Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    52
    There may be plenty of "hours" of gameplay, but when that time is stuffed with pointless dialogue and boring game design, it can't be counted as time well spent.
  2. Mar 31, 2012
    65
    Combined with technical aspects that feel like it doesn't use its resources well enough, and you have a title that'll only reach RPG fans who want a little fan service on the side. Still, for those people, it's at least worth a rental if you want something other than the big RPG releases from the last few months.
  3. Mar 3, 2012
    50
    There are better satires of gaming in other forms, and they likely won't leave you feeling kind of dirty afterwards.
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Hyperdimension Neptunia mk2 is an improvement on the original that offers some fun gameplay elements unique to this sequel. While those new to the series might pass it over, it's still a fun game that is both charming and enjoyable. It is not necessary to be familiar with the original game as mk2 will quickly bring you up to speed on the unfolding events. Hyperdimension Neptunia mk2 is highly recommended for fans of the original and for RPG fans looking for an engaging, humorous and one-of-a-kind experience.
  5. Feb 28, 2012
    70
    This game is for the fans of comedy and slice of life anime series. You won't get high octane action, but you will get a decent RPG if you keep an open mind. It is very much a niche title that I would suggest for only anime fans and RPG players. I'll be the first to admit, this game is a huge improvement over the first game. I actually had a decent time playing Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2.
  6. The combat is still woeful. [Apr 2012, p.97]
  7. May 24, 2012
    60
    It would be easy to not recommend Hyperdimension Neptunia mk2 since it's so repetitive and not very pretty, and players spend a lot of time reading scripted events. That said, I love the women-one of the villains included-and these weaknesses are part of the game's charm for me.
  8. Mar 22, 2012
    40
    Many niche JRPG fans will find this to be exactly what they're looking for but to the casual gamers out there, steer clear.
  9. If you're into the cartoon 12-year-olds, adjust the score up a few points. Otherwise, avert your eyes and move along. [Apr 2012, p.77]
  10. Mar 28, 2012
    70
    Hyperdimension Neptunia MK2 is easily a better game than its predecessor, though it's still not going to be for everyone. The game is slotted into a very niche market, a market where people love anime and moe-infused girl characters. Don't like this? Then you'll hate this game, simple.
  11. A sequel nobody asked for, and it knows it. Hugely unnecessary. [May 2012, p78]
  12. Feb 28, 2012
    60
    What's frustrating about Hyperdimension Neptunia mk2 is that it's a game with a good concept and a battle system that has the potential to be fantastic if refined. What it ends up being, though, is a game with the smallest bit of quality at its core, surrounded by a suite of atrociously subpar elements.
  13. 60
    Makes some great improvements over the first and is by far the better game, but not as much better as we would hope. The gameplay takes a huge step forward to provide the fun, albeit easy, combat that the first game lacked. However, the story takes a huge step back, making even the game of golf seem interesting, which becomes even more frustrating with the quick and small dungeons that push you quickly back to the story.
  14. Mar 13, 2012
    60
    Even though there is some competence to be found on a basic level, it will scare away western gamers with its frugal looks, some almost incomprehensible cultural references to the more obscure side of Japanese gaming and its obsession with the shameless presentation of anime-women, who seem to be just a bit too young. Neptunia wants to polarize and you can love it for this or hate it. This game doesn´t care one bit.
  15. Mar 3, 2012
    50
    Where the original Hyperdimension Neptunia showed so much potential, its sequel falls flat on its face in most ways.
  16. Feb 27, 2012
    70
    Ultimately, Hyperdimension Neptunia mk2 is a much, much better game than its predecessor. While the script isn't as funny as the first and tends to cross the line of good taste a few times too often, the improvements to the gameplay, the more diverse cast, and the better developed world all solidify it as an actually enjoyable game. It's much shorter than the original Hyperdimension Neptunia, clocking in at a little over twenty hours, but in many ways that's a good thing, not a bad thing. I couldn't be more pleasantly surprised.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    I'm sure that like the previous entry in the series, this game will be reviled by critics. However, you shouldn't let their prejudices sway your opinion. Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2 is leaps above its predecessor. Many of the more annoying or cumbersome mechanics have been fixed, and the game is a joy to play. Is it perfect? No, but it's still immense fun. My only complaint is that the battle system, while being quite excellent compared to the phlegmatically-paced bore that was the first game could still stand to be sped up a little. Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    I have to admit, I didn't enjoy the first Hyperdimension Neptunia much. I liked the characters and the setting, but the game mechanics were just terrible. So it was with great trepidation that I bought Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2, hoping that it would just be a LITTLE better than the first game. My expectations were too low, Mk2 completely scraps the old mechanics of the first game and remakes them from the ground up, creating remarkably enjoyable gameplay to go along with the characters and setting we all love. Battles are much more dynamic; characters can roam the battlefield based on their movement stat and set up positional attacks, or block enemy movement. Everything feels much smoother, you won't be jamming L2 to skip attacks all the time like you probably did in the first game. Enemy encounters are also no longer random battles; enemies roam the map and you can choose whether to engage them or not. Random healing has also been done away with, items can be used at any time provided the character has enough AP.

    The new characters are all fairly likable, and there's plenty of time given to the old characters as well. The Lily System is a teasingly pseudo-lesbian meter of how much the other characters like the protagonist, Nepgear. It can be raised by fighting alongside characters as well as viewing events in towns. The system allows you to pair two characters together, with the back-row character providing passive bonuses to the character in front. Combo attacks are also available between certain paired characters if their Lily Rank is high enough. Lily Rank (along with character levels, items and money) carries over to New Game+, so if you don't want to worry about it too much in your first playthrough; you can always just see everything you missed in your second.

    There are a large number of possible endings, 7 in total, with 2 of them being significantly different from the others and one of them being a non-canon hidden ending that is surprisingly serious and dark in an otherwise cheerful game, no doubt one of the reasons this game received an 'M' rating (that, and a particularly perverse slimeball of a boss). Overall, my only complaint would be that the game is on the easy side overall, with the exception of the optional S-Rank Colosseum fights in New Game+. Those will really push your characters to their limits.

    If you liked the first game there's no way in hell that you won't like the sequel, it's an improvement in every way. If you didn't like the first game because of the gameplay but you enjoyed the characters, you may want to consider giving this one another chance.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    8
    The first thing I did when I came back from Japan was to stuff the Blu-Ray of Hyperdimension Neptune Mk2 into the PS3. Given how much I loved the first Hyperdimension Neptune, I could hardly contain my excitement when I got my hands on its sequel. It so happens that the game is STILL in my PS3, because this sequel is just really brilliant.

    The story throws you again in the world of Gameindustri, which is on verge of collapse after an all-out attack by the evil forces of Magiquone. Though less subtle than in the first one, the scenario still gives a entertaining and interesting look on the (real) game industry, the most striking part being the debate about piracy (Magiquone being a metaphor of piracy) between Brave the Hard and Yuni. No article or study could possibly get this better. The rest of the game keeps this very Japanese sense of humor that made the first iteration so awesome, making it once again a pure pleasure to watch.

    When Hyperdimension Neptune Mk2 take the best of Hyperdimension Neptune, it does also fix and improve nearly everything else. The graphics for example see a dramatic improvement, especially regarding character modelling, but backgrounds look somewhat prettier too. The only thing that bugged me is that they changed the 2D animated characters in conversations by 3D ones. While some of them look definitely good (Histoire, Nepgear, Yuni, 5pbâ
    Full Review »