Hydrophobia Prophecy PlayStation 3

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 42
  2. Negative: 14 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    This week I have been in game heaven - so many great releases - I have to say that Hydrophobia Prophecy was a bit of a surprise for me. I only downloaded it frankly because it was so cheap; a fiver!! The value in this game is phenomenal. No it is not Uncharted 3 (which I also bought) but astoundingly it holds up well in comparison - I actually found the combat more engaging inThis week I have been in game heaven - so many great releases - I have to say that Hydrophobia Prophecy was a bit of a surprise for me. I only downloaded it frankly because it was so cheap; a fiver!! The value in this game is phenomenal. No it is not Uncharted 3 (which I also bought) but astoundingly it holds up well in comparison - I actually found the combat more engaging in Hydrophobia, but there you go. No this is a cracking little game that is unbelievable value for a fiver and the water effects are something else. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    for less than a tenner I dont think there has ever been a better bargain on PSN, and move enabled too this swayed me to take a punt and I agree with bennyboy the controls are really good. The storys interesting and the water tech is quite something, cant go wrong for a decent 6-7 hours of original gameplay.
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    I have played Hydrophobia on Xbox 360 and PC - so was really interested to see how the game would turn out on PS3. I am not disappointed - the conversion to PS3 has delivered what I consider to be the best iteration of the game yet.

    The water is even more impressive now. No doubt making excellent use of the PS3's extra processing grunt. The price is so reasonable that you just have to
    I have played Hydrophobia on Xbox 360 and PC - so was really interested to see how the game would turn out on PS3. I am not disappointed - the conversion to PS3 has delivered what I consider to be the best iteration of the game yet.

    The water is even more impressive now. No doubt making excellent use of the PS3's extra processing grunt.

    The price is so reasonable that you just have to give it a go.
    Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    played the 360 version of this,the very 1st one.bought this one when i saw it pop up on psn,more because i wanted to dust off my move controller and this was cheap.read e revie on sixth axis which made me interested to see the changes.so far it looks much better,but the main thing for me is that the move controls are really good,i was surprised.didnt really like using move for resi5 andplayed the 360 version of this,the very 1st one.bought this one when i saw it pop up on psn,more because i wanted to dust off my move controller and this was cheap.read e revie on sixth axis which made me interested to see the changes.so far it looks much better,but the main thing for me is that the move controls are really good,i was surprised.didnt really like using move for resi5 and socom.enjoyin this loads more than last time.i reckon the 1st hydrohobia i played on 360 i woud have given a 6 maybe 7,but this one is a 8/9 for me. still stare at the water when it sloshes around,sure it looks even better.actually enjoyin playin this on move! Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    AWESOME GAME! This is a TRUE tomb raider competitor. Its got a great story, good action, realistic water effects! AND A GREAT PRICE! This game should come to Disk in north america instead of digital. It will sell. DO NOT LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE WHO RATED IT BAD! THERE LARA CROFT FAN BOYS, OR THE GAME IS TOO HARD FOR THEM. It is very cool and im enjoying it. The only thing that needs fixed: ITAWESOME GAME! This is a TRUE tomb raider competitor. Its got a great story, good action, realistic water effects! AND A GREAT PRICE! This game should come to Disk in north america instead of digital. It will sell. DO NOT LISTEN TO THE PEOPLE WHO RATED IT BAD! THERE LARA CROFT FAN BOYS, OR THE GAME IS TOO HARD FOR THEM. It is very cool and im enjoying it. The only thing that needs fixed: IT NEEDS A SEQUEL! HAHAHA! Thanks Dark energy for making it. Cant wait to buy Number 2. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    I have downloading hydrophobia for free on my playstation 3 from network. it must have glich cause cant find second antidote in act 3 part 1-2. searched walk throughs IGN and you tube. Already know that PC and XBOX game play is not the same. On PC and XBOX it is on level dead man by door when first walk into water filled room. Not playstation 3 game. cant find it. Virus kills me. So atI have downloading hydrophobia for free on my playstation 3 from network. it must have glich cause cant find second antidote in act 3 part 1-2. searched walk throughs IGN and you tube. Already know that PC and XBOX game play is not the same. On PC and XBOX it is on level dead man by door when first walk into water filled room. Not playstation 3 game. cant find it. Virus kills me. So at this point stuck in middle of good game without answer till someone does a walkthrough on PS3. Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    My move controller has been gathering a lot of dust lately, then this comes along. Finally a decent game with move controls that isn't on rails. Some of the elements are a little rough around the edges but the water physics are spectacular and for the price, you can't go wrong.
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the first time I've played through Hydrophobia and my main reason for holding off was the reviews the game previously received. But hey I got it for free on PSN+ so I felt compelled togive it a go. Having played the game (short as it is) I can say I don't fully agree with past reviews, yea it might appear to look a bit dated but its a PSN game not a full retail print! so let's throw that argument straight out th window. With that aside whats actually wrong with the game? It has everything a third person action shooter needs, a story, weapons, super powers and a end game boss fight. In all honesty I can't see why certain reviewers gave this as little has 4/10 it clearly deserves more than that, it's a new ip on new engine that works! Isn't that the important thing, it does everything it should do and it works, not only that but you will have fun playing it. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Feb 2, 2012
    50
    Perhaps 'ambitious' is the absolute best thing we can say about Hydrophobia Prophecy. List its features and goals as bullet points and it sounds incredible, but in the end it H2-blows. [January 2012, p.75]
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    75
    The former Xbox 360-exclusive finally comes to PS3 and the good news is that the game is a lot better than it used to be. The game received numerous patches on the Xbox 360, which are all integrated in the PS3-version. The biggest attraction are the water effects. [December 2011, p.100]
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    68
    Hydrophobia is ultimately a hit or miss title, arguably appropriate for it's method of release, yet leaving a bland taste in your mouth regardless.