Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next generation of the EGO Game Technology Platform promises to deliver genre-defining visuals and jaw-dropping damage as you prove yourself across three continents in a new, evolving world of motorsport.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Grid 2 comes close to perfection, but since nothing or nobody is perfect, we would like to point out a few tiny, little flaws. We miss the cockpit view dearly and the game could have benefited greatly from a dynamic weather system and longer races. [June 2013, p.80]
  2. 90
    Grid might have been gone for 5 years, but in those years it developed into a truly great and unique racing game. From the wide variety of cars, to the insane level of detail and the great audio, Grid 2 offers something for all racing fans. While simulation racing fans might not prefer the mix with arcade, Codemasters did a an excellent job blending the two styles and making something quite unique.
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    85
    GRID 2 occupies a weird spot between sim and arcade racer. If you know what you are getting into this is a solid title that doesn't try to break any molds. Online racing a track design could be more compelling though.
  4. May 29, 2013
    81
    GRID 2 will be a hit for every fan of arcade racing titles. The game is extremely fun, and relies on several key aspects such as a very well developed gameplay and a variety of different game modes and tracks. Besides all this, the technical aspects are of high quality, giving this title a characteristic look that makes for the icing on the cake in this excellent game.
  5. May 28, 2013
    80
    Its continued shift away from its sim pedigree will still disappoint those of us who fondly recall the Race Driver games of old, but it still a great, modern package. A well-curated car list, a great sense of speed, and a well-thought out career mode combine in a racer that is a lot of fun to play through.
  6. May 28, 2013
    80
    GRID 2 is not for you if you want extreme realism and simulation. But if you want a fun, nice, well finished and deeper game, here it is. Codemasters has shown that driving is its wonder.
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    60
    For many, Race Driver: GRID redefined the racing genre, and while GRID 2 hits many of the same beats as its predecessor, it never feels like it's trying to make the same impact. Instead, this is a fairly conservative effort that dismisses simulation driving in favour of adrenaline fuelled racing, resulting in an experience that, while fun to play, is a little safe. In the end, the loss of ‘Race Driver’ in the title says it all – this is a good arcade racer, but in a market already saturated with similar titles, it struggles to find a place upon the grid.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. May 28, 2013
    10
    Thank you for creating this amazing game. I'm loving it, the cars are incredible, the gameplay is perfect and the tracks are very well done! and what about the "Live Routes"? A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    This game is AMAZING!!! Until now I have always said that I hate racing games but now I am converted. Everything about Grid 2 is fantastic. So realistic, so enjoyable, don't want to stop playing it. Well done Codemasters. I can't wait to see what you come up with next. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    When I saw it in the shops, I thought it was just another one of those racing games. Mediocre graphics, poor handling quality and a game you put down after 10 minutes. But I bought it anyway. Turns out, as soon as I started playing it, I discovered that I was severely mistaken. The graphics were astounding, the handling started out poor BUT I knew I had to get used to it (which I did) and most of all, I loved how your crew manager actually said your name. The career was a bit short for my liking but overall a fantastic game. Highly recommend getting this if you don't have it already. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    So, you are a ps plus subscriber, and one day you see this game free for you. But you hate racing games, you are not good at them and you do not know what to do. If you relate to what has been previously said, then you are like me. A racing games newbie. But boy, I fricking love Grid 2!!!
    First of all, let me tell you what I most love about this game. The controls. There are the triggers and the joystiqs and that's it. AWESOME! Less controls, more simplicity is equal to a smooth gameplay, only downed a bit because of a lack of tutorial (Just important for me of course, because I am a rookie at these games). It is also a damn beautiful video game. If you are able to take a minute in the fast-paced gloriously exhilarating gameplay, you will see some ridiculously detailed tracks. Everything about this game is great so far. It also has a pretty extensive variety of game modes to choose from (Elimination being my favourite because of the adrenaline rush).
    Until you are forced to play in the same tracks over and over again, with a little collection of cars. Yes, that is a downfall of Grid 2 because to have so much visual punch and gameplay intensity, they gone down on the car and tracks side. It is ok, Grid 2, I forgive you. But I understand why someone else would not.
    In the end, get Grid 2, even if you don't like racing games. And if you are a PS Plus subscriber and not downloaded this game already, you better hurry, if not, I'm going to pop in your house with a shotgun and the entire cast of "Sons of Anarchy" to punish you for your moronic sins.
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2013
    7
    This is good racing games because of the awesome crashes no doubt about that. I find this to be boring after while. The tracks weren't great, but okay. they were to much like grid tracks. Well atleast i got the feeling of that they were. You need racing wheel. Its boring with controller as is every other racing game. Steering was good and and cars were realistic in all way. The game is very linear, but it is good that now it has split screen and multiplayer. It helps this game alot. I liked playing split screen with my friend. I haven't yet tried the multiplayer so this review doesn't count multiplayer.
    In overall this is good game, but the linearity kills this game badly. You should think of buying this game and especially if you liked the first you will like this.
    Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2014
    6
    Grid 2 is yet another Codemasters racing game but can it live up to the other Codemaster's game series. Grid 2 does have a campaign mode that offers some compelling races. You go around the world racing new cars on different tracks and there is quiet a variety. The game play is a mix of arcade style racing and a simulation style. It mixes well enough to keep my playing through the campaign. The multiplayer is standard and is basically the same as the campaign just that you are racing other, more skilled players. The graphics do not stand out, but still run smoothly and do their job. Grid 2 is a good racing game but does not impress like Codemaster's other series and lacks anything unique as its own game. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    2
    It is a very generic racing game, but even for that, it is mediocre. I feel bad for Codemasters (the developers), I actually enjoyed Grid 1, but now they made this game way too different from what it was before. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews