Hoard PlayStation 3

Hoard Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: HOARD™ is an arcade action-strategy score attack game in which you play a dragon intent on ransacking a medieval kingdom to gather a giant hoard of glittering gold. You must scare towns, kidnap princesses, burn knights, and even topple berserk giants. Let no obstacle prevent you from yourHOARD™ is an arcade action-strategy score attack game in which you play a dragon intent on ransacking a medieval kingdom to gather a giant hoard of glittering gold. You must scare towns, kidnap princesses, burn knights, and even topple berserk giants. Let no obstacle prevent you from your treasure hoarding! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    82
    What remains is a good, stable, rewarding strategy experience.
  2. Apr 17, 2011
    82
    It's not the kind of game that will provide you with entertainment for countless hours on end, but it's a nice little diversion now and then … and how many games let you be the dragon anyway?
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    But like Narbacular Drop, Hoard's gameplay shines beyond its meager trappings. If anyone ever polishes this game to a Portal-like hue, there won't be enough cake jokes in the world.
  4. Mar 4, 2011
    80
    You also have the delightful option of capturing squealing princesses and holding them to ransom (also present in a dedicated princess ransoming mode), while also roasting any daring thieves that try to make off with your gold. Cheek.
  5. Jun 29, 2011
    77
    It's hard to be the bad guy: The difficulty's pretty high, and you're learning constantly throughout your first hours playing Hoard. But after that welcome, Hoard becomes a strategy gem for every now and then. In multiplayer, however, it's a hit.
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    75
    Behind the premise, though, the game hides a surprising layer of complexity and strategy. The tile-based settings invoke the spirit of tabletop gaming, which carries through excellently to its tactics-focused play.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 22, 2011
    50
    A decent game. [Spring 2011, p.113]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    I love this game! The theme is pulled off very well. I feel like I'm looking down at a tabletop game that has come to life... and I'mI love this game! The theme is pulled off very well. I feel like I'm looking down at a tabletop game that has come to life... and I'm controlling my own little dragon! How cool is that, right? Seriously. It's just too fun. Hoard struck me as a little simple when I first gave it a whirl, but I quickly realized that it's quite the strategy game! So many choices to make! Hoard has a nice selection of gameplay modes. It can be complex for veteran strategists, or simple for someone who just wants to have fun setting thi Collapse
  2. Oct 3, 2014
    7
    A fun multiplayer-centric title that puts you in controls of a gold-hoarding dragon. Burning your way through towns, farms, and castles inA fun multiplayer-centric title that puts you in controls of a gold-hoarding dragon. Burning your way through towns, farms, and castles in order to build up your treasure and ransom princesses can be a blast. There's a lot to strategize about and things just get crazier the longer a match goes on as more buildings and enemies show up in the world.

    It's a decent single-player experience, but the real fun is in the multiplayer. Like most titles where multiplayer is the emphasis, the single-player is basically just bot-matches. It's entertaining, but not satisfying for long. Playing with or against others is an absolute blast on competition and strategy. My personal favorite is the co-op mode where you and up to 3 other players work together to collect much gold as you can. The problem with the game is that there isn't really a large amount of people still playing online. You can still find matches, but there are going to be times where you can't find a game.

    It's a shame because this is one unique and fun multiplayer experience. There is still fun to be found here, and the multiplayer isn't dead yet, so go ahead and give this one a download. It can be addictive and a heck of a lot of fun. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. My total score is a 7.5/10.
    Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    This is kind of a reverse tower-defense game. The board becomes stronger as you race to strengthen your powers. It's fun to play theThis is kind of a reverse tower-defense game. The board becomes stronger as you race to strengthen your powers. It's fun to play the fire-breathing dragon, killing knights and giants. This game can be really frustrating at times, but only because it's so addictive. It would be a perfect Vita game, so let's hope for Hoard 2. Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2014
    0
    thx sony for another crappy month, im so glad to be a ps+ subscriber. i played it and it was awful, dragons collecting gold oh come on. so badthx sony for another crappy month, im so glad to be a ps+ subscriber. i played it and it was awful, dragons collecting gold oh come on. so bad nothing more to say Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2014
    0
    this is crap. collecting gold with a dragon which is of no use after you complete a level. you cannot use that gold for your upgrades orthis is crap. collecting gold with a dragon which is of no use after you complete a level. you cannot use that gold for your upgrades or equipments or power ups or anything. you can upgrade your dragon only within the level and also it resets after you complete the level. you can feel excited at the start but it starts to test you patience with its boring gameplay mechanics. it doesn't deserve a score as well as a price tag. finally it doesn't deserves to be a game itself. Expand