Hitman: Absolution PlayStation 3

Hitman: Absolution Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 524 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wear the uniform of the deadliest assassin, you have the ability to blend into your environment, kill with nothing but your bare hands and create a weapon from almost anything a la McGuyver. You are Agent 47, the world's most lethal assassin.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Hitman: Absolution Sniper Challenge Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    96
    An excellent game with an almost Grindhouse film aesthetic to it.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 6, 2012
    90
    Hitman: Absolution absolutely nails the modern gaming trope of presenting oodles of gameplay choice. It would be an insult to polarise Absolution into 'stealth' or 'action', where the real beauty of the game is found in the fertile grey area in between. [December 2012, p66]
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    90
    Stealth is my genre, and from sneaky signature kills to spectacularly horrifying 'accidents', nobody does it quite like Agent 47.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In essence Hitman: Absolution is still the stealthy murderous game you know. As usual there are dozens of ways to take out your targets, lots of disguises to wear and the environment can be scaled and used the way you want to. It's also as hard as you remember it, but doesn't linger in the past mostly due to an increased focus on action and it being easier to play and. Graphically the game looks wonderfully dark, the interface has been completely redone and Agent 47 is easier to control than ever. The artificial intelligence leaves something to be desired, but aside from that Absolution is a fine Hitman-game.
  5. 80
    Hitman: Absolution is a good game, and a proposal that will satisfy players who prefer a good dose of strategy and observation, but it has some flaws in terms of artificial intelligence.
  6. 80
    It's not perfectly executed, but it comes damn close.
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    30
    Hitman Absolution is a mistake. Even if in your mind the plot loops all the way past 'so bad it's bad' and back to 'so bad it's good' again, Hitman Absolution has more bugs than a service station meat pie and less direction than a headless chicken. A genuinely fun mode like Contracts can't save that. IO Interactive needs to restart from the Blood Money checkpoint and try again - they screwed up this run spectacularly.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 127
  2. Negative: 27 out of 127
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    PERFECT GAME. The best Hitman ever. Nice story, no bugs, nothing wrong with this game. HITMAN 4 EVER! I think it is the best game of the year,PERFECT GAME. The best Hitman ever. Nice story, no bugs, nothing wrong with this game. HITMAN 4 EVER! I think it is the best game of the year, but we have to wait to far cry 3. But until now, hitman is the best. Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I personally loved this game. And mind you that this is coming from a hitman fan since Contracts. The AI for me was pretty realistic, thereI personally loved this game. And mind you that this is coming from a hitman fan since Contracts. The AI for me was pretty realistic, there were maybe 1 or 2 moments where I was really wondering how the computer detected me but overall I liked the levels a lot. Your play style greatly influences the amount of points you recieve. And of course the silent assassin gets you the most. Overall, fantastic game. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Absolutely superb. No I'm not someone who has been sat around waiting for the next hitman game, no I'm not prone to giving out TENS , check myAbsolutely superb. No I'm not someone who has been sat around waiting for the next hitman game, no I'm not prone to giving out TENS , check my reviews. However H:A is, in what it tries to do, flawless. It is simultaneously beautiful, engaging, enthralling, immersive, disturbing, funny, cheeky and bloody. It thrives on allowing the player freedom and creativity. In this world of ultra-hype and ultra-letdown ( hello cod, ac, etc) this is a refreshing and welcome reminder of what a great game can be. This may slip under the paid-for reviews but don't let it slip under yours- patience or carnage- you decide. I'm serious this might be £35 you actually don't regret. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2014
    8
    I've always been a big fan of the Hitman games ever since playing the original on PC. I really liked what they did with Absolution. It isI've always been a big fan of the Hitman games ever since playing the original on PC. I really liked what they did with Absolution. It is somewhat of a departure from the formula in Blood Money but I think a lot of the new features are done really well. My only complaint would be that the mission structure doesnt really suit the storyline. Its more action this time instead of the stealth the game is known for. Some of the missions are brilliant and yet others fall flat and force you to engage in action sequences. Apart from that, its an excellent game. Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    7
    This game was pretty good. I liked how there were so many ways too kill your target. Best Hitman of the series for sure. I strongly recommendThis game was pretty good. I liked how there were so many ways too kill your target. Best Hitman of the series for sure. I strongly recommend it to anyone. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2012
    5
    wow just wow.
    universally loved and critically acclaimed Blood money evolved into awesome sandbox set pieces in which for you to use your
    wow just wow.
    universally loved and critically acclaimed Blood money evolved into awesome sandbox set pieces in which for you to use your skills, tools, stealth, disguises, environment and adapting to make your kill/s and/or accidents.
    Absolution on the other hand has multiple sub-levels where you go from A to B..holding your hand 'you must take this lift'. 'you must get caught here and experience this scripted cutscene'. Most of the sub-levels are linear and when you finally get to kill someone the level is some simple 4 room area, with minimal creativity and overly obvious ways to kill- so it's not even rewarding.

    Sometimes between loading screens my clothes and weapons got reset? what is that all about?

    To cover up this small sub-level mostly linear piece of rubbish they made a ridiculous instinct system which you need to make you disguise work. Which could work. But it runs out in seconds and won't replenish unless you do something the game wants. So you walk past one guard but come across another 10 minutes later and then you apparently don't have enough power to tilt your head away. Furthermore, your disguise can be broken from 20 meters away from the back of your head, in poor lighting and/or in a crowd in about 3 seconds. You can't get immersed in this because it just doesn't make sense. This is done to make this small game longer.

    The story is atrocious. silly kayne and lynch over the top idiot characters that jump up and down and shout 'yeehahh!'& talk about their genitals because that passes as clever dark humour nowadays.

    The irony of a hitman being accused of a murder he did not commit was lost on most people.

    The graphics, the detail, the lighting, the 'lots of people' mechanics of the glacier engine look amazing. But they had to make the levels smaller to accommodate and it shows.

    The AI is great and reacts to you. It could be the best AI I have experienced but the tweaking of the instinct system ruined it.

    I did like the many random tools you can use as weapons, hammers, screw drivers, vases etc

    Why is there a constant radar on the screen. I am not going to bash FPS players. I dabble in them too. We can adapt to no radar, especially when you have an optional see everyone through walls system. You can't even turn the radar off. I had to put a piece of paper on the bottom left of my TV to cover it to try to help with my immersion. Quick time events?! Now I do not like Assassins Creed (though I can appreciate why it is appealing to others) but my brother does. I was making fun of a few QTE features in the latest instalment just weeks ago...then this happens.
    You play a genetically engineered assassin, you can survive being shot..but a policeman can beat you up? MGS has a simple grab button, sneak or infront. I don't like win buttons but it makes sense..if a super soldier can grab them before they call out then that should be it. Not punch, block reversal, kick, judo move.

    You can somehow hide a sniper rifle, assault rifle or spas inside your suit??!?!!?

    I don't care about points. How much stuff do we need on the screen, an annoying live points counter I can't even turn off.

    This game is an insult to blood money
    IO interactive are not the developer they used to be, Hitman is now a template for them to pursue their kayne and lynch fantasies
    I will give it a 5 as if it was not a hitman game, one might be able to appreciate the graphics and the clever AI that respond to everything ''omg I found a pool of blood!''
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    This game got stupiest AI i ever seen in modern games. Even trash COD got more intelligent targets to kill Story bored. Plz don't buy this trash.

See all 127 User Reviews