Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 17, 2011
    82
    It's not the kind of game that will provide you with entertainment for countless hours on end, but it's a nice little diversion now and then … and how many games let you be the dragon anyway?
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    82
    What remains is a good, stable, rewarding strategy experience.
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    80
    You also have the delightful option of capturing squealing princesses and holding them to ransom (also present in a dedicated princess ransoming mode), while also roasting any daring thieves that try to make off with your gold. Cheek.
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    Hoard is a refreshing little multiplayer game that lets you be the bad guy for a change. Designed for short matches against other players it's a somewhat limited experience, but burninating the countryside is definitely a lot of fun.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    But like Narbacular Drop, Hoard's gameplay shines beyond its meager trappings. If anyone ever polishes this game to a Portal-like hue, there won't be enough cake jokes in the world.
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    77
    It's hard to be the bad guy: The difficulty's pretty high, and you're learning constantly throughout your first hours playing Hoard. But after that welcome, Hoard becomes a strategy gem for every now and then. In multiplayer, however, it's a hit.
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    Hoard is a simple but addictive multiplayer strategy experience that's unfortunately singed by a few design choices.
  8. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    Behind the premise, though, the game hides a surprising layer of complexity and strategy. The tile-based settings invoke the spirit of tabletop gaming, which carries through excellently to its tactics-focused play.
  9. A decent game. [Spring 2011, p.113]
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    This is kind of a reverse tower-defense game. The board becomes stronger as you race to strengthen your powers. It's fun to play the fire-breathing dragon, killing knights and giants. This game can be really frustrating at times, but only because it's so addictive. It would be a perfect Vita game, so let's hope for Hoard 2. Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    I love this game! The theme is pulled off very well. I feel like I'm looking down at a tabletop game that has come to life... and I'm controlling my own little dragon! How cool is that, right? Seriously. It's just too fun. Hoard struck me as a little simple when I first gave it a whirl, but I quickly realized that it's quite the strategy game! So many choices to make! Hoard has a nice selection of gameplay modes. It can be complex for veteran strategists, or simple for someone who just wants to have fun setting thi Full Review »