Heavy Rain PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 23, 2010
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2556 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2014
    4
    [Pros]
    +Sound effects
    +Choices that matter +Fluid NPC movements +Lighting +Soundtrack +Multiple outcomes +Atmosphere +Rain [Cons] -Nerve-wracking voice acting, especially the children's -Cheesy storytelling -Weak story -Full of clichés -Unnecessary scenes -Irrational changes in behavior of some of the characters -Scenes involving children are extremely cheesy and
    [Pros]
    +Sound effects
    +Choices that matter
    +Fluid NPC movements
    +Lighting
    +Soundtrack
    +Multiple outcomes
    +Atmosphere
    +Rain

    [Cons]
    -Nerve-wracking voice acting, especially the children's
    -Cheesy storytelling
    -Weak story
    -Full of clichés
    -Unnecessary scenes
    -Irrational changes in behavior of some of the characters
    -Scenes involving children are extremely cheesy and unrealistic
    -Annoying dialogues
    -Controls
    -Generic ending/credits music, which was really disappointing compared to rest of the soundtracks.
    -Did I mention the voice acting is unbelievably terrible?
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    2
    Heavy Rain is a pretentious bore. Gameplay consists of quick time events, cutscenes, wandering around unsure of what to press the X button at, and interactive sequences about getting your kid a snack. Heavy Rain is not a game. It’s a mediocre video that occasionally prompts you to press buttons.

    There are a few mildly interesting parts and the graphics are quite nice, but being more
    Heavy Rain is a pretentious bore. Gameplay consists of quick time events, cutscenes, wandering around unsure of what to press the X button at, and interactive sequences about getting your kid a snack. Heavy Rain is not a game. It’s a mediocre video that occasionally prompts you to press buttons.

    There are a few mildly interesting parts and the graphics are quite nice, but being more video than game means the whole thing needs to be carried by its story. Unfortunately, the story is lame and has a big reveal at the end that is just stupid. If Heavy Rain were an actual movie, it would be a forgettable box office bomb. There are several possible endings, but getting them entails going through the whole thing several times with a guide close at hand because unlocking some endings depends on stupid, hidden tasks like making your kid that snack within a certain amount of time. If that sounds like fun, knock yourself out.
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2014
    2
    i will like to say this. this game? is god awful. the voice acting is ridiculous, and filled with the majority being french actors, even though this whole thing should take place in america, and the worst among them are the kids!!! the kids, sound like retarded robots set on french attitude mode. there are MASSIVE plot holes in this whole game! the way Jason died made no sense, becausei will like to say this. this game? is god awful. the voice acting is ridiculous, and filled with the majority being french actors, even though this whole thing should take place in america, and the worst among them are the kids!!! the kids, sound like retarded robots set on french attitude mode. there are MASSIVE plot holes in this whole game! the way Jason died made no sense, because there should have been no reason whatsoever he should have died. the only reason he did die is because of david cage, and his need for SADNESS PLOT. David Cage made so many mistakes while writing this game, that if i had a marker to mark how many faults there are, i would run through about 3, before i got to the Shark trial crap. the only thing i like about this game, is the the controls. they work very well, and that is my only complement i will give to monsieur Cage. i can see how some people would say "no, its a great story" and at first if you do not pay attention, yes it would be. but the second time when you actually pay attention to detail, you will think "oh god, what is this? why does this exist?" its awful. the only thing that stand up with this game is its graphics, and controls. everything else is completely awful, and i pray to god, the man invests in GOOD editors in his next game instead of graphics. make fun games your priority monsieur cage. not sad games. thank you, and please stop. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2014
    0
    Imagine renting a mediocre movie, press play, and then it pauses itself every five seconds, leaving you to decipher some random button-pressing on the remote to get it going again. WTF!
    This must be the last five years biggest "swing 'n miss" project I have encountered.
    The many 10 reviews can only be explained by the big step up in the graphics-department, which is I agree,
    Imagine renting a mediocre movie, press play, and then it pauses itself every five seconds, leaving you to decipher some random button-pressing on the remote to get it going again. WTF!
    This must be the last five years biggest "swing 'n miss" project I have encountered.

    The many 10 reviews can only be explained by the big step up in the graphics-department, which is I agree, substantial.
    This is not groundbreaking game development. The idea of combining a great movie with interactive game play, was perfected with Mass effect, and many others before.

    So I felt obligated to pile on with a warning to future potential buyers: If you are not impressed by graphics, if you don't enjoy pressing and holding one button, then another, then another, then another in order for your bad movie to continue. Stay away!

    Also. I understand their next installment "Beyond: Two souls" is even worse, whitch is hard to imagine.
    Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    3
    Cinematic? Yes. Entertaining at times? Yes. A game? Definitely, no.
    If only visuals and sound would be supplemented by gameplay -- it could be one of the best adventure games ever. But it's merely an interactive movie with multiple endings. And I've seen some better movies too.
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    0
    There is one word that popped up in my mind after playing this game: Cheesy. I can see how shallow people would enjoy it, but halfway through I just wanted the game to finish already. It was just dragging along and the gameplay is just terrible. I would seriously prefer to go back and play some point & click adventure games by LucasArts. There is nothing revolutionary about these games,There is one word that popped up in my mind after playing this game: Cheesy. I can see how shallow people would enjoy it, but halfway through I just wanted the game to finish already. It was just dragging along and the gameplay is just terrible. I would seriously prefer to go back and play some point & click adventure games by LucasArts. There is nothing revolutionary about these games, actually I believe it's going a step backwards instead of forwards. Cage needs to ring Naughty Dog for some lessons on how to write a compelling story. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2013
    3
    This "game" is a little hard to review since it is not really a game in the traditional sense. It's focus lies in the "narrative"with a thin veneer of game play which consists mostly out of your run of the mill QTE's (quick time events) during cut scenes and some basic, albeit unrefined and clunky, click and point ish exploration elements. you like it, or you hate it simple as that. (iThis "game" is a little hard to review since it is not really a game in the traditional sense. It's focus lies in the "narrative"with a thin veneer of game play which consists mostly out of your run of the mill QTE's (quick time events) during cut scenes and some basic, albeit unrefined and clunky, click and point ish exploration elements. you like it, or you hate it simple as that. (i think it takes away from my gaming experience, but i can see how some find it ads to the experience.) As such, i will mostly focus my review on that, the narrative. Simply put, it is bad. Very bad even. Plot holes are so big you can fit a small moon in and the cliche ridden, horrendous 2 dimensional Mary Sue characters and a "plot twist" so stupid it insults any logical thinking human being are just a few of the problems you will encounter. It tries hard to be Se7en, but look a little past the impressive soundtrack and graphics, and what you are left with is a parody on the level of The Naked Gun. The "Acting" is downright comedy at times, and you kinda feel bad because sometimes you end up laughing at a scene which was supposed to be deep and emotionally involving, but because of the complete amateurish incompetence of the writing it end up being hilarious. After having read some of the praising "reviews" on this site i cant help but feel a little ashamed of being a gamer. You see, in my opinion, the writer is a bit like a cheat. Had this indeed been a movie script, it would have been mocked at every film festival and ripped apart by every movie critic in existence, yet in the gaming world this is rated as "superb writing", "setting new standards" etc by the critics. This effectively implies gaming is the special Olympics when it comes to telling stories. Where you can get away as an able-bodied mediocre athlete, winning gold against people with disabilities and get a slap on the shoulder for doing so. (note: nothing wrong with the Special Olympics btw, nothing but respect for the athletes competing there) I find that insulting to be honest. I give it 3/10. Would give it a solid zero, but the soundtrack and graphics design are beautiful and i tip my hat and at least want to give points to the people who created that. Shame their work is thrown into this pretentious and contrived mess. Expand
  8. Jul 22, 2013
    0
    Sorry for English, i am Russian. This is a game? Or Movie? I do not think that is a good game. Do not watch this movie. Do not buy PlayStation 3. PS3 Has no games.
  9. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Bad game. The plot is full of holes. The so called "twist" makes no sense at all see why in JamesS. comprehensive comment, posted March 3th, 2010). The controls are terrible because sometimes you don't have to do anything for a certain action, which is boring. Moments later, you do have to press a button for that same action which is not boring but then again, later, you have to pressBad game. The plot is full of holes. The so called "twist" makes no sense at all see why in JamesS. comprehensive comment, posted March 3th, 2010). The controls are terrible because sometimes you don't have to do anything for a certain action, which is boring. Moments later, you do have to press a button for that same action which is not boring but then again, later, you have to press another button (or combination) for the same action! To make it totally insane, at one point in the game, you have to hold down 7 (seven!) buttons at the same time for this action. Annoying to say the least. There are more bad control issues, just take a few minutes to read other negative comments. All together, there are many flaws in this game but for me, as said, the bad unpredictable and inconsistent controls and the "twist" which is totally unconvincing, makes this a very disappointing game. Expand
  10. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Being a story driven game, the story has many plotholes. The gameplay is worse. Heavy Rain should have been a film and even than it would not have succeded because of the unlogical story. Graphics nice though.
  11. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Acceptable story (Nothing that stands out), terrible gameplay. In fact, there's no reason to be so many plot holes and inconsistencies in such a plot-driven game. Being forced to play this game should be a new form of torture.
  12. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    Its a shame that such bogus games in playstation 3.any player will get bored easily as you just keep pressing square circle move etc etc . dont waste your money on this game
  13. Sep 21, 2012
    2
    The game is pretty good and there are a good deal of areas that test the players ability, not only to play the game, but also to react to prompts quickly. However, these only account for 25% of the playing time IMHO, the rest is really really dull. At least with films they cut out the dull bits.......
  14. Jan 22, 2012
    0
    Not even a video game , it's like a semi interactive movie if you like watching a movie pausing doing something else then returning to your movie you will like this. If you like playing video games you will hate this. Its so boring take it from someone with 55000+ gamerscore & level 12 trophy level I DO NOT recommend you buy rent or ever touch this game in your lifetime
  15. Apr 11, 2011
    2
    This game is an absolute disaster. Much of it is horridly tedious and boring. Yay, a teeth brushing simulator...just what my collection was missing! There are maybe 5-6 scenes in the entire game that are actually exciting in the slightest. However, we're told to overlook all of this because this game is more like a movie than a game. I can guarantee that if anyone had seen this "game" in aThis game is an absolute disaster. Much of it is horridly tedious and boring. Yay, a teeth brushing simulator...just what my collection was missing! There are maybe 5-6 scenes in the entire game that are actually exciting in the slightest. However, we're told to overlook all of this because this game is more like a movie than a game. I can guarantee that if anyone had seen this "game" in a theater, they would've walked out half way upset. The "acting" is ridiculous, often bordering on comical, especially with the terrible voice acting. The story has so many plot holes, inconsistencies and is just downright not well set up or delivered. As for the ending, I'm sorry, it may have just been the stupidest attempt at a plot twist I've ever seen. I won't go into details lest I "spoil" this "game" for anyone, but any self respecting person knows exactly what I'm talking about. The controls are abysmal and often are unresponsive or confusing about what exactly it expects you to do, leading to frustration. This game is truly a disaster in every way, which is a shame considering the developer's former work was actually fairly good. I am amazed at all the positive reviews both by critics and by users here. This is without a single doubt in my mind the worst game I've ever played. I see no redeeming qualities other than some claim that it's "new" and "different" and "like a movie". New ideas are great, and are always welcome, but they have to be done well, and this game is not. Anyone comparing this to a movie, as it was intended, will be left extremely disappointed. I am not, however, going to suggest you steer clear. Rent this game, don't buy it because I guarantee you'll be sick of it after one short play through, and test it out. Just remember to view it based on what it does itself, not what it does differently. Expand
  16. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    hey , I know user reviews of exclusives are full of hilarious butt hurt fan boys illiterately stating that system x is better than system y.....I am not one of those. I just HATED this game, the most disappointed I have ever been by a game. IMO this game is appalling. so boring i was yawning with tears rolling down my face. the story is FULL of plot holes. OH I can't even be bothered to gohey , I know user reviews of exclusives are full of hilarious butt hurt fan boys illiterately stating that system x is better than system y.....I am not one of those. I just HATED this game, the most disappointed I have ever been by a game. IMO this game is appalling. so boring i was yawning with tears rolling down my face. the story is FULL of plot holes. OH I can't even be bothered to go into detail I just HATE it . utter utter **** Expand
  17. JustinJ
    May 14, 2010
    3
    As an avid Adventurer gamer since the time of the early Zork text-only games, I came to Heavy Rain desperately wanting to believe the hype. I had hoped that it could be the shot of adrenaline the entire genre needs to be taken seriously again by developers and consumers alike. Sadly, after playing, I am left at nearly a loss for words as to how this game has done so well for itself with As an avid Adventurer gamer since the time of the early Zork text-only games, I came to Heavy Rain desperately wanting to believe the hype. I had hoped that it could be the shot of adrenaline the entire genre needs to be taken seriously again by developers and consumers alike. Sadly, after playing, I am left at nearly a loss for words as to how this game has done so well for itself with the critics. Perhaps they, like myself, are nostalgic for the return of the "Adventure" genre in its pure form, and hope that by praising a game that attempts to bring back and evolve that experience, however flawed, the industry might be nudged toward producing more games with higher production values in the genre. At least, that's the only explanation I can come up with that makes the slightest sense. As for the gameplay itself; the brutal fact is, there essentially is none. It is indeed an "Interactive Movie," and you CAN make choices which impact the outcome. More often than not these choices simply devolve into allowing your character to fail a particular "Quick-Time" event, rather than offering actual, branching options within the context of the individual scene. Yes, the much lauded choices in Heavy Rain essentially come down to selective failure. Further added to the problem, on your first playthrough, it is unlikely you will even realize you are being given a choice in many situations. Not until successive attempts will the differences be recognized. That would be acceptable, save that the game is simply not sufficient to hold this reviewers attention for anywhere near the time it would require to complete it twice, much less more than that. And that leads directly into the final, and most egregious, of Heavy Rain's many flaws - the story is simply slow, boring, and poorly executed. As someone who has no problem admiting that I shed a tear or two during emotional scenes, especially those involving children or the reactions of adults to the loss of children, I was astonished when Heavy Rain failed to move me in the slightest. Never did I feel any significant attachment to any character, due to the poor dialogue, poor voice acting, and incredibly shallow character development, which seems to assume that you will grow attached to the protagonists without ever giving you any real reason to do so. While their problems are many, and in the hands of a more skilled writer and creative team, sufficient to create the type of emotional intensity that Heavy Rain strove for, here they are presented with so little context or development that it was nearly impossible for me to care. This is a game that makes many assumptions about the mindset and emotional state of the viewer/player, and fails to create that state in any significant way. Most of your average Made-for-TV or Serial dramas have significantly greater depth and emotional attachment, and certainly possess superior acting and dialogue. Overall, while I desperately wished that this game would be able to re-invigorate the genre, or even stand on its own as the forerunner of a new genre entirely, it falls completely flat, owing almost entirely to what appears to be a basic lack of understanding of human emotion and psychology on the part of the writers. Not only are there far, far better movies available, but there are no small number of games which will move you a good deal more than Heavy Rain. Expand
  18. GeoW
    Apr 4, 2010
    3
    A really dreadful "game." And I'm being pretty charitable calling this a game in the first place. It's really more of an interactive cgi film. I thought at first to call it a "choose your own adventure" novel, but it's not even that interesting. The narrative chugs along more-or-less regardless of what "choices" you make or how you "play." At some point, it becomes clear A really dreadful "game." And I'm being pretty charitable calling this a game in the first place. It's really more of an interactive cgi film. I thought at first to call it a "choose your own adventure" novel, but it's not even that interesting. The narrative chugs along more-or-less regardless of what "choices" you make or how you "play." At some point, it becomes clear that if you choose to simply watch and not mash buttons and the game encourages you to do, it will more or less roll along and accomplish what it wants. It's a game for people who'd really rather see a movie, and frankly, it's not even a very good movie. Easily the dreariest most depressing story I've ever been subjected to--luckily, you can finish it in a weekend. Expand
  19. JohnA
    Mar 28, 2010
    3
    It suffers from some serious technical flaws, the likes of which I have not previously witnessed on a console - audio glitches, landscapes disappearing, freezes, crashes, etc. It kind of took me back to my pentium 2 and direct X days, performance-wise. The plot has too many holes to be perceived as anything other than a amateur's first go at scripting a plot. I completely agree with It suffers from some serious technical flaws, the likes of which I have not previously witnessed on a console - audio glitches, landscapes disappearing, freezes, crashes, etc. It kind of took me back to my pentium 2 and direct X days, performance-wise. The plot has too many holes to be perceived as anything other than a amateur's first go at scripting a plot. I completely agree with James S, as to what message we're sending by praising such mediocrity. I finished the game and I am still none the wiser as to the significance of origami, why Shelby killed 10 year old boys, whatever the hell happened to the cop who let Ethan escape (how did he get away with it?), and so many other questions that the more I think about it, the more let down I feel. The ending was laughable. Buy at your own risk. Expand
  20. NathanB
    Mar 16, 2010
    0
    While Heavy Rain's novel methods of conveying a story through the gaming medium are effective, the actual story Heavy Rain aims to tell is garbage. How can a serious, dramatic story be considered good when it's riddled with plot holes you could sail a boat through? The characters presented in the game are as much of a failure as the plot. The characters in Heavy Rain are only While Heavy Rain's novel methods of conveying a story through the gaming medium are effective, the actual story Heavy Rain aims to tell is garbage. How can a serious, dramatic story be considered good when it's riddled with plot holes you could sail a boat through? The characters presented in the game are as much of a failure as the plot. The characters in Heavy Rain are only fleshed out briefly when they are introduced, then fail to grow or change throughout the rest of the story. They often act with little to no motivation other than forwarding the game's senseless, hackneyed plot and consistently spout awkward lines covered in bad American accents. As a plot-driven game, these are all fatal flaws. I'm left wondering if those lauding Heavy Rain are just lying to themselves, have lower standards for what is considered "good" for a video game, or are just too ignorant to know any better. Expand
  21. criticA.
    Mar 10, 2010
    2
    Awful. Just pure and simple. I can't seem to find any reason to justify this games existance. It's pretty er... pretty... But thats it. Okay, imagine playing one long ass cutscene, and being able to kind-of-sort-of direct what a character does. Not that fufilling. Now alot of people are gonna call me an Xbot ebcause I don't like paying $60 for a shit movie. But I don't Awful. Just pure and simple. I can't seem to find any reason to justify this games existance. It's pretty er... pretty... But thats it. Okay, imagine playing one long ass cutscene, and being able to kind-of-sort-of direct what a character does. Not that fufilling. Now alot of people are gonna call me an Xbot ebcause I don't like paying $60 for a shit movie. But I don't own an Xbox and I don't care to spend $250 to get another few game options. I've played this game twice to the ending and I still haven't enjoyed it. Okay, let's compare it to other, better games. In terms of CSI type gameplay. Phoenix Wright has better writing and cases. When it comes to what you may call "gameplay" just play the knife scene from resident evil 4 4-5 times. This game was just not good. Bad game, bad movie, just bad. Collapse
  22. BrianL
    Mar 7, 2010
    2
    I was very open minded about this game as being something different and fresh in the world of games that has become so filled with shooters and sandbox titles and looked very much forward to playing it. But it is awful. I think the first thing that the developers should have gotten right in a game they describe as an "interactive" drama, would be the story. The story in this game, while I was very open minded about this game as being something different and fresh in the world of games that has become so filled with shooters and sandbox titles and looked very much forward to playing it. But it is awful. I think the first thing that the developers should have gotten right in a game they describe as an "interactive" drama, would be the story. The story in this game, while initially interesting, has more holes in it that a swiss cheese. Characters who don't know each other at all suddenly have one another's phone numbers to contact in emergencies and some plot threads lead absolutely nowhere. The case does have a definitive ending but it is hammed up in garish Hollywood finale style that leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. Truly awful storytelling. The game's mechanics of QTEs and dodgy motion controls, coupled with a ludicrous movement system that requires holding R2 to move forward as the camera shifts about changing your control direction is so shabby it defies reason that it was kept after playtesting. Some of the game's visuals are marvellous while others are PS2 quality. Some of the characters work, some don't. The inconsistency kills this title dead and it is a shame as it had potential. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  23. MikeS
    Mar 6, 2010
    2
    i really wanted to like this game. i really wanted to care about the characters. but i didn't and i couldn't. the characters are very two dimensional as other reviewers have commented on. i could live with that, but that's actually the game's smallest flaw. the controls are just plain horrible. it's extremely difficult to control the character and the system i really wanted to like this game. i really wanted to care about the characters. but i didn't and i couldn't. the characters are very two dimensional as other reviewers have commented on. i could live with that, but that's actually the game's smallest flaw. the controls are just plain horrible. it's extremely difficult to control the character and the system doesn't register when you press a button half the time. considering the game is entirely QTE button presses, that's a serious problem. i missed a lot of opportunities to expand the story because of that. in addition it's nearly impossible to see the on-screen prompts, and i'm playing on a 37" HDTV. they're like a quarter inch tall. that only added to the frustration. the final nail in the coffin was the story/dialog. atrocious. in a game that's supposed to suck you in with its story that's a fatal flaw. ever wanted to spend 10 minutes brushing your teeth and shaving in a video game? yea, me neither but heavy rain forces you to. some will like this game. if it were released in the mid-90s heyday of FMV games i would have too. but in the ADD, over-caffeinated world of 2010 it commits the most egregious of errors: it's boring. Expand
  24. JacobN
    Mar 4, 2010
    2
    This game is not only disappointing, but one of the most overrated game of the year! Cons Story/Dialogue: One word: Horrible. One would think a game that depends so strongly on story, characters and dialogue, that it would be good. I'm not expecting Kafka, Dostoevsky or Camus quality here, but this is not even "Silent Hill :Shattered Memories","Uncharted 2", "Bioshock" or "Mass This game is not only disappointing, but one of the most overrated game of the year! Cons Story/Dialogue: One word: Horrible. One would think a game that depends so strongly on story, characters and dialogue, that it would be good. I'm not expecting Kafka, Dostoevsky or Camus quality here, but this is not even "Silent Hill :Shattered Memories","Uncharted 2", "Bioshock" or "Mass Effect" quality. Think of every cliché found in shows like: "Law and Order" or "CSI", It has them all and more. For example, there is a scene where the father is looking for his son, he finally realizes he can't find him. So, he walks to the middle of the streets, gets down on his knees and raises his arms out and screams his name while the rain is dripping down his face. This was a very lol moment. The story really is bad, and I am astonished at gamers reaction to it. Anyone who thinks this game has a deep, emotional and intellectual story really have to go out and get a book because this is laughably bad, Cringe worthy actually. Video game stories have been improving in the last ten years, and this game sets it back to 1999. This game is for people who think they are "intellectual" or "mature", but in all reality, if anybody have some braincells they can see the mess the story, dialogue and characters are. It fails as a movie and fails as a game, and most importantly it fails in trying to be artistic. Voice Acting: It's all over the place. sometimes the voice acting is so bad it's distracting, it really pulls you out of the immersion the game offers. Again, why would a game that depends on story have bad voice acting? I tried switching the language track. I get the same results in French and Spanish. Control: Control? The few times you get to "control" your character is horrible. Everyone moves like a tank, and one would think the developers wanted good controls to keep you immersed in the game. Once you start walking straight into a wall for the tenth time, you tend to get out of the immersion this game is trying to achieve, and no you do not get use to it. Pros Music: Very good. Dark, moody and atmospheric. Perfect for the game subject matter. Don't want a shooter or another FPS game? Support real games with great controls and a great story that's original and fun! get "Silent Hill: Shattered Memories" I am not a "fanboy" of any company. I love and respect all, but I love and respect games even more, Please support great games that do something different...That's actually good. I'm assuming people who purchase "Heavy Rain" are for something different, but I hope gamers will realize what is hype and what is good. "Shattered Memories" is ART, not "Heavy Rain" Expand
  25. JamesS.
    Mar 3, 2010
    3
    [***SPOILERS***] Rather than deal with the two-dimensional characters, the rushed relationships between them, and the awkwardly forced way in which Origami Killer suspects are created, I want to focus instead on Heavy Rain's worst and most glaring fault -- the Origami Killer himself. This revelation, and all the problems it causes, absolutely wrecked the plot for me, and was easily [***SPOILERS***] Rather than deal with the two-dimensional characters, the rushed relationships between them, and the awkwardly forced way in which Origami Killer suspects are created, I want to focus instead on Heavy Rain's worst and most glaring fault -- the Origami Killer himself. This revelation, and all the problems it causes, absolutely wrecked the plot for me, and was easily the biggest reason that myself and many others refuse to hail it as a masterpiece. Obviously, huge spoilers are contained in the rest of my comment. If you have finished Heavy Rain, or don't intend to play it, feel free to read on. I enjoyed playing Heavy Rain. However, judged as a piece of fiction -- as a story -- Heavy Rain is awful. If it were the movie David Cage so desperately wishes it to be, it would be laughed out of a film festival and torn to shreds by critics who are used to far better. Hell, even as gamers, we are used to better stories than this. The game starts slow, begins to get quite interesting in the middle section, and very nearly achieves something special. However, just when things are really ramping up, Quantic Dream throws in one of the worst twists ever seen, pulled from the bowels of M. Night Shamalan's most convoluted nightmares. Scott Shelby is the Origami Killer. Wait, what? The overweight asthmatic in his fifties whom we play as for a majority of the game? WHAT A TWIST! Of course, that's the reaction Quantic Dream was hoping to achieve. The developers of Heavy Rain had attempted to pull the wool over our eyes and dazzle us with something we could not have predicted. For a few gullible people, it worked. They were so amazed at this highly innovative approach -- to make our very own hands guide the Origami Killer unwittingly -- that they failed to see not only how predictable such a move would be, but also ignored all the plot holes, red herrings and blatant lies that the game included up to that moment. First of all, let us tackle the idea of a player character being the killer. It was predictable. I called that the moment I started playing. The game even introduced the idea to us by unsubtly attempting to make players believe that Ethan Mars, another playable character, was the killer. Ethan's blackouts, and his outright statements that he was the killer, were not only part of a vary obvious and underhanded attempt to fool the player, but also helped to telegraph the "twist" of a player character being the shocktastic antagonist. Speaking of Ethan's blackouts, were they ever explained? Not during my playthrough, and not during the playthrough of anybody else I know. I mean, outside of an "oh he's got trauma which we'll mention in a brief aside to try and cover up this deus ex machina and then we'll never mention it again LOL!" Such an integral plot device ought to have been definitely addressed, cleared up, and had more of an impact on the story rather than be used as a cheap excuse to cover the game's own bullshit, should it not? Not in Heavy Rain, apparently. Not in this alleged tour de force of a videogame narrative. It was nothing but a flagrant deus ex machina, one that was then conveniently tossed out of the story once it became an inconvenience. Not only is this intellectually dishonest, it's downright insulting to assume that the audience would happily forget such a significant part of the plot in order to play along with Quantic's rather convoluted conclusion. Speaking of the game's dishonesty, let's get to the most duplicitous crime the game commits. While a player character being the killer is predictable, it could still have worked quite well and even been hailed as a masterpiece, were it not for one major problem: the game allows you to read player characters' thoughts. Throughout Heavy Rain, you are constantly able to press a shoulder button to read Shelby's mind, and not once does he EVER mention the fact that he's a child murderer, which you'd think would be a predominant thought in the mind of a child murderer who murders children. In fact, he thinks only like a detective trying to catch the Origami Killer. Yeah, that's what he's pretending to be, but why is he pretending it to himself? His actions and feelings don't seem to add up, either. He feels genuine sympathy for other characters, even though serial killers are not known for their ability to empathize with fellow humans. Just take his relationship with Lauren, the mother of one of his victims. His feelings toward her never indicate that he might be worried about, y'know, hanging out with the mother of a kid her killed. At worst, his feelings toward her are summed up with the thought, and I quote, "I don't do partners too well." There is one scene in particular where Shelby has a chance to get rid of Lauren, when she storms out of the car during an argument and says she'll find the killer on her own. Rather than let her go, Shelby feels bad for her, brings her back, and even gives her his coat to shield her from the rain in a touching scene that just wouldn't happen. Shelby seems to have a habit of doing this, too. In moments where he could get away with evidence, which is apparently his goal, he seems to dig himself into a deeper hole. There's a scene with Mrs. Bowles, another mother of a victim, who has attempted to commit suicide. When Shelby sees the suicide note, he laments and curses, and then hurries to save her. The Origami Killer would surely be elated and let her die, giving him full reign to search her trailer for evidence without fear of getting caught. Instead, he potentially incriminates himself by reviving a witness and risking not having an opportunity to search the house without raising suspicion. Going back to Shelby's thoughts, there are too many deliberate red herrings to name, but a few that I took note of are highly conspicuous in the fact that a serial killer would simply not think them. Here are a few prime examples: * "I need a rest, I haven't been sleeping since the murders started up again" -- would he really refer to his own work as "the murders," not only in such an incriminating tone (I've not heard of many serial killers so honest with themselves), but in a way that very clearly implies that they involved somebody else? * "All the newspapers are talking about Shaun Mars, the kid who disappeared" -- again, it's so impersonal. Why would he refer to Shaun as the kid who disappeared when he knows exactly where he is? * "Can't breathe with all this goddamn rain. I hope it stops soon" -- considering Scott uses rainwater to kill his kids, he obviously doesn't want the rain to stop soon. Why would he tell himself that he does? * "Maybe she knows something about the circumstances surrounding her son's death" -- nobody but a private detective thinks like this. If he were the killer, he would not, in such a roundabout way, reference the murder like this. Not unless he's trying to fool someone, and since this is an internal thought process, he can only be breaking the fourth wall and trying to fool the player. * "Said he didn't wanna talk. Might've known something" -- said of the father of one of his victims. Considering Shelby knows exactly what he's sent to the fathers, he knows exactly what he "might've" known. These are just some examples of the thoughts Shelby has, and none of them make sense. There are only two reasons for Shelby's thoughts to be so impersonal and staged. Either Quantic Dream knows nothing about how serial killers or even real people think, or Shelby knows he is in a videogame and is deliberately thinking things to throw us off the scent. Neither are really very good excuses, and one of them means the game is dishonest. The fact of the matter is, the whole mind-reading gimmick was clearly a bad idea because it completely undermined the big plot reveal. You can't delve into the thoughts of a serial killer who hasn't been revealed as a serial killer without those very thoughts making no sense whatsoever. You can't do it without simply ignoring common sense or outright distorting the truth. Then there are examples of evidence that don't work. The killer is determined by Madison and Ethan to be in his forties. Indeed, Scott Shelby was meant to be a child no older than ten in 1977. Why, then, is Scott Shelby clearly a man in his late fifties? Sorry, but don't try to tell me that the character model for Shelby is supposed to represent anybody below the age of fifty. If we're to believe that Scott Shelby isn't on the wrong side of fifty, then I'd say that's a stunning indictment on Quantic Dream's graphics department. No, they were able to construct the faces of the other characters perfectly well. The only explanation that makes sense is that it was another deliberate attempt to lazily hide the truth. Ultimately, Heavy Rain falls victim to its own ambition. It tried too hard to be clever and overshot. Not everything has to have a grand plot twist, and frankly I'd have preferred to see an NPC revealed as the killer. Sure, it may not have been as "shocking," but at least it would have been sensible, and that is more important to me than some gimmicky and hamfisted attempt to surprise. Perhaps something like this could have worked with more care and attention, but it seems that Heavy Rain favored quick fixes and discarded plot devices to actually dealing with any fallout from its plot twist, and anybody with a mind of their own ought to be smart enough to figure that out. If Heavy Rain is truly the pinnacle of video game narrative, then I fear our standards are horrifically low. Sending out the message to publishers that this is what we consider an artistic triumph is terrible. Games can do and have done better than this, but we've now set the bar incredibly low. The high praise for Heavy Rain has effectively sent the message that game writers don't have to try and create a tight, cohesive story. All they need to do is clumsily copy a bunch of classic movies with less than half the care and attention to detail in order to trick people into thinking their game is mature. The overall message seems to be this -- what would be unacceptable in a movie is okay for a video game, because gamers are effing stupid. That's really not the message I'd like to see gamers sending. Expand
  26. AlexandreL
    Mar 3, 2010
    3
    For a game that want to take itself like a movie, they really miss they're shot. Voice acting is horrible, in English, or in French ( since I speak primarily French). Gameplay is non-existent; you walk and use QTEs. The worst part is the terrible incoherent story. Plus there is nothing new in this game but the lack of gameplay.
  27. PierreC
    Mar 1, 2010
    3
    If you talk away the "interactive" aspect of the game, all you'll get is an interesting story with even more uninteresting characters. Oh and here's something else to make you not buy the game. In one scene that lasts about, say, five minutes, you don't have to touch the controller... AT ALL. You could fail at every QTE, get stabbed and you still won't die, I've If you talk away the "interactive" aspect of the game, all you'll get is an interesting story with even more uninteresting characters. Oh and here's something else to make you not buy the game. In one scene that lasts about, say, five minutes, you don't have to touch the controller... AT ALL. You could fail at every QTE, get stabbed and you still won't die, I've tried. However, the scenes completely pointless anyhow because if you DO fail, it was a dream anyhow. Haaaaaaaa, I hate humanity. Expand
  28. KayE
    Feb 28, 2010
    4
    Wow. I don't think i've been so stunned at how incredibly dull a game is. Heavy Rain is one of those silly critics favourite games that only attains critical acclaim because it 'juxtaposes the intricacies of suburban life with the...' blah blah blah. Dull for hours and hours, poor controls, the movement is woeful and the characters are awful, not to mention to voice Wow. I don't think i've been so stunned at how incredibly dull a game is. Heavy Rain is one of those silly critics favourite games that only attains critical acclaim because it 'juxtaposes the intricacies of suburban life with the...' blah blah blah. Dull for hours and hours, poor controls, the movement is woeful and the characters are awful, not to mention to voice acting which makes Arnie and JCVD look class. The father character is one of the worst videogame characters ive ever come across, i ended up trying to kill myself in the game he was such a tool. Heavy Rain has shown me a distrubing direction for gaming and i hope this is avoided, its an even poorer videogame version of the Saw films. Admittedly it has an addictive value and is tempting to continue playing but with depressing storylines and blandness throughout i'd strongly advise just a rental, purely in order to say wow this is atrocious. Expand
  29. BerneG
    Feb 28, 2010
    4
    Gameplay is horrible to begin with. The graphics are not everything, and this game is proof of that. The story is too predictable right from the start. And the development too. Sure, the graphics and the atmosphere were well done, but it is the only positive point. Furthermore, the length of the game is extremely short. Not the best, not the worst.
  30. Mikey
    Feb 28, 2010
    1
    Came in knowing very little about the game and wish I had stayed completely oblivious. I just beat my first play through and whole heartedly recommend that this game be skipped. where to begin, controls that won't move your character where you want him to, embarrassingly horrible voice "acting", plot holes, just...it doesn't work. I don't biuy into these characters, they Came in knowing very little about the game and wish I had stayed completely oblivious. I just beat my first play through and whole heartedly recommend that this game be skipped. where to begin, controls that won't move your character where you want him to, embarrassingly horrible voice "acting", plot holes, just...it doesn't work. I don't biuy into these characters, they move, talk and react like robots almost toa point where it's laughable. No one is supposed to laugh when a kid gets hit by a car but you'll get that only here. Don't know what to say about gameplay. The QTE tricks you into thinking you're part of the action but let's not fool ourselves. Expand
  31. AlexK.
    Feb 28, 2010
    3
    Some of the worst voice acting in a videogame, to date (in compeitition with Shenmue's VA). The "tragoc" event in the first 5 minutes of the game involving a 10 year old kid inexplicably walking away from his parents and of all places head outside to cross a road is a new low in believability and writing. This is but a small sample of factors that take you out of what was intended to Some of the worst voice acting in a videogame, to date (in compeitition with Shenmue's VA). The "tragoc" event in the first 5 minutes of the game involving a 10 year old kid inexplicably walking away from his parents and of all places head outside to cross a road is a new low in believability and writing. This is but a small sample of factors that take you out of what was intended to be an emotional ride but ends up being so laughably awful, you may not care for what comes next. 4 hours in and I never did. Expand
  32. WillS
    Feb 27, 2010
    4
    A slow, dull, boring game concept: a cinematic game made up almost entirely of quicktime events, that takes place in a dull gray-brown colored world where people's lip movements are off. No thanks. This is not a game. This is the death of gaming if the public lets it live up to the acclaim and praise all of the critics are pouring onto it like a heavy rain. Buy and umbrella and A slow, dull, boring game concept: a cinematic game made up almost entirely of quicktime events, that takes place in a dull gray-brown colored world where people's lip movements are off. No thanks. This is not a game. This is the death of gaming if the public lets it live up to the acclaim and praise all of the critics are pouring onto it like a heavy rain. Buy and umbrella and don't play it. Expand
  33. AlexS
    Feb 26, 2010
    1
    It's very very bad.. I can't believe I waisted 10 hours of my life on this game. Actually I had to force myself to get to the end of it. Better not, the ending is unbelievably dumb. My advice: better watch those walkthrough videos on youtube, you'll save yourself 60 bucks and will not lose any experience btw. End of rant.
  34. DaveG
    Feb 26, 2010
    1
    The graphics aren't that great. That's the good news. I was never as bored in my entire life as I was playing this "game". I gave Heavy Rain 2hrs worth of undivided attention and I came away with the inability to speak clearly and I couldn't seem to find my way around the house for about a day. DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS TYPE OF PUNISHMENT!!!
  35. gnapoug
    Feb 26, 2010
    2
    Interactive movie. Why not... But the main problem is that Heavy Rain, is just a interactive BAD movie. With the "brownish" color palette, Heavy Rain could intrigue with the David Fincher's Zodiac look, but the Story telling is amateurish, the acting is bad. Characters have nothing to rely on emotionnaly. Heavy Rain gave the player the feeling that David Cage is too busy watching Interactive movie. Why not... But the main problem is that Heavy Rain, is just a interactive BAD movie. With the "brownish" color palette, Heavy Rain could intrigue with the David Fincher's Zodiac look, but the Story telling is amateurish, the acting is bad. Characters have nothing to rely on emotionnaly. Heavy Rain gave the player the feeling that David Cage is too busy watching himself "creating" instead of offering the player, at least, a satisfying movie to watch. Heavy Rain is not even as interesting as a non-interactive benchmark demo. You want a interactive-cinematic experience? Get Uncharted 2. You'll have the thrill, the emotional and charismatic characters, without the pretention. Expand
  36. Ryusennin
    Feb 26, 2010
    4
    You've already heard everything about Heavy Rain. It's the best thing since sliced bread. Its graphics blow Uncharted 2 out of the water. Its interactive storytelling is a revolution. Bullshit. Heavy Rain is a souped up spiritual and technical sequel to Fahrenheit. It presents the same qualities (an intriguing yet repetitive gameplay which tries too much to copycat Shenmue You've already heard everything about Heavy Rain. It's the best thing since sliced bread. Its graphics blow Uncharted 2 out of the water. Its interactive storytelling is a revolution. Bullshit. Heavy Rain is a souped up spiritual and technical sequel to Fahrenheit. It presents the same qualities (an intriguing yet repetitive gameplay which tries too much to copycat Shenmue without ever being able to equal it or even understand it) and the very same flaws. Technically, it's not stunning. Character graphics are nicely done, but the whole affair is largely inferior to other mocap achievements like Uncharted or Heavenly Sword. The game is littered with glitches -- I personally didn't encounter any serious showstopper, but apparently many people have suffered from aggravating bugs and even profile corruption. The most serious flaw of Fahrenheit was its downright mediocre ending. Just imagine David Lynch concluding his Twin Peaks series with an over-the-top air fight obviously inspired by Matrix 3 (complete with conspiracies about artificial intelligences and Mayan prophecies). Yeah, I bet you didn't see that coming either. Heavy Rain unfortunately goes the same way with an impossible Deux Ex Machina final twist, and once again proves that the failed moviemaker David De Grutolla (aka David Cage in English-speaking countries) is a decent director but an awful and amateur scriptwriter. Is Heavy Rain the "revolution" of videogaming? Heck no. Not even close. In five years, it will be remembered the same way as the FMV games from the mid-1990s. A strange yet futile gameplay experiment, with an appaling narrative by a wannabe David Fincher. David Cage is really turning into the Uwe Boll of videogames. Expand
  37. KarlC
    Feb 25, 2010
    4
    If I wanted an interactive experience where my actions and choices were reflected in the story, a chose your own adventure book would have done the job far better than this game. Graphics aren't everything and all the game achieves is to be a semi interactive movie that has mind numbingly dumb plots.
  38. AndrewB
    Feb 24, 2010
    0
    Heavy rain looks nice, but it crashes the Ps3 quite badly. After rebooting, my Ps3 brings up a blue service menu letting me know that Heavy Rain has damaged my profile and the data on the disc. Following that I was taken back to the PS3 initial setup menu. I've got my Ps3 back to "working", but my DLC seems to be wiped out. Heavy Rain also won't start. It looks like I need to Heavy rain looks nice, but it crashes the Ps3 quite badly. After rebooting, my Ps3 brings up a blue service menu letting me know that Heavy Rain has damaged my profile and the data on the disc. Following that I was taken back to the PS3 initial setup menu. I've got my Ps3 back to "working", but my DLC seems to be wiped out. Heavy Rain also won't start. It looks like I need to format the drive, and re-download things where I can. Expand
  39. JohnS
    Feb 24, 2010
    2
    Simply awful. What was supposed to be an engaging cinematic experience was detracted from by QTEs and horrible voice acting. Far too much emphasis on "choices" that for the most part don't actually matter. Should have been a movie and gone with a less hopelessly convoluted plot.
  40. NickM
    Feb 24, 2010
    0
    Heavy Rain is incredibly dull. The story is slow & dull, the gameplay is just a bunch of quick time events & overall the only good thing about this game is the graphics. But graphics don't make a good game! And I know Sony fanboys are going to say that I'm a 360 fanboy & this game rules & that I'm just some moron who can't appreciate a game with a good story & deep Heavy Rain is incredibly dull. The story is slow & dull, the gameplay is just a bunch of quick time events & overall the only good thing about this game is the graphics. But graphics don't make a good game! And I know Sony fanboys are going to say that I'm a 360 fanboy & this game rules & that I'm just some moron who can't appreciate a game with a good story & deep meanings. But I don't care. Because I'm not a 360 fanboy & the story is just plain out slow & dull! So as a game Heavy Rain fails & as a movie critics would tear it apart because of its slow & dull story! So in the end the only thing Heavy Rain succeeds at is having great graphics. But like I already said, graphics don't make a good game! So I suggest that you avoid Heavy Rain, unless your one of those graphics whores who doesn't care about story or gameplay or stuff that makes a game GOOD! Expand
  41. DanielT
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    Wow, what a disappointment. Pretty, but not much else. The gameplay leaves much to be desired, as it involves just watching a movie with a few correlating button presses as indicated on-screen. Is this what gaming has come to? This isn't art, this is a failed attempt at trying to be different, and ultimately ending up with nothing more than a shiny frisby disc for your dog.
  42. ZackN
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    This game is just plain out boring. The story is slow & boring & the "gameplay" is just a series of dull quick time events. Heavy Rain is just so boring that its terrible! It fails at being a game, it fails at being a movie & it just plain out FAILS! And before anyone says it, I'm not a 360 fanboy! I don't care what platform Heavy Rain is on, its just plain out boring! Whether This game is just plain out boring. The story is slow & boring & the "gameplay" is just a series of dull quick time events. Heavy Rain is just so boring that its terrible! It fails at being a game, it fails at being a movie & it just plain out FAILS! And before anyone says it, I'm not a 360 fanboy! I don't care what platform Heavy Rain is on, its just plain out boring! Whether its on the PS3 or 360! Expand
  43. ChrisC
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & story is what matters! And the gameplay is just a series of quick time events, the prologue is incredibly dull & the story doesn't start getting interesting until near the middle & overall this game is just boring. I mean Heavy Rain tries its I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & story is what matters! And the gameplay is just a series of quick time events, the prologue is incredibly dull & the story doesn't start getting interesting until near the middle & overall this game is just boring. I mean Heavy Rain tries its hardest to be a video game & movie at the same time & ends up failing miserably! Now I know everyone is going to claim I'm a 360 fanboy, but I'm not! I'm just someone who is voicing his opinion on this overrated & dull game! Expand
  44. ClarkG.
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    Bad acting, weird facial animation, absurd and cliche story. How are we supposed to feel concern about what's happening on screen. I finally understand how overestimated it was, when I had this reflex to skip the cut-scene. But well, I couldn't, because the whole game is a bad cut-scene.
  45. WilliamT
    Feb 23, 2010
    1
    The most exciting parts in Heavy Rains are... the trailers. Heavy Rain is 30h long, if you have enough courage to get all the ending. But before watching those, you'll have to endure 20h of approximative, repetitive, useless sequences. It looks more like a unedited movie, where all the rushes have been put into the final cut. In the end, Heavy Rains lacks of substance, and emotion.
  46. EmberD
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    The controls are rubbish. When I say bad, this does not do it justice. The controls are HORRIBLE. Almost not playable bad. Than we have the glitches that get you totally out of the story. People floating in the air when you talk to them... really floating... And the low resolution textures look absolutely last gen. This game is more like a bad B movie. You think you will at least have The controls are rubbish. When I say bad, this does not do it justice. The controls are HORRIBLE. Almost not playable bad. Than we have the glitches that get you totally out of the story. People floating in the air when you talk to them... really floating... And the low resolution textures look absolutely last gen. This game is more like a bad B movie. You think you will at least have SOME fun but you will not. You will be frustrated and bring the game back to the store. Expand
  47. gnapoug
    Feb 23, 2010
    1
    Interactive movie. Why not... But the main problem is that Heavy Rain, is just a interactive BAD movie. With the "brownish" color palette, Heavy Rain could intrigue with the David Fincher's Zodiac look, but the Story telling is amateurish, the acting is bad. Characters have nothing to rely on emotionnaly. Heavy Rain gave the player the feeling that David Cage is too busy watching Interactive movie. Why not... But the main problem is that Heavy Rain, is just a interactive BAD movie. With the "brownish" color palette, Heavy Rain could intrigue with the David Fincher's Zodiac look, but the Story telling is amateurish, the acting is bad. Characters have nothing to rely on emotionnaly. Heavy Rain gave the player the feeling that David Cage is too busy watching himself "creating" instead of offering the player, at least, a satisfying movie to watch. Heavy Rain is not even as interesting as a non-interactive benchmark demo. You want a interactive-cinematic experience? Get Uncharted 2. You'll have the thrill, the emotional and charismatic characters, without the pretention. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]