Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 21 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    45
    It was a good opportunity to reinvigorate and polish the series and adapt to the final adventures of this characters. But the changes have been executed poorly, and that results in gameplay defects.
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    45
    A disappointing tie in. Lame gameplay, artificial unintelligence and a lot of issues with the controls will spoil the fun event for the most hardcore fans.
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jan 13, 2011
    41
    Dark, confusing. [Jan 2011, p.96]
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 16, 2011
    40
    A couple hours in, and you're starting to feel pretty stupid yourself! [Jan 2011, p.118]
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 18, 2011
    40
    Thumb-numbing repetitiveness. [Feb 2011, p.86]
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    40
    Unfortunately there are too many mundane missions and not enough variety throughout the game to make this an exciting shooter and the distinct lack of collectibles (something that the previous games prided themselves on) is also disappointing and makes exploring the bland levels pointless.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    40
    Harry Potter and the Deadly Hallows - Part 1 does not succeed in enchanting us with great quality. The terrible gameplay completely ruins this game and will keep you from spending a lot of hours on the latest adventure of the young wizard. Harry Potter fans should stay away from this one.
  8. Nov 21, 2010
    40
    Potter fans will be disappointed by this lazy attempt that is substandard fare and lacks options. EA Bright Light will have to revolutionise its approach if the franchise is to end on a high.
  9. Nov 21, 2010
    40
    Avada Kedavra… EA casts the spell and takes the series in the third person shooter genre. The result is the worst Harry Potter game of all times, a game you'd better close in the tallest tower of Hogwarts.
  10. Dec 10, 2010
    37
    This Harry Potter game is one of the worst games in 2010 for the PlayStation 3. The graphics aren't very best, the gameplay is annoying and the camera doesn't work. Go watch the Movie and don't ever buy this game, it isn't worth your money.
  11. Nov 17, 2010
    35
    Maybe EA Games could rename Part 2 "Harry Potter and the Multiple Revenue Streams". Because if we are going to be honest, that's all this title really is.
  12. 30
    With poor visuals, flawed gameplay and a narrative that fails to adhere closely to the source material, Deathly Hallows Part 1 is a colossal disappointment for gamers and Harry Potter aficionados' alike.
  13. Nov 18, 2010
    30
    Quotation forthcoming.
  14. 30
    Harry Potter turns into a wannabe third person shooter, and the result is abysmal. Movie-based games get a bad rap, and its because of titles like this one. We can't think of anything nice to say about it, not even when playing it with Kinect. It's a bad game from end to end, and has no redeeming qualities. Avoid at all cost, even if (or maybe especially if) you're a Harry Potter-head.
  15. Nov 16, 2010
    25
    So much in this game speaks to either a lack of time or pure laziness on the part of the developers.
  16. Play UK
    Dec 29, 2010
    21
    We can think of no good reason to buy this. [Issue#200, p.94]
  17. Jan 5, 2011
    20
    Seriously, EA?! Why do you insist in crapping all over the franchise during its final hours? The game takes about 5 to 7 hours to complete, but frustration kicks in after the first 20 minutes of play.
  18. Nov 26, 2010
    20
    The best book in the Harry Potter series has become the worst game. This is just a horrible buggy mess with no entertainment at all. Just move along to the next game.
  19. Nov 23, 2010
    20
    If you're an moldu who's super-fan, be sure that I understand you, but don't be fooled. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 is clearly underwhelming, and doesn't compare in any way to any other TPS in terms of quality. Imprecise, slow, poorly designed, we can't even recommend this Harry Potter game to the most tolerant fans.
  20. Nov 16, 2010
    20
    There's potential for a good Harry Potter game underneath this pile of broken gameplay.
User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 5 out of 6
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    2
    This game is a very big insult to every Harry Potter's loyal fan. The gameplay is so lame. Some missions are just frustrating (putting a cloakThis game is a very big insult to every Harry Potter's loyal fan. The gameplay is so lame. Some missions are just frustrating (putting a cloak on and checking if one is a Death Eater). The graphic is just better than previous games but is outdated in compared to current game market. The game is not recommended, even for hardcore Potter's fans. The better the movie is, the worse this scrap is. Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2016
    0
    Very boren nothing like the other games with fun. Finished the game in a day and a half and it was all shooting them. Worst game i ever playedVery boren nothing like the other games with fun. Finished the game in a day and a half and it was all shooting them. Worst game i ever played in my life. I rather the other games for harry potter Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    6
    I guess I was immune to all of the bad aspects of this game because I didn't see anything wrong with it when I played it. I pretty much usedI guess I was immune to all of the bad aspects of this game because I didn't see anything wrong with it when I played it. I pretty much used stupefy most of the time and the spell wheel was weird. I'm pretty sure everyone hates this game because it is a movie tie-in. If you're a Harry Potter fan that wants to fight a hundred death eaters, then play this game. Full Review »