• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 23, 2010
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2490 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    I literally just finished this game moments ago (the credits are currently rolling) and feel blown away. :) This is without question one of the greatest games ever produced. I loved every minute of it. The graphics, setting, mood, music, storyline, etc. are across-the-board excellent. If this is the direction that gaming is headed, I can't wait for future releases. The current user scoreI literally just finished this game moments ago (the credits are currently rolling) and feel blown away. :) This is without question one of the greatest games ever produced. I loved every minute of it. The graphics, setting, mood, music, storyline, etc. are across-the-board excellent. If this is the direction that gaming is headed, I can't wait for future releases. The current user score of 6.6 is absolutely ludicrous. I suspect that many of these negative reviews have been written by kids who simply are incapable of appreciating something of sophisticated as "Heavy Rain." I can't wait to see what David Cage dreams up next. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    I really wanted to hate this game so much. I think David Cage is hideously pretentious as a person, and I hated Farenheit, but the shere brilliance of Heavy rain has forced me to take a complete U turn! Not only did I enjoy playing it, I loved playing it. It's one of the first game's that I've found myself actually caring about in the same way that I'd care about the story in a film. TheI really wanted to hate this game so much. I think David Cage is hideously pretentious as a person, and I hated Farenheit, but the shere brilliance of Heavy rain has forced me to take a complete U turn! Not only did I enjoy playing it, I loved playing it. It's one of the first game's that I've found myself actually caring about in the same way that I'd care about the story in a film. The story itself is pretty good. There's a few plot holes and a few red herrings that you notice when you finish the game, but there are also a few moments of unbridled brilliance, and the influence you have over what happens really involves you. There were a few moments when I was faced with tough decisions that really blew my mind! Absoulatly blew me away. Buy it, NOW!! Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don'tThis game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don't listen to the bad reviews of the game that you see here. If you are an action junkie then this game is simply not for you. If you are truly looking for a new game to try then I highly recommend playing this game. Kudos to you Quantic Dream for trying out something new and having great success with it! Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    There has been a lot of complaints about how this game is an "interactive movie" etc but that is defidently not a bad thing. Heavy Rain plays out as an action/mystery/thriller story with Resident Evil 4-like cutscene controls. You also can walk around lots of times but the controls aren't that great when walking around. While there are some downsides to this game they are all overshadowedThere has been a lot of complaints about how this game is an "interactive movie" etc but that is defidently not a bad thing. Heavy Rain plays out as an action/mystery/thriller story with Resident Evil 4-like cutscene controls. You also can walk around lots of times but the controls aren't that great when walking around. While there are some downsides to this game they are all overshadowed by it's tremendous storyline. This litterally may be the best story in every single game I have played in my life. (Move aside Mass Effect 2) Also the graphics are really good, ranging from good to absoluty stunning (the close ups of the peoples' faces in between chapters) Overall this game is an absolute masterpiece! 10/10 Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. The graphics really show what the ps3 can do and the sound draws you in. Control wise the simple system serves to put you in authority but not detach you from the experience. In terms of story it really is blockbuster stuff and could easily be a movie!
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    The only con I could find with a magnifying glass would be some visual glitches, and that happened maybe three times the entire game, the game is that perfect. At first I wasn't sure what to think of it since it was moving along so slowly, but man it blew my mind. The characters are so finely tuned and well executed and voice acted. The story is terrifying and intense. The visuals areThe only con I could find with a magnifying glass would be some visual glitches, and that happened maybe three times the entire game, the game is that perfect. At first I wasn't sure what to think of it since it was moving along so slowly, but man it blew my mind. The characters are so finely tuned and well executed and voice acted. The story is terrifying and intense. The visuals are fantastic there's really nothing negative to say about this game, it's still just as revolutionary over 3 years after its release, PLAY THIS GAME. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    um jogo incrível, cuja experiência aumenta gradativamente com a trama. Pra quem quer um game com um ótimo enredo, tensão e principalmente inovação, não vai se arrepender.
  8. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    By now, I'm sure you've heard about "Heavy Rain." Critics loved it, gamers were rather polarized by it. You either love it or hate it. I love it. The storyline is well-written, the characters are great, the soundtrack is outstanding, the graphics are phenomenal, and the gameplay gives you plenty of control and the many choice-based system only puts icing on the cake of what is a fantasticBy now, I'm sure you've heard about "Heavy Rain." Critics loved it, gamers were rather polarized by it. You either love it or hate it. I love it. The storyline is well-written, the characters are great, the soundtrack is outstanding, the graphics are phenomenal, and the gameplay gives you plenty of control and the many choice-based system only puts icing on the cake of what is a fantastic journey.
    Even despite the game's insanely high score, I'll admit that "Heavy Rain" is not free from problems. Although the storyline is well-written, there are a few plot holes and unexplained plot devices (Norman Jayden's ARI and Triptocaine) and, although the acting is solid, there is some awkward line delivery. Even so, the plot actually manages to keep you thinking and asking questions long after you finish the game and it emotionally connects to you like few other games can. Translation: If you can get past the game's minor issues, "Heavy Rain" is a wonder to behold.
    Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This is the first time I score a game with a 10/10. The story line is perfect, beautiful soundtrack, and a gameplay who helps to empathize with the characters. Surprising ending.
  10. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    Heavy Rain aims to create a new genre of gaming. It's an incredible, interactive experience for mature minded gamers looking to live an intricate plot through the eyes of the story's protagonists. Each choice you make, affects the final outcome. There are several main and sub-plot endings. There are numerous action sequences throughout the game, but all are story-driven. If you preferHeavy Rain aims to create a new genre of gaming. It's an incredible, interactive experience for mature minded gamers looking to live an intricate plot through the eyes of the story's protagonists. Each choice you make, affects the final outcome. There are several main and sub-plot endings. There are numerous action sequences throughout the game, but all are story-driven. If you prefer mindless violence and spend 90% or more of your gaming time playing First Person Shooters online, then this mature experience is probably NOT for you. If you love stories with complex characters who have substance and prefer, or are open-minded to, a great "whodunnit" interactive crime drama experience, you absolutely MUST try this game. It's like nothing you've ever played on a console before. Expand
  11. May 22, 2011
    10
    Simply brilliant awesomeness. The story sucks you in and you feel apart of the game. One of the best games I have played in a long time......... 10star!!
  12. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    i was obsessed with this game. the plot is amazing. it feels like an interactive movie at times but that is what i like. i empathized with all of the characters and loved the amazing and believable voice acting. the graphics are gorgeous and make this a truly fun modern adventure game. 10/10 for satisfaction and love
  13. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Best game I've ever played in my 28 years of gaming. Amazing, emotional, heart pounding, engaging. I think people who rated this low don't understand that everything you do changes the outcome of the entire game as you go along. There are thousands and thousands of combinations of outcomes, and it all depends on your own actions. Deep game. Never heard anyone (who knew what they wereBest game I've ever played in my 28 years of gaming. Amazing, emotional, heart pounding, engaging. I think people who rated this low don't understand that everything you do changes the outcome of the entire game as you go along. There are thousands and thousands of combinations of outcomes, and it all depends on your own actions. Deep game. Never heard anyone (who knew what they were doing) say any different. Expand
  14. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Surely an amazing game! Great storyline, very immersive and well produced. Since I knew Indigo Prophecy for PS2, from the same developer, the similar QTE system was quite expected. I see some people here complaining about the gameplay because it's what it is. These people should play "Dragon's Lair" or "Space Ace" and think again, lol. But really, this game impressed me a lot, even a yearSurely an amazing game! Great storyline, very immersive and well produced. Since I knew Indigo Prophecy for PS2, from the same developer, the similar QTE system was quite expected. I see some people here complaining about the gameplay because it's what it is. These people should play "Dragon's Lair" or "Space Ace" and think again, lol. But really, this game impressed me a lot, even a year later it was released. Had to play it for a few days until I could watch all endings and get all trophies. Shame it wasn't raining those days. Expand
  15. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    Great game, amazing storytelling, intriguing, interesting, captivating. A different subgenre of video games... more like interactive movies? It needs to be experienced to be understood.
  16. May 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I rented this game thinking it was going to be terrible, but the story is so damn good, the fight/ interaction scenes were tense and fun. I also had a rare funny ending, at the end when they are fighting on top of the warehouse, whenever I pressed x I could hear the father yelling shaun from inside, it made the game even sweeter. Expand
  17. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of ps3 and the gameplay is unique and not just QTE and the story keeps getting better and the camera view is rare in game now and the fact that the storyline changes with every thing you do is fantastic
  18. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    I loved this game!...If you're looking for a game with originality than this game is for you. I love the QTE it makes you think fast and make tough decisions. If you want a game that is story oriented and gives you an emotional high this is that game. I had so much fun playing this game and it had a lot of memorable moments. Most people who don't like these kind of games are usualllyI loved this game!...If you're looking for a game with originality than this game is for you. I love the QTE it makes you think fast and make tough decisions. If you want a game that is story oriented and gives you an emotional high this is that game. I had so much fun playing this game and it had a lot of memorable moments. Most people who don't like these kind of games are usuallly hardcore FPS fans who don't have the patience to play through a depth story driven game. Anyone that doesn't at least appreciate this game doesn't have much taste for a new and different genre. Heavy Rain is a fantastic game that everyone should give a chance. You would be missing out if you did. Expand
  19. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    this game is truly different ,and that is what makes it so good it literally feels like a movie except you control what happens .at the end of the day i think everybody needs to play this game
  20. Apr 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of my PS3 favourites. The atmosphere is really captive; I was truly sweating when the car slipped down from the bridge. The game forced to make more / immoral decisions and touched one's emotions. I think you could not ask for more. Expand
  21. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    The proof that a combination of cinema and video-games can be outstanding! The plot can be an addiction! I really couldn't let down the controller until the very end! Graphics are also amazing even the slightest detail is well-developed!
  22. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    At the time I saw the user score at 6.6. And that just ain't right. This game is incredible from start to finish (once you get past the first hour). Graphics are outstanding, the controls could use some work, story is a 10/10, charcarter development is excellent and the gameplay gets better as the progresses. I have played through the game three times. The game is much more suited toAt the time I saw the user score at 6.6. And that just ain't right. This game is incredible from start to finish (once you get past the first hour). Graphics are outstanding, the controls could use some work, story is a 10/10, charcarter development is excellent and the gameplay gets better as the progresses. I have played through the game three times. The game is much more suited to the gamer with a bit of intelligence and those who love a great story. Expand
  23. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Before you even consider this buying or renting game, you have to ask yourself a question. That question is "Do I like quick time events?". If you do, great! The majority of this game is made up of quick time events and we're already off to a good start here. If you don't, fair enough, they're not to everyone's taste, but I'd recommend you hang around and hear a bit more about the game.Before you even consider this buying or renting game, you have to ask yourself a question. That question is "Do I like quick time events?". If you do, great! The majority of this game is made up of quick time events and we're already off to a good start here. If you don't, fair enough, they're not to everyone's taste, but I'd recommend you hang around and hear a bit more about the game. You see, I'm fairly indifferent on quick time events. For those who don't know, they're basically interactive cut-scenes in which you press buttons when prompted to. Whether or not you manage to successfully press the right buttons decides what will happen. Heavy Rain's gameplay is odd. It's mostly walking around and examining different everyday objects, or doing everyday things, and, of course, quick time events. To me, that sounded pretty boring, as walking around in a videogame can't be nothing short of mundane, and as I mentioned, I'm indifferent to quick time events, so they don't exactly excite me. In spite of all this, I decided to give the game a go anyway at the recommendation of a co-worker. I'll have to admit this though, I think it's purely my indifference that made me tolerate the gameplay. There's nothing in this game that will suddenly make you enjoy slow paced gameplay or quick time events if you despise them already. Heavy Rain doesn't set out to convert, it set's out to show those who are willing to give it a chance what I masterpiece they can do with that style of gameplay. The instantaneous hook for me was the presentation and the story. Heavy Rain's plot is, frankly, fantastic, and the graphics,voice acting and motion capture are of such good quality that it compliments the story to no end. It's hard to explain much of the story without spoilers, so my brief outline will have to do. A serial killer known as the Origami Killer is on the loose. The Killer kidnaps young boys consistently, who are then missing for several days before being found dead at random locations, origami figure in hand. You take on the roles of Ethan Mars, an architect, Scott Shelby, a private investigator, Norman Jayden, an FBI agent and Madison Paige, a photojournalist, all of whom have found themselves one way or another wrapped within the most recent disappearance, trying to bring the killer to justice. The story is engaging, dramatic, addictive and is on par in quality with real life murder drama TV series. Any doubts I had about the gameplay were thrown out of the window due to the sheer desire to find out what happens next. The best thing about the game is it's likely to be very different every time you play, and different for every person. Due to the nature of the gameplay, the game is very dynamic. In other games, failing or doing badly in a quick time event will just mean a "Game Over" leading you to do it again until you get it right. In Heavy Rain, for the most part this does not apply. The game continues down very different paths based on your actions in both quick time events and the general decisions you make. Sometimes this might only lead to a small change, such as deciding to go one direction before another, but the consequences of other decisions can be dire, even leading to the death of a character, or even your own character! If you're not careful, you may find yourself at the end of the story with all four of your protagonists deceased, and get the appropriate ending. While I praise this style of gameplay, meaning each run is tailored to the whims of the player, it can have it's drawbacks. Given the sometimes frantic pace, or misleading button instructions, you'll find yourself making errors that lead to consequences or events you didn't desire. It's frustrating when these aren't intentional. For example, you're interrogating a witness, and you wish to press "sympathise", but accidentally press "question further" which leads to unwanted results that could very well affect the overall story. There's a degree of satisfaction when you're intentional choices manifest within the story, but upsetting when those you made by accident do instead. You'll then have to battle the urge to restart the game and try again, as it sort of goes against the very point of the game being a unique experience. So this is something to be wary of. Ultimately, Heavy Rain is interesting. That's what it's got going for it. The plot is engaging and I found myself yearning to know what happens next and that's what kept me playing. If you know you're going to hate the gameplay style, then I don't think this is for you, but if you're indifferent like me, or curious, then by all means go for it and I doubt you'll be disappointed. However, do try and fight the temptation to make things go your way throughout the game, and try and maintain spontaneous decisions to get the most out of this wonderful game. Expand
  24. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of my favorite game ever. If you want to sit down to one of the most gripping stories in gaming with one of the most intuitive and fun control scheme's ever, then this is the game for you. Replay value is also one of the highest of any game because every scene can have a different outcome and no play- through will be exactly the same. I simply can't recommend this enough.
  25. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Wow, what should I say? First, this game is unique. It´s like playing a thriller movie where your choices really change the ending. Second, amazing graphics (all in my home where surprised with how real it looked), great story and not so predictable as a few users said. And third, I really enjoy this kind of games, but I get that It´s not for everybody. Sometimes the pacing is slow and theWow, what should I say? First, this game is unique. It´s like playing a thriller movie where your choices really change the ending. Second, amazing graphics (all in my home where surprised with how real it looked), great story and not so predictable as a few users said. And third, I really enjoy this kind of games, but I get that It´s not for everybody. Sometimes the pacing is slow and the atmosphere depressing, but took me a few days to complete it and was worth all the time. Rare, interesting and one of a kind. Expand
  26. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    One of the best games of this generation. A truly moving, emotional game. A dark, gritty, and heartbreaking crime drama for the ages. This is, without a doubt, a game that every PS3 owner needs to experience.
  27. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    I like this game it has a really interesting story and depending on how you play the game and the choices you make you will get different endings so you could play it more than once and still have a different story at the end I like the mystery and how you have to find out where your characters son is and the challenges you have to do to get clues to where and who took your son. I alsoI like this game it has a really interesting story and depending on how you play the game and the choices you make you will get different endings so you could play it more than once and still have a different story at the end I like the mystery and how you have to find out where your characters son is and the challenges you have to do to get clues to where and who took your son. I also like how realistic the characters look. Expand
  28. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    Great game and great story, starts a little slow but picks up into an incredible story. Cool fight scenes and similar to telltale games in the story telling and gameplay. Must have for ps3 exclusive!
  29. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    what should i say epic game which have an amazing story line which will make you feel as if its a movie with no time to catch your breath every character will make interact with it with its unique adventure honestly its the best game i have ever played
  30. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    -Review BRAZIL- "Heavy Rain" é um thriller dramático centrado em torno de quatro protagonistas envolvidos no mistério do "Assassino do Origami", um serial killer que ataca em períodos de chuva intensa para afogar as suas vítimas. "Heavy Rain" é um título exclusivo de PS3 e sem dúvida um-Review BRAZIL- "Heavy Rain" é um thriller dramático centrado em torno de quatro protagonistas envolvidos no mistério do "Assassino do Origami", um serial killer que ataca em períodos de chuva intensa para afogar as suas vítimas. "Heavy Rain" é um título exclusivo de PS3 e sem dúvida um dos melhores jogos que já joguei, parece um filme em que você é o diretor e controla os personagens e faz os finais a sua maneira. Boa jogabilidade e um dos gráficos mais belos desta geração. NOTA 10. Expand
  31. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    This is the top-highest-best-ever-played-game i've seen and i've played in my entire life. This... hmm "product" (bad word, i'm sorry) is not just a game, but a bridge between the movie industry and a game development. We're living in a very good times, and i hope to live long enough to take a part of this incredible revolution. And... I'd hope i can work with a Quantic Dream studio inThis is the top-highest-best-ever-played-game i've seen and i've played in my entire life. This... hmm "product" (bad word, i'm sorry) is not just a game, but a bridge between the movie industry and a game development. We're living in a very good times, and i hope to live long enough to take a part of this incredible revolution. And... I'd hope i can work with a Quantic Dream studio in nearest not so far future... Expand
  32. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Heavy rain is truly revolutionary in design. This game changes the whole concept of what a game is, what it can be, what it should be. Heavy Rain is a riveting thriller that grabs you and makes you care about the characters, the decisions you have to make and the ramifications of those decisions. It is awesomely spectacular in the most mundane ways (which is a feat in itself). IHeavy rain is truly revolutionary in design. This game changes the whole concept of what a game is, what it can be, what it should be. Heavy Rain is a riveting thriller that grabs you and makes you care about the characters, the decisions you have to make and the ramifications of those decisions. It is awesomely spectacular in the most mundane ways (which is a feat in itself). I eagerly look forward to the next Quantic Dream title. Who says that video games cannot be art? This game just proved that it is. Expand
  33. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Heavy Rain is a beautiful example of introducing a unique gameplay mixed with an exciting story. Multiple endings and the different characters you get to play make this a game a 10.
  34. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely stunning. A masterpiece. Beautiful music and story. At last a mature game that offers something different than the usual gameing experiences. This is the kind of game that makes me want to spend my money and my time on. Can´t wait for the next Quantic Dreams game.
  35. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Heavy Rain is in short, a dramatic mystery investigation movie. However, in this movie you get to interact with the objects and people around you. You play as four very different characters an FBI agent on the case of the origami killer, a Privet investigator who has been on the case for years now, a depressed father who has enough on his plate already, and a journalist. At first you haveHeavy Rain is in short, a dramatic mystery investigation movie. However, in this movie you get to interact with the objects and people around you. You play as four very different characters an FBI agent on the case of the origami killer, a Privet investigator who has been on the case for years now, a depressed father who has enough on his plate already, and a journalist. At first you have no idea how they are connected, if at all. As you delve deeper into the plot you uncover clues and leads and you get to make your own opinions. With these opinions you can make actions, and every action no matter how small plays a part on the outcome. Speaking of outcomes there are over 20 different endings to the game. The story is perplexing and riveting giving this game a 10/10! Wait a minute... Didn't I score this a 9/10? The reason behind this is simply because of how clunky the controls are I went through the entire game many many hours of game play. Still after all those hours there are points in the game where I can not walk in the direction I please. The camera angles switching 180 degrees only ads to my confusion. Although, all in all this is a must have game for the play station owner and I feel as though it is one of the best games of this generation. You know a game really strikes you when your emotions start to influence the decisions you make in the game. I caught myself yelling at my screen full of nothing but prescript-ed animations. I was not yelling at another player on Battlefield 3 for killing me with the modded M26 Dart I was yelling because the story had sucked me into the game. That is when you know it is good. Expand
  36. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    A ten may seem high to a lot of people, and even though this game does have some problems ( in my opinion the controls were sometimes difficult), when I completed it, I was in awe of what I had seen and done while playing. The haunting musical score is incredible as you make your way through the game. The graphics are simply amazing. And finally the story is one of the best written IA ten may seem high to a lot of people, and even though this game does have some problems ( in my opinion the controls were sometimes difficult), when I completed it, I was in awe of what I had seen and done while playing. The haunting musical score is incredible as you make your way through the game. The graphics are simply amazing. And finally the story is one of the best written I have ever seen in a video game. So even with somewhat awkward controls at times, I found myself thoroughly engaged by this game. Expand
  37. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    A game with beautiful graphics, half the time you feel like it's a movie witch makes in memorable from all other games out there. It has such emotion, Ethan Mars is my favorite character because you really feel his pain especially if you get a sad ending. The voice acting is GOOD and the soundtrack is OUTSTANDING.
  38. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The most awesome game I've played after god of war.
    I couldn't believe that one of the charectors would be the killer.
    It's really amazing and I'm going to keep playing until I see all endings.
    Expand
  39. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    Such a great game. Nice graphics, epic story, epic great soundtrack and epic final episode ! I love this game I owe this game. And also I will play Beyond : Two Souls!
  40. Oct 1, 2010
    9
    In my life, I have played a lot of AAA games. Some of them remain in my mind, and Heavy Rain is one of them. It an exquisite fruit of eden.

    Heavy Rain is one of these games you love, or hate. If someone wants a console to only play shooters... well, don´t play it. It is a game for those who love complex stories, those who like feelings, the cinema, those who want to be part
    In my life, I have played a lot of AAA games. Some of them remain in my mind, and Heavy Rain is one of them. It an exquisite fruit of eden.

    Heavy Rain is one of these games you love, or hate. If someone wants a console to only play shooters... well, don´t play it. It is a game for those who love complex stories, those who like feelings, the cinema, those who want to be part of a story.

    It hasn´t got the best technology, but doesn´t need it. Heavy Rain has the technology that is needed.

    Good Bless David Cage
    Expand
  41. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite games 2010. It's a brilliant game that every hardcore gamer should experience!
    If you don't have a ps3 this is a great reason to buy it!
  42. May 20, 2011
    9
    This game was amazing. great story great plot and fun to play.There is no other game like this(excluding the developers first game) and is so good. the reason i give it an 9 is because of the slow beginning (Though it is necessary) and the way you walk can be difficult at times and sometimes the voice actors accents slip through other than that it works great. This is one of the few gamesThis game was amazing. great story great plot and fun to play.There is no other game like this(excluding the developers first game) and is so good. the reason i give it an 9 is because of the slow beginning (Though it is necessary) and the way you walk can be difficult at times and sometimes the voice actors accents slip through other than that it works great. This is one of the few games i actually tried to get platinum on because there is so replayability in it. so everybody should go out and buy this game. Expand
  43. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    Heavy Rain isn't your average every day shoot em up. The creators of Heavy Rain took a risk making such a different game, and I must admit, I had my doubts about it. As many people have said before, this game is more of an interactive movie then a video game but this does not make it any less enjoyable. As you progress through the game, you get more and more sucked into the story as youHeavy Rain isn't your average every day shoot em up. The creators of Heavy Rain took a risk making such a different game, and I must admit, I had my doubts about it. As many people have said before, this game is more of an interactive movie then a video game but this does not make it any less enjoyable. As you progress through the game, you get more and more sucked into the story as you meet new characters and get a step closer to solving the mystery. This game did not fail to please. The numerous different endings meant you could play over again several times, without the same thing happening again. And if you don't feel like going through the slow beginning again, you can restart from any point in the game. As much as i enjoyed playing it, it did have it's flaws. One of the most irritating had to be the game freezing at certain points, meaning I had to restart my PS3. Also at times the textures took a while to load, but I'm not too bothered about that. Heavy Rain is a brilliant work of art and it is definitely worth buying / renting. It sucks the player into the game a provides an experience that will leave you on the edge of your seats. For these reasons I am giving this game a 9/10 score. Expand
  44. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I got this game and the first thing I had to say after having a look at it was that the graphics are amazing, it is one of the most good looking games I have ever played. Since it provides move support, the game drags you into the story line and make you feel like that you are really the character you are playing, every action of our results in different cons, so the game is moreover aI got this game and the first thing I had to say after having a look at it was that the graphics are amazing, it is one of the most good looking games I have ever played. Since it provides move support, the game drags you into the story line and make you feel like that you are really the character you are playing, every action of our results in different cons, so the game is moreover a suspense that is never broken by having a look at any walk-through on youtube, some of our action may even result in killing the in-game character, the only bad thing you will notice about this game is that there is not much of a replay value to the game and the game lacks muliplayer mode.
    But most games aim at removing any stress or tension which they fail to do, lets take god of war for example, it is more of a nightmare to me in which you have to tap the bloody button and swing some **** i really feels like **** on the other hand heavy rain is a very pleasant game and I recommend this game to every PS3 owner because I think, it is one of the ps3 titles which can dominate the 360 and the move support gives it a nice reason for why you should buy it
    Expand
  45. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    The most amazing gaming experience I have had in the last 5, maybe even 10 years. (Owned every console and I play all the blockbuster hits).This really pushes gaming in a whole new direction. For the most part it's a moral dilemma that involves mystery and some puzzle aspects. Its very cinematic in its styling the story is fantastic! The plot gets better and better as you go along. ItThe most amazing gaming experience I have had in the last 5, maybe even 10 years. (Owned every console and I play all the blockbuster hits).This really pushes gaming in a whole new direction. For the most part it's a moral dilemma that involves mystery and some puzzle aspects. Its very cinematic in its styling the story is fantastic! The plot gets better and better as you go along. It became very addicting for both my brother and I.You become completely absorbed in the story of these characters and you really feel for them. You feel as if you ARE the characters themselves. Many games stake the claim that the story developments hinge upon the choices you make in the game. For many games it doesn't completely flesh out that way. For this game it's absolutely true! Decisions you make drastically change to direction of the story. There are substantial rewards and consequences for you decisions, different cinematics, play sequences and endings. Much of the game pushes you to make difficult decisions that make you really dig deep into your own value system and deeply held convictions. It is NOT an action game, though it does have action elements. Many people get frustrated because they seem to be expecting something different, and they are disappointed that its not like other games on the market. This is not Call of Duty or Batman. Take it for exactly what it is and you will be happy. At least four of my friends have played HR and everyone loved it. We all played through more than once. Graphics are top notch (especially given that it is slightly dated). In no way should it be rated anything close to a 6.8! I give it a solid 10; a rating I give VERY sparingly. This game is revolutionary and impactful to the future of gaming. At the discount you can get it for these days it SHOULD NOT BE MISSED. Expand
  46. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely mind blowing!!! Never played a game that let you control the ending result. I must say that this game is the best that I have ever played! This game pulls you into the drama, you consistently will think about it towards the middle. Feels like you are in a movie no joke. I highly recommend this game to gamers. VERY GOOD GAME!!
  47. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    This is one of the games together with the metal gear series with the highest replayability, I finished heavy rain dozens of times just to see how different choices change the story and how losing certain characters will affect it.
    I can't tell how much I loved this game, absolutely brilliant in every way.
    Even tough people say quick time events are bad in most games, it isn't in heavy
    This is one of the games together with the metal gear series with the highest replayability, I finished heavy rain dozens of times just to see how different choices change the story and how losing certain characters will affect it.
    I can't tell how much I loved this game, absolutely brilliant in every way.
    Even tough people say quick time events are bad in most games, it isn't in heavy rain, everything works very well and it feels very intense with the action going on.
    This game is for anyone who loves a good story for a change of all the mindless action games.

    If you loved this game, you certainly want to keep an eye out for beyond two souls.
    The next game of quantic dream.
    Expand
  48. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    There are some technical issues (screen tearing and minor bugs), but the game is a masterpiece...It was like watching a very good movie that lasted for many hours.
  49. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Heavy Rain is Beautiful game, unique sensations.
    The music is wonderful, the brilliant script.
    it's fun and engaging

    I do not understand the low scores :S
  50. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    This game absolutely blew my mind! Never before have I ever felt so invested in a game and its characters. The story is amazing with an incredible twist at the end. This game had me hooked from the very beginning. I beat this game in a day because I just couldn't bring myself to put the controller down and almost felt like crying when the game was over. Not to mention the replay value isThis game absolutely blew my mind! Never before have I ever felt so invested in a game and its characters. The story is amazing with an incredible twist at the end. This game had me hooked from the very beginning. I beat this game in a day because I just couldn't bring myself to put the controller down and almost felt like crying when the game was over. Not to mention the replay value is sky high with multiple choices and decisions you can make that really affect how the story plays out. But I think what makes this game truly remarkable are the characters. They are so well developed, they feel so much like real people you would pass by on the street, with real lives and histories. But the characters Ethan Mars and Norman Jaden, for me, truly stole the show. I found myself eagerly awaiting for the next time I would get to guide Ethan through his next trial or power up ARI with Jaden. My one and only gripe about this game would be the controls. While they weren't difficult to get used to, I found it pretty annoying having to hold R2 and turn your characters head in the direction you wanted to walk with the left stick. I often found the character not going quite where I wanted them to which could be frustrating, but didn't ruin the gameplay at all. Though if you're not quite familiar with ps3 controls I would definitely suggest playing on one of the lower difficulties as the QTE's can be quite tricky. All in all if you're looking for a completely immersive gameplay experience, get this game! You will NOT regret it. Expand
  51. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Best game ever! Greatest gameplay ever!!! Respect Heard so much about this game... never thought it would give me so much satisfaction. Beautiful graphics.. and the gameplay is really unbelievable... I think it's the best game on ps3 ever.... don't understand the negative replies on this game...
  52. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    Great quality game! So much fun to play. If I could change one thing however, the change of camera angle makes the games controls harder and more complicated. The story is so much better than I expected, most games are easy to guess the outcomes of the story, this one however was hard to guess. Also there are many different ways for the game to end and different stories based on differentGreat quality game! So much fun to play. If I could change one thing however, the change of camera angle makes the games controls harder and more complicated. The story is so much better than I expected, most games are easy to guess the outcomes of the story, this one however was hard to guess. Also there are many different ways for the game to end and different stories based on different decisions in the game, this feature makes you want to make the right one. Expand
  53. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Its a really good game with a solid story and multiple endings, the only thing wrong with it is the controls, there is nothing really stand out about this game but if you're looking for a game with a good story and decent graphic for the PS3 anyways then i would definitely recommend this game.
  54. Nov 21, 2014
    9
    This game is truly amazing, the story is MOVIE quality, something allot of games like call of duty don't get. The controls surprisingly work almost perfectly, which wouldn't work with PC (amazing) or Xbox **** anyway lol) . There is NO game over, which more games like the walking dead should do, and every decision has game changing conclusions. Although i can not give it a 10/10, becauseThis game is truly amazing, the story is MOVIE quality, something allot of games like call of duty don't get. The controls surprisingly work almost perfectly, which wouldn't work with PC (amazing) or Xbox **** anyway lol) . There is NO game over, which more games like the walking dead should do, and every decision has game changing conclusions. Although i can not give it a 10/10, because there's not much "game" to it, the actions scenes are quick time events, although that can still get you to the end of your seat.
    Overall a fantastic game with a amazing story, amazing graphics, controls work very well but could do
    with more "game".
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]