User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 115
  2. Negative: 30 out of 115

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    My experience of I Am Alive so far has been one of intensity, intrigue, and just plain fun/entertainment. I was worried at first that my top notch experience with The Last of Us would somehow overshadow I Am Alive, but so far, this has not been so. While the two games have been cited numerous times in comparison (and some of which I can definitely see) they play a great deal differently.My experience of I Am Alive so far has been one of intensity, intrigue, and just plain fun/entertainment. I was worried at first that my top notch experience with The Last of Us would somehow overshadow I Am Alive, but so far, this has not been so. While the two games have been cited numerous times in comparison (and some of which I can definitely see) they play a great deal differently. Perhaps this is due to I Am Alive's harsher game play style which incorporates a stressful stamina gauge, few and far between resources, and unforgiving combat situations.

    So whats good about I Am Alive?

    - The combat is completely unique (so far I have never encountered combat scenarios as unforgiving and perhaps realistic as this). The groups of street thugs that you encounter throughout the game react in such a way that you are forced, as the gamer, to think fast on your feet in any given combat situation. The player is tasked to swiftly seek out which thugs have guns and which don't, differentiate between the tougher ones and the weaker ones, and make quick decisions such as: use up the 1 bullet resource they have, sneak attack and then fire, back one up to a cliff and push them off, etc - all in a matter of about 1 minute. This inevitably ends up making every twist and turn of the game suspenseful and stressful, but yet exhilarating all the same and when (and if) you manage to survive these encounters, you'll feel like you really survived the ordeal.
    - The pace of the game - I Am Alive moves slow at times (exploring and scavenging) and fast at others (think combat and climbing scenarios with quickly depleting health/stamina). I'm a huge fan of this type of game play as 10 minutes you may spend somewhat peaceably exploring around and maneuvering a strategic climb and the very next 2 minutes be faced with an intense combat situation. All in all, game moves just slow enough and fast enough at times to keep me interested and ready to keep uncovering what might happen next in the story.

    What's bad in I Am Alive?

    - The stamina gauge and scarcity of resources. I am hesitant to put this here, but in all honesty and as much as I appreciate how this provides a new level of realism to the game play, it can be more of a pain than enjoyable.
    - The retry system. This does add a sense of "I can't just go in and mess up and reload directly from where I was two seconds before" like games such as Fallout 3 may offer, which adds to the suspense and stress of needing to get it right the first time around. However, this just doesn't happen - or at least hasn't in my experience so far in playing I Am Alive. In fact, more often than not it takes me several "retries" to get through a combat situation and there has been more than one occasion where I have been placed back at the beginning of the last time the game decided to save and redo a 10 minute segment of game play - and this definitely detracts from the enjoyability of the game.
    - The voice acting. Simply put, it's not that great.

    So, in my opinion, if you're an enthusiast of post-apocalyptic settings and narrative, enjoy games such as The Last of Us, Fallout 3, Shadow of the Colossus, and other mediums of entertainment such as The Road and The Book of Eli - you will most likely see the allure that I Am Alive has to offer.

    The game overall may be a bit weak in several areas but it definitely succeeds in providing a rich, fresh, and intense/entertaining journey through a post-apocalyptic setting that relies more heavily on survival and less on cheap thrills or unrealistic amounts of resources/ammo/guns.

    That's my take. Hope it helps in some way or another.
    Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    8
    This is such a climatic game it's a great shame it's so short. I mean really, the atmosphere in this game is its main attribute. Everything else lays in its shadow. There aren't many aspects I'd change and I wish there will be second game in the future. I guess you either love it or hate it. I loved it.
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    7
    While "I Am Alive" has some very real and frustrating technical problems, gamers in search of something unique, compelling, and engaging deserve to give this one a try. Just prepare yourself for a few moments of frustration and wishing they'd just given the game a little... more... polish. First the bad news, the game really does have clumsy and frustrating controls. Climbing aWhile "I Am Alive" has some very real and frustrating technical problems, gamers in search of something unique, compelling, and engaging deserve to give this one a try. Just prepare yourself for a few moments of frustration and wishing they'd just given the game a little... more... polish. First the bad news, the game really does have clumsy and frustrating controls. Climbing a perilous set of pipes high up the side of a crumbling skyscraper should cause your pulse to race, not your blood to boil as you can't quite get your character into the right spot to climb. Combat, which you're forced into regularly, requires a nimbleness that the game inputs just don't give you, and paired with an oddly-concepted "retry" system, players can find themselves wasting a lot of time replaying whole chapters because of an inability to properly control their character as desired. That said, the game has so many good ideas that bely a game that could have been really terrific. While the ash-fall that permeates most areas might be a graphical cover-up, it really does invoke a sense of despondency, claustrophobia, and foreboding that characterizes this game of "survival". While the game's city is overwhelmingly deserted and empty, one never loses the sense that danger, be it environmental or human, is omnipresent. Mission goals feel realistic, and human interactions, both sympathetic and threatening, feel true to what might happen in such a scenario. When you're not wrestling the controls to do what you want to do, the game is at turns compelling, frightening, moving, and a hell of a lot of fun. Be prepared for a few throw your controller moments, and a sigh of frustration when you realize how much better the game could have been, but enjoy this affordably priced, sometimes-flawed survival-adventure for what it is, and you might just come out alive. Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    I have been playing Skyrim and nothing else since December so I decided to give this a go (because it is a download I didn't have to take my Skyrim disc out of my PS3). I think that I needed this game. The graphics are a bit rubbish but only because they have a lot to live up to. I really enjoyed the sense of urgency you get when your stamina depletes while climbing or running through theI have been playing Skyrim and nothing else since December so I decided to give this a go (because it is a download I didn't have to take my Skyrim disc out of my PS3). I think that I needed this game. The graphics are a bit rubbish but only because they have a lot to live up to. I really enjoyed the sense of urgency you get when your stamina depletes while climbing or running through the dust covered streets. It's quite a linear game but you can go off the set path to assist people you hear calling to you though the dust clouds. Every person you help imparts a snippet of information about the 'event' and brings you up to date on what has happened since. I haven't finished the game yet but I do know that it is a short journey (10-12 hours maybe) that will soon be over. Put it this way - it's been an enjoyable and challenging diversion. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    I loved playing this survival game (no horror, just survival). I loved the scarcity of supplies, weapons and ammo. I loved being able to kill the leader in a pack of enemies and then intimidate the weaker ones to surrender. I loved getting stuck facing off against 3-5 enemies with only one bullet in my gun and having to think fast on my feet and then SURVIVING. I loved the graphics, bothI loved playing this survival game (no horror, just survival). I loved the scarcity of supplies, weapons and ammo. I loved being able to kill the leader in a pack of enemies and then intimidate the weaker ones to surrender. I loved getting stuck facing off against 3-5 enemies with only one bullet in my gun and having to think fast on my feet and then SURVIVING. I loved the graphics, both the toxic haze covering everything at street level and the skyscrapers collapsed onto each other above the dust. I loved climbing my way through an office building on its side, with everything topsy-turvy. I loved helping Mai and her mother, and the random survivors looking for food or first aid or just a last cigarette before they die. I loved "I Am Alive". 9/10 Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    I found "I am alive" to be quite a surprising game. It has a lot of personality and it's a very, very ambitious downloadable title. It plays very nicely, it has great atmosphere, with constant fear and tension in the air; and, most importantly, the idea of not knowing what's around the corner. This makes any decision count, even the smallest one. To put it simple, if they had added aI found "I am alive" to be quite a surprising game. It has a lot of personality and it's a very, very ambitious downloadable title. It plays very nicely, it has great atmosphere, with constant fear and tension in the air; and, most importantly, the idea of not knowing what's around the corner. This makes any decision count, even the smallest one. To put it simple, if they had added a couple of zombies this game would easily be what the Resident Evil franchise is trying FOR YEARS without success. It's definitely worth a look! Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2012
    7
    This game is actually good. The graphics aren't THAT bad as most of the people are saying. The intimidation combat system is great and it invovoles strategy. This game is a great challenge because bullets and food are limited. The way the enviroment is designed is interesting. The "idea" of the story is interesting. But only 5 hours? A bit disappointing. But the price tag is really goodThis game is actually good. The graphics aren't THAT bad as most of the people are saying. The intimidation combat system is great and it invovoles strategy. This game is a great challenge because bullets and food are limited. The way the enviroment is designed is interesting. The "idea" of the story is interesting. But only 5 hours? A bit disappointing. But the price tag is really good (20$). Graphics can be better and a longer gameplay will make it better. Expand
  8. May 1, 2012
    8
    This game is just plain fun. Its strategy mixed with a little bit of uncertaintity as to whats around the next corner. I Am Alive is a very solid title out of Ubisoftt Shanghi well worth the $15 price tag. If youve yet to play, I recommend picking it up ASAP!
  9. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Graphics: There is no excuse why a game in 2012 on the PS3 should look like that, overall extremely yesterday and then there's some sort of filter over the screen where you can guess what it's trying to do, but it just looks bad. The way the game keeps a short draw distance looks amateurish as well, but the fact it has a short draw distance works in favour of it, both because the gameGraphics: There is no excuse why a game in 2012 on the PS3 should look like that, overall extremely yesterday and then there's some sort of filter over the screen where you can guess what it's trying to do, but it just looks bad. The way the game keeps a short draw distance looks amateurish as well, but the fact it has a short draw distance works in favour of it, both because the game would probably look even more ugly could you see further and because it helps set a certain mood.

    The actual design of the game is mostly kind of good, but pretty much what you'd expect from the setting. Despite the poor graphics, the visuals create an oppressing, intimidating atmosphere.

    The sound isn't too good. There could've been more background noises and the music suffers a bit from being linked to the stamina: it becomes more and more stressful the more you lose stamina, which is interesting at first but loses impact very soon when you hear the same tune start over and over again everytime you run a bit or climb around.

    Good: Combat. You'll fear every encounter. Some claim it's always the same, but even though, of course, the general strategy you want to follow doesn't change, you still need to apply it correctly. You must observe within seconds who's the main threat, who has the guns, who's wearing armour. How to deal with the enemies, in which order and by which means so that you will use as least resources as possible. This creates a lot of tension and in some areas, it's as scary as it gets without being a horror game.

    Good: Stamina. Keeping an eye on the protagonist's breath is a source of tension, too, and will keep you on the edge during the climbing sections.

    Good: Scarce ammunition and, to a degree, health items. This will force you to think during combat and you'll try to defeat the enemies with little to no shots being fired.

    Okay: Climbing. The stamina bar makes it tense, but other than that, the climbing sections are very generic, uninspired and mostly very linear.

    Okay: Helping victims. First of all, I hated that you couldn't get back to a lot of them even though it should've been possible, but the game wouldn't let you, insisting on going to your next objective instead. This kills the little open world feeling there was left in the game. Also, all the work is pretty much for nothing.

    Bad: The whole â
    Expand
  10. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    best game ever i found it so cool i thought it be like jumping on building crawling etc bout find out u can help people threaten people kill em slash em etc wish it was not downloadable game but disc alone
  11. Jul 23, 2012
    1
    Oh good, a post-apocalyptic adventure-shooter with an amoral, raspy-throated protagonist. We
  12. Apr 23, 2012
    3
    This game felt like a huge let down. After this being in the top 30 in Gamesradar's list of Games to Look Forward to in 2012 I was happy to give it a chance. The write up heralds it as an ambitious "leap forward" claiming it's intimidation based combat will set a new trend in gaming. And it felt somewhat like that until I found that it was 100% gimmick. Once that illusion wasThis game felt like a huge let down. After this being in the top 30 in Gamesradar's list of Games to Look Forward to in 2012 I was happy to give it a chance. The write up heralds it as an ambitious "leap forward" claiming it's intimidation based combat will set a new trend in gaming. And it felt somewhat like that until I found that it was 100% gimmick. Once that illusion was shattered It was all downhill from there. The visuals were practically copy pasted from Fallout 3's amazing Capital Wasteland without the benefit of being a sandbox. Completely linear game play leaves no room for imagination nor any reason to ever play it a second time. Ultimately I want my money back and more importantly I want my faith in the industry back. Expand
  13. Apr 13, 2012
    6
    I Am Alive is a digital game, and for this to give you a small discount.
    At the outset we notice something, the game is simply ugly, is not about graphics, but beauty, and I Am Alive has none.
    Then there is the Stamina system, which becomes annoying over time, in scalding the minimum error or delay, leads us to fail the next resting point and the stamina runs out. The fighting system is
    I Am Alive is a digital game, and for this to give you a small discount.
    At the outset we notice something, the game is simply ugly, is not about graphics, but beauty, and I Am Alive has none.
    Then there is the Stamina system, which becomes annoying over time, in scalding the minimum error or delay, leads us to fail the next resting point and the stamina runs out.
    The fighting system is also annoying for two reasons, if we find two groups with weapons and we have only one bullet is the same as being death, and the worst is that this is common because the bullets are stupidly limited.
    There is still Retryes system, which is beyond useless torn an obstacle and an irritation to the player.
    The narrative also brings nothing to the game, tath all together creates a game that barely stand in the median. However, this could be a set of 8/9, since the concept is interesting, unfortunately it was poorly executed.
    Expand
  14. Jun 4, 2012
    4
    The game sounds great on paper, but the game just feels very unpolished. Combat is interesting, but the controls are poor, the visuals are sub-par and it just doesn't have anything good to offer.
  15. Apr 9, 2012
    4
    Graphics = Lame, Controls = Lame, Gameplay = Lame... what a disappointment. First, the whole "retries" thing is ridiculous. You play through a very long section, maybe lose a retry along the way fighting off a gang, get close to the end of the chapter having to climb up the side of a building, but it's not necessarily clear where you need to go because everything is pretty much just aGraphics = Lame, Controls = Lame, Gameplay = Lame... what a disappointment. First, the whole "retries" thing is ridiculous. You play through a very long section, maybe lose a retry along the way fighting off a gang, get close to the end of the chapter having to climb up the side of a building, but it's not necessarily clear where you need to go because everything is pretty much just a shade of grey, so you burn your retries trying to figure out what the game wants you to do...your stamina burns ridiculously quick, you are out of retries, so now you need to start the whole chapter over again for another 15-20 minutes waste of time hoping that maybe you'll figure out what needs to be done at the end and not run out of retries AGAIN before figuring it out..... How hard is it to have a save system for a game... uggg! So be prepared to do a good deal of repeated play. (The limited "retries" thing might have been a neat idea for a hardcore play) Also, there is almost nothing in the way of "findables" along the way, so there is really no reason to waste tons of time looking in uncountable empty corners and alleyways, there isn't anything there... If you are lucky enough to have come across the exact thing a person needs, you might find out a little of the story if you give that one thing to them, but these occurrences are few and far between and offer such minimal story elements to really keep any story going in the game. If you just don't want to waste a ton of time finding that one thing, then not much of the story seems to come through otherwise. I wanted to like the game, and I am pretty easy going, but I had hopes for this game that just disappoints on too many key things that make a game fun... constant repeating is not one of them. My excitement for The Last of Us has now also waned if it turns out to be anything like I am Alive. Expand
  16. Apr 6, 2012
    5
    As a $15 download "I Am Alive" was disappointing. Had it cost $50, I wouldn't be disappointed, I'd be angry. And my rating would be 2 instead of 5. ~ After trudging through visually, interactively and accessibly limited landscape while fighting extremely redundant skirmishes with nearly identical gangs, it seemed it may get a tiny bit interesting. Unfortunately it was only the last of theAs a $15 download "I Am Alive" was disappointing. Had it cost $50, I wouldn't be disappointed, I'd be angry. And my rating would be 2 instead of 5. ~ After trudging through visually, interactively and accessibly limited landscape while fighting extremely redundant skirmishes with nearly identical gangs, it seemed it may get a tiny bit interesting. Unfortunately it was only the last of the 18-20 chapters I found compelling. ~ O.k., I beat the game, now I can at least go back and play the one fun mission right? Wrong! The game deletes all of the levels on completion! You have to start over! NOT worth it. ~ Out of hundreds of games I've played, this has the least replay value of them all. ~ Even as a $15 download it is one of my most regrettable game purchases. Expand
  17. Apr 17, 2012
    0
    Is very bad very bad draw
    Graphics is very clear!!!
    Game from a big company and is perfect!!! Announcement of a year ago!!! What is this game!!! Please delete it from your computer quickly!
  18. Dec 18, 2012
    7
    So far one of the best Survival games I've played...Its no tedious with crafting, skills, leveling, its SIMPLE. Which helps keep you sucked in the game. climbing could be a bit more smooth. Overall, I hope to see moar.
  19. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Just terrible on every level. I can't think of a single thing I enjoyed about the game. Even the "saving the game" aspect of it was frustrating. It made the game more redundant than challenging. A lot of bad climbing with poor combat. Graphics are dull and lifeless as well. I know its a post apocalyptic dust covered wasteland but I don't enjoy my games to be in black and white. As far asJust terrible on every level. I can't think of a single thing I enjoyed about the game. Even the "saving the game" aspect of it was frustrating. It made the game more redundant than challenging. A lot of bad climbing with poor combat. Graphics are dull and lifeless as well. I know its a post apocalyptic dust covered wasteland but I don't enjoy my games to be in black and white. As far as "survival" games go this one falls short as well. Scavenging really isn't scavenging when you simply find resources glowing on the ground. I prefer searching in burnt out cars and other places similar to a Fallout style survival game then just finding them in the corner of an alley. As a kid trying to work his way through school on a limited budget, thanks for wasting my money. Expand
  20. Aug 19, 2014
    0
    This game sucked so much. Constantly playing the same things over and over because you have a limit to retries. It could have been a fun time-waster if they had done more and given you more storyline. This game was nothing but a waste of money and time. 0/10
  21. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    grande jogo sobre o fim do mundo, belos graficos, belo precinho camarada, recomendo para qualquer um que que queira pagar pouco e se divertir muito neste game da renomada Ubisoft
  22. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    This game is so insanely boring. Words don't do it justice. You basically climb, run, jump. All of these things take stamina. While it theoretically adds to the experience, I simply found it tedious. You deal with small groups of enemies with limited ammunition. This requires you to think about each bullet you spend. The gameplay is clunky and awkward. The story is pretty boring as well,This game is so insanely boring. Words don't do it justice. You basically climb, run, jump. All of these things take stamina. While it theoretically adds to the experience, I simply found it tedious. You deal with small groups of enemies with limited ammunition. This requires you to think about each bullet you spend. The gameplay is clunky and awkward. The story is pretty boring as well, and ends in a ridiculously unnecessary cliffhanger. Expand
  23. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    This is a good game, a really good game. "I Am Alive" was much better then I expected it to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. This game is very tense, from little things like if you'll have enough energy to finish your climb without having to use some of your, oh so valuable resources, or having to take on five guys with only two bullets. Not to mention the parts ofThis is a good game, a really good game. "I Am Alive" was much better then I expected it to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. This game is very tense, from little things like if you'll have enough energy to finish your climb without having to use some of your, oh so valuable resources, or having to take on five guys with only two bullets. Not to mention the parts of the game where you can help other survivors by giving them some of your items, if you help them you'll be rewarded with points, a retry, and gamerpoints if you help them all, if you don't help them they will die (in one mission if you don't help someone, she later kills herself).The story is paper thin, but that's ok because this game is all about a mostly lonely atmosphere. On your first play through it will most likely take you anywhere for 4-6 hours to complete. Don't listen to the critics that scored this game 4.5/10, it's much better then that and it's well worth your money. I give it a 7.5 out of 10. Expand
  24. Feb 12, 2014
    5
    I'll mention the pros first. The music is actually very good. The main menu theme sounds like Heavy Rain, and it helps create a very solitary, yet dangerous atmosphere. The voice acting is also good, and sounds rather professional. The control ideas are interesting, such as the ability to lose stamina while climbing, and how combat actually becomes a puzzle game based on your enemiesI'll mention the pros first. The music is actually very good. The main menu theme sounds like Heavy Rain, and it helps create a very solitary, yet dangerous atmosphere. The voice acting is also good, and sounds rather professional. The control ideas are interesting, such as the ability to lose stamina while climbing, and how combat actually becomes a puzzle game based on your enemies and the strategy you need to take in order to come out alive. Those are the good things. What is bad about the game is that it is a boring and frustrating experience that I wouldn't want to go through again. The map is difficult to follow, the world is difficult to explore unless you know everything about it, and dead ends are seemingly unlimited while you're looking for somewhere to replenish your stamina. 4-6 is more than enough of this dull, grey, out of focus, oppressive environment. Expand
  25. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    This game had potential at the beginning i enjoyed the climbing and all round atmosphere, but what let this game down was its linear first person mode and repetitive AI confrontation's I was bored fairly quick
  26. Nov 7, 2014
    8
    Since this game’s conception, I Am Alive has had a very rocky development history. Originally started in 2003, nothing concrete came along until 2008, when a trailer at E3 was shown. Since then, it was cancelled, passed on to Ubisoft, re-engineered, and finally released in 2012. After such a horrible development cycle, you would expect I Am Alive to be a very poor title, which only makesSince this game’s conception, I Am Alive has had a very rocky development history. Originally started in 2003, nothing concrete came along until 2008, when a trailer at E3 was shown. Since then, it was cancelled, passed on to Ubisoft, re-engineered, and finally released in 2012. After such a horrible development cycle, you would expect I Am Alive to be a very poor title, which only makes it all the more surprising that I Am Alive manages to be the impressive title that it is.

    I Am Alive takes place one year after an unspecified disaster known as “the Event” has left the world in ruins. Dust fills the atmosphere and frequent earthquakes have destroyed all of the major cities. Your character, who was on the other side of the country when the event happened, has finally made it back to the town of Haventon, where he hopes to find his family. He arrives only to find that his family has left, and it’s his goal at that point to find them.

    Navigating the ruined city isn't easy. Haventon’s destroyed, the dust is thick, violent scavengers are everywhere and supplies are scarce, which make up all of the right elements for a survivor game. Finding supplies is key to your survival because you’ll need the food to replenish your lost health and stamina, which are tied to one of the main gameplay mechanics; climbing.

    Because Haventon is broken, climbing is the only real way to navigate it. Scaling ledges and poles is something many other games have done, but I Am Alive has its own unique take on it with the stamina bar. Any action you make that requires any effort costs stamina, climbing included. As you climb, your stamina will drain and if it drains all the way, your stamina bar will deplete next, which decreases the max stamina you have. This mechanic is simple, but it adds so much extra tension, not just because you have to hurry, but also because you don’t know how far it’ll be before you can replenish your stamina again. Be assured, you will lose both before this game’s over, so you must have supplies to replenish it.

    The stamina bar also come into play in areas with heavy dust, where your stamina will drain due to the lack of oxygen. The only real complaint is these areas are also large and open, which encourages you to scavenge for supplies, but also discourages you at the same time with your constantly draining stamina.
    Aside from supplies and climbing, the other main form of gameplay is dealing with humans. Some want your help. Others just want to be left alone. Most of them want your supplies, and they’re willing to take it from you. This is where the second gameplay mechanic comes in; hold ups.

    When attacked, you’ll have the opportunity to hold up many enemies using your gun. Since bullets are rare, you don’t want to shoot anyone, and the gun is really more of a threat. When someone confronts you, you’ll usually have the ability to kill at least one person before they realize, using a surprise kill. At that point, you must hold up the others and pick them off one by one. When holding up an enemy, you can order them to back up, usually with the intention of kicking them into a pit or fire. However, it’s not so simple. The A.I. is smart, and will try to charge you if you turn your back for too long. Take too long in general, and all the enemies will charge you.

    There are also some smaller elements to this that make it more fun. For example, some enemies are stronger and have less fear. Take them out first, and the other enemies are more likely to put down their weapons and surrender. Other enemies are armored, and you’ll have to kill them with by hitting weak points. Later, you’ll get a bow that allows you to reuse your arrow, but is also less capable of holding up enemies.

    Despite the gameplay being fairly solid, not everything holds up as well.

    Even though the sound design is done well enough, the graphics are surprisingly outdated and there are even some graphical glitches occasionally. However, the biggest misstep is a story. Despite your character trying to find his family, he immediately gets sidetracked when he finds a young girl, Mei, who has been separated from her family. At that point, the story focuses on helping her and her family. Even though they promise to help you find their family in return, your character is all too willing to help them out without question, or without pressing on his family’s possible whereabouts. Too make matters worse, the game ends on an unsatisfying cliff hanger, despite not being any closer to your original goal, and by the end, there's just too much left out in the open.

    Despite the story's faults and cosmetic hiccups, the solid and innovative gameplay is what ultimately carries this game forward. For fans of survival games, you have to give this game a try. It has it's problems, but they pale in comparison to the good elements that are actually here.
    Expand
  27. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    I Am Alive is a very interesting survival game. The story is decent, but the story is not what makes this game good its actually the gameplay that kept me playing. The other thing that was awesome about this game was that if you ran out of bullets or supplies you would have to find more if not it could mean death. I Am Alive gave me a certain feeling that a game has not made me experienceI Am Alive is a very interesting survival game. The story is decent, but the story is not what makes this game good its actually the gameplay that kept me playing. The other thing that was awesome about this game was that if you ran out of bullets or supplies you would have to find more if not it could mean death. I Am Alive gave me a certain feeling that a game has not made me experience in years and that is surviving and feeling like i could die even if i made a small mistake, and that is why this game kept me hooked until the end. Expand
  28. May 12, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  29. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    This is a must buy game for survival fans the story line is short but unforgettable and the ending is very unexpected, you will have to play more than once in order to complete side objectives
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. I Am Alive is a near-perfect, gritty struggle to survive. [June 2012, p.78]
  2. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    I AM LIVE is an enthralling game that will draw you in from the very first few minutes that you start playing. Given the realism of the game, it can be quite frustrating, however this is the charm of the game as it opens up the title for quite a psychological ride that definitely challenges this genre, especially with how you interact with others from combat to conversations.
  3. Apr 21, 2012
    50
    Fans of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia will doubtlessly find the occasional thrill in I Am Alive's platforming elements, but its shortcomings are nevertheless increasingly glaring. A myriad of baffling design decisions result in a game that can't seem to get out of its own way. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making a punishing game and rewarding the player for mastering its unforgiving gameplay systems. But you're not wrestling with systems here – you're wrestling with their integrity.