Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3415 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, threeLos Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Rockstar has highlighted once again why they are the best developer in the business with their latest installment of Grand Theft Auto.Rockstar has highlighted once again why they are the best developer in the business with their latest installment of Grand Theft Auto.

    Grand Theft Auto 5 excels in so many different ways its beyond belief its almost impossible to praise everything in this game because of the sheer amount of content and possibilities, and is fully deserving of all the positive reviews and scores it has achieved thus far.

    The story telling in this game is absolutely sublime, and everyone involved in the voice overs and acting has done an excellent job of portraying their characters in a way which other video games are unable to do.

    Improved mechanics in this game has given us many games rolled into one, the driving is superb and at one point blasting through the hills in Vinewood, it felt like the Need for Speed game we always wanted, but without the awful forced drifting. The shooting mechanics for GTA as always are fantastic, and at last have made it more of a challenge to shoot with the buzzards in comparison to TBOGT.

    There is a reason this game has becoming the fastest selling entertainment product to hit £1billion of all time, and its because quite frankly this is the greatest game ever created and puts the developers who rehash the same game every year such as Activision, to shame. Rockstar have taken their time and delivered on everything we wanted and then some, from owning pets in the game, to heists online and even rallying.

    The added entity of GTA Online isnt even out yet, and already GTA 5 has received worldwide acclaim, lord only knows the kind of praise it will get on October 1st.

    Overall, this game is a graphical masterpiece with everything we ever needed, from being able to hunt in the wilderness, to modding cars and having our NFS fun, to planning bank robberies and stealing fighter jets from the military, there really is very little left out when you fully play this game, and even after you think you've seen and done it all, the game throws something else at you.

    My advice, ignore the negative reviews from those Call of Duty fan boys, they will all run off this game when Ghosts drops later in the year, and read the reviews of the overall gamers who play all games to a solid level. GTA 5 is a MUST play game, just like Skyrim was a few years ago, and LA Noire a few years before that, its a game which yet again has changed what we perceive as great, in this constantly evolving industry.
    Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    I took my time before handing out a score. I didn't want to be like all the fans/antifans that gave the game 10 or 0, right at launch day. II took my time before handing out a score. I didn't want to be like all the fans/antifans that gave the game 10 or 0, right at launch day. I finished the game now, and I took my time.
    Still, I had to give it a 10. I had a 9 marked, but at the end I had to admit it deserves a 10. I can't chose decimals, otherwise I would give it a 9.5

    The game is just awesome. I am no GTA fan. I played several of the GTA games, but didn't finish any of them. I prefered Saints Row 3, Prototype, and other games in this genre over any GTA. But GTA5 is a masterpiece.

    I would give it a 9.5 because since I finished all the missions, even though the game is great, I am not having much fun anymore. But Since I can't give it a 9.5, there goes a well deserved 10
    Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    This's awessome.This game is GOTY winner, or maybe Ultimate Game.
    Like a GTA-Fanboy, i love gta since the first edition, in 1996~97. This is
    This's awessome.This game is GOTY winner, or maybe Ultimate Game.
    Like a GTA-Fanboy, i love gta since the first edition, in 1996~97. This is the Grand Theft Auto 5.
    Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2014
    9
    It was awesome playing the most beautiful and incredible game Iever playd, full of hot beaches incredible montains and awesome game play. TheIt was awesome playing the most beautiful and incredible game Iever playd, full of hot beaches incredible montains and awesome game play. The story is amazing. However, there are some bad bugs. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    The same gta puts you a lot of of mini games and side and you get bored of them in 10 minutes the campign is kinda good but some say its goddThe same gta puts you a lot of of mini games and side and you get bored of them in 10 minutes the campign is kinda good but some say its godd the replay but it is not i even found more fun the new game plus of tlou the driving is normal and shooting mechanics sticky and annoying this game is perfect to play with your friends but this game is far from perfect Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    The engine feels ancient and clumsy. The graphics are uninspiring, as is the music and audio quality. The game itself glitches, freezes, andThe engine feels ancient and clumsy. The graphics are uninspiring, as is the music and audio quality. The game itself glitches, freezes, and crashes on an almost regular basis. The controls are so clumsy and non responsive that I've had to quit playing several times solely because the controls were so irritatingly clumsy and non-responsive.

    The solo gameplay is great for a couple of days. Once you beat it, there's really nothing left to do. Rockstar seems to have invested less of its time with fun gameplay content and more of its time with activities like golfing and tennis, arm-wrestling, and harassing your in-game cell phone with useless calls from equally useless NPCs.

    The online game is exactly the same, except without the day or two of storyline and mission content. It's basically just a sprawling plaza of uninspired mini games of "team deathmatch" and "Capture the briefcase" lazily laid out over the same world map. Playing GTA V Online gives you three choices: 1) Drive around the city and PVP 2) Do the same missions and quests over and over again for cash, or 3) play a better video game.

    I'm gonna go with 3 from now on.
    Expand

See all 715 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: September 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.