Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    I can't believe this game has a user rating below 8.5, it deserves much higher. Let me say this first, GTA V is one of the best games of this generation and deserves all the 10/10 reviews that it has been getting. Now everyone has been complaining about the graphics but honestly I think they are fine, yes there are muddy textures but the draw distances are impressive to say the least. Also, some of the vistas you can get are simply beautiful, especially involving water and sunlight.

    The story is long, well written and full of varied and fun missions, you will never get bored of the same mission being repeated over and over again, a common trap of most open world games. The shooting feels great, cars drive much better now and the map of Los Santos is enormous, a huge dense city and a vast countryside full of huge mountains to drive up in sweet cars and enjoy the magnificent view from atop. There are tons of side missions, properties to buy, vebicles to drive and fly, activities and sports and races to partake in and collectibles to find. Heck even button cheats are back. This is a GTA game through and through. You can literally do anything and Rockstar have pulled out all the stocks, if you are giving this game below an 8/10 you simply have not played it, end of story. Overall, just go out and buy GTA V, so many fun things to do and stunning vistas to enjoy and you will not regret it, brilliant game.
    Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    I have to say I was somewhat skeptical for GTA V before it released. It was on of the most anticipated games of all time, and after playing and finishing it I can say that it has lived up to the hype it built up before the release. The game is perfect in any way, huge world that feels more alive than ever, amazing story that's neither too long or too short, and all the little bits that make Rockstar one of, if not the best gaming developer and publisher. It is relatively bug-less, especially when looking at other AAA releases in the past few years (I'm looking at you Battlefield 3). With GTA Online just few hours away I can honestly say that this is going to be considered by many as the best game ever created. Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft auto V has left me so mind blown that I can only describe it in singular non sequential words (Kinda) beginning with "Huge", the size of this game is like nothing else I've played on the ps3, With incredible detail to everything composing it's many environments.

    "Beautiful, not a single thing in this game is ugly, even things intended to be ugly, It's undeniable that this is one of the best looking games to come to console.

    "Insane" I've been playing for a day and I've flown planes between buildings, fought aliens with a minigun, gone on multiple drug trips and encountered some of the strangest game personality's in the history of the GTA series.

    GTA V is the best installment of The GTA series so far, and anyone not playing this game is missing out on one of the most beautiful, action packed and hilarious adventures they'll ever encounter!
    Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Great game. I loved how you can switch between characters and play different side stories. One of the best editions to the series. Overall it is a great game you can spend hours playing with out getting bored Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    8
    GTA V is an amazing game with a massive budget and a huge fanbase, what people need to realize is that this is NOT what makes a perfect game, Portal was my vision of a perfect game, whereas GTA V is close but that's all it is... CLOSE, a perfect game has NO bugs NO pop in (even if it is on current gen consoles) NO failed multiplayer launches and NOTHING wrong with gameplay, as much as GTA V is a great game it has alot of flaws that bring the score down to only an 8, as a gamespot critic said it's pollitically muddled up and she couldn't speak anymore of the truth. This review is not to say the game is bad, an 8 is a FANTASTIC score but unfortunately alot of bugs, glitches, and pop ins bring it down to a very proud 8/10.

    P.s. This review is also not to say i didnt like the game I absolutely adore this game and haven't played another game besides this for the past week i just can't give it a 10 also what drags the end score down ironically is the ending, its confusing on what happens, when youre given the choice of whether to kill Trevor, Michael or to stick to your guns its confusing whether or not sticking to your guns kills Franklin or not which is why alot of people chose one of the first two options and are now regretting it.
    Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game **** sucks. Controls suck. It's not addicting at all. It's an overrated game of 2013. Awful camera. Bad theme. Online is just boring. I hope this one is the last one in the series. My brother has been hogging the TV for about 3 months now. Once I wake up, he's sitting like a fat ass douche bag yelling at me to make him food while he stares at a screen driving and talking to himself. Expand

See all 687 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: June 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.