Grand Theft Auto V Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3912 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, threeLos Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Collapse
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    So far people hate the realism in GTA 4 well play GTA V when get to Trevor it feels more like old GTA, plus this world his huge compare toSo far people hate the realism in GTA 4 well play GTA V when get to Trevor it feels more like old GTA, plus this world his huge compare to Liberty city. My only problem is the frame rate its stays at 30fps some times but it goes down to 24fps. This is the PS3 version. It looks awesome and make sure the put the brightness up to give it a better glare when your fighting on mid day. This is my Game of the year.. Much better then GTA 4. i got trapped in the world these past 4 days not even wanting to do the main missions so that is awesome Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    I have to say I was somewhat skeptical for GTA V before it released. It was on of the most anticipated games of all time, and after playingI have to say I was somewhat skeptical for GTA V before it released. It was on of the most anticipated games of all time, and after playing and finishing it I can say that it has lived up to the hype it built up before the release. The game is perfect in any way, huge world that feels more alive than ever, amazing story that's neither too long or too short, and all the little bits that make Rockstar one of, if not the best gaming developer and publisher. It is relatively bug-less, especially when looking at other AAA releases in the past few years (I'm looking at you Battlefield 3). With GTA Online just few hours away I can honestly say that this is going to be considered by many as the best game ever created. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    I admit I'm not a big fan of the GTA series, the one that I liked so far was GTA: San Andreas and it was not for its history ...
    This GTA V
    I admit I'm not a big fan of the GTA series, the one that I liked so far was GTA: San Andreas and it was not for its history ...
    This GTA V has a history almost perfect, the interaction between the characters is wonderful and the fact that three protagonists makes things more complex, interesting and even fun. The gameplay is simply one of the best if not the best in the series, the soundtrack is also very good longevity Not to speak, the story mode takes over 30 hours, with secondary missions, sports activities and operating all map takes more than 100 hours! The game has plenty of action, enjoys with some real life stuff taking them to their ridiculous extreme (but this is good, and several times made ​​me laugh). It is a recommended game for over 18 years and believe me, is a game of extreme quality that will amaze you.

    Note: Who gave 0/10 must have serious problems, and not played for sure. Must be one of the people is that it is anti-gaming.
    Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Okay now that I finished the game I will give my review on it. This is 10 times better than GTA 4. I felt like Rockstar learned their lessonOkay now that I finished the game I will give my review on it. This is 10 times better than GTA 4. I felt like Rockstar learned their lesson and they made this game turned out to be really awesome. I loved the idea of switching characters and each of them having their own story. But here are my downsides. The ending was a little rubbish. Could've been better but its still a good ending and I don't want to spoil it. Also you couldn't buy any safe houses. I mean each character has their own house but come on I wanted them to get better homes. But overall this is the best game I've played so far. I give it a 9.5/10 Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    Another standard GTA game, fun to play and great story line. Nothing outstanding in terms of game play, tho the character switching is a goodAnother standard GTA game, fun to play and great story line. Nothing outstanding in terms of game play, tho the character switching is a good idea it only brings that little something different. Not a good looking as more current games but not terrible. I've not finished it yet, I'm close, but I've not got the urge to complete it it. I got it on Day One too... Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2016
    0
    Ignore stupid fanboys "10/10 for no reason" and listen adult person
    Game has short stupid nonsense storyline with linear as f*ck missions
    Ignore stupid fanboys "10/10 for no reason" and listen adult person
    Game has short stupid nonsense storyline with linear as f*ck missions
    Main characters are boring and stupid
    Whole game is empty
    You can't interact with world
    There is no gang wars
    There is no FBI and Army just respawned from underground police
    GTA Online?Don't get me start with this abysmal sh*t
    If you are fan of classic GTA like GTA III or SA don't this touch this piece of sh*t
    Expand

See all 769 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.