User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2841 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Being a story driven game, the story has many plotholes. The gameplay is worse. Heavy Rain should have been a film and even than it would not have succeded because of the unlogical story. Graphics nice though.
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    2
    Heavy Rain is a pretentious bore. Gameplay consists of quick time events, cutscenes, wandering around unsure of what to press the X button at, and interactive sequences about getting your kid a snack. Heavy Rain is not a game. It’s a mediocre video that occasionally prompts you to press buttons.

    There are a few mildly interesting parts and the graphics are quite nice, but being more
    Heavy Rain is a pretentious bore. Gameplay consists of quick time events, cutscenes, wandering around unsure of what to press the X button at, and interactive sequences about getting your kid a snack. Heavy Rain is not a game. It’s a mediocre video that occasionally prompts you to press buttons.

    There are a few mildly interesting parts and the graphics are quite nice, but being more video than game means the whole thing needs to be carried by its story. Unfortunately, the story is lame and has a big reveal at the end that is just stupid. If Heavy Rain were an actual movie, it would be a forgettable box office bomb. There are several possible endings, but getting them entails going through the whole thing several times with a guide close at hand because unlocking some endings depends on stupid, hidden tasks like making your kid that snack within a certain amount of time. If that sounds like fun, knock yourself out.
    Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Acceptable story (Nothing that stands out), terrible gameplay. In fact, there's no reason to be so many plot holes and inconsistencies in such a plot-driven game. Being forced to play this game should be a new form of torture.
  4. Jul 24, 2013
    3
    This "game" is a little hard to review since it is not really a game in the traditional sense. It's focus lies in the "narrative"with a thin veneer of game play which consists mostly out of your run of the mill QTE's (quick time events) during cut scenes and some basic, albeit unrefined and clunky, click and point ish exploration elements. you like it, or you hate it simple as that. (iThis "game" is a little hard to review since it is not really a game in the traditional sense. It's focus lies in the "narrative"with a thin veneer of game play which consists mostly out of your run of the mill QTE's (quick time events) during cut scenes and some basic, albeit unrefined and clunky, click and point ish exploration elements. you like it, or you hate it simple as that. (i think it takes away from my gaming experience, but i can see how some find it ads to the experience.) As such, i will mostly focus my review on that, the narrative. Simply put, it is bad. Very bad even. Plot holes are so big you can fit a small moon in and the cliche ridden, horrendous 2 dimensional Mary Sue characters and a "plot twist" so stupid it insults any logical thinking human being are just a few of the problems you will encounter. It tries hard to be Se7en, but look a little past the impressive soundtrack and graphics, and what you are left with is a parody on the level of The Naked Gun. The "Acting" is downright comedy at times, and you kinda feel bad because sometimes you end up laughing at a scene which was supposed to be deep and emotionally involving, but because of the complete amateurish incompetence of the writing it end up being hilarious. After having read some of the praising "reviews" on this site i cant help but feel a little ashamed of being a gamer. You see, in my opinion, the writer is a bit like a cheat. Had this indeed been a movie script, it would have been mocked at every film festival and ripped apart by every movie critic in existence, yet in the gaming world this is rated as "superb writing", "setting new standards" etc by the critics. This effectively implies gaming is the special Olympics when it comes to telling stories. Where you can get away as an able-bodied mediocre athlete, winning gold against people with disabilities and get a slap on the shoulder for doing so. (note: nothing wrong with the Special Olympics btw, nothing but respect for the athletes competing there) I find that insulting to be honest. I give it 3/10. Would give it a solid zero, but the soundtrack and graphics design are beautiful and i tip my hat and at least want to give points to the people who created that. Shame their work is thrown into this pretentious and contrived mess. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    0
    There is one word that popped up in my mind after playing this game: Cheesy. I can see how shallow people would enjoy it, but halfway through I just wanted the game to finish already. It was just dragging along and the gameplay is just terrible. I would seriously prefer to go back and play some point & click adventure games by LucasArts. There is nothing revolutionary about these games,There is one word that popped up in my mind after playing this game: Cheesy. I can see how shallow people would enjoy it, but halfway through I just wanted the game to finish already. It was just dragging along and the gameplay is just terrible. I would seriously prefer to go back and play some point & click adventure games by LucasArts. There is nothing revolutionary about these games, actually I believe it's going a step backwards instead of forwards. Cage needs to ring Naughty Dog for some lessons on how to write a compelling story. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2014
    0
    Imagine renting a mediocre movie, press play, and then it pauses itself every five seconds, leaving you to decipher some random button-pressing on the remote to get it going again. WTF!
    This must be the last five years biggest "swing 'n miss" project I have encountered.
    The many 10 reviews can only be explained by the big step up in the graphics-department, which is I agree,
    Imagine renting a mediocre movie, press play, and then it pauses itself every five seconds, leaving you to decipher some random button-pressing on the remote to get it going again. WTF!
    This must be the last five years biggest "swing 'n miss" project I have encountered.

    The many 10 reviews can only be explained by the big step up in the graphics-department, which is I agree, substantial.
    This is not groundbreaking game development. The idea of combining a great movie with interactive game play, was perfected with Mass effect, and many others before.

    So I felt obligated to pile on with a warning to future potential buyers: If you are not impressed by graphics, if you don't enjoy pressing and holding one button, then another, then another, then another in order for your bad movie to continue. Stay away!

    Also. I understand their next installment "Beyond: Two souls" is even worse, whitch is hard to imagine.
    Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2017
    0
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control in your game.
    2) You like bad movies that make no sense with ridiculous plot holes. Maybe Troll 2 is a movie you'd love. 3) Your mental development was stunted in some way before birth or sometime after. In which case, I'm sorry. I just would've thought that
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control in your game.
    2) You like bad movies that make no sense with ridiculous plot holes. Maybe Troll 2 is a movie you'd love.
    3) Your mental development was stunted in some way before birth or sometime after. In which case, I'm sorry. I just would've thought that professional publications would hire more capable people. Weird. VERY weird.

    EDIT: To all the people that downvoted this review. You're telling me the gameplay is good? You're telling me the story is interesting? No plot holes? I hope you all get hit by a bus.
    Expand
  8. Jan 25, 2014
    3
    Cinematic? Yes. Entertaining at times? Yes. A game? Definitely, no.
    If only visuals and sound would be supplemented by gameplay -- it could be one of the best adventure games ever. But it's merely an interactive movie with multiple endings. And I've seen some better movies too.
  9. Feb 16, 2014
    2
    i will like to say this. this game? is god awful. the voice acting is ridiculous, and filled with the majority being french actors, even though this whole thing should take place in america, and the worst among them are the kids!!! the kids, sound like retarded robots set on french attitude mode. there are MASSIVE plot holes in this whole game! the way Jason died made no sense, becausei will like to say this. this game? is god awful. the voice acting is ridiculous, and filled with the majority being french actors, even though this whole thing should take place in america, and the worst among them are the kids!!! the kids, sound like retarded robots set on french attitude mode. there are MASSIVE plot holes in this whole game! the way Jason died made no sense, because there should have been no reason whatsoever he should have died. the only reason he did die is because of david cage, and his need for SADNESS PLOT. David Cage made so many mistakes while writing this game, that if i had a marker to mark how many faults there are, i would run through about 3, before i got to the Shark trial crap. the only thing i like about this game, is the the controls. they work very well, and that is my only complement i will give to monsieur Cage. i can see how some people would say "no, its a great story" and at first if you do not pay attention, yes it would be. but the second time when you actually pay attention to detail, you will think "oh god, what is this? why does this exist?" its awful. the only thing that stand up with this game is its graphics, and controls. everything else is completely awful, and i pray to god, the man invests in GOOD editors in his next game instead of graphics. make fun games your priority monsieur cage. not sad games. thank you, and please stop. Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    Its a shame that such bogus games in playstation 3.any player will get bored easily as you just keep pressing square circle move etc etc . dont waste your money on this game
  11. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Bad game. The plot is full of holes. The so called "twist" makes no sense at all see why in JamesS. comprehensive comment, posted March 3th, 2010). The controls are terrible because sometimes you don't have to do anything for a certain action, which is boring. Moments later, you do have to press a button for that same action which is not boring but then again, later, you have to pressBad game. The plot is full of holes. The so called "twist" makes no sense at all see why in JamesS. comprehensive comment, posted March 3th, 2010). The controls are terrible because sometimes you don't have to do anything for a certain action, which is boring. Moments later, you do have to press a button for that same action which is not boring but then again, later, you have to press another button (or combination) for the same action! To make it totally insane, at one point in the game, you have to hold down 7 (seven!) buttons at the same time for this action. Annoying to say the least. There are more bad control issues, just take a few minutes to read other negative comments. All together, there are many flaws in this game but for me, as said, the bad unpredictable and inconsistent controls and the "twist" which is totally unconvincing, makes this a very disappointing game. Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    hey , I know user reviews of exclusives are full of hilarious butt hurt fan boys illiterately stating that system x is better than system y.....I am not one of those. I just HATED this game, the most disappointed I have ever been by a game. IMO this game is appalling. so boring i was yawning with tears rolling down my face. the story is FULL of plot holes. OH I can't even be bothered to gohey , I know user reviews of exclusives are full of hilarious butt hurt fan boys illiterately stating that system x is better than system y.....I am not one of those. I just HATED this game, the most disappointed I have ever been by a game. IMO this game is appalling. so boring i was yawning with tears rolling down my face. the story is FULL of plot holes. OH I can't even be bothered to go into detail I just HATE it . utter utter **** Expand
  13. Apr 11, 2011
    2
    This game is an absolute disaster. Much of it is horridly tedious and boring. Yay, a teeth brushing simulator...just what my collection was missing! There are maybe 5-6 scenes in the entire game that are actually exciting in the slightest. However, we're told to overlook all of this because this game is more like a movie than a game. I can guarantee that if anyone had seen this "game" in aThis game is an absolute disaster. Much of it is horridly tedious and boring. Yay, a teeth brushing simulator...just what my collection was missing! There are maybe 5-6 scenes in the entire game that are actually exciting in the slightest. However, we're told to overlook all of this because this game is more like a movie than a game. I can guarantee that if anyone had seen this "game" in a theater, they would've walked out half way upset. The "acting" is ridiculous, often bordering on comical, especially with the terrible voice acting. The story has so many plot holes, inconsistencies and is just downright not well set up or delivered. As for the ending, I'm sorry, it may have just been the stupidest attempt at a plot twist I've ever seen. I won't go into details lest I "spoil" this "game" for anyone, but any self respecting person knows exactly what I'm talking about. The controls are abysmal and often are unresponsive or confusing about what exactly it expects you to do, leading to frustration. This game is truly a disaster in every way, which is a shame considering the developer's former work was actually fairly good. I am amazed at all the positive reviews both by critics and by users here. This is without a single doubt in my mind the worst game I've ever played. I see no redeeming qualities other than some claim that it's "new" and "different" and "like a movie". New ideas are great, and are always welcome, but they have to be done well, and this game is not. Anyone comparing this to a movie, as it was intended, will be left extremely disappointed. I am not, however, going to suggest you steer clear. Rent this game, don't buy it because I guarantee you'll be sick of it after one short play through, and test it out. Just remember to view it based on what it does itself, not what it does differently. Expand
  14. Oct 21, 2014
    4
    [Pros]
    +Sound effects
    +Choices that matter +Fluid NPC movements +Lighting +Soundtrack +Multiple outcomes +Atmosphere +Rain [Cons] -Nerve-wracking voice acting, especially the children's -Cheesy storytelling -Weak story -Full of clichés -Unnecessary scenes -Irrational changes in behavior of some of the characters -Scenes involving children are extremely cheesy and
    [Pros]
    +Sound effects
    +Choices that matter
    +Fluid NPC movements
    +Lighting
    +Soundtrack
    +Multiple outcomes
    +Atmosphere
    +Rain

    [Cons]
    -Nerve-wracking voice acting, especially the children's
    -Cheesy storytelling
    -Weak story
    -Full of clichés
    -Unnecessary scenes
    -Irrational changes in behavior of some of the characters
    -Scenes involving children are extremely cheesy and unrealistic
    -Annoying dialogues
    -Controls
    -Generic ending/credits music, which was really disappointing compared to rest of the soundtracks.
    -Did I mention the voice acting is unbelievably terrible?
    Expand
  15. PierreC
    Mar 1, 2010
    3
    If you talk away the "interactive" aspect of the game, all you'll get is an interesting story with even more uninteresting characters. Oh and here's something else to make you not buy the game. In one scene that lasts about, say, five minutes, you don't have to touch the controller... AT ALL. You could fail at every QTE, get stabbed and you still won't die, I've If you talk away the "interactive" aspect of the game, all you'll get is an interesting story with even more uninteresting characters. Oh and here's something else to make you not buy the game. In one scene that lasts about, say, five minutes, you don't have to touch the controller... AT ALL. You could fail at every QTE, get stabbed and you still won't die, I've tried. However, the scenes completely pointless anyhow because if you DO fail, it was a dream anyhow. Haaaaaaaa, I hate humanity. Expand
  16. criticA.
    Mar 10, 2010
    2
    Awful. Just pure and simple. I can't seem to find any reason to justify this games existance. It's pretty er... pretty... But thats it. Okay, imagine playing one long ass cutscene, and being able to kind-of-sort-of direct what a character does. Not that fufilling. Now alot of people are gonna call me an Xbot ebcause I don't like paying $60 for a shit movie. But I don't Awful. Just pure and simple. I can't seem to find any reason to justify this games existance. It's pretty er... pretty... But thats it. Okay, imagine playing one long ass cutscene, and being able to kind-of-sort-of direct what a character does. Not that fufilling. Now alot of people are gonna call me an Xbot ebcause I don't like paying $60 for a shit movie. But I don't own an Xbox and I don't care to spend $250 to get another few game options. I've played this game twice to the ending and I still haven't enjoyed it. Okay, let's compare it to other, better games. In terms of CSI type gameplay. Phoenix Wright has better writing and cases. When it comes to what you may call "gameplay" just play the knife scene from resident evil 4 4-5 times. This game was just not good. Bad game, bad movie, just bad. Expand
  17. DanielT
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    Wow, what a disappointment. Pretty, but not much else. The gameplay leaves much to be desired, as it involves just watching a movie with a few correlating button presses as indicated on-screen. Is this what gaming has come to? This isn't art, this is a failed attempt at trying to be different, and ultimately ending up with nothing more than a shiny frisby disc for your dog.
  18. gnapoug
    Feb 23, 2010
    1
    Interactive movie. Why not... But the main problem is that Heavy Rain, is just a interactive BAD movie. With the "brownish" color palette, Heavy Rain could intrigue with the David Fincher's Zodiac look, but the Story telling is amateurish, the acting is bad. Characters have nothing to rely on emotionnaly. Heavy Rain gave the player the feeling that David Cage is too busy watching Interactive movie. Why not... But the main problem is that Heavy Rain, is just a interactive BAD movie. With the "brownish" color palette, Heavy Rain could intrigue with the David Fincher's Zodiac look, but the Story telling is amateurish, the acting is bad. Characters have nothing to rely on emotionnaly. Heavy Rain gave the player the feeling that David Cage is too busy watching himself "creating" instead of offering the player, at least, a satisfying movie to watch. Heavy Rain is not even as interesting as a non-interactive benchmark demo. You want a interactive-cinematic experience? Get Uncharted 2. You'll have the thrill, the emotional and charismatic characters, without the pretention. Expand
  19. WilliamT
    Feb 23, 2010
    1
    The most exciting parts in Heavy Rains are... the trailers. Heavy Rain is 30h long, if you have enough courage to get all the ending. But before watching those, you'll have to endure 20h of approximative, repetitive, useless sequences. It looks more like a unedited movie, where all the rushes have been put into the final cut. In the end, Heavy Rains lacks of substance, and emotion.
  20. AndrewB
    Feb 24, 2010
    0
    Heavy rain looks nice, but it crashes the Ps3 quite badly. After rebooting, my Ps3 brings up a blue service menu letting me know that Heavy Rain has damaged my profile and the data on the disc. Following that I was taken back to the PS3 initial setup menu. I've got my Ps3 back to "working", but my DLC seems to be wiped out. Heavy Rain also won't start. It looks like I need to Heavy rain looks nice, but it crashes the Ps3 quite badly. After rebooting, my Ps3 brings up a blue service menu letting me know that Heavy Rain has damaged my profile and the data on the disc. Following that I was taken back to the PS3 initial setup menu. I've got my Ps3 back to "working", but my DLC seems to be wiped out. Heavy Rain also won't start. It looks like I need to format the drive, and re-download things where I can. Expand
  21. KarlC
    Feb 25, 2010
    4
    If I wanted an interactive experience where my actions and choices were reflected in the story, a chose your own adventure book would have done the job far better than this game. Graphics aren't everything and all the game achieves is to be a semi interactive movie that has mind numbingly dumb plots.
  22. KayE
    Feb 28, 2010
    4
    Wow. I don't think i've been so stunned at how incredibly dull a game is. Heavy Rain is one of those silly critics favourite games that only attains critical acclaim because it 'juxtaposes the intricacies of suburban life with the...' blah blah blah. Dull for hours and hours, poor controls, the movement is woeful and the characters are awful, not to mention to voice Wow. I don't think i've been so stunned at how incredibly dull a game is. Heavy Rain is one of those silly critics favourite games that only attains critical acclaim because it 'juxtaposes the intricacies of suburban life with the...' blah blah blah. Dull for hours and hours, poor controls, the movement is woeful and the characters are awful, not to mention to voice acting which makes Arnie and JCVD look class. The father character is one of the worst videogame characters ive ever come across, i ended up trying to kill myself in the game he was such a tool. Heavy Rain has shown me a distrubing direction for gaming and i hope this is avoided, its an even poorer videogame version of the Saw films. Admittedly it has an addictive value and is tempting to continue playing but with depressing storylines and blandness throughout i'd strongly advise just a rental, purely in order to say wow this is atrocious. Expand
  23. BrianL
    Mar 7, 2010
    2
    I was very open minded about this game as being something different and fresh in the world of games that has become so filled with shooters and sandbox titles and looked very much forward to playing it. But it is awful. I think the first thing that the developers should have gotten right in a game they describe as an "interactive" drama, would be the story. The story in this game, while I was very open minded about this game as being something different and fresh in the world of games that has become so filled with shooters and sandbox titles and looked very much forward to playing it. But it is awful. I think the first thing that the developers should have gotten right in a game they describe as an "interactive" drama, would be the story. The story in this game, while initially interesting, has more holes in it that a swiss cheese. Characters who don't know each other at all suddenly have one another's phone numbers to contact in emergencies and some plot threads lead absolutely nowhere. The case does have a definitive ending but it is hammed up in garish Hollywood finale style that leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. Truly awful storytelling. The game's mechanics of QTEs and dodgy motion controls, coupled with a ludicrous movement system that requires holding R2 to move forward as the camera shifts about changing your control direction is so shabby it defies reason that it was kept after playtesting. Some of the game's visuals are marvellous while others are PS2 quality. Some of the characters work, some don't. The inconsistency kills this title dead and it is a shame as it had potential. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  24. GeoW
    Apr 4, 2010
    3
    A really dreadful "game." And I'm being pretty charitable calling this a game in the first place. It's really more of an interactive cgi film. I thought at first to call it a "choose your own adventure" novel, but it's not even that interesting. The narrative chugs along more-or-less regardless of what "choices" you make or how you "play." At some point, it becomes clear A really dreadful "game." And I'm being pretty charitable calling this a game in the first place. It's really more of an interactive cgi film. I thought at first to call it a "choose your own adventure" novel, but it's not even that interesting. The narrative chugs along more-or-less regardless of what "choices" you make or how you "play." At some point, it becomes clear that if you choose to simply watch and not mash buttons and the game encourages you to do, it will more or less roll along and accomplish what it wants. It's a game for people who'd really rather see a movie, and frankly, it's not even a very good movie. Easily the dreariest most depressing story I've ever been subjected to--luckily, you can finish it in a weekend. Expand
  25. EmberD
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    The controls are rubbish. When I say bad, this does not do it justice. The controls are HORRIBLE. Almost not playable bad. Than we have the glitches that get you totally out of the story. People floating in the air when you talk to them... really floating... And the low resolution textures look absolutely last gen. This game is more like a bad B movie. You think you will at least have The controls are rubbish. When I say bad, this does not do it justice. The controls are HORRIBLE. Almost not playable bad. Than we have the glitches that get you totally out of the story. People floating in the air when you talk to them... really floating... And the low resolution textures look absolutely last gen. This game is more like a bad B movie. You think you will at least have SOME fun but you will not. You will be frustrated and bring the game back to the store. Expand
  26. ClarkG.
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    Bad acting, weird facial animation, absurd and cliche story. How are we supposed to feel concern about what's happening on screen. I finally understand how overestimated it was, when I had this reflex to skip the cut-scene. But well, I couldn't, because the whole game is a bad cut-scene.
  27. NickM
    Feb 24, 2010
    0
    Heavy Rain is incredibly dull. The story is slow & dull, the gameplay is just a bunch of quick time events & overall the only good thing about this game is the graphics. But graphics don't make a good game! And I know Sony fanboys are going to say that I'm a 360 fanboy & this game rules & that I'm just some moron who can't appreciate a game with a good story & deep Heavy Rain is incredibly dull. The story is slow & dull, the gameplay is just a bunch of quick time events & overall the only good thing about this game is the graphics. But graphics don't make a good game! And I know Sony fanboys are going to say that I'm a 360 fanboy & this game rules & that I'm just some moron who can't appreciate a game with a good story & deep meanings. But I don't care. Because I'm not a 360 fanboy & the story is just plain out slow & dull! So as a game Heavy Rain fails & as a movie critics would tear it apart because of its slow & dull story! So in the end the only thing Heavy Rain succeeds at is having great graphics. But like I already said, graphics don't make a good game! So I suggest that you avoid Heavy Rain, unless your one of those graphics whores who doesn't care about story or gameplay or stuff that makes a game GOOD! Expand
  28. Ryusennin
    Feb 26, 2010
    4
    You've already heard everything about Heavy Rain. It's the best thing since sliced bread. Its graphics blow Uncharted 2 out of the water. Its interactive storytelling is a revolution. Bullshit. Heavy Rain is a souped up spiritual and technical sequel to Fahrenheit. It presents the same qualities (an intriguing yet repetitive gameplay which tries too much to copycat Shenmue You've already heard everything about Heavy Rain. It's the best thing since sliced bread. Its graphics blow Uncharted 2 out of the water. Its interactive storytelling is a revolution. Bullshit. Heavy Rain is a souped up spiritual and technical sequel to Fahrenheit. It presents the same qualities (an intriguing yet repetitive gameplay which tries too much to copycat Shenmue without ever being able to equal it or even understand it) and the very same flaws. Technically, it's not stunning. Character graphics are nicely done, but the whole affair is largely inferior to other mocap achievements like Uncharted or Heavenly Sword. The game is littered with glitches -- I personally didn't encounter any serious showstopper, but apparently many people have suffered from aggravating bugs and even profile corruption. The most serious flaw of Fahrenheit was its downright mediocre ending. Just imagine David Lynch concluding his Twin Peaks series with an over-the-top air fight obviously inspired by Matrix 3 (complete with conspiracies about artificial intelligences and Mayan prophecies). Yeah, I bet you didn't see that coming either. Heavy Rain unfortunately goes the same way with an impossible Deux Ex Machina final twist, and once again proves that the failed moviemaker David De Grutolla (aka David Cage in English-speaking countries) is a decent director but an awful and amateur scriptwriter. Is Heavy Rain the "revolution" of videogaming? Heck no. Not even close. In five years, it will be remembered the same way as the FMV games from the mid-1990s. A strange yet futile gameplay experiment, with an appaling narrative by a wannabe David Fincher. David Cage is really turning into the Uwe Boll of videogames. Expand
  29. BerneG
    Feb 28, 2010
    4
    Gameplay is horrible to begin with. The graphics are not everything, and this game is proof of that. The story is too predictable right from the start. And the development too. Sure, the graphics and the atmosphere were well done, but it is the only positive point. Furthermore, the length of the game is extremely short. Not the best, not the worst.
  30. NathanB
    Mar 16, 2010
    0
    While Heavy Rain's novel methods of conveying a story through the gaming medium are effective, the actual story Heavy Rain aims to tell is garbage. How can a serious, dramatic story be considered good when it's riddled with plot holes you could sail a boat through? The characters presented in the game are as much of a failure as the plot. The characters in Heavy Rain are only While Heavy Rain's novel methods of conveying a story through the gaming medium are effective, the actual story Heavy Rain aims to tell is garbage. How can a serious, dramatic story be considered good when it's riddled with plot holes you could sail a boat through? The characters presented in the game are as much of a failure as the plot. The characters in Heavy Rain are only fleshed out briefly when they are introduced, then fail to grow or change throughout the rest of the story. They often act with little to no motivation other than forwarding the game's senseless, hackneyed plot and consistently spout awkward lines covered in bad American accents. As a plot-driven game, these are all fatal flaws. I'm left wondering if those lauding Heavy Rain are just lying to themselves, have lower standards for what is considered "good" for a video game, or are just too ignorant to know any better. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]