Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    Hydrophobia Prophecy on the PSN really is the best version. It looks and sounds great, with water effects surpassing games with ten times the budget. Add in Move support that works well, and a price of £5.10, and what we have is one of the PSN's best games.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    85
    While it cannot be compared to other big-league players, Hydrophobia Prophecy is still an enjoyable game that will mesmerize you with its watery effects – pun intended.
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    83
    Dark Energy is to be commended for their interest in community feedback and for releasing an improved version of the game rather than a half-hearted port.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    In Hydrophobia: Prophecy, impressive water simulation elevates an otherwise standard action game. It definitely entertains, and using the environment to creatively put down your enemies satisfies.
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    80
    Overall, I feel that this game is well worth the $7.99 on PSN, or just a free download if you are a member of PSN Plus.
  6. The former Xbox 360-exclusive finally comes to PS3 and the good news is that the game is a lot better than it used to be. The game received numerous patches on the Xbox 360, which are all integrated in the PS3-version. The biggest attraction are the water effects. [December 2011, p.100]
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    75
    The Move controller steals the show in Hydrophobia Prophecy. Together with the controls, the visual improvements makes the PS3-version the most complete and solide version to buy. Still it has its shortcomings, like the sometimes bad camera angles.
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    72
    Move support does little to distinguish it from last year's 'pure', making it a good…but not great download title for those new to the series.
  9. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Overall there is much to enjoy within Hydrophobia Prophecy, which in its new guise remains a mixed experience. With its attractive price currently on the PlayStation Network, Hydrophobia Prophecy offers more value than many current releases.
  10. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Despite a few minor flaws and weak Move implementation, this technically impressive action/adventure title is definitely a welcomed addition to the PSN library.
  11. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    It's still Hydrophobia, but I'll happily state that this is the best version of the game yet.
  12. Dec 14, 2011
    68
    Hydrophobia is ultimately a hit or miss title, arguably appropriate for it's method of release, yet leaving a bland taste in your mouth regardless.
  13. Dec 5, 2011
    65
    The water physics in Hydrophobia: Prophecy are great, but nearly all other aspects of this indie game fall noticably short. The introduction and tutorial are good, as are the water effects. Mostly, we're looking forward to seeing what Dark Energy can deliver with the next game.
  14. For all its ideas, Hydrophobia feels like a missed opportunity. [Christmas 2011, p.97]
  15. Dec 9, 2011
    58
    Hydrophobia Prophecy is the best version of the game released to date but that isn't really saying much. The game itself is an average platforming adventure that just happens to ride on the tails of an incredible liquid physics engine. Those physics stand out on their own, but when combined with the mediocrity of everything else, the entire package comes down to an average-at-best level.
  16. Perhaps 'ambitious' is the absolute best thing we can say about Hydrophobia Prophecy. List its features and goals as bullet points and it sounds incredible, but in the end it H2-blows. [January 2012, p.75]
  17. Nov 17, 2011
    40
    It's very important to understand what Hydrophobia: Prophecy is; literally, the third version of the same game with major technical and creative modifications made based on user feedback. With this iteration of Hydrophobia being riddled with issues, I have to wonder about the quality of the initial release and am curious about whether or not Dark Energy Digital will continue to modify it in the future.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    2
    So this is the improved version? Then I don't want to know what the previous versions have been like ...

    I'll say it as I see it - this game
    So this is the improved version? Then I don't want to know what the previous versions have been like ...

    I'll say it as I see it - this game sucks. The only thing that speaks for it are the pretty neat water physics, but they are seldomly used for anything. Raise or lower the water level are basically the two things to do with it.

    Everything else about this game is average or below. The unlikable and/or silly characters look weird and cartoony, graphics are bad for a ps 3 game, the shootings are generic and uninspired, each encounter is liek the one before. The story has an interesting idea, but it never goes anywhere with it, but instead chases you through hallways and rooms that look all alike from start to finish. The music is terribly boring. I couldn't bring myself to finish it yet, but I'm somewhere close to the final boss and have no desire to complete this.

    I also cannot understand why people give this a great score saying: "Well, it was cheap, what can you expect?"

    First of all, it's not noticably cheaper than a lot of very good other games on PSN, unless you got it for "free" as a Plus member. In general, for "cheap", I will expect and accept a SHORT game, not a BAD one. In this case, I got both, but the sad thing is, it's so bad I soon wished it was even shorter.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    I have played Hydrophobia on Xbox 360 and PC - so was really interested to see how the game would turn out on PS3. I am not disappointed - theI have played Hydrophobia on Xbox 360 and PC - so was really interested to see how the game would turn out on PS3. I am not disappointed - the conversion to PS3 has delivered what I consider to be the best iteration of the game yet.

    The water is even more impressive now. No doubt making excellent use of the PS3's extra processing grunt.

    The price is so reasonable that you just have to give it a go.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    played the 360 version of this,the very 1st one.bought this one when i saw it pop up on psn,more because i wanted to dust off my moveplayed the 360 version of this,the very 1st one.bought this one when i saw it pop up on psn,more because i wanted to dust off my move controller and this was cheap.read e revie on sixth axis which made me interested to see the changes.so far it looks much better,but the main thing for me is that the move controls are really good,i was surprised.didnt really like using move for resi5 and socom.enjoyin this loads more than last time.i reckon the 1st hydrohobia i played on 360 i woud have given a 6 maybe 7,but this one is a 8/9 for me. still stare at the water when it sloshes around,sure it looks even better.actually enjoyin playin this on move! Full Review »