Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a dark fantasy world, Hunted: The Demon's Forge is an unforgettable cooperative action game, pitting you and your partner against waves of vicious enemies. Taking control of either E'lara, a ranged weapon expert, or Caddoc, a master swordsman, you must use a variety of weapons,Set in a dark fantasy world, Hunted: The Demon's Forge is an unforgettable cooperative action game, pitting you and your partner against waves of vicious enemies. Taking control of either E'lara, a ranged weapon expert, or Caddoc, a master swordsman, you must use a variety of weapons, powerful spells, and cover tactics to battle your way through menacing dungeons, overgrown ruins, and downtrodden towns. Discover secrets and complete co-op-based puzzles whilst exploring the sinister world to discover answers to the game’s deep, dark mysteries. The dark ages have become corrupted. Heinous creatures have emerged from underground. Townsfolk across the land are disappearing. Upon the promise of their fortune in gold, mercenaries E’lara and Caddoc take on the daunting task of discovering where the innocent villagers have been taken. Their journey will lead them on a dark and twisted path where they will encounter death, slavery, and sacrifice. Travel deep within the world of Kala Moor...and to the secrets of The Demon's Forge. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    80
    Hunted could really have used another couple of passes just to tighten things up, but what's here is perfectly playable. There are a lot of puzzles and secrets, multiple endings, a design-your-own-dungeon mode, and two different playable characters who fight in entirely different ways. This isn't a bad game, but it's one that could be vastly improved.
  2. 70
    A fun co-op experience with an interesting storyline. Tie in a dungeon creator, and it can keep you coming back for more with a fresh new map to play on.
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    66
    Play this game in co-op, then you will have fun, but that is not because of the high standards in this game. The graphics are old, the camera doesn't work all the time and the story is a disappointment. But the co-op, like already said can be fun and the level editor is pretty cool, but there are a lot of better games out there at this moment.
  4. Jun 7, 2011
    60
    The dialogue and plot are more clumsily written than the lyrics to a Christian rap song, which makes it hard to get involved in the tasks at hand. When you don't care, you don't care, ya know?
  5. Jul 19, 2011
    59
    Not a terrible game, but it's far from being a brilliant one. [Issue#207, p.87]
  6. Jun 28, 2011
    50
    This new co-op offering from Bethesda may be quite flawless from a technical standpoint but, unfortunately, its characters are too shallow to care for and the action is extremely repetitious and uninspired to retain our interest for more than a few hours, even when playing with a friend.
  7. Jun 17, 2011
    25
    A game I have zero interest in revisiting. I'd strongly suggest avoiding this one if you haven't had a chance to play it, you're not missing much.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. May 31, 2011
    10
    Great action rpg game with a well implemented co-op mode! Although if you don't like multiplayer, the single player plays well too. I'm notGreat action rpg game with a well implemented co-op mode! Although if you don't like multiplayer, the single player plays well too. I'm not sure I agree with comments on the graphics - I like them a lot and I especially like the art design which has a Demon's Souls meets Lord of the Rings kind of feel. (and for the record, I don't work for the developers or know any of them personally.) Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    I've had so much fun with this game from the moment that I put it in, to the moment I completed it (a week later). All of my expectations wereI've had so much fun with this game from the moment that I put it in, to the moment I completed it (a week later). All of my expectations were met. This is a hack n' slash dungeon crawler and it's totally epic. The controlls are tight and the visuals and sound effects are perfect. If this game had a little more time to be pollished, it would have been even better, but as it stands this game is a fantasy dream. I'm now playing on my second walkthrough and after that, my third...and then fourth. There's so much to explore and unlock. Once you gain enough gold, you can unlock the Cruciable, a map editor, so that you can create some of your own dungeons. It's too bad people were expecting the second coming or at least Skyrim (which is coming soon enough and will be incredible as well), but this game deserves a better score. For anyone apprehensive about buying it, just rent it and try it for a while. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    Hunted is not a perfect game, not by a long shot. But, it is also severely underappreciated, as it delivers on several important featuresHunted is not a perfect game, not by a long shot. But, it is also severely underappreciated, as it delivers on several important features that are often neglected in current-gen action RPGs. First off, the co-op is fantastic, whether you're playing online or local split-screen. I have worked in video game retail for eight years, and a common question that I get from customers is, "Which PS3/XBox360 games offer split-screen co-op for me and my girfriend/boyfriend?" Despite my desire to bring more couples closer via gaming, that remains a difficult request, especially since an increasing number of co-op enabled titles require online connectivity. Aside from the usual suspects (Army of Two, Call of Duty, Borderlands, Dynasty Warriors, Resident Evil 5, Portal 2, and a small handful of others), it's difficult to recommend an accessible split-screen game nowadays. It's even harder if said couple is looking for a fantasy game to relive their earlier game dates with Champions of Norrath (a common experience that seems to pop up more often than I ever thought possible). Hunted is, perhaps, the only possible title to fit that bill in the seventh generation. It feels like a classic multiplayer arcade, something akin to Gauntlet or Golden Axe but with updated visuals and some Gears of War control conventions. As an added bit of genius, the split-screen not only scales in a way that maximizes frames for each player, it also pushes most of the UI elements into the resulting black bars on either side, thus clearing the two windows for improved visibility. Other than some smart co-op choices, Hunted also manages to revive classic dungeon crawling in a refreshing and streamlined manner. RPG fans probably won't like the trimmed-down skill trees, lack of item inventory, or inability to customize the two playable characters, but the combat is fun and frenetic. You'll also be swapping weapons in and out quite a bit, and each character offers melee and ranged options that are responsive and easy to toggle between. The environments are also imaginative and memorable, even if the exaggerated dark fantasy styling won't appeal to some. Too often, fantasy games either stray too far into outlandish designs that leave us confused and unable to identify with the setting, or they stay too close to their LotR/D&D inspirations, thus feeling bland, tired, generic, or ripped-off. Hunted never gives us a huge measure of originality, but the world is fleshed-out and intricately detailed, offering diverse topography and a variety of weather conditions to make each area seem unique. And lastly, let me applaud inXile's inclusion of a level editor, in this case called the "Crucible" mode. By earning gold in the main campaign, players can unlock a ton of options to create their own dungeons. You can control gravity, weapon rules, number of enemies and waves, arena layout, and more. You could craft a dungeon that only takes a few minutes to clear, or if you're feeling really sadistic, you could maximize difficulty by placing 25 arenas on the grid, each with 9 waves of 100 enemies, thus requiring combatants to clear 22,500 enemies in a single run! Whoa. Created dungeons can be named, then played locally or shared online. It's a cool system, and one that I would like to see more developers utilize, especially in the modern dungeon crawler genre. In the end, Hunted excels with the features that its competition lacks, and despite a general lack of triple-A polish, it's fun enough to make a lasting impression with the gamers willing to give it a chance. Inevitably, Hunted may go down as a 7th-Gen "Best Game You Never Played" candidate, but if dungeon crawling or co-op play are important to you, I would definitely recommend picking one up while you can still find copies on retail shelves (for cheap, nonetheless!). Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    This is a great game.I was pleased with the money I spent.Have yet to play it on-line but the single player A.I. is way better than expectedThis is a great game.I was pleased with the money I spent.Have yet to play it on-line but the single player A.I. is way better than expected so I only imagine that it's even funner with two players.I only had to revive my partner twice and he/she is always jumping in to help. The controls work really well and are simple to use.Story is nothing to special but it's interesting enough.I hate collectibles in most games,but these ones do not bother me too much,I like how they give you more stat boost etc.You can't really explore everywhere you want but I feel like there's enough for you to do.A lot of people says it gets repetitive quickly witch to me it hasn't really bothered me.To me repetitive is Assassin's Creed (I hated that game my own opinion so nobody get pissed).This game won't be for everyone but you should at least rent it and try it out.I just wish there were more RPG elements.Overall I give this game an 8/10. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    I would like to start by saying that this game is NOT an RPG at least in the sense that most people equate to RPGs, it is an action game moreI would like to start by saying that this game is NOT an RPG at least in the sense that most people equate to RPGs, it is an action game more along the lines of Dark Kingdom, Conan and Viking the Battle for Asgard (older PS3 titles). Yes there are a few minor upgrades (new weapons a handful of magic) but that's about it. If you are expecting a leveling system with stats, tons of equipment and skill trees you will be disappointed. That said if you approach it as it is, a hack & shoot action game I think you could find yourself really enjoying the game. The graphics are a bit dated and could be better as many others have pointed out but they are okay. I enjoyed the characters and their interactions (kinda reminds me of army of two in that respect with the back and forth banter). The storyline is fairly standard fantasy fare nothing remarkable or terrible. The main reason I got his game was online co-op (and having a local split screen option is nice as well), this to me is it's main selling point and in that respect it does quite well. Once you figure out the style of play the game progresses quite nicely. My main gripes about the game are that the multiplayer interface isn't immediately intuitive and there is nothing on this in the slim manual and that there seems to be some audio issues, both in game sounds/music (clipping) and online chat. Hopefully both of those can be sorted out with a patch. All in all a fun game especially with a friend if you play it for what it is. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2011
    6
    A very, very, VERY average game. The concept is great, sure: a "medieval Gears of War". But it sounds much better as a concept. As an actualA very, very, VERY average game. The concept is great, sure: a "medieval Gears of War". But it sounds much better as a concept. As an actual game, the experience is kind of broken, the graphics are nothing to write home about and I never had a great time with it. I had some fun, sure, but I could live without it. Good. Not great. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Noth worth it. Boring hack and slash with nothing good or new. Its like going back to ten years when playing this game. I would give this game maby a 5 or 6 points, but since there is some 10 points reviews trying to fool ppl to think that this is a good game i give it a 0 points. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews