• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 23, 2010
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2393 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is more than just a game, I view it as an interactive experience. If you come here expecting lots of engaging action you will be disappointed. If you come with an open mind and ready to see this game for what it tries to be, you will be incredibly satisfied. This is a movie that allows you to shape the plot in which ever way you want. You will play it over many times just to see how things change based on your decisions. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    If there was a reason to buy a PS3, here it is. I loved Fahrenheit (aka Indigo Prophecy) but it was a shame Heavy Rain didn't make it cross-platform. I'm going to keep this short, as lengthy critique will just involve my gushing about the game ... (one word - wow). Heavy Rain is everything a modern game should be, compelling, cinematic and complex, it makes other games (and many films) seem mundane by comparison. Very close to being a masterpiece. Collapse
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    The best game i have ever played hands down. The game has little actual gameplay is largely produced in QTE's but game play is not what the game is here for. It bridges the gap between films and games. The story of a twisted murderer who has good intentions, to find a father worthy of having a child. You play as 4 characters all tracking down said killer and bring back safety.
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    In an industry full of shooters and adventures and just the same formulas over and over this was a breath of minty fresh air. Only games that are truly great have me glued to the tv and I couldn't take my eyes off this one. I even replayed it a few times. Truly inventive game.
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Heavy Rain is basically a 10 hours long breathtaking neo-noir interactive movie. Yes, it might be more of an interactive movie than an actual game with fluid gameplay etc., but that doesn't change the intensity of your experience in the least and you still have pretty important choices and decisions ahead of you. Heavy Rain just focuses on different elements: the story, characters, atmosphere, it's all premium quality here and the emotional reactions this game can evoke within you can be pretty strong, so it's definitely recommended to go through this piece at least once. 9/10 Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    This is not a game but a movie which gives you some choices and gives you different endings. I recommend not to play it twice, the second times just doesn't feel like the "right" story anymore.
    The acting is just as good as in any well acted movie or tv-series and the motion capture works well. The story is very emotional and I really felt for all the characters and wanted to keep every
    one off them alive. This game will bring a tear to your eye and is more emotional then most dramatic movies because you feel you are actually responsible for all the choices. Only one comment though: the gameplay and controls feel a little "stiff", as is seeing the characters walking.
    One of the best and certainly most memorable games of this generation. Highly recommended to everyone.
    Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    After playing LA Noire, I decided to go back to Heavy Rain and firmly deicde which is better. I myself consider LA Noire to be a revolution but I forget all about Heavy Rain! I'll be honest, the userscore doesn't do this game any justice im actually astonished at the response from some people because this game ultimately has made LA Noire possible. Infact, I would even go as far as saying Heavy Rain is not only a better game but an even better experience. I still remember the premise of Heavy Rain. How Far Would You For The One's You Love. Basically, Heavy Rain is an interactive psychological thriller where you play as four protagonists involved with the mystery of the Origami killer, a serial killer who uses extensive periods of rainfall to kill his victims. From the very start of this game you get the sense of some truely extraordinary. The interaction you are able to have is just stunning. The simplest things that you are able to just add to what I can only describe as the one of, if not, the defining gaming experiences of this generation. The story as i've pointed out is a very dark and gloomy subject and immediately sets this game apart from the rest, its much more grown-up and serious than most games emphasized particuarly the shocking twist of events at the beginning of the game. The area in which heavy Rain truely excels and achieves what very fue games can is an emotional connection. Every decision you make has consequences, no matter how big or how small, and will play a huge part in how the game unfolds and even more intriguingly how each characters story plays out. It draws you in and fails to let you go and you will find yourself going back again and again as you will want to find out how every single decision affects the outcome of this masterpiece and believe me there is quite a few you won't be found wanting here if your looking for a game to fill your day. Visually, LA Noire is head and shoulders above HR but its above most other games too, that being said HR is still a visually very good game that doesn't rely upon its looks its what inside that counts, and boy does it count in Quantum Dreams epic first PS3 outing. The fact that its exclusive makes this one on the PS3's must own titles. Some will no doubt reufse to see exactly what Heavy Rain is but you have to experience this to truely appreciate what Heavy Rain has achieved. All in all I can honestly say that even with LA Noire on the shelf, this game still sets itself apart. It's one of the most momentous games every to grace any console whilst also being a bold, brave and revolutionary step forward for the gaming industry. To have a game where YOU are in full control for me is just downright inspiring and you can rest assure that Heavy Rain's influence will be felt in the years to come as no game thus far can offer a package of such interactivity and storytelling like Quantum Dream's masterpiece . A genius game and an essential purchase that every PS3 owner simply should have in their collection! Expand
  8. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    Probably one of the best told stories in a video game ever. I was enthralled from beginning to end, hook, line and sinker. The characters are very interesting and lifelike and the voice acting is good even if it stumbles a bit and the story is a roller coaster of emotions. To convey this amazing story, it has a brilliant interaction and quick time event mechanics that makes you think fast and make the experience more authentic. I could've easily given this a 10 if not for the god awful movement controls and awkward camera and while you do get used to it, it can mess up what you're doing from time to time but overall doesn't ruin the brilliant story for you. This is a game that anyone should experience and even if they didn't it, they have some appreciation for what is done here. One of the best games on the Playstation 3 and anyone who owns the console should get this. Expand
  9. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game does not deserve the low user score currently on Metacritic so I will give it a 10. I personally rate it a 9, points for being unique and different, as well as engaging and immersive animations. I am personally a fan of experimental ways of telling a story in the video game medium, playing Quantic Dreams Indigo Prophecy, HL2 Mods - Dear Esther and Stanley's Parable. Heavy Rain is the evolution of what indigo prophecy was supposed to be and the evolution of the point and click adventure genre. (At least this is what I think Heavy Rain's roots are from -- Point and Click adventure games) . This is the push point and clicks need to turn into, interactive dramas with the occasional puzzle. Telltale tried to follow suit with their Jurassic Park that was released this November, and I find it fun with all of the QTE's. Anyways, if you are into cinematics and gorgeous cutscenes in your video games, as well as don't mind taking an observer seat in games such as L.A Noire, metal gear solid, and those huge open world rpg games games, then this game is for you. The story isn't even close to film quality yet, but this is the start of a revolution for storytelling in gaming. Expand
  10. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    This game is nothing less than revolutionary!Are you kidding me,this is the future in gaming.At the same time Sony is showing us how powerful it's system is and kinda a"put it in your face 360"kinda way.I'm honestly more of a 360 gamer but The PS3 has some of the best games period.See the PS3 has games that are so evolutionary that we can't even see the whole picture right now,seriously!LBP2 is a game that contains millions of games within a game,pure genius but I'll stick to this review that saying,you will pop this game in in 2015 and still get goose bumps and experience something different.Some choice different to change things.That's how good this is.It's not a game or an interactive movie its a evolution of life.Think about that. Expand
  11. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    An unusual and innovative title which I enjoyed immensely.A dark interactive story game is the best way I can describe it and I look foward to more games such as this one.
  12. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    I personally think heavy rain is a masterpiece. Not as a game - but rather an experience. I was absolutely riveted by every single moment - I completed the entire thing in two sittings - and my heart sank when I knew it was over. And while there is some occasional voice acting quirks, overall it's a thriller that I would embrace as a fantastic film, and I am film lover who just spent the past few years in film school. My main issue with the game is that it was not quite far reaching enough as I would have liked in some late-game-story elements. Expand
  13. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Un gran juego, con mucha innovación, te gustara la primera vez que lo juegues, según las decisiones que tomes, asi irá el juego, una trama digna de las peliculas de Holliwood, con un modo historia que te mete en el juego desde el principio hasta el final, un juego obligado para todos aquellos poosedores de una ps3 y amantes de lo nuevo, emocionante y vibrante, una obra maestra de Quantic Dream ^_^ Expand
  14. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    A great game. First the bad: there were a few glitches and the sound bytes were a bit sparse in some sections. The good: great graphics, compelling story with a messed up killer and outrageous tests for the father, and ways to get more than one ending! A couple of bits that I found with faults like why the troubled nightmares and insomnia? The game has a story and plays out like a movie enough that your friend would enjoy playing with you. Expand
  15. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    this has one of the greatest stories in a video game, and the concept of every decision effecting the events in the story is so immersive, that its one of the most personal experiences ever, not quite like the walking dead where your choices are mostly dialogue, but the choices in this game are your actions, and will leave off with like 20 multiple endings or something like that, I don't know I've only played through it twice, but will probably play it again in the near future. The choices, in your first play through at least are extremely hard to make, they will challenge your morals and values as a person and you will always have to think twice about them. the few flaws in this game such as some awkward voice acting and animations are to small to even make a difference in the experience of the game, admittedly the first hour of the game is slow, but necessary to understand one of your characters a little better, and after that, the game is a nonstop roller coaster ride that you will never forget Expand
  16. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Heavy Rain is the best game on PS3. Was that not enough to compel you to buy it? Well let's scrape the false claims out of the way first. Heavy Rain is NOT a quick time event driven game. It may feel like it as you fiddle with the thumbsticks and follow direction cues. But Heavy Rain makes so much sense out of them in context. For example when you fuss around trying to undo your seatbelt, the feedback feels dynamic. Now to the game itself. Quantic Dream has given us a masterpiece of storytelling and design. There are 18 diiferent ending scenarios. Above all else though is the story that drives them. The game asks you how far will you go to save someone you love and all the way through the protagonists are torn by the past and want to save the future. Ethan Mars clearly defines this. He loses his older son Jason by a vehicular rundown and throughout the game he struggles to live with himself, especially when Shaun goes missing. Heavy Rain pulls you in with plenty of action sequences and spins a yarn which is truly phenominal. If you don't feel anything by the end of the game (no matter how many run throughs you do) something is definately wrong with you. Expand
  17. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    I watched Pewdiepie's playthrough of this game since I don't own a PS3. Damn, this is seriously one of the better character/story driven games out there. It's a bit slow in the beginning and if you want a comparison, I'd say The Walking Dead (for the PC) compare to this quite well. While I did like The Walking Dead more than Heavy Rain, this game still is really an amazing game. It must've taken a lot of time to make since there are so many possible outcomes for every scene. (There are like 17 endings! That's right, 17!!) Expand
  18. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    Heavy Rain is a unique game. That being said, not everyone will like it. It is a game that taps in to your mind emotionally... and if you have the right personality and allow the game to immerse you in the world, you will experience so many mixed emotions that you will be dying for more. I became so immersed in the game that every action I performed, I felt like I was in the body of that character. Every desperate moment, every sad moment, every angry moment, it all channeled through to me. The only *bad* part of this game in my opinion was the intro... which starts off slow and starts you off in a "meh" kind of attitude. Get past this, and the game grows in intensity, and every choice you make will have some influence on the plot. Rent this if you own a PS3, you owe it to yourself to try it out and if you don't like it, then you can say you tried it. Expand
  19. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Well. What can I say about heavy rain? First of all, it's really gripping, the story was excellent, the graphics are great, the characters are brilliant, the gameplay, however is a little dull at times (but nothing gamebreaking or serious) and the controls can be a little clunky, but don't let that stop you from experiencing this masterpeice!
  20. Jan 13, 2011
    9
    Simply amazing game. If you like good movies and good story telling but done in a game this is for you. So different to anything else and a true look into the future of gaming. Gorgeous graphics and so easily playable. If you own a PS3 you have to play this and if you don't own a PS3 its worth getting just for this game.
  21. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Revolutionary and extremely well polished. This game will suck you into an adventure you've never experienced before with gaming. Finally, a game where your actions changes the plot. The scenario could make a great movie, the original score blends perfectly into the action and the scene cutting keeps you constantly craving to make the story evolve to its final twist. Kudos to the production team for putting the effort and creativity in crafting high quality games like this one. Expand
  22. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    If you take the game for what it is, an "Interactive Movie" then you will find this to be an awesome experience. The experience is unprecedented because you have an overall plot and continuously moving story like a movie, but a more detailed story and ability to influence events and endings Allowing you to play increases tension and the overall mood and atmosphere. The writing, characters, and the themes, etc. are all memorable. Definitely worth a try for PS3 fans. It definitely seems a love it or hate it type of game. Expand
  23. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Storytelling in a way that is rarely seen and experienced. Great presentation and gameplay that really sucks you into the game. But the true star here is the story extremely well done. They should really make a movie out this game.
  24. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    WARNING:THIS GAME IS NOT FOR ACTION JUNKIES WHO NEEDS CONSTANT ACTION TO STAY INTERESTED!! Now for people looking for something different while playing a game may I suggest to you...heavy rain! Heavy rain lets you play as four protagonist one of which is trying desperately to find his son after previously losing his oldest son in a car accident! Two years later he's half the man he used to be..his marriage is over he's constantly having nightmare's and is seeing a shrink and his bond with his son is all but broken! By this point in the game I knew I would finish it multiple times because the story is what makes it worth playing! I was sucked in by the attention paid to the story as well as the graphics which is down right beautiful to behold!this game also gives you complete control over the story by letting you decide who lives and who dies which gives you so many reason's to replay it after you finish one of the games multiple stories! One reviewer said he tried to kill a character but it was just a dream so it sucked because it was a dream....? Well you cant kill her there because...well its a dream but trust me she gets the worst deaths in the game lol. Everything isn't good in heavy rain like the controls which takes time to get used to. Many times I took a wrong turn or found myself kissing a wall but its not to distracking also parts of the story will not be explained like ethans nightmare's of drowning kids or what was he doing/where was he during his blackouts but again its not to distracting from the rest of the narrative! This is a must play for gamers but even more so for developers because they've clearly ran out of idea's when it comes to good gameplay and story telling vs weak story and run and gun rehash! Get this game its a true diamond in a sea full on shooters! Expand
  25. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Not just 'Quick Time Event The Game'. I have not seen another game that matches the variety of story choices. This is one of the few games which allows the player to mold there own unique gaming experience.
  26. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    I don't normally like this kind of game but it just goes to show that interactive story telling can work when it's done properly. It's a great looking game too.
  27. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    One of the the most unique and satisfying gaming experiences you can have on the playstation 3. Even my friends were straight on hooked on this game who arent even into video games.
  28. Aug 2, 2014
    9
    This was one of those games that has very little replay value but the initial playthrough is worth every penny. Great story and mistakes that really do matter. I would compare it to the walking dead series, just maybe not quite as good.
  29. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    There's no other game like this, which is just very good and above all, delivers new ideas, new views for gaming and amazing technology. this game shows definitely that future of games lays in them non-linear structure and immersion.
  30. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    Heavy Rain was and will be for long an unique game. Great plot, Very strong performance of the characters, new storylife for every protagonist, magnetizing story. The single thing that's a flaw for me is that the investigations that Jayden does are very boring and make the game a bit weeker. All in all, everything is very nice and you have to spend a lot of time, finding out what the endless ways the game has. Expand
  31. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is one of the most interesting games that I've played in quite a while. I had a general feeling of what to expect, as I have admired David Cage's work since Omikron, and I knew that the game is going to be more of an interactive movie. I found the characters interesting, the storytelling compelling, and the gameplay quite innovative, though, as I said, this one strongly focuses on the storyline, but I've always been a player for whom a good storyline is the driving force behind a game, though there have been exceptions. In terms of graphics and acting the game is stunning. However, as you can most likely see by the amount of negative opinions here, you're likely to dislike the game if you expect something else then watching, what somebody called, "a very long cutscene", as I think that if there is an exact opposite to sandbox games, this is it. Nonetheless, i consider it one of the best games I ever played. Expand
  32. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Absolute brilliant piece of work. The plot was very well written and completely amazed after playing. Good graphics, the gameplay might be a bit boring for people who look for excited controls or gameplay. This is certainly one of the best stories I have ever heard through out my life. Too bad they are making a movie instead of another game though.....
  33. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Heavy Rain is a polarizing experience that is one of the best games of the last 10 years. It may not be for everyone but there is something to be said about the amount of hate and love this game gets, it is truly something special.

    The story is gripping to the last second, and at times emotionally draining for the player as well. This is well written stuff that takes turns when you
    least expect it. Graphics and Sound are exceptional and were really able to be fleshed out due to it's unconventional game-play.

    Don't let anyone tell you that this is a quicktime fest, while games in the past have offered "interactive cut-scenes" were you essentially must click (X) to not fail, Heavy Rain makes every button press have weight and true consequences to it. In fight scenes you may have to press something that comes on the screen, but the way it is done makes you feel in the moment, analog presses and movements really make you feel like you are controlling limbs rather than simply button mashing. Also if you miss a timed button press there are actions other than "you fail try again", it's more of a game than you might of heard.

    It's a bit more than an interactive movie, as you have at will the choice to bring up your characters' thoughts and ideas, motives and fears. You control how things play out in what order, even the script.

    Love it or hate it, it must be experienced.
    Expand
  34. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    One of the best interactive dramas ever. A absolute unique experience, same to be said with the control scheme. The story is one of the best ever seen in a videogame. A flawless masterpiece.
  35. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    There is no other game out there like this one right now. Its basically a movie, with quick time events for the action sequence and conversation puzzles for the talking parts. That sounds lame when I put that way but trust me, this game is awesome.
  36. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    Sure the movements of the characters are irritating at times and the voice acting is not the best in the world, but all that is forgotten when you play the game and come to realise what a truely awesome experience it is. Since when has dying or coming short in a game make you more anxious to play further and see how the rest of the story unfolds?! Not often, and that is how I felt when I played Heavy Rain! Love the game! Can play it over and over again... Expand
  37. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Nowadays, most of the games you find on the store shelves are standard-issue actionfests, with few moments of real storyline thrown into the mix. With Heavy Rain, however, the emphasis is more on the gripping plotline rather than the action itself, though there are many moments that will have you on the edge of your seat. In Heavy Rain, you play as four different characters, but the main focus is on a grizzled, drunk mess of a father who had lost one of his two sons many years earlier. The story opens up as his other son is kidnapped by the Origami Killer, who tests parents to see how far they will go to save their children. If the parents don't complete the tests, the child ends up drowning in a well, or a trapped area of water. From there on, you play through multiple grueling, painful-looking tests while a journalist (Another played character.) is struggling to prove that the father isn't the Origami Killer, as everyone believes. The other two characters played are a drug-addicted FBI agent and a weary private detective. The game is controlled similar to Indigo Prophecy, an under-the-radar game that had great character development. You'll actually pick thoughts from floating words around your character's head, and they help in certain situations. For example, in one part as the FBI agent you and a corrupt agent break into a religious nut's house when he's gone. After searching around the place, the guy comes home and nabs the corrupt guy, who is your pal. From there, you can either choose to simply shoot the guy right then and there, or try to defuse the situation and get him to let the agent go and drop his weapon. The story is handled perfectly and it is backed by some serious graphics. If you haven't seen them in action, you must, they are simply gorgeous. But this game isn't for everyone- the focus on story and longevity of the game length might turn off some gamers looking for a quick action fix. But anyone with a PS3 should play this game, even if you are just going to rent it. Expand
  38. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Wow! I talk a lot about how some games are experiences and not games at all, heavy rain is probably the reason I think like that now. I loved this game, loved everything about it. The graphics, the story, the characters, the different paths, the music is some of the best in gaming. This is one of my all time favorite games every. Now this may not be for everyone granted, because this is more of an interactive movie of sorts, and you just follow along but you still get to choose how you want it to play out. I loved the tense parts and actually I was a bit dissapointed when I played backed some earlier sections and found out that had I failed the correct button presses, I would have lived anyway, but at the time I didn't realize that and so I felt tense and knew (or at least thought) that my character could die and I needed to be careful. I love perma-death in games. It is what made demon souls so great the consequences of dying, and is why im looking so forward to until dawn. In fact had death had more of a consequence in amnesia it probably would have been even better, but I knew it would just load right back up so I never really felt that tense. Expand
  39. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    I didn't know whether to give this a 9 or a 10, I felt that it should have been a 9 at first because there are many problems in Heavy Rain that are hard to overlook, such as the plot holes and technical problems but when I go back and play this game I can put those problems aside and enjoy this incredibly emotional and engaging game. I can't think of any other game that gets you so invested in its story and makes you care about every decision you make like this. It's not for everyone and improvements could be made but this is one of those cases where the good manages to out weigh the bad and as a result we can enjoy this fantastic, beautiful and immensely emotional game, and another game like this won't come for a long time. Expand
  40. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    This is similar the Virtue's Last Reward in how it technically isn't a game. I understand people not liking cutscenes, but please, this is a mature game, not an all out action Capitalist 'GO AMERICA' FPS. The story is very well written, and the multiple choices/ ending are fun to earn. There are 4 main character, and all are fairly interesting (Madison was maybe kind of generic). The graphic are great, but sometimes the animation can be a bit off (Awkward love scene anyone?).
    The gameplay is a bit of walking around, but mostly QTEs, which some people will not like.
    This game is one of the best games on Playstation, and if you're into a good story, it's a must buy.
    Expand
  41. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This reminded me of Silent Hill in the way that you get so sucked into the story that none of the flaws seem to matter. This game is so beautiful and atmospheric, and VERY dark cause you get to see all of the main characters at their worst. All of the button-pressing sequences are rather exhilarating since your life is always at risk. My favorite thing about this game is that if one character dies, the story just keeps on going. I've never played any game like this, and for that it is a true classic. Expand
  42. May 22, 2014
    9
    In an industry dominated by shooters, RPGs, and endless sequels, Heavy Rain emerges as a true original. Few other games have been able to move me as well as this. This is an a game that has to be experienced. You won't forget it.
  43. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    Apsolutely amazing game. everything about this game is amazing, Can be a bit boring at times but once ya get into it you will not sleep! very addictive storyline
  44. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    There are few games that can be as thrilling and emotional as Heavy Rain. Going into this game, I had low expectations, mainly because I hadn't heard much about it, good or bad, so I thought it really wouldn't be worth my time. Boy, was I wrong! After finishing the game, my emotions were coming out of me in bizarre ways. Never had a game touched me like Heavy Rain had. The storyline is one of the best I have ever seen. The voice acting was top-notch and made the characters that much more realistic and lovable. The graphics aren't the best, but that shouldn't stop you from playing. And once you get past the somewhat difficult and unusual controls, there's no stopping you from playing this game from start to finish. Expand
  45. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This is always the game I cite when people say consequence and branching storylines aren't possible to the extent people demand it. Perhaps it is because Heavy Rain set the bar so high in that area that makes it so influential and amazing. The game is also addicting and thrilling, and the organic, no game over design makes everything more intense. The aesthetics, especially the score, help to make a depressing mood that makes it a wonderful experience. The illusion of choice, it turns out, isn't an illusion in this game. Expand
  46. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    The most depressing game ever. I cried with Ethan's story, Felt Sorrow in Madison's story, Concerned in Norman's story and finally extremely determined and curious in Scott Shelby's story.
    Little did I know about the 6' 5" detectives role until later on... If you are a parent I recommend that you buy this game to think about your kids and the Origami Killer. It's only like $15 so go and grab it!
  47. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    Point 'n Clicks for the 21st Century. I grew up on Monkey Island, Maniac Mansion, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis and later, Grim Fandango. Heavy Rain is a welcome burst of energy into the story driven game genre. It's a dark and adult thriller full of decisions and consequences. You spend the whole time trying to guess who is the Origami Killer (as you progress I becomes, I thought, very obvious) however your never really know until the game wants you to. It still looks awesome, it's got some very bizarre controls and camera angles but all in all the game is a stunner. It makes good and logical use of QTEs, exploration and investigation and I love that when one of your characters dies they're gone for good... Warrants multiple, multiple playthroughs due to all the decisions and consequenses as well as the fact that it is very deep adventure title. 9/10 Expand
  48. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. this game is a masterpiece
  49. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    One of the best and most gripping stories I've ever played in a game. Best part of all, YOU make the decisions, and all your decisions have different outcomes. And so different endings. Also really original I must say.
  50. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Holy This game is one of the most climatic and emotionally-driven stories of the videogame medium. The attention to detail, the character's reactions, the situations are all astoundly well-put together. By utilising quick-time events to its advantage it makes the game severely intensified. You actually connect and care for these characters, you want them to succeed. This game makes the player pay attention to the game world, it makes you invested into the game, with one wrong or right move continuing the story in a certain direction. Replayability is a major factor aswell, just to see the contrast between endings or what certain choices amount to. Or though I'd recommend putting it on the hardest difficulty, otherwise it's just too easy. Yes, there is a few inconsistencies within the plot; like that stupid sex scene which was just out-of place and unnecessary to the story. I felt they should have elaborated more on that drug killer Ethan killed and what the police did about it. Overall, it's a good game. Thoroughly recommended! Expand
  51. May 3, 2013
    9
    This game is incredible. The story is amazing with incredible character with a lot of personality. The environment in this game is just awesome, the graphics are very good just like the art design. The voice acting is pretty good. The game play is innovate and yes is all "quick time events" but what's the problem? it's a type of gaming so I don't see the big deal on it, it's actually pretty good and fun. Also I love how all your actions, may change the story, it makes you think twice in your decision's and actually makes you want to know, what it will be the ending. Expand
  52. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    THis game not only combines amazing acting, sound, story, graphics, gameplay, story, sound, story, interesting characters, story (did I mention story) into one amazing masterpiece...but its extremely cheap too! You can find this used or in the Ps3 greatest hits section for $20! The plot may start out slow but when it revs up...it is so intense, emotional and beautiful that small details such as tiny graphics problems...one plot hole (the blackouts are caused by ethan's coma)...and the hands not always being natural are forgivable. Not only is this a masterpiece but it is one of my top 5 games. Expand
  53. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    So much fun. I don't consider this a game. I consider this a movie just because the scenes can be so good at times. A must own if you own a Playstation 3 console. Can't wait for Quantic Dream next game.
  54. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    This game is just something different something i would want to see again and again in this industry.
    obviously you can`t find a rock solid game play here you just need to know what are you playing and rate it like that.
  55. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Heavy Rain is an amazing experience to say the least. Its impossible to not become attached to the characters. although not a classic "video game", Heavy Rain puts you in a fathers desperate shoes looking for his son. You feel every characters pain and instantly become attached. This game is at least worth a rent, but you really should buy it.
  56. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    More like a movie than a game, Heavy Rain is still an impressing experience and its gripping, shocking story is one of the best I've ever experienced in gaming, and its gameplay controls are impressing as well, tackling down all its little problems (technical glitches, mispronouncing of the word "origami", and the slow pace of the game's prologue) and it couldn't get any better. The only thing that compares with Heavy Rain is Remedy's horror game Alan Wake, another game explaining within the darkest side of our sanity and reality. The search of a child kidnapped by the Origami Killer has never been so chilling and thrilling that I've ever succeeded in, and all the acclaim and sales proves it. I want to have a second run of Heavy Rain once again, because on how much its affection, along with games (Uncharted, The Last of Us, and more), impacted me, I wouldn't be wishing to stop getting my hands off the Dualshock.
    How much its affection is? Wanting to know how important life is, and loving it, despite on its changes, and save those who deserve to live, who you deserve to love, and who deserve to love you. That's how the affection is, after slitting Heavy Rain in the PS3, with the Dualshock in hands, and pressing the "play" button when you are ready. (9.5 out of 10)
    Expand
  57. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Great game although a little short, and even though you can replay to different outcomes it is annoying not being able to fast forward through cutscenes and dialogue you have already seen, as i lost my patience and only re-did certain points in the game.
  58. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Pure brilliance is what describes this game. Enjoyed almost every second of it. An Immersive and gripping, albeit a really depressing storyline. Every animation scene seems so realistic. It really captures my attention and makes me aware of every little details. A short and sweet adventure.
  59. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I think giving games perfect 10's is generally pretty gimpy, but Heavy Rain is just the bee's knees. It deserves to be playing in theatres, not just on your LED HDTV's... though if it were made into a movie it probably wouldn't be as good as Heavy Rain the video game. Whatever, I'm getting distracted by my own illiteracy - the point is, oh my god, Heavy Rain... it's super-duper. Granted, I should probably ding it by one point for the questionable "American" accents, but if that's the only thing I can find wrong about a game, that's pretty damn good. The story is awesome, and is even still fun to play if you know "whodunnit" though it's best revealed in-game. Ethan is pretty much the sexsiest guy in a video game, and Madison isn't too bad either (you get to see both of their butts! Yay!) so there's even something for late-night enjoyment. If you own a PS3 and haven't yet given yourself a day or two to experience Heavy Rain, well, that's just very sad. It's AWESOME. Expand
  60. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Its a different game, i don´t think everybory will like, but i liked =D. The history(es) is(are) intriguing, excelent graphics, with many knurled, but ok.
  61. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game. I was a little skeptical at first, but once I started playing this I just couldn't put it down. I love the unique controls for this game, and the storyline sucked me in immediately. I'm not sure how anyone can give this game a negative review.
  62. May 8, 2012
    9
    I didn't know much about the game except that the artwork on the cover alone seemed interesting to me. Many games have promised an "interactive" experience in which your decisions change the course of action before, so could Heavy Rain pull it off? The answer is a Stone Cold-ish "oh hell yeah." There is a very limited number of games that made me care about the storyline and the characters that much. The way the story builds up to its climax is excellent, graphics beyond believe on a home console. This game gives you pure freedom of choice, infinite exploration and a story that will stay in your mind long after playing this. The game is build on chapters, in each chapter you take control of one of four main characters, and everything you do can change the outcome of the game. These characters are different from each other and interesting, each one involved in the game's plot from a different direction. You will feel like you are actually taking part in the action, be it preparing scrambled eggs or fighting for your life. A true masterpiece without comparison. Expand
  63. May 22, 2013
    10
    I'm one of the few people who don't mind quick time events. Yeah, if you hate them, avoid this game. However, if you're looking for a very engaging storyline with multiple endings, Heavy Rain has it. It was essentially like playing an awesome Rated R crime/thriller movie.
  64. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    My friend told me that a FPS or a TPS game is going to come out. let me guess the summary of a game. Get to cover, move out and kill the bad guys again, again and again. Yes, this game is more like a interactive movie than a video game. But the story and the graphics are awesome. If you want a real and a different experience you should check this game out.
  65. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    An original gaming experience, nothing really like it. Cinematic and an interesting game. Strong engagement of the lead four characters really mean you feel something as the game moves on. Ground breaking.
  66. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. I cannot really argue against those who dislike this for the lack of gameplay, but the story (especially the killer reveal that I did not see coming) blew me away. The wealth of choices also are just astonishing, as there is something along the lines of twenty endings. A genuinely inventive and brilliant game.
  67. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Like film noir of the Chinatown kind? Twists akin to Se7en? Heavy Rain is likely to be the best cinematic experience ever with a memorable storyline of the highest caliber, fascinating characters who're understandable as real, functional humans and interactive gameplay with choices of a perfect variety. Heavy Rain perfects these elements to establish a seriously animated investigation into a serial killing and the characters involved with it. Expand
  68. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Un asesino serial, un agente de policía y un padre desesperado son los ingredientes que dan pie a la trama de Heavy Rain, un juego exclusivo para PS3 desarrollado por el equipo de Sony Computer Entertainment Europe con la colaboración de Quantic Dream.

    Una vida perfecta……
    Despiertas en tu recamara, el sol entra por la ventana, te asomas al jardín, tomas una ducha y recuerdas que es el
    cumpleaños de tu hijo Jason, el mayor, tu esposa lo llevo de compras junto con su hermano Shaun, para cuando regresan a casa ya es hora de la comida pero te das tiempo de salir y jugar un rato con los chicos.

    Así es como comienza todo en Heavy Rain, un juego con un estilo muy diferente a los demás, que bien se le podría llamar película interactiva antes de considerarlo un videojuego pero eso sería muy poco para describir todo lo que en realidad es; una experiencia inolvidable.

    Tratando de evitar los spoilers les puedo contar que la historia gira entorno a un asesino serial que azota la ciudad, todo esto visto a través de 4 personajes diferentes que en algún momento cruzaran sus caminos para darnos los diferentes ángulos de esta trama y así poder llegar a resolver el caso del “Asesino del Origami”.

    ¿Porque no corre?

    Lo primero que notaras al tomar el control de alguno de los personajes, es que no puedes correr, ni saltar, ni golpear, tan solo se limita a caminar, observar e interactuar con algunos objetos, pero aquí es donde está el detalle primordial de Heavy Rain, en todo momento estarás decidiendo si hacer o no diversas actividades, las cuales pueden tener consecuencias en los sucesos posteriores tratando de darte esa sensación que se tiene en la vida real al momento de tomar decisiones, estas van desde que tu personaje se bañe o se ponga a trabajar o ambas o ninguna y la historia continuara sin mayor problema hasta llegar a algunas más complejas donde estará en juego la vida de los personajes.

    En algunos momentos del juego tenemos la libertad de explorar diferentes áreas, en estas tendremos la posibilidad de escuchar los pensamientos de nuestros personajes con solo presionar un botón, para así entenderlo mejor y saber cuáles son sus reacciones ante las diferentes situaciones que se le presentan.

    Necesitaras buenos reflejos

    Existen varias secuencias de acción en donde tendremos que ir presionando los botones que aparecen en pantalla o realizar ciertos movimientos con los Sticks para que nuestro personaje en turno realice diferentes movimientos, en algunos incluso se utiliza el olvidado sixaxis y hace ya algún tiempo se agrego la compatibilidad con el PSmove para tratar de dar una mejor experiencia al momento de estarlo jugando.

    Se puede llegar a pensar que es un juego lento pero debemos de considerar que es el ritmo en el que estuvo pensado para que podamos asimilar todo lo que está pasando en esta historia tan compleja y así lograr obtener esa sensación de drama deseada por sus creadores.

    Realidad o Realidad Virtual

    Algo sobresaliente es el aspecto grafico, que si bien no es sorpresa al ser desarrollado por un estudio especialista en captura de movimiento, lo que lograron hacer con los rostros de los personajes dentro del juego fue lo que los llevo a ser considerados de los mejores en el mundo para la captura facial y de sentimientos en modelos virtuales.

    Durante las pantallas de carga entre las diferentes escenas nos muestran los rostros del personaje a controlar en un primer plano y es aquí donde podemos apreciar la cantidad de detalle con la que fueron hechos.

    ¿Por qué jugarlo?

    Como lo dije al principio, mas allá de un juego es una experiencia de vida, solo necesitas dejarte llevar por la historia de este fantástico thriller psicológico la cual te mantendrá enganchado y no te dejara soltar el control, el juego está hecho para que lo disfrutes como si fuera una película solo con el pequeño detalle que dura de entre 8 a 10 horas según tus acciones, por lo tanto creo que si lo terminas en unos 4 o 5 días tendrás toda la información aun fresca en tu memoria.

    ¿Por qué NO jugarlo?

    Para empezar, ¿se juega?, hay varios momentos en los que seremos simples espectadores de una película en HD, además de varias partes medias flojas en donde la historia va avanzando a cuenta gotas y en mi caso que lo jugué en español, de castilla, varias animaciones no van en ritmo con el sonido.

    Este es MI final

    La verdad me hice un fan del juego desde que lo terminé, pero no me animo a reiniciarlo para no perder esa historia que me toco y quedarme con esa versión como mi Heavy Rain, platicando con otras personas que lo han jugado nos dimos cuenta que todos teníamos un final diferente y creo que eso es lo que lo hace especial, el sentir que cada quien tiene su desenlace personal.

    Les recomiendo ampliamente que lo jueguen y no importa si solo lo rentan un fin de semana, lo que importa es no perderse la oportunidad de disfrutarlo.
    Expand
  69. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    A unique and intense experience. This is one of those games where if you dive headlong into the nuances of the events, it is virtually impossible not to be touched, don't be surprise and don't live every moment intensely.

    As for the gameplay, it may displease many people actually advance through the QTEs, but this is a matter of taste, not put in doubt the quality of this game.
  70. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    This game is emotions. I was crying through bloodied hands as I admired the beatyfull graphics. Although I didnt complete the game I think Jason is the Origami killer. Please message me if Im right I think I won a bet. I remember seeing that video of the white lady crying about ten years ago and I wonder why there wasnt enough crying. Anyone played Fahrenheit because I think this may be similar or the same or whatever. Expand
  71. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    My favorite and most beloved PS3 game, I will never forget how it make me fell when I played, back to back, 6 times.
    It is a powerful and unforgettable experience that stays with you months after playing, this game is the LOUIS C.K. of video games: sincere, original and creative.
    If you like intelligent and mysterious games, PLAY IT.
  72. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    It's difficult to comprehend how good this game is. Heavy Rain allows you to take on a completely new style of play so in depth and it is backed up with a strong plot to boot. Game of the Year by a mile for me because although not as immediately entertaining as say Mass Effect ,Call of Duty or God of War, those who stick with Heavy Rain will realise for a 10 hour game, it is 10 hours they have spent well on an experience like no other in gaming history since... well ever. Ultimately it is the way it grasps you from when your son is kidnapped at the start of the game that drifts away from 'just a game' to film-noire, and it is so excellently well done. It is very important that you play this game, because in 5 or 10 years time, game developers will attempt to copy Heavy Rain and most will most likely not hold a candle to it. Heavy Rain is the most innovative game of the 21st century so far and is going to be the prototype for the next step in gaming. Expand
  73. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this game. It was like playing a movie, that was how real it felt. I was so attached to my players that I got really upset when I thought Ethan died in the power plant level. What was cool was that you never had to go back and repeat what you did. The music was nice, the controls intuitive, and the graphics splendid. I'm really happy I bought this game. My only possible complaint would be that the beginning is slow, but I didn't find that annoying at all. All I can say is get this game! Expand
  74. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I respect other people's views and tastes, but I cannot understand why you would give such a groundbreaking game a bad score. It has everything that a good PS3 game should: a great story, good controls, exciting moments and a captivating story line. The emotions that you feel when you realise your kid is missing and the length you will go to to find him back... a true monument and a game that will be remembered for changing the face of video games. Expand
  75. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Take the best Steinbeck novel you've ever read, takes the themes of judgement, human nature, what we need vs. what we want, and remove these themes from the novel. Take these themes and put them into a video game. Write the video game around these themes, all the while adding the best graphics I've seen period, as well as some very intricate characters, title this video game "Heavy Rain", and then release it to a widespread audience.

    That explains the perfect 10.
    Expand
  76. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    I've seen and heard people sh*t all over this game because its a because it is not really a game...its more a movie.A f*cking good one at that,I cant tell you how good this game is how interesting the characters are and how awesome it is to see each ending.I loved the fact that one choice could change the whole game like my first play through I was not quick enough and a character died, instead of giving me a restart screen that was it.That character was gone for the rest of the game and that is pretty awesome,the game really cheap now if your a ps3 owner GET IT!. Expand
  77. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    There is a serial child killer known only as the Origami Killer who drowns his victimâ
  78. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    The people that write bad reviews are FPS gamers that cant see further than their finger.
    A Unique game that you must play it an be a part of it, to feel it, to get the point and appreciate it.
    After a point you just cant stop paying it , you want to go further and further to see what is going on and "how" will go on, it challenges you and surprises you.
    One of the best games ever, one of
    the most groundbreaking ideas in game history ever.
    The fear to loose a character is amazing!
    Expand
  79. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    What a blast! Incredibly innovative usage of the six-axis controller, invigorating story line, simply amazing character feel and backstory and thriller factor. THIS IS WHAT GAMES THESE DAYS SHOULD BE LIKE! New, fun to play, and addictive. I wish it was a longer game or at least had a few strong side plots that could have extended its life.
  80. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    My favorite game for PS3. I have gotten platinum on it 3x just for the fun. I can't wait to see what Quantic Dream does next. "Your review must be at least 150 characters long."
  81. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I've played this all the way through twice now, and I'm still haunted by decisions I've made in it. On the second playthrough, something happened that I'm not going into detail about that literally scared me, and I don't get scared by much. This game is absolutely remarkable, and I plan on playing through it several more times to see the different endings. If you haven't played this game yet, then you need to, it is well worth your time. Expand
  82. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Literally my favorite game of all time. Plays like an intense interactive movie. Definitely challenging, but not frustratingly so. Story is incredible. Some of the graphics are weak and a few awful voice actors, but it's most beautiful and the voices that matter are fantastic.
  83. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    This game alone is a reason to go out and buy a PS3, no other console has a game like Heavy Rain.
  84. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    "Heavy Rain" is either going to be a game that you are going to love or hate. In this review, I am going to tell you why I loved this game.

    Here's the basic run-down of the plot (which is very important, as the game is very story-driven):

    We start the game off with Ethan Mars, a normal everyman who is happily married with two children. However, his life takes a tragic turn after one
    of his sons, Jason, is killed by an oncoming car. Ethan, who was also hit by the car while trying to save Jason's life, falls into a coma and, upon awaking, his life is in shambles. He now suffers from numerous psychological problems (schizophrenia, agoraphobia and blackouts) and is also estranged from his wife and has fallen out of favor with his other son, Shaun. Soon, things get worse, as Shaun is kidnapped by the infamous Origami Killer, who drowns his victims in rainwater and dumps the bodies (who are left with an origami figure) out in open wastelands for the world to see.

    We are soon introduced to 3 other playable characters, who all have certain problems they are facing and who all have their own motives for tracking down the Origami Killer:

    Scott Shelby is a former cop turned private eye, who suffers from chronic asthma.
    Norman Jayden is an FBI profiler who has an experimental pair of glasses (ARI) that allow him to investigate crime scenes and efficiently analyze evidence. He suffers from a dangerous drug addiction that is believed to be used to combat effect from using ARI.
    Madison Paige is a journalist who is conducting an investigation into the Origami Killer case. She struggles with insomnia and nightmares (which she attempts to remedy by sleeping in motels).

    Per his modus operandi, the Origami Killer sends the father of his recent kidnapping victim (which, here, is Ethan) a box with 5 origami figures, a cell phone and a gun. The cell phone features a hangman puzzle which, when completed, reveals the address of where Ethan's son is located. The 5 origami figures give Ethan the location of certain trials which he must complete in order to get letters to the hangman puzzle. The trials are very rigorous tests of faith that get harder and harder as they go.

    While this happens, the other 3 main characters conduct their own investigations into the Origami Killer case. All manage to meet a bunch of seemingly normal, yet psychotic people who will do their best to impede the characters' progress.

    It's a bit of a mouthful, but the game is very story-based, so it definitely needs to be known. It's a very interesting story that will draw you in more and more as it goes on.

    Anyway, the gameplay is about 45% quick-time events, 45% decision-making and 10% investigating. The investigating is a little bit of a chore, but it's VERY important for Jayden's actions, especially when he is trying to figure out who the killer is.

    Where the game is made is in the decision-making and quick-time event aspects. Every little thing you do can change the way the game plays out. If you fail enough quick-time events, you could end up having a character killed off (one that could end up breaking the case). If you don't make the right decisions, it could have dire consequences. One prominent way to make a wrong decision is to not complete one of Ethan's trials. If you decide to not attempt the trial, you may end up not finding out the address of the killer. And believe me, it is VERY easy to get tempted not to do some of the trials. On my first playthrough, I got to the 4th trial and realized I just couldn't bring myself to complete the trial after a revelation was made (I don't want to spoil it). This game just really had me thinking what I would do in the situation given, and I just couldn't go through with it. I saw myself in Ethan and wanted him to do the "right" thing, but it ended up in him not completing the trial and, therefore, not getting the letters to the puzzle. The 5th one was much in the same.

    This game has an uncanny ability to make many people, especially me, think about what they would do in a given situation. It tries to make you think on your feet and make your own decisions to shape how the story goes based on the decisions and reactions you make. It's an interactive movie, as the makers of the game explained it. You start to feel a connection to the characters, because they are ordinary people with everyday problems placed in extraordinary circumstances. The epilogues especially hit you hard because YOU had a direct influence on how the story ended up. When someone does something good, you rejoice because it was your decision-making that influenced it. When someone dies, you feel guilty because it was of your inability to help the person.

    All in all, this game just drew me in and didn't let go. There is a ton of re-playability, as well, as there are 22 different individual endings. I'd recommend it to anyone who is interested in an empathetic and captivating experience.
    Expand
  85. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    Heavy Rain is an amazing experience. It is the kind of game that you play to be engrossed into the story. The story is very good and really pushes you to complete the game to see what happens to the various characters that you take control of during the entire game. The game-play is like that of Fahrenheit and requires you to do movements on the controller depending on what you are doing in the game. All the characters are 100% genuine and you feel that these people really could exist. The graphics for this game are some of the best I have seen and the entire package plays out in a unique way that you may have not experienced with other games. This really is a true masterpiece in storytelling. Expand
  86. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    A cinematic masterpiece, Heavy Rain is a game that deserves all the recognition and hype it received when it was first released in early 2010. Although the beginning of the title seems rather dull and slow, and the activities presented, such as the tedious and mundane task of brushing your teeth can be quite interesting and can leave the conventional video gamer turned off, Heavy Rain is a simply stunning game that will manage to captivate potential gamers who prefer a new taste of gaming with an innovative control scheme which delivers tremendously, with a incredible plot line and gripping characters which you take control of, ultimately having to decide the fate of the characters in the end. There are 19 endings, but a fairly short gameplay. overall, this game is fantastic. one of the most original and greatest games to hit the market. A must play. Expand
  87. May 28, 2012
    10
    I loved this game. First time for a very long time that every decision I made felt like it had meaning and any mistake was lifethreatening. It's such a good example at how instent death can effectivly be interwoven into a game and one of the most emotional endings to a game I have ever faced with me litterally breaking down in tears from the ending.
  88. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    EXACTLY the type of game I'm searching for. 10/10. Nohing to say. I like interactive movies. Makes me think of my other favorite game of all time: Phantasmagoria by Roberta Williams for Sierra in 1995.
  89. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    To start things off, I really love this game. The storyline is incredible and with all you do in the game, you feel like most things you do actually make an impact on the game. People can live or die based on what you do! So with that mindset, I'd give the game a 10/10. That being said, I felt certain aspects of the game could have been tweaked. I think the voice acting was pretty hit and miss. Same with the character models (I think Madison was the best and Ethan was probably the worst to be fair). Last thing that could be ragged on (but I don't necessarily hate) is that there's not a whole lot of actual gameplay. The game's essentially a game long quick time event. So, if you hate the whole quick time even thing (and using your analog because you'll be using that in ways you never imagined) then this game may not be for you. Expand
  90. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Best game ever made in history. If you do not enjoy this game and think it is boring, it shows you simply do not have the emotional capacity to enjoy such an incredible experience. I was mindblown by this game. Yes, its not call of duty and you dont go around shooting people randomly, but it is the story and the suspense that made me fall in love with this game. There are literally unlimited ways this game can play out depending on the choices you make, and this is one reason why I ended up playing this masterpiece eight times. IF YOU HAVE A PS3, YOU MUSR BUY THIS: BEST PS3 EXCLUSIVE! Expand
  91. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    One of the most memorable single player campaigns on the Playstation 3, Heavy Rain isn't so much a game in parts but an 'Interactive film'. Nevertheless, it still delivers an experience which is actually very fun. The story is emotional, professional and if this were to be made into a film, it would be equally stunning. Everything from the voice acting to the real emotion of the characters wouldn't look out of place in the cinema, that's how convincingly real this game is. There aren't a great deal of plot twists until the very end, but when it does come it is quite surprising. The sole complaint about this game is it's lack of 'lasting appeal'. All though you can go back to a few chapters before the end and replay the end a few times to unlock of the ending cutscenes, this won't be as enjoyable as your first playthrough when you'll be entirely immersed in the story. More than likely, you'll be trading this in a week or two after purchase, after finishing an immaculate story and completing a relatively easy trophy list. Also, added to that is the fact the 'choose who dies' emphasis on the story is pretty exaggerated. Likely on your second playthrough you'll realise your actions don't start taking huge effect until towards the end. But, there's no denying your first playthrough of the game will be more thrilling than almost any other. Expand
  92. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This is the game that made me mesmerize from start to finish. Without any exaggerate, I was speechless while playing since the "Heavy Rain Experience" was un excelled. There is a argument that we all gamers have different ideas about whether games are art form or not.
    While playing this game, I asked myself: "If this isn't an art than what is it?" For me, Heavy Rain is much more
    than just a game. Heavy Rain is a pioneer of a new kind of entertainment which we will see more example of it in the future. This my friends, is an experience like no other. Expand
  93. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made. There really isn't many games out there that could give a gripping story with so many twists and endings and do it an believable way. It really is a melding of game and cinema and if you play it - you will thank me and you will also never forget the experience.
  94. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    My gut wants to give this game a 10, but it is definitely not perfect. The voice acting is weird at times, the controls are frustrating at other times, and there are some weird things in the plot. That said, no game has ever made me so invested in the characters and the story. I couldn't put it down. I played through the whole game in 8 or 9 hours in one sitting (it was the weekend so I could do that). This is possibly another bad thing about the game it's rather short. It has multiple endings, but you may not want to play another 8-9 hours to see them. I've watched several Let's Play sessions of this game. I love it though, and you can usually find it for like $20 these days. Nobody with a PS3 should miss out on this one in my opinion. Expand
  95. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    I give 10 for story and idea and 5 for gameplay and intro but for the repeatiable thing i give again 10 so it is 9/10 game if you have a PS3 and not ever play heavy rain YOU SHOULD!
  96. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Heavy Rain is an extremely unique game and one of the best games I've played so far. The game has the best story of all games out there and is full of surprises. I've really enjoyed playing the game and I'm so happy for winning it. It will have it's space forever on my shelf. Expand
  97. May 17, 2011
    10
    I literally just finished this game moments ago (the credits are currently rolling) and feel blown away. :) This is without question one of the greatest games ever produced. I loved every minute of it. The graphics, setting, mood, music, storyline, etc. are across-the-board excellent. If this is the direction that gaming is headed, I can't wait for future releases. The current user score of 6.6 is absolutely ludicrous. I suspect that many of these negative reviews have been written by kids who simply are incapable of appreciating something of sophisticated as "Heavy Rain." I can't wait to see what David Cage dreams up next. Expand
  98. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    I really wanted to hate this game so much. I think David Cage is hideously pretentious as a person, and I hated Farenheit, but the shere brilliance of Heavy rain has forced me to take a complete U turn! Not only did I enjoy playing it, I loved playing it. It's one of the first game's that I've found myself actually caring about in the same way that I'd care about the story in a film. The story itself is pretty good. There's a few plot holes and a few red herrings that you notice when you finish the game, but there are also a few moments of unbridled brilliance, and the influence you have over what happens really involves you. There were a few moments when I was faced with tough decisions that really blew my mind! Absoulatly blew me away. Buy it, NOW!! Expand
  99. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don't listen to the bad reviews of the game that you see here. If you are an action junkie then this game is simply not for you. If you are truly looking for a new game to try then I highly recommend playing this game. Kudos to you Quantic Dream for trying out something new and having great success with it! Expand
  100. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    There has been a lot of complaints about how this game is an "interactive movie" etc but that is defidently not a bad thing. Heavy Rain plays out as an action/mystery/thriller story with Resident Evil 4-like cutscene controls. You also can walk around lots of times but the controls aren't that great when walking around. While there are some downsides to this game they are all overshadowed by it's tremendous storyline. This litterally may be the best story in every single game I have played in my life. (Move aside Mass Effect 2) Also the graphics are really good, ranging from good to absoluty stunning (the close ups of the peoples' faces in between chapters) Overall this game is an absolute masterpiece! 10/10 Expand
  101. Oct 28, 2012
    0
    If there was a reason to buy a PS3, here it is. I loved Fahrenheit (aka Indigo Prophecy) but it was a shame Heavy Rain didn't make it cross-platform. I'm going to keep this short, as lengthy critique will just involve my gushing about the game ... (one word - wow). Heavy Rain is everything a modern game should be, compelling, cinematic and complex, it makes other games (and many films) seem mundane by comparison. Very close to being a masterpiece. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]