Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 456 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wear the uniform of the deadliest assassin, you have the ability to blend into your environment, kill with nothing but your bare hands and create a weapon from almost anything a la McGuyver. You are Agent 47, the world's most lethal assassin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    96
    An excellent game with an almost Grindhouse film aesthetic to it.
  2. Hitman: Absolution absolutely nails the modern gaming trope of presenting oodles of gameplay choice. It would be an insult to polarise Absolution into 'stealth' or 'action', where the real beauty of the game is found in the fertile grey area in between. [December 2012, p66]
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    90
    Stealth is my genre, and from sneaky signature kills to spectacularly horrifying 'accidents', nobody does it quite like Agent 47.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In essence Hitman: Absolution is still the stealthy murderous game you know. As usual there are dozens of ways to take out your targets, lots of disguises to wear and the environment can be scaled and used the way you want to. It's also as hard as you remember it, but doesn't linger in the past mostly due to an increased focus on action and it being easier to play and. Graphically the game looks wonderfully dark, the interface has been completely redone and Agent 47 is easier to control than ever. The artificial intelligence leaves something to be desired, but aside from that Absolution is a fine Hitman-game.
  5. 80
    Hitman: Absolution is a good game, and a proposal that will satisfy players who prefer a good dose of strategy and observation, but it has some flaws in terms of artificial intelligence.
  6. 80
    It's not perfectly executed, but it comes damn close.
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    30
    Hitman Absolution is a mistake. Even if in your mind the plot loops all the way past 'so bad it's bad' and back to 'so bad it's good' again, Hitman Absolution has more bugs than a service station meat pie and less direction than a headless chicken. A genuinely fun mode like Contracts can't save that. IO Interactive needs to restart from the Blood Money checkpoint and try again - they screwed up this run spectacularly.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 123
  2. Negative: 28 out of 123
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    PERFECT GAME. The best Hitman ever. Nice story, no bugs, nothing wrong with this game. HITMAN 4 EVER! I think it is the best game of the year,PERFECT GAME. The best Hitman ever. Nice story, no bugs, nothing wrong with this game. HITMAN 4 EVER! I think it is the best game of the year, but we have to wait to far cry 3. But until now, hitman is the best. Collapse
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    THE GAME IS GOOD IN ALL ASPECTS ESPECIALLY THE KILLING THE AI AND ALSO THE GRAPHICS ARE EXCELLENT THE ONLY CON OF THE GAME IS THE STORY CUZTHE GAME IS GOOD IN ALL ASPECTS ESPECIALLY THE KILLING THE AI AND ALSO THE GRAPHICS ARE EXCELLENT THE ONLY CON OF THE GAME IS THE STORY CUZ THE STORY IS SHORT OR IS NOT THAT INTERESTING NOT THE BEST HITMAN GAME EVER BUT IF YOU LOVE STEALTH YOU'LL LOVE IT THIS GAME IS A 9.5 FOR ME SINCE THERE IS NO 9.5 IN METACRITIC I GIVE IT A 10!!! -----akashpunkfanno1 Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Absolutely superb. No I'm not someone who has been sat around waiting for the next hitman game, no I'm not prone to giving out TENS , check myAbsolutely superb. No I'm not someone who has been sat around waiting for the next hitman game, no I'm not prone to giving out TENS , check my reviews. However H:A is, in what it tries to do, flawless. It is simultaneously beautiful, engaging, enthralling, immersive, disturbing, funny, cheeky and bloody. It thrives on allowing the player freedom and creativity. In this world of ultra-hype and ultra-letdown ( hello cod, ac, etc) this is a refreshing and welcome reminder of what a great game can be. This may slip under the paid-for reviews but don't let it slip under yours- patience or carnage- you decide. I'm serious this might be £35 you actually don't regret. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    Amazing, Immersive, Crazy game! This was my first Hitman game ever played, and I can honestly say it was great.

    The graphics are
    Amazing, Immersive, Crazy game! This was my first Hitman game ever played, and I can honestly say it was great.

    The graphics are INTENSE!!!! Amazing lighting, it will blow you away, so realistic!!!!

    The game play is pretty hard, but if you are a gamer, you can handle it, I actually played it on "Normal" the 2nd setting, I usually play games on hard but this one was too much :D

    Very fun, I'm not one for sneaking around games, so most of the time in this game I shot it out with them. Sometimes you have to sneak, but the levels and enviroment provide multiple avenues for this...

    Very solid game, and for a linear story based epic, it was fairly long, did not feel short in the least!!!
    Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    Hitman Absolution is great in the beginning... but the later missions don't capture the feel and excitement of Hitman at all! However this isHitman Absolution is great in the beginning... but the later missions don't capture the feel and excitement of Hitman at all! However this is still a good fun game and the multiplayer is definitely something new, interesting and cool! Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    5
    Pros: 1) its a stealth game, they are rare nowadays 2) the campaign have cool parts such as the terminus hotel and the attack of the saints 3)Pros: 1) its a stealth game, they are rare nowadays 2) the campaign have cool parts such as the terminus hotel and the attack of the saints 3) the contacts mode might give some hours of gameplay too.
    Cons: 1) the disguise system is terrible, cops shouldn't even suspect whether you are a cop or not when you are dressed as one 2) the contracts mode could have been 1000 times better if you were able to choose a loadout before going to assassinate your target and if there were more maps than the linear ones of campaing 3) the NPCs aways do the exact same thing when you replay a level, their AI should have been unpredictable 4) the story sucks and have no creativity, I skipped 90% of the cutscenes after the first ones, tell me if I missed something 5) this game was mostly designed for an average gamer, not for the smart audience. This is my opinion, Hitman Absolution is absolutely not worth buying.
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    This game got stupiest AI i ever seen in modern games. Even trash COD got more intelligent targets to kill Story bored. Plz don't buy this trash.

See all 123 User Reviews