Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next generation of the EGO Game Technology Platform promises to deliver genre-defining visuals and jaw-dropping damage as you prove yourself across three continents in a new, evolving world of motorsport.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Grid 2 comes close to perfection, but since nothing or nobody is perfect, we would like to point out a few tiny, little flaws. We miss the cockpit view dearly and the game could have benefited greatly from a dynamic weather system and longer races. [June 2013, p.80]
  2. 90
    Grid might have been gone for 5 years, but in those years it developed into a truly great and unique racing game. From the wide variety of cars, to the insane level of detail and the great audio, Grid 2 offers something for all racing fans. While simulation racing fans might not prefer the mix with arcade, Codemasters did a an excellent job blending the two styles and making something quite unique.
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    85
    GRID 2 occupies a weird spot between sim and arcade racer. If you know what you are getting into this is a solid title that doesn't try to break any molds. Online racing a track design could be more compelling though.
  4. May 29, 2013
    81
    GRID 2 will be a hit for every fan of arcade racing titles. The game is extremely fun, and relies on several key aspects such as a very well developed gameplay and a variety of different game modes and tracks. Besides all this, the technical aspects are of high quality, giving this title a characteristic look that makes for the icing on the cake in this excellent game.
  5. May 28, 2013
    80
    Its continued shift away from its sim pedigree will still disappoint those of us who fondly recall the Race Driver games of old, but it still a great, modern package. A well-curated car list, a great sense of speed, and a well-thought out career mode combine in a racer that is a lot of fun to play through.
  6. May 28, 2013
    80
    GRID 2 is not for you if you want extreme realism and simulation. But if you want a fun, nice, well finished and deeper game, here it is. Codemasters has shown that driving is its wonder.
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    60
    For many, Race Driver: GRID redefined the racing genre, and while GRID 2 hits many of the same beats as its predecessor, it never feels like it's trying to make the same impact. Instead, this is a fairly conservative effort that dismisses simulation driving in favour of adrenaline fuelled racing, resulting in an experience that, while fun to play, is a little safe. In the end, the loss of ‘Race Driver’ in the title says it all – this is a good arcade racer, but in a market already saturated with similar titles, it struggles to find a place upon the grid.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. May 28, 2013
    10
    Thank you for creating this amazing game. I'm loving it, the cars are incredible, the gameplay is perfect and the tracks are very well done!Thank you for creating this amazing game. I'm loving it, the cars are incredible, the gameplay is perfect and the tracks are very well done! and what about the "Live Routes"? A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    This game is AMAZING!!! Until now I have always said that I hate racing games but now I am converted. Everything about Grid 2 is fantastic.This game is AMAZING!!! Until now I have always said that I hate racing games but now I am converted. Everything about Grid 2 is fantastic. So realistic, so enjoyable, don't want to stop playing it. Well done Codemasters. I can't wait to see what you come up with next. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    Race Driver Grid demonstrates how fun racing games can be. Codemasters have produced a racing game that many, many racing fans will enjoy,Race Driver Grid demonstrates how fun racing games can be. Codemasters have produced a racing game that many, many racing fans will enjoy, even those who want to take a break from simulation racing. Multiplayer is where Grid shines, 12-player touring car races can be extremely addictive and competitive.
    The graphics for damage are the best I've ever witnessed in a racing game & it could potentially be the best racing game of its generation. If you want a balance of arcade and simulation, Race Driver Grid is the definite answer.
    Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    Solid racing game. Not sure why the bad reviews. You get in a car and you go. Graphics, sound, controls, online features, semi-worth whileSolid racing game. Not sure why the bad reviews. You get in a car and you go. Graphics, sound, controls, online features, semi-worth while single player... its all there. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2014
    7
    Very polished graphics, probably the best of any racing game on PS3 perhaps aside from Gran Turismo. There are a good variety of cars eachVery polished graphics, probably the best of any racing game on PS3 perhaps aside from Gran Turismo. There are a good variety of cars each with their own unique handling characteristics which provides a nice blend between arcade and simulation. Racing online can get your adrenaline flowing, and even though the start of each race has a high chance of turning into a huge multi-car wreck, the rewind feature offsets this somewhat and gives you up to 5 second chances. Definitely an enjoyable game, but unless you are a racing addict you may find the replay value somewhat lacking. Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    6
    Decent racing game. Looks nice and damage modeling looks good. There's even slight effect how the car handles after taking few hits.
    For
    Decent racing game. Looks nice and damage modeling looks good. There's even slight effect how the car handles after taking few hits.
    For online racing, there's a major balance issue. Wheel users are in disadvantage against gamepad users due to the driving assists (traction control and ABS) gamepad gets. And you can't turn them off.
    Still lots of fun to play in single player
    Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    2
    It is a very generic racing game, but even for that, it is mediocre. I feel bad for Codemasters (the developers), I actually enjoyed Grid 1,It is a very generic racing game, but even for that, it is mediocre. I feel bad for Codemasters (the developers), I actually enjoyed Grid 1, but now they made this game way too different from what it was before. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers