Heavy Rain PlayStation 3

Heavy Rain Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2738 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as theHow Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as the Origami Killer - named after his macabre calling card of leaving behind folded paper shapes at crime scenes. Four characters, each following their own leads and with their own motives, must take part in a desperate attempt to prevent the killer from claiming a new victim. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  2. Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction...This may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will.
  3. The presentation for Heavy Rain is nearly flawless with some stunning mo-cap work, not only for overall character movement and subtle character traits and idle animations, but also in the detailed facial capture and lip-synch.
  4. The excitement and emotion the experience playing Heavy Rain conveys is nothing short of remarkable making it a game that you definitely should pick up for your PS3.
  5. Quantic Dream again brings its unique vision of videogames with Heavy Rain, its latest gem. Maybe it’s not a perfect game, but if you want a deep and engaging history and believable and touching characters this is your game. It’s an incredibly original videogame.
  6. In spite of the negative aspects of the game, I highly recommend the interesting and unique experience that is Heavy Rain.
  7. The controls and interaction with the game world are suspect at best and downright awful at worst. And even looking past that I still come away disappointed. The script is weak, the characters' interactions/motivations are often left unexplained, and the voice acting is mediocre in some places and bad in others. The only thing Heavy Rain really has going for it is the composition of some of the individual scenes, and that's not nearly enough to carry the whole game on its own. So in the end we don't have much of anything except the spectre of what might have been.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 421
  1. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    This game alone is a reason to go out and buy a PS3, no other console has a game like Heavy Rain.
  3. PaulS
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    I don't normally vote, but I am truly wondering if any of the people who are trashing this game have actually played it for any length I don't normally vote, but I am truly wondering if any of the people who are trashing this game have actually played it for any length of time. I'm about 60% of the way through the game, and I have been on the edge of my seat the entire time. Without giving any spoilers, the story is fantastic, and you are often forced to make split-second decisions that have lasting repercussions throughout the remainder of the game. This game is action-packed, albeit interactively, so there is no Halo-style shooting or God of War-esque button-mashing. The action contained in these scenes, though is frantic and fast-paced, and the story will continue on if you fail and your character dies. Lastly, the voice acting (which seems to be a major complaint) does sound a little strange, but you have to consider the fact that these are not American actors. Overall, a fantastic game with a thrilling and tense story. Well worth the price of admission. Expand
  4. StevenS
    Feb 26, 2010
    9
    This arrived yesterday morning from HMV. I got the collectors edition and played it through in one sitting. It's a long time since This arrived yesterday morning from HMV. I got the collectors edition and played it through in one sitting. It's a long time since I've sat at a computer overnight but it was too brilliant to put down. There are areas of the game where the controls get a little clunky and for that I marked the game down one point. Other than that it is amazing. There are hundreds of first person shooters released each year, multitudes of driving games. Yes, it has it's flaws but this game is different, it's original, and it's amazingly well done. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    Point 'n Clicks for the 21st Century. I grew up on Monkey Island, Maniac Mansion, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis and later, GrimPoint 'n Clicks for the 21st Century. I grew up on Monkey Island, Maniac Mansion, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis and later, Grim Fandango. Heavy Rain is a welcome burst of energy into the story driven game genre. It's a dark and adult thriller full of decisions and consequences. You spend the whole time trying to guess who is the Origami Killer (as you progress I becomes, I thought, very obvious) however your never really know until the game wants you to. It still looks awesome, it's got some very bizarre controls and camera angles but all in all the game is a stunner. It makes good and logical use of QTEs, exploration and investigation and I love that when one of your characters dies they're gone for good... Warrants multiple, multiple playthroughs due to all the decisions and consequenses as well as the fact that it is very deep adventure title. 9/10 Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To make it clear, Heavy Rain is more a incredible thrilling movie than a videogame. It has a lot of very intense scenes and quiet a few choices to change the story line. The only downside for me is, that after the first playthrough it loses a bit of his "magic" and it took my several months to play it again - but still I play it since release. Expand
  7. ChrisC
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & story is what matters! And the gameplay is just a series of quick time events, the prologue is incredibly dull & the story doesn't start getting interesting until near the middle & overall this game is just boring. I mean Heavy Rain tries its hardest to be a video game & movie at the same time & ends up failing miserably! Now I know everyone is going to claim I'm a 360 fanboy, but I'm not! I'm just someone who is voicing his opinion on this overrated & dull game! Expand

See all 421 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews

    Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 23, 2010
    The year's most talked-about Playstation 3 title is part game, part interactive fiction. We go deeper inside the reviews to find out what all the buzz is about.