• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 23, 2010
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2393 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    It's difficult to comprehend how good this game is. Heavy Rain allows you to take on a completely new style of play so in depth and it is backed up with a strong plot to boot. Game of the Year by a mile for me because although not as immediately entertaining as say Mass Effect ,Call of Duty or God of War, those who stick with Heavy Rain will realise for a 10 hour game, it is 10 hours they have spent well on an experience like no other in gaming history since... well ever. Ultimately it is the way it grasps you from when your son is kidnapped at the start of the game that drifts away from 'just a game' to film-noire, and it is so excellently well done. It is very important that you play this game, because in 5 or 10 years time, game developers will attempt to copy Heavy Rain and most will most likely not hold a candle to it. Heavy Rain is the most innovative game of the 21st century so far and is going to be the prototype for the next step in gaming. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    In an industry full of shooters and adventures and just the same formulas over and over this was a breath of minty fresh air. Only games that are truly great have me glued to the tv and I couldn't take my eyes off this one. I even replayed it a few times. Truly inventive game.
  3. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Take the best Steinbeck novel you've ever read, takes the themes of judgement, human nature, what we need vs. what we want, and remove these themes from the novel. Take these themes and put them into a video game. Write the video game around these themes, all the while adding the best graphics I've seen period, as well as some very intricate characters, title this video game "Heavy Rain", and then release it to a widespread audience.

    That explains the perfect 10.
    Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Not just 'Quick Time Event The Game'. I have not seen another game that matches the variety of story choices. This is one of the few games which allows the player to mold there own unique gaming experience.
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this game. It was like playing a movie, that was how real it felt. I was so attached to my players that I got really upset when I thought Ethan died in the power plant level. What was cool was that you never had to go back and repeat what you did. The music was nice, the controls intuitive, and the graphics splendid. I'm really happy I bought this game. My only possible complaint would be that the beginning is slow, but I didn't find that annoying at all. All I can say is get this game! Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Best game I've ever played in my 28 years of gaming. Amazing, emotional, heart pounding, engaging. I think people who rated this low don't understand that everything you do changes the outcome of the entire game as you go along. There are thousands and thousands of combinations of outcomes, and it all depends on your own actions. Deep game. Never heard anyone (who knew what they were doing) say any different. Expand
  7. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don't listen to the bad reviews of the game that you see here. If you are an action junkie then this game is simply not for you. If you are truly looking for a new game to try then I highly recommend playing this game. Kudos to you Quantic Dream for trying out something new and having great success with it! Expand
  8. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Storytelling in a way that is rarely seen and experienced. Great presentation and gameplay that really sucks you into the game. But the true star here is the story extremely well done. They should really make a movie out this game.
  9. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Heavy Rain is the best game on PS3. Was that not enough to compel you to buy it? Well let's scrape the false claims out of the way first. Heavy Rain is NOT a quick time event driven game. It may feel like it as you fiddle with the thumbsticks and follow direction cues. But Heavy Rain makes so much sense out of them in context. For example when you fuss around trying to undo your seatbelt, the feedback feels dynamic. Now to the game itself. Quantic Dream has given us a masterpiece of storytelling and design. There are 18 diiferent ending scenarios. Above all else though is the story that drives them. The game asks you how far will you go to save someone you love and all the way through the protagonists are torn by the past and want to save the future. Ethan Mars clearly defines this. He loses his older son Jason by a vehicular rundown and throughout the game he struggles to live with himself, especially when Shaun goes missing. Heavy Rain pulls you in with plenty of action sequences and spins a yarn which is truly phenominal. If you don't feel anything by the end of the game (no matter how many run throughs you do) something is definately wrong with you. Expand
  10. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    This game is nothing less than revolutionary!Are you kidding me,this is the future in gaming.At the same time Sony is showing us how powerful it's system is and kinda a"put it in your face 360"kinda way.I'm honestly more of a 360 gamer but The PS3 has some of the best games period.See the PS3 has games that are so evolutionary that we can't even see the whole picture right now,seriously!LBP2 is a game that contains millions of games within a game,pure genius but I'll stick to this review that saying,you will pop this game in in 2015 and still get goose bumps and experience something different.Some choice different to change things.That's how good this is.It's not a game or an interactive movie its a evolution of life.Think about that. Expand
  11. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    There is a serial child killer known only as the Origami Killer who drowns his victimâ
  12. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite games 2010. It's a brilliant game that every hardcore gamer should experience!
    If you don't have a ps3 this is a great reason to buy it!
  13. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    An original gaming experience, nothing really like it. Cinematic and an interesting game. Strong engagement of the lead four characters really mean you feel something as the game moves on. Ground breaking.
  14. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made. There really isn't many games out there that could give a gripping story with so many twists and endings and do it an believable way. It really is a melding of game and cinema and if you play it - you will thank me and you will also never forget the experience.
  15. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. The graphics really show what the ps3 can do and the sound draws you in. Control wise the simple system serves to put you in authority but not detach you from the experience. In terms of story it really is blockbuster stuff and could easily be a movie!
  16. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Heavy rain is truly revolutionary in design. This game changes the whole concept of what a game is, what it can be, what it should be. Heavy Rain is a riveting thriller that grabs you and makes you care about the characters, the decisions you have to make and the ramifications of those decisions. It is awesomely spectacular in the most mundane ways (which is a feat in itself). I eagerly look forward to the next Quantic Dream title. Who says that video games cannot be art? This game just proved that it is. Expand
  17. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    This is not a game but a movie which gives you some choices and gives you different endings. I recommend not to play it twice, the second times just doesn't feel like the "right" story anymore.
    The acting is just as good as in any well acted movie or tv-series and the motion capture works well. The story is very emotional and I really felt for all the characters and wanted to keep every
    one off them alive. This game will bring a tear to your eye and is more emotional then most dramatic movies because you feel you are actually responsible for all the choices. Only one comment though: the gameplay and controls feel a little "stiff", as is seeing the characters walking.
    One of the best and certainly most memorable games of this generation. Highly recommended to everyone.
    Expand
  18. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    The most amazing gaming experience I have had in the last 5, maybe even 10 years. (Owned every console and I play all the blockbuster hits).This really pushes gaming in a whole new direction. For the most part it's a moral dilemma that involves mystery and some puzzle aspects. Its very cinematic in its styling the story is fantastic! The plot gets better and better as you go along. It became very addicting for both my brother and I.You become completely absorbed in the story of these characters and you really feel for them. You feel as if you ARE the characters themselves. Many games stake the claim that the story developments hinge upon the choices you make in the game. For many games it doesn't completely flesh out that way. For this game it's absolutely true! Decisions you make drastically change to direction of the story. There are substantial rewards and consequences for you decisions, different cinematics, play sequences and endings. Much of the game pushes you to make difficult decisions that make you really dig deep into your own value system and deeply held convictions. It is NOT an action game, though it does have action elements. Many people get frustrated because they seem to be expecting something different, and they are disappointed that its not like other games on the market. This is not Call of Duty or Batman. Take it for exactly what it is and you will be happy. At least four of my friends have played HR and everyone loved it. We all played through more than once. Graphics are top notch (especially given that it is slightly dated). In no way should it be rated anything close to a 6.8! I give it a solid 10; a rating I give VERY sparingly. This game is revolutionary and impactful to the future of gaming. At the discount you can get it for these days it SHOULD NOT BE MISSED. Expand
  19. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Heavy Rain is in short, a dramatic mystery investigation movie. However, in this movie you get to interact with the objects and people around you. You play as four very different characters an FBI agent on the case of the origami killer, a Privet investigator who has been on the case for years now, a depressed father who has enough on his plate already, and a journalist. At first you have no idea how they are connected, if at all. As you delve deeper into the plot you uncover clues and leads and you get to make your own opinions. With these opinions you can make actions, and every action no matter how small plays a part on the outcome. Speaking of outcomes there are over 20 different endings to the game. The story is perplexing and riveting giving this game a 10/10! Wait a minute... Didn't I score this a 9/10? The reason behind this is simply because of how clunky the controls are I went through the entire game many many hours of game play. Still after all those hours there are points in the game where I can not walk in the direction I please. The camera angles switching 180 degrees only ads to my confusion. Although, all in all this is a must have game for the play station owner and I feel as though it is one of the best games of this generation. You know a game really strikes you when your emotions start to influence the decisions you make in the game. I caught myself yelling at my screen full of nothing but prescript-ed animations. I was not yelling at another player on Battlefield 3 for killing me with the modded M26 Dart I was yelling because the story had sucked me into the game. That is when you know it is good. Expand
  20. May 22, 2013
    10
    I'm one of the few people who don't mind quick time events. Yeah, if you hate them, avoid this game. However, if you're looking for a very engaging storyline with multiple endings, Heavy Rain has it. It was essentially like playing an awesome Rated R crime/thriller movie.
  21. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    The best game i have ever played hands down. The game has little actual gameplay is largely produced in QTE's but game play is not what the game is here for. It bridges the gap between films and games. The story of a twisted murderer who has good intentions, to find a father worthy of having a child. You play as 4 characters all tracking down said killer and bring back safety.
  22. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    Sure the movements of the characters are irritating at times and the voice acting is not the best in the world, but all that is forgotten when you play the game and come to realise what a truely awesome experience it is. Since when has dying or coming short in a game make you more anxious to play further and see how the rest of the story unfolds?! Not often, and that is how I felt when I played Heavy Rain! Love the game! Can play it over and over again... Expand
  23. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Absolute brilliant piece of work. The plot was very well written and completely amazed after playing. Good graphics, the gameplay might be a bit boring for people who look for excited controls or gameplay. This is certainly one of the best stories I have ever heard through out my life. Too bad they are making a movie instead of another game though.....
  24. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    There are some technical issues (screen tearing and minor bugs), but the game is a masterpiece...It was like watching a very good movie that lasted for many hours.
  25. May 3, 2013
    9
    This game is incredible. The story is amazing with incredible character with a lot of personality. The environment in this game is just awesome, the graphics are very good just like the art design. The voice acting is pretty good. The game play is innovate and yes is all "quick time events" but what's the problem? it's a type of gaming so I don't see the big deal on it, it's actually pretty good and fun. Also I love how all your actions, may change the story, it makes you think twice in your decision's and actually makes you want to know, what it will be the ending. Expand
  26. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Heavy Rain is Beautiful game, unique sensations.
    The music is wonderful, the brilliant script.
    it's fun and engaging

    I do not understand the low scores :S
  27. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    My friend told me that a FPS or a TPS game is going to come out. let me guess the summary of a game. Get to cover, move out and kill the bad guys again, again and again. Yes, this game is more like a interactive movie than a video game. But the story and the graphics are awesome. If you want a real and a different experience you should check this game out.
  28. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Heavy Rain is an extremely unique game and one of the best games I've played so far. The game has the best story of all games out there and is full of surprises. I've really enjoyed playing the game and I'm so happy for winning it. It will have it's space forever on my shelf. Expand
  29. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    One of the most memorable single player campaigns on the Playstation 3, Heavy Rain isn't so much a game in parts but an 'Interactive film'. Nevertheless, it still delivers an experience which is actually very fun. The story is emotional, professional and if this were to be made into a film, it would be equally stunning. Everything from the voice acting to the real emotion of the characters wouldn't look out of place in the cinema, that's how convincingly real this game is. There aren't a great deal of plot twists until the very end, but when it does come it is quite surprising. The sole complaint about this game is it's lack of 'lasting appeal'. All though you can go back to a few chapters before the end and replay the end a few times to unlock of the ending cutscenes, this won't be as enjoyable as your first playthrough when you'll be entirely immersed in the story. More than likely, you'll be trading this in a week or two after purchase, after finishing an immaculate story and completing a relatively easy trophy list. Also, added to that is the fact the 'choose who dies' emphasis on the story is pretty exaggerated. Likely on your second playthrough you'll realise your actions don't start taking huge effect until towards the end. But, there's no denying your first playthrough of the game will be more thrilling than almost any other. Expand
  30. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    Heavy Rain is an amazing experience. It is the kind of game that you play to be engrossed into the story. The story is very good and really pushes you to complete the game to see what happens to the various characters that you take control of during the entire game. The game-play is like that of Fahrenheit and requires you to do movements on the controller depending on what you are doing in the game. All the characters are 100% genuine and you feel that these people really could exist. The graphics for this game are some of the best I have seen and the entire package plays out in a unique way that you may have not experienced with other games. This really is a true masterpiece in storytelling. Expand
  31. May 17, 2011
    10
    I literally just finished this game moments ago (the credits are currently rolling) and feel blown away. :) This is without question one of the greatest games ever produced. I loved every minute of it. The graphics, setting, mood, music, storyline, etc. are across-the-board excellent. If this is the direction that gaming is headed, I can't wait for future releases. The current user score of 6.6 is absolutely ludicrous. I suspect that many of these negative reviews have been written by kids who simply are incapable of appreciating something of sophisticated as "Heavy Rain." I can't wait to see what David Cage dreams up next. Expand
  32. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    Probably one of the best told stories in a video game ever. I was enthralled from beginning to end, hook, line and sinker. The characters are very interesting and lifelike and the voice acting is good even if it stumbles a bit and the story is a roller coaster of emotions. To convey this amazing story, it has a brilliant interaction and quick time event mechanics that makes you think fast and make the experience more authentic. I could've easily given this a 10 if not for the god awful movement controls and awkward camera and while you do get used to it, it can mess up what you're doing from time to time but overall doesn't ruin the brilliant story for you. This is a game that anyone should experience and even if they didn't it, they have some appreciation for what is done here. One of the best games on the Playstation 3 and anyone who owns the console should get this. Expand
  33. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is one of the most interesting games that I've played in quite a while. I had a general feeling of what to expect, as I have admired David Cage's work since Omikron, and I knew that the game is going to be more of an interactive movie. I found the characters interesting, the storytelling compelling, and the gameplay quite innovative, though, as I said, this one strongly focuses on the storyline, but I've always been a player for whom a good storyline is the driving force behind a game, though there have been exceptions. In terms of graphics and acting the game is stunning. However, as you can most likely see by the amount of negative opinions here, you're likely to dislike the game if you expect something else then watching, what somebody called, "a very long cutscene", as I think that if there is an exact opposite to sandbox games, this is it. Nonetheless, i consider it one of the best games I ever played. Expand
  34. Oct 1, 2010
    9
    In my life, I have played a lot of AAA games. Some of them remain in my mind, and Heavy Rain is one of them. It an exquisite fruit of eden.

    Heavy Rain is one of these games you love, or hate. If someone wants a console to only play shooters... well, don´t play it. It is a game for those who love complex stories, those who like feelings, the cinema, those who want to be part
    of a story.

    It hasn´t got the best technology, but doesn´t need it. Heavy Rain has the technology that is needed.

    Good Bless David Cage
    Expand
  35. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game. I was a little skeptical at first, but once I started playing this I just couldn't put it down. I love the unique controls for this game, and the storyline sucked me in immediately. I'm not sure how anyone can give this game a negative review.
  36. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    This game is emotions. I was crying through bloodied hands as I admired the beatyfull graphics. Although I didnt complete the game I think Jason is the Origami killer. Please message me if Im right I think I won a bet. I remember seeing that video of the white lady crying about ten years ago and I wonder why there wasnt enough crying. Anyone played Fahrenheit because I think this may be similar or the same or whatever. Expand
  37. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    Heavy Rain is a unique game. That being said, not everyone will like it. It is a game that taps in to your mind emotionally... and if you have the right personality and allow the game to immerse you in the world, you will experience so many mixed emotions that you will be dying for more. I became so immersed in the game that every action I performed, I felt like I was in the body of that character. Every desperate moment, every sad moment, every angry moment, it all channeled through to me. The only *bad* part of this game in my opinion was the intro... which starts off slow and starts you off in a "meh" kind of attitude. Get past this, and the game grows in intensity, and every choice you make will have some influence on the plot. Rent this if you own a PS3, you owe it to yourself to try it out and if you don't like it, then you can say you tried it. Expand
  38. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    I really wanted to hate this game so much. I think David Cage is hideously pretentious as a person, and I hated Farenheit, but the shere brilliance of Heavy rain has forced me to take a complete U turn! Not only did I enjoy playing it, I loved playing it. It's one of the first game's that I've found myself actually caring about in the same way that I'd care about the story in a film. The story itself is pretty good. There's a few plot holes and a few red herrings that you notice when you finish the game, but there are also a few moments of unbridled brilliance, and the influence you have over what happens really involves you. There were a few moments when I was faced with tough decisions that really blew my mind! Absoulatly blew me away. Buy it, NOW!! Expand
  39. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    My favorite game for PS3. I have gotten platinum on it 3x just for the fun. I can't wait to see what Quantic Dream does next. "Your review must be at least 150 characters long."
  40. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is more than just a game, I view it as an interactive experience. If you come here expecting lots of engaging action you will be disappointed. If you come with an open mind and ready to see this game for what it tries to be, you will be incredibly satisfied. This is a movie that allows you to shape the plot in which ever way you want. You will play it over many times just to see how things change based on your decisions. Expand
  41. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    I don't normally like this kind of game but it just goes to show that interactive story telling can work when it's done properly. It's a great looking game too.
  42. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    what should i say epic game which have an amazing story line which will make you feel as if its a movie with no time to catch your breath every character will make interact with it with its unique adventure honestly its the best game i have ever played
  43. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Nowadays, most of the games you find on the store shelves are standard-issue actionfests, with few moments of real storyline thrown into the mix. With Heavy Rain, however, the emphasis is more on the gripping plotline rather than the action itself, though there are many moments that will have you on the edge of your seat. In Heavy Rain, you play as four different characters, but the main focus is on a grizzled, drunk mess of a father who had lost one of his two sons many years earlier. The story opens up as his other son is kidnapped by the Origami Killer, who tests parents to see how far they will go to save their children. If the parents don't complete the tests, the child ends up drowning in a well, or a trapped area of water. From there on, you play through multiple grueling, painful-looking tests while a journalist (Another played character.) is struggling to prove that the father isn't the Origami Killer, as everyone believes. The other two characters played are a drug-addicted FBI agent and a weary private detective. The game is controlled similar to Indigo Prophecy, an under-the-radar game that had great character development. You'll actually pick thoughts from floating words around your character's head, and they help in certain situations. For example, in one part as the FBI agent you and a corrupt agent break into a religious nut's house when he's gone. After searching around the place, the guy comes home and nabs the corrupt guy, who is your pal. From there, you can either choose to simply shoot the guy right then and there, or try to defuse the situation and get him to let the agent go and drop his weapon. The story is handled perfectly and it is backed by some serious graphics. If you haven't seen them in action, you must, they are simply gorgeous. But this game isn't for everyone- the focus on story and longevity of the game length might turn off some gamers looking for a quick action fix. But anyone with a PS3 should play this game, even if you are just going to rent it. Expand
  44. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    A cinematic masterpiece, Heavy Rain is a game that deserves all the recognition and hype it received when it was first released in early 2010. Although the beginning of the title seems rather dull and slow, and the activities presented, such as the tedious and mundane task of brushing your teeth can be quite interesting and can leave the conventional video gamer turned off, Heavy Rain is a simply stunning game that will manage to captivate potential gamers who prefer a new taste of gaming with an innovative control scheme which delivers tremendously, with a incredible plot line and gripping characters which you take control of, ultimately having to decide the fate of the characters in the end. There are 19 endings, but a fairly short gameplay. overall, this game is fantastic. one of the most original and greatest games to hit the market. A must play. Expand
  45. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This is the game that made me mesmerize from start to finish. Without any exaggerate, I was speechless while playing since the "Heavy Rain Experience" was un excelled. There is a argument that we all gamers have different ideas about whether games are art form or not.
    While playing this game, I asked myself: "If this isn't an art than what is it?" For me, Heavy Rain is much more
    than just a game. Heavy Rain is a pioneer of a new kind of entertainment which we will see more example of it in the future. This my friends, is an experience like no other. Expand
  46. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Great game although a little short, and even though you can replay to different outcomes it is annoying not being able to fast forward through cutscenes and dialogue you have already seen, as i lost my patience and only re-did certain points in the game.
  47. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    The proof that a combination of cinema and video-games can be outstanding! The plot can be an addiction! I really couldn't let down the controller until the very end! Graphics are also amazing even the slightest detail is well-developed!
  48. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    -Review BRAZIL- "Heavy Rain" é um thriller dramático centrado em torno de quatro protagonistas envolvidos no mistério do "Assassino do Origami", um serial killer que ataca em períodos de chuva intensa para afogar as suas vítimas. "Heavy Rain" é um título exclusivo de PS3 e sem dúvida um dos melhores jogos que já joguei, parece um filme em que você é o diretor e controla os personagens e faz os finais a sua maneira. Boa jogabilidade e um dos gráficos mais belos desta geração. NOTA 10. Expand
  49. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    One of the best and most gripping stories I've ever played in a game. Best part of all, YOU make the decisions, and all your decisions have different outcomes. And so different endings. Also really original I must say.
  50. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    Heavy Rain aims to create a new genre of gaming. It's an incredible, interactive experience for mature minded gamers looking to live an intricate plot through the eyes of the story's protagonists. Each choice you make, affects the final outcome. There are several main and sub-plot endings. There are numerous action sequences throughout the game, but all are story-driven. If you prefer mindless violence and spend 90% or more of your gaming time playing First Person Shooters online, then this mature experience is probably NOT for you. If you love stories with complex characters who have substance and prefer, or are open-minded to, a great "whodunnit" interactive crime drama experience, you absolutely MUST try this game. It's like nothing you've ever played on a console before. Expand
  51. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    The people that write bad reviews are FPS gamers that cant see further than their finger.
    A Unique game that you must play it an be a part of it, to feel it, to get the point and appreciate it.
    After a point you just cant stop paying it , you want to go further and further to see what is going on and "how" will go on, it challenges you and surprises you.
    One of the best games ever, one of
    the most groundbreaking ideas in game history ever.
    The fear to loose a character is amazing!
    Expand
  52. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    My favorite and most beloved PS3 game, I will never forget how it make me fell when I played, back to back, 6 times.
    It is a powerful and unforgettable experience that stays with you months after playing, this game is the LOUIS C.K. of video games: sincere, original and creative.
    If you like intelligent and mysterious games, PLAY IT.
  53. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    This game is just something different something i would want to see again and again in this industry.
    obviously you can`t find a rock solid game play here you just need to know what are you playing and rate it like that.
  54. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    Simply amazing game. If you like good movies and good story telling but done in a game this is for you. So different to anything else and a true look into the future of gaming. Gorgeous graphics and so easily playable. If you own a PS3 you have to play this and if you don't own a PS3 its worth getting just for this game.
  55. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    There has been a lot of complaints about how this game is an "interactive movie" etc but that is defidently not a bad thing. Heavy Rain plays out as an action/mystery/thriller story with Resident Evil 4-like cutscene controls. You also can walk around lots of times but the controls aren't that great when walking around. While there are some downsides to this game they are all overshadowed by it's tremendous storyline. This litterally may be the best story in every single game I have played in my life. (Move aside Mass Effect 2) Also the graphics are really good, ranging from good to absoluty stunning (the close ups of the peoples' faces in between chapters) Overall this game is an absolute masterpiece! 10/10 Expand
  56. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    An unusual and innovative title which I enjoyed immensely.A dark interactive story game is the best way I can describe it and I look foward to more games such as this one.
  57. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    This is the top-highest-best-ever-played-game i've seen and i've played in my entire life. This... hmm "product" (bad word, i'm sorry) is not just a game, but a bridge between the movie industry and a game development. We're living in a very good times, and i hope to live long enough to take a part of this incredible revolution. And... I'd hope i can work with a Quantic Dream studio in nearest not so far future... Expand
  58. May 22, 2011
    10
    Simply brilliant awesomeness. The story sucks you in and you feel apart of the game. One of the best games I have played in a long time......... 10star!!
  59. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Pure brilliance is what describes this game. Enjoyed almost every second of it. An Immersive and gripping, albeit a really depressing storyline. Every animation scene seems so realistic. It really captures my attention and makes me aware of every little details. A short and sweet adventure.
  60. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    After playing LA Noire, I decided to go back to Heavy Rain and firmly deicde which is better. I myself consider LA Noire to be a revolution but I forget all about Heavy Rain! I'll be honest, the userscore doesn't do this game any justice im actually astonished at the response from some people because this game ultimately has made LA Noire possible. Infact, I would even go as far as saying Heavy Rain is not only a better game but an even better experience. I still remember the premise of Heavy Rain. How Far Would You For The One's You Love. Basically, Heavy Rain is an interactive psychological thriller where you play as four protagonists involved with the mystery of the Origami killer, a serial killer who uses extensive periods of rainfall to kill his victims. From the very start of this game you get the sense of some truely extraordinary. The interaction you are able to have is just stunning. The simplest things that you are able to just add to what I can only describe as the one of, if not, the defining gaming experiences of this generation. The story as i've pointed out is a very dark and gloomy subject and immediately sets this game apart from the rest, its much more grown-up and serious than most games emphasized particuarly the shocking twist of events at the beginning of the game. The area in which heavy Rain truely excels and achieves what very fue games can is an emotional connection. Every decision you make has consequences, no matter how big or how small, and will play a huge part in how the game unfolds and even more intriguingly how each characters story plays out. It draws you in and fails to let you go and you will find yourself going back again and again as you will want to find out how every single decision affects the outcome of this masterpiece and believe me there is quite a few you won't be found wanting here if your looking for a game to fill your day. Visually, LA Noire is head and shoulders above HR but its above most other games too, that being said HR is still a visually very good game that doesn't rely upon its looks its what inside that counts, and boy does it count in Quantum Dreams epic first PS3 outing. The fact that its exclusive makes this one on the PS3's must own titles. Some will no doubt reufse to see exactly what Heavy Rain is but you have to experience this to truely appreciate what Heavy Rain has achieved. All in all I can honestly say that even with LA Noire on the shelf, this game still sets itself apart. It's one of the most momentous games every to grace any console whilst also being a bold, brave and revolutionary step forward for the gaming industry. To have a game where YOU are in full control for me is just downright inspiring and you can rest assure that Heavy Rain's influence will be felt in the years to come as no game thus far can offer a package of such interactivity and storytelling like Quantum Dream's masterpiece . A genius game and an essential purchase that every PS3 owner simply should have in their collection! Expand
  61. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    I personally think heavy rain is a masterpiece. Not as a game - but rather an experience. I was absolutely riveted by every single moment - I completed the entire thing in two sittings - and my heart sank when I knew it was over. And while there is some occasional voice acting quirks, overall it's a thriller that I would embrace as a fantastic film, and I am film lover who just spent the past few years in film school. My main issue with the game is that it was not quite far reaching enough as I would have liked in some late-game-story elements. Expand
  62. May 20, 2011
    9
    This game was amazing. great story great plot and fun to play.There is no other game like this(excluding the developers first game) and is so good. the reason i give it an 9 is because of the slow beginning (Though it is necessary) and the way you walk can be difficult at times and sometimes the voice actors accents slip through other than that it works great. This is one of the few games i actually tried to get platinum on because there is so replayability in it. so everybody should go out and buy this game. Expand
  63. May 28, 2012
    10
    I loved this game. First time for a very long time that every decision I made felt like it had meaning and any mistake was lifethreatening. It's such a good example at how instent death can effectivly be interwoven into a game and one of the most emotional endings to a game I have ever faced with me litterally breaking down in tears from the ending.
  64. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. this game is a masterpiece
  65. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    i was obsessed with this game. the plot is amazing. it feels like an interactive movie at times but that is what i like. i empathized with all of the characters and loved the amazing and believable voice acting. the graphics are gorgeous and make this a truly fun modern adventure game. 10/10 for satisfaction and love
  66. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    ShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoffShutoff
  67. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    At the time I saw the user score at 6.6. And that just ain't right. This game is incredible from start to finish (once you get past the first hour). Graphics are outstanding, the controls could use some work, story is a 10/10, charcarter development is excellent and the gameplay gets better as the progresses. I have played through the game three times. The game is much more suited to the gamer with a bit of intelligence and those who love a great story. Expand
  68. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    If there was a reason to buy a PS3, here it is. I loved Fahrenheit (aka Indigo Prophecy) but it was a shame Heavy Rain didn't make it cross-platform. I'm going to keep this short, as lengthy critique will just involve my gushing about the game ... (one word - wow). Heavy Rain is everything a modern game should be, compelling, cinematic and complex, it makes other games (and many films) seem mundane by comparison. Very close to being a masterpiece. Expand
  69. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This is always the game I cite when people say consequence and branching storylines aren't possible to the extent people demand it. Perhaps it is because Heavy Rain set the bar so high in that area that makes it so influential and amazing. The game is also addicting and thrilling, and the organic, no game over design makes everything more intense. The aesthetics, especially the score, help to make a depressing mood that makes it a wonderful experience. The illusion of choice, it turns out, isn't an illusion in this game. Expand
  70. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    There is no other game out there like this one right now. Its basically a movie, with quick time events for the action sequence and conversation puzzles for the talking parts. That sounds lame when I put that way but trust me, this game is awesome.
  71. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I've played this all the way through twice now, and I'm still haunted by decisions I've made in it. On the second playthrough, something happened that I'm not going into detail about that literally scared me, and I don't get scared by much. This game is absolutely remarkable, and I plan on playing through it several more times to see the different endings. If you haven't played this game yet, then you need to, it is well worth your time. Expand
  72. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    There's no other game like this, which is just very good and above all, delivers new ideas, new views for gaming and amazing technology. this game shows definitely that future of games lays in them non-linear structure and immersion.
  73. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Before you even consider this buying or renting game, you have to ask yourself a question. That question is "Do I like quick time events?". If you do, great! The majority of this game is made up of quick time events and we're already off to a good start here. If you don't, fair enough, they're not to everyone's taste, but I'd recommend you hang around and hear a bit more about the game. You see, I'm fairly indifferent on quick time events. For those who don't know, they're basically interactive cut-scenes in which you press buttons when prompted to. Whether or not you manage to successfully press the right buttons decides what will happen. Heavy Rain's gameplay is odd. It's mostly walking around and examining different everyday objects, or doing everyday things, and, of course, quick time events. To me, that sounded pretty boring, as walking around in a videogame can't be nothing short of mundane, and as I mentioned, I'm indifferent to quick time events, so they don't exactly excite me. In spite of all this, I decided to give the game a go anyway at the recommendation of a co-worker. I'll have to admit this though, I think it's purely my indifference that made me tolerate the gameplay. There's nothing in this game that will suddenly make you enjoy slow paced gameplay or quick time events if you despise them already. Heavy Rain doesn't set out to convert, it set's out to show those who are willing to give it a chance what I masterpiece they can do with that style of gameplay. The instantaneous hook for me was the presentation and the story. Heavy Rain's plot is, frankly, fantastic, and the graphics,voice acting and motion capture are of such good quality that it compliments the story to no end. It's hard to explain much of the story without spoilers, so my brief outline will have to do. A serial killer known as the Origami Killer is on the loose. The Killer kidnaps young boys consistently, who are then missing for several days before being found dead at random locations, origami figure in hand. You take on the roles of Ethan Mars, an architect, Scott Shelby, a private investigator, Norman Jayden, an FBI agent and Madison Paige, a photojournalist, all of whom have found themselves one way or another wrapped within the most recent disappearance, trying to bring the killer to justice. The story is engaging, dramatic, addictive and is on par in quality with real life murder drama TV series. Any doubts I had about the gameplay were thrown out of the window due to the sheer desire to find out what happens next. The best thing about the game is it's likely to be very different every time you play, and different for every person. Due to the nature of the gameplay, the game is very dynamic. In other games, failing or doing badly in a quick time event will just mean a "Game Over" leading you to do it again until you get it right. In Heavy Rain, for the most part this does not apply. The game continues down very different paths based on your actions in both quick time events and the general decisions you make. Sometimes this might only lead to a small change, such as deciding to go one direction before another, but the consequences of other decisions can be dire, even leading to the death of a character, or even your own character! If you're not careful, you may find yourself at the end of the story with all four of your protagonists deceased, and get the appropriate ending. While I praise this style of gameplay, meaning each run is tailored to the whims of the player, it can have it's drawbacks. Given the sometimes frantic pace, or misleading button instructions, you'll find yourself making errors that lead to consequences or events you didn't desire. It's frustrating when these aren't intentional. For example, you're interrogating a witness, and you wish to press "sympathise", but accidentally press "question further" which leads to unwanted results that could very well affect the overall story. There's a degree of satisfaction when you're intentional choices manifest within the story, but upsetting when those you made by accident do instead. You'll then have to battle the urge to restart the game and try again, as it sort of goes against the very point of the game being a unique experience. So this is something to be wary of. Ultimately, Heavy Rain is interesting. That's what it's got going for it. The plot is engaging and I found myself yearning to know what happens next and that's what kept me playing. If you know you're going to hate the gameplay style, then I don't think this is for you, but if you're indifferent like me, or curious, then by all means go for it and I doubt you'll be disappointed. However, do try and fight the temptation to make things go your way throughout the game, and try and maintain spontaneous decisions to get the most out of this wonderful game. Expand
  74. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    Heavy Rain isn't your average every day shoot em up. The creators of Heavy Rain took a risk making such a different game, and I must admit, I had my doubts about it. As many people have said before, this game is more of an interactive movie then a video game but this does not make it any less enjoyable. As you progress through the game, you get more and more sucked into the story as you meet new characters and get a step closer to solving the mystery. This game did not fail to please. The numerous different endings meant you could play over again several times, without the same thing happening again. And if you don't feel like going through the slow beginning again, you can restart from any point in the game. As much as i enjoyed playing it, it did have it's flaws. One of the most irritating had to be the game freezing at certain points, meaning I had to restart my PS3. Also at times the textures took a while to load, but I'm not too bothered about that. Heavy Rain is a brilliant work of art and it is definitely worth buying / renting. It sucks the player into the game a provides an experience that will leave you on the edge of your seats. For these reasons I am giving this game a 9/10 score. Expand
  75. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I got this game and the first thing I had to say after having a look at it was that the graphics are amazing, it is one of the most good looking games I have ever played. Since it provides move support, the game drags you into the story line and make you feel like that you are really the character you are playing, every action of our results in different cons, so the game is moreover a suspense that is never broken by having a look at any walk-through on youtube, some of our action may even result in killing the in-game character, the only bad thing you will notice about this game is that there is not much of a replay value to the game and the game lacks muliplayer mode.
    But most games aim at removing any stress or tension which they fail to do, lets take god of war for example, it is more of a nightmare to me in which you have to tap the bloody button and swing some **** i really feels like **** on the other hand heavy rain is a very pleasant game and I recommend this game to every PS3 owner because I think, it is one of the ps3 titles which can dominate the 360 and the move support gives it a nice reason for why you should buy it
    Expand
  76. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Heavy Rain is a beautiful example of introducing a unique gameplay mixed with an exciting story. Multiple endings and the different characters you get to play make this a game a 10.
  77. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    One of the best interactive dramas ever. A absolute unique experience, same to be said with the control scheme. The story is one of the best ever seen in a videogame. A flawless masterpiece.
  78. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of my favorite game ever. If you want to sit down to one of the most gripping stories in gaming with one of the most intuitive and fun control scheme's ever, then this is the game for you. Replay value is also one of the highest of any game because every scene can have a different outcome and no play- through will be exactly the same. I simply can't recommend this enough.
  79. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I think giving games perfect 10's is generally pretty gimpy, but Heavy Rain is just the bee's knees. It deserves to be playing in theatres, not just on your LED HDTV's... though if it were made into a movie it probably wouldn't be as good as Heavy Rain the video game. Whatever, I'm getting distracted by my own illiteracy - the point is, oh my god, Heavy Rain... it's super-duper. Granted, I should probably ding it by one point for the questionable "American" accents, but if that's the only thing I can find wrong about a game, that's pretty damn good. The story is awesome, and is even still fun to play if you know "whodunnit" though it's best revealed in-game. Ethan is pretty much the sexsiest guy in a video game, and Madison isn't too bad either (you get to see both of their butts! Yay!) so there's even something for late-night enjoyment. If you own a PS3 and haven't yet given yourself a day or two to experience Heavy Rain, well, that's just very sad. It's AWESOME. Expand
  80. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Literally my favorite game of all time. Plays like an intense interactive movie. Definitely challenging, but not frustratingly so. Story is incredible. Some of the graphics are weak and a few awful voice actors, but it's most beautiful and the voices that matter are fantastic.
  81. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely stunning. A masterpiece. Beautiful music and story. At last a mature game that offers something different than the usual gameing experiences. This is the kind of game that makes me want to spend my money and my time on. Can´t wait for the next Quantic Dreams game.
  82. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    WARNING:THIS GAME IS NOT FOR ACTION JUNKIES WHO NEEDS CONSTANT ACTION TO STAY INTERESTED!! Now for people looking for something different while playing a game may I suggest to you...heavy rain! Heavy rain lets you play as four protagonist one of which is trying desperately to find his son after previously losing his oldest son in a car accident! Two years later he's half the man he used to be..his marriage is over he's constantly having nightmare's and is seeing a shrink and his bond with his son is all but broken! By this point in the game I knew I would finish it multiple times because the story is what makes it worth playing! I was sucked in by the attention paid to the story as well as the graphics which is down right beautiful to behold!this game also gives you complete control over the story by letting you decide who lives and who dies which gives you so many reason's to replay it after you finish one of the games multiple stories! One reviewer said he tried to kill a character but it was just a dream so it sucked because it was a dream....? Well you cant kill her there because...well its a dream but trust me she gets the worst deaths in the game lol. Everything isn't good in heavy rain like the controls which takes time to get used to. Many times I took a wrong turn or found myself kissing a wall but its not to distracking also parts of the story will not be explained like ethans nightmare's of drowning kids or what was he doing/where was he during his blackouts but again its not to distracting from the rest of the narrative! This is a must play for gamers but even more so for developers because they've clearly ran out of idea's when it comes to good gameplay and story telling vs weak story and run and gun rehash! Get this game its a true diamond in a sea full on shooters! Expand
  83. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game does not deserve the low user score currently on Metacritic so I will give it a 10. I personally rate it a 9, points for being unique and different, as well as engaging and immersive animations. I am personally a fan of experimental ways of telling a story in the video game medium, playing Quantic Dreams Indigo Prophecy, HL2 Mods - Dear Esther and Stanley's Parable. Heavy Rain is the evolution of what indigo prophecy was supposed to be and the evolution of the point and click adventure genre. (At least this is what I think Heavy Rain's roots are from -- Point and Click adventure games) . This is the push point and clicks need to turn into, interactive dramas with the occasional puzzle. Telltale tried to follow suit with their Jurassic Park that was released this November, and I find it fun with all of the QTE's. Anyways, if you are into cinematics and gorgeous cutscenes in your video games, as well as don't mind taking an observer seat in games such as L.A Noire, metal gear solid, and those huge open world rpg games games, then this game is for you. The story isn't even close to film quality yet, but this is the start of a revolution for storytelling in gaming. Expand
  84. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Surely an amazing game! Great storyline, very immersive and well produced. Since I knew Indigo Prophecy for PS2, from the same developer, the similar QTE system was quite expected. I see some people here complaining about the gameplay because it's what it is. These people should play "Dragon's Lair" or "Space Ace" and think again, lol. But really, this game impressed me a lot, even a year later it was released. Had to play it for a few days until I could watch all endings and get all trophies. Shame it wasn't raining those days. Expand
  85. May 8, 2012
    9
    I didn't know much about the game except that the artwork on the cover alone seemed interesting to me. Many games have promised an "interactive" experience in which your decisions change the course of action before, so could Heavy Rain pull it off? The answer is a Stone Cold-ish "oh hell yeah." There is a very limited number of games that made me care about the storyline and the characters that much. The way the story builds up to its climax is excellent, graphics beyond believe on a home console. This game gives you pure freedom of choice, infinite exploration and a story that will stay in your mind long after playing this. The game is build on chapters, in each chapter you take control of one of four main characters, and everything you do can change the outcome of the game. These characters are different from each other and interesting, each one involved in the game's plot from a different direction. You will feel like you are actually taking part in the action, be it preparing scrambled eggs or fighting for your life. A true masterpiece without comparison. Expand
  86. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    This game alone is a reason to go out and buy a PS3, no other console has a game like Heavy Rain.
  87. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Heavy Rain is an amazing experience to say the least. Its impossible to not become attached to the characters. although not a classic "video game", Heavy Rain puts you in a fathers desperate shoes looking for his son. You feel every characters pain and instantly become attached. This game is at least worth a rent, but you really should buy it.
  88. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I respect other people's views and tastes, but I cannot understand why you would give such a groundbreaking game a bad score. It has everything that a good PS3 game should: a great story, good controls, exciting moments and a captivating story line. The emotions that you feel when you realise your kid is missing and the length you will go to to find him back... a true monument and a game that will be remembered for changing the face of video games. Expand
  89. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    I didn't know whether to give this a 9 or a 10, I felt that it should have been a 9 at first because there are many problems in Heavy Rain that are hard to overlook, such as the plot holes and technical problems but when I go back and play this game I can put those problems aside and enjoy this incredibly emotional and engaging game. I can't think of any other game that gets you so invested in its story and makes you care about every decision you make like this. It's not for everyone and improvements could be made but this is one of those cases where the good manages to out weigh the bad and as a result we can enjoy this fantastic, beautiful and immensely emotional game, and another game like this won't come for a long time. Expand
  90. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    THis game not only combines amazing acting, sound, story, graphics, gameplay, story, sound, story, interesting characters, story (did I mention story) into one amazing masterpiece...but its extremely cheap too! You can find this used or in the Ps3 greatest hits section for $20! The plot may start out slow but when it revs up...it is so intense, emotional and beautiful that small details such as tiny graphics problems...one plot hole (the blackouts are caused by ethan's coma)...and the hands not always being natural are forgivable. Not only is this a masterpiece but it is one of my top 5 games. Expand
  91. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Wow! I talk a lot about how some games are experiences and not games at all, heavy rain is probably the reason I think like that now. I loved this game, loved everything about it. The graphics, the story, the characters, the different paths, the music is some of the best in gaming. This is one of my all time favorite games every. Now this may not be for everyone granted, because this is more of an interactive movie of sorts, and you just follow along but you still get to choose how you want it to play out. I loved the tense parts and actually I was a bit dissapointed when I played backed some earlier sections and found out that had I failed the correct button presses, I would have lived anyway, but at the time I didn't realize that and so I felt tense and knew (or at least thought) that my character could die and I needed to be careful. I love perma-death in games. It is what made demon souls so great the consequences of dying, and is why im looking so forward to until dawn. In fact had death had more of a consequence in amnesia it probably would have been even better, but I knew it would just load right back up so I never really felt that tense. Expand
  92. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    If you take the game for what it is, an "Interactive Movie" then you will find this to be an awesome experience. The experience is unprecedented because you have an overall plot and continuously moving story like a movie, but a more detailed story and ability to influence events and endings Allowing you to play increases tension and the overall mood and atmosphere. The writing, characters, and the themes, etc. are all memorable. Definitely worth a try for PS3 fans. It definitely seems a love it or hate it type of game. Expand
  93. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    A ten may seem high to a lot of people, and even though this game does have some problems ( in my opinion the controls were sometimes difficult), when I completed it, I was in awe of what I had seen and done while playing. The haunting musical score is incredible as you make your way through the game. The graphics are simply amazing. And finally the story is one of the best written I have ever seen in a video game. So even with somewhat awkward controls at times, I found myself thoroughly engaged by this game. Expand
  94. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    A great game. First the bad: there were a few glitches and the sound bytes were a bit sparse in some sections. The good: great graphics, compelling story with a messed up killer and outrageous tests for the father, and ways to get more than one ending! A couple of bits that I found with faults like why the troubled nightmares and insomnia? The game has a story and plays out like a movie enough that your friend would enjoy playing with you. Expand
  95. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    So much fun. I don't consider this a game. I consider this a movie just because the scenes can be so good at times. A must own if you own a Playstation 3 console. Can't wait for Quantic Dream next game.
  96. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    Apsolutely amazing game. everything about this game is amazing, Can be a bit boring at times but once ya get into it you will not sleep! very addictive storyline
  97. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    A game with beautiful graphics, half the time you feel like it's a movie witch makes in memorable from all other games out there. It has such emotion, Ethan Mars is my favorite character because you really feel his pain especially if you get a sad ending. The voice acting is GOOD and the soundtrack is OUTSTANDING.
  98. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Its a different game, i don´t think everybory will like, but i liked =D. The history(es) is(are) intriguing, excelent graphics, with many knurled, but ok.
  99. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    What a blast! Incredibly innovative usage of the six-axis controller, invigorating story line, simply amazing character feel and backstory and thriller factor. THIS IS WHAT GAMES THESE DAYS SHOULD BE LIKE! New, fun to play, and addictive. I wish it was a longer game or at least had a few strong side plots that could have extended its life.
  100. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Revolutionary and extremely well polished. This game will suck you into an adventure you've never experienced before with gaming. Finally, a game where your actions changes the plot. The scenario could make a great movie, the original score blends perfectly into the action and the scene cutting keeps you constantly craving to make the story evolve to its final twist. Kudos to the production team for putting the effort and creativity in crafting high quality games like this one. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]