Grand Theft Auto V Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4073 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, threeLos Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
GTA Online: The Doomsday Heist - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 716
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    Gta v is probably one of the best video games ever conceived. Every factor of this flawless game is brilliant and has the right quantity ofGta v is probably one of the best video games ever conceived. Every factor of this flawless game is brilliant and has the right quantity of content,making you strolling through the serene landscape and blowing up vehicles for months.
    Alot of the elements are felt like they are specifically designed to appeal to different varieties of the modern gamer. For example if you are an action fanatic(like myself) there are countless unique action set pieces in both story and off story. Or if you are more horror/stealth individual then there are stealth components provided in some of the missions.Or if your a comedy fan then there are numerous comedic dialogue,amusing characteristics and funny mission designs etc

    A major component that makes this game iconic and memorable is the fascinating, intriguing plot. In this game we are provided with a trio with differentiated characteristics which is something we rarely see in a video game.Each of the characters have detailed backstories and missions which is highly realistic. The cut scenes are very intense,well performed and are interesting. The end mission ( I AM NOT GOING TO SPOIL) is really surprising and questionable(morally and emotionally) and perfectly ends off a great plot.
    The plot generally is highly sophisticated and interesting with intimidating and good antagonists similar to Grand theft auto San Andreas's ( a previous entry in the Grand theft auto series).It also has ( I WON'T SPOIL) some of the best missions in the series with heists which revolutionized bank robbing video games.

    The only issue I posses about this game is that the civilians/NPC'S are unrealistic and are unresponsive however this was different in GTA San Andreas were you could some times optionally engage with NPC's. This problem is just a minor slight flaw and is highly insignificant that is just my personal nitpick.

    Overall if you have not got this game I will not be mad Ill be disappointed. This game has got perfect missions, a sophisticated plot, an array of differentiated characters and a open world environment so detailed and realistic that you'll think you have gone outside.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    This game is like movie,in fact, as a set of films. This game have so much epic moments, so epic that you cant belive when you see it. When iThis game is like movie,in fact, as a set of films. This game have so much epic moments, so epic that you cant belive when you see it. When i see the scene from movie no country for old man, i say damn, this game keep surprising me. This game has its flawsm technical problems, but they cant spoil the overall impression. The most epic thing here is freedom, you can do it same thing on many ways. Bad thing about this game, so far, because i didnt finish yet (i dont want to haha) is that thing "i want more", for example why only few bonuty mission or only few assassinate mission? In my opinion it need to better exploit the potential of this game, more side mission, more everything, it is never enough. Imagine become true mafia boss, hire bodyguards and drivers, protect your business, deliver drugs, guns and so on, AFTER THE GAME IS FINISH, so you can keep playing and do stuff after main story is finish. That thing that missing in all games today is their "lifetime". Also i think this game must come to PC, because that players should not be withhold. This is certainly the game of the year, who still have room for improvement! Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    I admit I'm not a big fan of the GTA series, the one that I liked so far was GTA: San Andreas and it was not for its history ...
    This GTA V
    I admit I'm not a big fan of the GTA series, the one that I liked so far was GTA: San Andreas and it was not for its history ...
    This GTA V has a history almost perfect, the interaction between the characters is wonderful and the fact that three protagonists makes things more complex, interesting and even fun. The gameplay is simply one of the best if not the best in the series, the soundtrack is also very good longevity Not to speak, the story mode takes over 30 hours, with secondary missions, sports activities and operating all map takes more than 100 hours! The game has plenty of action, enjoys with some real life stuff taking them to their ridiculous extreme (but this is good, and several times made ​​me laugh). It is a recommended game for over 18 years and believe me, is a game of extreme quality that will amaze you.

    Note: Who gave 0/10 must have serious problems, and not played for sure. Must be one of the people is that it is anti-gaming.
    Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    This is an instant 10 / 10 from me. This is the best PS3 game I have played in current gen
    I hope R* are proud of themselves because I am.
    This is an instant 10 / 10 from me. This is the best PS3 game I have played in current gen
    I hope R* are proud of themselves because I am. The game features 3 main characters: Michael, Franklin and Trevor. They all have their own personalities which I like. The story is epic - I won't spoil it don't worry :D

    Don't get me started on Online! It's amazing! I can already think of 1,000 words to describe it: awesome, endless, fun, exciting, free, open, realistic and a lot, lot more. Online is what most people crave for when they get GTA V, but I see why. It's just so fun! It's addictive, but in a good way, not repetitive at least. But there is only 1 thing I don't like about online: people who just troll. It may seem too much to ask them to stop, it may be funny at first, but gets frustrating over time, most servers you can hear young children playing this game. It's not bad, but it's really awkward. People drive into you for no reason? Sniping you and killing you even if you don't have a bounty on your head? It's not like they are going to get rewarded for that! But that's not going to stop me from scoring 10 / 10 because it's just THE BEST.

    It's pretty much better than Call Of Duty by over 9,000 miles. Recommended for anyone WHO ARE OVER 12
    Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Technologically brilliant game that allows you to play 3 protaganists in tandem. Satirical and witty themes with properly fleshed outTechnologically brilliant game that allows you to play 3 protaganists in tandem. Satirical and witty themes with properly fleshed out environments that allow freedom for non-linear exploration. The story is forgettable and lacks the plot depth and character complexities seen in some of the previous games from the franchise. The online portion is quirky, and when it does works properly it proves to be non-intuitive and generally unlikable. Overall I think Rockstar took a few too many steps in the wrong direction, but their game is still a worthy addition to the franchise and it's one of the few AAA games that is worth the money spent. 8/10 Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2016
    0
    Awful, overrated and boring game. The graphics are outdated and washed out. Reused environments throughout the entire game. Boring andAwful, overrated and boring game. The graphics are outdated and washed out. Reused environments throughout the entire game. Boring and stereotypical characters. Expand

See all 716 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.