• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 23, 2010
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2504 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. George
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing! Absolutely Amazing. This is the second best game I have ever Played! (second only to Uncharted 2: Among Thieves). Every aspect of Heavy Rain is perfect, the story was engaging and thoroughly interesting, with the Origami killer's identity a must-know after about 3 hours of gameplay. The campaign itself will take about 8-10 hours to complete, and every minute is amazing. The Amazing! Absolutely Amazing. This is the second best game I have ever Played! (second only to Uncharted 2: Among Thieves). Every aspect of Heavy Rain is perfect, the story was engaging and thoroughly interesting, with the Origami killer's identity a must-know after about 3 hours of gameplay. The campaign itself will take about 8-10 hours to complete, and every minute is amazing. The only criticism would fall on the slow start, but, once the main plot focus begins, you will have to fight yourself away from the game, because its a true gaming revolution. Sure the interactive play isn't as interactive as you might want, but who cares. This game is as close to perfect as you can currently get (not forgetting Uncharted 2). Buy it! BUY IT NOW! It's money well spent! Can't wait for Heavy Rain 2 (and Uncharted 3)! Expand
  2. PabloH
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    I really enjoyed this game although I know many of my friends will completely miss the point and write it off but for those of you who yearn for something different with a bit of depth I can't recommend this game enough!
  3. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  4. TimM
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    A superb title. QuanticDream succeeds in creating an intense and bleak atmosphere. Where a tiny bit of the acting can sometimes fall a little short(only for some of the characters, a lot of them were mostly well-done), this is one of the few games I can think of in recent history that makes you genuinely care if the characters live or die. A few of the characters weren't completely A superb title. QuanticDream succeeds in creating an intense and bleak atmosphere. Where a tiny bit of the acting can sometimes fall a little short(only for some of the characters, a lot of them were mostly well-done), this is one of the few games I can think of in recent history that makes you genuinely care if the characters live or die. A few of the characters weren't completely fleshed out as much as QuanticDream would have liked(a lot wasn't persay discussed about Madison or Norman, but they were still cool characters), but most characters seemed mostly developed. There are some critics that for some reason think the story is lackluster(such as Destructoid's own big fat guy, Jim Sterling), but obviously these kinds of critics come off as pretentious, as the story itself is mostly well-written. There are a few plot-holes, but that doesn't make the story bad in anyway, it just makes it not perfect. I personally thought the gameplay was really intriguing, as most of it is either walking around investigating the area or a series of action-packed quick-time-events...which I suppose wouldn't appeal to the "I LOVE CALL OF DUTY" twitch shooter guys, but that's OK because this game isn't for everyone. BUT, I can honestly say that this is a game like no other. Never before does a game pull you into the characters like this game does, nor can I think of too many games in recent history that give you the same kind of adrenaline rush that this game does. The game can be depressing, but in a very beautiful and artistic way. The game also LOOKS fantastic. One of the best looking console games so far. It has a few minor flaws, but for the most part it looks excellent. I've rambled on long enough. Anyone that is willing to look at games in a different light and aren't expecting a typical shooter or typical game really... should go and give this a try. I feel this is a game that should be played and discussed. At the very least, rent it. But if you want to support unique games that rely on more than what most games typically provide, I suggest you go out and buy a copy of Heavy Rain. How far would you go to save someone you love? Expand
  5. EoinF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    Fantastic, all the way through, fantastic. Now if your basing the option whether to buy this game or not on these reviews: DON'T. Mostly action junkies post reviews on this site. In my opinion, this is definetely one of the BEST games on PS3. Don't let the beginning put you off, get a bit into it and you'll see why!
  6. KritU
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    This is one of the BEST games I played so far this year. I understand many reviewers may not like it because of many reasons (I bet the paycheck from Microsoft is one of them). But I quote this from X-Play Morgan Webb "This game is not a game for everybody, but everybody should play". I think people should give it a try and see for themselves. I cannot promise that all of you will like This is one of the BEST games I played so far this year. I understand many reviewers may not like it because of many reasons (I bet the paycheck from Microsoft is one of them). But I quote this from X-Play Morgan Webb "This game is not a game for everybody, but everybody should play". I think people should give it a try and see for themselves. I cannot promise that all of you will like it. But I bet most of you out there will. Just set your mind straight before you play it, this is not a GAME. You will be watching a movie that your decision mean something in it. Expand
  7. RobertK.
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    Storytelling at a new level, Heavy Rain puts the videogame as a medium to a new level. Poor people see only QTE's instead of the story mechanics and pissed off xbox fanboys will give it a 1/10 too.
  8. AlexM
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Truly stellar. A compelling narrative that, while it may suffer from some presentational flaws, reveals something different and exciting with each subsequent playthrough. Heavy Rain is an example of cliches done right, with characters that the player truly feels for. A well done endeavor and worth the purchase, if you think the departure from normal gameplay conventions is something that Truly stellar. A compelling narrative that, while it may suffer from some presentational flaws, reveals something different and exciting with each subsequent playthrough. Heavy Rain is an example of cliches done right, with characters that the player truly feels for. A well done endeavor and worth the purchase, if you think the departure from normal gameplay conventions is something that you might be able to tolerate. This is certainly a love it or hate it affair but those willing to detach a bit from previous notions will be rewarded with a well crafted story. Expand
  9. MarcosV
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Masterpiece. The game is absolutely incredible. From the first scene it got me totally absorved into the story and the ambience. The beginning is slow but the game gets to a point where you cant stop playing no matter what and you have to make decisions that really really matter. I felt a lot of emotion while playing most of the scenes and that has been very difficult for me this last Masterpiece. The game is absolutely incredible. From the first scene it got me totally absorved into the story and the ambience. The beginning is slow but the game gets to a point where you cant stop playing no matter what and you have to make decisions that really really matter. I felt a lot of emotion while playing most of the scenes and that has been very difficult for me this last yars. I've been really bored of videogames lately and couldnt find any that i liked really. But this game is so entertaining for me i cant even explain. Hope they continue making games as wonderfull and absorving as this one, so they will have me still interested in videogame industry for the years to come. 10 for me!! absolute masterpiece!! Expand
  10. CraigH
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    Given my voted score and that this is the best game I've played in a very long time I'm disappointed with the extreme low ratings on this review. There's only one rating that I appreciated, which was the very first one that gave it a 3, by James S - at least he gave some solid reasons to rate it low, and actually made some good points. The plot hole of why Ethan has the Given my voted score and that this is the best game I've played in a very long time I'm disappointed with the extreme low ratings on this review. There's only one rating that I appreciated, which was the very first one that gave it a 3, by James S - at least he gave some solid reasons to rate it low, and actually made some good points. The plot hole of why Ethan has the blackouts that's never explained is admittedly one that I wish they had explained properly, as it would've given the whole story a much more rounded and intriguing memory to it, so leaving the explanation of that out was a mistake. I'll also admit there's a few othe mistakes and problems with the game, but my rating would already be so far ABOVE 10 that these few things really just bring it back down to a 12 or 13 out of 10. Rating it so low for these few things as many people here have done is a TOTAL INJUSTICE to this game. The amount of effort put into creating this is beyond imagination, it's not like throwing a few actors in front of a camera, creating it virtually, and still making it look and SOUND so movie-esque professional is a feat in its own right. The music is fantastic, deeply moving, the story is extremely engaging, and the graphics - especially the close ups of the faces are to be truly admired. I hope in time this one looks like a poor cousin to what may be to come in the future, but for now this is the most amazing game that's ever been created, and the low rating people are really having themselves on and expecting far too much in terms of technology advancement in too short a time. Excellent, amazing, truly entertaining and a fantastic experience to be remembered for a long time to come! Expand
  11. WagnerPaiva
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is not just an amazing game, it is, like MGS4, such a unique game that it can justify the purchase of a PS3 only to play it. It is a book in form of a game, a relaxing and also exciting experience like with no equal in today´s gamming scene (althought Farenheit on the PS2 had a similar felling). The graphics are superb and so is the actors and music. You can play Heavy Heavy Rain is not just an amazing game, it is, like MGS4, such a unique game that it can justify the purchase of a PS3 only to play it. It is a book in form of a game, a relaxing and also exciting experience like with no equal in today´s gamming scene (althought Farenheit on the PS2 had a similar felling). The graphics are superb and so is the actors and music. You can play Heavy Rain dozens of times giving it a replay value with no match or rival. It is just a must have game for gamers that want more than shotting friends on the head in online multiplayer generic FPSs. 10/10. Expand
  12. Denbar
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Awesome awesome game, one that will revolutionize the gaming industry for sure. I'm a filmaker and I love a good movie and a good plot. If you love suspense...get the game...of you can appreciate superb graphics and realism in a game...then this is a game for you. iF you are a hardcore gamer who only play games like God of WAr and other action oriented intense button smashing Awesome awesome game, one that will revolutionize the gaming industry for sure. I'm a filmaker and I love a good movie and a good plot. If you love suspense...get the game...of you can appreciate superb graphics and realism in a game...then this is a game for you. iF you are a hardcore gamer who only play games like God of WAr and other action oriented intense button smashing games...stay away. THis is something new and it will take some getting ajusywd to the mechanics. I called out from work and picked this game up and I am beyond satisfied. The story is compelling and the replay value gets high points from me as I cannot wait to replay it over and over again and have different outcomes.there really isn't much of anything negative to say here other than again if you're open minded and don't have an attention deficit disorder then you will love this game. Most users on here who score it low, in my opinion scored it low on there minds before they ever played it and when they did the mechanics confused the he'll out of them. I will be eagarly anticipating future updates and a sequel. Expand
  13. RandyB
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Heavy rain is...,well perfect! i bought this expecting a different way of storytelling and what i got was so much more, this game goes above and beyond and achieves what few games have, the wolrd and its characters are are so rich that you will want to play this game for ages to come. I didnt expect to like this more then bioshock 2 and mass effect 2 but after playing through multiple Heavy rain is...,well perfect! i bought this expecting a different way of storytelling and what i got was so much more, this game goes above and beyond and achieves what few games have, the wolrd and its characters are are so rich that you will want to play this game for ages to come. I didnt expect to like this more then bioshock 2 and mass effect 2 but after playing through multiple times i just have too say, this is the best game i have ever played! Expand
  14. SamH.
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain was a surprise to me. I loved Indigo Prophecy and so I was hyped up for Heavy Rain. It completely hit my expectations and sometimes surpassed them. Heavy Rain fixed a lot of problems that its predecessor had. First of all the story doesn't just drop off half way through, it actually keeps getting better and better. There was probably one or two plot holes but nothing Heavy Rain was a surprise to me. I loved Indigo Prophecy and so I was hyped up for Heavy Rain. It completely hit my expectations and sometimes surpassed them. Heavy Rain fixed a lot of problems that its predecessor had. First of all the story doesn't just drop off half way through, it actually keeps getting better and better. There was probably one or two plot holes but nothing major. The graphics are excellent and the music is amazing. Though on a few rare occasions (happens maybe 5 times for 1 second out of 10 hours of gameplay) the sound would drop out but instantly come back. At the ending of the game, which can be completely different from another ending, I found myself standing up and didn't realize it until the credits, that was definitely a first. Expand
  15. EdB
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    Absolutely Amazing. Truly never played anything like it. It isn't right to even call it simply a game, because it truly is so much more. It is an interactive masterpiece. A type of visual storytelling never seen before. It is an experience that defines why gaming should be accepted as a form of art. Brilliant. Do not listen to any of the Xbots who are jealous of this games success. Absolutely Amazing. Truly never played anything like it. It isn't right to even call it simply a game, because it truly is so much more. It is an interactive masterpiece. A type of visual storytelling never seen before. It is an experience that defines why gaming should be accepted as a form of art. Brilliant. Do not listen to any of the Xbots who are jealous of this games success. Pathetic Fanboys like that are not even real gamers. Real Games are open to ALL games on ALL systems without any Bias. Fake Gamers (Fanboys) purposely limit themselves because of a juvenile and pathetic bias towards the competition. They willingly refuse to experience games, not because they aren't good, but because of some blind loyalty. How is it fair to call both of these groups "Gamers" when only one is willing to experience games to the fullest? Fanboys have no business playing games. Expand
  16. PaulS
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    I don't normally vote, but I am truly wondering if any of the people who are trashing this game have actually played it for any length of time. I'm about 60% of the way through the game, and I have been on the edge of my seat the entire time. Without giving any spoilers, the story is fantastic, and you are often forced to make split-second decisions that have lasting I don't normally vote, but I am truly wondering if any of the people who are trashing this game have actually played it for any length of time. I'm about 60% of the way through the game, and I have been on the edge of my seat the entire time. Without giving any spoilers, the story is fantastic, and you are often forced to make split-second decisions that have lasting repercussions throughout the remainder of the game. This game is action-packed, albeit interactively, so there is no Halo-style shooting or God of War-esque button-mashing. The action contained in these scenes, though is frantic and fast-paced, and the story will continue on if you fail and your character dies. Lastly, the voice acting (which seems to be a major complaint) does sound a little strange, but you have to consider the fact that these are not American actors. Overall, a fantastic game with a thrilling and tense story. Well worth the price of admission. Expand
  17. LongJ
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    Best story for a video game ever!!!!!!!! I can easily see how some people won't like it but as I think OPM UK said 'This is an unmissable experience, YOU HAVE TO PLAY IT!' and I agree with that in every single way! Sure the controls are a little bit stupid but overall... AMAZING! It really is unmissable, YOU HAVE TO PLAY IT! And its a shame that fanboys are polluting this Best story for a video game ever!!!!!!!! I can easily see how some people won't like it but as I think OPM UK said 'This is an unmissable experience, YOU HAVE TO PLAY IT!' and I agree with that in every single way! Sure the controls are a little bit stupid but overall... AMAZING! It really is unmissable, YOU HAVE TO PLAY IT! And its a shame that fanboys are polluting this comment page! I know it is a love it or hate it but I would say it is a 85% love 15% hate and it has been patched so it doesn't screw your PS3 up! And if they rated it 0 then why the hell did they play to the end? FANBOY SPAM!!!!! This is a story telling experience that can't be missed! And although it would be brilliant as a movie it just wouldn't work out! I would highly reccommend this game! HIGHLY!!!!!! But unless you are really interested then just rent it and see all endings like me :( I regret renting it instead of buying it! I thought this game would be a useless game about pressing buttons! WRONG! Expand
  18. LouisS
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is very much like fine art. Either you like it, or you hate it. It is a very polarizing "game." I say "game" because it is not a typical game. I must agree with the developer in calling it an Interactive Drama. There is no leveling system. There are no points.There is no "princess" to save in a far-away kingdom. There is the story and how you help mold it. The experience is the Heavy Rain is very much like fine art. Either you like it, or you hate it. It is a very polarizing "game." I say "game" because it is not a typical game. I must agree with the developer in calling it an Interactive Drama. There is no leveling system. There are no points.There is no "princess" to save in a far-away kingdom. There is the story and how you help mold it. The experience is the reward. Like a good book, suspend your disbelief while engaged with it. The characters lives, cares, worries, fears, accomplishments and joy become yours. The more seriously you take the experience, the more you get out of it. Heavy Rain is an extrapolation of the classic adventure games of bygone years. Story, art and music command a greater focus in the "gameplay" (for lack of a better word) than the mad smashing of buttons. Unlike most adventure games, both action and inaction cause change in the world. Also, unlike adventure games, the game doesn't necessarily wait for you. Time is always passing, things are always moving forward. The first "act" starts off slowly in order to get you accustomed to the interface. While this undoubtedly has turned some people off for being "slow" or "boring" it is necessary to build an emotional bond with the on-screen character. Like a fine wine, or piece of exquisite art, Heavy Rain is more suited to a more sophisticated palate. Expand
  19. richardb
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    This is the game (or maybe it isn't even a game) that I have been looking for all my life. If you are an action junkie this isn't for you. Voice acting is tremendous for everyone. Can't wait for the secoond in the trilogy. Doesn't have a cliffhanger ending but great ending(s).
  20. MaxL
    Mar 11, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the best experiences ever and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Sure, it's not really a game, it's more of a player-directer story. Sure, it has issues - I didn't really dig the way you move the characters around. And sure, there are some (very) minor inconsistencies in the story. But overall, it's an awesome experience. Me and my two This game is one of the best experiences ever and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Sure, it's not really a game, it's more of a player-directer story. Sure, it has issues - I didn't really dig the way you move the characters around. And sure, there are some (very) minor inconsistencies in the story. But overall, it's an awesome experience. Me and my two roommates were practically glued to my PS3 until the minute I finished the game. It's a thrill ride from start to finish. The characters are great, they feel like humans and you feel sympathy for ALL of them. The graphics are mindblowing, the music is fantastic... the voice acting has some issues, but that doesn't make Heavy Rain a bad game. It's a great game. I bought a PS3 + HR bundle and I don't regret doing it. Expand
  21. KeithR
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Look, let me just say right off the bat that i'm a 360 fanboy.My cousin left town for a weekend and lent me her ps3, she had just gotton heavy rain. THE GAME IS AMAZING, this game alone made me want to get a ps3, i mean dude, this is one of, if not the best games of 2010, and i mean the entire year, unless the holy savior of games comes withen now and the end of the year, looks like Look, let me just say right off the bat that i'm a 360 fanboy.My cousin left town for a weekend and lent me her ps3, she had just gotton heavy rain. THE GAME IS AMAZING, this game alone made me want to get a ps3, i mean dude, this is one of, if not the best games of 2010, and i mean the entire year, unless the holy savior of games comes withen now and the end of the year, looks like ps3 will have the best game of the year title again. Expand
  22. JamesD
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    If you go into Heavy Rain thinking that this is going to be a full blown action game, you will not be impressed. If you go into it thinking you'll be engaged because of the narrative, then yes that is most certainly what Heavy Rain will give you. This is the most emotional game I've ever played and I think it is crafted so well that no other medium could possibly handle its If you go into Heavy Rain thinking that this is going to be a full blown action game, you will not be impressed. If you go into it thinking you'll be engaged because of the narrative, then yes that is most certainly what Heavy Rain will give you. This is the most emotional game I've ever played and I think it is crafted so well that no other medium could possibly handle its originality. From its innovative use of quick time button presses, to the brilliant story with multiple epilogues, then this is a 10 hour movie extraveganza. This is no dumb game with a subtly driven plot. I found myself almost in tears at some of the harsher moments and with joy at the most proudest of these moments. This is a game that PS3 needs and as far as my objective opinion goes, this is the best story driven game I have ever played. Yes there are some rather dumb level design choices and the walking around sections are clunky but these issues are completely thrown when uncovering what a lovely experience it really is. Expand
  23. ParkerJ
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is literally the greatest game I have ever played. I have never been addicted to a game like I have Heavy Rain. The story was phenomenal. The characters were incredible. I can't fit my emotions towards this game in a comment. It has to be experienced hands-on. No one will fail to thoroughly enjoy this game, and if you do, you need to rethink entertainment. I was in awe and Heavy Rain is literally the greatest game I have ever played. I have never been addicted to a game like I have Heavy Rain. The story was phenomenal. The characters were incredible. I can't fit my emotions towards this game in a comment. It has to be experienced hands-on. No one will fail to thoroughly enjoy this game, and if you do, you need to rethink entertainment. I was in awe and shock at the ending. You will not be let down or regret buying this game. It's worth much more than its current price. Expand
  24. brettl
    Apr 4, 2010
    10
    In all reality i want to give this game an 8, but since i see that most ppl are hating on it for little or stupid reason ill just go with a 10. very different from most game out there, but more importantly, they do it well. the quick time events are actually involving. what i mean by that is when you swipe to the left to block, you actually feel like your swiping to the left. at time (not In all reality i want to give this game an 8, but since i see that most ppl are hating on it for little or stupid reason ill just go with a 10. very different from most game out there, but more importantly, they do it well. the quick time events are actually involving. what i mean by that is when you swipe to the left to block, you actually feel like your swiping to the left. at time (not many to be fair, but there is a good amount of them) i just guessed at what the input should be and got it right, it was that inutitive. i love my gow, my ninja gaiden, even dynasty warriors, but in a way this is the best action game ive ever played. but heres the thing, you cant take it as an action game. this is not gona be everyones taste so try the demo first. if you like it get the game, just remember that its a very slow start, seriously, one of the slowest starts ive ever experienced, but get threw that and its fun. Expand
  25. AlexP.
    May 15, 2010
    10
    This is a love it or hate it game. It is so far outside what most (video) gamers consider "gaming" that for some it is impossible to understand. There is a genre of video game that strives to become interactive television. Some JRPGs have pushed these boundaries (Final Fantasy), but Heavy Rain brings you much closer to that experience. While QTEs feel out of place in most games (Resident This is a love it or hate it game. It is so far outside what most (video) gamers consider "gaming" that for some it is impossible to understand. There is a genre of video game that strives to become interactive television. Some JRPGs have pushed these boundaries (Final Fantasy), but Heavy Rain brings you much closer to that experience. While QTEs feel out of place in most games (Resident Evil), or simply artificial in others (Arkham Asylum), they are perfect in/for this slow paced thriller. If in the proper mindset, this game grabs you an puts in in the story more than any other video game EVER. Expand
  26. BarryH.
    May 17, 2010
    10
    The best story driven game ever made. Any review by anyone claiming different just doesnt enjoy story as much as the point and shoot games EVERYWHERE. With an industry full of just shoot em in the head games I cant be the only one sick of just shooting things. any reviews below a 7 are made by people who just want another shooter to blast through and move on and dont understand a need for The best story driven game ever made. Any review by anyone claiming different just doesnt enjoy story as much as the point and shoot games EVERYWHERE. With an industry full of just shoot em in the head games I cant be the only one sick of just shooting things. any reviews below a 7 are made by people who just want another shooter to blast through and move on and dont understand a need for story and meaning. This game is better then all the God of Wars, Call of Duty's, and Assassins Creeds put together and I have payed them all. Expand
  27. PatrickB
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    I'm only going on what I played in the demo but my family and I had alot of fun playing through the demo and each getting different experiences. Can't understand the teletext review though.
  28. RobertH.
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    One of the most compelling story lines in any game ever, mixed with a unique, fresh twist on gameplay and storytelling makes this the best game of 2010 so far and will take some beating. With infinite replay value based on every single decision you make, this game will go down as one of the greats.
  29. JordanR
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Im giving a 10 to balance out all the prepubescent teens who are giving it terrible scores. Honestly what did you guys expect, another shooter? Get over yourselves. This game deserves a 10 because it is a HUGE step forward for the industry. It helps to cement the "videogames are art" theory, pushes the Mature rating better than any game Ive seen before it, and forms a bond with the gamers Im giving a 10 to balance out all the prepubescent teens who are giving it terrible scores. Honestly what did you guys expect, another shooter? Get over yourselves. This game deserves a 10 because it is a HUGE step forward for the industry. It helps to cement the "videogames are art" theory, pushes the Mature rating better than any game Ive seen before it, and forms a bond with the gamers on an emotional level. Idk about you, but whens the last time you actually had to make a TOGUH decision in a game? There are tons in Heavy Rain. ITs sad to see it getting such poor user reviews, and even a couple poor media reviews. My advice is: if you are mature enough to handle the title, and you go in knowing its not the next Call of Duty or Uncharted.... you will have an experience like you never have in gaming. Expand
  30. joed
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is a breath of fresh air in a market polluted with over the top shooters and hack and slashers. In the world of innovation Heavy Rain is a breath of fresh air which other than maybe Uncharted has done more to advance storytelling in video games than anything else. It's so nice to finally play a game where your choices affect the outcome and that choice is more than just Heavy Rain is a breath of fresh air in a market polluted with over the top shooters and hack and slashers. In the world of innovation Heavy Rain is a breath of fresh air which other than maybe Uncharted has done more to advance storytelling in video games than anything else. It's so nice to finally play a game where your choices affect the outcome and that choice is more than just blowing away a couple hundred baddies who come pouring in through some adjacent hallway. I think just for innovation alone in the gaming medium, Heavy Rain is an unquestioned 10, not to mention the unbelievable story it boasts that by the time the credits roll leaves you as if you've just outlasted a real rainstorm, leaving behind a sweet smell to ponder all your memories and think about the choices you just made and how they could have played out differently if you'd just waited one more second instead of pulling the trigger or pushed yourself just a little bit further instead of walking away a bruised and beaten coward... In the end Heavy Rain is an easy 10 and I hope to see more companies use this form of media as a basis for this type of storytelling in the future. Expand
  31. Krisa
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    this game is amazing. i finished it in 2 days because i couldn't put it down. it has an amazing plot and it's a very unique game. i recommend it to people who have been waiting for a video game that isn't a cheap, unreal, video game type of game... it has very mature content. there's little repetition. the graphics are stunning. the low reviews are ridiculous. this this game is amazing. i finished it in 2 days because i couldn't put it down. it has an amazing plot and it's a very unique game. i recommend it to people who have been waiting for a video game that isn't a cheap, unreal, video game type of game... it has very mature content. there's little repetition. the graphics are stunning. the low reviews are ridiculous. this game deserves many awards. there was a lot of effort put into this game. please, ignore the low reviews. they come from video game reviewers who are closed minded and are ignorant about games that don't appeal to their tastes. trust me, this game is amazing! Expand
  32. IHS
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    OK let me get some minuses out of the way first: - Kid voice actors were really lame. - Sometimes the characters pick funny direction to walk in until you move your analogue again to where you want to go. That's it. Forget some of those reviews, I am not even going to dignify them beyond this point. This game was the most gripping and exciting thing I have ever experienced. I just OK let me get some minuses out of the way first: - Kid voice actors were really lame. - Sometimes the characters pick funny direction to walk in until you move your analogue again to where you want to go. That's it. Forget some of those reviews, I am not even going to dignify them beyond this point. This game was the most gripping and exciting thing I have ever experienced. I just sat through it non-stop, 9 hours of gameplay and literally EVERY scene had me on the edge of my seat or at the very least kept me entertained and the best bit? It was all realistic in it's universe. There was nothing in this game that made me think "pffft, yeah right" and that realism, along with the EXCELLENT interaction is unmatched in any medium. Seriously, books or movies can't even get close to this in my opinion, if gaming expanded more towards this angle, everyone will be craving the next videogame blockbuster and not movies. Everything was designed so perfectly, like the dialogue where you had limited time before saying something but in places where a long pause made sense, the game didn't rush you. And many many MANY more small touches all over the game shows so much care went into it and it's through that caring they give us something so very very special. I consider myself somewhat of a tough critic when it comes to crime thrillers as I love reading/ watching those types of stories and this story by any standards was very very good and blew my expectations away. It was so much more complex, so much more unpredictable and so much more intelligent than I expected. I can't sum up or express my gratitude towards this experience and how excellent it was, it was simply something out of this world. 10/10. Expand
  33. EamonO
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    I can't say anything that already hasn't been said about this masterpiece. All I can say is that if you're someone who gets antsy in a movie theater if the movie is over an hour and a half, this isn't for you, It's for people who appreciate good story, great characters and have that little something called patience.
  34. NathanD
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    I didn't like it. Even if the makers of this game are calling it an interactive movie then they have failed. The acting and overall story is flawed and anyone who has seen Saw should feel ripped off. If your idea of fun is being interactive in a movie where you have to do tedious things like make scrambled eggs and feed and change a baby then this is for you. There was a scenes that I didn't like it. Even if the makers of this game are calling it an interactive movie then they have failed. The acting and overall story is flawed and anyone who has seen Saw should feel ripped off. If your idea of fun is being interactive in a movie where you have to do tedious things like make scrambled eggs and feed and change a baby then this is for you. There was a scenes that was only in there so you could see one of the characters walk around in their underwear and take a shower naked. It did not contribute to the story or mean much at all or was a very loose thread. A big part of this game is replay to see the multiple endings and this is seriously hampered by a confusing saving scheme and a lack of skipping cut scenes that you may have to watch many times before you get it right and one mistake at any time means you have to start the scene again which means rewatching all cut scenes again. An attempt at something different but its got a lot of flaws in my opinion. Expand
  35. CarlW
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Shocking, heavy, and just purely amazing. This game may have received many negative reviews but its positives overall kill the bad. This game is amazing and is almost at par with the graphics of u2, its a must buy.
  36. JohnB.
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    This game reminds me of the good old days of the phillips CDI. graphics are awesome controls are very life like. this game is right up there with hotel mario and pushing a hoop with a stick. the biggest mystery of tis game is how they fit so much awesomeness into it. definitely recommend this to anyone who cant get a kick in the nuts for $60.
  37. JamesS
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    First, as said many times, this game is not for 'everyone'. It is an interactive movie. There is no right or wrong in the game, just consequences from your decisions (or lack of being quick on the quick time events) I loved the story and was very engrossed into the characters you control. I wanted the best for them. My only complaint is the game is pretty short (10-15 hours but First, as said many times, this game is not for 'everyone'. It is an interactive movie. There is no right or wrong in the game, just consequences from your decisions (or lack of being quick on the quick time events) I loved the story and was very engrossed into the characters you control. I wanted the best for them. My only complaint is the game is pretty short (10-15 hours but does offer replay value to those who want to try different scenerios) so it maybe isn't a "must buy". But I highly recommend anyone who calls themselves a "gamer" to play this. Rent it, borrow it, buy it, or whatever. But DO check it out. Expand
  38. MikeS.
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    No matter what games come out by year's end, yes that includes GOD OF WAR 3, HEAVY RAIN is my game of 2010. A game has never effected me emotionally like this... ever, and by the end, my heart was racing, and the game became almost too much! This is a cornerstone in interactive entertainment. A LANDMARK.
  39. DanielW
    Feb 27, 2010
    10
    A wonderful nod back to the adventure games of the past. Heavy Rain is a wonderful interactive story with great characters and an intriguing plot . It is unique experience not seen elsewhere. If you like a good story, check it out. If you're looking for Halo and Modern Warfare...pass this one up.
  40. KevonW
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is very underrated and at first I was very reluctant to purchase this game. The story is great and the characters are very well developed. This game draws you and end keeps you wondering what is going to happen next. People have been giving this game poor reviews because they try to compare it to other genres this is one of those situations where you just got to sit back and Heavy Rain is very underrated and at first I was very reluctant to purchase this game. The story is great and the characters are very well developed. This game draws you and end keeps you wondering what is going to happen next. People have been giving this game poor reviews because they try to compare it to other genres this is one of those situations where you just got to sit back and enjoy it. I completed the game in about 8 hours and the ended I saw was pretty good. There are a lot of twist and turns with this game but the playing experience is very rewarding. I will say that this game deserves patience at the start and you got to give it chance to get the full effect. So if you want a great 8 to 10 hour experience I fully recommend this game. Expand
  41. AndrewH
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    OKAY NOOOOBS, The lead creator David Cage stated that the game (interactive movie) would'nt be for every one " love it or hate it", okay Noobs, and i personally love this game from story to gameplay.
  42. AlanA
    Mar 15, 2010
    10
    9.6 Heavy Rain Provides an intense cinematic experience but not perfect. ***SPOILERS***** yes, the killer was stupid and i would have much ratherd an NPC, but seeing its not, David Cage did a poor job of a twist. To many plot holes makes it a mess. They should have scrapped Ethans Blackouts, cuz NO ONE was convinced he was the killer. Instead they should have given the killer a split 9.6 Heavy Rain Provides an intense cinematic experience but not perfect. ***SPOILERS***** yes, the killer was stupid and i would have much ratherd an NPC, but seeing its not, David Cage did a poor job of a twist. To many plot holes makes it a mess. They should have scrapped Ethans Blackouts, cuz NO ONE was convinced he was the killer. Instead they should have given the killer a split personality, that would at least help the whole mind reading thing, but still, i would have rathered an NPC, if ur gonna go this route Do it properly! Shelby should have had a split personality, then all of his thoughts WOULD be genuine. and then fix the other minor problems, this twist could have worked, im a little disapointed that they didnt think. ***SPOILERS END**** I love Heavy Rain, but i ignolede it flaws. It was a great experience. I HIGHLY recomend it, i would have given it a ten if it werent for those plot holes, Amazing game though! 9.6 Expand
  43. BrentJ
    Mar 4, 2010
    10
    First I have new reviewed a game before even though i consider myself a regular gamer. When i saw the user score of a 6.3 I was so pissed i decided to write a review. First the game starts off slow and im sure these idiots that gave the game a 5 or lower gave up after the intro. This is by far the prettiest game i have ever played on the ps3.It did freeze my system twice but that was no First I have new reviewed a game before even though i consider myself a regular gamer. When i saw the user score of a 6.3 I was so pissed i decided to write a review. First the game starts off slow and im sure these idiots that gave the game a 5 or lower gave up after the intro. This is by far the prettiest game i have ever played on the ps3.It did freeze my system twice but that was no big deal because it autosaves frequently. The story is brilliant and after the first hour the game gets going to the point you will not put it down. All the way to the end the story continues to improve and your decisions throughout the game really change the ending. I found myself putting myself in the characters shoes and sometimes standing really close to the TV getting into the game without knowing. The best part about this game is that my fiancee would beg for me to play HEAVY RAIN because she loved helping and watch the story unfold. Please do not be mislead by the user reviews. I promise that this is a 90+ game. Just get through the first hour because that is kind of like the games training. After that you better just hold on for the ride!!! Expand
  44. StevenA
    Mar 4, 2010
    10
    One reason why I love Heavy Rain is because its one of the very few games out there that actually made afraid to die in the game. Also, because its one of the first games to have my heart beat fast with fright at some points. Also, because I can tell that a lot of heart was put into the development of this game. Thats very important and Heavy Rain will not be forgotten anytime soon. I One reason why I love Heavy Rain is because its one of the very few games out there that actually made afraid to die in the game. Also, because its one of the first games to have my heart beat fast with fright at some points. Also, because I can tell that a lot of heart was put into the development of this game. Thats very important and Heavy Rain will not be forgotten anytime soon. I went straight to buy this game, because my mission is to collect a series of hardcore PS3 exclusives. Such titles include Uncharted 2, Infamous and God of War III. But Heavy Rain is not a game for everyone. And its definitely not the kind of game you pop up at a gaming party or something. Its too slow-paced for some, but being a multi-genre gamer, I see the good in games. I recommend a rental, in case you don't like the gameplay. But if you want to see everything 100%, its worth it to buy it. Excellent game. 10/10. For this being the start of a new popular genre in gaming. Expand
  45. JohnnyS
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    This game has a ton of mixed reviews. By reading a lot of comments, it's clear that this game is either hated or loved. James S., why on earth would you call this game predictable? This is the more unpredictable than any game or movie I've ever seen. It literally has the biggest and best twist I've ever seen. It fits in perfectly with the game after you find out more This game has a ton of mixed reviews. By reading a lot of comments, it's clear that this game is either hated or loved. James S., why on earth would you call this game predictable? This is the more unpredictable than any game or movie I've ever seen. It literally has the biggest and best twist I've ever seen. It fits in perfectly with the game after you find out more information. And for the people saying it lacks game play - that's because this is a special type of game. It's not Modern Warfare 2. You're not running around, picking fights. This is a story-surrounded game. You're supposed to be focused on the story where you make changes to it as you go along. The gameplay is made how it is so that it doesn't distract from the story. Know what a game is about before you judge. Expand
  46. ChristopherY
    Mar 6, 2010
    10
    The most emotional and thrilling game I have ever played, hooked me right in. Artistically helped you build care and trust for the characters and the relationship between parents and children. Very unseemly made you feel as your life was threatened through innovative controls and fairly open ended results, building a bond to some characters that you knew you could lose and could never The most emotional and thrilling game I have ever played, hooked me right in. Artistically helped you build care and trust for the characters and the relationship between parents and children. Very unseemly made you feel as your life was threatened through innovative controls and fairly open ended results, building a bond to some characters that you knew you could lose and could never just reload the game to when they were alive. For me, I can say that my experience was more intense, investing and emotional then any movie I've watched too. On to the cons, walking is hard to get used to, but I got used to it, pulling the analogue stick all the way out when rotating made it a lot easier to make slower turns (walking didn't break immersion for me, but sometimes a little annoyance). Other con, plot twist.. it's unfortunate up until the big reveal I was so impressed with the game. But couldn't help but be disappointed, by that specific choice alone, with seemingly little explanation. But even so, Heavy Rain has a superb game design to create emotional responses and a keen sense of immersion. I really hope there's more, with a little happier endings I guess. I assume I'd knock off a point for the latter con, but: One, I still had an amazing experience; and Two, I really don't understand all these 0/10 scores... the reasoning behind a majority of them boggle me. Expand
  47. TimJ
    Mar 8, 2010
    10
    I remember way back in 2006 when Heavy Rain was first shown off, with tears running down the girl's face as she pointed the gun at me; I was in shock by how picture perfect this tech demo looked. Four years later, I finally have my hands on a copy of this game, and I am very glad that Quantic Dream took their time with this game, considering the lack-luster visual performance they I remember way back in 2006 when Heavy Rain was first shown off, with tears running down the girl's face as she pointed the gun at me; I was in shock by how picture perfect this tech demo looked. Four years later, I finally have my hands on a copy of this game, and I am very glad that Quantic Dream took their time with this game, considering the lack-luster visual performance they delivered with amazing Indigo Prophecy ('Fahrenheit' for you Brits). Not knowing this, you wouldn't believe that these two games came from the same development team, judging by the visual performance alone. Delving into the story, you can see that Heavy Rain is a spiritual successor to Indigo Prophecy. The interaction with the environment and the vast amounts of directions the game can take you. Halfway through the game, I felt that if I opened the wrong cabinet door, or turned a door knob the wrong way, it would set forth a Butterfly Effect that has yet to be seen. However, I do not say that in spite of the team, oh lord no. I wish there was more of this kind of interaction with the characters and environment in other games. I have never seen story telling in such a way until now that made me care for the characters. I wanted Madison to hook up with Ethan. I wanted Jayden to beat the crap out of Blake. I choked up at the beginning when Ethan's son died (how, I will never know, as Ethan was hit by the car). I actually felt for the characters and their possible outcomes. At the beginning before I even started the game, I was under the impression that the game would guide my actions to an ending that the developers wanted. Quite the contraire: my actions would influence even the most minute details of this amazing story. Heavy Rain is a visually stunning, story driven, user oriented drama that is required playing for anyone that I know, that is reading this, or that owns a PS3. Hell, even if you don't own a PS3, break into your friend's house that has one and play it there (they'll understand, trust me). If my mother can become intrigued by this game, sit down, and ask questions about it - something that she has never done - then Quantic Dream, you win. Expand
  48. EvelynC
    Apr 5, 2010
    10
    I completed this game over the course of two days....some might think this is a bit short for a game you have to pay £40+ on. But as soon as I completed it I started it again. It's that good. This second play through has been completely different so far, decisions I have been making completely reshaping the story. I expect the end result will also be different. I can honestly I completed this game over the course of two days....some might think this is a bit short for a game you have to pay £40+ on. But as soon as I completed it I started it again. It's that good. This second play through has been completely different so far, decisions I have been making completely reshaping the story. I expect the end result will also be different. I can honestly say I haven't been as gripped by a game in a long time. I thought the story (well the one I saw on the first time round) was excellent. It kept me guessing (I was completely wrong in my guess as to who the killer was btw). I actually cared about my decisions. It builds atmosphere and sucks you in like nothing else you will play. It is a different experience and I suppose interactive drama is the best way of describing it - not everyone will enjoy it, but I for one did. Expand
  49. GeniusSuper
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    One of the best games this generation. I'm so impressed by this games. Its different, you need to understand it. Too bad that most gamers dont understand games like this, they only care for big explosions, shooting etc. Heavy rain has deep story, great graphics, incredinble atmosphere. Simply one of the best games. Must have for PS3 owners.
  50. JosephJ
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    First let me start off my saying that Indigo Prophecy is my second favorite game of all time. When I heard that Quantic Dream was making a new game in the same style as Indigo Prophecy I flipped. I'm about an hour and half into the game and so far so good. I love the whole interactive movie style, there really aren't enough games out there like this. This game isn't really First let me start off my saying that Indigo Prophecy is my second favorite game of all time. When I heard that Quantic Dream was making a new game in the same style as Indigo Prophecy I flipped. I'm about an hour and half into the game and so far so good. I love the whole interactive movie style, there really aren't enough games out there like this. This game isn't really for everybody, if the reason you play games is for non stop action and shooting then you probably won't like Heavy Rain, but if you have an open mind and enjoy more sophisticated game play styles then you'll enjoy this ;) Again, this is so refreshing considering 90% of the games that come out are generic shooting bald space marine garbage. Expand
  51. AlexR
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    This is one of the greatest games to ever come out. It is a revolution in gaming, and I hope everyone gets a chance to play it. Even if you don't personally like it it is an experience that is not to be missed. The interactive storytelling is amazing. There were times in the game where I literally thought, "Oh crap, should I have made a different choice?" The intensity was crazy, This is one of the greatest games to ever come out. It is a revolution in gaming, and I hope everyone gets a chance to play it. Even if you don't personally like it it is an experience that is not to be missed. The interactive storytelling is amazing. There were times in the game where I literally thought, "Oh crap, should I have made a different choice?" The intensity was crazy, from trying to talk down an insane man with a gun without shooting him, to failing to sneak up on a man holding up a convenience store and having to negotiate with him instead. When that happened, I actually felt a twinge of regret that I hadn't been able to stop him immediately, but I was then vindicated when I talked him out of the store with no negotiations, and I actually felt glad that I'd screwed up earlier. It's these kinds of emotionally involving moments that make the game such a revolution. This is not a mindless game for anyone. But it represents the future of the industry, so don't miss out on this one! Expand
  52. TylerM
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Incredible game. There is no finer example of mature and compelling story telling in this industry. And to add to it, the game is filled with choices, many of which can truly challenge the player. These aren't the kind of black and white two dimensional choices you see in games like Fallout 3 or Mass Effect that give you choices and try to pretend that they matter. You'll face Incredible game. There is no finer example of mature and compelling story telling in this industry. And to add to it, the game is filled with choices, many of which can truly challenge the player. These aren't the kind of black and white two dimensional choices you see in games like Fallout 3 or Mass Effect that give you choices and try to pretend that they matter. You'll face some very tough decisions with no clear "right" answer. Let yourself get lost in this games world and it gives back ten fold with one of the most compelling and unique experiences I've ever seen. This is not a game to be missed. Expand
  53. JalexD
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    A truly unrivaled experience in video games. Surely, many a narrow-minded person will criticize the game's lack of hundreds of NPCs to slaughter, platforms to hop from and to, and experience to be accumulated thru random exploration and culminating in a higher number being placed next to the character's name. But anyone can easily realize that 'Heavy Rain' is a video A truly unrivaled experience in video games. Surely, many a narrow-minded person will criticize the game's lack of hundreds of NPCs to slaughter, platforms to hop from and to, and experience to be accumulated thru random exploration and culminating in a higher number being placed next to the character's name. But anyone can easily realize that 'Heavy Rain' is a video game by definition as it contains more interaction in 10 hours (give or take a few) than most game franchises have put together. To summarize: The themes are mature ; The characters are very human and it shows ; The script is mostly excellent, with a few sour spots ; The voice acting can be both here and there, with some characters maintaining complete believability while a couple others achieve the opposite, and most have their ups and downs ; The pacing of the story is wonderful, and everything moves along nicely. Nothing feels rushed or dragged out ; The story itself is a joy, as it highlights many topics alien to video games but keeps everything high-quality AND manages to put it's own unique mark on the narration. This is a game EVERY adult gamer should try. Expand
  54. JustinW.
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Outstanding game that really allows a novice to play and get into the story. I've been playing video games for 20+ years now and have barely been able to get my wife to pick up a controller (except for the Rock Band microphone). With this game she is as engrossed with the story as I am and can't wait to come home from work to continue the story. While the game is not perfect it Outstanding game that really allows a novice to play and get into the story. I've been playing video games for 20+ years now and have barely been able to get my wife to pick up a controller (except for the Rock Band microphone). With this game she is as engrossed with the story as I am and can't wait to come home from work to continue the story. While the game is not perfect it definitely pushes the medium forward in a very adult way. Here's hoping more publishers learn a few lessons from Heavy Rain and start to cater to us "older gamers" who value deep plots and complex narratives over the all too common point and click shooters.... Expand
  55. RamoneJ
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Amazing!! I've never cared so much for the well being of video game characters like i have for Heavy Rain's. Try it, you will never forget it.
  56. alexisfs
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Masterpiece. Never played something so good like this game. Dont skip it!
  57. SluggoC
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Looking at the player's reviews you can spot the fact that Heavy Rain is a ground breaking piece of entertainment. The little "shooter kids" don't like it because they can't use guns to blow up things, and the little "fighter brats" don't like it because they can't use "ninja moves". But, if games are ever going to move past the little nerd boys and out into the Looking at the player's reviews you can spot the fact that Heavy Rain is a ground breaking piece of entertainment. The little "shooter kids" don't like it because they can't use guns to blow up things, and the little "fighter brats" don't like it because they can't use "ninja moves". But, if games are ever going to move past the little nerd boys and out into the real world of entertainment, things like Heavy Rain need to happen. The player is emotionally invested in the game to a level not seen to date. Choices have consequences and, at base, this game teaches. The graphics had to be good in order to involve the player. The story is set to a novel level and not (as many reviewers seem to prefer) a cartoon level (which explains why so many consider this a "boring game"). Worth buying and worth playing. Expand
  58. TravisC
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of the best games ever. The story is fresh and keeps you guessing all the way. The gameplay may be simple but if you think it can't be as intense as a game like call of duty then you are so wrong. My stomach was in knots the entire time. This has some of the most intense sequences in gaming ever. Get it now. if you don't have a ps3 then buy one of those and This is easily one of the best games ever. The story is fresh and keeps you guessing all the way. The gameplay may be simple but if you think it can't be as intense as a game like call of duty then you are so wrong. My stomach was in knots the entire time. This has some of the most intense sequences in gaming ever. Get it now. if you don't have a ps3 then buy one of those and then get heavy rain. It is worth it. Expand
  59. Shad0wCK
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome, a contender for Game of the Year 2010 for sure. Graphics are amazing, and the storyline took my breath away. A must buy! I'm so glad I own a PS3.
  60. JohnnyH
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    It's a very deviding game - you'l either love it or hate it. It has an immersive and thrilling story line and sublime graphics, but doesn't offer much else. It sounds like a cliche these days but Heavy Rain really is like playing a movie. Every animation in every scene in the entire game is capture with real actors, and the graphics are better than the cut scenes of most It's a very deviding game - you'l either love it or hate it. It has an immersive and thrilling story line and sublime graphics, but doesn't offer much else. It sounds like a cliche these days but Heavy Rain really is like playing a movie. Every animation in every scene in the entire game is capture with real actors, and the graphics are better than the cut scenes of most other games. Graphics aside, the story is very well paced and thought through. The main characters are well defined and generally likable. Generally, buy this game if an "Interactive Drama" sounds appealing to you. Expand
  61. JasonB
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    This is an extremely fun game. It is story and emotionally driven, so if you are in love with the same old fps games you probably will not enjoy it as much as me, but you will still enjoy it. It is a game EVERYONE must try, no matter if people say its good or bad because it is a game unlike any other, a sparkling gem in a world dominated by shooting games. The people who usually This is an extremely fun game. It is story and emotionally driven, so if you are in love with the same old fps games you probably will not enjoy it as much as me, but you will still enjoy it. It is a game EVERYONE must try, no matter if people say its good or bad because it is a game unlike any other, a sparkling gem in a world dominated by shooting games. The people who usually don't like this game, no offense, are more apathetic than normal (Probably by playing all those shooting games). If you feel an iota of emotion, this game will have you engaged as you become involved. The decisions actually became really tough for me, especially at the end. The first hour or so is slow, but it really picks up. I did notice a few glaring plot holes, but this is a game I will probably play again and again to get the full effect. Trust me, try it. If you don't like it, at least you experienced a game that truly crossed a new threshold. The story is driven by one, central question, and if you can ask YOURSELF that question while you play, if you can imagine YOURSELF in Ethan's position and your son in Shaun's, How far will you go to save someone you love? Expand
  62. JustinD
    Mar 14, 2010
    10
    I enjoyed this game immensely, I had to keep playing it until the climax/conclusion. It really had me guessing "who is the origami killer?" I will admit, this game is not for everyone. I am the typical "shooter" gamer, so I was quite hesitate prior to making the purchase. Quite frankly, I was satisfied. Though, the replay value of it in my opinion is the not the greatest. Like stated I enjoyed this game immensely, I had to keep playing it until the climax/conclusion. It really had me guessing "who is the origami killer?" I will admit, this game is not for everyone. I am the typical "shooter" gamer, so I was quite hesitate prior to making the purchase. Quite frankly, I was satisfied. Though, the replay value of it in my opinion is the not the greatest. Like stated prior, I am a "shooter" gamer, so after learning who is the origami killer, my interest subsided. I rated this game as a 10 because I believe it deserves it, but if I could rate the replay value separately, that would be rated about a 4. Anyone whom owns a PS3 should definitely try this title regardless of the type of gamer you are. Expand
  63. lucas
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    The way I see it, even the electric light garnered negative reviews when it was introduced and so it goes that a few negative reviews by a bunch of lemmings will not change the fact that Heavy Rain is a milestone in video game entertainment! The game is a journey in the truest sense of the word; a path one takes is truly different and has various emotional effect depending on the The way I see it, even the electric light garnered negative reviews when it was introduced and so it goes that a few negative reviews by a bunch of lemmings will not change the fact that Heavy Rain is a milestone in video game entertainment! The game is a journey in the truest sense of the word; a path one takes is truly different and has various emotional effect depending on the player's choices. Guys, if you want a game your girlfriends can and will get into this is absolutely a winner. I was impressed by how the changes in story came to pass when my girlfriend played. There where many "oh! That is so different from when I played" moments! Now nay-sayers may comment: "so what? Mass Effect and many games have plot changes based on what you choose as well", and I would agree. However the overall emotional attachment in those games vary from slight to none at all. Actually, the last time I experienced this level of emotional connection was when I played Crimson Butterfly. In short, this is a fantastic title, one you will be haunted by long after you set the controller down! Expand
  64. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Storytelling in a way that is rarely seen and experienced. Great presentation and gameplay that really sucks you into the game. But the true star here is the story extremely well done. They should really make a movie out this game.
  65. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Heavy Rain is the best game on PS3. Was that not enough to compel you to buy it? Well let's scrape the false claims out of the way first. Heavy Rain is NOT a quick time event driven game. It may feel like it as you fiddle with the thumbsticks and follow direction cues. But Heavy Rain makes so much sense out of them in context. For example when you fuss around trying to undo your seatbelt,Heavy Rain is the best game on PS3. Was that not enough to compel you to buy it? Well let's scrape the false claims out of the way first. Heavy Rain is NOT a quick time event driven game. It may feel like it as you fiddle with the thumbsticks and follow direction cues. But Heavy Rain makes so much sense out of them in context. For example when you fuss around trying to undo your seatbelt, the feedback feels dynamic. Now to the game itself. Quantic Dream has given us a masterpiece of storytelling and design. There are 18 diiferent ending scenarios. Above all else though is the story that drives them. The game asks you how far will you go to save someone you love and all the way through the protagonists are torn by the past and want to save the future. Ethan Mars clearly defines this. He loses his older son Jason by a vehicular rundown and throughout the game he struggles to live with himself, especially when Shaun goes missing. Heavy Rain pulls you in with plenty of action sequences and spins a yarn which is truly phenominal. If you don't feel anything by the end of the game (no matter how many run throughs you do) something is definately wrong with you. Expand
  66. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    This game is nothing less than revolutionary!Are you kidding me,this is the future in gaming.At the same time Sony is showing us how powerful it's system is and kinda a"put it in your face 360"kinda way.I'm honestly more of a 360 gamer but The PS3 has some of the best games period.See the PS3 has games that are so evolutionary that we can't even see the whole picture rightThis game is nothing less than revolutionary!Are you kidding me,this is the future in gaming.At the same time Sony is showing us how powerful it's system is and kinda a"put it in your face 360"kinda way.I'm honestly more of a 360 gamer but The PS3 has some of the best games period.See the PS3 has games that are so evolutionary that we can't even see the whole picture right now,seriously!LBP2 is a game that contains millions of games within a game,pure genius but I'll stick to this review that saying,you will pop this game in in 2015 and still get goose bumps and experience something different.Some choice different to change things.That's how good this is.It's not a game or an interactive movie its a evolution of life.Think about that. Expand
  67. May 17, 2011
    10
    I literally just finished this game moments ago (the credits are currently rolling) and feel blown away. :) This is without question one of the greatest games ever produced. I loved every minute of it. The graphics, setting, mood, music, storyline, etc. are across-the-board excellent. If this is the direction that gaming is headed, I can't wait for future releases. The current user scoreI literally just finished this game moments ago (the credits are currently rolling) and feel blown away. :) This is without question one of the greatest games ever produced. I loved every minute of it. The graphics, setting, mood, music, storyline, etc. are across-the-board excellent. If this is the direction that gaming is headed, I can't wait for future releases. The current user score of 6.6 is absolutely ludicrous. I suspect that many of these negative reviews have been written by kids who simply are incapable of appreciating something of sophisticated as "Heavy Rain." I can't wait to see what David Cage dreams up next. Expand
  68. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain is one of the most interesting games that I've played in quite a while. I had a general feeling of what to expect, as I have admired David Cage's work since Omikron, and I knew that the game is going to be more of an interactive movie. I found the characters interesting, the storytelling compelling, and the gameplay quite innovative, though, as I said, this one strongly focusesHeavy Rain is one of the most interesting games that I've played in quite a while. I had a general feeling of what to expect, as I have admired David Cage's work since Omikron, and I knew that the game is going to be more of an interactive movie. I found the characters interesting, the storytelling compelling, and the gameplay quite innovative, though, as I said, this one strongly focuses on the storyline, but I've always been a player for whom a good storyline is the driving force behind a game, though there have been exceptions. In terms of graphics and acting the game is stunning. However, as you can most likely see by the amount of negative opinions here, you're likely to dislike the game if you expect something else then watching, what somebody called, "a very long cutscene", as I think that if there is an exact opposite to sandbox games, this is it. Nonetheless, i consider it one of the best games I ever played. Expand
  69. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game. I was a little skeptical at first, but once I started playing this I just couldn't put it down. I love the unique controls for this game, and the storyline sucked me in immediately. I'm not sure how anyone can give this game a negative review.
  70. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    This game is emotions. I was crying through bloodied hands as I admired the beatyfull graphics. Although I didnt complete the game I think Jason is the Origami killer. Please message me if Im right I think I won a bet. I remember seeing that video of the white lady crying about ten years ago and I wonder why there wasnt enough crying. Anyone played Fahrenheit because I think this may beThis game is emotions. I was crying through bloodied hands as I admired the beatyfull graphics. Although I didnt complete the game I think Jason is the Origami killer. Please message me if Im right I think I won a bet. I remember seeing that video of the white lady crying about ten years ago and I wonder why there wasnt enough crying. Anyone played Fahrenheit because I think this may be similar or the same or whatever. Expand
  71. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    I really wanted to hate this game so much. I think David Cage is hideously pretentious as a person, and I hated Farenheit, but the shere brilliance of Heavy rain has forced me to take a complete U turn! Not only did I enjoy playing it, I loved playing it. It's one of the first game's that I've found myself actually caring about in the same way that I'd care about the story in a film. TheI really wanted to hate this game so much. I think David Cage is hideously pretentious as a person, and I hated Farenheit, but the shere brilliance of Heavy rain has forced me to take a complete U turn! Not only did I enjoy playing it, I loved playing it. It's one of the first game's that I've found myself actually caring about in the same way that I'd care about the story in a film. The story itself is pretty good. There's a few plot holes and a few red herrings that you notice when you finish the game, but there are also a few moments of unbridled brilliance, and the influence you have over what happens really involves you. There were a few moments when I was faced with tough decisions that really blew my mind! Absoulatly blew me away. Buy it, NOW!! Expand
  72. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    My favorite game for PS3. I have gotten platinum on it 3x just for the fun. I can't wait to see what Quantic Dream does next. "Your review must be at least 150 characters long."
  73. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is more than just a game, I view it as an interactive experience. If you come here expecting lots of engaging action you will be disappointed. If you come with an open mind and ready to see this game for what it tries to be, you will be incredibly satisfied. This is a movie that allows you to shape the plot in which ever way you want. You will play it over many times just to see howThis is more than just a game, I view it as an interactive experience. If you come here expecting lots of engaging action you will be disappointed. If you come with an open mind and ready to see this game for what it tries to be, you will be incredibly satisfied. This is a movie that allows you to shape the plot in which ever way you want. You will play it over many times just to see how things change based on your decisions. Expand
  74. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    what should i say epic game which have an amazing story line which will make you feel as if its a movie with no time to catch your breath every character will make interact with it with its unique adventure honestly its the best game i have ever played
  75. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Nowadays, most of the games you find on the store shelves are standard-issue actionfests, with few moments of real storyline thrown into the mix. With Heavy Rain, however, the emphasis is more on the gripping plotline rather than the action itself, though there are many moments that will have you on the edge of your seat. In Heavy Rain, you play as four different characters, but the mainNowadays, most of the games you find on the store shelves are standard-issue actionfests, with few moments of real storyline thrown into the mix. With Heavy Rain, however, the emphasis is more on the gripping plotline rather than the action itself, though there are many moments that will have you on the edge of your seat. In Heavy Rain, you play as four different characters, but the main focus is on a grizzled, drunk mess of a father who had lost one of his two sons many years earlier. The story opens up as his other son is kidnapped by the Origami Killer, who tests parents to see how far they will go to save their children. If the parents don't complete the tests, the child ends up drowning in a well, or a trapped area of water. From there on, you play through multiple grueling, painful-looking tests while a journalist (Another played character.) is struggling to prove that the father isn't the Origami Killer, as everyone believes. The other two characters played are a drug-addicted FBI agent and a weary private detective. The game is controlled similar to Indigo Prophecy, an under-the-radar game that had great character development. You'll actually pick thoughts from floating words around your character's head, and they help in certain situations. For example, in one part as the FBI agent you and a corrupt agent break into a religious nut's house when he's gone. After searching around the place, the guy comes home and nabs the corrupt guy, who is your pal. From there, you can either choose to simply shoot the guy right then and there, or try to defuse the situation and get him to let the agent go and drop his weapon. The story is handled perfectly and it is backed by some serious graphics. If you haven't seen them in action, you must, they are simply gorgeous. But this game isn't for everyone- the focus on story and longevity of the game length might turn off some gamers looking for a quick action fix. But anyone with a PS3 should play this game, even if you are just going to rent it. Expand
  76. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This is the game that made me mesmerize from start to finish. Without any exaggerate, I was speechless while playing since the "Heavy Rain Experience" was un excelled. There is a argument that we all gamers have different ideas about whether games are art form or not.
    While playing this game, I asked myself: "If this isn't an art than what is it?" For me, Heavy Rain is much more
    This is the game that made me mesmerize from start to finish. Without any exaggerate, I was speechless while playing since the "Heavy Rain Experience" was un excelled. There is a argument that we all gamers have different ideas about whether games are art form or not.
    While playing this game, I asked myself: "If this isn't an art than what is it?" For me, Heavy Rain is much more than just a game. Heavy Rain is a pioneer of a new kind of entertainment which we will see more example of it in the future. This my friends, is an experience like no other.
    Expand
  77. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Great game although a little short, and even though you can replay to different outcomes it is annoying not being able to fast forward through cutscenes and dialogue you have already seen, as i lost my patience and only re-did certain points in the game.
  78. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    There is a serial child killer known only as the Origami Killer who drowns his victimâ
  79. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    The proof that a combination of cinema and video-games can be outstanding! The plot can be an addiction! I really couldn't let down the controller until the very end! Graphics are also amazing even the slightest detail is well-developed!
  80. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    -Review BRAZIL- "Heavy Rain" é um thriller dramático centrado em torno de quatro protagonistas envolvidos no mistério do "Assassino do Origami", um serial killer que ataca em períodos de chuva intensa para afogar as suas vítimas. "Heavy Rain" é um título exclusivo de PS3 e sem dúvida um-Review BRAZIL- "Heavy Rain" é um thriller dramático centrado em torno de quatro protagonistas envolvidos no mistério do "Assassino do Origami", um serial killer que ataca em períodos de chuva intensa para afogar as suas vítimas. "Heavy Rain" é um título exclusivo de PS3 e sem dúvida um dos melhores jogos que já joguei, parece um filme em que você é o diretor e controla os personagens e faz os finais a sua maneira. Boa jogabilidade e um dos gráficos mais belos desta geração. NOTA 10. Expand
  81. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    One of the best and most gripping stories I've ever played in a game. Best part of all, YOU make the decisions, and all your decisions have different outcomes. And so different endings. Also really original I must say.
  82. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    The people that write bad reviews are FPS gamers that cant see further than their finger.
    A Unique game that you must play it an be a part of it, to feel it, to get the point and appreciate it.
    After a point you just cant stop paying it , you want to go further and further to see what is going on and "how" will go on, it challenges you and surprises you. One of the best games ever, one of
    The people that write bad reviews are FPS gamers that cant see further than their finger.
    A Unique game that you must play it an be a part of it, to feel it, to get the point and appreciate it.
    After a point you just cant stop paying it , you want to go further and further to see what is going on and "how" will go on, it challenges you and surprises you.
    One of the best games ever, one of the most groundbreaking ideas in game history ever.
    The fear to loose a character is amazing!
    Expand
  83. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    My favorite and most beloved PS3 game, I will never forget how it make me fell when I played, back to back, 6 times.
    It is a powerful and unforgettable experience that stays with you months after playing, this game is the LOUIS C.K. of video games: sincere, original and creative.
    If you like intelligent and mysterious games, PLAY IT.
  84. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite games 2010. It's a brilliant game that every hardcore gamer should experience!
    If you don't have a ps3 this is a great reason to buy it!
  85. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don'tThis game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don't listen to the bad reviews of the game that you see here. If you are an action junkie then this game is simply not for you. If you are truly looking for a new game to try then I highly recommend playing this game. Kudos to you Quantic Dream for trying out something new and having great success with it! Expand
  86. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    It's difficult to comprehend how good this game is. Heavy Rain allows you to take on a completely new style of play so in depth and it is backed up with a strong plot to boot. Game of the Year by a mile for me because although not as immediately entertaining as say Mass Effect ,Call of Duty or God of War, those who stick with Heavy Rain will realise for a 10 hour game, it is 10 hours theyIt's difficult to comprehend how good this game is. Heavy Rain allows you to take on a completely new style of play so in depth and it is backed up with a strong plot to boot. Game of the Year by a mile for me because although not as immediately entertaining as say Mass Effect ,Call of Duty or God of War, those who stick with Heavy Rain will realise for a 10 hour game, it is 10 hours they have spent well on an experience like no other in gaming history since... well ever. Ultimately it is the way it grasps you from when your son is kidnapped at the start of the game that drifts away from 'just a game' to film-noire, and it is so excellently well done. It is very important that you play this game, because in 5 or 10 years time, game developers will attempt to copy Heavy Rain and most will most likely not hold a candle to it. Heavy Rain is the most innovative game of the 21st century so far and is going to be the prototype for the next step in gaming. Expand
  87. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    There has been a lot of complaints about how this game is an "interactive movie" etc but that is defidently not a bad thing. Heavy Rain plays out as an action/mystery/thriller story with Resident Evil 4-like cutscene controls. You also can walk around lots of times but the controls aren't that great when walking around. While there are some downsides to this game they are all overshadowedThere has been a lot of complaints about how this game is an "interactive movie" etc but that is defidently not a bad thing. Heavy Rain plays out as an action/mystery/thriller story with Resident Evil 4-like cutscene controls. You also can walk around lots of times but the controls aren't that great when walking around. While there are some downsides to this game they are all overshadowed by it's tremendous storyline. This litterally may be the best story in every single game I have played in my life. (Move aside Mass Effect 2) Also the graphics are really good, ranging from good to absoluty stunning (the close ups of the peoples' faces in between chapters) Overall this game is an absolute masterpiece! 10/10 Expand
  88. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made. There really isn't many games out there that could give a gripping story with so many twists and endings and do it an believable way. It really is a melding of game and cinema and if you play it - you will thank me and you will also never forget the experience.
  89. May 22, 2011
    10
    Simply brilliant awesomeness. The story sucks you in and you feel apart of the game. One of the best games I have played in a long time......... 10star!!
  90. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    After playing LA Noire, I decided to go back to Heavy Rain and firmly deicde which is better. I myself consider LA Noire to be a revolution but I forget all about Heavy Rain! I'll be honest, the userscore doesn't do this game any justice im actually astonished at the response from some people because this game ultimately has made LA Noire possible. Infact, I would even go as far as sayingAfter playing LA Noire, I decided to go back to Heavy Rain and firmly deicde which is better. I myself consider LA Noire to be a revolution but I forget all about Heavy Rain! I'll be honest, the userscore doesn't do this game any justice im actually astonished at the response from some people because this game ultimately has made LA Noire possible. Infact, I would even go as far as saying Heavy Rain is not only a better game but an even better experience. I still remember the premise of Heavy Rain. How Far Would You For The One's You Love. Basically, Heavy Rain is an interactive psychological thriller where you play as four protagonists involved with the mystery of the Origami killer, a serial killer who uses extensive periods of rainfall to kill his victims. From the very start of this game you get the sense of some truely extraordinary. The interaction you are able to have is just stunning. The simplest things that you are able to just add to what I can only describe as the one of, if not, the defining gaming experiences of this generation. The story as i've pointed out is a very dark and gloomy subject and immediately sets this game apart from the rest, its much more grown-up and serious than most games emphasized particuarly the shocking twist of events at the beginning of the game. The area in which heavy Rain truely excels and achieves what very fue games can is an emotional connection. Every decision you make has consequences, no matter how big or how small, and will play a huge part in how the game unfolds and even more intriguingly how each characters story plays out. It draws you in and fails to let you go and you will find yourself going back again and again as you will want to find out how every single decision affects the outcome of this masterpiece and believe me there is quite a few you won't be found wanting here if your looking for a game to fill your day. Visually, LA Noire is head and shoulders above HR but its above most other games too, that being said HR is still a visually very good game that doesn't rely upon its looks its what inside that counts, and boy does it count in Quantum Dreams epic first PS3 outing. The fact that its exclusive makes this one on the PS3's must own titles. Some will no doubt reufse to see exactly what Heavy Rain is but you have to experience this to truely appreciate what Heavy Rain has achieved. All in all I can honestly say that even with LA Noire on the shelf, this game still sets itself apart. It's one of the most momentous games every to grace any console whilst also being a bold, brave and revolutionary step forward for the gaming industry. To have a game where YOU are in full control for me is just downright inspiring and you can rest assure that Heavy Rain's influence will be felt in the years to come as no game thus far can offer a package of such interactivity and storytelling like Quantum Dream's masterpiece . A genius game and an essential purchase that every PS3 owner simply should have in their collection! Expand
  91. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. The graphics really show what the ps3 can do and the sound draws you in. Control wise the simple system serves to put you in authority but not detach you from the experience. In terms of story it really is blockbuster stuff and could easily be a movie!
  92. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Heavy rain is truly revolutionary in design. This game changes the whole concept of what a game is, what it can be, what it should be. Heavy Rain is a riveting thriller that grabs you and makes you care about the characters, the decisions you have to make and the ramifications of those decisions. It is awesomely spectacular in the most mundane ways (which is a feat in itself). IHeavy rain is truly revolutionary in design. This game changes the whole concept of what a game is, what it can be, what it should be. Heavy Rain is a riveting thriller that grabs you and makes you care about the characters, the decisions you have to make and the ramifications of those decisions. It is awesomely spectacular in the most mundane ways (which is a feat in itself). I eagerly look forward to the next Quantic Dream title. Who says that video games cannot be art? This game just proved that it is. Expand
  93. May 28, 2012
    10
    I loved this game. First time for a very long time that every decision I made felt like it had meaning and any mistake was lifethreatening. It's such a good example at how instent death can effectivly be interwoven into a game and one of the most emotional endings to a game I have ever faced with me litterally breaking down in tears from the ending.
  94. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. this game is a masterpiece
  95. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    i was obsessed with this game. the plot is amazing. it feels like an interactive movie at times but that is what i like. i empathized with all of the characters and loved the amazing and believable voice acting. the graphics are gorgeous and make this a truly fun modern adventure game. 10/10 for satisfaction and love
  96. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    If there was a reason to buy a PS3, here it is. I loved Fahrenheit (aka Indigo Prophecy) but it was a shame Heavy Rain didn't make it cross-platform. I'm going to keep this short, as lengthy critique will just involve my gushing about the game ... (one word - wow). Heavy Rain is everything a modern game should be, compelling, cinematic and complex, it makes other games (and many films)If there was a reason to buy a PS3, here it is. I loved Fahrenheit (aka Indigo Prophecy) but it was a shame Heavy Rain didn't make it cross-platform. I'm going to keep this short, as lengthy critique will just involve my gushing about the game ... (one word - wow). Heavy Rain is everything a modern game should be, compelling, cinematic and complex, it makes other games (and many films) seem mundane by comparison. Very close to being a masterpiece. Expand
  97. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    There is no other game out there like this one right now. Its basically a movie, with quick time events for the action sequence and conversation puzzles for the talking parts. That sounds lame when I put that way but trust me, this game is awesome.
  98. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I've played this all the way through twice now, and I'm still haunted by decisions I've made in it. On the second playthrough, something happened that I'm not going into detail about that literally scared me, and I don't get scared by much. This game is absolutely remarkable, and I plan on playing through it several more times to see the different endings. If you haven't played this gameI've played this all the way through twice now, and I'm still haunted by decisions I've made in it. On the second playthrough, something happened that I'm not going into detail about that literally scared me, and I don't get scared by much. This game is absolutely remarkable, and I plan on playing through it several more times to see the different endings. If you haven't played this game yet, then you need to, it is well worth your time. Expand
  99. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I got this game and the first thing I had to say after having a look at it was that the graphics are amazing, it is one of the most good looking games I have ever played. Since it provides move support, the game drags you into the story line and make you feel like that you are really the character you are playing, every action of our results in different cons, so the game is moreover aI got this game and the first thing I had to say after having a look at it was that the graphics are amazing, it is one of the most good looking games I have ever played. Since it provides move support, the game drags you into the story line and make you feel like that you are really the character you are playing, every action of our results in different cons, so the game is moreover a suspense that is never broken by having a look at any walk-through on youtube, some of our action may even result in killing the in-game character, the only bad thing you will notice about this game is that there is not much of a replay value to the game and the game lacks muliplayer mode.
    But most games aim at removing any stress or tension which they fail to do, lets take god of war for example, it is more of a nightmare to me in which you have to tap the bloody button and swing some **** i really feels like **** on the other hand heavy rain is a very pleasant game and I recommend this game to every PS3 owner because I think, it is one of the ps3 titles which can dominate the 360 and the move support gives it a nice reason for why you should buy it
    Expand
  100. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Heavy Rain is a beautiful example of introducing a unique gameplay mixed with an exciting story. Multiple endings and the different characters you get to play make this a game a 10.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]