Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hell Yeah! is a crazy action-adventure platformer. In Hell. You are Ash, a devil rabbit and the prince of Hell. When some jerk finds it funny to post your secret intimate photos all over the Hell-ternet, you get VERY angry. Time to find him and destroy him once and for all. While you’re at it, why not use this incredible journey to kill everybody else? It’s you against all Hell. It’s Hell Yeah! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    85
    Hell Yeah is an enjoyable 2D sidescroller that waxes nostalgic about classic games just as much as it establishes its own identity as a "how-to" guide to murdering monsters in ridiculous ways.
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    83
    I love Arkedo: For five years they keep doing what they love most – and that is goofy arcade games, in this case a ludicrous 2D-platformer with a high amount of cartoony violence.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    A fun game that will keep you playing for a long time - if you don't mind the sometimes clumsy controls though.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    70
    Platforming fans are unlikely to find anything revolutionary here, but it goes about its business with a welcome sense of brio. Hell Yeah! might want to send you to Hell, but at least it intends to do it while putting a smile on your face.
  5. Great design and syrupy animation. Busy without being chaotic, and humourous too. [December 2012, p81]
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    60
    Completely crazy, Hell Yeah! really is a game by its studio, Arkedo, hilarious and visually magnificent, unique in concept and spirit, and blessed by a wonderful soundtrack. But if the eye for detail clearly marks every inch of its game world, the rigid gameplay and the overall redundancy of its proposal really undermine this indie title.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    40
    An emphasis on style over substance defines Hell Yeah: Wrath of the Dead Rabbit, though unfortunately even the stylish aspects have serious problems.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome! Each level is a new discover in the twisted brain of Arkedo's developers. The 100 enemies are so nice and crazy! The ending of each monsters are so great and funny! Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    What I would consider an over looked gem of the downloadable game market hell yeah is a very fun platformer which is very unique not so much in the sense of gameplay but specific aspects such as graphics, art style, presentation, characters, dialogue and more. Overall hell yeah is a fairly simple charming 2D platformer that never quite got the attention it deserved in my opinion the price may make some people sceptical and also the fact of next to no reply value and limited amount of collectables besides from gems (which act as currency) that allow you to buy things such as new guns, hats, new designs for your saw jet pack and upgrades for your weapons which may sound like a lot but you will most likely get everything in your first playthrough that being said however it is satisfying to collect said gems knowing that you are constantly working towards achieving something with every gem collected also with the game taking around 5-6 hours on average first playthrough its not a bad deal for the price your paying.

    What can be said about the story I mean its a platformer so as you've probably guessed the story isn't too in depth which is okay because this game like many platfomers shouldn't be played for a fantastic story but rather the experience and let me tell you this game will keep a lasting impression on you with some of its bizarre humour and its beautiful unique art style. Commenting on what story is there it is silly but will at least make you chuckle despite if your a teen or a grown man and considering this game focuses a lot on comedy the story sets out and achieves what it was aiming for.

    One thing i should mention before carrying on further is that hell yeah is not a kiddy platformer although very colourful the humour is definitely targeted towards teens and adults although the dialogue isn't laugh out loud funny there are several lines that will put a grin on your face or make you chuckle but i would have to say that the funniest moments of the game do not come from the dialogue but from some of the sequences which are so bizarre and silly that they will make you laugh just from thinking what the hell remember what I said earlier about the humour keeping a lasting impression on you? well these sequences are the highlight of that statement.

    The music is half and half there are several songs in the game that fit the mood and are quite memorable but then there are the songs that although fit the mood can be pretty forgetful. One thing that impressed me about the music is the variety there a several different types of music such as techno, rock and more over all the music is pretty good and meets it criteria.

    The level design is very unique and you will never see two levels that look anything alike some levels have minor gimmicks that some may not like but it does change up the gameplay a bit and the majority of the game is the platforming that you will be used too by time you get to these points.

    I wanted to save the most criticized aspect of this game for last which are the controls often they are said to be the make or break deal for people interested in this game and for the most part people have said that they are quite awkward and are what stop this game from rising above a lot of the mediocre downloadable games out there. I have personally never had any problems with the controls what so ever although I have only played the ps3 version of hell yeah and can not comment how the controls are on the xbox 360 and pc versions I can comfortably say that the controls are barely an issue on the ps3 version in my option i mean the only slight difficulty iv had with the controls are when first getting the saw jet pack but after experimenting around with the controls for about two minutes after obtaining the item and seeing how the physics work it didn't become a problem to me at all and I was able to see the game from start to finish with no control difficulties.

    Overall hell yeah is a game that I am thankful exists and all though not perfect and there being many better downloadable games out there for the same price if not cheaper I do not regret downloading it and would happily beg for a sequel. If you were a kid growing up in the 90's and you were a big gamer at the time you most likely remember the era of mascots and that's what's so amazing about hell yeah it brings some of that mascot nostalgia back which in the video game world now a days is a very VERY rare thing Overall would a recommend this game?.... HELL YEAH .
    Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    8
    Strangely addictive platform puzzler. With Halloween just around the corner, the folks at the PSN have served up their annual helping of blood curdling gruesomeness in the form of Hell Yeah! Wrath of the Dead Rabbit.

    It is a platformer by legends of the genre Sega and it done with their usual flair and confidence. The gameplay is addictive and enjoyable and there is enough variation and surprises that you will feel inclined to 'another 5 minutes' quite often.

    The game is stylish and very easy on the eye the boss battles are well done and overall the game is a nice easy distraction after a session on FIFA 13 or a heavy RPG.

    Well worth a look.
    Expand