Grand Theft Auto V Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4005 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, threeLos Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 714
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    Gta v is probably one of the best video games ever conceived. Every factor of this flawless game is brilliant and has the right quantity ofGta v is probably one of the best video games ever conceived. Every factor of this flawless game is brilliant and has the right quantity of content,making you strolling through the serene landscape and blowing up vehicles for months.
    Alot of the elements are felt like they are specifically designed to appeal to different varieties of the modern gamer. For example if you are an action fanatic(like myself) there are countless unique action set pieces in both story and off story. Or if you are more horror/stealth individual then there are stealth components provided in some of the missions.Or if your a comedy fan then there are numerous comedic dialogue,amusing characteristics and funny mission designs etc

    A major component that makes this game iconic and memorable is the fascinating, intriguing plot. In this game we are provided with a trio with differentiated characteristics which is something we rarely see in a video game.Each of the characters have detailed backstories and missions which is highly realistic. The cut scenes are very intense,well performed and are interesting. The end mission ( I AM NOT GOING TO SPOIL) is really surprising and questionable(morally and emotionally) and perfectly ends off a great plot.
    The plot generally is highly sophisticated and interesting with intimidating and good antagonists similar to Grand theft auto San Andreas's ( a previous entry in the Grand theft auto series).It also has ( I WON'T SPOIL) some of the best missions in the series with heists which revolutionized bank robbing video games.

    The only issue I posses about this game is that the civilians/NPC'S are unrealistic and are unresponsive however this was different in GTA San Andreas were you could some times optionally engage with NPC's. This problem is just a minor slight flaw and is highly insignificant that is just my personal nitpick.

    Overall if you have not got this game I will not be mad Ill be disappointed. This game has got perfect missions, a sophisticated plot, an array of differentiated characters and a open world environment so detailed and realistic that you'll think you have gone outside.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Probably the best Game of this generation, Combining a plethora of game mechanics new to the series, everything Rockstar games attempted to doProbably the best Game of this generation, Combining a plethora of game mechanics new to the series, everything Rockstar games attempted to do in this game, they succeeded, I was initially a bit worried when i saw the trailers, thinking this game might have gone back to the basics of gta, mindless fun with 3 bit gangster protagonists, but boy was I ever WRONG 'nuff said, just buy this game already and U'll know exactly what I'm talking about Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Gta V is a great game, you will play this game for much time, there is a lot of thing to do, it's also very funny and the graphics areGta V is a great game, you will play this game for much time, there is a lot of thing to do, it's also very funny and the graphics are amazing, you can choose a character to play and each one have different hobbies and personalities. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    By now everybody knows what's so great about this game, and I do believe this is one of the best games I've ever played. However, it does notBy now everybody knows what's so great about this game, and I do believe this is one of the best games I've ever played. However, it does not deserve unadulterated praise. I'll give reasons for this.

    (1) a sandbox should allow you much more freedom than this. For instance, why on earth can't you just rob a store, a feature which previous GTA games had?!?! Why can't you kill just anybody?

    (2) getting and losing a couple of wanted stars is too easy, and the police can spawn literally in the middle of nowhere; there's no point in going in the middle of the forest and/or to use a suppressor. This is actually quite unrealistic.

    (3) they should never have released GTA online before it could work properly. This is a shame for such a hyped product.

    That said, it is a great game, and it is most definitely worth its price!! But Rockstar SHOULD take into consideration these things when designing the next title in the franchise.
    Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    This is a great game, but it cannot hold a candle to the likes of overall story and emersion of red dead redemption. Honestly I amThis is a great game, but it cannot hold a candle to the likes of overall story and emersion of red dead redemption. Honestly I am dissapointed, I love rockstars stories, the great satire, it pulls no punches on the terrible state of america, and the world as a whole, obsessed with money, power and popularity. However this has been done in previous games it is still a treat to expirience, however the personal story of Michale, Trevor and Franklin is very underwhelming. The three character switchig mechanic is plesent in gameplay but hinders the story, it becomes too focused on showing crazy stunts and doesn't really develop the charaters, Trevor stays a lunatic, Michale stays ignorent, franklin does however realise he should hang out with his homie, lamar more but that is all. I wouldnt be too upset with this as Michale and Trevor are set in their ways bu throughout the whole game they argue, which was understandable given the history but became jarring by the final mission. Franklin by the mid point of the game seemed so unbelivably attached to michale you would think he was his farther.
    This all may sound negative but the game is a treat, the driving is fun, the discovery and emersion is perfect and the combat is ok.. rockstar seems tofind it hard to make aiming a gun fun, but the feedback from the soon to be dead guys bodies are a sight to be hold, the europhysics engin isn't as revolutionary as it was in 2008, but still very rewarding. Hand to hand combat is there but is very forgetable, stealth makes an aperance, but is in no way developed into an actual gameplay style, more a gimmick you would never use, which is a shame.
    The heists, this is was the highlights of the game, the set ups really drove up the anticipation, the moments before the alarm bells start ringing with the atmospheric ambiant music makes an intense excitment. Its ashame there are only about five of these as once the first one is done anyother misson away from the heists feels like a waste of time. The side activities are fun if you are into that stuff and you could invest a lot of time in stoke markets and tennis etc.
    However after all is said and done, this is a rockstar game, so the missable details are what builds up to really emerse you, hitting road kill and Trevor will roar, flip flops actually flip and flop! Totally crazy this is on current gen.
    This is a massivly enjoyable game, with the required depth, scope and detail to really earn the investment required to expirience.
    Oh and the multiplayer is a mess the i put 6 hours into and hated it. Never again.
    Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2016
    0
    An over-hyped piece of sh1t.
    Absolutely disgusting filth and vulgarity in content while excellent in terms of technical and gameplay
    An over-hyped piece of sh1t.
    Absolutely disgusting filth and vulgarity in content while excellent in terms of technical and gameplay implementation. The result: a sh1t in the ointment.
    Expand

See all 714 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.