• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 23, 2010
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2504 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenjaminB
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    Probably not the best game for a preschool teacher in Portland, OR to be playing at this time of year
  2. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  3. BradA
    Feb 25, 2010
    9
    I don't understand all of the hate for this! I am not generally into story driven games...I prefer instant gratification and shooters...but I was intrigued and picked it up. After my first play through I am sold. This is an amazing "game" that really draws you in and makes you part of the experience. During my first play through I did not replay any choices or faults...ended losing I don't understand all of the hate for this! I am not generally into story driven games...I prefer instant gratification and shooters...but I was intrigued and picked it up. After my first play through I am sold. This is an amazing "game" that really draws you in and makes you part of the experience. During my first play through I did not replay any choices or faults...ended losing two characters to gruesome deaths and a sense of awe over the experience. I can't recommend this enough. The ONLY thing I saw that holds it back is the control scheme...most of the time it works fine, but other times it just doesn't. Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    For me, it's the best game of all time. Period. I just love games that are like interactive movies. Great story, voice acting, and graphics. I love playing as the four characters.
  5. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    this has one of the greatest stories in a video game, and the concept of every decision effecting the events in the story is so immersive, that its one of the most personal experiences ever, not quite like the walking dead where your choices are mostly dialogue, but the choices in this game are your actions, and will leave off with like 20 multiple endings or something like that, I don'tthis has one of the greatest stories in a video game, and the concept of every decision effecting the events in the story is so immersive, that its one of the most personal experiences ever, not quite like the walking dead where your choices are mostly dialogue, but the choices in this game are your actions, and will leave off with like 20 multiple endings or something like that, I don't know I've only played through it twice, but will probably play it again in the near future. The choices, in your first play through at least are extremely hard to make, they will challenge your morals and values as a person and you will always have to think twice about them. the few flaws in this game such as some awkward voice acting and animations are to small to even make a difference in the experience of the game, admittedly the first hour of the game is slow, but necessary to understand one of your characters a little better, and after that, the game is a nonstop roller coaster ride that you will never forget Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    In an industry full of shooters and adventures and just the same formulas over and over this was a breath of minty fresh air. Only games that are truly great have me glued to the tv and I couldn't take my eyes off this one. I even replayed it a few times. Truly inventive game.
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    It's difficult to comprehend how good this game is. Heavy Rain allows you to take on a completely new style of play so in depth and it is backed up with a strong plot to boot. Game of the Year by a mile for me because although not as immediately entertaining as say Mass Effect ,Call of Duty or God of War, those who stick with Heavy Rain will realise for a 10 hour game, it is 10 hours theyIt's difficult to comprehend how good this game is. Heavy Rain allows you to take on a completely new style of play so in depth and it is backed up with a strong plot to boot. Game of the Year by a mile for me because although not as immediately entertaining as say Mass Effect ,Call of Duty or God of War, those who stick with Heavy Rain will realise for a 10 hour game, it is 10 hours they have spent well on an experience like no other in gaming history since... well ever. Ultimately it is the way it grasps you from when your son is kidnapped at the start of the game that drifts away from 'just a game' to film-noire, and it is so excellently well done. It is very important that you play this game, because in 5 or 10 years time, game developers will attempt to copy Heavy Rain and most will most likely not hold a candle to it. Heavy Rain is the most innovative game of the 21st century so far and is going to be the prototype for the next step in gaming. Expand
  8. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Take the best Steinbeck novel you've ever read, takes the themes of judgement, human nature, what we need vs. what we want, and remove these themes from the novel. Take these themes and put them into a video game. Write the video game around these themes, all the while adding the best graphics I've seen period, as well as some very intricate characters, title this video game "Heavy Rain",Take the best Steinbeck novel you've ever read, takes the themes of judgement, human nature, what we need vs. what we want, and remove these themes from the novel. Take these themes and put them into a video game. Write the video game around these themes, all the while adding the best graphics I've seen period, as well as some very intricate characters, title this video game "Heavy Rain", and then release it to a widespread audience.

    That explains the perfect 10.
    Collapse
  9. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Not just 'Quick Time Event The Game'. I have not seen another game that matches the variety of story choices. This is one of the few games which allows the player to mold there own unique gaming experience.
  10. George
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing! Absolutely Amazing. This is the second best game I have ever Played! (second only to Uncharted 2: Among Thieves). Every aspect of Heavy Rain is perfect, the story was engaging and thoroughly interesting, with the Origami killer's identity a must-know after about 3 hours of gameplay. The campaign itself will take about 8-10 hours to complete, and every minute is amazing. The Amazing! Absolutely Amazing. This is the second best game I have ever Played! (second only to Uncharted 2: Among Thieves). Every aspect of Heavy Rain is perfect, the story was engaging and thoroughly interesting, with the Origami killer's identity a must-know after about 3 hours of gameplay. The campaign itself will take about 8-10 hours to complete, and every minute is amazing. The only criticism would fall on the slow start, but, once the main plot focus begins, you will have to fight yourself away from the game, because its a true gaming revolution. Sure the interactive play isn't as interactive as you might want, but who cares. This game is as close to perfect as you can currently get (not forgetting Uncharted 2). Buy it! BUY IT NOW! It's money well spent! Can't wait for Heavy Rain 2 (and Uncharted 3)! Expand
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this game. It was like playing a movie, that was how real it felt. I was so attached to my players that I got really upset when I thought Ethan died in the power plant level. What was cool was that you never had to go back and repeat what you did. The music was nice, the controls intuitive, and the graphics splendid. I'm really happy I bought this game. My only possible complaint would be that the beginning is slow, but I didn't find that annoying at all. All I can say is get this game! Expand
  12. Brad
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. The story, themes and realistic tone are something we rarely see in video games. Those people who think that this game is linear haven't played through the whole. The first half is engaging but slow and fairly linear - it does have a bunch of scenes that can't really be "lost" because the game is getting the player used to the This is one of my favorite games of all time. The story, themes and realistic tone are something we rarely see in video games. Those people who think that this game is linear haven't played through the whole. The first half is engaging but slow and fairly linear - it does have a bunch of scenes that can't really be "lost" because the game is getting the player used to the controls, but in the second half of the game is incredibly intense and everything counts. I have played through the second half three times now and had things play out in wildly different ways each time. On my first playthrough two of the main characters died - one of them fairly early on. Heavy Rain isn't for people with an itchy trigger finger, but it is one of the great games of this console generation. And anyone who says bad things about the graphics must be high. The game looks stunning. Expand
  13. WagnerPaiva
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is not just an amazing game, it is, like MGS4, such a unique game that it can justify the purchase of a PS3 only to play it. It is a book in form of a game, a relaxing and also exciting experience like with no equal in today´s gamming scene (althought Farenheit on the PS2 had a similar felling). The graphics are superb and so is the actors and music. You can play Heavy Heavy Rain is not just an amazing game, it is, like MGS4, such a unique game that it can justify the purchase of a PS3 only to play it. It is a book in form of a game, a relaxing and also exciting experience like with no equal in today´s gamming scene (althought Farenheit on the PS2 had a similar felling). The graphics are superb and so is the actors and music. You can play Heavy Rain dozens of times giving it a replay value with no match or rival. It is just a must have game for gamers that want more than shotting friends on the head in online multiplayer generic FPSs. 10/10. Expand
  14. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Best game I've ever played in my 28 years of gaming. Amazing, emotional, heart pounding, engaging. I think people who rated this low don't understand that everything you do changes the outcome of the entire game as you go along. There are thousands and thousands of combinations of outcomes, and it all depends on your own actions. Deep game. Never heard anyone (who knew what they wereBest game I've ever played in my 28 years of gaming. Amazing, emotional, heart pounding, engaging. I think people who rated this low don't understand that everything you do changes the outcome of the entire game as you go along. There are thousands and thousands of combinations of outcomes, and it all depends on your own actions. Deep game. Never heard anyone (who knew what they were doing) say any different. Expand
  15. TimM
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    A superb title. QuanticDream succeeds in creating an intense and bleak atmosphere. Where a tiny bit of the acting can sometimes fall a little short(only for some of the characters, a lot of them were mostly well-done), this is one of the few games I can think of in recent history that makes you genuinely care if the characters live or die. A few of the characters weren't completely A superb title. QuanticDream succeeds in creating an intense and bleak atmosphere. Where a tiny bit of the acting can sometimes fall a little short(only for some of the characters, a lot of them were mostly well-done), this is one of the few games I can think of in recent history that makes you genuinely care if the characters live or die. A few of the characters weren't completely fleshed out as much as QuanticDream would have liked(a lot wasn't persay discussed about Madison or Norman, but they were still cool characters), but most characters seemed mostly developed. There are some critics that for some reason think the story is lackluster(such as Destructoid's own big fat guy, Jim Sterling), but obviously these kinds of critics come off as pretentious, as the story itself is mostly well-written. There are a few plot-holes, but that doesn't make the story bad in anyway, it just makes it not perfect. I personally thought the gameplay was really intriguing, as most of it is either walking around investigating the area or a series of action-packed quick-time-events...which I suppose wouldn't appeal to the "I LOVE CALL OF DUTY" twitch shooter guys, but that's OK because this game isn't for everyone. BUT, I can honestly say that this is a game like no other. Never before does a game pull you into the characters like this game does, nor can I think of too many games in recent history that give you the same kind of adrenaline rush that this game does. The game can be depressing, but in a very beautiful and artistic way. The game also LOOKS fantastic. One of the best looking console games so far. It has a few minor flaws, but for the most part it looks excellent. I've rambled on long enough. Anyone that is willing to look at games in a different light and aren't expecting a typical shooter or typical game really... should go and give this a try. I feel this is a game that should be played and discussed. At the very least, rent it. But if you want to support unique games that rely on more than what most games typically provide, I suggest you go out and buy a copy of Heavy Rain. How far would you go to save someone you love? Expand
  16. Denbar
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Awesome awesome game, one that will revolutionize the gaming industry for sure. I'm a filmaker and I love a good movie and a good plot. If you love suspense...get the game...of you can appreciate superb graphics and realism in a game...then this is a game for you. iF you are a hardcore gamer who only play games like God of WAr and other action oriented intense button smashing Awesome awesome game, one that will revolutionize the gaming industry for sure. I'm a filmaker and I love a good movie and a good plot. If you love suspense...get the game...of you can appreciate superb graphics and realism in a game...then this is a game for you. iF you are a hardcore gamer who only play games like God of WAr and other action oriented intense button smashing games...stay away. THis is something new and it will take some getting ajusywd to the mechanics. I called out from work and picked this game up and I am beyond satisfied. The story is compelling and the replay value gets high points from me as I cannot wait to replay it over and over again and have different outcomes.there really isn't much of anything negative to say here other than again if you're open minded and don't have an attention deficit disorder then you will love this game. Most users on here who score it low, in my opinion scored it low on there minds before they ever played it and when they did the mechanics confused the he'll out of them. I will be eagarly anticipating future updates and a sequel. Expand
  17. RobertK.
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    Storytelling at a new level, Heavy Rain puts the videogame as a medium to a new level. Poor people see only QTE's instead of the story mechanics and pissed off xbox fanboys will give it a 1/10 too.
  18. MarcosV
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Masterpiece. The game is absolutely incredible. From the first scene it got me totally absorved into the story and the ambience. The beginning is slow but the game gets to a point where you cant stop playing no matter what and you have to make decisions that really really matter. I felt a lot of emotion while playing most of the scenes and that has been very difficult for me this last Masterpiece. The game is absolutely incredible. From the first scene it got me totally absorved into the story and the ambience. The beginning is slow but the game gets to a point where you cant stop playing no matter what and you have to make decisions that really really matter. I felt a lot of emotion while playing most of the scenes and that has been very difficult for me this last yars. I've been really bored of videogames lately and couldnt find any that i liked really. But this game is so entertaining for me i cant even explain. Hope they continue making games as wonderfull and absorving as this one, so they will have me still interested in videogame industry for the years to come. 10 for me!! absolute masterpiece!! Expand
  19. CraigH
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    Given my voted score and that this is the best game I've played in a very long time I'm disappointed with the extreme low ratings on this review. There's only one rating that I appreciated, which was the very first one that gave it a 3, by James S - at least he gave some solid reasons to rate it low, and actually made some good points. The plot hole of why Ethan has the Given my voted score and that this is the best game I've played in a very long time I'm disappointed with the extreme low ratings on this review. There's only one rating that I appreciated, which was the very first one that gave it a 3, by James S - at least he gave some solid reasons to rate it low, and actually made some good points. The plot hole of why Ethan has the blackouts that's never explained is admittedly one that I wish they had explained properly, as it would've given the whole story a much more rounded and intriguing memory to it, so leaving the explanation of that out was a mistake. I'll also admit there's a few othe mistakes and problems with the game, but my rating would already be so far ABOVE 10 that these few things really just bring it back down to a 12 or 13 out of 10. Rating it so low for these few things as many people here have done is a TOTAL INJUSTICE to this game. The amount of effort put into creating this is beyond imagination, it's not like throwing a few actors in front of a camera, creating it virtually, and still making it look and SOUND so movie-esque professional is a feat in its own right. The music is fantastic, deeply moving, the story is extremely engaging, and the graphics - especially the close ups of the faces are to be truly admired. I hope in time this one looks like a poor cousin to what may be to come in the future, but for now this is the most amazing game that's ever been created, and the low rating people are really having themselves on and expecting far too much in terms of technology advancement in too short a time. Excellent, amazing, truly entertaining and a fantastic experience to be remembered for a long time to come! Expand
  20. JamesD
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    If you go into Heavy Rain thinking that this is going to be a full blown action game, you will not be impressed. If you go into it thinking you'll be engaged because of the narrative, then yes that is most certainly what Heavy Rain will give you. This is the most emotional game I've ever played and I think it is crafted so well that no other medium could possibly handle its If you go into Heavy Rain thinking that this is going to be a full blown action game, you will not be impressed. If you go into it thinking you'll be engaged because of the narrative, then yes that is most certainly what Heavy Rain will give you. This is the most emotional game I've ever played and I think it is crafted so well that no other medium could possibly handle its originality. From its innovative use of quick time button presses, to the brilliant story with multiple epilogues, then this is a 10 hour movie extraveganza. This is no dumb game with a subtly driven plot. I found myself almost in tears at some of the harsher moments and with joy at the most proudest of these moments. This is a game that PS3 needs and as far as my objective opinion goes, this is the best story driven game I have ever played. Yes there are some rather dumb level design choices and the walking around sections are clunky but these issues are completely thrown when uncovering what a lovely experience it really is. Expand
  21. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don'tThis game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don't listen to the bad reviews of the game that you see here. If you are an action junkie then this game is simply not for you. If you are truly looking for a new game to try then I highly recommend playing this game. Kudos to you Quantic Dream for trying out something new and having great success with it! Expand
  22. ValerianR.
    Mar 3, 2010
    9
    I´m playing video games for almost 18 years now. No matter if racing, shooting, horror, jump´n´run what so ever, I´ve played it all. I have never written any critics or have reviewed a game. This is the first one, ´cause I have never in my life played anything quite like Heavy Rain. I was hooked the moment it started. Of course I´ve heard all the hype I´m playing video games for almost 18 years now. No matter if racing, shooting, horror, jump´n´run what so ever, I´ve played it all. I have never written any critics or have reviewed a game. This is the first one, ´cause I have never in my life played anything quite like Heavy Rain. I was hooked the moment it started. Of course I´ve heard all the hype and normally I don´t believe "hype". For example imo Modern Warfare (2) plain out sucks (sorry guys). So please forget the "hype argument". I do understand that not everyone loves Heavy Rain the way I do, ´cause it surely isn´t a game for everyone. But it really is something absolutly new. So even if you don´t like it for God sake at least rent it, ´cause you really have to expirience something like this game. The only reason why I am not giving it a 10 is because I wasn´t able to do all the buttoncombinations while hanging relaxed on my couch. But normally this game is so full of drama, emotions and pretty intelligent stuff that you won´t be able to relax, because you can´t let it happen to not-witness even a slpit second. After the first 30 minutes of playing I couldn´t wait to get through the game only to start all over again to see the other possible ways to get to the end. A lot of the other points like gameplay, story, innovative fighting scence and so on would get a 15 out of 10 if that would be possible... Honestly guys, check this game out - even if you don´t love it you sure as hell will never forget this game. THIS is next gen the way I think it should be. THIS is the future. Expand
  23. ParkerJ
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is literally the greatest game I have ever played. I have never been addicted to a game like I have Heavy Rain. The story was phenomenal. The characters were incredible. I can't fit my emotions towards this game in a comment. It has to be experienced hands-on. No one will fail to thoroughly enjoy this game, and if you do, you need to rethink entertainment. I was in awe and Heavy Rain is literally the greatest game I have ever played. I have never been addicted to a game like I have Heavy Rain. The story was phenomenal. The characters were incredible. I can't fit my emotions towards this game in a comment. It has to be experienced hands-on. No one will fail to thoroughly enjoy this game, and if you do, you need to rethink entertainment. I was in awe and shock at the ending. You will not be let down or regret buying this game. It's worth much more than its current price. Expand
  24. JasonT
    Mar 6, 2010
    9
    I'm sorry to see the low user score for this game. I just finished my first play through, and I'm deeply impressed with what has been accomplished here. I think if you judge this game as a movie, or as a video game, it fails. This is what many people have done. I think it's a new thing, with nuances and new ideas, and you need a new system to judge it. Quantic Dream wants I'm sorry to see the low user score for this game. I just finished my first play through, and I'm deeply impressed with what has been accomplished here. I think if you judge this game as a movie, or as a video game, it fails. This is what many people have done. I think it's a new thing, with nuances and new ideas, and you need a new system to judge it. Quantic Dream wants to show you something new, they take risks that don't always pay off, but if that appeals to you, don't waste your money on the Nth FPS game this year, play this game. QD and others will undoubtedly improve on this foundation, but someone has to start. You should get in and support what they're doing. I'd like to get one kind of dumb thing out of the way now. People have complained about the voice acting... this blows my mind. The voice acting is not universally good, but the leads are extremely strong. Really only the child actors sound unpolished, but Heavy Rain plays like "The Piano" compared to any of the new Star Wars movies. And who cares if some of them sound a little French-affected? I'm charmed whenever somebody is willing to learn my wacko language to get through to me. Pretend the game takes place in Paris if that helps you get past it. The first thing to discuss is the idea of plot. The game does not have a linear story, or "wow! four different endings". It's a giant branching tree enclosing a large number of stories and tones, and the sum of the whole things is what the game offers. I think you must play through more than once to get the big picture. You cannot save at some point and keep replaying a scene until you get the outcome you desire. This alone was a bold choice and drastically changes your relationship with the game, and it will certainly alienate a lot of perfectionist gamers. In fact, the extent to which you can screw something up, and the narrative just folds seemlessly around your errors like a wound closing, is a major technical accomplishment. The rest of the review contains *** MAJOR SPOILERS *** For example, I played all of the characters fairly well to a point about halfway into the game, where I see my FBI agent Jayden killed horribly in a scrapyard. At this point I sacrificed any hope of seeing him through to the end; I have no idea what his story was like, all of the time I invested with him played out to nothing. I really felt like I had let him down, I worried that other characters would have to make serious sacrifices to make up for his loss, and I was right on both counts. I had to stop playing for the night, which you know doesn't happen too often :). Quantic Dream has also given you the ability to play a character "a certain way", which may not have anything to do with the ending, but affects the way the drama unfolds. For example, many people have complained about "the big twist", being Scott Shelby as the origami killer. The point of this twist is not to startle you cheaply. The point is that it's easy to like this guy; and because you like him, you play him like he's nice, expecting the game to reward you for being nice; and you work hard to make him nice, and then the game betrays you. And it makes you mad... you want him to succeed, but all of the help you've given him turns out to be help covering his tracks as the killer, working against what you're doing with the other characters. When you play it the next time, will you make him a jerk because you know what else he does? Do you think he gets away with it *because* he's nice? The truth is, it's easy to see it coming, but they don't point big fingers at it. Shelby talks down strong leads provided by Lauren. The question of who hired Shelby, and how long it goes unanswered, should have been burning in everyone's mind by the time the killer's identity is revealed. And the ease and directness with which he murders more than a dozen security guards gave me some serious pause when it happened. Similarly, you can play Ethan as a kind man or as a jerk. Do you overpower your kids playing with them in the backyard? Do you sit on your ass while your wife cleans the kitchen? Do you regard Madison with suspicion, take her help but keep her out or your life? Ethan is innocent, but maybe he's a jerk anyway. I intend to play the game through again this way, just to see how it affects the narrative. I suspect many people will not explore your ability to control the game's tone through character judgment, but it's a huge part of the game's offering and your experience is weaker if you don't take advantage of it. Frequently you have to make hard choices, and sometimes the outcome is not what you expect. Sometimes you're rewarded for chickening out. Sometimes you think you're making a sacrifice but you aren't. Late in the game, you have to really think about what you're doing, and because I couldn't reliably predict what the outcome of my actions would be, I'd instead think "what would Ethan do?" And even if I thought it was a dumb thing to do, or it conflicted with information that other characters had (but ethan didn't), I'd go ahead and do it, for Ethan, and feel some kind of satisfaction for helping this character do what he had to do. Even if I thought it would take me further from the best ending. That is a new thing for me in a video game, or really any kind of media or art. So I feel real gratitude for having this game now; that's a new thing too. Expand
  25. NeT.
    Apr 25, 2010
    9
    I just beat the game a couple of minutes ago, and although I didn't like who they set up as the origami killer, I loved the game! It was gripping and the story kept me hooked all the way through! This game started off really slow, but once the action started, I couldn't wait to see what happened in the next chapter... and then the next, and then the next! I can understand why I just beat the game a couple of minutes ago, and although I didn't like who they set up as the origami killer, I loved the game! It was gripping and the story kept me hooked all the way through! This game started off really slow, but once the action started, I couldn't wait to see what happened in the next chapter... and then the next, and then the next! I can understand why this is a love/hate game for a lot of people- but if you love great characters, an interesting mystery plot, and adrenaline pumping action, you should give this game a try. It truly was a great game and it was unlike anything I've ever played before! Expand
  26. brettl
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    In all reality i want to give this game an 8, but since i see that most ppl are hating on it for little or stupid reason ill just go with a 10. very different from most game out there, but more importantly, they do it well. the quick time events are actually involving. what i mean by that is when you swipe to the left to block, you actually feel like your swiping to the left. at time (not In all reality i want to give this game an 8, but since i see that most ppl are hating on it for little or stupid reason ill just go with a 10. very different from most game out there, but more importantly, they do it well. the quick time events are actually involving. what i mean by that is when you swipe to the left to block, you actually feel like your swiping to the left. at time (not many to be fair, but there is a good amount of them) i just guessed at what the input should be and got it right, it was that inutitive. i love my gow, my ninja gaiden, even dynasty warriors, but in a way this is the best action game ive ever played. but heres the thing, you cant take it as an action game. this is not gona be everyones taste so try the demo first. if you like it get the game, just remember that its a very slow start, seriously, one of the slowest starts ive ever experienced, but get threw that and its fun. Expand
  27. FrankW
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    Not without its flaws notably the movement controls and sometimes audio, Heavy Rain is still a very powerful emotional experience that's unlike anything I have ever played before. I look forward to replaying the game to try different scenarios and also to the upcoming DLC. Quantum Dream deserves acclaim for this title and I eagerly look forward to new "Interactive Drama" both from Not without its flaws notably the movement controls and sometimes audio, Heavy Rain is still a very powerful emotional experience that's unlike anything I have ever played before. I look forward to replaying the game to try different scenarios and also to the upcoming DLC. Quantum Dream deserves acclaim for this title and I eagerly look forward to new "Interactive Drama" both from Quantum Dream and from other developers as well. Truly a remarkable adult experience. Expand
  28. JohnH
    Feb 25, 2010
    9
    Fantastic. Completely surpassed my expectations in every way. People who can't appreciate how amazing this game is in our current industry are too closed minded. Go in with low expectations (if any) and prepare for an addictive ride. I couldn't put it down.
  29. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Storytelling in a way that is rarely seen and experienced. Great presentation and gameplay that really sucks you into the game. But the true star here is the story extremely well done. They should really make a movie out this game.
  30. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Heavy Rain is the best game on PS3. Was that not enough to compel you to buy it? Well let's scrape the false claims out of the way first. Heavy Rain is NOT a quick time event driven game. It may feel like it as you fiddle with the thumbsticks and follow direction cues. But Heavy Rain makes so much sense out of them in context. For example when you fuss around trying to undo your seatbelt,Heavy Rain is the best game on PS3. Was that not enough to compel you to buy it? Well let's scrape the false claims out of the way first. Heavy Rain is NOT a quick time event driven game. It may feel like it as you fiddle with the thumbsticks and follow direction cues. But Heavy Rain makes so much sense out of them in context. For example when you fuss around trying to undo your seatbelt, the feedback feels dynamic. Now to the game itself. Quantic Dream has given us a masterpiece of storytelling and design. There are 18 diiferent ending scenarios. Above all else though is the story that drives them. The game asks you how far will you go to save someone you love and all the way through the protagonists are torn by the past and want to save the future. Ethan Mars clearly defines this. He loses his older son Jason by a vehicular rundown and throughout the game he struggles to live with himself, especially when Shaun goes missing. Heavy Rain pulls you in with plenty of action sequences and spins a yarn which is truly phenominal. If you don't feel anything by the end of the game (no matter how many run throughs you do) something is definately wrong with you. Expand
  31. Mar 17, 2012
    0
    Take the best Steinbeck novel you've ever read, takes the themes of judgement, human nature, what we need vs. what we want, and remove these themes from the novel. Take these themes and put them into a video game. Write the video game around these themes, all the while adding the best graphics I've seen period, as well as some very intricate characters, title this video game "Heavy Rain",Take the best Steinbeck novel you've ever read, takes the themes of judgement, human nature, what we need vs. what we want, and remove these themes from the novel. Take these themes and put them into a video game. Write the video game around these themes, all the while adding the best graphics I've seen period, as well as some very intricate characters, title this video game "Heavy Rain", and then release it to a widespread audience.

    That explains the perfect 10.
    Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]