Heavy Rain PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2706 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenjaminB
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    Probably not the best game for a preschool teacher in Portland, OR to be playing at this time of year
  2. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    Quantic Dream is known for their amazing storytelling so you would expect the Heavy Rain to be no different. Well you're right. Heavy Rain has a blockbuster story. What makes it better is the graphics design of the character. Then there is the gameplay itself. That's what makes a game. But Heavy Rain does't have much of that. Everything seems like a giant interactive movie. There isn'tQuantic Dream is known for their amazing storytelling so you would expect the Heavy Rain to be no different. Well you're right. Heavy Rain has a blockbuster story. What makes it better is the graphics design of the character. Then there is the gameplay itself. That's what makes a game. But Heavy Rain does't have much of that. Everything seems like a giant interactive movie. There isn't much to do other than push the buttons that pops up on the screen. To put it simple it isn't much of a game. It's more like an interactive movie. Although the game is great it isn't a masterpiece. A game can have an amazing story but without the gameplay to back it up it just goes to waste. I like what Quantic Dream was aiming for which is why I am giving this game an 8/10. It was something new rather than another shooter but still I would've much preferred this be a movie rather than a game. Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    WARNING:THIS GAME IS NOT FOR ACTION JUNKIES WHO NEEDS CONSTANT ACTION TO STAY INTERESTED!! Now for people looking for something different while playing a game may I suggest to you...heavy rain! Heavy rain lets you play as four protagonist one of which is trying desperately to find his son after previously losing his oldest son in a car accident! Two years later he's half the man he used toWARNING:THIS GAME IS NOT FOR ACTION JUNKIES WHO NEEDS CONSTANT ACTION TO STAY INTERESTED!! Now for people looking for something different while playing a game may I suggest to you...heavy rain! Heavy rain lets you play as four protagonist one of which is trying desperately to find his son after previously losing his oldest son in a car accident! Two years later he's half the man he used to be..his marriage is over he's constantly having nightmare's and is seeing a shrink and his bond with his son is all but broken! By this point in the game I knew I would finish it multiple times because the story is what makes it worth playing! I was sucked in by the attention paid to the story as well as the graphics which is down right beautiful to behold!this game also gives you complete control over the story by letting you decide who lives and who dies which gives you so many reason's to replay it after you finish one of the games multiple stories! One reviewer said he tried to kill a character but it was just a dream so it sucked because it was a dream....? Well you cant kill her there because...well its a dream but trust me she gets the worst deaths in the game lol. Everything isn't good in heavy rain like the controls which takes time to get used to. Many times I took a wrong turn or found myself kissing a wall but its not to distracking also parts of the story will not be explained like ethans nightmare's of drowning kids or what was he doing/where was he during his blackouts but again its not to distracting from the rest of the narrative! This is a must play for gamers but even more so for developers because they've clearly ran out of idea's when it comes to good gameplay and story telling vs weak story and run and gun rehash! Get this game its a true diamond in a sea full on shooters! Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game does not deserve the low user score currently on Metacritic so I will give it a 10. I personally rate it a 9, points for being unique and different, as well as engaging and immersive animations. I am personally a fan of experimental ways of telling a story in the video game medium, playing Quantic Dreams Indigo Prophecy, HL2 Mods - Dear Esther and Stanley's Parable. Heavy Rain is the evolution of what indigo prophecy was supposed to be and the evolution of the point and click adventure genre. (At least this is what I think Heavy Rain's roots are from -- Point and Click adventure games) . This is the push point and clicks need to turn into, interactive dramas with the occasional puzzle. Telltale tried to follow suit with their Jurassic Park that was released this November, and I find it fun with all of the QTE's. Anyways, if you are into cinematics and gorgeous cutscenes in your video games, as well as don't mind taking an observer seat in games such as L.A Noire, metal gear solid, and those huge open world rpg games games, then this game is for you. The story isn't even close to film quality yet, but this is the start of a revolution for storytelling in gaming. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    For me, it's the best game of all time. Period. I just love games that are like interactive movies. Great story, voice acting, and graphics. I love playing as the four characters.
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    This is a very interesting game.
    It has a very dark and depressing tone bar the first two chapters. However this tone really works with the game. I love decision based games like this and the gameplay is fun.
    The voice acting is poor in some places (Ethan Mars is a robot) and alot of the characters sound French or something when they are American. Some moments in the game are
    This is a very interesting game.
    It has a very dark and depressing tone bar the first two chapters. However this tone really works with the game. I love decision based games like this and the gameplay is fun.
    The voice acting is poor in some places (Ethan Mars is a robot) and alot of the characters sound French or something when they are American. Some moments in the game are particularly tense and require good reactions if you are on hard mode which is a good challenge and I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see whether the main characters would succeed in their goal.
    Expand
  8. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    Great quality game! So much fun to play. If I could change one thing however, the change of camera angle makes the games controls harder and more complicated. The story is so much better than I expected, most games are easy to guess the outcomes of the story, this one however was hard to guess. Also there are many different ways for the game to end and different stories based on differentGreat quality game! So much fun to play. If I could change one thing however, the change of camera angle makes the games controls harder and more complicated. The story is so much better than I expected, most games are easy to guess the outcomes of the story, this one however was hard to guess. Also there are many different ways for the game to end and different stories based on different decisions in the game, this feature makes you want to make the right one. Expand
  9. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Heavy Rain is a polarizing experience that is one of the best games of the last 10 years. It may not be for everyone but there is something to be said about the amount of hate and love this game gets, it is truly something special.

    The story is gripping to the last second, and at times emotionally draining for the player as well. This is well written stuff that takes turns when you
    Heavy Rain is a polarizing experience that is one of the best games of the last 10 years. It may not be for everyone but there is something to be said about the amount of hate and love this game gets, it is truly something special.

    The story is gripping to the last second, and at times emotionally draining for the player as well. This is well written stuff that takes turns when you least expect it. Graphics and Sound are exceptional and were really able to be fleshed out due to it's unconventional game-play.

    Don't let anyone tell you that this is a quicktime fest, while games in the past have offered "interactive cut-scenes" were you essentially must click (X) to not fail, Heavy Rain makes every button press have weight and true consequences to it. In fight scenes you may have to press something that comes on the screen, but the way it is done makes you feel in the moment, analog presses and movements really make you feel like you are controlling limbs rather than simply button mashing. Also if you miss a timed button press there are actions other than "you fail try again", it's more of a game than you might of heard.

    It's a bit more than an interactive movie, as you have at will the choice to bring up your characters' thoughts and ideas, motives and fears. You control how things play out in what order, even the script.

    Love it or hate it, it must be experienced.
    Expand
  10. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    this has one of the greatest stories in a video game, and the concept of every decision effecting the events in the story is so immersive, that its one of the most personal experiences ever, not quite like the walking dead where your choices are mostly dialogue, but the choices in this game are your actions, and will leave off with like 20 multiple endings or something like that, I don'tthis has one of the greatest stories in a video game, and the concept of every decision effecting the events in the story is so immersive, that its one of the most personal experiences ever, not quite like the walking dead where your choices are mostly dialogue, but the choices in this game are your actions, and will leave off with like 20 multiple endings or something like that, I don't know I've only played through it twice, but will probably play it again in the near future. The choices, in your first play through at least are extremely hard to make, they will challenge your morals and values as a person and you will always have to think twice about them. the few flaws in this game such as some awkward voice acting and animations are to small to even make a difference in the experience of the game, admittedly the first hour of the game is slow, but necessary to understand one of your characters a little better, and after that, the game is a nonstop roller coaster ride that you will never forget Expand
  11. May 22, 2014
    9
    In an industry dominated by shooters, RPGs, and endless sequels, Heavy Rain emerges as a true original. Few other games have been able to move me as well as this. This is an a game that has to be experienced. You won't forget it.
  12. Nov 3, 2015
    10
    OH MY GOD heavy rain is very good
    good story
    good graphic
    good music
    good voice acting
    good game play
    good end
    good start
    and more and more goods
  13. BradA
    Feb 25, 2010
    9
    I don't understand all of the hate for this! I am not generally into story driven games...I prefer instant gratification and shooters...but I was intrigued and picked it up. After my first play through I am sold. This is an amazing "game" that really draws you in and makes you part of the experience. During my first play through I did not replay any choices or faults...ended losing I don't understand all of the hate for this! I am not generally into story driven games...I prefer instant gratification and shooters...but I was intrigued and picked it up. After my first play through I am sold. This is an amazing "game" that really draws you in and makes you part of the experience. During my first play through I did not replay any choices or faults...ended losing two characters to gruesome deaths and a sense of awe over the experience. I can't recommend this enough. The ONLY thing I saw that holds it back is the control scheme...most of the time it works fine, but other times it just doesn't. Expand
  14. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    In an industry full of shooters and adventures and just the same formulas over and over this was a breath of minty fresh air. Only games that are truly great have me glued to the tv and I couldn't take my eyes off this one. I even replayed it a few times. Truly inventive game.
  15. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Not just 'Quick Time Event The Game'. I have not seen another game that matches the variety of story choices. This is one of the few games which allows the player to mold there own unique gaming experience.
  16. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Take the best Steinbeck novel you've ever read, takes the themes of judgement, human nature, what we need vs. what we want, and remove these themes from the novel. Take these themes and put them into a video game. Write the video game around these themes, all the while adding the best graphics I've seen period, as well as some very intricate characters, title this video game "Heavy Rain",Take the best Steinbeck novel you've ever read, takes the themes of judgement, human nature, what we need vs. what we want, and remove these themes from the novel. Take these themes and put them into a video game. Write the video game around these themes, all the while adding the best graphics I've seen period, as well as some very intricate characters, title this video game "Heavy Rain", and then release it to a widespread audience.

    That explains the perfect 10.
    Expand
  17. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    It's difficult to comprehend how good this game is. Heavy Rain allows you to take on a completely new style of play so in depth and it is backed up with a strong plot to boot. Game of the Year by a mile for me because although not as immediately entertaining as say Mass Effect ,Call of Duty or God of War, those who stick with Heavy Rain will realise for a 10 hour game, it is 10 hours theyIt's difficult to comprehend how good this game is. Heavy Rain allows you to take on a completely new style of play so in depth and it is backed up with a strong plot to boot. Game of the Year by a mile for me because although not as immediately entertaining as say Mass Effect ,Call of Duty or God of War, those who stick with Heavy Rain will realise for a 10 hour game, it is 10 hours they have spent well on an experience like no other in gaming history since... well ever. Ultimately it is the way it grasps you from when your son is kidnapped at the start of the game that drifts away from 'just a game' to film-noire, and it is so excellently well done. It is very important that you play this game, because in 5 or 10 years time, game developers will attempt to copy Heavy Rain and most will most likely not hold a candle to it. Heavy Rain is the most innovative game of the 21st century so far and is going to be the prototype for the next step in gaming. Expand
  18. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    Heavy Rain was and will be for long an unique game. Great plot, Very strong performance of the characters, new storylife for every protagonist, magnetizing story. The single thing that's a flaw for me is that the investigations that Jayden does are very boring and make the game a bit weeker. All in all, everything is very nice and you have to spend a lot of time, finding out what theHeavy Rain was and will be for long an unique game. Great plot, Very strong performance of the characters, new storylife for every protagonist, magnetizing story. The single thing that's a flaw for me is that the investigations that Jayden does are very boring and make the game a bit weeker. All in all, everything is very nice and you have to spend a lot of time, finding out what the endless ways the game has. Expand
  19. George
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing! Absolutely Amazing. This is the second best game I have ever Played! (second only to Uncharted 2: Among Thieves). Every aspect of Heavy Rain is perfect, the story was engaging and thoroughly interesting, with the Origami killer's identity a must-know after about 3 hours of gameplay. The campaign itself will take about 8-10 hours to complete, and every minute is amazing. The Amazing! Absolutely Amazing. This is the second best game I have ever Played! (second only to Uncharted 2: Among Thieves). Every aspect of Heavy Rain is perfect, the story was engaging and thoroughly interesting, with the Origami killer's identity a must-know after about 3 hours of gameplay. The campaign itself will take about 8-10 hours to complete, and every minute is amazing. The only criticism would fall on the slow start, but, once the main plot focus begins, you will have to fight yourself away from the game, because its a true gaming revolution. Sure the interactive play isn't as interactive as you might want, but who cares. This game is as close to perfect as you can currently get (not forgetting Uncharted 2). Buy it! BUY IT NOW! It's money well spent! Can't wait for Heavy Rain 2 (and Uncharted 3)! Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this game. It was like playing a movie, that was how real it felt. I was so attached to my players that I got really upset when I thought Ethan died in the power plant level. What was cool was that you never had to go back and repeat what you did. The music was nice, the controls intuitive, and the graphics splendid. I'm really happy I bought this game. My only possible complaint would be that the beginning is slow, but I didn't find that annoying at all. All I can say is get this game! Expand
  21. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    Heavy Rain is the pinnacle of interactive storytelling, realism, and true cinematic substance in gaming at the moment. The amount of new ground it breaks for the medium is stunning, in terms of choices that range from banal to immoral and human facial animations that border on reality, to name a few. The gameplay isn't so much fun as it is deeply affecting and for this reason alone allowsHeavy Rain is the pinnacle of interactive storytelling, realism, and true cinematic substance in gaming at the moment. The amount of new ground it breaks for the medium is stunning, in terms of choices that range from banal to immoral and human facial animations that border on reality, to name a few. The gameplay isn't so much fun as it is deeply affecting and for this reason alone allows it a top spot in my heart as one of the most important gaming experiences around to date. Expand
  22. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Best game I've ever played in my 28 years of gaming. Amazing, emotional, heart pounding, engaging. I think people who rated this low don't understand that everything you do changes the outcome of the entire game as you go along. There are thousands and thousands of combinations of outcomes, and it all depends on your own actions. Deep game. Never heard anyone (who knew what they wereBest game I've ever played in my 28 years of gaming. Amazing, emotional, heart pounding, engaging. I think people who rated this low don't understand that everything you do changes the outcome of the entire game as you go along. There are thousands and thousands of combinations of outcomes, and it all depends on your own actions. Deep game. Never heard anyone (who knew what they were doing) say any different. Expand
  23. Brad
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. The story, themes and realistic tone are something we rarely see in video games. Those people who think that this game is linear haven't played through the whole. The first half is engaging but slow and fairly linear - it does have a bunch of scenes that can't really be "lost" because the game is getting the player used to the This is one of my favorite games of all time. The story, themes and realistic tone are something we rarely see in video games. Those people who think that this game is linear haven't played through the whole. The first half is engaging but slow and fairly linear - it does have a bunch of scenes that can't really be "lost" because the game is getting the player used to the controls, but in the second half of the game is incredibly intense and everything counts. I have played through the second half three times now and had things play out in wildly different ways each time. On my first playthrough two of the main characters died - one of them fairly early on. Heavy Rain isn't for people with an itchy trigger finger, but it is one of the great games of this console generation. And anyone who says bad things about the graphics must be high. The game looks stunning. Expand
  24. WagnerPaiva
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is not just an amazing game, it is, like MGS4, such a unique game that it can justify the purchase of a PS3 only to play it. It is a book in form of a game, a relaxing and also exciting experience like with no equal in today´s gamming scene (althought Farenheit on the PS2 had a similar felling). The graphics are superb and so is the actors and music. You can play Heavy Heavy Rain is not just an amazing game, it is, like MGS4, such a unique game that it can justify the purchase of a PS3 only to play it. It is a book in form of a game, a relaxing and also exciting experience like with no equal in today´s gamming scene (althought Farenheit on the PS2 had a similar felling). The graphics are superb and so is the actors and music. You can play Heavy Rain dozens of times giving it a replay value with no match or rival. It is just a must have game for gamers that want more than shotting friends on the head in online multiplayer generic FPSs. 10/10. Expand
  25. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    A great game. First the bad: there were a few glitches and the sound bytes were a bit sparse in some sections (i.e. only a couple recorded bits of "Shawn!" when a panicked father will sound differently at least 7 or 8 times). Now the good: great graphics, compelling story with a messed up killer and outrageous tests for the father, and ways to get more than one ending!

    A couple of bits
    A great game. First the bad: there were a few glitches and the sound bytes were a bit sparse in some sections (i.e. only a couple recorded bits of "Shawn!" when a panicked father will sound differently at least 7 or 8 times). Now the good: great graphics, compelling story with a messed up killer and outrageous tests for the father, and ways to get more than one ending!

    A couple of bits that I found with faults. Where was Madison's background? Why the troubled nightmares and insomnia? Also, the game was a bit linear in its directing the player to achieve each goal, like it's easy for the FBI agent to find the killer through simple trial and error in the ARI system.

    If they make another game like this, I would suggest a bit more conclusion-making on the player's part if it's a mystery-like story. A good puzzle or two would also put some extra gems on the product.

    Overall: Definitely worth the rental as you can get through the game once within a couple days. Also, the game has a story and plays out like a movie enough that your spouse/friend/roommate would enjoy playing with you.
    Expand
  26. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    There is a serial child killer known only as the Origami Killer who drowns his victimâ
  27. Nov 9, 2010
    8
    I think that this game is not just a good she is gorgeous and David is greatman, but I dont understand why the critics have put such low scores. This is not a review.This is ****
  28. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite games 2010. It's a brilliant game that every hardcore gamer should experience!
    If you don't have a ps3 this is a great reason to buy it!
  29. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don'tThis game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don't listen to the bad reviews of the game that you see here. If you are an action junkie then this game is simply not for you. If you are truly looking for a new game to try then I highly recommend playing this game. Kudos to you Quantic Dream for trying out something new and having great success with it! Expand
  30. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    I've never played any game like this before all the interesting idea's and ways to do things is amazing.It was very hard for me i'm more into xbox360 but I got a ps3 for this game and last of us it was a good thing I did.Almost flawless game.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]