Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 410 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wear the uniform of the deadliest assassin, you have the ability to blend into your environment, kill with nothing but your bare hands and create a weapon from almost anything a la McGuyver. You are Agent 47, the world's most lethal assassin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    96
    An excellent game with an almost Grindhouse film aesthetic to it.
  2. Hitman: Absolution absolutely nails the modern gaming trope of presenting oodles of gameplay choice. It would be an insult to polarise Absolution into 'stealth' or 'action', where the real beauty of the game is found in the fertile grey area in between. [December 2012, p66]
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    90
    Stealth is my genre, and from sneaky signature kills to spectacularly horrifying 'accidents', nobody does it quite like Agent 47.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In essence Hitman: Absolution is still the stealthy murderous game you know. As usual there are dozens of ways to take out your targets, lots of disguises to wear and the environment can be scaled and used the way you want to. It's also as hard as you remember it, but doesn't linger in the past mostly due to an increased focus on action and it being easier to play and. Graphically the game looks wonderfully dark, the interface has been completely redone and Agent 47 is easier to control than ever. The artificial intelligence leaves something to be desired, but aside from that Absolution is a fine Hitman-game.
  5. 80
    Hitman: Absolution is a good game, and a proposal that will satisfy players who prefer a good dose of strategy and observation, but it has some flaws in terms of artificial intelligence.
  6. 80
    It's not perfectly executed, but it comes damn close.
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    30
    Hitman Absolution is a mistake. Even if in your mind the plot loops all the way past 'so bad it's bad' and back to 'so bad it's good' again, Hitman Absolution has more bugs than a service station meat pie and less direction than a headless chicken. A genuinely fun mode like Contracts can't save that. IO Interactive needs to restart from the Blood Money checkpoint and try again - they screwed up this run spectacularly.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 115
  2. Negative: 26 out of 115
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    PERFECT GAME. The best Hitman ever. Nice story, no bugs, nothing wrong with this game. HITMAN 4 EVER! I think it is the best game of the year, but we have to wait to far cry 3. But until now, hitman is the best. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This truly is an amazing game that deserves a GOTY award, Though it may not be exactly like game prior it's position in the series, it's not necessarily a bad thing. For instance Graphics, Story, and Ease of control are major enhancements that I couldn't go back to with blood money.

    Though I do miss weapon attachments. (I do understand why their gone)
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Absolutely superb. No I'm not someone who has been sat around waiting for the next hitman game, no I'm not prone to giving out TENS , check my reviews. However H:A is, in what it tries to do, flawless. It is simultaneously beautiful, engaging, enthralling, immersive, disturbing, funny, cheeky and bloody. It thrives on allowing the player freedom and creativity. In this world of ultra-hype and ultra-letdown ( hello cod, ac, etc) this is a refreshing and welcome reminder of what a great game can be. This may slip under the paid-for reviews but don't let it slip under yours- patience or carnage- you decide. I'm serious this might be £35 you actually don't regret. Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    8
    Whoever gives this game less than a 7 or 8 has clearly no skills in stealth gaming. I've seen a lot of users complain about not being able to play this game stealthy and getting spotted every time. Well, guess what? You simply don't know how to play it and don't understand it's mechanics. Of course it's not a flawless game. There are minor bugs/glitches here and there and the AI doesn't always act smart, but all in all this is a great game with a pretty good storyline and beautiful graphics. You may have more of the sandbox feel in Blood Money, but that doesn't take away from the fun Hitman: Absolution brings to the table. If you like some challenging stealth game-play or action packed shootouts, this game is for you! Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    Hitman Absolution is great in the beginning... but the later missions don't capture the feel and excitement of Hitman at all! However this is still a good fun game and the multiplayer is definitely something new, interesting and cool! Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2013
    5
    I am a Hitman purist. I have played all the previous titles many times over. They are fantastic games, flawed for sure, but for the patient, thoughtful, creative, VIOLENT gamer, there is no better series out there. Hitman: Absolution manages to fix a big handful of those flaws, such as the addition of melee combat, a brilliant scoring system, and a user generated contract mode that will seem pointless for casual players and thrilling for purists such as myself. Unfortunately, IO Games got more wrong than right this time around. In fact, they seem to have lost touch with what made Hitman so great in the first place. What was that fine quality we loved in the previous titles? Well crafted, non linear levels that offered lots of routes to eliminating your target(s); a feeling of total supreme power over the environment, which could come crashing down with one false move; freedom to choose your equipment and approach before ever setting foot in the world; and a story that is subtle yet immersive, interesting but totally unnecessary and easy to skip over if you choose. This is where IO has failed. While there are a spare handful of levels that live up to the series' legacy, much of the game is just hiding for the sake of hiding, with no targets to eliminate and levels that feel more like a long hallway than a sandbox. A long, detailed approach to your target is one thing, but once you've been playing for a couple hours and realized you've just been hiding from the police, the game begins to feel like a chore. The feeling of power is gone. The joy of exploring your environment is replaced by the desire to finish the bad levels to see if IO included any good ones. There are some 20 levels in the game, with perhaps 1/3 of them being enjoyable, 1/3 forgettable, and 1/3 tedious. Gone is the option to choose your own equipment, and the alternate "Contracts" mode allows you to choose from a very spare list of guns, and then only ONE. IO's biggest, saddest, most head shaking/face-palming move in Absolution is the story. Instead of focusing on making really excellent levels and gameplay, IO seems to have focused on making Absolution play like a movie, in the vein of Max Payne 3 (which didn't suit that title, either) or Grand Theft Auto 4 (which only worked in that title because the gameplay has never been a strong suit for the series). Complete with opening credits, B-list voice actors, long and frequent cut scenes, unlikeable and unconvincing characters, and a ridiculous and pointless plot, Hitman strives for Hollywood greatness at the expense of its gaming roots, and fails again. So many great details are missing, such as the safehouse/garden shed, which is now just a menu. Or the sniper case. Or the map. Or doors that can be closed. Keyholes. In many cases, just having a target! I'm glad IO just released the HD Hitman Collection, as I have been yearning for it on PS3 for years. It should keep me entertained long after I get bored with Absolution, probably in another week or two, and before the probably very LONG wait for Hitman 6. I hope IO learns from their mistakes on this title and goes back to what made the series great in the first place. Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    This game got stupiest AI i ever seen in modern games. Even trash COD got more intelligent targets to kill Story bored. Plz don't buy this trash.

See all 115 User Reviews