Heavenly Sword PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2007
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 537 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 537
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JanS.
    Sep 10, 2007
    6
    About 7 or 8 Hours of gameplay till i was done. The short playtime was a bit disppointing on the one hand, on the other i was happy to not have to go on an play this pretty repetetive gameplay too long. Definitely a rent or budget title since it is pretty short, has a small replay value and didnt make it to the "must have" title thats some ppls claimed it to be. 6/10 from me.
  2. JeffeK.
    Sep 27, 2007
    7
    Awesome game. Good graphics, great animations. Good story and acting, it's a bit short but that doesn't matter. All M$ honks need to go. Microsoft willing to pay money for us to be happy? Mine is at tech support diagnosed with RROD. Yea, I'm not to happy.
  3. GregT
    Apr 17, 2008
    6
    I agree with all the comments made in this section. It has moments of brilliance but the cut scenes and storyline get in the way. The main problem I have with this game is that it simply doesn't hold my attention. It ticks all the boxes for action etc but there is something lacking and that is a shame. Rent before you buy OR bargain bucket for £15 like I did.
  4. KevR.
    Sep 17, 2007
    5
    Looks excellent in stills, doesn't look as nice in action. Mo-cap is excellent, music is generally good. Character design and acting is generally strong although some of the lead enemy characters are just awful. Gameplay is monotonous and tilt controlled sections make the game feel disjointed, but it is probably worth playing through to view the acted cut scenes. Little to no replay Looks excellent in stills, doesn't look as nice in action. Mo-cap is excellent, music is generally good. Character design and acting is generally strong although some of the lead enemy characters are just awful. Gameplay is monotonous and tilt controlled sections make the game feel disjointed, but it is probably worth playing through to view the acted cut scenes. Little to no replay value (there are extras to collect but you'll be very bored long before this) and the general length of the game makes this a rent first title. Buy it if you really enjoy it. Expand
  5. ThomasO.
    Jan 1, 2008
    6
    What looked to be a rather exciting and interesting title soon found itself being swapped for something else. The game was all over in 4 relaxed days of playing. The ONLY thing enticing the user to replay the game was the obligitory 'unlocked' hard mode. Visually the game is very nice for an early release however it is a long series of button mashing against the hoards with the What looked to be a rather exciting and interesting title soon found itself being swapped for something else. The game was all over in 4 relaxed days of playing. The ONLY thing enticing the user to replay the game was the obligitory 'unlocked' hard mode. Visually the game is very nice for an early release however it is a long series of button mashing against the hoards with the occasional mini-game using the 6-axis for good measure. I would suggest hiring instead of buying. Expand
  6. KentC.
    Jan 17, 2008
    7
    Good, but not great. There's no doubt that the game is beautiful to look at and the cutscenes and voice acting are top notch, but the combat, just like with god of war, gets repetetive. There's a list of combos to perform, and the mix between ranged, power, and speed attacks keep fighting varied, but for the most part hacking and slashing is the easiest way out. You can pick up Good, but not great. There's no doubt that the game is beautiful to look at and the cutscenes and voice acting are top notch, but the combat, just like with god of war, gets repetetive. There's a list of combos to perform, and the mix between ranged, power, and speed attacks keep fighting varied, but for the most part hacking and slashing is the easiest way out. You can pick up things from enemy shields and swords to pots and pieces of wood to throw at enemies. One of the best things about this game is the use of the sixaxis. After throwing an object, hold down the throw button and you can literally guide the object by tilting the sixaxis. It's pretty fun and when you start using the crossbow and cannon, things can get pretty wacky. Don't buy this game until the price goes down, because 60 bucks is way too much. I suggest renting it. Expand
  7. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    7
    A great game, but I take this game lightly because it is kind of short. This game is also depressing but still fun once you get really good at it.
  8. OliverKlosoff
    Mar 18, 2009
    5
    Generally looks pretty...Combat is ok--DMC or GoW is much more satisfying. There's some varied gameplay, but it seems like they threw in stuff just to utilize the six axix controller function...it's not very fun. The quick action parts to the fights is distracting---takes you out of the fight--but that seems to be a trend now with combat intensive games...
  9. AaronC.
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    It was a great game with amazing gameplay, but it could of been better. With more weapons, different abilities and better ways of changing the camera angles. On the after touch gameplay it got annoying when the using Kai, the arrows just missing the enemies. Also a bit too short. Also if she is a warrior, why can't she jump during gameplay?
  10. JohnD.
    Dec 28, 2007
    6
    Don't buy it, unless it's cheap and you need your God of war styled smashing fix.
  11. JosephM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    7
    Heavenly Sword is one of the most beautifully rendered games out on the market, definately setting the par in visuals. The storyline is deep, filled with colorful characters and is uncomprisingly intriguing however (sadly)... the gameplay is yawn-inspiring, a far cry from heavenly. It breaks my heart to say this but 'Heavenly Sword' is like a roller coaster that stops right Heavenly Sword is one of the most beautifully rendered games out on the market, definately setting the par in visuals. The storyline is deep, filled with colorful characters and is uncomprisingly intriguing however (sadly)... the gameplay is yawn-inspiring, a far cry from heavenly. It breaks my heart to say this but 'Heavenly Sword' is like a roller coaster that stops right before the drop. But, hey, its a great view. Expand
  12. Jan 23, 2015
    7
    I've played too many games to enjoy hack and slash games but this is an older title which is kinda known to be a hidden gem for a reasonable price nowadays so i decided to check it out. I did find the gameplay pretty boring and repetitive (that may just be me) but i really did enjoy a lot of the aspects of this game. I found the artwork and graphics nice and the levels fast and easy toI've played too many games to enjoy hack and slash games but this is an older title which is kinda known to be a hidden gem for a reasonable price nowadays so i decided to check it out. I did find the gameplay pretty boring and repetitive (that may just be me) but i really did enjoy a lot of the aspects of this game. I found the artwork and graphics nice and the levels fast and easy to complete. I give especially high marks to the characters in this game they were beyond awesome and i don't think you could do a better job in a game. I really felt each character as their own identity and this is the sole reason i kept playing this game. Overall a decent game even in 2015 this is worth playing just for experiencing how well the characters are. The gameplay was for me disappointing and it felt as most of the game was a demo for the new at the time sixasis controllers abilitities. If the story and characters were not as they were id say this game is a dime a dozen but the characters were that good. Solid game with no glitches and overall I would recommend this at todays used game prices. Not a must play but a good game for a 10hr or less investment. Expand
  13. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    this is a beutiful game in almost every aspect except for one it is so repetitive that you dont really feel like finishing the game. this game has beutiful graphics amazing voice acting a great fighting system and an enchanting story but even though the story is amazing i found it was not worth the dull and repetitive gmaeplay. basicly as you play this game a pattern starts to form startthis is a beutiful game in almost every aspect except for one it is so repetitive that you dont really feel like finishing the game. this game has beutiful graphics amazing voice acting a great fighting system and an enchanting story but even though the story is amazing i found it was not worth the dull and repetitive gmaeplay. basicly as you play this game a pattern starts to form start in one area fight some bad guys move to the next area fight some bad guys short mini game involving the use of the sixaxis controler then cut scene this would not be so bad if the fighting wasnt the exact same thing every single time a wave of ennemies attacks you defeat them and move on to the next wave of ennemies. you dont feel a sense of accomplishment more like dread i constantly thought ok i killed them now to kill the exact same people over again in about 5 seconds. everything about this game is beutifly done but if the parts that im actually playing arent interesting then what is the point of playing in my opinion skip over this game Expand
  14. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    Cripes! R.S.I. anyone? I can't stand button punching games and I know if you hit square, square, triangle, square or any other combination using any of the other buttons in conjunction with each other at certain times or intervals you will get a pretty cool fighting move BUT that gets boring after a while. This game looks lovely, the cut scenes are probably the best I have ever seen in aCripes! R.S.I. anyone? I can't stand button punching games and I know if you hit square, square, triangle, square or any other combination using any of the other buttons in conjunction with each other at certain times or intervals you will get a pretty cool fighting move BUT that gets boring after a while. This game looks lovely, the cut scenes are probably the best I have ever seen in a game (actual facial expressions!) and the voice acting is superb but the game-play is a yawn-fest. And if you haven't got game-play - you've got nothing. If you love games such as God of War and (the dire) Darksiders, you will probably love this. But style over substance does nothing for me. Sorry Nariko - you look beautiful but that just isn't enough. Expand
  15. Apr 29, 2015
    7
    A (mostly) enjoyable linear third-person hack & slash adventure in the God of War vein. Visually excellent; a unique style with a lot of effort put into character models, environments, motion capture performances and voice acting. Very much an early 7th gen console game, uses Sixaxis features (but this is horrible, and can be turned off) with lots of bonus materials to unlock. Gameplay isA (mostly) enjoyable linear third-person hack & slash adventure in the God of War vein. Visually excellent; a unique style with a lot of effort put into character models, environments, motion capture performances and voice acting. Very much an early 7th gen console game, uses Sixaxis features (but this is horrible, and can be turned off) with lots of bonus materials to unlock. Gameplay is enjoyable enough; button mashy with an emphasis on combos. Some irritating design decisions do appear (for example dodge/roll is bound to the right analog stick, relies too much on QTEs), mostly good in terms of performance with some screen tearing when viewing larger vistas, load times can seem excessive but do not ruin the experience. Pretty good! Expand
  16. May 16, 2013
    7
    the characters in this game are very vivid till this day... amazing performance...

    the combat system is also nice but i agree with all the naysayers about framerate issues and the motion stuff...

    i still recommend it the story and the characters are very original and the game should be 5 dolar max atm.
  17. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    I gave this game a solid 7 because, it has less pro's than con's.
    The only parts of the game that I managed to enjoy were the boss fights and some of the twing twang challenges.
    It's buggy, the controls are a mess, terrible voice acting (especially the main character) and it's really really small. Like 8 hours of gameplay if you go at a normal pace. 6 if you're in a hurry. The inflated
    I gave this game a solid 7 because, it has less pro's than con's.
    The only parts of the game that I managed to enjoy were the boss fights and some of the twing twang challenges.
    It's buggy, the controls are a mess, terrible voice acting (especially the main character) and it's really really small.
    Like 8 hours of gameplay if you go at a normal pace. 6 if you're in a hurry.
    The inflated score is because it was one of the first games that release on the PS3 and people were impressed at the time.
    Although a sequel to this game would be interesting.
    This game as a lot of raw potential.
    Expand
  18. Sep 14, 2014
    7
    Not a bad game but also not the flawless masterpiece. On the positive side: The fighting system fells refreshing and the characters and voice acting are pretty good. The graphic and soundtrack are fine and create a fitting experience. The story is O.K. and the villain is very enjoyable. On the bad side: The game is relative short, the controls are not perfect (not broken more unfitting forNot a bad game but also not the flawless masterpiece. On the positive side: The fighting system fells refreshing and the characters and voice acting are pretty good. The graphic and soundtrack are fine and create a fitting experience. The story is O.K. and the villain is very enjoyable. On the bad side: The game is relative short, the controls are not perfect (not broken more unfitting for me) and sometimes the game fells repetitive. Overall it is an enjoyable but short experience. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    What MotorStorm has become to racing and Odin Sphere to action role-playing, Heavenly Sword is now to 3D action: Perfection. [Sept 2007, p.17]
  2. 90
    So, while it doesn't eclipse the greatness of the original title that inspired it, Heavenly Sword is still a fun, engaging, and most importantly, exclusive PS3 title that Sony fanboys can brag to 360 fanboys about.
  3. 70
    Heavenly Sword's presentation is stellar and nicely ties the action sequences together, but we just wish that the same amount of care that went into these cutscenes were applied to the game's pacing.