Hyperdimension Neptunia PlayStation 3

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 150
  2. Negative: 36 out of 150
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I'm on IF_Awesome's side here. I have read reviews where people were talking trash about neptunia and yet, they aren't even rpg fans! There is no point in talking trash about a game that you KNOW you won't like. All of you out there who love anime and can tolerate(or like) a little fan service should definitely buy this game. Especially for the comedy, which i think is something we can allI'm on IF_Awesome's side here. I have read reviews where people were talking trash about neptunia and yet, they aren't even rpg fans! There is no point in talking trash about a game that you KNOW you won't like. All of you out there who love anime and can tolerate(or like) a little fan service should definitely buy this game. Especially for the comedy, which i think is something we can all agree on as hilarious Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the review sites, this is a great game! Neptunia and Trinity Universe are two of the most unique games you could ever play. The healing system all of the critics whine about is not based on luck at all, but on percentages. At either level 8 or 9 Neptune already has 100 points and thus can get an automatic heal every time. Most of these "professional" reviewers simplyDon't believe the review sites, this is a great game! Neptunia and Trinity Universe are two of the most unique games you could ever play. The healing system all of the critics whine about is not based on luck at all, but on percentages. At either level 8 or 9 Neptune already has 100 points and thus can get an automatic heal every time. Most of these "professional" reviewers simply played the game for an hour and were upset that Neptunia is something different and proceeded to unjustly bash the game. And honestly look at the cover of the box. If you don't like or are offended by Moe, bishoujo, or anime girls in general then why in the world would you buy this game of be assigned to review it? Rant aside Neptunia has some of the best english voice acting in any game ever. The dialog is superbly written and is absolutely hilarious. The battle system is pretty good, and does take some getting used to. The music is great, and it is too bad that we did not get the sound track as Japanese gamers did. This game is worth buying just for the characters, voice acting, and story alone. Overall a great unique game that is perfect for anyone who likes JRPGs or anime. Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    Seeing as not any of the so called official reviewers can pull their head out of their asses I shall have to compensate for it here a bit. Despite what you have might have read about this game, you should definitely try it out.
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    this game is not for everyone, but it's very entertaining as long as you know what you're getting into. If you're not into RPGs, then don't buy it. If you're not into weird/wacky humor then don't buy it. If you're not into moe stuff, then don't buy it. However if you are into those things then you will find this game to be quite entertaining. There are some minor problems here and there,this game is not for everyone, but it's very entertaining as long as you know what you're getting into. If you're not into RPGs, then don't buy it. If you're not into weird/wacky humor then don't buy it. If you're not into moe stuff, then don't buy it. However if you are into those things then you will find this game to be quite entertaining. There are some minor problems here and there, but not enough to make me dislike the game. Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    If you're not into RPGs, this wont be the game for you. However if you are then this game is really fun. Sure it may not be a good as some of the other RPGs out there, but it is still a good game that you should pick up.
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    I will never ever let my friends see me playing this game but it's actually really enjoyable. I like the story, there's lots of references to other game series, the combat is engrossing as you have to build combo's and customize them and really this game takes about 30 hours minimum to beat so it goes the distance. If you can play this game without anyone discovering your secret shame do it!
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Just finished platinuming this game last night and I can honestly say I enjoyed every minute of it. I've only platinumed Uncharted 2, Assassins Creed 2, Sly Cooper 1 & 2, and this was my 5th. It's a unique JRPG, and yes the combat system is at first terrible but so is riding a bike until you learn how to do it. If you genuinely like JRPGs, you need to give yourself more than a couple ofJust finished platinuming this game last night and I can honestly say I enjoyed every minute of it. I've only platinumed Uncharted 2, Assassins Creed 2, Sly Cooper 1 & 2, and this was my 5th. It's a unique JRPG, and yes the combat system is at first terrible but so is riding a bike until you learn how to do it. If you genuinely like JRPGs, you need to give yourself more than a couple of hours into this game and play it. It truly is a great game. Expand
  8. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    While the gameplay and combat can be a bit underwhelming, it's more then competently put together, especially in comparison to other Jrpgs coming out around the time. This can be forgiven for the rest of the game, the setting, story and characters are all unique and charming enough to completely carry the game. The character interactions probably being the best part.

    The video game
    While the gameplay and combat can be a bit underwhelming, it's more then competently put together, especially in comparison to other Jrpgs coming out around the time. This can be forgiven for the rest of the game, the setting, story and characters are all unique and charming enough to completely carry the game. The character interactions probably being the best part.

    The video game references are all pretty good too, nothing that insults your intelligence or terrible 4 year old memes that other developers like to put in their games.

    Easily the most charming game of the series, and the sound track is pretty good too, though hopefully you'll be able to deal with the combat (Unless Rebirth is out by now in which case play that)

    I wish IF localized their own game though (once again they did for Rebirth)
    Expand
  9. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Excellent game with unique turn based combat, interesting allusions to the gaming industry, and outrageous humor. Many game companies, including Sega, collaborated in the production of this title. Fans of Phantasy Star Online, Street Fighter, Mario, Zelda, and several other titles will appreciate the references and jokes about those games.
  10. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Hyperdimension Neptunia is published by NIS. If you were already reaching for your wallet when you saw "is published by NIS", but are now taken aback by the abysmal metascore of this game, let me tell you, NIS fan to NIS fan, that your instinct was correct: you will love this game. The dub really is stellar (and the Japanese option doesn't have its own subtitles). The item mechanicsHyperdimension Neptunia is published by NIS. If you were already reaching for your wallet when you saw "is published by NIS", but are now taken aback by the abysmal metascore of this game, let me tell you, NIS fan to NIS fan, that your instinct was correct: you will love this game. The dub really is stellar (and the Japanese option doesn't have its own subtitles). The item mechanics might raise the "you must be at least this tall to ride" bar, so to speak, but are very fun and especially fresh if you've been guzzling potions after every fight since Final Fantasy 1. The combos are spectacularly powerful even very early in the game (give Compa an XXXX combo that ends with a Bonus: Combo Link sklll, such as I'll Do My Best. Scaaary.) IF's battle-comment about her sleeves, it never gets old.

    Normally I'd say that User Scores (divided between people whose anger at having wasted money on a disliked game drove them to post, and between people eager to put a smiley-face next to their investment of time and money) are thoroughly trumped by the more serious Critic Scores, but here we have another dynamic: users don't buy games that are obviously not to their tastes, but reviewers still need to try to review such games. And the petty, nasty, I've-never-even-heard-of-"OS-tan" appeals to the reviewer's own ignorance, the OMG-the-cutscenes-are-2d appeals to the reviewer's own bad taste? Those actually make me feel like my purchase was especially lucky; I think: it's a very good thing I wasn't persuaded by these reviewers!
    Expand
  11. Oct 8, 2011
    8
    The press unfortunately destroyed an innovative and unique JRPG. Character design will please anime fans without the shadow of a doubt. The others will pass but it's a niche game : no need to consider all the players when reviewing it. A sense humor never seen in the West, repetitive but addicting gameplay, good difficulty balance and surprisingly deep scenario makes it a must-have for anyThe press unfortunately destroyed an innovative and unique JRPG. Character design will please anime fans without the shadow of a doubt. The others will pass but it's a niche game : no need to consider all the players when reviewing it. A sense humor never seen in the West, repetitive but addicting gameplay, good difficulty balance and surprisingly deep scenario makes it a must-have for any JRPG/anime lover. Expand
  12. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Amazing JRPG despite all negative reviews many critics have given them, mainly because of the humour and lovable characters. Light-hearted with an interesting concept, this game is definitely a must buy.
  13. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    Gameplay - 9/10. Graphics - 8/10. Sound - 7/10. Overall - 8/10. Overall, this was a good game. It has an interesting story concept a ton of customization if that's your thing. It was enjoyable, and I didn
  14. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Just Love it. Nothin more to say, just love it.

    Would recommend to everyone with a good taste for games.

    Its funny, have a good story, have a very good visual design. Just everything is fine =)

    Thats how a game should be! This game is entertainment.
  15. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Critics are completely missing the point of this game. This is a classic-style NIS game, which consistently breaks the fourth wall (for instance, during her lengthy transformation sequence in battle, Neptune says, "No attacking while I'm transforming!" Or, for another example, a minor character dies at some point, and someone exclaims, "I figured he was going to die at some point in theCritics are completely missing the point of this game. This is a classic-style NIS game, which consistently breaks the fourth wall (for instance, during her lengthy transformation sequence in battle, Neptune says, "No attacking while I'm transforming!" Or, for another example, a minor character dies at some point, and someone exclaims, "I figured he was going to die at some point in the story. He didn't even have a portrait." Or, also, "Don't bother arguing with him, Neptune. He's an NPC, you can't fight him."). The general idea of the game is simple, but excellent implemented with some key RPG problems being averted. For instance, you know how in most RPGs, after healing, you lose your turn, only to lose all your health again? Here, you auto-heal and auto-revive with elements if you take enough damage, making it so you don't have to worry about that, and can always focus on attacking. The combat mechanics are very good, and extremely flashy. Random battles really suck, but thankfully, they're sporadic in this game, and you can go a long while without running into one. But, really, let's just forget everything else: This is a game about extremely attractive manga girls fighting in a game that only they seem to know is a video game, where you do quests and advance the story and watch humorous event sequences. It's fun, funny, lengthy, loaded with potential DLC, and the character graphics and animations are exceptional. Transformations in particular are just gorgeous. As long as you know what you're getting into in this game, you already know whether you'll like it or not. Like manga girls in an RPG that makes fun of itself and its own genre, is full of ecchi, and is entertaining and hliarious? Well, here it is. Definitely recommended. Expand
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 31
  2. Negative: 13 out of 31
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 6, 2011
    80
    As fun as it can be, Neptunia is an extremely niche title. If the only game you ever play is Black Ops, avoid this like a spinning-up death machine. If, however, you really miss the JRPG heydays of the PSone and PS2, you need this. Now. [June 2011 p76]
  2. Jul 7, 2011
    75
    If Hyperdimension Neptunia's take on the JRPG doesn't break any new ground, it's certainly a step in the right direction for the developers. More accessible than Trinity: Universe while maintaining and expanding on that game's witty style, HDN is another perfect title for anyone looking for an easy entry to the genre, or really anyone who appreciates some laugh-out-loud comedy with their RPGing.
  3. May 27, 2011
    63
    Hyperdimension Neptunia is a game dedicated to an audience of fans of Anime and RPGs. It is a classic dungeon crawling JRPG with a intresting battle system, a pretty and fun shallow story, and also a poor graphic. If you are a fan of this genre, or just want something different and want to play a fun humorous game, this game is definitely recommended.