Heavy Rain PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2823 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanH
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    It's execution is not always perfect, but Heavy Rain creates an amazingly tense and emotional experience while taking video game narrative to a new level. Some clunky dialogue and misfit voice work (the "orig-yam-ee" killer) is easy to overlook in light of the greater picture. I played straight through until 4 in the morning because I had to see what was next.
  2. TylerM
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Incredible game. There is no finer example of mature and compelling story telling in this industry. And to add to it, the game is filled with choices, many of which can truly challenge the player. These aren't the kind of black and white two dimensional choices you see in games like Fallout 3 or Mass Effect that give you choices and try to pretend that they matter. You'll face Incredible game. There is no finer example of mature and compelling story telling in this industry. And to add to it, the game is filled with choices, many of which can truly challenge the player. These aren't the kind of black and white two dimensional choices you see in games like Fallout 3 or Mass Effect that give you choices and try to pretend that they matter. You'll face some very tough decisions with no clear "right" answer. Let yourself get lost in this games world and it gives back ten fold with one of the most compelling and unique experiences I've ever seen. This is not a game to be missed. Expand
  3. NickV
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    Heavy Rain strives to break free of the conventional video game molds we have come to see and expect from our games, and to a large degree, it succeeds. For the first time in a long time, your choices actually matter in a game, and the conclusion can be dramatically different depending on those choices. Let's compare to Mass Effect 2 in terms of storytelling. In ME2, the story stops Heavy Rain strives to break free of the conventional video game molds we have come to see and expect from our games, and to a large degree, it succeeds. For the first time in a long time, your choices actually matter in a game, and the conclusion can be dramatically different depending on those choices. Let's compare to Mass Effect 2 in terms of storytelling. In ME2, the story stops at several places, waiting for you to be ready before you continue. This, in my opinion, pulls gamers from the experience. The only way you can miss some of ME2s story is if you basically choose to skip it, and there are only a few of your choices that make any sort fo significant difference (and these are largely just individual character based). Frankly, I never felt like I could actually lose in ME2. In Heavy Rain, however, you can lose your characters at almost any point in the story and thus miss IMMENSE story segments and plot details. You can reach an end in which you don't win, and there is not necessarily a happy ending. This creates a level of tension not seen in many games. I wish I had time to go further, but I'll leave it at Heavy Rain is a completely different beast than almost all of the games that have come out recently. It makes great strides in storytelling and interactivity. Many people will not understand what it has accomplished or only play it once through and assume they have seen everything, but this is not the case. Play it again, act differently or intentionally choose not to push the buttons once in awhile and see what happens. This is a huge step for gaming and I hope to see more games attempt what this has. A different control scheme might be great, but for what it is, this is a brilliant achievement. Expand
  4. PatrickL
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    It's nice to have a change from absent-minded shooters which require no thought and don't really involve the player with the characters. Heavy Rain does. Astonishing soundtrack, visuals and a captivating ever-changing, multi-ended story mean this is a completely different experience to other mindless games. It's grown up adult gaming for once. Must experience this!
  5. PrestonJ
    Feb 24, 2010
    8
    Clunky movement, but is everything most of the reviewers told you it was. Those dissappointed are those expecting something the game wasn't.. I was expecting another Indigo Prophecy, or for those of you who played sega saturn, a filmed live action game with a similar control scheme. All in all i've enjoyed the game and will most likely play it multiple times.
  6. JalexD
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    A truly unrivaled experience in video games. Surely, many a narrow-minded person will criticize the game's lack of hundreds of NPCs to slaughter, platforms to hop from and to, and experience to be accumulated thru random exploration and culminating in a higher number being placed next to the character's name. But anyone can easily realize that 'Heavy Rain' is a video A truly unrivaled experience in video games. Surely, many a narrow-minded person will criticize the game's lack of hundreds of NPCs to slaughter, platforms to hop from and to, and experience to be accumulated thru random exploration and culminating in a higher number being placed next to the character's name. But anyone can easily realize that 'Heavy Rain' is a video game by definition as it contains more interaction in 10 hours (give or take a few) than most game franchises have put together. To summarize: The themes are mature ; The characters are very human and it shows ; The script is mostly excellent, with a few sour spots ; The voice acting can be both here and there, with some characters maintaining complete believability while a couple others achieve the opposite, and most have their ups and downs ; The pacing of the story is wonderful, and everything moves along nicely. Nothing feels rushed or dragged out ; The story itself is a joy, as it highlights many topics alien to video games but keeps everything high-quality AND manages to put it's own unique mark on the narration. This is a game EVERY adult gamer should try. Expand
  7. JustinW.
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Outstanding game that really allows a novice to play and get into the story. I've been playing video games for 20+ years now and have barely been able to get my wife to pick up a controller (except for the Rock Band microphone). With this game she is as engrossed with the story as I am and can't wait to come home from work to continue the story. While the game is not perfect it Outstanding game that really allows a novice to play and get into the story. I've been playing video games for 20+ years now and have barely been able to get my wife to pick up a controller (except for the Rock Band microphone). With this game she is as engrossed with the story as I am and can't wait to come home from work to continue the story. While the game is not perfect it definitely pushes the medium forward in a very adult way. Here's hoping more publishers learn a few lessons from Heavy Rain and start to cater to us "older gamers" who value deep plots and complex narratives over the all too common point and click shooters.... Expand
  8. SeanO.
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    Wow. Looks like a bunch of 360 fanboys came and trashed it when they haven't even played it. This is a very good game. The graphics are top notch and the storytelling is awesome. It is a little slow in the beginning, but it really picks up and becomes thrilling after a couple of hours.
  9. MysticStrummer
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    Wow what a bunch of slaves to the gaming status quo there are on here. This game is amazing. Controls take some getting used to, but I feel a sense of urgency when going through the action sequences just like I do when I'm controlling another game in the more traditional way. The main difference is the depth of these characters. Great story, too. I feel sorry for the people who hate Wow what a bunch of slaves to the gaming status quo there are on here. This game is amazing. Controls take some getting used to, but I feel a sense of urgency when going through the action sequences just like I do when I'm controlling another game in the more traditional way. The main difference is the depth of these characters. Great story, too. I feel sorry for the people who hate on this. You guys are fans of the same old thing, I guess. Expand
  10. JordanA.
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    This was one of the most creative games i've ever played. Without spoiling anything, it's a fairly short game (7-8 hours), with lots of unexpected plot twists, and good story telling. It's very addicting, and even after the credits roll, I was still hungry for more. I gave it a 9/10, because there are a fair amount of unanswered questions and potholes in the story, and This was one of the most creative games i've ever played. Without spoiling anything, it's a fairly short game (7-8 hours), with lots of unexpected plot twists, and good story telling. It's very addicting, and even after the credits roll, I was still hungry for more. I gave it a 9/10, because there are a fair amount of unanswered questions and potholes in the story, and because i beat it in less than 2 days. for sure worth playing, if not buying Expand
  11. RamoneJ
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Amazing!! I've never cared so much for the well being of video game characters like i have for Heavy Rain's. Try it, you will never forget it.
  12. alexisfs
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Masterpiece. Never played something so good like this game. Dont skip it!
  13. SluggoC
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Looking at the player's reviews you can spot the fact that Heavy Rain is a ground breaking piece of entertainment. The little "shooter kids" don't like it because they can't use guns to blow up things, and the little "fighter brats" don't like it because they can't use "ninja moves". But, if games are ever going to move past the little nerd boys and out into the Looking at the player's reviews you can spot the fact that Heavy Rain is a ground breaking piece of entertainment. The little "shooter kids" don't like it because they can't use guns to blow up things, and the little "fighter brats" don't like it because they can't use "ninja moves". But, if games are ever going to move past the little nerd boys and out into the real world of entertainment, things like Heavy Rain need to happen. The player is emotionally invested in the game to a level not seen to date. Choices have consequences and, at base, this game teaches. The graphics had to be good in order to involve the player. The story is set to a novel level and not (as many reviewers seem to prefer) a cartoon level (which explains why so many consider this a "boring game"). Worth buying and worth playing. Expand
  14. WarrenV
    Feb 26, 2010
    9
    This is probably one of the most important games of this generation; its story is gripping and deep, the immersion achieved by the makers and their control system is truly astounding and the graphics are gorgeous at depicting dilapidated surroundings and almost photorealistic characters, all sprinkled with lots of rain. This is the next step in the age-old point-and-click adventure genre.
  15. TravisC
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of the best games ever. The story is fresh and keeps you guessing all the way. The gameplay may be simple but if you think it can't be as intense as a game like call of duty then you are so wrong. My stomach was in knots the entire time. This has some of the most intense sequences in gaming ever. Get it now. if you don't have a ps3 then buy one of those and This is easily one of the best games ever. The story is fresh and keeps you guessing all the way. The gameplay may be simple but if you think it can't be as intense as a game like call of duty then you are so wrong. My stomach was in knots the entire time. This has some of the most intense sequences in gaming ever. Get it now. if you don't have a ps3 then buy one of those and then get heavy rain. It is worth it. Expand
  16. Shad0wCK
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome, a contender for Game of the Year 2010 for sure. Graphics are amazing, and the storyline took my breath away. A must buy! I'm so glad I own a PS3.
  17. JohnnyH
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    It's a very deviding game - you'l either love it or hate it. It has an immersive and thrilling story line and sublime graphics, but doesn't offer much else. It sounds like a cliche these days but Heavy Rain really is like playing a movie. Every animation in every scene in the entire game is capture with real actors, and the graphics are better than the cut scenes of most It's a very deviding game - you'l either love it or hate it. It has an immersive and thrilling story line and sublime graphics, but doesn't offer much else. It sounds like a cliche these days but Heavy Rain really is like playing a movie. Every animation in every scene in the entire game is capture with real actors, and the graphics are better than the cut scenes of most other games. Graphics aside, the story is very well paced and thought through. The main characters are well defined and generally likable. Generally, buy this game if an "Interactive Drama" sounds appealing to you. Expand
  18. JasonB
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    This is an extremely fun game. It is story and emotionally driven, so if you are in love with the same old fps games you probably will not enjoy it as much as me, but you will still enjoy it. It is a game EVERYONE must try, no matter if people say its good or bad because it is a game unlike any other, a sparkling gem in a world dominated by shooting games. The people who usually This is an extremely fun game. It is story and emotionally driven, so if you are in love with the same old fps games you probably will not enjoy it as much as me, but you will still enjoy it. It is a game EVERYONE must try, no matter if people say its good or bad because it is a game unlike any other, a sparkling gem in a world dominated by shooting games. The people who usually don't like this game, no offense, are more apathetic than normal (Probably by playing all those shooting games). If you feel an iota of emotion, this game will have you engaged as you become involved. The decisions actually became really tough for me, especially at the end. The first hour or so is slow, but it really picks up. I did notice a few glaring plot holes, but this is a game I will probably play again and again to get the full effect. Trust me, try it. If you don't like it, at least you experienced a game that truly crossed a new threshold. The story is driven by one, central question, and if you can ask YOURSELF that question while you play, if you can imagine YOURSELF in Ethan's position and your son in Shaun's, How far will you go to save someone you love? Expand
  19. JustinD
    Mar 14, 2010
    10
    I enjoyed this game immensely, I had to keep playing it until the climax/conclusion. It really had me guessing "who is the origami killer?" I will admit, this game is not for everyone. I am the typical "shooter" gamer, so I was quite hesitate prior to making the purchase. Quite frankly, I was satisfied. Though, the replay value of it in my opinion is the not the greatest. Like stated I enjoyed this game immensely, I had to keep playing it until the climax/conclusion. It really had me guessing "who is the origami killer?" I will admit, this game is not for everyone. I am the typical "shooter" gamer, so I was quite hesitate prior to making the purchase. Quite frankly, I was satisfied. Though, the replay value of it in my opinion is the not the greatest. Like stated prior, I am a "shooter" gamer, so after learning who is the origami killer, my interest subsided. I rated this game as a 10 because I believe it deserves it, but if I could rate the replay value separately, that would be rated about a 4. Anyone whom owns a PS3 should definitely try this title regardless of the type of gamer you are. Expand
  20. lucas
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    The way I see it, even the electric light garnered negative reviews when it was introduced and so it goes that a few negative reviews by a bunch of lemmings will not change the fact that Heavy Rain is a milestone in video game entertainment! The game is a journey in the truest sense of the word; a path one takes is truly different and has various emotional effect depending on the The way I see it, even the electric light garnered negative reviews when it was introduced and so it goes that a few negative reviews by a bunch of lemmings will not change the fact that Heavy Rain is a milestone in video game entertainment! The game is a journey in the truest sense of the word; a path one takes is truly different and has various emotional effect depending on the player's choices. Guys, if you want a game your girlfriends can and will get into this is absolutely a winner. I was impressed by how the changes in story came to pass when my girlfriend played. There where many "oh! That is so different from when I played" moments! Now nay-sayers may comment: "so what? Mass Effect and many games have plot changes based on what you choose as well", and I would agree. However the overall emotional attachment in those games vary from slight to none at all. Actually, the last time I experienced this level of emotional connection was when I played Crimson Butterfly. In short, this is a fantastic title, one you will be haunted by long after you set the controller down! Expand
  21. JeremyC
    Apr 15, 2010
    9
    Lots of people complain about the plot, the voice acting, the graphics, continuity, etc. All of these are minor problems in the game, small glitches and distractions. Most of them are easily excused while you are playing the game. I've played lots of video games: RPGs, RTS, FPS, Puzzle games, Point/Click, Adventure, etc. The persistent problem in most is that the moment anything goes Lots of people complain about the plot, the voice acting, the graphics, continuity, etc. All of these are minor problems in the game, small glitches and distractions. Most of them are easily excused while you are playing the game. I've played lots of video games: RPGs, RTS, FPS, Puzzle games, Point/Click, Adventure, etc. The persistent problem in most is that the moment anything goes wrong, you hit esc and reload your game. In an absolute worst case scenario you start from the beginning of the level. These are true because to replay through an RTS campaign or a early FPS levels again after dying would suck. Heavy Rain is different, and not just because it doesn't let you reload at will. The intuitive control system immerses you into the game in a way that few others can. In most games a single button performs an action or to perform a combo multiple buttons must be pressed in sequence while the character then performs the move. In Heavy Rain you start to feel the emotion and the angst and the anger of the characters. I found myself swinging the controller around the room trying to evade a car, at one point I jumped when my character was supposed to jump, I found my hands contorted to mash multiple buttons in an awkward fashion as my character climbed through electrical wires. My experience with Heavy Rain was one of the most involved emotional experiences I've had with any form of media. Never before have I had a visceral reaction to the actions on screen. Expand
  22. Feb 1, 2015
    9
    I wouldn't really class this as a game, more as a story that you interact with - and indeed, influence. It reminded me of the old Fighting Fantasy books that I used to read as a kid! I became more emotionally attached to the characters than with any other game I've played, and was genuinely upset by the ending that I created! Can appreciate that this won't appeal to all gamers, and I doubtI wouldn't really class this as a game, more as a story that you interact with - and indeed, influence. It reminded me of the old Fighting Fantasy books that I used to read as a kid! I became more emotionally attached to the characters than with any other game I've played, and was genuinely upset by the ending that I created! Can appreciate that this won't appeal to all gamers, and I doubt that I'll ever play this through again, but it was sure enjoyable whilst it lasted. Expand
  23. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    I don't normally like this kind of game but it just goes to show that interactive story telling can work when it's done properly. It's a great looking game too.
  24. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    A great game with great graphics and story. Some parts are pretty boring, but after the game you know you played one of these rare masterpieces. For me, the game was much better than the telltale-games showing up these days.
  25. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    There's no other game like this, which is just very good and above all, delivers new ideas, new views for gaming and amazing technology. this game shows definitely that future of games lays in them non-linear structure and immersion.
  26. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Before you even consider this buying or renting game, you have to ask yourself a question. That question is "Do I like quick time events?". If you do, great! The majority of this game is made up of quick time events and we're already off to a good start here. If you don't, fair enough, they're not to everyone's taste, but I'd recommend you hang around and hear a bit more about the game.Before you even consider this buying or renting game, you have to ask yourself a question. That question is "Do I like quick time events?". If you do, great! The majority of this game is made up of quick time events and we're already off to a good start here. If you don't, fair enough, they're not to everyone's taste, but I'd recommend you hang around and hear a bit more about the game. You see, I'm fairly indifferent on quick time events. For those who don't know, they're basically interactive cut-scenes in which you press buttons when prompted to. Whether or not you manage to successfully press the right buttons decides what will happen. Heavy Rain's gameplay is odd. It's mostly walking around and examining different everyday objects, or doing everyday things, and, of course, quick time events. To me, that sounded pretty boring, as walking around in a videogame can't be nothing short of mundane, and as I mentioned, I'm indifferent to quick time events, so they don't exactly excite me. In spite of all this, I decided to give the game a go anyway at the recommendation of a co-worker. I'll have to admit this though, I think it's purely my indifference that made me tolerate the gameplay. There's nothing in this game that will suddenly make you enjoy slow paced gameplay or quick time events if you despise them already. Heavy Rain doesn't set out to convert, it set's out to show those who are willing to give it a chance what I masterpiece they can do with that style of gameplay. The instantaneous hook for me was the presentation and the story. Heavy Rain's plot is, frankly, fantastic, and the graphics,voice acting and motion capture are of such good quality that it compliments the story to no end. It's hard to explain much of the story without spoilers, so my brief outline will have to do. A serial killer known as the Origami Killer is on the loose. The Killer kidnaps young boys consistently, who are then missing for several days before being found dead at random locations, origami figure in hand. You take on the roles of Ethan Mars, an architect, Scott Shelby, a private investigator, Norman Jayden, an FBI agent and Madison Paige, a photojournalist, all of whom have found themselves one way or another wrapped within the most recent disappearance, trying to bring the killer to justice. The story is engaging, dramatic, addictive and is on par in quality with real life murder drama TV series. Any doubts I had about the gameplay were thrown out of the window due to the sheer desire to find out what happens next. The best thing about the game is it's likely to be very different every time you play, and different for every person. Due to the nature of the gameplay, the game is very dynamic. In other games, failing or doing badly in a quick time event will just mean a "Game Over" leading you to do it again until you get it right. In Heavy Rain, for the most part this does not apply. The game continues down very different paths based on your actions in both quick time events and the general decisions you make. Sometimes this might only lead to a small change, such as deciding to go one direction before another, but the consequences of other decisions can be dire, even leading to the death of a character, or even your own character! If you're not careful, you may find yourself at the end of the story with all four of your protagonists deceased, and get the appropriate ending. While I praise this style of gameplay, meaning each run is tailored to the whims of the player, it can have it's drawbacks. Given the sometimes frantic pace, or misleading button instructions, you'll find yourself making errors that lead to consequences or events you didn't desire. It's frustrating when these aren't intentional. For example, you're interrogating a witness, and you wish to press "sympathise", but accidentally press "question further" which leads to unwanted results that could very well affect the overall story. There's a degree of satisfaction when you're intentional choices manifest within the story, but upsetting when those you made by accident do instead. You'll then have to battle the urge to restart the game and try again, as it sort of goes against the very point of the game being a unique experience. So this is something to be wary of. Ultimately, Heavy Rain is interesting. That's what it's got going for it. The plot is engaging and I found myself yearning to know what happens next and that's what kept me playing. If you know you're going to hate the gameplay style, then I don't think this is for you, but if you're indifferent like me, or curious, then by all means go for it and I doubt you'll be disappointed. However, do try and fight the temptation to make things go your way throughout the game, and try and maintain spontaneous decisions to get the most out of this wonderful game. Expand
  27. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I got this game and the first thing I had to say after having a look at it was that the graphics are amazing, it is one of the most good looking games I have ever played. Since it provides move support, the game drags you into the story line and make you feel like that you are really the character you are playing, every action of our results in different cons, so the game is moreover aI got this game and the first thing I had to say after having a look at it was that the graphics are amazing, it is one of the most good looking games I have ever played. Since it provides move support, the game drags you into the story line and make you feel like that you are really the character you are playing, every action of our results in different cons, so the game is moreover a suspense that is never broken by having a look at any walk-through on youtube, some of our action may even result in killing the in-game character, the only bad thing you will notice about this game is that there is not much of a replay value to the game and the game lacks muliplayer mode.
    But most games aim at removing any stress or tension which they fail to do, lets take god of war for example, it is more of a nightmare to me in which you have to tap the bloody button and swing some **** i really feels like **** on the other hand heavy rain is a very pleasant game and I recommend this game to every PS3 owner because I think, it is one of the ps3 titles which can dominate the 360 and the move support gives it a nice reason for why you should buy it
    Expand
  28. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    One of the best interactive dramas ever. A absolute unique experience, same to be said with the control scheme. The story is one of the best ever seen in a videogame. A flawless masterpiece.
  29. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of my favorite game ever. If you want to sit down to one of the most gripping stories in gaming with one of the most intuitive and fun control scheme's ever, then this is the game for you. Replay value is also one of the highest of any game because every scene can have a different outcome and no play- through will be exactly the same. I simply can't recommend this enough.
  30. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Literally my favorite game of all time. Plays like an intense interactive movie. Definitely challenging, but not frustratingly so. Story is incredible. Some of the graphics are weak and a few awful voice actors, but it's most beautiful and the voices that matter are fantastic.
  31. May 8, 2012
    9
    I didn't know much about the game except that the artwork on the cover alone seemed interesting to me. Many games have promised an "interactive" experience in which your decisions change the course of action before, so could Heavy Rain pull it off? The answer is a Stone Cold-ish "oh hell yeah." There is a very limited number of games that made me care about the storyline and the charactersI didn't know much about the game except that the artwork on the cover alone seemed interesting to me. Many games have promised an "interactive" experience in which your decisions change the course of action before, so could Heavy Rain pull it off? The answer is a Stone Cold-ish "oh hell yeah." There is a very limited number of games that made me care about the storyline and the characters that much. The way the story builds up to its climax is excellent, graphics beyond believe on a home console. This game gives you pure freedom of choice, infinite exploration and a story that will stay in your mind long after playing this. The game is build on chapters, in each chapter you take control of one of four main characters, and everything you do can change the outcome of the game. These characters are different from each other and interesting, each one involved in the game's plot from a different direction. You will feel like you are actually taking part in the action, be it preparing scrambled eggs or fighting for your life. A true masterpiece without comparison. Expand
  32. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To make it clear, Heavy Rain is more a incredible thrilling movie than a videogame. It has a lot of very intense scenes and quiet a few choices to change the story line. The only downside for me is, that after the first playthrough it loses a bit of his "magic" and it took my several months to play it again - but still I play it since release. Expand
  33. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Heavy Rain is an amazing experience to say the least. Its impossible to not become attached to the characters. although not a classic "video game", Heavy Rain puts you in a fathers desperate shoes looking for his son. You feel every characters pain and instantly become attached. This game is at least worth a rent, but you really should buy it.
  34. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I respect other people's views and tastes, but I cannot understand why you would give such a groundbreaking game a bad score. It has everything that a good PS3 game should: a great story, good controls, exciting moments and a captivating story line. The emotions that you feel when you realise your kid is missing and the length you will go to to find him back... a true monument and a gameI respect other people's views and tastes, but I cannot understand why you would give such a groundbreaking game a bad score. It has everything that a good PS3 game should: a great story, good controls, exciting moments and a captivating story line. The emotions that you feel when you realise your kid is missing and the length you will go to to find him back... a true monument and a game that will be remembered for changing the face of video games. Expand
  35. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    I didn't know whether to give this a 9 or a 10, I felt that it should have been a 9 at first because there are many problems in Heavy Rain that are hard to overlook, such as the plot holes and technical problems but when I go back and play this game I can put those problems aside and enjoy this incredibly emotional and engaging game. I can't think of any other game that gets you soI didn't know whether to give this a 9 or a 10, I felt that it should have been a 9 at first because there are many problems in Heavy Rain that are hard to overlook, such as the plot holes and technical problems but when I go back and play this game I can put those problems aside and enjoy this incredibly emotional and engaging game. I can't think of any other game that gets you so invested in its story and makes you care about every decision you make like this. It's not for everyone and improvements could be made but this is one of those cases where the good manages to out weigh the bad and as a result we can enjoy this fantastic, beautiful and immensely emotional game, and another game like this won't come for a long time. Expand
  36. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Wow! I talk a lot about how some games are experiences and not games at all, heavy rain is probably the reason I think like that now. I loved this game, loved everything about it. The graphics, the story, the characters, the different paths, the music is some of the best in gaming. This is one of my all time favorite games every. Now this may not be for everyone granted, because this isWow! I talk a lot about how some games are experiences and not games at all, heavy rain is probably the reason I think like that now. I loved this game, loved everything about it. The graphics, the story, the characters, the different paths, the music is some of the best in gaming. This is one of my all time favorite games every. Now this may not be for everyone granted, because this is more of an interactive movie of sorts, and you just follow along but you still get to choose how you want it to play out. I loved the tense parts and actually I was a bit dissapointed when I played backed some earlier sections and found out that had I failed the correct button presses, I would have lived anyway, but at the time I didn't realize that and so I felt tense and knew (or at least thought) that my character could die and I needed to be careful. I love perma-death in games. It is what made demon souls so great the consequences of dying, and is why im looking so forward to until dawn. In fact had death had more of a consequence in amnesia it probably would have been even better, but I knew it would just load right back up so I never really felt that tense. Expand
  37. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    I really don't know why I like this game so much. Looking at it now, there are quite a few things wrong with it. The weird and sometimes awkward voice acting, the controls that handle like a tank when you aren't doing QTEs, and those are just a couple. Why do I like it? Well, I think its the story. Its a very entertaining story that's very good at getting you invested, and that is thanksI really don't know why I like this game so much. Looking at it now, there are quite a few things wrong with it. The weird and sometimes awkward voice acting, the controls that handle like a tank when you aren't doing QTEs, and those are just a couple. Why do I like it? Well, I think its the story. Its a very entertaining story that's very good at getting you invested, and that is thanks to, in part by the gameplay. While yes, the controls for controlling your characters suck, interacting with the environment and talking to other characters works very well with the story. Also, the re-playability is boosted by all the multiple endings. Expand
  38. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    If you take the game for what it is, an "Interactive Movie" then you will find this to be an awesome experience. The experience is unprecedented because you have an overall plot and continuously moving story like a movie, but a more detailed story and ability to influence events and endings Allowing you to play increases tension and the overall mood and atmosphere. The writing,If you take the game for what it is, an "Interactive Movie" then you will find this to be an awesome experience. The experience is unprecedented because you have an overall plot and continuously moving story like a movie, but a more detailed story and ability to influence events and endings Allowing you to play increases tension and the overall mood and atmosphere. The writing, characters, and the themes, etc. are all memorable. Definitely worth a try for PS3 fans. It definitely seems a love it or hate it type of game. Expand
  39. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    A ten may seem high to a lot of people, and even though this game does have some problems ( in my opinion the controls were sometimes difficult), when I completed it, I was in awe of what I had seen and done while playing. The haunting musical score is incredible as you make your way through the game. The graphics are simply amazing. And finally the story is one of the best written IA ten may seem high to a lot of people, and even though this game does have some problems ( in my opinion the controls were sometimes difficult), when I completed it, I was in awe of what I had seen and done while playing. The haunting musical score is incredible as you make your way through the game. The graphics are simply amazing. And finally the story is one of the best written I have ever seen in a video game. So even with somewhat awkward controls at times, I found myself thoroughly engaged by this game. Expand
  40. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    O jogo em si é muito bom, de um gênero único e inovador, não tinha experimentado nada deste tipo até o presente momento, o problema é que com o passar do tempo se torna maçante, e acaba não sendo aquele game que fica no alto da prateleira depois de platinado, e que a gente se imagina voltando a jogar em um futuro próximo.
  41. Aug 3, 2014
    8
    Rating this 0 is radical. Same as rating it 10. This game is over 6 and below 9. 7.5 maybe 8.
    This game is a vision of it's Director David Cage. The drama is nice. Unlike Beyond 2 souls. This game has better strong story where decisions really matter.
    Game play is boring a little bit. I can agree with this. But would still enjoying playing the game. Games like this one is about story.
    Rating this 0 is radical. Same as rating it 10. This game is over 6 and below 9. 7.5 maybe 8.
    This game is a vision of it's Director David Cage. The drama is nice. Unlike Beyond 2 souls. This game has better strong story where decisions really matter.
    Game play is boring a little bit. I can agree with this. But would still enjoying playing the game. Games like this one is about story. You keep holding the control because you can get surprised easily. And because you want to follow the story.
    I bought this game intentionally because I wanted to see a better version of Beyond 2 Souls. And yes it is better in terms of story but not the game play.
    I would buy these type of games over and over again. Because it is some sort of an art. It could be bad gut definitely not a waste of time for me. Still David Cage has something to tell in his games that worth to be watched or played.
    Expand
  42. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    A great game. First the bad: there were a few glitches and the sound bytes were a bit sparse in some sections. The good: great graphics, compelling story with a messed up killer and outrageous tests for the father, and ways to get more than one ending! A couple of bits that I found with faults like why the troubled nightmares and insomnia? The game has a story and plays out like a movieA great game. First the bad: there were a few glitches and the sound bytes were a bit sparse in some sections. The good: great graphics, compelling story with a messed up killer and outrageous tests for the father, and ways to get more than one ending! A couple of bits that I found with faults like why the troubled nightmares and insomnia? The game has a story and plays out like a movie enough that your friend would enjoy playing with you. Expand
  43. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    Heavy Rain gives you a great experience (if you are not hoping to play a game where you blow things up), the storyline is breathtaking and superior than the ones in many games around, the gameplay is slow and all about the storyline (despite having some action parts) and the game isn't very lasting, so I would say, rent it.
  44. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    So much fun. I don't consider this a game. I consider this a movie just because the scenes can be so good at times. A must own if you own a Playstation 3 console. Can't wait for Quantic Dream next game.
  45. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    Apsolutely amazing game. everything about this game is amazing, Can be a bit boring at times but once ya get into it you will not sleep! very addictive storyline
  46. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    A game with beautiful graphics, half the time you feel like it's a movie witch makes in memorable from all other games out there. It has such emotion, Ethan Mars is my favorite character because you really feel his pain especially if you get a sad ending. The voice acting is GOOD and the soundtrack is OUTSTANDING.
  47. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    The game is great! The graphics are pretty, the story brought me to tears, and the descions you make actually do effect the outcome. With that said, the voice's are horrible. From Ethan's famous, "jason, JASON, jason, JASON, jason, JASON!" to the police saying "We got to catch this ORIGAUMIA killa!" The voice over work really hurts the game. Other than that, and the cutscenes being aThe game is great! The graphics are pretty, the story brought me to tears, and the descions you make actually do effect the outcome. With that said, the voice's are horrible. From Ethan's famous, "jason, JASON, jason, JASON, jason, JASON!" to the police saying "We got to catch this ORIGAUMIA killa!" The voice over work really hurts the game. Other than that, and the cutscenes being a little dry, there aren't really anything wrong with this game. Don't worry, the game and the story EASILY make up for these issues. Expand
  48. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Its a different game, i don´t think everybory will like, but i liked =D. The history(es) is(are) intriguing, excelent graphics, with many knurled, but ok.
  49. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    What a blast! Incredibly innovative usage of the six-axis controller, invigorating story line, simply amazing character feel and backstory and thriller factor. THIS IS WHAT GAMES THESE DAYS SHOULD BE LIKE! New, fun to play, and addictive. I wish it was a longer game or at least had a few strong side plots that could have extended its life.
  50. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    Heart breaking decisions and a great story. Downsides are that this game is reaaaaly depressing and that you realy have to like to do every single endings.

    In the end, a good rent.
  51. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Revolutionary and extremely well polished. This game will suck you into an adventure you've never experienced before with gaming. Finally, a game where your actions changes the plot. The scenario could make a great movie, the original score blends perfectly into the action and the scene cutting keeps you constantly craving to make the story evolve to its final twist. Kudos to theRevolutionary and extremely well polished. This game will suck you into an adventure you've never experienced before with gaming. Finally, a game where your actions changes the plot. The scenario could make a great movie, the original score blends perfectly into the action and the scene cutting keeps you constantly craving to make the story evolve to its final twist. Kudos to the production team for putting the effort and creativity in crafting high quality games like this one. Expand
  52. Aug 22, 2014
    8
    This was one of the games I wanted to play the most when I got my PS3 as a late adapter. Demon's Souls was the other. I enjoyed both, but for different reasons. This one had me sucked into the story from the get-go. As a dad, it really tugged at me. As a gamer, it was a different kind of game than I am used to, but I appreciated the cinematic approach to the controls and presentation.This was one of the games I wanted to play the most when I got my PS3 as a late adapter. Demon's Souls was the other. I enjoyed both, but for different reasons. This one had me sucked into the story from the get-go. As a dad, it really tugged at me. As a gamer, it was a different kind of game than I am used to, but I appreciated the cinematic approach to the controls and presentation. It had a little too much unnecessary fluff added in, but at the end of the day it had me hooked until it was over. I may have to go back to see if it holds up storywise now that I know what happens and to get some different endings. Expand
  53. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely mind blowing!!! Never played a game that let you control the ending result. I must say that this game is the best that I have ever played! This game pulls you into the drama, you consistently will think about it towards the middle. Feels like you are in a movie no joke. I highly recommend this game to gamers. VERY GOOD GAME!!
  54. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    This is one of the games together with the metal gear series with the highest replayability, I finished heavy rain dozens of times just to see how different choices change the story and how losing certain characters will affect it.
    I can't tell how much I loved this game, absolutely brilliant in every way.
    Even tough people say quick time events are bad in most games, it isn't in heavy
    This is one of the games together with the metal gear series with the highest replayability, I finished heavy rain dozens of times just to see how different choices change the story and how losing certain characters will affect it.
    I can't tell how much I loved this game, absolutely brilliant in every way.
    Even tough people say quick time events are bad in most games, it isn't in heavy rain, everything works very well and it feels very intense with the action going on.
    This game is for anyone who loves a good story for a change of all the mindless action games.

    If you loved this game, you certainly want to keep an eye out for beyond two souls.
    The next game of quantic dream.
    Expand
  55. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Heavy Rain is a very ambitious game, it borders on the line of being a video game and being an interactive story. The story is the greatest part of the game regardless if you think it is an actual game or not. It is a mystery about the origami killer, who is he and what are his motifs? You play as four characters and your decisions during the story effect how the story plays out and how itHeavy Rain is a very ambitious game, it borders on the line of being a video game and being an interactive story. The story is the greatest part of the game regardless if you think it is an actual game or not. It is a mystery about the origami killer, who is he and what are his motifs? You play as four characters and your decisions during the story effect how the story plays out and how it ends. You do not get to pick every piece of dialogue that comes out of the characters mouth, which bugged me because these are your choices and it is not always up to you. The controls are unusual at first but once you get use to them they will come naturally. Heavy Rain tries to do a lot of things in one game, and also tries to be something new in the industry at the same time. It might not check everything off its "to do list" but accomplishes most of its ambitions. Expand
  56. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    This is a good game, but it somehow lacks a little in each category. The controls are interesting, but confusing at times. The characters are well acted, but at the same time aren't. The plot is okay, but very confusing. Anybody who says this is a bad game is crazy, but it isn't the best game ever made.
  57. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Like film noir of the Chinatown kind? Twists akin to Se7en? Heavy Rain is likely to be the best cinematic experience ever with a memorable storyline of the highest caliber, fascinating characters who're understandable as real, functional humans and interactive gameplay with choices of a perfect variety. Heavy Rain perfects these elements to establish a seriously animated investigation intoLike film noir of the Chinatown kind? Twists akin to Se7en? Heavy Rain is likely to be the best cinematic experience ever with a memorable storyline of the highest caliber, fascinating characters who're understandable as real, functional humans and interactive gameplay with choices of a perfect variety. Heavy Rain perfects these elements to establish a seriously animated investigation into a serial killing and the characters involved with it. Expand
  58. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    Heavy Rain is more of an interactive movie, similar to Dragon's Lair and Space Ace, rather than an actual video game, but a damn good one at that. The story is clever, well told, and controllable by your actions, however, the actual gameplay of Heavy Rain, unfortunately, takes a backseat to the story, and it can be hard to control because of that. However, if you are willing to forgive theHeavy Rain is more of an interactive movie, similar to Dragon's Lair and Space Ace, rather than an actual video game, but a damn good one at that. The story is clever, well told, and controllable by your actions, however, the actual gameplay of Heavy Rain, unfortunately, takes a backseat to the story, and it can be hard to control because of that. However, if you are willing to forgive the sluggish controls and the lack of replayability, there is a great experience to be had here. Expand
  59. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This reminded me of Silent Hill in the way that you get so sucked into the story that none of the flaws seem to matter. This game is so beautiful and atmospheric, and VERY dark cause you get to see all of the main characters at their worst. All of the button-pressing sequences are rather exhilarating since your life is always at risk. My favorite thing about this game is that if oneThis reminded me of Silent Hill in the way that you get so sucked into the story that none of the flaws seem to matter. This game is so beautiful and atmospheric, and VERY dark cause you get to see all of the main characters at their worst. All of the button-pressing sequences are rather exhilarating since your life is always at risk. My favorite thing about this game is that if one character dies, the story just keeps on going. I've never played any game like this, and for that it is a true classic. Expand
  60. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    My gut wants to give this game a 10, but it is definitely not perfect. The voice acting is weird at times, the controls are frustrating at other times, and there are some weird things in the plot. That said, no game has ever made me so invested in the characters and the story. I couldn't put it down. I played through the whole game in 8 or 9 hours in one sitting (it was the weekend so IMy gut wants to give this game a 10, but it is definitely not perfect. The voice acting is weird at times, the controls are frustrating at other times, and there are some weird things in the plot. That said, no game has ever made me so invested in the characters and the story. I couldn't put it down. I played through the whole game in 8 or 9 hours in one sitting (it was the weekend so I could do that). This is possibly another bad thing about the game it's rather short. It has multiple endings, but you may not want to play another 8-9 hours to see them. I've watched several Let's Play sessions of this game. I love it though, and you can usually find it for like $20 these days. Nobody with a PS3 should miss out on this one in my opinion. Expand
  61. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    There are few games that can be as thrilling and emotional as Heavy Rain. Going into this game, I had low expectations, mainly because I hadn't heard much about it, good or bad, so I thought it really wouldn't be worth my time. Boy, was I wrong! After finishing the game, my emotions were coming out of me in bizarre ways. Never had a game touched me like Heavy Rain had. The storyline is oneThere are few games that can be as thrilling and emotional as Heavy Rain. Going into this game, I had low expectations, mainly because I hadn't heard much about it, good or bad, so I thought it really wouldn't be worth my time. Boy, was I wrong! After finishing the game, my emotions were coming out of me in bizarre ways. Never had a game touched me like Heavy Rain had. The storyline is one of the best I have ever seen. The voice acting was top-notch and made the characters that much more realistic and lovable. The graphics aren't the best, but that shouldn't stop you from playing. And once you get past the somewhat difficult and unusual controls, there's no stopping you from playing this game from start to finish. Expand
  62. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Holy This game is one of the most climatic and emotionally-driven stories of the videogame medium. The attention to detail, the character's reactions, the situations are all astoundly well-put together. By utilising quick-time events to its advantage it makes the game severely intensified. You actually connect and care for these characters, you want them to succeed. This game makes the player pay attention to the game world, it makes you invested into the game, with one wrong or right move continuing the story in a certain direction. Replayability is a major factor aswell, just to see the contrast between endings or what certain choices amount to. Or though I'd recommend putting it on the hardest difficulty, otherwise it's just too easy. Yes, there is a few inconsistencies within the plot; like that stupid sex scene which was just out-of place and unnecessary to the story. I felt they should have elaborated more on that drug killer Ethan killed and what the police did about it. Overall, it's a good game. Thoroughly recommended! Expand
  63. Feb 16, 2016
    8
    I would call Heavy Rain an interactive experience. Far more similar to point and click games than anything else you've experienced. The storyline is compelling and the decisions you make are crucial. Sometimes failing to press a button on time will result in the death of a character. You need to pay attention to details and you can always go back and try to find the different endings. AtI would call Heavy Rain an interactive experience. Far more similar to point and click games than anything else you've experienced. The storyline is compelling and the decisions you make are crucial. Sometimes failing to press a button on time will result in the death of a character. You need to pay attention to details and you can always go back and try to find the different endings. At the time of its release, I would say this game was groundbreaking. As of now, I think it's still worth it if you haven't played it yet. Expand
  64. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    I've seen and heard people sh*t all over this game because its a because it is not really a game...its more a movie.A f*cking good one at that,I cant tell you how good this game is how interesting the characters are and how awesome it is to see each ending.I loved the fact that one choice could change the whole game like my first play through I was not quick enough and a character died,I've seen and heard people sh*t all over this game because its a because it is not really a game...its more a movie.A f*cking good one at that,I cant tell you how good this game is how interesting the characters are and how awesome it is to see each ending.I loved the fact that one choice could change the whole game like my first play through I was not quick enough and a character died, instead of giving me a restart screen that was it.That character was gone for the rest of the game and that is pretty awesome,the game really cheap now if your a ps3 owner GET IT!. Expand
  65. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    Mehr ein interaktiver Film als ein Spiel. Hat verschiedene Möglichkeiten ein Problem zu lösen. Je nach dem wie man spielt verändert sich die Storyline. Bleibt bis zum Ende spannend, wobei das Ende an sich das Gesamtbild zu einer zwar guten, aber keiner grandiosen Story prägt.
    Nicht desto Trotz ist Heavy Rain ein sehr gutes und unterhaltsames Spiel das einfach anders ist als die anderen.
    Mehr ein interaktiver Film als ein Spiel. Hat verschiedene Möglichkeiten ein Problem zu lösen. Je nach dem wie man spielt verändert sich die Storyline. Bleibt bis zum Ende spannend, wobei das Ende an sich das Gesamtbild zu einer zwar guten, aber keiner grandiosen Story prägt.
    Nicht desto Trotz ist Heavy Rain ein sehr gutes und unterhaltsames Spiel das einfach anders ist als die anderen. Definitiv Spielenswert.
    Expand
  66. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The most awesome game I've played after god of war.
    I couldn't believe that one of the charectors would be the killer.
    It's really amazing and I'm going to keep playing until I see all endings.
    Expand
  67. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    Great game, amazing storytelling, intriguing, interesting, captivating. A different subgenre of video games... more like interactive movies? It needs to be experienced to be understood.
  68. May 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I rented this game thinking it was going to be terrible, but the story is so damn good, the fight/ interaction scenes were tense and fun. I also had a rare funny ending, at the end when they are fighting on top of the warehouse, whenever I pressed x I could hear the father yelling shaun from inside, it made the game even sweeter. Expand
  69. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    Heavy Rain was a game that I really enjoyed, I loved the characters and the story, I just couldn't find a fault. When it was over however, I thought back on the whole thing. I realised that the game is heavily flawed in places it shouldn't be. It has huge plot holes and the twist isn't great either. Voice acting is also very inconsistent in quality. These are two things that shouldn'tHeavy Rain was a game that I really enjoyed, I loved the characters and the story, I just couldn't find a fault. When it was over however, I thought back on the whole thing. I realised that the game is heavily flawed in places it shouldn't be. It has huge plot holes and the twist isn't great either. Voice acting is also very inconsistent in quality. These are two things that shouldn't happen in a game like Heavy Rain. However the story is very good until it comes close to the end, then things just go silly. The character models and facial animations are superb and very well done. I actually enjoyed the gameplay style Heavy Rain has, the quicktime event fights are intense, especially the life or death ones when you're so attached to the characters. I would have given Heavy Rain a 6 or 7 if it wasn't for how much I loved it whilst I was playing it, It has great ideas and is certainly innovative, but it's also utterly flawed. I hope David Cage gets his together for Beyond Two Souls and fixes the problems that Heavy Rain has, if he does, or whenever he does, it'll make for a damn fine game. Expand
  70. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    This is similar the Virtue's Last Reward in how it technically isn't a game. I understand people not liking cutscenes, but please, this is a mature game, not an all out action Capitalist 'GO AMERICA' FPS. The story is very well written, and the multiple choices/ ending are fun to earn. There are 4 main character, and all are fairly interesting (Madison was maybe kind of generic). TheThis is similar the Virtue's Last Reward in how it technically isn't a game. I understand people not liking cutscenes, but please, this is a mature game, not an all out action Capitalist 'GO AMERICA' FPS. The story is very well written, and the multiple choices/ ending are fun to earn. There are 4 main character, and all are fairly interesting (Madison was maybe kind of generic). The graphic are great, but sometimes the animation can be a bit off (Awkward love scene anyone?).
    The gameplay is a bit of walking around, but mostly QTEs, which some people will not like.
    This game is one of the best games on Playstation, and if you're into a good story, it's a must buy.
    Expand
  71. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    The only con I could find with a magnifying glass would be some visual glitches, and that happened maybe three times the entire game, the game is that perfect. At first I wasn't sure what to think of it since it was moving along so slowly, but man it blew my mind. The characters are so finely tuned and well executed and voice acted. The story is terrifying and intense. The visuals areThe only con I could find with a magnifying glass would be some visual glitches, and that happened maybe three times the entire game, the game is that perfect. At first I wasn't sure what to think of it since it was moving along so slowly, but man it blew my mind. The characters are so finely tuned and well executed and voice acted. The story is terrifying and intense. The visuals are fantastic there's really nothing negative to say about this game, it's still just as revolutionary over 3 years after its release, PLAY THIS GAME. Expand
  72. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I loved this game!...If you're looking for a game with originality than this game is for you. I love the QTE it makes you think fast and make tough decisions. If you want a game that is story oriented and gives you an emotional high this is that game. I had so much fun playing this game and it had a lot of memorable moments. Most people who don't like these kind of games are usualllyI loved this game!...If you're looking for a game with originality than this game is for you. I love the QTE it makes you think fast and make tough decisions. If you want a game that is story oriented and gives you an emotional high this is that game. I had so much fun playing this game and it had a lot of memorable moments. Most people who don't like these kind of games are usuallly hardcore FPS fans who don't have the patience to play through a depth story driven game. Anyone that doesn't at least appreciate this game doesn't have much taste for a new and different genre. Heavy Rain is a fantastic game that everyone should give a chance. You would be missing out if you did. Expand
  73. Aug 24, 2013
    8
    Heavy Rain is an interesting game, I played this game because a friend lent me the game, and the time I spent with him was enough to know that Quantic Dreams is one of the strengths of Sony and Playstation 3. The story is engaging and surprising, took control of four characters as we trying to find out who the origami killer is. It's an unexpected story and depending on how we play theHeavy Rain is an interesting game, I played this game because a friend lent me the game, and the time I spent with him was enough to know that Quantic Dreams is one of the strengths of Sony and Playstation 3. The story is engaging and surprising, took control of four characters as we trying to find out who the origami killer is. It's an unexpected story and depending on how we play the game has a different outcome. It's a game that deserves to be played for anyone who has a PS3. It's a game that deserves to be played, before being released the next game from Quantic Dreams, "Beyond: Two Souls." Expand
  74. Aug 2, 2014
    9
    This was one of those games that has very little replay value but the initial playthrough is worth every penny. Great story and mistakes that really do matter. I would compare it to the walking dead series, just maybe not quite as good.
  75. Jan 7, 2015
    8
    Its a good game. Game play was little slow but story and interaction with objects was awesome. Not only the different endings, even the in game story changes based on completing the mission successfully or not. Must play for everyone who own PS3.
  76. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    um jogo incrível, cuja experiência aumenta gradativamente com a trama. Pra quem quer um game com um ótimo enredo, tensão e principalmente inovação, não vai se arrepender.
  77. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Wow, what should I say? First, this game is unique. It´s like playing a thriller movie where your choices really change the ending. Second, amazing graphics (all in my home where surprised with how real it looked), great story and not so predictable as a few users said. And third, I really enjoy this kind of games, but I get that It´s not for everybody. Sometimes the pacing is slow and theWow, what should I say? First, this game is unique. It´s like playing a thriller movie where your choices really change the ending. Second, amazing graphics (all in my home where surprised with how real it looked), great story and not so predictable as a few users said. And third, I really enjoy this kind of games, but I get that It´s not for everybody. Sometimes the pacing is slow and the atmosphere depressing, but took me a few days to complete it and was worth all the time. Rare, interesting and one of a kind. Expand
  78. Oct 8, 2013
    8
    The game is good. the storyline looks kinda glum. But it's a nice try. Maybe 2 to 3 years later a much more perfect version could be released...oh well. Still a good game
  79. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    this game is truly different ,and that is what makes it so good it literally feels like a movie except you control what happens .at the end of the day i think everybody needs to play this game
  80. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    More like a movie than a game, Heavy Rain is still an impressing experience and its gripping, shocking story is one of the best I've ever experienced in gaming, and its gameplay controls are impressing as well, tackling down all its little problems (technical glitches, mispronouncing of the word "origami", and the slow pace of the game's prologue) and it couldn't get any better. The onlyMore like a movie than a game, Heavy Rain is still an impressing experience and its gripping, shocking story is one of the best I've ever experienced in gaming, and its gameplay controls are impressing as well, tackling down all its little problems (technical glitches, mispronouncing of the word "origami", and the slow pace of the game's prologue) and it couldn't get any better. The only thing that compares with Heavy Rain is Remedy's horror game Alan Wake, another game explaining within the darkest side of our sanity and reality. The search of a child kidnapped by the Origami Killer has never been so chilling and thrilling that I've ever succeeded in, and all the acclaim and sales proves it. I want to have a second run of Heavy Rain once again, because on how much its affection, along with games (Uncharted, The Last of Us, and more), impacted me, I wouldn't be wishing to stop getting my hands off the Dualshock.
    How much its affection is? Wanting to know how important life is, and loving it, despite on its changes, and save those who deserve to live, who you deserve to love, and who deserve to love you. That's how the affection is, after slitting Heavy Rain in the PS3, with the Dualshock in hands, and pressing the "play" button when you are ready. (9.5 out of 10)
    Expand
  81. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    One of the best games of this generation. A truly moving, emotional game. A dark, gritty, and heartbreaking crime drama for the ages. This is, without a doubt, a game that every PS3 owner needs to experience.
  82. May 12, 2017
    10
    By now, I'm sure you've heard about "Heavy Rain." Critics loved it, gamers were rather polarized by it. You either love it or hate it. I love it.
    The storyline is well-written, the characters are great, the soundtrack is outstanding, the graphics are phenomenal, and the gameplay gives you plenty of control and the many choice-based system only puts icing on the cake of what is a fantastic
    By now, I'm sure you've heard about "Heavy Rain." Critics loved it, gamers were rather polarized by it. You either love it or hate it. I love it.
    The storyline is well-written, the characters are great, the soundtrack is outstanding, the graphics are phenomenal, and the gameplay gives you plenty of control and the many choice-based system only puts icing on the cake of what is a fantastic journey.
    Even despite the game's insanely high score, I'll admit that "Heavy Rain" is not free from problems. Although the storyline is well-written, there are a few plot holes and unexplained plot devices (Norman Jayden's ARI and Triptocaine) and, although the acting is solid, there is some awkward line delivery. Even so, the plot actually manages to keep you thinking and asking questions long after you finish the game and it emotionally connects to you like few other games can. Translation: If you can get past the game's minor issues, "Heavy Rain" is a wonder to behold.
    Final rating: 10 out of 10 "Fantastic"
    Expand
  83. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    One of the the most unique and satisfying gaming experiences you can have on the playstation 3. Even my friends were straight on hooked on this game who arent even into video games.
  84. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This is the first time I score a game with a 10/10. The story line is perfect, beautiful soundtrack, and a gameplay who helps to empathize with the characters. Surprising ending.
  85. Jul 31, 2015
    10
    The low scores for this game baffle me completely. Heavy Rain IS one of the most innovative and ambitious games of the 21st century, if not all time. Its infusion of heart-wrenching drama and enigmatic mystery makes that of a perfect combination as the player controls four protagonists in the midst of the reign of an ingenious serial killer. The voice acting is brilliant and real emotionThe low scores for this game baffle me completely. Heavy Rain IS one of the most innovative and ambitious games of the 21st century, if not all time. Its infusion of heart-wrenching drama and enigmatic mystery makes that of a perfect combination as the player controls four protagonists in the midst of the reign of an ingenious serial killer. The voice acting is brilliant and real emotion can be felt through the character's words. The graphics are state of the art and - 5 years later - are as dazzling as ever. The narrative is innovative and it slowly unfolds in perfect manner as the player learns more about the characters as the narrative progresses. The main concern for a lot of players (and its source for many bad reviews) is the gameplay. Many people complained that they found it awkward and difficult but I couldn't disagree more. There has never been anything quite like Heavy Rain's gameplay since Quantic Dream's previous game Fahrenheit. Undeniably clever and smooth controls add to the game's realism. The soundtrack is beautiful, and it really captures the emotion that is pumped through the narrative.
    Overall, this game is a revolutionary work of art that I advise anyone to play.
    Expand
  86. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    I give 10 for story and idea and 5 for gameplay and intro but for the repeatiable thing i give again 10 so it is 9/10 game if you have a PS3 and not ever play heavy rain YOU SHOULD!
  87. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    Heavy Rain boasts one of the most relateable themes in a video game. It isn't about trying to rescue a princess from a monster, nor is it about trying to prevent World War 3. Instead, it's about a father trying to save his son. The theme of parenthood is shown throughout, particularly in the "trials" Ethan finds himself facing. More on that later.

    It is worth considering that this isn't
    Heavy Rain boasts one of the most relateable themes in a video game. It isn't about trying to rescue a princess from a monster, nor is it about trying to prevent World War 3. Instead, it's about a father trying to save his son. The theme of parenthood is shown throughout, particularly in the "trials" Ethan finds himself facing. More on that later.

    It is worth considering that this isn't really a "game", but rather an interactive movie. Several complaints of the game have been that it might as well have been a movie instead, but I strongly disagree. Firstly, the experience wouldn't have been the same if you hadn't spent so much time (around 10 hours) with these four characters. It being a "game" meant that it could last much longer than if it were a movie, which is a big plus. Secondly, the key term in the phrase "interactive movie" is the "interactive" part. I've heard there are at least 20 endings to the game, completely determined by your actions as a player. Yes, you always visit the same locations but your Ethan Mars will most likely be very different to your friend's. As long as you don't go in to Heavy Rain expecting traditional game mechanics like health or an inventory, your experience will be an enjoyable one.

    Another complaint this game receives is that it is merely "one long quick time event". Though I will argue that you do spend a considerable amount of time walking around to see what to interact with, there is some truth in the argument. However, quick time events usually ruin a game because they feel out of place, like in Bayonetta or God of War. However, the quick time events here are extremely well implemented. I honestly don't think that the game could have been done in any other way. All quick time events feel appropriate and never cheap or require ridiculously fast reflexes. Overall, I thing the QTEs work.

    One thing that makes the game much more immersive is the fact that there is no game over screen. While you can fail a QTE, this doesn't result in a "fail" in the traditional sense. This merely forces the game to change the story in response to what has just happened. Characters can even die, and they story will merely carry on. That is one of the reasons why the game is so good at making you connect with the characters. You aren't concerned about points, high scores or loot, but instead you are concerned about the characters. One of the most disturbing scenes in the game involves one of the characters cutting his thumb off. You don't actually have to do it, but (without spoiling anything) it is strongly recommended that you do. Being given this choice is extremely stressful, but one of the most beautiful reasons why is not because it decreases your points, morality meter or HP, but that you have to watch him do it to himself. Despite this, the player considers this a difficult decision, which speaks volumes on how well the game connects you to its characters.

    The game isn't perfect, though. I can agree that the opening goes on for just a bit too long. It is all to get you connected to the character, but there is still a lot of nothing much happening towards the beginning. Also, the facial motion capture can look quite ridiculous at times, with the characters looking as though they have a broken jaw. The game normally looks phenomenal, but character's faces can look fairly rubber-like up close. However, one of the biggest issues is the replay value. One would assume that a game with so much player choice would be brimming with it, but the fact is the characters that YOU create become so connected to you that you will probably end up just choosing the same choices on your second playthrough. Some might be content with 10 hours, but some might expect more for a game for approximately £20.

    Overall, this game is moving, original, engaging and made me learn about myself whilst I was playing which few other games can claim to have done. It shows not just that video games are capable of telling amazing stories, but that they are capable of creating stories that actually revolve around the player and that they can have gameplay that compliments a story-driven game without having to sacrifice the actual "game" part.
    Expand
  88. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Un gran juego, con mucha innovación, te gustara la primera vez que lo juegues, según las decisiones que tomes, asi irá el juego, una trama digna de las peliculas de Holliwood, con un modo historia que te mete en el juego desde el principio hasta el final, un juego obligado para todos aquellos poosedores de una ps3 y amantes de lo nuevo, emocionante y vibrante, una obra maestra de QuanticUn gran juego, con mucha innovación, te gustara la primera vez que lo juegues, según las decisiones que tomes, asi irá el juego, una trama digna de las peliculas de Holliwood, con un modo historia que te mete en el juego desde el principio hasta el final, un juego obligado para todos aquellos poosedores de una ps3 y amantes de lo nuevo, emocionante y vibrante, una obra maestra de Quantic Dream ^_^ Expand
  89. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    This game absolutely blew my mind! Never before have I ever felt so invested in a game and its characters. The story is amazing with an incredible twist at the end. This game had me hooked from the very beginning. I beat this game in a day because I just couldn't bring myself to put the controller down and almost felt like crying when the game was over. Not to mention the replay value isThis game absolutely blew my mind! Never before have I ever felt so invested in a game and its characters. The story is amazing with an incredible twist at the end. This game had me hooked from the very beginning. I beat this game in a day because I just couldn't bring myself to put the controller down and almost felt like crying when the game was over. Not to mention the replay value is sky high with multiple choices and decisions you can make that really affect how the story plays out. But I think what makes this game truly remarkable are the characters. They are so well developed, they feel so much like real people you would pass by on the street, with real lives and histories. But the characters Ethan Mars and Norman Jaden, for me, truly stole the show. I found myself eagerly awaiting for the next time I would get to guide Ethan through his next trial or power up ARI with Jaden. My one and only gripe about this game would be the controls. While they weren't difficult to get used to, I found it pretty annoying having to hold R2 and turn your characters head in the direction you wanted to walk with the left stick. I often found the character not going quite where I wanted them to which could be frustrating, but didn't ruin the gameplay at all. Though if you're not quite familiar with ps3 controls I would definitely suggest playing on one of the lower difficulties as the QTE's can be quite tricky. All in all if you're looking for a completely immersive gameplay experience, get this game! You will NOT regret it. Expand
  90. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    To start things off, I really love this game. The storyline is incredible and with all you do in the game, you feel like most things you do actually make an impact on the game. People can live or die based on what you do! So with that mindset, I'd give the game a 10/10. That being said, I felt certain aspects of the game could have been tweaked. I think the voice acting was pretty hit andTo start things off, I really love this game. The storyline is incredible and with all you do in the game, you feel like most things you do actually make an impact on the game. People can live or die based on what you do! So with that mindset, I'd give the game a 10/10. That being said, I felt certain aspects of the game could have been tweaked. I think the voice acting was pretty hit and miss. Same with the character models (I think Madison was the best and Ethan was probably the worst to be fair). Last thing that could be ragged on (but I don't necessarily hate) is that there's not a whole lot of actual gameplay. The game's essentially a game long quick time event. So, if you hate the whole quick time even thing (and using your analog because you'll be using that in ways you never imagined) then this game may not be for you. Expand
  91. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Best game ever made in history. If you do not enjoy this game and think it is boring, it shows you simply do not have the emotional capacity to enjoy such an incredible experience. I was mindblown by this game. Yes, its not call of duty and you dont go around shooting people randomly, but it is the story and the suspense that made me fall in love with this game. There are literallyBest game ever made in history. If you do not enjoy this game and think it is boring, it shows you simply do not have the emotional capacity to enjoy such an incredible experience. I was mindblown by this game. Yes, its not call of duty and you dont go around shooting people randomly, but it is the story and the suspense that made me fall in love with this game. There are literally unlimited ways this game can play out depending on the choices you make, and this is one reason why I ended up playing this masterpiece eight times. IF YOU HAVE A PS3, YOU MUSR BUY THIS: BEST PS3 EXCLUSIVE! Expand
  92. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. I cannot really argue against those who dislike this for the lack of gameplay, but the story (especially the killer reveal that I did not see coming) blew me away. The wealth of choices also are just astonishing, as there is something along the lines of twenty endings. A genuinely inventive and brilliant game.
  93. Jul 4, 2015
    9
    Gameplay:
    Gameplay consists heavily of quick-time events. If you aren't a fan of them, you should stay away from this game. The game is split by chapters and you take the roles of various characters throughout the story. An interesting aspect of the gameplay is that there is no "game over," allowing you to shape the plot in any manner you wish! You decide who lives or dies, and that will
    Gameplay:
    Gameplay consists heavily of quick-time events. If you aren't a fan of them, you should stay away from this game. The game is split by chapters and you take the roles of various characters throughout the story. An interesting aspect of the gameplay is that there is no "game over," allowing you to shape the plot in any manner you wish! You decide who lives or dies, and that will ultimately impact the ending of the story.

    Story:
    This is definitely Heavy Rain's greatest asset. The story is amazing and is the epitome of an emotional storyline. Ethan Mars' son has been kidnapped and you must find him before time runs out. Along the way, you'll meet various characters and will try to figure out who the Origami Killer is. It's well-written, has great pacing, and interesting characters.

    Graphics:
    I'm impressed with the graphics since we can actually see emotions, wrinkles, and even scars on the character's faces. These are things that are uncommon in most games. The technology used to capture these expressions are impressive and should lauded for the attention to detail it brings to certain scenes. What impresses me the most is the fact that cutscenes are identical to the actual gameplay. However, screen tearing is prevalent throughout the game and can ruin the immersion while playing. It's unfortunate, but it is a big deal since this is a game in which the visuals are a focal point.

    Verdict:
    In order to get the full potential of this game, I believe that you must beat it a minimum of at least three times. You won't be able to see the game's beauty within one playthrough. If you aren't a fan of quick-time events, then this game isn't for you. However, I believe that you would do yourself a disservice by missing out on this game! I highly recommend it!
    Expand
  94. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    The most depressing game ever. I cried with Ethan's story, Felt Sorrow in Madison's story, Concerned in Norman's story and finally extremely determined and curious in Scott Shelby's story.
    Little did I know about the 6' 5" detectives role until later on... If you are a parent I recommend that you buy this game to think about your kids and the Origami Killer. It's only like $15 so go and grab it!
  95. May 4, 2015
    9
    Fantastic game. Everything I expected from Quantic Dreams, especially after Fahrenheit: Indigo Prophecy which was very good. It is an experience which you have to try out for yourself.
  96. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    A beautifully designed game with a very engaging narrative, carefully crafted characters, a heartbreaking story, heart-beating moments, amazing story telling, intense action and thought-stimulating events. It's been six years since this game was released and no other game has yet managed to deliver all that. Highly recommended, not to be missed!
  97. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    I like this game it has a really interesting story and depending on how you play the game and the choices you make you will get different endings so you could play it more than once and still have a different story at the end I like the mystery and how you have to find out where your characters son is and the challenges you have to do to get clues to where and who took your son. I alsoI like this game it has a really interesting story and depending on how you play the game and the choices you make you will get different endings so you could play it more than once and still have a different story at the end I like the mystery and how you have to find out where your characters son is and the challenges you have to do to get clues to where and who took your son. I also like how realistic the characters look. Expand
  98. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    A unique and intense experience. This is one of those games where if you dive headlong into the nuances of the events, it is virtually impossible not to be touched, don't be surprise and don't live every moment intensely.

    As for the gameplay, it may displease many people actually advance through the QTEs, but this is a matter of taste, not put in doubt the quality of this game.
  99. Nov 26, 2015
    9
    Heavy Rain

    Game-Play:The game-play is very special because this is an interactive movie.But I rally loved how the game plays. Story:This is the best part of the game the story is amazing and you can really feel the drama this game wants you to feel the story evolves great and you take control of the 4 main protagonists in the game I beat the game in one sit down the first time
    Heavy Rain

    Game-Play:The game-play is very special because this is an interactive movie.But I rally loved how the game plays.

    Story:This is the best part of the game the story is amazing and you can really feel the drama this game wants you to feel the story evolves great and you take control of the 4 main protagonists in the game I beat the game in one sit down the first time because I was really into that awesome story and it took me around 11 hours.Also the game have multiple ending and turning of events based on your choices so it is really worth to revisit the game.

    Graphics:The game looks amazing and really realistic.

    Notes:This is not a game that will please everyone but I think most of people who like I great story and a good crime drama movie will enjoy it very much.This game is a masterpiece and worth the full price.
    Expand
  100. Aug 1, 2016
    8
    All right , i finished this game today after having it for 5 or 7 year ro so in my libary. i am not the biggest fan off interactive movies , and while this one does it great wit h ag great story ( a little better then tlou, but tlou again has a far better narrative and character development), good characters and character development , great music. The gameplay is simple , following a lotAll right , i finished this game today after having it for 5 or 7 year ro so in my libary. i am not the biggest fan off interactive movies , and while this one does it great wit h ag great story ( a little better then tlou, but tlou again has a far better narrative and character development), good characters and character development , great music. The gameplay is simple , following a lot qte. What is good is that there a different endings, and you choices will affect who survives or not. Good game recommended

    PS: i am pretty stuck if this is an 8 or a 9. I am at 8.5 the question just is i am i closer to the 8 or to the 9 either way a game that is still recommended to play
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]