Heavy Rain Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2850 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as theHow Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as the Origami Killer - named after his macabre calling card of leaving behind folded paper shapes at crime scenes. Four characters, each following their own leads and with their own motives, must take part in a desperate attempt to prevent the killer from claiming a new victim. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Heavy Rain Official Move Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  2. Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction...This may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will.
  3. The presentation for Heavy Rain is nearly flawless with some stunning mo-cap work, not only for overall character movement and subtle character traits and idle animations, but also in the detailed facial capture and lip-synch.
  4. The excitement and emotion the experience playing Heavy Rain conveys is nothing short of remarkable making it a game that you definitely should pick up for your PS3.
  5. Quantic Dream again brings its unique vision of videogames with Heavy Rain, its latest gem. Maybe it’s not a perfect game, but if you want a deep and engaging history and believable and touching characters this is your game. It’s an incredibly original videogame.
  6. In spite of the negative aspects of the game, I highly recommend the interesting and unique experience that is Heavy Rain.
  7. The controls and interaction with the game world are suspect at best and downright awful at worst. And even looking past that I still come away disappointed. The script is weak, the characters' interactions/motivations are often left unexplained, and the voice acting is mediocre in some places and bad in others. The only thing Heavy Rain really has going for it is the composition of some of the individual scenes, and that's not nearly enough to carry the whole game on its own. So in the end we don't have much of anything except the spectre of what might have been.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 420
  1. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Literally my favorite game of all time. Plays like an intense interactive movie. Definitely challenging, but not frustratingly so. Story isLiterally my favorite game of all time. Plays like an intense interactive movie. Definitely challenging, but not frustratingly so. Story is incredible. Some of the graphics are weak and a few awful voice actors, but it's most beautiful and the voices that matter are fantastic. Expand
  3. EdB
    Feb 26, 2010
    10
    Absolutely Amazing. Truly never played anything like it. It isn't right to even call it simply a game, because it truly is so much more. Absolutely Amazing. Truly never played anything like it. It isn't right to even call it simply a game, because it truly is so much more. It is an interactive masterpiece. A type of visual storytelling never seen before. It is an experience that defines why gaming should be accepted as a form of art. Brilliant. Do not listen to any of the Xbots who are jealous of this games success. Pathetic Fanboys like that are not even real gamers. Real Games are open to ALL games on ALL systems without any Bias. Fake Gamers (Fanboys) purposely limit themselves because of a juvenile and pathetic bias towards the competition. They willingly refuse to experience games, not because they aren't good, but because of some blind loyalty. How is it fair to call both of these groups "Gamers" when only one is willing to experience games to the fullest? Fanboys have no business playing games. Expand
  4. VoltageXxV
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    A true experience of a game. Storyline is a bit transparent, but that's okay given it's NOT like other games. Anybody not A true experience of a game. Storyline is a bit transparent, but that's okay given it's NOT like other games. Anybody not understanding the importance of this type of game in the landscape has forgotten that video games are supposed to be on the forefront of telling stories. They go where movies will never be able to. First game in awhile that actually had me thinking, massive props for that. Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    I don't normally like this kind of game but it just goes to show that interactive story telling can work when it's done properly. It's a greatI don't normally like this kind of game but it just goes to show that interactive story telling can work when it's done properly. It's a great looking game too. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To make it clear, Heavy Rain is more a incredible thrilling movie than a videogame. It has a lot of very intense scenes and quiet a few choices to change the story line. The only downside for me is, that after the first playthrough it loses a bit of his "magic" and it took my several months to play it again - but still I play it since release. Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2017
    0
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control in your
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control in your game.
    2) You like bad movies that make no sense with ridiculous plot holes. Maybe Troll 2 is a movie you'd love.
    3) Your mental development was stunted in some way before birth or sometime after. In which case, I'm sorry. I just would've thought that professional publications would hire more capable people. Weird. VERY weird.

    EDIT: To all the people that downvoted this review. You're telling me the gameplay is good? You're telling me the story is interesting? No plot holes? I hope you all get hit by a bus.
    Expand

See all 420 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews

    Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 23, 2010
    The year's most talked-about Playstation 3 title is part game, part interactive fiction. We go deeper inside the reviews to find out what all the buzz is about.