Homefront PlayStation 3

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    74
    It features plenty of enemies, some pretty awesome locations, and a killer premise. Though the story falls flat about halfway through, and the game needs at least five more chapters to feel complete, you will have lots of fun in the short amount of time that you do have with the single player.
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    72
    War isn't pretty and this horrifying tale of war on American soil makes for a heartfelt adventure. While the core gameplay feels a little "behind the times," the setting and narrative keeps things fresh.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 20, 2011
    70
    There isn't really a climax. It just finishes, coitus interruptus-style. [May 2011, p.114]
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    70
    Homefront is not an easy game to digest. If you look at quickly pointing out all the errors, it will certainly not be a very rewarding experience. But if you leave aside its flaws, there is "life" beyond them.
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    70
    It's not a terrible game, but it's agonisingly close to being SO much more.
  6. Mar 26, 2011
    70
    Homefront doesn't live up to the hype and suffers from a short campaign that will only entertain you for four hours. The graphics aren't great and the many glitches don't help either. Homefront's best points are its multiplayer and its brilliant vibe.
  7. Mar 23, 2011
    70
    Homefront doesn't live up to its expectations. The emotional and atmospheric story of the (way too short) single-player slowly changes into an over-the-top first-person shooter that lacks in character. Homefront is one of the biggest disappointments of 2011, while the game in and of itself, isn't that bad.
  8. Mar 22, 2011
    70
    Homefront is a game that will live or die based on its online component. For $60, if you are investing solely for the single-player campaign, you are truly wasting your money. The multiplayer has the potential to be something amazing with a few tweaks and a better selection of maps, currently there just aren't enough.
  9. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    'Kaos' may have been trying to spread their wings a bit, but the overall story in the campaign may have clipped their wings, more so with an abrupt ending. As interesting and deep as the SP world and MP gameplay can be, it's a tad outclassed by the rest.
  10. Mar 18, 2011
    70
    You can complete Homefront Campaign in less than 4 hours. And the multiplayer is miles away form the CoD and Battlefield excellence.
  11. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    As the FPS genre marches towards a Call of Dutified heat death, it seems success is based more on the strength of a brand than any semblance of innovative game design. Homefront is only adding to this growing mass of homogeneous goo but at the very least it's a solid game with moderately entertaining mechanics; completely generic but generally agreeable nonetheless.
  12. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Homefront's campaign tells a good story, but that's about the only thing it does exceptionally well. The action is fun, but nothing special, and it sometimes feels so rigidly scripted that it's almost stifling. Meanwhile, the radically different multiplayer stands out as a much better game, with chaotic, drone-and-vehicle-filled action that's just fun an involving enough to make Homefront worth picking up.
  13. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Homefront's engrossing vision of the future and gratifying competitive multiplayer outweigh its squandered potential and workaday game mechanics.
  14. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Incredibly rough around the edges, wasteful of unique opportunities, and light on content, we quite frankly question the longevity of this title. But you know what? There are worse games you could spend your money on.
  15. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Homefront is a good game, capable of entertaining the fans of the FPS genre only for a short period of time in singleplayer. The overall quality of the multiplayer is good but it's clear from where Kaos Studios took the inspiration, and it's not able to surprise us with entirely fresh new ideas.
  16. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    With its interesting premise, evocative opening sequence, and clever variation on multiplayer, Homefront has a strong foundation. It's a shame that technical limitations and a derivative single-player campaign keep the game from realizing its potential.
  17. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    There's enough material within Homefront's concept for it to spiral into something more interesting, and with plenty of talk about a sequel it's clear that's what THQ and Kaos is looking for, but this first crack of the whip falls far short of the competition.
  18. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    One of the most unique shooters I've ever played, driven by an ingenious and surprisingly well-fleshed out plot and a dark and dreary, realistic setting. But it also controls and feels like a typical shooter, looks like a game that's several years old, and most importantly, has an inexcusably brief campaign.
  19. Play UK
    Mar 21, 2011
    69
    An entertaining, if not a little under-polished, FPS that dares to strike out in new directions. [Issue#203, p.82]
  20. Mar 17, 2011
    67
    Homefront is a decent shooter but with a short play through time and limited online multiplayer, not to mention no offline multiplayer, it just doesn't seem worth full the retail value.
  21. Mar 15, 2011
    67
    It's apparent that the story and atmosphere of the game is much more important than actual gameplay.
  22. Mar 29, 2011
    65
    It's an easy game to recommend for a rental since the story is too interesting to pass up, but for those who were interested in buying it, wait to see if there is still a community after the title has been patched.
  23. Mar 29, 2011
    60
    THQ should have made a deal with MGM to turn Homefront into a tie-in for the upcoming Red Dawn remake. That game would have been way better than what we have now.
  24. Mar 25, 2011
    60
    Kaos Studios manage to offer an intense campaign with several memorable moments in what seems to be a very faithfully-realized urban American environment. Unfortunately, the campaign easily ends in less than five hours, making it hard to recommend it to anyone who is not interested in the competitive multiplayer portion of the game.
  25. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    Homefront is a solid, if uneven, experience that features an excellent multiplayer mode, with a very average single-player campaign attached.
  26. Mar 16, 2011
    60
    The storyline just has an amateurish overall feel to it, and the adventure is over almost before it even started. The multiplayer component somewhat saves the day, but in the end, Homefront is a big letdown.
  27. Mar 15, 2011
    60
    Kaos obviously had ideas for this game, yet seemingly couldn't bring any of those ideas to total fruition. The end result is a brief, brittle campaign bereft of impactful storytelling or creatively designed action, one that ends not with a bang, but with the build-up to a bang, followed by a title card.
  28. Mar 22, 2011
    50
    It's a shame the game engine isn't flashier, because it does put up a good fight, but without a sexy bullet point like Killzone's graphics, Bad Company's destructible buildings, or MAG's 256 players, it's going to be hard to draw new players in.
  29. 50
    Every aspect of the single-player campaign is poorly executed and designed. And when you finally push through it, the ending leaves far too much open to feel any sense of closure - you can tell that a sequel was always planned from the get go. Bad news Kaos and THQ, if this is what you give us, we don't want anymore.
  30. Mar 17, 2011
    50
    The improbable plot ends up being almost the only point of interest in this vapid and hopelessly unoriginal first person shooter.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 79
  2. Negative: 30 out of 79
  1. Mar 19, 2011
    2
    I have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamersI have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamers of this atrocity. Firstly, Single player campaign, to put bluntly, GASH, too short, poor graphics, dialogue, lack of originality, empty, cliche ridden characters, just poorly designed really. It's glitch ridden, full of invisible walls, and at times i've had to reboot my ps3 because my character freezes in one fixed position and i'm unable to shoot or run, if i look around there is nothing obstructing me, i'm just locked. Oh, and the game has frozen on 3 separate occasions too. Online i was hoping for more, but again it's a mess. Having on countless occasions emptied entire magazines into enemy opposition, only for them to turn round and kill me with ONE SHOT, i have no other course of action other than to trade in this piece of **** Again online i have experienced being unable to move, thus being gunned down whilst i'm wide open, getting killed by, er ........... NOBODY!, literally, respawn in a building, walk a few feet then crumple in a bloody mess, no killcam, no, YOU WERE KILLED BY MR SO AND SO, just dead. What the **** up with that? So please, save your money, buy something else, KZ3, Black Ops, whatever, just not this, people knock COD, yes it has flaws, few don't, but compared to this steaming pile of ****e it's a **** masterpiece. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    i didnt really enjoy this game the campaign is too short for my liking and the graphics arent the best but that would be forgivable if thei didnt really enjoy this game the campaign is too short for my liking and the graphics arent the best but that would be forgivable if the online play was any good. i was looking forward to another shooter game that could rival CoD and Bad co but this is not going to be the game that changes how ppl feel about CoD and i hate to say it but stick to CoD and maybe just give this game a rental try Full Review »
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    First impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression isFirst impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression is predictable- somewhere between the movie 2012 and a late night infomercial. If you like either, you might not mind. The plot has all the basics: a hot chick, a tough guy, and certain promise of driving a vehicle, flying some kind of aerial combat mission, and a sniper level... then of course, the predictable story hook: getting you angry and in search of revenge, and feeding you some immediate action... But overall the game falls short of carving a new niche for a FPS. As far as the gameplay mechanics- Maybe I'm de-sensitized from some exciting recent shooters which offer unique tools like cover and team tactics... But in playing the first few levels, it feels like the game has gone back a few years in gameplay development, borrowing from games like Half Life or Rainbow 6... but overall it feels like some OG Doom game or something similar. Nothing comparable to Modern Warfare 2 or Medal of Honor (though I'm sure each have their critics too). Overall it feels like "just another shooter" with a cheesy, predictable story, B-side dialog script and acting, and poor gameplay mechanics. I guess THQ thinks we will be satisfied by giving us a new setting and decent graphics to shoot in to tie us over until the next shooter comes out... they got my $50 that I wish I didn't spend, so I guess I'll play it until the next game comes out. But I won't be waiting on pins and needles for the next offering from THQ. This one's a dud. Full Review »