Heavy Rain Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2840 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as theHow Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as the Origami Killer - named after his macabre calling card of leaving behind folded paper shapes at crime scenes. Four characters, each following their own leads and with their own motives, must take part in a desperate attempt to prevent the killer from claiming a new victim. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Heavy Rain Official Move Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  2. Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction...This may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will.
  3. The presentation for Heavy Rain is nearly flawless with some stunning mo-cap work, not only for overall character movement and subtle character traits and idle animations, but also in the detailed facial capture and lip-synch.
  4. The excitement and emotion the experience playing Heavy Rain conveys is nothing short of remarkable making it a game that you definitely should pick up for your PS3.
  5. Quantic Dream again brings its unique vision of videogames with Heavy Rain, its latest gem. Maybe it’s not a perfect game, but if you want a deep and engaging history and believable and touching characters this is your game. It’s an incredibly original videogame.
  6. In spite of the negative aspects of the game, I highly recommend the interesting and unique experience that is Heavy Rain.
  7. The controls and interaction with the game world are suspect at best and downright awful at worst. And even looking past that I still come away disappointed. The script is weak, the characters' interactions/motivations are often left unexplained, and the voice acting is mediocre in some places and bad in others. The only thing Heavy Rain really has going for it is the composition of some of the individual scenes, and that's not nearly enough to carry the whole game on its own. So in the end we don't have much of anything except the spectre of what might have been.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 419
  1. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely stunning. A masterpiece. Beautiful music and story. At last a mature game that offers something different than the usual gameingAbsolutely stunning. A masterpiece. Beautiful music and story. At last a mature game that offers something different than the usual gameing experiences. This is the kind of game that makes me want to spend my money and my time on. Can´t wait for the next Quantic Dreams game. Expand
  3. PaulS
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    I don't normally vote, but I am truly wondering if any of the people who are trashing this game have actually played it for any length I don't normally vote, but I am truly wondering if any of the people who are trashing this game have actually played it for any length of time. I'm about 60% of the way through the game, and I have been on the edge of my seat the entire time. Without giving any spoilers, the story is fantastic, and you are often forced to make split-second decisions that have lasting repercussions throughout the remainder of the game. This game is action-packed, albeit interactively, so there is no Halo-style shooting or God of War-esque button-mashing. The action contained in these scenes, though is frantic and fast-paced, and the story will continue on if you fail and your character dies. Lastly, the voice acting (which seems to be a major complaint) does sound a little strange, but you have to consider the fact that these are not American actors. Overall, a fantastic game with a thrilling and tense story. Well worth the price of admission. Expand
  4. VoltageXxV
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    A true experience of a game. Storyline is a bit transparent, but that's okay given it's NOT like other games. Anybody not A true experience of a game. Storyline is a bit transparent, but that's okay given it's NOT like other games. Anybody not understanding the importance of this type of game in the landscape has forgotten that video games are supposed to be on the forefront of telling stories. They go where movies will never be able to. First game in awhile that actually had me thinking, massive props for that. Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    I don't normally like this kind of game but it just goes to show that interactive story telling can work when it's done properly. It's a greatI don't normally like this kind of game but it just goes to show that interactive story telling can work when it's done properly. It's a great looking game too. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To make it clear, Heavy Rain is more a incredible thrilling movie than a videogame. It has a lot of very intense scenes and quiet a few choices to change the story line. The only downside for me is, that after the first playthrough it loses a bit of his "magic" and it took my several months to play it again - but still I play it since release. Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2017
    0
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control in your
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control in your game.
    2) You like bad movies that make no sense with ridiculous plot holes. Maybe Troll 2 is a movie you'd love.
    3) Your mental development was stunted in some way before birth or sometime after. In which case, I'm sorry. I just would've thought that professional publications would hire more capable people. Weird. VERY weird.

    EDIT: To all the people that downvoted this review. You're telling me the gameplay is good? You're telling me the story is interesting? No plot holes? I hope you all get hit by a bus.
    Expand

See all 419 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews

    Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 23, 2010
    The year's most talked-about Playstation 3 title is part game, part interactive fiction. We go deeper inside the reviews to find out what all the buzz is about.