Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 17, 2011
    82
    It's not the kind of game that will provide you with entertainment for countless hours on end, but it's a nice little diversion now and then … and how many games let you be the dragon anyway?
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    82
    What remains is a good, stable, rewarding strategy experience.
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    80
    You also have the delightful option of capturing squealing princesses and holding them to ransom (also present in a dedicated princess ransoming mode), while also roasting any daring thieves that try to make off with your gold. Cheek.
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    Hoard is a refreshing little multiplayer game that lets you be the bad guy for a change. Designed for short matches against other players it's a somewhat limited experience, but burninating the countryside is definitely a lot of fun.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    But like Narbacular Drop, Hoard's gameplay shines beyond its meager trappings. If anyone ever polishes this game to a Portal-like hue, there won't be enough cake jokes in the world.
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    77
    It's hard to be the bad guy: The difficulty's pretty high, and you're learning constantly throughout your first hours playing Hoard. But after that welcome, Hoard becomes a strategy gem for every now and then. In multiplayer, however, it's a hit.
  7. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    Hoard is a simple but addictive multiplayer strategy experience that's unfortunately singed by a few design choices.
  8. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    Behind the premise, though, the game hides a surprising layer of complexity and strategy. The tile-based settings invoke the spirit of tabletop gaming, which carries through excellently to its tactics-focused play.
  9. A decent game. [Spring 2011, p.113]
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    I love this game! The theme is pulled off very well. I feel like I'm looking down at a tabletop game that has come to life... and I'm controlling my own little dragon! How cool is that, right? Seriously. It's just too fun. Hoard struck me as a little simple when I first gave it a whirl, but I quickly realized that it's quite the strategy game! So many choices to make! Hoard has a nice selection of gameplay modes. It can be complex for veteran strategists, or simple for someone who just wants to have fun setting thi Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    This is kind of a reverse tower-defense game. The board becomes stronger as you race to strengthen your powers. It's fun to play the fire-breathing dragon, killing knights and giants. This game can be really frustrating at times, but only because it's so addictive. It would be a perfect Vita game, so let's hope for Hoard 2. Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2014
    7
    A fun multiplayer-centric title that puts you in controls of a gold-hoarding dragon. Burning your way through towns, farms, and castles in order to build up your treasure and ransom princesses can be a blast. There's a lot to strategize about and things just get crazier the longer a match goes on as more buildings and enemies show up in the world.

    It's a decent single-player experience, but the real fun is in the multiplayer. Like most titles where multiplayer is the emphasis, the single-player is basically just bot-matches. It's entertaining, but not satisfying for long. Playing with or against others is an absolute blast on competition and strategy. My personal favorite is the co-op mode where you and up to 3 other players work together to collect much gold as you can. The problem with the game is that there isn't really a large amount of people still playing online. You can still find matches, but there are going to be times where you can't find a game.

    It's a shame because this is one unique and fun multiplayer experience. There is still fun to be found here, and the multiplayer isn't dead yet, so go ahead and give this one a download. It can be addictive and a heck of a lot of fun. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. My total score is a 7.5/10.
    Full Review »