Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The ultra-violent indie hit Hotline Miami has found its way unto our PlayStation 3 an Vita and it is a drug infused combination between GTA, Metal Gear, neon lights and animal masks. Yes, you should play this. [September p.91]
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    90
    Hotline Miami is ludological entertainment at its finest. It is a game about grinding levels and that practice makes perfect. It is also a game about exploring new narratives and discussing the video game worlds fascination with violence and gore. A must play.
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    93
    Dizzyingly good soundtrack. [Oct 2013, p.73]
  4. All you really need to know is that Hotline Miami is one of the best, and hardest to master, indie games to ever grace a PlayStation. That said, Hotline Miami still needs to be a permanent fixture on your PS3, and the Vita version executes train trips without mercy. [September 2013, p70]
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    100
    Each level in Hotline Miami begins with a choice – which rubber animal mask will you wear? Pixelated, haunting renditions of a variety of animals are represented. Dog, insects, donkeys. Which would you prefer? It’s a powerful and completely cosmetic decision that blends simple, fast action mechanics and surrealist narrative to an incredible accumulation.
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    88
    Hotline Miami doesn’t apologize for what it tries to do. It’s a throwback to the golden age of gaming but at the same time, it reminds us that over-the-top violence was always tongue-in-cheek in those days.
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    90
    Hotline Miami is truly a unique experience packaged in a bloody mess of human skin and entrails. It’s a title that grips the player with its sharp, visceral game play and asks uncomfortable questions which there aren’t clear answers to.
  8. Jul 2, 2013
    90
    At the end of the day, Hotline Miami's simple, quick gameplay, though frustrating, is kept fresh by the level design and unique fighting style it delivers. It's definitely deeper than your average action game, and not as straightforward as it appears.
  9. Jun 26, 2013
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Jun 26, 2013
    92
    It’s not for everyone (even one of our own editors described it as “barf-tastic” at one point) but if you let its hooks into you, you will discover one of the most addictive, rewarding, crazy-ass games of recent memory.
  11. Unless you’re anti-games lawyer Jack Thompson, you’ll enjoy Hotline Miami for what it is: an impossibly stylish indie tour de force about playing with your food. With its incredible soundtrack in your ears, neon flashes in your peripheral vision and endlessly, shamefully gratifying combat in your hands, you’ll learn to stop worrying and love the wrong.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    This game is great. It's 80's themed style and music go perfectly with it's over-the-top bloody violence. I have been playing for weeks and am incredibly addicted. I highly recommend this game. It is definitely difficult, but that's what makes it so special. It holds a special place in my heart. Full Review »
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    6
    Addictive gameplay and extreme blood, but the graphics sucks, I see indie games with incredible graphics (journey, limbo). The difficult is very hard, you die many times and the story is a big piece of Full Review »
  3. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    I created an account to praise this game and to point out what an Idiot Chaeote is. An adolescent could figure out the control scheme. That being said, Hotline Miami is a very special game. When you massacre your way through a level, it makes you feel like a badass. This masterpiece proves that gameplay and story has the ability to carry the gamer from front to back. Don't get me wrong, the retro style graphics were a lot of fun. I have played through this game several times and keep coming back. I'm not the type to replay a game once I get to the end, even if there are multiple incentives, but Hotline Miami brings me back weekly. Get this game. Full Review »