to the retiring consoles is to spend dozens of hours having fun in Los Santos: robbing, abusing illegal substances, breaking all laws and enjoying everything else that GTA V has to offer. And after we finish the game, we should all say loudly: ‘okay, Rockstar girls and boys, it’s high time to make a truly new GTA, not just a gigantic DLC’. [12/2013, p.36]
  2. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    97
    Gigantic and stupidly detailed, GTA V is everything we hoped it would be. Individual components could be a touch better, but when a game does literally everything, nobody can expect perfection across the board. That it even comes close is incredible. [Issue#236, p.62]