User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3902 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Michael, Franklin y Trevor, tres tipos muy distintos unidos por el destino. Ver Los Santos desde lo alto es sólo uno de los grandes espectáculos de GTAV. Un mundo vivo, complejo y gigantesco! GTAV es simplemente espectacular!!!
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    GTA V could easily be Game of the Year it has an outstanding story, gorgeous graphics and fantastic gameplay. The world is gorgeous there is so much to do. The story thus far is perfect in every way. The world feels and looks real. This is by far the best GTA game to date and is 10 times better than GTA IV. Forget and ignore the negative reviews they are clearly from very jealous and angryGTA V could easily be Game of the Year it has an outstanding story, gorgeous graphics and fantastic gameplay. The world is gorgeous there is so much to do. The story thus far is perfect in every way. The world feels and looks real. This is by far the best GTA game to date and is 10 times better than GTA IV. Forget and ignore the negative reviews they are clearly from very jealous and angry pc gamers because GTA V is not on PC. I would give GTA V a perfect 100 if I could. If you love playing video games then GTA V is for you my friend. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    If someone have a problems with GTA series got problem with himself. I've played from GTA SA, GTA IV trilogy and GTA V now and I have to say I love Rockstar and this game. GTA V is just perfect. Nothing more to say. All need to have it. Im sorry about PC for now but hope GTA V will be on PC too (and Im gonna buy it too). In GTA IV I modded almost everything on PC. GTA V? I dont think thatIf someone have a problems with GTA series got problem with himself. I've played from GTA SA, GTA IV trilogy and GTA V now and I have to say I love Rockstar and this game. GTA V is just perfect. Nothing more to say. All need to have it. Im sorry about PC for now but hope GTA V will be on PC too (and Im gonna buy it too). In GTA IV I modded almost everything on PC. GTA V? I dont think that this game needs mods. Nothing more! Just play! Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Just joining the hype train. After a good solid 2 days playing this game, I wish i could give it a 11/10. Now if you'll excuse me I have to go pick up hookers in my upgraded $1 million dollar Buggati and kill them afterwards.
  5. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    This game has it all blew what I've seen.
    The graphics have also convinced the whole 10/10.
    Every penny for this game is worth it! Incredibly, award suspicious!
    This game is the best game that has ever existed. I find no more words.
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    I admit I'm not a big fan of the GTA series, the one that I liked so far was GTA: San Andreas and it was not for its history ...
    This GTA V has a history almost perfect, the interaction between the characters is wonderful and the fact that three protagonists makes things more complex, interesting and even fun. The gameplay is simply one of the best if not the best in the series, the
    I admit I'm not a big fan of the GTA series, the one that I liked so far was GTA: San Andreas and it was not for its history ...
    This GTA V has a history almost perfect, the interaction between the characters is wonderful and the fact that three protagonists makes things more complex, interesting and even fun. The gameplay is simply one of the best if not the best in the series, the soundtrack is also very good longevity Not to speak, the story mode takes over 30 hours, with secondary missions, sports activities and operating all map takes more than 100 hours! The game has plenty of action, enjoys with some real life stuff taking them to their ridiculous extreme (but this is good, and several times made ​​me laugh). It is a recommended game for over 18 years and believe me, is a game of extreme quality that will amaze you.

    Note: Who gave 0/10 must have serious problems, and not played for sure. Must be one of the people is that it is anti-gaming.
    Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Gta V is a great game, you will play this game for much time, there is a lot of thing to do, it's also very funny and the graphics are amazing, you can choose a character to play and each one have different hobbies and personalities.
  8. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games I have played. Ever. The amount of Detail Rockstar put into this game is absolutely staggering. I have never felt more immersed in a video game in my life. This is all serious. I am in love with this game. This is exactly what I was hoping for. Rockstar put out the game, and it lived up to the hype!
  9. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft auto V has left me so mind blown that I can only describe it in singular non sequential words (Kinda) beginning with "Huge", the size of this game is like nothing else I've played on the ps3, With incredible detail to everything composing it's many environments.

    "Beautiful, not a single thing in this game is ugly, even things intended to be ugly, It's undeniable that this
    Grand Theft auto V has left me so mind blown that I can only describe it in singular non sequential words (Kinda) beginning with "Huge", the size of this game is like nothing else I've played on the ps3, With incredible detail to everything composing it's many environments.

    "Beautiful, not a single thing in this game is ugly, even things intended to be ugly, It's undeniable that this is one of the best looking games to come to console.

    "Insane" I've been playing for a day and I've flown planes between buildings, fought aliens with a minigun, gone on multiple drug trips and encountered some of the strangest game personality's in the history of the GTA series.

    GTA V is the best installment of The GTA series so far, and anyone not playing this game is missing out on one of the most beautiful, action packed and hilarious adventures they'll ever encounter!
    Expand
  10. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    This game is perfect. Anyone giving it a rating under an 8 either hasn't played it or is blind and deaf. Just playing for half an hour you can tell how much hard work was put into making this game and that is what I appreciate most about it. Most of the games that are released these days do not have the polished feel of Grand Theft Auto V. I did not experience any bugs or glitches duringThis game is perfect. Anyone giving it a rating under an 8 either hasn't played it or is blind and deaf. Just playing for half an hour you can tell how much hard work was put into making this game and that is what I appreciate most about it. Most of the games that are released these days do not have the polished feel of Grand Theft Auto V. I did not experience any bugs or glitches during my play through of the main story (which I just completed) or the side missions. There are plenty of things to do and random events that occur while you traverse the city and countryside which can shake things up in a good way. I recommend this game to anyone here on metacritic, you will not regret buying this game. Expand
  11. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Absolutely stellar sandbox action with three fantastically funny protagonists who mix together well with their humor and hijinks in a dark satirical take of California.

    Everything that could have been improved on in GTA IV has been, everything that needed to be brought back from San Andreas has been. It's without a doubt the best GTA game in the series so far. The world is jam packed
    Absolutely stellar sandbox action with three fantastically funny protagonists who mix together well with their humor and hijinks in a dark satirical take of California.

    Everything that could have been improved on in GTA IV has been, everything that needed to be brought back from San Andreas has been. It's without a doubt the best GTA game in the series so far. The world is jam packed with activities ranging from sports, street racing, submarine diving, rampages, strangers and freaks to meet, collectibles, random events, you name it. Even for the island's vast size it doesn't feel like any part is really wasted.

    Without a doubt my new favorite entry in the series.
    Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    I need to set this up properly, I found GTA 4 boring, plain and simple. I sold it after a month back in 08. It had many problems, most of which broke the experience for me. Needless to say, I was apprehensive about the 5th installment, But let me be clear, this is the most cohesive gaming experience I've had in a long while, letting it contend with The Last of Us as my favorite game ofI need to set this up properly, I found GTA 4 boring, plain and simple. I sold it after a month back in 08. It had many problems, most of which broke the experience for me. Needless to say, I was apprehensive about the 5th installment, But let me be clear, this is the most cohesive gaming experience I've had in a long while, letting it contend with The Last of Us as my favorite game of this generation.
    The cars handle much better, and they've borrowed almost all of what really worked from RDR, making the problems I had from 4 a thing of the past. The world is absolutely massive, but an important thing to note is that none of it seems wasted. Buildings seemingly lack the cut and paste of previous iterations, creating an extremely immersive setting for a sandbox. The graphic qualities are great, only made even better by the detailed lighting. The sheen on a car or the blurring of light in the background are stellar and make everything feel true to life.
    The story is an obvious. Rockstar pumps out another quality script, putting satire to good use. It did, however, feel strange and a little disturbing to have no outward motive to rob banks other than just wanting money. These guys aren't anti-heroes, they're just villains, albeit extremely likable. It plays with your perception of right and wrong.
    There are a few nit picks I have, but they honestly can be overlooked for the most part.
    THIS IS WHAT A GAME CAN BE WHEN DEVELOPERS ARE GIVEN PROPER TIME. I would say that this is proof that the annual release method is often detrimental and produces mediocre work.
    In short, please play this. Not for brand recognition, but because this is just a good game.
    Expand
  13. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I waited a few days with writing this, just because I wanted to play the game more before judging.
    But after 3 days of gaming I can say this...
    This is most definitely the swan song of this generation.

    If they can make games like this on the PS3 then Gaming on the PS4 is going to be heaven.
  14. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Spectacularly grand in every sense of the word, Grand Theft Auto V delivers a refreshing and vividly satirically take on our modern American style of living. Enjoyable from beginning to end, the game contains three times the amount of replay value thanks to the addition of three protagonists, and an a stunning amount of in-depth mini-games. The graphics are spectacular, and the game hasSpectacularly grand in every sense of the word, Grand Theft Auto V delivers a refreshing and vividly satirically take on our modern American style of living. Enjoyable from beginning to end, the game contains three times the amount of replay value thanks to the addition of three protagonists, and an a stunning amount of in-depth mini-games. The graphics are spectacular, and the game has established itself as not only one of the best looking multi-platform game, but also as one of the best looking games ever. If you do not enjoy any of the GTA games, then now is the time to jump on the bandwagon. Superior writing, and finally modernized gameplay ensure that Grand Theft Auto V is not only the best GTA game, but also the best game that Rockstar has made yet. Expand
  15. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Rockstar Outdone themselves!

    Maybe the best game ever created.Huge expansive world ,available to explore from the start. Best graphics available on an open world game,awsome storyline,characthters that are even better compared to movies' charachters.Many mini games,that are addicting and help you increase your stats.Car customization that even challenges Need for speed's
    Rockstar Outdone themselves!

    Maybe the best game ever created.Huge expansive world ,available to explore from the start. Best graphics available on an open world game,awsome storyline,characthters that are even better compared to movies' charachters.Many mini games,that are addicting and help you increase your stats.Car customization that even challenges Need for speed's customization.Enjoylable driving with perfect physics,and finnaly perfect shooting mechanics.
    And then there is GTA online (coming on octomber 1) ,boasting 700+ missions,completely new story line with some charachters from gta v,free roam online with up to 16 players,lots of multiplayer activies like tenis etc.Clasic modes such as team deatmatch and races .Mission creation and sharing tools available for all players.Plus rockstar has already said that they are going to develop more content over
    time.

    Endless replaylability for both gta online(which could have been a game on its own) GTA 5.Game of the generation for me.Rockstar you made it,again!
    Expand
  16. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    I bought a Playstation 3 just for GTA 5. It is everything they say it is, but much better. The amazing attention to detail Rockstar have fed into their world is astounding. Cannot wait for the PC port.
  17. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. Exactly what I've been hoping the series would someday turn into. Never been much of a GTA fan, but this game is just what GTA IV never was. IMO SA and VC was the best in the series, and it all got worse with IV, and now they threw a bomb and completely immersed me into this amazing world they've created.
  18. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Probably the best game I've ever played this generation.

    Playing three characters really sets this game above others in terms of story. At first I didn't expect much from it, but the voice acting and the animations are amazing. Without the voice acting, this game wouldn't be as good. The graphics are breathtaking, especially on a 7 year old system, you can tell Rockstar have really
    Probably the best game I've ever played this generation.

    Playing three characters really sets this game above others in terms of story. At first I didn't expect much from it, but the voice acting and the animations are amazing. Without the voice acting, this game wouldn't be as good.
    The graphics are breathtaking, especially on a 7 year old system, you can tell Rockstar have really pushed it this time. Flying over the city at night with all the streetlights is something you'd want to get round doing. You can fly right up into the sky over the clouds and skydive off, but remember bring a parachute. The vehicles are incredibly detailed, the explosions are pretty awesome.

    This is an open world game, which means you can go anywhere. I've never found myself walking anywhere because simply...the game is massive...you can steal cars (of course) helicopters, fighter jets, even an airliner, tanks and boats.

    This is my first review, I made this account just so I can post about this game. It is a 10/10. Ignore the negative votes, they're jealous it's not out on PC. I only played GTA4 for a few hours, and got bored of it. But not with this game, I'm hooked. If you have an Xbox or PS3, i would get this game as soon as possible. $800million in 24 hours? Well deserved Rockstar... I also applaud you for delaying multiplayer release. There are always problems with multiplayer, this game would probably have lower reviews if it wasnt up to scratch.
    Expand
  19. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    I don't even know where to start this. With a fluid gameplay, stunning graphics, a good humored but at the same time tragic story, this is the best game I've ever played so far without no doubt. Highly recommended for those who are fans of another GTAs games, and for those who don't.
  20. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Its GTA its back and its definitely worth the purchase!
    You will cry you will laugh and you will be shocked through the 30+ hours playing this
    There is so much things to do and i swear you will never be bored playing this If it`s one thing i can think of that`s bad it`s the fist combat but it`s not really a big thing since the game does n`t center around it that much A lot of pc
    Its GTA its back and its definitely worth the purchase!
    You will cry you will laugh and you will be shocked through the 30+ hours playing this
    There is so much things to do and i swear you will never be bored playing this
    If it`s one thing i can think of that`s bad it`s the fist combat but it`s not really a big thing since the game does n`t center around it that much
    A lot of pc elitist are giving it a bad score so ignore all those 109 reviews.
    Get this game just get it you owe yourself to have this!
    Expand
  21. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Best Game Ever Made Bottom Line.
    It's Sole Flaw is The New Rap Radio Station. Today's Rap Is Garbage Kendrick Lamar, Rick Ross, & All Of The Other Turds That Think They Can Rap Ruined The Soundtrack. The Classic West Coast Hip Hop Station Is Pretty Damned Good Except There Is To Much Dr. Dre & Snoop Dogg. GTA San Andreas Had The Best Soundtrack In The Series. GTA IV & Episodes Overall had
    Best Game Ever Made Bottom Line.
    It's Sole Flaw is The New Rap Radio Station. Today's Rap Is Garbage Kendrick Lamar, Rick Ross, & All Of The Other Turds That Think They Can Rap Ruined The Soundtrack. The Classic West Coast Hip Hop Station Is Pretty Damned Good Except There Is To Much Dr. Dre & Snoop Dogg. GTA San Andreas Had The Best Soundtrack In The Series. GTA IV & Episodes Overall had a better soundtrack.. However this game is far better. GTA IV is a brilliant game especially for 2008 standards this game is well beyond it & the game of the generation. GTA V game of forever!
    Expand
  22. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    GTA V is definitely deserves a GOTY. There is so much to do, so many activities, random events and side missions. Story felt it a bit short, but it was probably because I played it way too much. What else... Graphics are good, not amazing, but still very good, voice acting is absolutely great, the characters are great and the game is actually really funny. It was also a great idea to bringGTA V is definitely deserves a GOTY. There is so much to do, so many activities, random events and side missions. Story felt it a bit short, but it was probably because I played it way too much. What else... Graphics are good, not amazing, but still very good, voice acting is absolutely great, the characters are great and the game is actually really funny. It was also a great idea to bring a characters switching to this game. Pretty much the only thing they R* could improve is... Remove stupid glitches (there wasn't many that bothered me tough) and it would be nice if there would be more interiors and more things you could buy. No game is perfect, but Rockstar has made yet again an amazing game, with a amazing story and amazing graphics, so it deserves a 10/10. Expand
  23. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This as to be the BEST GTA ever made by rockstar and if they keep to what the say and give us free updates and DLC this game will get better and better over the years to come!
  24. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    This sure as hell is one of the greatest game of this year! Just keep getting better and better! Very nice story and gameplay, you really feel for the characters in the game and just keep playing!
    I can't even wait for the online mode, gonna be some crazy stuff
  25. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Just amazing, marvelous sandbox and probably the best game that exists. The story is very exiting and with three characters this game is just stunning
  26. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This game gets a 10 because I can literally spend 4-5 hours getting sidetracked and have a complete blast. Not even including everything R* has made to keep me entertained. They have reverted back to the open-world fun that was dripping in GTA:San Andreas on PS2 and that is everything that I have ever wanted. BTW.....it looks GORGEOUS!
  27. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Greatest game ever. Period. I don't care if you're not a fan of open-world games or can't stand the violence. If you can't appreciate the effort that Rockstar North has put into every facet of this game then why are you even playing video games?
  28. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely brilliant storytelling, innovate character controls and swapping mechanic, vastly improved driving and flying, beautiful and massive world with densely packed locations and vistas to explore, and all wrapped together into a package that taken as a whole completely blows any other game this generation out of the water. This game is the embodiment of out time, the medium that in the future will serve as a time capsule to explain our strange society to our ancestors. It tackles the issues our the era with hilarious and all-too-real accuracy. No one or group of people is outside the bounds of this game's reach. If you cannot take a joke, are very defensive of your way of life, or aren't mature enough to watch torture, strippers, immature behavior by the young, or murder, then avoid this game. Otherwise, this game is the device by which all other games will be measured in the future for writing, acting, and open world gameplay. Expand
  29. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    One word: MASTERPIECE. Believe the hype: this is the greatest GTA, and the best game out there. The amount of content in this game is really, in its literal form, AWESOME. My only gripe? There aren't enough hours in the day to play this game.
  30. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    GTA V is the best game in the world! Everything about her is great, and those who give 0 to children who do not have the console and can not play! GTA V 1000000000/10.
  31. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    GTA V has taken the GTA series to an all time level, So many things to see and to do. Missions are fun and have a variety and the map is amazing if you want to get out of the city. Graphics you cannot fault rockstar with them the Games graphics are phenomenal and so detailed. Having three characters I wasn't sure about it but rockstar have pulled it off. :D
  32. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game on this console-generation. I have played maybe 15 hours now and all of those hours have been awesome! My game save is now completed only 19.6 so the gameplay is enough for a long time.
  33. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    The game started slow as I wasn't to impressive. But after, Diving, Cycling, Swimming, Racing, Flying, and so and so, I only can say that life is good.
  34. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto was the originator with the sandbox type of video game and I’ve owned every single iteration at some point. I would always marvel at how much content they could squeeze onto a single disc and this game exceeds in every area. (I bought the download for the PS3 18GB so it no longer fits on a single disc) The world is huge, the storyline is well written, acted and engaging,Grand Theft Auto was the originator with the sandbox type of video game and I’ve owned every single iteration at some point. I would always marvel at how much content they could squeeze onto a single disc and this game exceeds in every area. (I bought the download for the PS3 18GB so it no longer fits on a single disc) The world is huge, the storyline is well written, acted and engaging, and the graphics are awesome. In most games there is a huge difference between the cut scenes and the gameplay but not here they flow seamlessly. There are a multitude of options for activities, and if you don’t want to be a criminal, you could probably spend hours hiking, boating and playing tennis.

    If you are offended at psychopaths, murderous villains, prostitutes, corruption and a sarcastic view of modern America then this game (and many other games) is/are not for you. Likewise if you are morally and mentally unstable and a have trouble distinguishing between reality and imagination and want to become the next mad shooter please do not buy this game but check yourself in to the nearest mental clinic to get help.

    If however you are a normal person and can laugh at yourself and everything else, finding the humor in the stupidity of mankind then you’ll probably enjoy this game immensely and if you’re a GTA fan you’ll experience a game that has matured into a masterpiece. I’ve noticed a few glitches here and there but I’m sure these will be fixed in upcoming patches.

    If you’re new to GTA go to one of the game sites or look on YouTube at some gameplay videos before you purchase if it’s too violent for you there is always Flower.
    Expand
  35. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Best Game i have ever played, Graphics are awesome, Game play is amazing and the characters compelling! Well Done Rockstar! This is a definite Buy! 10/10
  36. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Rockstar has done it again. First off, the visuals are spectacular! A great open world experience that pulls the best elements from previous games in the series as well as Red Dead Redemption. The driving and shooting mechanics have been improved tremendously, but it still feels like a GTA game (Which is a good thing.) The upcoming GTA Online is certainly going to add a whole newRockstar has done it again. First off, the visuals are spectacular! A great open world experience that pulls the best elements from previous games in the series as well as Red Dead Redemption. The driving and shooting mechanics have been improved tremendously, but it still feels like a GTA game (Which is a good thing.) The upcoming GTA Online is certainly going to add a whole new dimension which will keep it relevant long after the XBox One and PS4 have released. Expand
  37. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    This is just quite simply a remarkable achievement in gaming and one of the best ways for the PS3 to bow out.

    I could go on for hours about the look and feel of the game (driving along with them skylines is just incredible), how good the characters (Trevor is my favorite without a doubt) but its the overall scope of the game that makes it so immersive. It could have been a huge downfall
    This is just quite simply a remarkable achievement in gaming and one of the best ways for the PS3 to bow out.

    I could go on for hours about the look and feel of the game (driving along with them skylines is just incredible), how good the characters (Trevor is my favorite without a doubt) but its the overall scope of the game that makes it so immersive. It could have been a huge downfall combining so many different aspects into one game but even the mini games like golf and tennis play better then other games that are devoted to just that sport.

    I cannot wait to see what Rockstar do on the PS4, very well done to them.
    Expand
  38. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    This game has everything we want from an open-world game. It took in all the merits from GTA series and RDR into one great game. Anybody who rates this game below a 7 is just trolling and doing it for the sake of pulling down the rating.
  39. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    THE SINGLE MOST HONEST REVIEW YOU'LL READ

    GTA V is one of the best games ever made, but it is not perfect. Since this is the PS3 version review section, let's compare it to another possible game of the year, The Last of Us. To see every single corner of TLOU being so well thought and detailed was amazing and people must understand that to make those incredible details it takes a lot of
    THE SINGLE MOST HONEST REVIEW YOU'LL READ

    GTA V is one of the best games ever made, but it is not perfect.
    Since this is the PS3 version review section, let's compare it to another possible game of the year, The Last of Us. To see every single corner of TLOU being so well thought and detailed was amazing and people must understand that to make those incredible details it takes a lot of money and a lot of incredibly talented people. With that been said, GTA V, in every corner, has that uniqueness.
    Everything has been reworked from GTA IV incorporating some of the traits of Red Dead Redemption, Max Payne, Manhunt.
    Ok, that was the basic approach of Rockstar. Grand Theft Auto was never great for the story they told. Grand Theft Auto will never have the same level of emotional connection with the player like The Last of Us or Heavy Rain. But that is not a bad thing. With it's three characters, Rockstar tried to do exactly what Resident Evil 6 tried, diversify the boring gameplay of its predecessor (everyone knows GTA IV was basically "go-kill-comeback"). Now, GTA V is "go-dosomething-comeback". If you liked GTA IV's version of driving fidelity, you're gonna be disappointed, cause everything is way easier when it comes to cars. Shooting is easy and responsive, exactly like Max Payne 3's. Now let's get back to what really matters.

    If you're reading this deciding to buy GTA V, here's what you need to ponder.
    Do you care about story? What kind of story? Do you want to connect with the characters or just have a little laugh here and then?
    If you're looking for deep, emotional story, GTA V is not for you
    Do you like complex characters? Or you rather have them all figured out from the gate?
    If you like predictable characters. GTA V is for you. (ps: that is not a bad thing, it's just a way to the a story. If you like Harry Potter, to Lord of the Rings, to Batman, most of its characters are predictable)
    Do you like possibilities? The ability to do the same thing in a variety of ways?
    If so, GTA V is your game.
    Do you care for multiplayer online?
    GTA Online will be a huge part of GTA V and it looks awesome.
    Do you have enough money to buy every single game you want to have?
    If you have enough money for one game. GTA V is your game.
    Why?
    It has everything.
    It's a shooter, with a fun yet sometimes a little shallow story, it's a racing game, a tennis game, a golf game, it's got everything from flying and skydiving to riding a submarine, from playing darts to banging hookers. You can buy cars, jets, boats, bikes, stocks, bars, movie theaters.
    If you're a looking for the perfect metaphor for a game like GTA, you can find it in RPGs.
    GTA never wanted to be ONE thing, a wizard or a warrior, GTA tries to be everything, never being perfect in those things, but they have such talented people, time and a lot of money to be very, very good in those things.
    So if you, like some people like to do, strip it down and analyze it piece by piece, GTA V probably will get poor grades. It is a lousy tennis game, a pathetic racing game...but GTA V is not anyone of those things. We are limited by the technology and the market to have a perfect game.
    There will never be a game with open world meticulously created, that is also the biggest map ever, with deep, complex characters, living the greatest story ever told, while also being a Gran Turismo when you get a car, a Battlefield when you pull your gun...it is impossible.
    GTA V is a game that does nothing perfect, but trying to do everything it creates its own category, and even if it doesn't succeed at being perfect, it is so well thought and made, such care was put in every detail, that every other game could learn from it. GTA V is a 10/10 not because it is perfect, but because its flaws are the gap between genres. GTA V can be the single point from where all the other games branch out in a single direction and the others that try to compare and be everything just can't match this level of care.
    Expand
  40. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    GTA V is one of the most technologically advanced games on the PS3. The game is endlessly fun and exciting. The setting is huge and beautiful and the characters are wacky and fun. GTA V's story is fun and the heist missions are exciting and the overall plot is well executed and almost flawless. The mechanics are tight and responsive and feel like the perfect combination of Rockstar's gamesGTA V is one of the most technologically advanced games on the PS3. The game is endlessly fun and exciting. The setting is huge and beautiful and the characters are wacky and fun. GTA V's story is fun and the heist missions are exciting and the overall plot is well executed and almost flawless. The mechanics are tight and responsive and feel like the perfect combination of Rockstar's games since GTA IV. The game's ambient music is nice and the radio library is larger than ever. The addition of a Smartphone in the game and the great connection the game has with Rockstar's Social Club makes the game all the more fun. GTA Online, although buggy at first is a lot of fun to play, especially with friends. However, robbing gas stations and participating in races and deathmatches does get old after awhile. When online heists arrive, that will be when GTA Online will live up to its potential. As for now, GTA V is an amazing game and a true testament to the powers of the PS3 and Xbox 360. Rockstar is by far the best AAA video game publisher around. Expand
  41. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    The best game of the year 2013 for me.

    This game is a lesson of open world for each video game developer who wants to touch this genre. The story is excellent and the controls have been improved compared to GTA 4. The ability to switch between 3 characters when you want is also very impressive. The only weak point is the online mode but I have not bought the game to play online initially.
  42. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    This game is simply THE BEST GAME EVER, and I am talking about everything here from graphics to gameplay. once you finish the story mode the game becomes boring but who needs the story mode when you can play ONLINE with your friends.

    The choices in online mode are endless, you can play absolutely anything in this game if you like racing, deathmatches, parachuting , survivals ... etc
    This game is simply THE BEST GAME EVER, and I am talking about everything here from graphics to gameplay. once you finish the story mode the game becomes boring but who needs the story mode when you can play ONLINE with your friends.

    The choices in online mode are endless, you can play absolutely anything in this game if you like racing, deathmatches, parachuting , survivals ... etc and of course the freemode where you can just go goof around with your friends in the huge city of Los Santos killing people, players, robbing stores and of course running away from the police . what IF you didn't like the maps created by Rockstar Games or got bored of playing the same maps over and over again ? guess what ! you can create your own deathmatch or race !! and if people liked it and gave it a high rating it will become certified.

    Whoever says this game is boring definitely didn't try playing online .
    Expand
  43. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Look, I'm not going to act like there is NO flaw at all with the game. No game is perfect, but this REALLY the closest you can get to a perfect game. GTA V is seriously the most ambitious video game of all-time. I just can't imagine how will this be toppped, even on next-gen! Yes, you can improve the graphics, but will you be able to produce a game that is as full of content as this game.Look, I'm not going to act like there is NO flaw at all with the game. No game is perfect, but this REALLY the closest you can get to a perfect game. GTA V is seriously the most ambitious video game of all-time. I just can't imagine how will this be toppped, even on next-gen! Yes, you can improve the graphics, but will you be able to produce a game that is as full of content as this game. I doubt it. Rockstar might though! GTA V is almost perfect. 9.9/10. Go buy it! Expand
  44. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    GTAV is the best game I've played in a long time, It is a must own game for anyone who is old enough, as nudity and violence is regular. I vote this the game of the decade. The size of the map. endless random stuff, one could easily put 200+ hours into this game, $60 price is a steal. it is simply the best PS3 game with surprisingly few bugs considering the size, not to mention GTA OnlineGTAV is the best game I've played in a long time, It is a must own game for anyone who is old enough, as nudity and violence is regular. I vote this the game of the decade. The size of the map. endless random stuff, one could easily put 200+ hours into this game, $60 price is a steal. it is simply the best PS3 game with surprisingly few bugs considering the size, not to mention GTA Online isn't even up and running yet. If don't dont own a current gen console, this game alone would justify buying the bundle. NOT A GAME FOR KIDS by any means. Expand
  45. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Simply the best open world game ever made -so far- R* pushed PS3 system to it's edges. Stunning graphics, acting and music. Awesome gameplay experience. And plenty of things to do in an open world. And everything you do is contributing to your playable characters skills. So playing tennis or other sports like cycling will help them be more strong.
    It's a live open world. Close to real
    Simply the best open world game ever made -so far- R* pushed PS3 system to it's edges. Stunning graphics, acting and music. Awesome gameplay experience. And plenty of things to do in an open world. And everything you do is contributing to your playable characters skills. So playing tennis or other sports like cycling will help them be more strong.
    It's a live open world. Close to real world Might get confusing from controlling point of view at some points but your are going to overcome this.
    It goes beyond the story and side missions. You have a world to explore and gain experience and skills when you do.
    This is the best open world game in this generation and it deserves 10/10
    Expand
  46. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    This is an am amazing game to end this generation. I'm a big GTA fan, and while I enjoyed 4, but it felt lacking on some fronts from the PS2 era GTA games. GTA V brings in a good balance of the realism and darker themes of GTA 4 with characters with their own issues, but the craziness from previous games is back to an extent.

    I've grown older and more mature from the PS2 era, but it's
    This is an am amazing game to end this generation. I'm a big GTA fan, and while I enjoyed 4, but it felt lacking on some fronts from the PS2 era GTA games. GTA V brings in a good balance of the realism and darker themes of GTA 4 with characters with their own issues, but the craziness from previous games is back to an extent.

    I've grown older and more mature from the PS2 era, but it's nice to have a variety of missions in regards to gameplay, and throughout the entire game it isn't just a handful of missions that are interesting, but overall majority of the missions are interesting and fun. The problem with GTA games main storyline is there are usually some long lows in which not much happens until the next big game. Obviously the heists are the big high point in this game, but there are plenty of missions for each characters that are fun and memorable. On top of that you have plenty of side activities which GTA 4 lacked.

    Finally the three character progression and switching back and forth during missions is a bold idea that was executed really well. It's fun switching between characters during a mission in real time, and it really enhances the gameplay. In a sense it gives it more realism that it isn't one person handling everything as you worked together as a crew in a lot of missions. If you haven't played this yet, then get it. It's amazing!
    Expand
  47. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Well, I absolutely love Grand Theft Auto 5. The best out of the GTA franchise, best game Rockstar ever brought out in my opinion. Love the storyline, the graphics have improved, gameplay is awesome, you can now actually see boob! Which lets be honest is the best bit! The first thing I did as well as countless others was go to a strip bar and get a dance! BEST THING EVER! The 3 charactersWell, I absolutely love Grand Theft Auto 5. The best out of the GTA franchise, best game Rockstar ever brought out in my opinion. Love the storyline, the graphics have improved, gameplay is awesome, you can now actually see boob! Which lets be honest is the best bit! The first thing I did as well as countless others was go to a strip bar and get a dance! BEST THING EVER! The 3 characters you can be Michael, Franklin and Trevor are great together. Trevor is by far my favorite character, with his witty humor, threats and his, well lets say 'Gay Tendencies' (you will know when u play it or if u've played it) have kept me entertained for hours on end. I like the fact that you can switch between characters, its a good feature which I hope they keep in on the other GTA games. The customization is awesome, you can customize anything from cars to motorbikes, as well as your characters clothes, hair cut, facial hair and/or tattoos. All in all I give GTA V a rating of 10/10.

    -AG-
    Expand
  48. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are awesome, the story line is excellent, and everything is just so perfect. Some people don't like it because it's like the other Grand Theft Auto's (in general), to which I'd ask what else they expected. It's ALWAYS fun to screw around and kill people in GTA, and multiplayer is going to make the game even better (By the way, pretty much ALLThis game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are awesome, the story line is excellent, and everything is just so perfect. Some people don't like it because it's like the other Grand Theft Auto's (in general), to which I'd ask what else they expected. It's ALWAYS fun to screw around and kill people in GTA, and multiplayer is going to make the game even better (By the way, pretty much ALL the negative reviews I read, are completely stupid. They don't make any sense), So, 10/10. No question. Expand
  49. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Juego perfecto para cerras la generación actual de consolas (ahora me pregunto, por que los demás desarrolladores nunca se esforzaron en darnos algo así en todos estos años)??
  50. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    i missed out on GTA IV idk why the game felt weird to me and was kind of boring but GTA V feels so fluid and fun immediately i feel like the game has some awkward controls but with so much to do i undertand why great game
  51. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I usually hate paying the price for video games because almost always you never get your moneys worth, GTA5 is worth every cent, its the most massive, fun, incredible gaming experience I have ever experienced. If there was ever such thing as perfection its GTA5!
  52. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The game is everything you'd expect after all the hype.
    Rockstar has delivered what was promised, and this is the best GTA so far, and possibly one of the best games of this generation.
    I think the mission system has been improved over gta IV's,with a better checkpoint system and more variety. the only thing I didn't like is the button mapping, but if you use the "alternate" layout, it
    The game is everything you'd expect after all the hype.
    Rockstar has delivered what was promised, and this is the best GTA so far, and possibly one of the best games of this generation.
    I think the mission system has been improved over gta IV's,with a better checkpoint system and more variety.
    the only thing I didn't like is the button mapping, but if you use the "alternate" layout, it gets a lot better. so no loss.
    bottom line is, this game is just as good as we all hoped for, so let's all hope it also gets released on PC and next gen consoles!
    GG
    Expand
  53. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I've played, graphics and sound are brilliant. Thought I'd be disappointed due to hype but it's a fantastic game, well recommended.
  54. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    GTA V(PS3) is more than 97.5 if you calculate the average score then why is it still being shown as 97? I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is fullGTA V(PS3) is more than 97.5 if you calculate the average score then why is it still being shown as 97? I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.
    Expand
  55. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Rockstar have outdone themselves yet again, and show why they are the absolute best when it comes to open world games. With GTA V, they have flawlessly set the precedence for all open world games that will follow. An impressive and astonishing feat, considering that they used current gen hardware. GTA V has dethroned GTA: San Andreas as my favorite after only a few days. Despite onlyRockstar have outdone themselves yet again, and show why they are the absolute best when it comes to open world games. With GTA V, they have flawlessly set the precedence for all open world games that will follow. An impressive and astonishing feat, considering that they used current gen hardware. GTA V has dethroned GTA: San Andreas as my favorite after only a few days. Despite only featuring one city from the state of San Andreas, the map is massive with limitless activities to do. I've played and loved Bioshock Infinite and The Last of Us, but if you can only buy ONE game this year, this is the game to get. This is the game that you will spend countless hours in. And it'll only get worse when GTA Online launches. It may not be my personal game of the year, but it's definitely one of the best video games ever made, period. Expand
  56. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    With Consistent story that flows well and amazing features def the game of the year. Hours of gameplay and that just the first. When online is added will be able to have thousands of hrs of gameplay
  57. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best and most ambitious title i have played this generation and its a mayor improvment over GTA IV. Amazing game, would definitely recommend it to everyone. It's a game you can play for hours and have nonstop fun!
  58. okk
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth $108 dollars,probably the best game of the year.the only bad thing is it can be predictable at times.Aside from that, it is an excellent game.
  59. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    What could I possibly say? Nothing, really. I just need to add my solid 10 to the table. It's another GTA and it's the game everyone expects it to be. The only major difference is the possibility to change characters, which is something very fresh and works well. This game is gorgeous, fun, hilarious, crazy, creative, and even though it's only out for PS3 and XBOX players, I guess PCWhat could I possibly say? Nothing, really. I just need to add my solid 10 to the table. It's another GTA and it's the game everyone expects it to be. The only major difference is the possibility to change characters, which is something very fresh and works well. This game is gorgeous, fun, hilarious, crazy, creative, and even though it's only out for PS3 and XBOX players, I guess PC players should prepare themselves because this game running on a PC is going to be epic. I read something on the internet that perfectly defines GTA 5: "it is so realistic it is almost boring". It's pretty much it. Expand
  60. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Like others have said, GTA V is what GTA IV should have been. That being said, I wish it had been. I love GTA V. Everything has been improved and then some. Driving is more realistic. I can actually make turns going 25 miles per hour now. To add to that, Franklin's special makes driving even more entertaining. Motorcycles act like motorcycles now and can make pretty incredible turns andLike others have said, GTA V is what GTA IV should have been. That being said, I wish it had been. I love GTA V. Everything has been improved and then some. Driving is more realistic. I can actually make turns going 25 miles per hour now. To add to that, Franklin's special makes driving even more entertaining. Motorcycles act like motorcycles now and can make pretty incredible turns and maneuvers. The addition of planes increases the wide variety of vehicles and machines to operate, much more than in GTA IV.
    The character animation also has been improved. There are now facial expressions and animation body parts (over-exaggeration). Even AI characters on the street look good.
    The world is also much bigger. When I say bigger, that is an understatement. The world is ungodly huge. Being bigger than San Andreas, Red Dead Redemption, and GTA IV combined, no wonder this game received a 95 or higher from almost every reviewer. That being said, this game is one of the greatest ever made. If you don't like brutal murder and swear words every other word, then buy this game because it's so much more. If you do like those things, you should already own this game.
    Expand
  61. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Great game! Cool physics, interesting story and characters. Car's physics is easier than in GTA 4, but driving is very funny. You always have something to activities. Control is simple when you are driving or walking, but hard when you are shooting. Best of series.
  62. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    As someone who lives in LA, this game is totally on point.

    If you've never been here, there's a lot of details you might not get. One little example is the Italian restaurant right up the street from the pier, there's one in real life in that exact spot (Bruno's in RL, great food). There are hundreds of little things like that I've noticed already. Personally, I like the new driving
    As someone who lives in LA, this game is totally on point.

    If you've never been here, there's a lot of details you might not get. One little example is the Italian restaurant right up the street from the pier, there's one in real life in that exact spot (Bruno's in RL, great food). There are hundreds of little things like that I've noticed already.

    Personally, I like the new driving mechanics. I didn't like the feeling of driving a top heavy tug boat in GTA 4.

    More cars, and more realistic looking. The music is great as usual. Graphics are amazing.

    Story line is great thus far. Characters are interesting and believable.

    If I had any beef, it would be that there is waaay to much cussing in the dialogue. I'm no prude, but my neighbors are probably thinking "wtf is going on in there?" A couple graphics glitches, but nothing serious. Being such a complex game, the controls are equally complex. Each button has multiple functions. Be prepared to fail a few missions till the controls become more second nature.

    Anyone giving this game bellow an 8 is just a hater, and probably thinks every game sucks.
    Expand
  63. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Ok I am going to preface this by saying, I am a PC gamer. Like Hardcore PC gamer. Not a "Console Hater" or whatever but I prefer to do all my gaming on my PC and have for years. Technically, I spent over $300 bucks on GTA 5 because I bought a PS3 for the sole purpose of playing GTA 5. I would not have bought the PS3 if a PC version was available or had been announced. So, having spent soOk I am going to preface this by saying, I am a PC gamer. Like Hardcore PC gamer. Not a "Console Hater" or whatever but I prefer to do all my gaming on my PC and have for years. Technically, I spent over $300 bucks on GTA 5 because I bought a PS3 for the sole purpose of playing GTA 5. I would not have bought the PS3 if a PC version was available or had been announced. So, having spent so much on 1 game you can say my expectations are kinda high. Well, this is what I think:

    Masterpiece! Plain and simple. This is the first game I have ever let the hype get a hold of me before the launch and not come away disappointed in some way or another. Seriously. Rockstar has delivered on everything, every aspect and every nook and cranny. This metric they use to rate games should be blown apart by this game smashing through the "10" ceiling and blasting off into outer space.

    I dare to say, I would not be surprised if the people giving the bad user reviews are jealous because they for some reason cant play it and can only find solace is trying to prevent others from enjoying it too by attempting to lower its user score. That is the only reason i can think for this game having a 8.1 user score at the time of this review. It makes no sense to me that anybody who has played it could give it anything less than a perfect score, a 9 at the lowest for those super hard to please grumpy folks maybe.

    Anyway, about the game, the story is what you would expect from a Rockstar game, over the top but grounded just enough to make it seem possible. The decision to move to three protagonist was genius. There is always something to do and each has their own wallet, stats and personal belongings to maximize.

    The graphics are amazing for running on 7 year old hardware. I have no idea how they did it but they did. I cant wait to see what the PS4/XBone/PC maybe versions look like. Very few pop outs or glitches on my PS3 version.

    The amount of customization in this game is absurd, the weapon customization is what you would find in a current gen Call of Duty game and the vehicle customization is almost on par with Forza and Gran Turismo, and this is a GTA game!!

    To be honest, I am still in shock. I have to cut myself off here because I will go on forever about this game and I must get back to playing it NAO!!! lololol. Nah, but seriously I'm going to go play it now. Bye
    Expand
  64. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    This's awessome.This game is GOTY winner, or maybe Ultimate Game.
    Like a GTA-Fanboy, i love gta since the first edition, in 1996~97. This is the Grand Theft Auto 5.
  65. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Why do people like to troll the user scores of every single big game is beyond me! Why the jealousy!!?

    Anyway.. I'm talking as a fan so excuse me if I seem a bit biased, but believe me, this game is PERFECT! It's the best game I have played since Red Dead Redemption! GTA V is so ambitious it might frustrate you! So many things to do, a huuuuuuuuuge map, a very good and long storyline.
    Why do people like to troll the user scores of every single big game is beyond me! Why the jealousy!!?

    Anyway.. I'm talking as a fan so excuse me if I seem a bit biased, but believe me, this game is PERFECT! It's the best game I have played since Red Dead Redemption! GTA V is so ambitious it might frustrate you! So many things to do, a huuuuuuuuuge map, a very good and long storyline. Amazing graphics. Everything is perfect!
    Expand
  66. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Every aspect of GTA V is exquisitely crafted.From a technology standpoint through to the magnificent soundtrack,I was in awe throughout.Visuals,dialogue,mission structure,activities,radio stations and side missions are all so excellent that I can only imagine the work that went into this title.While I would have loved a fourth,female playable character,and wouldn't have missed the tortureEvery aspect of GTA V is exquisitely crafted.From a technology standpoint through to the magnificent soundtrack,I was in awe throughout.Visuals,dialogue,mission structure,activities,radio stations and side missions are all so excellent that I can only imagine the work that went into this title.While I would have loved a fourth,female playable character,and wouldn't have missed the torture scene one iota,I cannot fault this exceptional game. Expand
  67. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    First things first, I just want to say that I wanted to play the game sufficiently before writing this review. I saw a lot of people on here day 1 of the game's release bashing it when they didn't even have a good amount of play time put into the game. I have put 25 hours in to the game so far, and I still feel like there's so much more for me to see and do. From the get go, you canFirst things first, I just want to say that I wanted to play the game sufficiently before writing this review. I saw a lot of people on here day 1 of the game's release bashing it when they didn't even have a good amount of play time put into the game. I have put 25 hours in to the game so far, and I still feel like there's so much more for me to see and do. From the get go, you can already see how much there is to explore. I was initially disappointed the city portion of the map was small in comparison to the rest of the map, but when you're in the game it feels like a large, full sized city. The game gives you a lot to do, as there are multiple side missions, random encounters with people getting robbed or having their bike get stolen, and it even lets you invest in the stock market. The biggest changes in this entry would be the shooting and driving mechanics. Everything has been tweaked and feels tighter and much more responsive. Vehicles don't swerve all over the road like in GTA IV, and the shooting is heavily borrowed from Rockstar's own Max Payne 3 which is a good thing. The stories for the three main characters are all really interesting. The characters themselves live very different lives, which helps make the missions more varied. That is perhaps one of the best improvements of the new game, is that the missions are now much more varied. Nearly every mission is different from the last, and it helps keep the game interesting. The biggest missions in the game are these elaborate heists, in which the player actually gets to choose between two options of how they want to go through a heist, and who they to go through heist with as their crew. These are the highlights of the game in terms of missions and they near always give the user some much needed cash as there is a lot to spend your money on in this game. For the first time in a GTA game, you can actually buy a vehicle legally, through the game's internet, and it will be delivered to your garage. Vehicle customization and character customization are both back from San Andreas. The car customization, while not very extensive as far as what you can do to the body, is fun and lets you have your own custom car, as well as letting you improve the vehicle's performance. The game is a lot of fun, and despite some texture glitches here and there and some frame-rate slow down, it is as near perfect of a game as a sandbox could ever hope to be. That's why I give it a 10/10 Expand
  68. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Best Grand Theft Auto game to date. The amount of effort and time Rockstar put in to this is amazing. The city itself almost feels real. The dynamic car chases and events that happen around the city are just great. Only played around 7 hours but I can tell this will be GOTY. Do yourself a favor and get this game!
  69. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    I took my time before handing out a score. I didn't want to be like all the fans/antifans that gave the game 10 or 0, right at launch day. I finished the game now, and I took my time.
    Still, I had to give it a 10. I had a 9 marked, but at the end I had to admit it deserves a 10. I can't chose decimals, otherwise I would give it a 9.5
    The game is just awesome. I am no GTA fan. I played
    I took my time before handing out a score. I didn't want to be like all the fans/antifans that gave the game 10 or 0, right at launch day. I finished the game now, and I took my time.
    Still, I had to give it a 10. I had a 9 marked, but at the end I had to admit it deserves a 10. I can't chose decimals, otherwise I would give it a 9.5

    The game is just awesome. I am no GTA fan. I played several of the GTA games, but didn't finish any of them. I prefered Saints Row 3, Prototype, and other games in this genre over any GTA. But GTA5 is a masterpiece.

    I would give it a 9.5 because since I finished all the missions, even though the game is great, I am not having much fun anymore. But Since I can't give it a 9.5, there goes a well deserved 10
    Expand
  70. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Serious butthurt from some PC fanboys here. Why? I'm mainly a PC gamer, but I do have a console and well, I bought this game. It's perfect. It might not be if you care too much about graphics, but I personally don't, and they're amazing for a game this big running on a 7 years old hardware anyway. This game is massive, ambitious, beautiful, funny. Everything. This game is almost perfect.Serious butthurt from some PC fanboys here. Why? I'm mainly a PC gamer, but I do have a console and well, I bought this game. It's perfect. It might not be if you care too much about graphics, but I personally don't, and they're amazing for a game this big running on a 7 years old hardware anyway. This game is massive, ambitious, beautiful, funny. Everything. This game is almost perfect. Buy it ASAP! Expand
  71. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Loving it, so much better than the really very poor GTA 4. Loadning times are kept to a minimum. GFX scale up to close to 1080 (they aren't I'm sure but close), controls are spot on. And the stuff to do. 13 hours play so far. I've played tennis and golf, rode a bike up the pier, played the stock market, bought cars, clothes and businesses, raced, had a lap dance (ahem, that is pretty XXX)Loving it, so much better than the really very poor GTA 4. Loadning times are kept to a minimum. GFX scale up to close to 1080 (they aren't I'm sure but close), controls are spot on. And the stuff to do. 13 hours play so far. I've played tennis and golf, rode a bike up the pier, played the stock market, bought cars, clothes and businesses, raced, had a lap dance (ahem, that is pretty XXX) swam, driven a boat, been to the shooting range, been on a hunt (complete with stupid headgear)...
    Got to add the the "mini" games are hardly mini at all. The golf and tennis are almost release worthy games in themselves, the stock market is mondo impressive. I'm looking after a dog FFS! (and improving his temprament via my Ipad) And it's all FUN, you feel like you are progressing. Yeah I'm reviewing after 13 hours play. Brilliant
    Expand
  72. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    PC community is going nuts and giving 0 even they haven't played the game. Please stop this and grow up, Pc also has timed exclusives but we dont cry like you nerds. Btw game is fukin awesome!
  73. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    The game is great and the story is a lot better than I expected. Plenty of things to do, so many that I was not even sure what I should take on first when I got past the intro mission. The game is amazing and most of the negative reviews are idiots looking for attention or PC Elitests who are mad they didn't get such an amazing game for PC.
  74. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    GTA V A Bright New Future

    For me I have always loved Grand Theft Auto games, my first game being Vice City, and then going back in the series to GTA 3, and then of course San Andreas and GTA 4. I have always gone back to Vice City when wanting to play a bit of casual GTA. For me Vice City was a hassle free fun open world game at the time something really quite special, from the music
    GTA V A Bright New Future

    For me I have always loved Grand Theft Auto games, my first game being Vice City, and then going back in the series to GTA 3, and then of course San Andreas and GTA 4. I have always gone back to Vice City when wanting to play a bit of casual GTA. For me Vice City was a hassle free fun open world game at the time something really quite special, from the music to the cars to the compelling story line it has always been a deep rooted personal best when it comes to gaming. Most recently in the series GTA 4 was impressive the new world was a tall new world and was exciting to explore, but it always felt 'dark' to me, there's no other way to explain it, just 'dark'.

    So when I saw the gameplay and trailers of the latest development of Grand Theft Auto from Rockstar I was excited, it seemed they were really taking a massive leap forward in the open world game. And when I received my game today my expectations were met. The game is bright and open, the map is dense yet personal, getting to know the areas around Michael's and Franklin's house's has been a joy. The city feels alive, the free ways feel real, and the desserts are superb to explore.

    The brightness has well and truly been turned up, but it's not just the stunning graphics and huge new world we have to enjoy. We now have three characters, to begin with it felt complex and slightly annoying having to switch characters in high octane situations, but bit by bit, mission by mission it's starting to feel a little more fluid, I'm not there yet and it still feels slightly confusing, but I am sure as the missions get more complex the enjoyment from switching perspectives will increase. The three characters are so different and interesting in their different ways. I must admit I wasn't massively looking forward to playing with Trevor but his 'different' personality has become something you just want to explore more and more. Michael continues to be my favoured character. I really enjoyed the growing dynamic of Franklin and Michael, and seeing it develop into the first heist was great.

    I have enjoyed the driving and find the mechanics enjoyable and realistic, I can see why some do not like these, but I just think it's a case of getting used to it. There are so many different cars and other road traffic to see and drive. I thought the amount of different looking buses was amazing, as small a detail as it may be it just felt nothing had been ignored. The roads are highly detailed in the city, and feel real to real life cities roads the road markings for example have been developed further. In addition the road driving AI are much more realistic and add to the experience.

    The missions are different and interesting, however can sometimes be slightly tedious and mundane but still excite in many areas. And it's all worth it for the heists, were I thought they freedom given to players is a class act from Rockstar. I was also very impressed with how choosing different crew members not only had a real difference on the outcome but also a difference on the dialogue between characters, very interesting indeed!

    The small mini games are fun and put GTA into a league of it's own. I loved the triathlon game and am looking forward to developing my skills further. Tennis and Yoga also exsist. With access to stock markets and transport and real estate markets adding an extra dimension to an already jam-packed game. With GTA you really do get a full game, there is no skimping from Rockstar, no corner cutting, and it is fully worth their long waits between games, when you get such a polished and finished game.

    For me Grand Theft Auto is the pinnacle of gaming, it is a game that has thought of just about everything, Rockstar haven't rushed a game out to try and make money with minimal improvements (Saints Row 4 springs to mind here) They have spent a great deal of time and money and resources to making a stunning looking, and compelling to play gameplay. For me GTA is the best all round game I have ever played, it perhaps doesn't come close to other games in certain areas, for example dialogues and emotion goes to The Last of Us. But Rockstar have delivered on what were monumental expectations, for me GTA V will always go down as a game changer. It's very fitting that perhaps the best game ever of this current generation will be this generations swan song. It's been a long ride Playstation 3 and Xbox 360 but we meet the end of the road with this amazing ending. Rockstar have excelled as per usual.
    Expand
  75. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    VERY STRONG CONTENDER FOR GAME OF THE GENERATION! --

    You gotta be stupid to not buy this... Seriously, go buy it now. So much to do, so much to see, GTA Online looks epic.
  76. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Beautiful graphics, great game play. It's a great game overall, the open world is beautiful and also the largest map out of the franchise. After completing the game's missions, you can really feel the connection with the characters. There is always things to do; from exploring to activities. I honestly can't wait for the online aspect of the game.
  77. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This is the GTA that I've been waiting for. Complete freedom, Multiple likable characters, Customization... Just everything that fans asked for! Huge improvement over GTA 4, which felt more like a Tech demo compared to this.
    Seriously, this is the perfect GTA. If you don't like this... well, then GTA just isn't your thing.
    It's a fantastic game and I can't wait to see what more this can offer.
  78. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Has gone beyond what anyone could have expected from a game on this generation of consoles. Amazing story and game-play with a brilliant variance in each mission, you won't find yourself repeating gruellingly boring tasks as it was in GTA IV. With so much to do off mission you will find be mind-blown by the huge array of activities! Rockstar has produced a pure masterpiece! (Please ignoreHas gone beyond what anyone could have expected from a game on this generation of consoles. Amazing story and game-play with a brilliant variance in each mission, you won't find yourself repeating gruellingly boring tasks as it was in GTA IV. With so much to do off mission you will find be mind-blown by the huge array of activities! Rockstar has produced a pure masterpiece! (Please ignore butthurt PC gamers, they are only giving poor ratings because they can't have it like a crying toddler in a supermarket.) Expand
  79. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Can not see how this game has people rating it a 0. you have to be a brain dead noob who does not know how to scratch your own arse to rate this a 0. The game is fantastic you get to play as 3 intense characters with an amazing story line. i for one could not put this game down and i have been hooked non stop. slightly disappointed that it still has the whole jump completion thing but notCan not see how this game has people rating it a 0. you have to be a brain dead noob who does not know how to scratch your own arse to rate this a 0. The game is fantastic you get to play as 3 intense characters with an amazing story line. i for one could not put this game down and i have been hooked non stop. slightly disappointed that it still has the whole jump completion thing but not a big issue and does not ruin the game.

    i can understand those who wait for the price to drop but this is a MUST BUY!!! GOTY contender for sure.
    Expand
  80. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Best multiplatform game for the current-gen consoles! It's one massive story that if you don't get sidetracked (and you get that easily) spans over 25+ hours without even touching the sidequests. Considering that the game runs on quite 'old' hardware it can be considered a masterpiece in terms of content and graphics.
    Things i've been missing were:
  81. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Seriously though, stop reading this and go buy the game right now. The next generation of gaming is here. I have to add more characters however, since it must be 150 long.
  82. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    brilliant game, it is worth good money, but not too much money. free roaming in los santos and blaine county
    is really fun but you need to complete 1 or 2 of the heists before you can have some money-spending, car-exploding fun. what is bad is the police are sooooo mean in this game. if you look at a police officer for too long, the officer will shoot you! if you explode your own car in
    brilliant game, it is worth good money, but not too much money. free roaming in los santos and blaine county
    is really fun but you need to complete 1 or 2 of the heists before you can have some money-spending, car-exploding fun. what is bad is the police are sooooo mean in this game. if you look at a police officer for too long, the officer will shoot you! if you explode your own car in this game, cops. also, hospital bills cost way too much. overall, the cops were more generous in gta 4, but the graphics in gta 5 are the most amazing graphics i have ever seen! and the missions are fun, the choice of 3 characters is a nice addition
    and open-world gameplay is better than ever. grand theft auto 5 is a new gta game with near endless possibilities, the only annoyances are the cops and the hospital bills...
    Expand
  83. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Great game! Nice physics, interesting story and characters. Robbery-missions are superb! Car's physics is easier than in GTA 4, but driving is more funny. You always have something to activities. Tuning are more diverse than in last NFS. Control is simple when you are driving or walking, but hard when you are shooting. The only thing that spoils the impression graphics. If you haven'tGreat game! Nice physics, interesting story and characters. Robbery-missions are superb! Car's physics is easier than in GTA 4, but driving is more funny. You always have something to activities. Tuning are more diverse than in last NFS. Control is simple when you are driving or walking, but hard when you are shooting. The only thing that spoils the impression graphics. If you haven't PS3, don't worry. You will enjoy nice graphics in PC on the future. Expand
  84. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is simply one of the best games ever and the best game in the series cant be better buy this game and play it as soon as possible this is a must must play game
  85. Law
    Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Thank you based Rockstar, thank you for making me hyped for a game. I missed this feeling, with nowadays games, which get boring after a while, finally I can spend some time in a really well-made game. Loving the game so far! It's definitely the best GTA to date! What was missing in SA what was missing in IV has been added in GTA V! This game is a masterpiece. Hands down Rockstar, you didThank you based Rockstar, thank you for making me hyped for a game. I missed this feeling, with nowadays games, which get boring after a while, finally I can spend some time in a really well-made game. Loving the game so far! It's definitely the best GTA to date! What was missing in SA what was missing in IV has been added in GTA V! This game is a masterpiece. Hands down Rockstar, you did a really good job. Expand
  86. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am at about 60% through the game, or game completion. No clue what that translates into storywise. I have been completing side missions and story missions pretty much evenly paced. Let me just say this, I love this game, it is one of the best, ever.
    But, there ARE some issues with it: First off, the graphics. They could be better, not on the PS3 or X360, then again my personal opinion is it should have been released for next gen, not current. The graphics are nice, don't get me wrong, but in this game the limitations of the hardware being used is the most apparent, ever.
    Second off: The map is huge, Ill give it that, but it I had been led to believe that there was more to be done. I don't know what I feel is missing, but something is missing, there are loads of side quests, I agree, but after one, two or three they all drop to a single common denominator, and it becomes just a thing to do. Entirely skippable, which I guess side missions would be, but I desired a bit more oomph.
    Third off: Controls; now for the most part the controls work, and work really well. But sometimes, and by sometimes it feels often since it is ALWAYS at the worst possible time it could happen, they up. Your character will spasm or do something you did NOT tell him to do, and then your dead. Not that dying really matters, 5grand and your good to go again, you'll even keep your weapons, but lose your car.
    Fourth: Cars don't get properly saved, so I have wasted a good 100k bucks on fitting and refitting cars, just to have them disappear, apparently rockstar is on the bug and will have a fix for it soon.

    Might seem overly critical, but in essence, these are minor things, at least for me, still felt they were worth mentioning. If you, like me, find that these things are minor, then get the game now. GTA V scores heavily on story, audio (VA included), gameplay (by and large, most control mechanics work really well, except for on foot and the ****ing choppers), size and scope, and also the idea of three protagonists. I have not at all regretted this purchase, and most others won't either. I will most likely get the game for PC aswell, when it comes out.
    Expand
  87. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    Just immaculate. The characters are interesting, the missions are fun, and the graphics are outstanding. The game is just so addicting that you never want to turn it off, which shows just how good it truly is.
  88. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    best game i have ever played. fresh story although could have been a little longer in th back story of some characters. no mission main story mission felt the same. all round best game
  89. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    When this game was announced I was instantly excited. Up until it came out I was extremely anxious. When I finally got my hands on it, I was instantly impressed. The controls are in every way improved, with vehicle handling at an all time high, and shooting physics that are mechanically flawless. The story has it's minor flaws, but the big picture is captured through the eyes of the 3 mainWhen this game was announced I was instantly excited. Up until it came out I was extremely anxious. When I finally got my hands on it, I was instantly impressed. The controls are in every way improved, with vehicle handling at an all time high, and shooting physics that are mechanically flawless. The story has it's minor flaws, but the big picture is captured through the eyes of the 3 main characters, and with humor, precision, and great acting, this games flaws are quickly forgotten. Some of this games missions are so unforgettable, and Trevor is the best character in GTA history. With all the new features, and online sure to be an enthralling and addictive experience, GTA V sets the bar for open world games. Expand
  90. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It hasn't only reached my expectations, it has blown them away. This is like the best game ever, no I'm not even kidding I think this is the greatest video game ever made. Congratulations Rockstar games!
  91. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The game has it all, it's basically the best aspects of multiple games all wrapped into one. The mechanics like fighting are greatly improved and much smoother now and the dialog is very entertaining and humorous. There's so much to get into and the AI is polished as well. It's definitely the game of the year. With GTA V being as good as advertised, I'd imagine GTA Online which comes in aThe game has it all, it's basically the best aspects of multiple games all wrapped into one. The mechanics like fighting are greatly improved and much smoother now and the dialog is very entertaining and humorous. There's so much to get into and the AI is polished as well. It's definitely the game of the year. With GTA V being as good as advertised, I'd imagine GTA Online which comes in a couple of weeks will put the game well over the top and add even more time worth of game-play. There's simply nothing to dislike about this game. A huge ovation to Rockstar for being a company willing to actually put all it's time and effort into a game without seeming like there holding back one bit to milk a future project. They went all in with every idea they had and set a high standard for other game developers to follow. Expand
  92. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Until now, my favorite game in this generation was Red Dead Redemption. Now, its GTA V.
    Rockstar thinks about every little details to make it better. I dont know how a game can be this huge and this perfect at the same time.
  93. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    GTA V is the best game i had ever played. Big, beautiful world, wonderful gameplay. At PS3 framerate is good (in my PS3 after 6 hours of playing). 10/10
  94. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    It just looks so good for console and the main characters are so awesome. The map is f***ing massive like there are tons of things to do. I only have noticed framerate drop few times in cut scenes but never in gameplay. Only downsides are aiming and poor antialiasing. Mouse aiming is just so much better. Still I give this game a 10 and it's hands down the best game this year. It is also inIt just looks so good for console and the main characters are so awesome. The map is f***ing massive like there are tons of things to do. I only have noticed framerate drop few times in cut scenes but never in gameplay. Only downsides are aiming and poor antialiasing. Mouse aiming is just so much better. Still I give this game a 10 and it's hands down the best game this year. It is also in my top 10 video games of all time if not even in top 5. Expand
  95. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is the best game of the decade, hands-up. GTA IV is like an average game in front of GTA V. Tons of content, customisation, vehicles a gripping storyline and 3 crazy protagonists. Unmissable.
  96. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Ideal GTA.:)
    This should be GTA4. Five years ago. Beat sandbox. Best of the best :)
    One of the best game of this generation and its beautiful finish.:)
  97. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Rockstar has highlighted once again why they are the best developer in the business with their latest installment of Grand Theft Auto.

    Grand Theft Auto 5 excels in so many different ways its beyond belief its almost impossible to praise everything in this game because of the sheer amount of content and possibilities, and is fully deserving of all the positive reviews and scores it has
    Rockstar has highlighted once again why they are the best developer in the business with their latest installment of Grand Theft Auto.

    Grand Theft Auto 5 excels in so many different ways its beyond belief its almost impossible to praise everything in this game because of the sheer amount of content and possibilities, and is fully deserving of all the positive reviews and scores it has achieved thus far.

    The story telling in this game is absolutely sublime, and everyone involved in the voice overs and acting has done an excellent job of portraying their characters in a way which other video games are unable to do.

    Improved mechanics in this game has given us many games rolled into one, the driving is superb and at one point blasting through the hills in Vinewood, it felt like the Need for Speed game we always wanted, but without the awful forced drifting. The shooting mechanics for GTA as always are fantastic, and at last have made it more of a challenge to shoot with the buzzards in comparison to TBOGT.

    There is a reason this game has becoming the fastest selling entertainment product to hit £1billion of all time, and its because quite frankly this is the greatest game ever created and puts the developers who rehash the same game every year such as Activision, to shame. Rockstar have taken their time and delivered on everything we wanted and then some, from owning pets in the game, to heists online and even rallying.

    The added entity of GTA Online isnt even out yet, and already GTA 5 has received worldwide acclaim, lord only knows the kind of praise it will get on October 1st.

    Overall, this game is a graphical masterpiece with everything we ever needed, from being able to hunt in the wilderness, to modding cars and having our NFS fun, to planning bank robberies and stealing fighter jets from the military, there really is very little left out when you fully play this game, and even after you think you've seen and done it all, the game throws something else at you.

    My advice, ignore the negative reviews from those Call of Duty fan boys, they will all run off this game when Ghosts drops later in the year, and read the reviews of the overall gamers who play all games to a solid level. GTA 5 is a MUST play game, just like Skyrim was a few years ago, and LA Noire a few years before that, its a game which yet again has changed what we perceive as great, in this constantly evolving industry.
    Expand
  98. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Ok first off I haven't played nowhere enough to really review this game but it seems unreal in its quality. It is obvious Rockstar has been working on this since gta4 and it really shows!!! It is a template for them for next gen but they have gotten so much out of this game on this hardware I can't believe it and shows these systems in the right hands can still create something new andOk first off I haven't played nowhere enough to really review this game but it seems unreal in its quality. It is obvious Rockstar has been working on this since gta4 and it really shows!!! It is a template for them for next gen but they have gotten so much out of this game on this hardware I can't believe it and shows these systems in the right hands can still create something new and beautiful. They easily could have used the same graphic engine as gta4 or red dead or max payne and they have improved on them all. People saying this game is no good or either ADD kids who don't pay attention PC gamers people wanting the online portion(my son) or they are just so spoiled by the great games these days they aren't noticing the detail. Its great I was amazed last night when playing how the characters feet even hit steps just right Get this game and love it unless your a child or pro life woman those are the only people I can say wouldn't like this game. Oh and the soundtrack is great. Back to Los Santos for me!!! Expand
  99. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Jump into the world of the huge and beautiful world of Los Santos, a world that makes you feel like you're in Los Angeles. This immersive masterpiece completely deserves a perfect score. The characters look and feel real, as well as the cars. The cars handle just like they do in real life when you drive, you feel like you have that much control. The missions are fun yet challenging, it'sJump into the world of the huge and beautiful world of Los Santos, a world that makes you feel like you're in Los Angeles. This immersive masterpiece completely deserves a perfect score. The characters look and feel real, as well as the cars. The cars handle just like they do in real life when you drive, you feel like you have that much control. The missions are fun yet challenging, it's everything you could want from a game. Expand
  100. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    O jogo ótimo, a Rock Star investiu pesado nele para termos a melhor experiencia... O problema que vem uns palhaços aqui e negativam o jogo, vão se foderem.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. CD-Action
    Nov 14, 2013
    90
    The best way to bid farewell to the retiring consoles is to spend dozens of hours having fun in Los Santos: robbing, abusing illegal substances, breaking all laws and enjoying everything else that GTA V has to offer. And after we finish the game, we should all say loudly: ‘okay, Rockstar girls and boys, it’s high time to make a truly new GTA, not just a gigantic DLC’. [12/2013, p.36]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  3. Play UK
    Oct 16, 2013
    97
    Gigantic and stupidly detailed, GTA V is everything we hoped it would be. Individual components could be a touch better, but when a game does literally everything, nobody can expect perfection across the board. That it even comes close is incredible. [Issue#236, p.62]