Heavenly Sword PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2007
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 537 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 537
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardMitchell
    Aug 22, 2007
    1
    Ever since the demo of Heavenly Sword was released, it has been called "Heavenly Flop," because the "in-game" "Playable," graphics aren't nearly as good as the "Cut-Sceen" "Non-Playable" graphics...also, the gameplay of Heavenly Sword is very clumsy--it plays like a "button massher," which requires no true skill. There are also graphic framerate problems with Heavenly Sword. SomeEver since the demo of Heavenly Sword was released, it has been called "Heavenly Flop," because the "in-game" "Playable," graphics aren't nearly as good as the "Cut-Sceen" "Non-Playable" graphics...also, the gameplay of Heavenly Sword is very clumsy--it plays like a "button massher," which requires no true skill. There are also graphic framerate problems with Heavenly Sword. Some reviews rate Heavenly Sword as a good game, while others rate it poorly. I think the main thing to keep in mind is that Heavenly Sword is receving, "Mixed Reviews." In other words, it certainly isn't considered anything special by everyone who plays it. Expand
  2. MaksF.
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    Anyone trying to say this game isn't repetitive is probably trying to justify buying a $600 game based solely on hype. This game is terrible. The forced use of the six-axis controller for throwing/shooting mini-games is frustrating and badly-implemented, especially with the catapults and the targets on them. You hit every other part of the frame, nothing happens, but you hit the Anyone trying to say this game isn't repetitive is probably trying to justify buying a $600 game based solely on hype. This game is terrible. The forced use of the six-axis controller for throwing/shooting mini-games is frustrating and badly-implemented, especially with the catapults and the targets on them. You hit every other part of the frame, nothing happens, but you hit the catapults that the enemy mysteriously installed on the catapults' weak spots and the things suddenly fall apart. The enemies' AI is pathetic, the main character's hair looks godawful, especially next to everything else, the clothes were textured terribly and look like car tarps or plastic, the "heavenly sword" is unbelievably badly designed and makes no sense from the perspective of anyone who knows anything about weaponry, and the game is terrible. I honestly don't understand how anyone could rate this highly unless they're severely biased or trying to justify their purchase. From a game design perspective, it's a failure on almost every level, and the same goes for it graphically. Expand
  3. RyanO.
    Oct 10, 2007
    3
    I thought the game, over all, was weak. Short story line. Drops in framerates. Yes, the graphics are stunning, but come on: do you got to see a movie because it is visually stunning? No. The game is weak in every aspect but graphics. Graphics should not make up for junk.
  4. Matthias
    Sep 29, 2007
    4
    Could have been a good game, but as it turned out now it sadly isnt too much fun. Good visuals at the cost of performance and a repetetice and boring game. Yes i dont like it. 4 out of 10 from me since this game still feels overrated.
  5. KeithM.
    Sep 19, 2007
    0
    This game is just another poor sony first party exclusive. And all of the people giving it good reviews are just justifying spending 600 dollars on a piece of machinery with no good games to play on it. Ill stick to Bioshock, because that is a truly great game. And say what you want about microsoft, but they make damn sure that the people who buy a 360 are more than satisfied with the This game is just another poor sony first party exclusive. And all of the people giving it good reviews are just justifying spending 600 dollars on a piece of machinery with no good games to play on it. Ill stick to Bioshock, because that is a truly great game. And say what you want about microsoft, but they make damn sure that the people who buy a 360 are more than satisfied with the first party games they are releasing. Bottom line: MIcrosoft willing to pay money for us to be happy vs. Sony who is cheap and think that their "superior" system will persuade developers. Heavenly Sword: Mediocre in all aspects, and that chick is no kratos. Collapse
  6. CevdetGunbey
    Aug 17, 2007
    3
    Not very next gen if you CAN'T JUMP.
    Fight and run, jump... Nope can't do that.
    Thats the sort of thing that should be being wiped out this time around, along with invisible walls to keep the player on the predetermined path, killed enemies that vanish into thin air as you watch and racers where you can plough through other cars, buildings and scenery but then get brought to a
    Not very next gen if you CAN'T JUMP.
    Fight and run, jump... Nope can't do that.
    Thats the sort of thing that should be being wiped out this time around, along with invisible walls to keep the player on the predetermined path, killed enemies that vanish into thin air as you watch and racers where you can plough through other cars, buildings and scenery but then get brought to a standstill when you hit a small rock on the side of the road.
    Expand
  7. MasJ.
    Jan 13, 2008
    3
    I had high expectations of this game but it was disappointing. The facial animtations were good but there were too many unnecessary close-ups just to show that off. The two main characters are perpetual victims, going from one depressing scene to the next. Even with the most powerful sword around its one tragic scene after another with bosses mocking along the way. No witty dialogue from I had high expectations of this game but it was disappointing. The facial animtations were good but there were too many unnecessary close-ups just to show that off. The two main characters are perpetual victims, going from one depressing scene to the next. Even with the most powerful sword around its one tragic scene after another with bosses mocking along the way. No witty dialogue from the heroine. Compare that to the cool confidence of Kratos and its a let-down. Boss battles are frustrating exercises in perseverence. Having to slay 300-400 enemies with shields to block most of your hits near the end is another frustrating and needless exercise of a wasted hour or two. Expand
  8. Apr 28, 2011
    4
    i picked this game up as a budget buy since the psn is still down, i figured i'll give it a try. i'm in the 2nd act, and i already want to turn it off. so far the story is not all that great, the fighting is boring. over use of the sixaxis, i understand this was one of ps3's 1st games and they wanted to show off the sixaxis, but it 's really ridiculous. the graphics are okay, not great.i picked this game up as a budget buy since the psn is still down, i figured i'll give it a try. i'm in the 2nd act, and i already want to turn it off. so far the story is not all that great, the fighting is boring. over use of the sixaxis, i understand this was one of ps3's 1st games and they wanted to show off the sixaxis, but it 's really ridiculous. the graphics are okay, not great. the cutscenes are like watching a bad 70's japanese movie, lips move, and the dialogue comes when the lips stop moving. the best part about this game is that i can get my money back for it. don't get me started on having to block while in a certain stance. Expand
  9. AwesomeH.
    Sep 12, 2007
    0
    Absolute crap this is a god of war wanna be without the good story or graphics keep ur money and buy metal gear solid instead
  10. Barry
    Feb 19, 2008
    4
    Graphics: Some amazing looking cutscenes........ Storyline: Pretty good...... Gameplay: Extremelly shallow and unoriginal. Most of the time it just feels like you're playing just to ge tto the next section of a movie. The game basically discates to you, giving you a feeling of almost 0% control as you are just pressing buttons to pull off little moves that get so boring quickly. Very Graphics: Some amazing looking cutscenes........ Storyline: Pretty good...... Gameplay: Extremelly shallow and unoriginal. Most of the time it just feels like you're playing just to ge tto the next section of a movie. The game basically discates to you, giving you a feeling of almost 0% control as you are just pressing buttons to pull off little moves that get so boring quickly. Very glad i got my money back and traded it in for Halo 3 on the same day. Some people may like it. But i strongly suggest you rent it before you buy! Expand
  11. KDep
    Sep 15, 2007
    4
    Gameplay is very similar to God of War - but much less involved / robust and far shorter. This is a definition of a rental title. It took me around 6.5 hours from start to finish - easy to accomplish in a weekend. Visually stunning, music and sound are decent, but gameplay is short and has a "I've already done this" feel to it. Wait for a significant price drop or (better) - rent it.
  12. LarryM.
    Sep 23, 2007
    3
    Button-mashing Central.
  13. Sep 4, 2012
    4
    Ok game, it's pretty crappy! Boring controls, it's your average hack n' slash. Nothing new, amazing landscapes and graphics but that's about it. The combat system gets boring within the first ten minutes and very minor combos you can perform. Characters are fun, yet very stereotypical.
  14. Oct 8, 2012
    3
    This game is beautifully designed. Beautiful landscapes, remarkable fortresses, epic battles. But the problem here are the quicktime events. The game doesn't respond to it. First time it doesn't respond, the boss automatically gains life becoming stronger. Avoid the game
  15. Apr 21, 2013
    2
    Wow, quite impressive. Heavenly's main character ends up being the least intersting entity in her own game. That particular effort to produce a strong female character goes straight to hell when the game starts up... and she's DYING! Dying because of a lame Soul Edge clone, no less. She's mean-spirited, downright annoying whenever she speaks, and she controls like a mother! thanks to theWow, quite impressive. Heavenly's main character ends up being the least intersting entity in her own game. That particular effort to produce a strong female character goes straight to hell when the game starts up... and she's DYING! Dying because of a lame Soul Edge clone, no less. She's mean-spirited, downright annoying whenever she speaks, and she controls like a mother! thanks to the clumsy fighting mechanics. You want her to die! A lot! Points to Serkis' King Bohan for stealing every scene, not that he had any competition... Expand
  16. Jul 17, 2014
    1
    Horribly dated and downright unplayable. It had a little bit of potential but it's another case of a rushed launched title and God of War clone. 1/10
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    What MotorStorm has become to racing and Odin Sphere to action role-playing, Heavenly Sword is now to 3D action: Perfection. [Sept 2007, p.17]
  2. 90
    So, while it doesn't eclipse the greatness of the original title that inspired it, Heavenly Sword is still a fun, engaging, and most importantly, exclusive PS3 title that Sony fanboys can brag to 360 fanboys about.
  3. 70
    Heavenly Sword's presentation is stellar and nicely ties the action sequences together, but we just wish that the same amount of care that went into these cutscenes were applied to the game's pacing.