User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 154
  2. Negative: 50 out of 154

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2013
    2
    I was at my local gamestop recently and they had a local bargain bin and in it I picked up this game for $3.14 figuring that at such a low price, I couldn't foresee a reason why I would get some enjoyment out of this game. I mean I only paid $3.14.

    Start playing the game and the plot immediately strikes me as straight up retarded for a variety of reasons, mostly relating to the fact I
    pay attention to Asian politics. Yet the game's story itself is equally as bad as the setup. You start out with a black protagonists, who and shocker here, doesn't say a thing...ever. From there you are subjected to stupid set pieces of "Evil North Koreans" committing atrocities. I suppose this is supposed to make the games heroes relatable, but it just comes across as an annoying set of bs that I can't skip. Then the game goes even stupider in the rescue attempt which should have literally killed you. Miraculously you survive unscathed and follow them as they make bad decision after bad decision in one of the worst Call of Duty Clones I have ever played.

    Honestly the only thing this game has going for it, is some pretty decent guns and even those are overshadowed by the horrible regenerating health system that won't let you take more than a couple shots before having to duck behind cover. This wouldn't be a problem, but the game is la shooting gallery, die and you can enjoy having to gun your way through the same 20-30 NPCs again.

    In the end, the story is bad, the game play is barely passable and for me just unenjoyable, you are forced to go along with every stupid decision that the characters make, and ultimately it isn't worth your time. Sure I got the game cheap, but the time I have to put into this game feels like a waste. Just straight up avoid getting this game, there are better uses of your time, like chewing $3 worth of gum while looking at 14 cents.
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    0
    This game feels like it was purposefully made with its flaws, so that it could be called "Modern FPS games in a nutshell". Why? Because the game shares almost EVERY problem 99.9999% of the modern FPS games share.

    Lets start with singleplayer. Way too linear? Check. Stupid AI? Check. Way too scripted? Check. Way too short? Check. Ok, that went quick.

    What about multiplayer? Vehicles
    too powerful compared to other battle point rewards? Check. One-wait. This is going to take too long to just list. Let me shorten that by checking only two things. Way-too-low-skill-gap-made-by-creating-the-damn-kills-way-too-easy-to-acquire? Check. This game sucks? Check.

    But it has dedicated servers! Lets uncheck "This game uses only p2p system." Uncheck. But it still sucks!
    Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    0
    The game is broken doesn't work half the time freezes up and would of been an okay game maybe if they could of worked out the bugs but they just gave up on the game no support for it anymore it's dead in the water now
  4. Aug 27, 2011
    1
    Terrible game. I beat the multiplayer in one day, and it was boring and a rip off of MW2. Played the multiplayer, it was mediocre, but it takes more than a crappy campaign and mediocre multiplayer to make a good game.
  5. May 20, 2011
    2
    so disappointed in this game. no more dedicated servers and it's still unplayable online, it looks terrible (really terrible) and the campaign is frustrating and short. it reminds me of the old woody allen joke: "the food at that restaurant is awful." "i know! and such small portions!"
    if you can get into a game online it feels like homefront wants to be MAG (which is one of the most
    awesome online FPS ever, IMO) but comes nowhere close. one aspect of HF's online play that i did find cool was the drones. also the points/in-game rewards system was much better than COD's (the best for my money is medal of honor's system which utilizes game points, not just kills, for streak rewards.)
    overall there are some good ideas here but the end product is just a waste of those ideas.
    Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2011
    4
    I struggled to get on with it but that may be down to me just being bored with FPS's now. It had some great set pieces and harrowing levels with real punch BUT it just didn't resonate with me. Maybe it helps to be American to have that inner feeling of oppression and defense of one's country. Were it based in the UK it may have felt more relevant and less OTT.
    I am awaiting an FPS which
    isn't just a COD clone. Could Battlefield 3 be it? Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2011
    4
    Wow. I had such anticipation for this game. I am a member of an adult gaming community of over 1000 members. Over 40 of us were getting this for PS3. We all ran out and got it and within 3 days half of the 40 had completely given up on this game. Between poor party making, poor servers, terrible lag, and being unable to join a match at all, the experience was more than just frustrating. So as one of the few who ended up keeping the game in hopes the issues would be fixed (they still aren't), I experienced the far too short and outdated graphics of the single player campaign. I would NOT buy this game if youre in the market for a new game. While the multiplayer definitely has potential, the problems far outweigh the good. Matter of fact, this may be the last game I pre-order.....EVER. Expand
  8. Apr 8, 2011
    4
    Another game that I genuinely wanted to like... but couldn't. I was hoping for a title that would break the CoD stranglehold on the FPS market. Instead all I got was yet another sad clone. The gameplay is EXACTLY the same as CoD, EXACTLY. Only difference here being slightly stronger story potential. Slightly and potential, being the operative words here, and when you consider the "attempting to be controversial" trash that has passed for CoD fare lately, that's not hard. Unfortunately, the promise of the story is never fulfilled... the game ends, cliffhanger style, just when things start to get interesing... an obvious alert to a potential sequel. A sequel I won't be playing. Let's be honest, though, if this was titled CoD:Homeland... all of the pro reviewers would be singing it's praises, lol. Expand
  9. Apr 2, 2011
    3
    This is the shortest game i ever played.....I can't believe someone actually said it was a 7 hour gameplay where its no more than 3 hours. poor graphics, incomplete storyline, average sound effects, the only thing acceptable are the controls where it really doesn't make a difference. Never tried the multiplayer and i don't think i will.....if your bored of all other FPS games out there, rent it out, otherwise don't bother your not missing anything Expand
  10. Apr 1, 2011
    1
    What a disappointing game this turned out to be. I was so looking forward to this and after that final trailer I was hooked. I started out playing MP and loved it! However I was shocked by how bad the graphics were. I thought Black Ops graphics were bad but this took it to a lower level. This game looks like a year 2000 game. Play a couple of FANTASTIC hours of Killzone 3 SP or MP and then come back and play Homefront and you will be shocked! I was having fun and then 2 level ups later the lock up/freezes started. These freezes made me hard reset my PS3! 17 freezes later I started to really worry about my PS3's health. So at level 10 I stopped playing MP and started looking at the forums. A ton of gamers like me were experiencing the same problem. The wait for the patch started. Finally a patch came and made the freezing worse. 25 freezes and the MP is unplayable. I cannot tell you how many times I sat in a lobby by myself waiting for players. It also froze on my many times while I was waiting in the lobby! I was so disappointed and angry. With MP dead I started the SP campaign hoping they would get a patch out by the time I completed the SP. I started SP on Guerrilla mode which is the hardest. There were only a few areas that I had trouble with. The SP was extremely short and I took my time. I was able to only get near 6 hours out of the SP on the hardest mode!!! The story had a great start and then just fizzled to a lifeless mess. The Characters were horrible and the pacing was atrocious. You could never run ahead of your friends because you would instantly get killed. If you waited for them it would take forever to get to the next segment because they would walk and I am talking about a very slow walk! I didn't care for any of them and just wanted to get through the game. The banter between my teammates was very poorly written. The game had the worst abrupt ending that made me think that they didn't have any idea how finish the game. I immediately read 2 days after I got the game that they were already making Homefront 2 and that they would make the SP longer if the players wanted it. I am sitting here reading this crap and thinking why not put the effort into the first game before you start making or talking about a sequel!!! Seriously the end of the game was bad. It will take Homefront 1 and 2 SP portions to equal a true "1 Game" SP experience. Well, I finally got fed up and returned the game after a week of 30 PS3 freezes. Thankfully A*mazon was able to give me a full refund. A*mazon is my number 1 place to buy my games after this fiasco. Please if it says KAOS Studios DO NOT, DO NOT BUY THE GAME! This company took the Massively Multiplayer idea of raking in the premier first weeks money and then moving on. Right now, even though I don't have the game, went to their forums and there is still no fix for the freezing and lonely lobby issues. EPIC FAIL!!! Oh yeah, I gave it a 1 because when the MP worked I had a great time. Expand
  11. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Homefront hade some high expectations but does not deliver.Presentation is horrible with some very bad graphics.Characters here yoiu will hate and you wont be able to stand them.campaign is way too short and stupid.Online is horrible and boring and you will be doing the same thing over and over.This game is a giant waste of time.Gameplay is repetitive.However it does deliver a compelling story.Overall it is stupid and a big waste of time.DO NOT BUY OR RENT THIS HORRIBLE GAME. Expand
  12. Mar 24, 2011
    0
    You get home, open the box, insert the disc. Within 2 minutes of trying to get into a Multiplayer online game, it FREEZES. Pop over to the forums http://www.homefront-game.com/forums/homefront-gaming-forums/playstation-3 Nothing works. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, JUST ONE MASSIVE HEADACHE SINCE RELEASE !!
  13. Mar 22, 2011
    1
    I wrote a review earlier giving the game a 8 but i had to delete that review and now it gets a 1 this is because the story is short only 5 hours max, but now the Multiplayer mode is unplayable, youll either freeze when you get in a match or youll sit in a empty lobby till you idle out, freeze again, or get kicked cause there wasnt enough people to play wiht....i was holding out for the first patch which came with no impact, if anything it made the freezing worse...and now they said thier next patch will be out when its ready, which means it hasnt gone to sony for approval yet so at least another week. At this point all of my clan mates have traded the game in, im now the only one and im going to trade it in as well...by time the next patch comes out the game will have nobody playing it anymore. Expand
  14. Mar 22, 2011
    0
    This is an all time low for me. I really gave this a shot, played through the campaign with an open mind before i was going to try the multiplayer. The campaign was short, buggy and crappy designed. I could head from the street into a house first, then Connor would shout at me as he finally entered the house: "Get inside the house!". This stupid choreographic errors are all over the place. To top it all, they use voices/actors from South Park, which didn't exactly add to the "seriousness" the game tries to offer. I was initially thinking of giving this game a 4 for the single player. Then come the MP. It's at times kinda OK, I was just trying it out to get the feel of it. So I was deciding to start playing it a bit heavier, and register the "Battle Code" included in the box. I entered the code, and it wasn't accepted. Invalid code or wrong entered or something was the message. But I was certain I checked the code was entered right, and it was a brand new game, preordered to boot. And the effing code was invalid! So I thought "OK, I don't need the extra XP, and just kept playing. But then, after reaching level 5, I couldn't level up any more until I entered the "Battle Code"! I have written THQ.com twice about this. So far no reply other than "Thanks for contacting us" from a noreply email. This made me quite sick of the game, and I went back to GameStop. Of course they tell me to contact the maker (THQ). Sick of the game I just "traded" it in and got $20 back for the crap.Due to the MP part of the game flunking big time, I give this crap a total of 1 out of 10. Save your money, and don't buy this game. This "Battle Code" idea is a very, VERY bad idea. And No!, I don't want to buy a "Battle Code" on eBay. My guess is that hackers cracked the codes, selling them on eBay, rendering codes in gameboxes unusable.
    Btw THQ.com gets a 0 (zero) for their total lack of response and effort to try to solve this mess.
    GAH!
    Expand
  15. Mar 22, 2011
    4
    This game seems like a rushed project intended to capitalize on a unique idea. Homefront's story is an interesting ad fresh concept with extremely poor delivery. Other than the story, very little about this game is new or interesting. It has the exact same controls as Call of Duty, except you are fighting Koreans and Japanese rather than people of the Middle East. The outline of the story is neat, but the characters and level design are incredibly boring. A rental at best. Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2011
    0
    Oh My, it took me only 3 hours to play the single part, and so I spent even time to look at the graphics in the pitches, but I feel cheated, the game is not 66 $ worth, which I have given for it in Denmark, highest 15 $ worth, I wonder why there are pirates when it comes to games, and so even with Steam, so I can not even resell it.

    I do not buy more games that requires a Steam account.


    This game is a failure, can you get your money refunded from the company, should be an option when they screwed people. Only buy this game if you can find it for 10-15 $
    Expand
  17. Mar 21, 2011
    0
    garbage ass game.... this **** had me so hyped only to figure out the game mechanics are **** horrible... give me a couple of days and i could program a better game than this piece of filthy **** seriously **** this ****
  18. Mar 19, 2011
    2
    I have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamers of this atrocity. Firstly, Single player campaign, to put bluntly, GASH, too short, poor graphics, dialogue, lack of originality, empty, cliche ridden characters, just poorly designed really. It's glitch ridden, full of invisible walls, and at times i've had to reboot my ps3 because my character freezes in one fixed position and i'm unable to shoot or run, if i look around there is nothing obstructing me, i'm just locked. Oh, and the game has frozen on 3 separate occasions too. Online i was hoping for more, but again it's a mess. Having on countless occasions emptied entire magazines into enemy opposition, only for them to turn round and kill me with ONE SHOT, i have no other course of action other than to trade in this piece of **** Again online i have experienced being unable to move, thus being gunned down whilst i'm wide open, getting killed by, er ........... NOBODY!, literally, respawn in a building, walk a few feet then crumple in a bloody mess, no killcam, no, YOU WERE KILLED BY MR SO AND SO, just dead. What the **** up with that? So please, save your money, buy something else, KZ3, Black Ops, whatever, just not this, people knock COD, yes it has flaws, few don't, but compared to this steaming pile of ****e it's a **** masterpiece. Expand
  19. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    Rogue Mar 18, 20110 Let me begin by saying I was a big fan of Frontlines Fuel of War both single player and multiplayer. When I heard KAOS was developing another game I was hoping for a sequel less the glitches, lag, etc. Like many of you I was checking the status of this greatly anticipated game on youtube for videos and various other websites for any information I could get. When the release date was set counting down the days began only to have it pushed back. Okay I thought, I'd rather see a delay then for them to release a game of poor quality. I was wrong, regrettably very wrong! Homefront could have been great; Homefront could have been ground breaking both in premise and game play. Like I said earlier; Frontlines was fantastic, so good in fact some of the "Big Guys"copied ideas from it such as drones etc. The battle point system was a great addition instead of kill streaks which more than likely will and should be copied by other developers. The single player is way to short, the graphics are average to say the least and the movement of your character is like he has a 20 pound dump in his pants! His movements are slow, methodical and not crisp or sharp like other FPS games. Multiplayer is a joke, that's if you can get in a game at all, joining friends is virtually impossible. It went from dedicated servers to P2P because they underestimated the online attraction; they're in the gaming industry right? MP is what many people play day in and day out and these guys are not prepared? All 16 player games will now be hosted on P2P not dedicated. Multiplayer is a camper / sniper haven make no mistake, the weapon selection is poor and the fact you can't add more than one attachment to your weapon is a joke. No sight and silencer, pick and choose WTF! All the while your character is still running around with a dump in his pants. Overall this game is a failure in every way, with such high hopes it pales in comparison to other FPS games past or present. Save your money and rent if you have to. Don't spend 60.00 or even 20.00 for this game, soon enough it will be in the bargain bin or on ebay for 8.00 to 10.00 dollars. Complete and utter fail KAOS you should be embarrassed and ashamed! Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    Whoops accidentally posted the Dragon age 2 review. Well anyway the basic summary from the PC mag I read said great on PC but watch out for poor ports on consoles. THIS IS A FACT.
    I played this on PS3 and it sucked, repetitious unhelpful dialogue ie. shoot the hummers, see previous statement multiple times. You will ask yourself there arenâ
  21. Mar 17, 2011
    3
    Concept: 10
    Execution:2
    Graphics: 2
    Guns:2
    Story:8
    Gameplay:5
    Online:2
    Verdict: 3.5
    Absolutely one of the worst games I've ever played. I think it's almost as bad as ET for the Atari 2600.
  22. Mar 16, 2011
    0
    This game is absolute ****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am not the kind of person that ever cares about rating things and what not but i pre-ordered this **** and waited for a new shooter with an awesome story and what did I get...the worst game I have ever played thats what! I created this account on here just to complain about this game because I'm so pissed at how much hype they put out there and rendered preview videos that make it look better than it really is. The graphics are HORRIBLE! The physics are HORRIBLE! The guns are HORRIBLE! The sounds are HORRIBLE! The dialog is HORRIBLE! I could go on all ******* day! **** you THQ and KAOS! I'm not the only one that feels this way too. WHY DO YOU THINK YOU"RE STOCK DROPPED SO MUCH THQ? ******* IDIOTS! Expand
  23. Mar 16, 2011
    1
    First time to deal with online passes - very angry. Just another way to sap more $$$$ out of the end user. So, everyone in my house has to pony up another $10 ???!!?!. Forget it! Last THQ title I'll be buying!
  24. Mar 16, 2011
    0
    Stop encouraging them. Buying games like this just encourages them to keep doing it. It is a popular scheme nowadays to just copy another game entirely, hype like no other, add a pre-order bonus, and rake in the launch day money.

    They will NOT patch, they will act like the game doesn't even exist.
  25. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    This is no way a bad game, it also is in no way an amazing game.

    Homefront main selling point was supposedly the campaign being written by the great John Milius (Red dawn, Apocalypse now), but it seriously falls short both in content and overall feel. You're supposed to be a guerrilla fighter against insurmountable odds, but often you mow down loads of enemy forces with ease and we reach
    the common place CoD style objectives and run through of the campaign saturating the market. If you can appreciate what they try to do both story and game wise, you'll enjoy the campaign.

    Multiplayer is where the title shines boasting both common and new ways to dominate online. Think Battlefield feeling like Call of Duty and that's what you get with the multiplayer component. Expect a balanced and great multiplayer that draws a lot from modern shooters, while taking out the negative aspects.

    It's worth picking up based on the multiplayer alone if you're that kind of customer, but if you plan on picking it up for the singleplayer expect to be disappointed by its length and depth.
    Expand
  26. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    First impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression is predictable- somewhere between the movie 2012 and a late night infomercial. If you like either, you might not mind. The plot has all the basics: a hot chick, a tough guy, and certain promise of driving a vehicle, flying some kind of aerial combat mission, and a sniper level... then of course, the predictable story hook: getting you angry and in search of revenge, and feeding you some immediate action... But overall the game falls short of carving a new niche for a FPS. As far as the gameplay mechanics- Maybe I'm de-sensitized from some exciting recent shooters which offer unique tools like cover and team tactics... But in playing the first few levels, it feels like the game has gone back a few years in gameplay development, borrowing from games like Half Life or Rainbow 6... but overall it feels like some OG Doom game or something similar. Nothing comparable to Modern Warfare 2 or Medal of Honor (though I'm sure each have their critics too). Overall it feels like "just another shooter" with a cheesy, predictable story, B-side dialog script and acting, and poor gameplay mechanics. I guess THQ thinks we will be satisfied by giving us a new setting and decent graphics to shoot in to tie us over until the next shooter comes out... they got my $50 that I wish I didn't spend, so I guess I'll play it until the next game comes out. But I won't be waiting on pins and needles for the next offering from THQ. This one's a dud. Expand
  27. Mar 16, 2011
    0
    When you cannot open ANY door in the game by yourself. When you don't care about characters or storyline even in the most dramatic moments...well, that game have some issues
  28. Mar 15, 2011
    0
    Single played is only 5-7 hours, and horribly designed.
    And I don't want to play with some smirmy **** called "Multi-Players."
    Games with good multi-players (TF2, GMOD, Assasins Creed : Brotherhood, ECT ECT) At least have decent single-Player.
    Don't buy this ****
    If you can stand the **** called "Multi-Players" And can stand a terrible, short, and awkward campaig- Infact this isn't for you
    even if you can, Because you're **** insane! Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. May 24, 2011
    84
    The story is way too short and the multiplayer doesn't deliver the fun you know from the Call of Duty or Battlefield games.
  2. May 17, 2011
    40
    I'll admit that I've played games that are technically worse than Homefront, but I have not played a game that irritated me as much as this in a very long time.
  3. There isn't really a climax. It just finishes, coitus interruptus-style. [May 2011, p.114]