• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 23, 2010
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2239 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    3
    This "game" is a little hard to review since it is not really a game in the traditional sense. It's focus lies in the "narrative"with a thin veneer of game play which consists mostly out of your run of the mill QTE's (quick time events) during cut scenes and some basic, albeit unrefined and clunky, click and point ish exploration elements. you like it, or you hate it simple as that. (i think it takes away from my gaming experience, but i can see how some find it ads to the experience.) As such, i will mostly focus my review on that, the narrative. Simply put, it is bad. Very bad even. Plot holes are so big you can fit a small moon in and the cliche ridden, horrendous 2 dimensional Mary Sue characters and a "plot twist" so stupid it insults any logical thinking human being are just a few of the problems you will encounter. It tries hard to be Se7en, but look a little past the impressive soundtrack and graphics, and what you are left with is a parody on the level of The Naked Gun. The "Acting" is downright comedy at times, and you kinda feel bad because sometimes you end up laughing at a scene which was supposed to be deep and emotionally involving, but because of the complete amateurish incompetence of the writing it end up being hilarious. After having read some of the praising "reviews" on this site i cant help but feel a little ashamed of being a gamer. You see, in my opinion, the writer is a bit like a cheat. Had this indeed been a movie script, it would have been mocked at every film festival and ripped apart by every movie critic in existence, yet in the gaming world this is rated as "superb writing", "setting new standards" etc by the critics. This effectively implies gaming is the special Olympics when it comes to telling stories. Where you can get away as an able-bodied mediocre athlete, winning gold against people with disabilities and get a slap on the shoulder for doing so. (note: nothing wrong with the Special Olympics btw, nothing but respect for the athletes competing there) I find that insulting to be honest. I give it 3/10. Would give it a solid zero, but the soundtrack and graphics design are beautiful and i tip my hat and at least want to give points to the people who created that. Shame their work is thrown into this pretentious and contrived mess. Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2014
    3
    Cinematic? Yes. Entertaining at times? Yes. A game? Definitely, no.
    If only visuals and sound would be supplemented by gameplay -- it could be one of the best adventure games ever. But it's merely an interactive movie with multiple endings. And I've seen some better movies too.
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    2
    This game is an absolute disaster. Much of it is horridly tedious and boring. Yay, a teeth brushing simulator...just what my collection was missing! There are maybe 5-6 scenes in the entire game that are actually exciting in the slightest. However, we're told to overlook all of this because this game is more like a movie than a game. I can guarantee that if anyone had seen this "game" in a theater, they would've walked out half way upset. The "acting" is ridiculous, often bordering on comical, especially with the terrible voice acting. The story has so many plot holes, inconsistencies and is just downright not well set up or delivered. As for the ending, I'm sorry, it may have just been the stupidest attempt at a plot twist I've ever seen. I won't go into details lest I "spoil" this "game" for anyone, but any self respecting person knows exactly what I'm talking about. The controls are abysmal and often are unresponsive or confusing about what exactly it expects you to do, leading to frustration. This game is truly a disaster in every way, which is a shame considering the developer's former work was actually fairly good. I am amazed at all the positive reviews both by critics and by users here. This is without a single doubt in my mind the worst game I've ever played. I see no redeeming qualities other than some claim that it's "new" and "different" and "like a movie". New ideas are great, and are always welcome, but they have to be done well, and this game is not. Anyone comparing this to a movie, as it was intended, will be left extremely disappointed. I am not, however, going to suggest you steer clear. Rent this game, don't buy it because I guarantee you'll be sick of it after one short play through, and test it out. Just remember to view it based on what it does itself, not what it does differently. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Being a story driven game, the story has many plotholes. The gameplay is worse. Heavy Rain should have been a film and even than it would not have succeded because of the unlogical story. Graphics nice though.
  5. Feb 16, 2014
    2
    i will like to say this. this game? is god awful. the voice acting is ridiculous, and filled with the majority being french actors, even though this whole thing should take place in america, and the worst among them are the kids!!! the kids, sound like retarded robots set on french attitude mode. there are MASSIVE plot holes in this whole game! the way Jason died made no sense, because there should have been no reason whatsoever he should have died. the only reason he did die is because of david cage, and his need for SADNESS PLOT. David Cage made so many mistakes while writing this game, that if i had a marker to mark how many faults there are, i would run through about 3, before i got to the Shark trial crap. the only thing i like about this game, is the the controls. they work very well, and that is my only complement i will give to monsieur Cage. i can see how some people would say "no, its a great story" and at first if you do not pay attention, yes it would be. but the second time when you actually pay attention to detail, you will think "oh god, what is this? why does this exist?" its awful. the only thing that stand up with this game is its graphics, and controls. everything else is completely awful, and i pray to god, the man invests in GOOD editors in his next game instead of graphics. make fun games your priority monsieur cage. not sad games. thank you, and please stop. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2012
    2
    The game is pretty good and there are a good deal of areas that test the players ability, not only to play the game, but also to react to prompts quickly. However, these only account for 25% of the playing time IMHO, the rest is really really dull. At least with films they cut out the dull bits.......
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    Its a shame that such bogus games in playstation 3.any player will get bored easily as you just keep pressing square circle move etc etc . dont waste your money on this game
  8. Jun 30, 2013
    2
    Bad game. The plot is full of holes. The so called "twist" makes no sense at all see why in JamesS. comprehensive comment, posted March 3th, 2010). The controls are terrible because sometimes you don't have to do anything for a certain action, which is boring. Moments later, you do have to press a button for that same action which is not boring but then again, later, you have to press another button (or combination) for the same action! To make it totally insane, at one point in the game, you have to hold down 7 (seven!) buttons at the same time for this action. Annoying to say the least. There are more bad control issues, just take a few minutes to read other negative comments. All together, there are many flaws in this game but for me, as said, the bad unpredictable and inconsistent controls and the "twist" which is totally unconvincing, makes this a very disappointing game. Expand
  9. Mar 14, 2014
    2
    Heavy Rain is a pretentious bore. Gameplay consists of quick time events, cutscenes, wandering around unsure of what to press the X button at, and interactive sequences about getting your kid a snack. Heavy Rain is not a game. It’s a mediocre video that occasionally prompts you to press buttons.

    There are a few mildly interesting parts and the graphics are quite nice, but being more
    video than game means the whole thing needs to be carried by its story. Unfortunately, the story is lame and has a big reveal at the end that is just stupid. If Heavy Rain were an actual movie, it would be a forgettable box office bomb. There are several possible endings, but getting them entails going through the whole thing several times with a guide close at hand because unlocking some endings depends on stupid, hidden tasks like making your kid that snack within a certain amount of time. If that sounds like fun, knock yourself out. Expand
  10. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Acceptable story (Nothing that stands out), terrible gameplay. In fact, there's no reason to be so many plot holes and inconsistencies in such a plot-driven game. Being forced to play this game should be a new form of torture.
  11. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    hey , I know user reviews of exclusives are full of hilarious butt hurt fan boys illiterately stating that system x is better than system y.....I am not one of those. I just HATED this game, the most disappointed I have ever been by a game. IMO this game is appalling. so boring i was yawning with tears rolling down my face. the story is FULL of plot holes. OH I can't even be bothered to go into detail I just HATE it . utter utter **** Expand
  12. Jan 22, 2012
    0
    Not even a video game , it's like a semi interactive movie if you like watching a movie pausing doing something else then returning to your movie you will like this. If you like playing video games you will hate this. Its so boring take it from someone with 55000+ gamerscore & level 12 trophy level I DO NOT recommend you buy rent or ever touch this game in your lifetime
  13. Dec 11, 2013
    0
    There is one word that popped up in my mind after playing this game: Cheesy. I can see how shallow people would enjoy it, but halfway through I just wanted the game to finish already. It was just dragging along and the gameplay is just terrible. I would seriously prefer to go back and play some point & click adventure games by LucasArts. There is nothing revolutionary about these games, actually I believe it's going a step backwards instead of forwards. Cage needs to ring Naughty Dog for some lessons on how to write a compelling story. Expand
  14. Jan 25, 2014
    0
    Imagine renting a mediocre movie, press play, and then it pauses itself every five seconds, leaving you to decipher some random button-pressing on the remote to get it going again. WTF!
    This must be the last five years biggest "swing 'n miss" project I have encountered.

    The many 10 reviews can only be explained by the big step up in the graphics-department, which is I agree,
    substantial.
    This is not groundbreaking game development. The idea of combining a great movie with interactive game play, was perfected with Mass effect, and many others before.

    So I felt obligated to pile on with a warning to future potential buyers: If you are not impressed by graphics, if you don't enjoy pressing and holding one button, then another, then another, then another in order for your bad movie to continue. Stay away!

    Also. I understand their next installment "Beyond: Two souls" is even worse, whitch is hard to imagine.
    Expand
  15. Jul 22, 2013
    0
    Sorry for English, i am Russian. This is a game? Or Movie? I do not think that is a good game. Do not watch this movie. Do not buy PlayStation 3. PS3 Has no games.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]