Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. The steep cost of admission is the only real downside to this entire package.
  2. From Jump to Eruption, the note placement is a joy to belt out. [Apr 2010, p.113]
  3. Limited coverage of Van Halen’s long history as a band, little involvement from the band members themselves, and a strange assortment of accompanying tracks all conspire to limit the appeal of this title.
  4. Van Halen deserves better. [Jan 2010, p.79]
  5. If you’re cool with just the DLR years and you can hang with the weird faces Dance the Night Away, but if you’re looking for a comprehensive VH compilation and accurate portrayals you might as well Jump, back into GH5.
  6. A Van Halen track pack that's missing everything that made Guitar Hero Metallica a great band-focused Guitar Hero game
  7. Guitar Hero Van Halen is fun, just not the best in the series. The song selection will keep you and your friends happy (just skip Third Eye Blind) and the options are acceptable. Still, with a little more effort, this could've been on the same level as GH Metallica. The band deserved better.
  8. The unfortunate thing about Guitar Hero: Van Halen is that it really had the potential to shine, but there just seemed to be too much working against it. The ongoing band feuds have eliminated not only a large section of the group's catalog, but a founding member as well, and laziness on the part of all parties involved means that there's nearly nothing added to the game to give it the extra content we saw in the Aerosmith and Metallica editions
  9. Guitar Hero Van Halen may not feature the greatest selection of tracks that will appeal to general fans of the franchise. However, it does provide those looking for a more interesting challenge, giving you access to one of the most intense collections of songs to grace a Guitar Hero game for sometime, definitely one just for hardcore Guitar Hero’s.
  10. Its existence is puzzling, its release an admittance of surrender, and its song selection showcases one singer while snubbing another... yet because Guitar Hero remains fun, Guitar Hero: Van Halen comes away as a decent diversion.
  11. I was really excited about Guitar Hero: Van Halen, but all of that excitement washed away when I actually played it.
  12. 65
    The song list is great if you love classic Eddie and the guest bands while not relevant, offer a solid mix. Not being able to export the songs into GH 5 or download any new tracks really hurts, but the lackluster presentation hurts even more.
  13. 65
    Fails to capture any of the band's magic. [Issue#189, p.74]
  14. Activision could have done a lot better, and I think Van Halen, and its fans deserve better. As a free promotional game, it is passable, but as a full out release, we are expecting a little more.
  15. Like him or otherwise, Eddie Van Halen is a guitar hero, no doubt. This game just doesn't reflect that. [Mar 2010, p.76]
  16. In the end we can only say that Activision has released to market a game without any effort.
  17. Great for fans of the band, but for the rest it's better to buy any other game in the franchise. And even if you're a fan there's a bit of let down here.
  18. A hastily put together product that lacks the overall quality of other band-specific games like Guitar Hero: Metallica or The Beatles: Rock Band. Thank God for Ice Cream Man, Eruption and Panama.
  19. Unless you are an absolute die-hard Van Halen fan there is no way you should pay full price for a game that only offers half the content. If you really want to play it, wait until this game lands in the Bargain Bins in a few months time.
  20. 57
    Guitar Hero: Van Halen is a nice part in the franchise when we talk about the music. The gameplay self isn’t different from the last parts and the game also uses an older engine. At every aspect this game is a lesser version then Guitar Hero 5 and that is a shame.
  21. Plainly put, if you’ve played any other band-specific Guitar Hero games, you know what to expect, and that is a game that isn’t as good as the others.
  22. 55
    Guitar Hero: Van Halen hasn't become an exceptional game. It plays like every Guitar Hero game, but you can't call it success.
  23. Even for absolute die-hard fans, I simply can’t recommend this game.
  24. Sloppy execution, poorly chosen tracks and a growing lack of public interest in both Van Halen and the music game genre make this a lackluster low point in the Guitar Hero franchise.
  25. Guitar Hero: Van Halen is a step back for the franchise. [Jan 2010, p.80]
  26. 50
    Even though I am not their biggest fan, I still felt like the band deserved much better than this half-assed effort.
  27. 49
    No effort was put into making it good.
  28. In 2010, Guitar Hero: Van Halen should have never been released in stores at full price. It’s absurd. We’d rather applaud you to wait for the release of Guitar Hero 6, since Guitar Hero Van Halen has the same lack of content as it has lack of love for our frettapping guitar legend. Or as Eddie would probably put it: Aint Talkin’ Bout Love.
  29. Van Halen deserved better, and so did Guitar Hero fans. Avoid.
  30. Fans will squeeze out some fun but this is the laziest GH yet. [Mar 2010, p.88]
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. SamH
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    I'm not a huge Van Halen fan, but I am a fan of the Guitar Hero series. I found this game surprisingly fun to play considering how little I liked Guitar Hero: Aerosmith. Eddie Van Halen's playing style leads to some pretty challenging songs with serious replay value. Full Review »
  2. BC
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    While it certainly could've had more Van Halen tracks, you can't fault the game for having to follow Van Halen's orders. I have a hard time believing that DLR(current singer of the band) would want Haggar's songs in the game or to have his digital portrayal having to sing as him, or vise versa. As for Michael Anthony not being included IS harsh, Wolfgang is the current on-tour bassist. Wolfgang is a big fan of Guitar Hero and (IMO) influenced his father to have this game made. Also, no set list is perfect in any music game. The fact these reviews knock MAJOR points off for having Third Eye Blind in the game shows incredible bias, and is really, just lazy journalism. Every music game to date has all of the songs you want and none of the ones you hate. Grow up. The fact Van Halen signed off on letting their amazing set list get put into the GH series is a blessing. These songs are a blast to play on guitar, the vocals are insanely challenging(ITS DAVID LEE ROTH!), and the drums are do-able but tough to master. (Yes the game suffers by not being on the newer engine, but thats Activisions problem with timing and allowances) Full Review »
  3. Jan 5, 2012
    7
    The game lets you play classic Van Halen songs and songs from other artists. The set list has songs from many different genres making it more fun to play for all types of players. The game also has some of the hardest guitar solos in Guitar Hero history including Eruption which make the game fun to play for hardcore players. However, the game uses the old Guitar Hero engine and doesn't have very much content to it. It feels like less effort was put into this game than the other games. Full Review »