Heavy Rain PlayStation 3

Heavy Rain Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2775 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as theHow Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as the Origami Killer - named after his macabre calling card of leaving behind folded paper shapes at crime scenes. Four characters, each following their own leads and with their own motives, must take part in a desperate attempt to prevent the killer from claiming a new victim. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  2. Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction...This may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will.
  3. The presentation for Heavy Rain is nearly flawless with some stunning mo-cap work, not only for overall character movement and subtle character traits and idle animations, but also in the detailed facial capture and lip-synch.
  4. The excitement and emotion the experience playing Heavy Rain conveys is nothing short of remarkable making it a game that you definitely should pick up for your PS3.
  5. Quantic Dream again brings its unique vision of videogames with Heavy Rain, its latest gem. Maybe it’s not a perfect game, but if you want a deep and engaging history and believable and touching characters this is your game. It’s an incredibly original videogame.
  6. In spite of the negative aspects of the game, I highly recommend the interesting and unique experience that is Heavy Rain.
  7. The controls and interaction with the game world are suspect at best and downright awful at worst. And even looking past that I still come away disappointed. The script is weak, the characters' interactions/motivations are often left unexplained, and the voice acting is mediocre in some places and bad in others. The only thing Heavy Rain really has going for it is the composition of some of the individual scenes, and that's not nearly enough to carry the whole game on its own. So in the end we don't have much of anything except the spectre of what might have been.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 424
  1. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Literally my favorite game of all time. Plays like an intense interactive movie. Definitely challenging, but not frustratingly so. Story isLiterally my favorite game of all time. Plays like an intense interactive movie. Definitely challenging, but not frustratingly so. Story is incredible. Some of the graphics are weak and a few awful voice actors, but it's most beautiful and the voices that matter are fantastic. Expand
  3. SamH.
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain was a surprise to me. I loved Indigo Prophecy and so I was hyped up for Heavy Rain. It completely hit my expectations and Heavy Rain was a surprise to me. I loved Indigo Prophecy and so I was hyped up for Heavy Rain. It completely hit my expectations and sometimes surpassed them. Heavy Rain fixed a lot of problems that its predecessor had. First of all the story doesn't just drop off half way through, it actually keeps getting better and better. There was probably one or two plot holes but nothing major. The graphics are excellent and the music is amazing. Though on a few rare occasions (happens maybe 5 times for 1 second out of 10 hours of gameplay) the sound would drop out but instantly come back. At the ending of the game, which can be completely different from another ending, I found myself standing up and didn't realize it until the credits, that was definitely a first. Expand
  4. DylanR
    Feb 25, 2010
    9
    When I see all these '0's I'm actually ashamed. Ashamed that these people are involved in the same gaming community as When I see all these '0's I'm actually ashamed. Ashamed that these people are involved in the same gaming community as me..albeit with their heads stuck up their butts. But none the less this game deserves at least a 9; the Metacritic score does do it justice. The main thing you need to keep in mind when approaching this type of game is maturity. The story is intriguing and even more so are the characters...love the P.I. btw. Sure the tone on the voice acting can seem a little out of place sometimes but what do you expect from some low payed 'extra' sitting in a room with cameras surrounding them while they read from a script. Though much of the voice acting is spot on (see Scott Shelby) And as for the presentation, it can be choppy at times but for a game this ambitious it is easily permissible. Let me leave it at this...If you like Adventure games, then you should absolutely check this game out. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    Point 'n Clicks for the 21st Century. I grew up on Monkey Island, Maniac Mansion, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis and later, GrimPoint 'n Clicks for the 21st Century. I grew up on Monkey Island, Maniac Mansion, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis and later, Grim Fandango. Heavy Rain is a welcome burst of energy into the story driven game genre. It's a dark and adult thriller full of decisions and consequences. You spend the whole time trying to guess who is the Origami Killer (as you progress I becomes, I thought, very obvious) however your never really know until the game wants you to. It still looks awesome, it's got some very bizarre controls and camera angles but all in all the game is a stunner. It makes good and logical use of QTEs, exploration and investigation and I love that when one of your characters dies they're gone for good... Warrants multiple, multiple playthroughs due to all the decisions and consequenses as well as the fact that it is very deep adventure title. 9/10 Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To make it clear, Heavy Rain is more a incredible thrilling movie than a videogame. It has a lot of very intense scenes and quiet a few choices to change the story line. The only downside for me is, that after the first playthrough it loses a bit of his "magic" and it took my several months to play it again - but still I play it since release. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2016
    0
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control is your
    This game is objectively bad. If you like this game you:
    1) like bad play control or you just don't care about good play control is your game.
    2) You like bad movies that make no sense with ridiculous plot holes. Maybe Troll 2 is a movie you'd love.
    3) Your mental development was stunted in some way before birth or sometime after. In which case, I'm sorry. I just would've thought that professional publications would hire more capable people. Weird. VERY weird.
    Expand

See all 424 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews

    Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 23, 2010
    The year's most talked-about Playstation 3 title is part game, part interactive fiction. We go deeper inside the reviews to find out what all the buzz is about.