Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3595 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, threeLos Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    When you spend you hard earned money on entertainment you want it to be on average good so that you feel as though you at least got you moniesWhen you spend you hard earned money on entertainment you want it to be on average good so that you feel as though you at least got you monies worth.
    Well GTA V will exceed every expectation you ever had.
    GTA V is everything that the entertainment industry should strive to be from this point on.
    Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    This is game is grand in every possible scale there's everything anyone can possibly think of. The missions story characters, graphicsThis is game is grand in every possible scale there's everything anyone can possibly think of. The missions story characters, graphics background score music in radios chemistry between characters this is simply perfect. This happens when genius people are given unlimited amount of time money and talent. The game is for current gen and it made everyone go haywire when shown at E3 most of the people like myself were more excited for this game than ps3 or Xbox 1. The heists are grand and action is so awesome that you will actually open your mouth wide open looking at the awesomeness of this game. A perfect 10 from me hooked to this game since the day i got it enjoy people. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Excelent videogame,the best grand theft auto,game of theExcelent videogame,the best grand theft auto,game of the year............................................................................................. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    Grand Theft Auto V, on all fronts, has finally met it's true potential as a rpg/shooter, finally blending the joys of both in tangent. With aGrand Theft Auto V, on all fronts, has finally met it's true potential as a rpg/shooter, finally blending the joys of both in tangent. With a more vibrant colorful boost up from GTA IV, more diversity of weapons and cheats, weapon customizations and the return of vehicle customizations that have been amped from the San Andreas predecessor, GTA V is a game for anyone willing to either go on a rampage or just soak in how alive the city feels, not only by the development of the buildings but also by the interactions of people that are just if not more dynamic than the interactions in Skyrim.

    Sure, GTAV faulted on it's GTA Online concept, but I'm glad that, despite that it was still a flop at launch, Rockstar actually had their head on a swivel enough to try to patch it as best as they could without expecting any sort of problems to be expected. For my experiences on the PS3 and in terms of Single Player, the Single Player has a lot to offer, with a 3-protagonist web that never interferes with the joys of gameplays, as each character get their own personal properties and garages to stack their items. The new introduction of the Heists is the highest selling point of this game, a new aspect that allow you to attack and diverge an operation in any sort of way you see fit, mostly in the prospect of benefiting the biggest payout to your main protagonists. The protagonists themselves also have their own situations and issues, being 3 diverse characters with their own prospects and woes. Points are slightly taken away for some of the disturbing imagery that comes about in the story mode, not to mention how the story mode loses a lot of gravity at the end and ends on a short note. The cheat system has returned to the combo mashing, which was somewhat of a pain since GTAIV had the phone dial up that made activating cheats easier, but I could see why they did return: You can make yourself invincible for 5 minutes. No fall damage, no bullet damage, no melee, explosion or fire damage. If one was able to just simply press the cheat at the end time, a person could make themselves invincible indefinitely. But anyhow, Cheat diversity has largely increased, with a lot more exciting cheats rather than the stock cheats. Weapons also have returned with a more satisfying arsenal, with stun guns, machine pistols, light machine guns and my favorite, the minigun. Also, these weapons can have modifications and tints to diversity your need for stopping power. Vehicles have increased in diversity, with even more exotic vehicles to test your limits. IN terms of the general area, Los Santos has a lot of callbacks to it's San Andreas counterpart, increased in size and moved some prominent areas, such as the Stadium and Grove Street. The river layout has become muchmore real and diverse, and Blaine County, serving as the secondary area, also is incredibly diverse with the first introduction of animal life in a GTA GAme since. (if you cant flying rats in GTAIV). This game, alone, is a fun ride that takes you on a new, grandiose tale through the american wastes of capitalism and egotism.
    Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    This game is amazing. I waited for GTA V since the day it was announced. An I was rewarded with one of the best GTA game so far.
    The world is
    This game is amazing. I waited for GTA V since the day it was announced. An I was rewarded with one of the best GTA game so far.
    The world is huge and vibrant, it's alive! Though not as alive as developers claimed, there are areas with nothing to do at all, but still, this is biggest open world gta game so far. Graphics are great and up-to-date, I wasn't expecting that kind of perfomance with current gen consoles.
    The story for once is outstanding. I really enjoyed missions and characters for the first time in GTA-game. Every mission brings something new, it's fun to come back to some of them and the game gives you easy way of doing so. The amount of work developers put in this is astronomical.
    The only downside I could find is radio. In this game it's horrible compared to other games in the series. There're like 4 hip-hop and rap radio stations (and I'm not a fan of those, so it's wasted on me), 1 crappy punk radio, absolutely NO METAL RADIO (punk and metal are completely different things), better learn from SR series, where metal station was always awesome. The only pop station is mixed with todays pop and retro (which is a huge buzzkill, there shouldn't be rhianna playing next to pet shop boys), rock radio is good, but country could've been more. All in all, the people that was in decision of compiling sound track were pretty biased towards hip hop and electronic music. And that's a shame really, since I can't appreciate both.
    Expand
  7. May 18, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just your average over hyped pile of sh*t. A complete failure compared to Grand Theft Auto 4. Plot? There is no f*cking plot in this waste of 60 bucks. Gameplay? The gameplay is a joke. Everything has either been dumbed down or made for casual sh*ts that will play the game for a month and then go back to Battlefield 3.5. The melee system has been completely dumbed down and is also broken as f*ck(This is completely true in the Online) All the characters are either unoriginal and unlikable. The only characters I actually enjoyed were Floyd(who got killed by the worse character), Wade, Micheal and his family. Franklin is just your typical black character that just wants money. The only thing special about him is that he doesn't wanna be a gang banger and his slow-mo driving. Trevor is hands down the worse character in this pile of sh*t. Just your typical rapist, cannibal, psychopath that of course won COTY because the gaming community today is retarded. I gladly took the chance I got and killed him in Ending A. This game has 0 f*cking plot. You just do a bunch of missions and thats it. The only plot is how Micheal's family leaves him and than comes back and the whole Brad bullsh*t. The driving in this game is terrible. Not to mention that the car physics have been completely ruined and made casual. Every f*cking car is a god damn tank now. The funniest feature from GTA4 that Rockstar returned was flying out the car window. AND THEY COMPLETELY BROKE IT SINCE YOU DIE 7/10 TIMES IT HAPPENS NOW. At least it when came to doing extra things in Grand Theft Auto 4, you actually had to FIND them and they were actually pretty HARD. In this overrated pile of casual sh*t, they just mark everything on the map. The random events are nice, I will give them that. Its also nice to mention how much they BROKE this games cops. Actually no, they ain't cops. The LSPD is actually a massive army of super soldier robo cops with owl senses and the aim of f*cking highly trained Spetsnaz. I LOVE how this game talked and talked and TALKED about how there were gonna be so mainly f*cking heists. And what did we get? 6 heists. Oh, I am completely sorry, I mean 4. Since the other two gives you F*CKING NOTHING. HOW DO YOU GO FROM MAKING SUCH GREAT GAMES LIKE GRAND THEFT AUTO 4, RED DEAD REDEMPTION AND MAX PAYNE 3, WHICH ALL DESERVED TO HAVE 9/10 AND 10/10, TO THIS PILE OF SH*T THAT DESERVES NOTHING!? This game is nothing but a overhyped pile of a*s and it can easily be seen that Rockstar payed out the f*cking retards that reviewed this and gave it 9/10 and 10/10. F*ck this game, F*ck the reviewers, and F*ck the fanboys. Expand

See all 737 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: March 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.