Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3502 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, threeLos Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Collapse
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    When you spend you hard earned money on entertainment you want it to be on average good so that you feel as though you at least got you moniesWhen you spend you hard earned money on entertainment you want it to be on average good so that you feel as though you at least got you monies worth.
    Well GTA V will exceed every expectation you ever had.
    GTA V is everything that the entertainment industry should strive to be from this point on.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Probably the best Game of this generation, Combining a plethora of game mechanics new to the series, everything Rockstar games attempted to doProbably the best Game of this generation, Combining a plethora of game mechanics new to the series, everything Rockstar games attempted to do in this game, they succeeded, I was initially a bit worried when i saw the trailers, thinking this game might have gone back to the basics of gta, mindless fun with 3 bit gangster protagonists, but boy was I ever WRONG 'nuff said, just buy this game already and U'll know exactly what I'm talking about Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Excelent videogame,the best grand theft auto,game of theExcelent videogame,the best grand theft auto,game of the year............................................................................................. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    I enjoy playing the game... but some of the dialogue and scenes are on the level of elementary-to-high school level. If it didn't have theI enjoy playing the game... but some of the dialogue and scenes are on the level of elementary-to-high school level. If it didn't have the overly immature parts, it would be 10/10... but I gave it 9/10. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    The same gta puts you a lot of of mini games and side and you get bored of them in 10 minutes the campign is kinda good but some say its goddThe same gta puts you a lot of of mini games and side and you get bored of them in 10 minutes the campign is kinda good but some say its godd the replay but it is not i even found more fun the new game plus of tlou the driving is normal and shooting mechanics sticky and annoying this game is perfect to play with your friends but this game is far from perfect Expand
  7. Jan 30, 2015
    0
    Worst game ever made. When it got voerrun by dupers and hackers and cheats and underage kids, well, I found that me using my legit take andWorst game ever made. When it got voerrun by dupers and hackers and cheats and underage kids, well, I found that me using my legit take and racking up a legit 6.0 k/dr got my account suddenly banned. I tried everything, called everybody, but they ignored me and kept reciting why got banned, but was from a lle. No evidence, no explanation of what did (as did nothing, I do not even have a mic).... thus my level 14 account was deemed obselete and as it was only one I ever used for everything, I had to sell my ps3, all my games and have never playe since. Most abusive company on earth (sony).... had a nervous breakdown when happened and they were dismissive and rude and ignored all requests for legal avenues and contact. Disgusting gaming community and Sony and PSN are a law unto themselves, abusing the public and the innocent. Expand

See all 730 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.