Heavy Rain PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2555 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as theHow Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as the Origami Killer - named after his macabre calling card of leaving behind folded paper shapes at crime scenes. Four characters, each following their own leads and with their own motives, must take part in a desperate attempt to prevent the killer from claiming a new victim. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  2. Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction...This may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will.
  3. The presentation for Heavy Rain is nearly flawless with some stunning mo-cap work, not only for overall character movement and subtle character traits and idle animations, but also in the detailed facial capture and lip-synch.
  4. The excitement and emotion the experience playing Heavy Rain conveys is nothing short of remarkable making it a game that you definitely should pick up for your PS3.
  5. Quantic Dream again brings its unique vision of videogames with Heavy Rain, its latest gem. Maybe it’s not a perfect game, but if you want a deep and engaging history and believable and touching characters this is your game. It’s an incredibly original videogame.
  6. In spite of the negative aspects of the game, I highly recommend the interesting and unique experience that is Heavy Rain.
  7. The controls and interaction with the game world are suspect at best and downright awful at worst. And even looking past that I still come away disappointed. The script is weak, the characters' interactions/motivations are often left unexplained, and the voice acting is mediocre in some places and bad in others. The only thing Heavy Rain really has going for it is the composition of some of the individual scenes, and that's not nearly enough to carry the whole game on its own. So in the end we don't have much of anything except the spectre of what might have been.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 408
  1. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I think giving games perfect 10's is generally pretty gimpy, but Heavy Rain is just the bee's knees. It deserves to be playing in theatres,I think giving games perfect 10's is generally pretty gimpy, but Heavy Rain is just the bee's knees. It deserves to be playing in theatres, not just on your LED HDTV's... though if it were made into a movie it probably wouldn't be as good as Heavy Rain the video game. Whatever, I'm getting distracted by my own illiteracy - the point is, oh my god, Heavy Rain... it's super-duper. Granted, I should probably ding it by one point for the questionable "American" accents, but if that's the only thing I can find wrong about a game, that's pretty damn good. The story is awesome, and is even still fun to play if you know "whodunnit" though it's best revealed in-game. Ethan is pretty much the sexsiest guy in a video game, and Madison isn't too bad either (you get to see both of their butts! Yay!) so there's even something for late-night enjoyment. If you own a PS3 and haven't yet given yourself a day or two to experience Heavy Rain, well, that's just very sad. It's AWESOME. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2015
    10
    best storyline
    awesome
    best storyline
    awesome graphicshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    Expand
  4. DylanR
    Feb 25, 2010
    9
    When I see all these '0's I'm actually ashamed. Ashamed that these people are involved in the same gaming community as When I see all these '0's I'm actually ashamed. Ashamed that these people are involved in the same gaming community as me..albeit with their heads stuck up their butts. But none the less this game deserves at least a 9; the Metacritic score does do it justice. The main thing you need to keep in mind when approaching this type of game is maturity. The story is intriguing and even more so are the characters...love the P.I. btw. Sure the tone on the voice acting can seem a little out of place sometimes but what do you expect from some low payed 'extra' sitting in a room with cameras surrounding them while they read from a script. Though much of the voice acting is spot on (see Scott Shelby) And as for the presentation, it can be choppy at times but for a game this ambitious it is easily permissible. Let me leave it at this...If you like Adventure games, then you should absolutely check this game out. Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    I don't normally like this kind of game but it just goes to show that interactive story telling can work when it's done properly. It's a greatI don't normally like this kind of game but it just goes to show that interactive story telling can work when it's done properly. It's a great looking game too. Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    It would be very easy not to 'get' Heavy Rain as it's the sort of game people call 'an experience' and you immediately stop listening to them.It would be very easy not to 'get' Heavy Rain as it's the sort of game people call 'an experience' and you immediately stop listening to them. I have finished with the quotes now. Heavy Rain however shows how to do one thing better than any other game. Story. The slow start seems un-forgivable but the game soon puts you on a route where the wrong choice can be just as damaging as failure, and the unique part is that you actually care. Expand
  7. ChrisC
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & story is what matters! And the gameplay is just a series of quick time events, the prologue is incredibly dull & the story doesn't start getting interesting until near the middle & overall this game is just boring. I mean Heavy Rain tries its hardest to be a video game & movie at the same time & ends up failing miserably! Now I know everyone is going to claim I'm a 360 fanboy, but I'm not! I'm just someone who is voicing his opinion on this overrated & dull game! Expand

See all 408 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews

    Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 23, 2010
    The year's most talked-about Playstation 3 title is part game, part interactive fiction. We go deeper inside the reviews to find out what all the buzz is about.