Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami reeks of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using yourStep into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami reeks of raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using your wits to choreograph your way through impossible situations. Its visual style, a driving soundtrack, and a surreal plot will have you question your own thirst for blood. Bash and blast through over 20 multiscreen levels with 35 unique weapons and collect 25 game-altering masks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    100
    Each level in Hotline Miami begins with a choice – which rubber animal mask will you wear? Pixelated, haunting renditions of a variety of animals are represented. Dog, insects, donkeys. Which would you prefer? It’s a powerful and completely cosmetic decision that blends simple, fast action mechanics and surrealist narrative to an incredible accumulation.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    92
    It’s not for everyone (even one of our own editors described it as “barf-tastic” at one point) but if you let its hooks into you, you will discover one of the most addictive, rewarding, crazy-ass games of recent memory.
  3. All you really need to know is that Hotline Miami is one of the best, and hardest to master, indie games to ever grace a PlayStation. That said, Hotline Miami still needs to be a permanent fixture on your PS3, and the Vita version executes train trips without mercy. [September 2013, p70]
  4. The ultra-violent indie hit Hotline Miami has found its way unto our PlayStation 3 an Vita and it is a drug infused combination between GTA, Metal Gear, neon lights and animal masks. Yes, you should play this. [September p.91]
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    85
    Aside from some control issues, this is an essential for the adult gamer. [Issue#233, p.76]
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    82
    Hotline Miami is pure gameplay, a videogame with personality and bloody heart.
  7. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    It encompasses the audiovisual elements, the neon graphics and low-rez music, and the joyous bloodiness of early shooters. But at the same time it also encompasses how dehumanising and routine the old games were – how the violence was immature and gratuitous and just a way of dressing up limited gameplay mechanics with visceral feedback to actions.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    Its about time we got an uber-violent top down game. Good lord this game kicks your behind. The soundtrack is so good, and the quick restartIts about time we got an uber-violent top down game. Good lord this game kicks your behind. The soundtrack is so good, and the quick restart when you die makes the challenge worth replaying over and over. The first coupe levels are well balanced and help the user get better at the game. But by chapter eight the difficulty level skyrockets. I still haven't beaten it, but I will at some point. I love indie games but this is the first one I've truly felt compelled to complete and play for hours and hours. Its good to play with friends too. I wish there was a co-op or vs. multiplayer. Can you image a 3v3 version of this game? That would go hard. I think this is free on PS Plus right now. Gain it. 10/10 Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game. Oh, God, this game. I have spent hours upon hours playing this game, it is superb and i love it. It may even be my favorite indie game of the year! First, presentation. Hotline Miami is set in 1989, it wanted to look like something you would see in the 90's, and it totally got it right. The flickering and the colour scheme fits the mood so well, and even for a pixely game, it is just beautiful. It's a pretty gory game, which doesn't usually bother me, but this game is just brutal. Every hit you make feels real and consequential, it fits the character so well, you really do get a deep and visceral impact from it. Brilliant. I really did like the way Hotline Miami controlled, it felt rigid, but still fluid and usable. The premise of this game is murder. Cold-hearted murder. Not like what you see in war games, where they kill without remorse, Jacket really feels his actions throughout each level, and so does the player. This game is definitely not for the weak of heart or stomach. The mask theme is genius. Who are you? Why do you do this? What kind of monster lies beneath this mask? A normal man with no other choice. The masks give you different abilities, which you can unlock in the game the more you play. I think that is a great implementation of symbolism. The game gets more and more surreal the further into the story you get, and the more surreal it gets, the more immersive the story is and the more you want to play. You want to know what happens next, what kind of mayhem awaits you on the next floor? This game's story is just amazing. It's dark, terrifying and breathtaking. Every new level gets tougher and darker. Every kill you make has an impact on you, whether it was a shot from a distance, or hands-on murder. This game is brilliant, and i loved every second of it. Amazing. Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    This game is great. It's 80's themed style and music go perfectly with it's over-the-top bloody violence. I have been playing for weeks and amThis game is great. It's 80's themed style and music go perfectly with it's over-the-top bloody violence. I have been playing for weeks and am incredibly addicted. I highly recommend this game. It is definitely difficult, but that's what makes it so special. It holds a special place in my heart. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Hotline Miami is brutal, hard and beautiful. It has an astounding soundtrack and an amazing story. But, despite all those qualities, the gameHotline Miami is brutal, hard and beautiful. It has an astounding soundtrack and an amazing story. But, despite all those qualities, the game is not perfect Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    The reason I like Hotline Miami so much is how the game, despite its uber-challenging gameplay, wacko convoluted story and super simpleThe reason I like Hotline Miami so much is how the game, despite its uber-challenging gameplay, wacko convoluted story and super simple graphics, really makes me, the player, feel like the main character. I can't play Hotline more than an hour or so at a time because I eyes start to hurt, my heart starts pumping really fast and I swear I start hearing and seeing things. The game really makes you feel like a homicidal lunatic, which is pretty cool if you ask me. Gameplay is that good kind of frustrating in that you'll die a billion times and smack your fist against the wall in anger a lot after a guard dog eats your neck, but you just grit your teeth, thank the lord for quick respawn times, and try again. It gets a bit too trial-and-error sometimes because I sometimes feel like my successes are total flukes, but regardless of how you do it, the feeling of finishing a stage is truly rewarding. Soundtrack is great and the art style is fitting. Story is complete drivel, but it helps you feel like a coked-out mental patient, so I'll give it a pass. Overall, I'd say definitely not perfect but super fun, in an ever-so-disturbing way. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    This is a really great game that focuses on gameplay, but even so: music and graphics are good too.
    If you want some a good quality
    This is a really great game that focuses on gameplay, but even so: music and graphics are good too.
    If you want some a good quality "old-school fun", this is excellent for you.
    Collapse
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    0
    Being killed after one hit just doesn't work in a game as inprecise as this. I do not recommend this to anyone because you will die at the first try..

See all 31 User Reviews