Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    45
    Homefront is an ambitious title with a solid idea, but lacked the courage to distance itself from the (media established) king of First Person Shooters.
  2. May 17, 2011
    40
    I'll admit that I've played games that are technically worse than Homefront, but I have not played a game that irritated me as much as this in a very long time.
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    40
    Yet for all the hours I've enjoyed putting into the multiplayer, I still feel insulted by the thoughtlessness of the single-player.
  4. Mar 24, 2011
    40
    But the problem with Homefront isn't just that it sucks, which it certainly does. The problem is that it reveals just how badly many first-person shooters are starting to suck. It's a game that magnifies the preexisting trend of developing to the lowest common denominator.
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    40
    It is difficult to say anything good about Homefront. It's a half-baked idea crammed into a half-baked game, and while I'll freely admit that a quasi-realistic military-style first-person shooter with a heavy focus on the multiplayer mode is not exactly my cup of tea, I've played enough of them at this point that I feel confident in saying when one has gone horribly, horribly wrong.
  6. Mar 17, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 75
  2. Negative: 29 out of 75
  1. Mar 19, 2011
    2
    I have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamers of this atrocity. Firstly, Single player campaign, to put bluntly, GASH, too short, poor graphics, dialogue, lack of originality, empty, cliche ridden characters, just poorly designed really. It's glitch ridden, full of invisible walls, and at times i've had to reboot my ps3 because my character freezes in one fixed position and i'm unable to shoot or run, if i look around there is nothing obstructing me, i'm just locked. Oh, and the game has frozen on 3 separate occasions too. Online i was hoping for more, but again it's a mess. Having on countless occasions emptied entire magazines into enemy opposition, only for them to turn round and kill me with ONE SHOT, i have no other course of action other than to trade in this piece of **** Again online i have experienced being unable to move, thus being gunned down whilst i'm wide open, getting killed by, er ........... NOBODY!, literally, respawn in a building, walk a few feet then crumple in a bloody mess, no killcam, no, YOU WERE KILLED BY MR SO AND SO, just dead. What the **** up with that? So please, save your money, buy something else, KZ3, Black Ops, whatever, just not this, people knock COD, yes it has flaws, few don't, but compared to this steaming pile of ****e it's a **** masterpiece. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    i didnt really enjoy this game the campaign is too short for my liking and the graphics arent the best but that would be forgivable if the online play was any good. i was looking forward to another shooter game that could rival CoD and Bad co but this is not going to be the game that changes how ppl feel about CoD and i hate to say it but stick to CoD and maybe just give this game a rental try Full Review »
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    First impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression is predictable- somewhere between the movie 2012 and a late night infomercial. If you like either, you might not mind. The plot has all the basics: a hot chick, a tough guy, and certain promise of driving a vehicle, flying some kind of aerial combat mission, and a sniper level... then of course, the predictable story hook: getting you angry and in search of revenge, and feeding you some immediate action... But overall the game falls short of carving a new niche for a FPS. As far as the gameplay mechanics- Maybe I'm de-sensitized from some exciting recent shooters which offer unique tools like cover and team tactics... But in playing the first few levels, it feels like the game has gone back a few years in gameplay development, borrowing from games like Half Life or Rainbow 6... but overall it feels like some OG Doom game or something similar. Nothing comparable to Modern Warfare 2 or Medal of Honor (though I'm sure each have their critics too). Overall it feels like "just another shooter" with a cheesy, predictable story, B-side dialog script and acting, and poor gameplay mechanics. I guess THQ thinks we will be satisfied by giving us a new setting and decent graphics to shoot in to tie us over until the next shooter comes out... they got my $50 that I wish I didn't spend, so I guess I'll play it until the next game comes out. But I won't be waiting on pins and needles for the next offering from THQ. This one's a dud. Full Review »