Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: One year after a worldwide cataclysmic event that wiped out most of the human race, a man struggles for his survival in a desolate city as he tries to reunite with his long lost family. In this post-apocalyptic tale, there are no supernatural threats, just an everyman who faces a decayingOne year after a worldwide cataclysmic event that wiped out most of the human race, a man struggles for his survival in a desolate city as he tries to reunite with his long lost family. In this post-apocalyptic tale, there are no supernatural threats, just an everyman who faces a decaying and hazardous world and humanity’s darkest inclinations. Will you cling to your humanity and help strangers or are you ready to sacrifice others in order to survive? [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. I Am Alive is a surprising triumph. It's an original and satisfying challenge. A breath of fresh air. [April 2012, p71]
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    83
    There's a brutal, harsh overtone throughout that involves some explicit content and things of that nature, but it's all essential. And as I said before, if you get all anal about the control, the lack of total realism, and some erratic AI, you're going to be disappointed. But I think adventures like this are all about the experience.
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    82
    I Am Alive gives players a pure survival experience at a low price.
  4. 80
    A gripping survival adventure packed with solid puzzle design and meaningful decision-making.
  5. Bluff your way through a confrontation by aiming your empty gun at an attacker, forcing him back towards the ledge of a roof on a ten story building and then kick him into the abyss while screaming "This is Sparta!". [April 2012, p.102]
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    72
    Tense, tough and realistic often to the point of frustration, with a story and an original outlook. Mostly well designed - but sadly never 'fun.' [May 2012, p.110]
  7. Apr 21, 2012
    50
    Fans of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia will doubtlessly find the occasional thrill in I Am Alive's platforming elements, but its shortcomings are nevertheless increasingly glaring. A myriad of baffling design decisions result in a game that can't seem to get out of its own way. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making a punishing game and rewarding the player for mastering its unforgiving gameplay systems. But you're not wrestling with systems here – you're wrestling with their integrity.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    best game ever i found it so cool i thought it be like jumping on building crawling etc bout find out u can help people threaten people killbest game ever i found it so cool i thought it be like jumping on building crawling etc bout find out u can help people threaten people kill em slash em etc wish it was not downloadable game but disc alone Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    I loved playing this survival game (no horror, just survival). I loved the scarcity of supplies, weapons and ammo. I loved being able to killI loved playing this survival game (no horror, just survival). I loved the scarcity of supplies, weapons and ammo. I loved being able to kill the leader in a pack of enemies and then intimidate the weaker ones to surrender. I loved getting stuck facing off against 3-5 enemies with only one bullet in my gun and having to think fast on my feet and then SURVIVING. I loved the graphics, both the toxic haze covering everything at street level and the skyscrapers collapsed onto each other above the dust. I loved climbing my way through an office building on its side, with everything topsy-turvy. I loved helping Mai and her mother, and the random survivors looking for food or first aid or just a last cigarette before they die. I loved "I Am Alive". 9/10 Expand
  3. May 1, 2012
    8
    This game is just plain fun. Its strategy mixed with a little bit of uncertaintity as to whats around the next corner. I Am Alive is a veryThis game is just plain fun. Its strategy mixed with a little bit of uncertaintity as to whats around the next corner. I Am Alive is a very solid title out of Ubisoftt Shanghi well worth the $15 price tag. If youve yet to play, I recommend picking it up ASAP! Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    This is a good game, a really good game. "I Am Alive" was much better then I expected it to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start toThis is a good game, a really good game. "I Am Alive" was much better then I expected it to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. This game is very tense, from little things like if you'll have enough energy to finish your climb without having to use some of your, oh so valuable resources, or having to take on five guys with only two bullets. Not to mention the parts of the game where you can help other survivors by giving them some of your items, if you help them you'll be rewarded with points, a retry, and gamerpoints if you help them all, if you don't help them they will die (in one mission if you don't help someone, she later kills herself).The story is paper thin, but that's ok because this game is all about a mostly lonely atmosphere. On your first play through it will most likely take you anywhere for 4-6 hours to complete. Don't listen to the critics that scored this game 4.5/10, it's much better then that and it's well worth your money. I give it a 7.5 out of 10. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    This game is so insanely boring. Words don't do it justice. You basically climb, run, jump. All of these things take stamina. While itThis game is so insanely boring. Words don't do it justice. You basically climb, run, jump. All of these things take stamina. While it theoretically adds to the experience, I simply found it tedious. You deal with small groups of enemies with limited ammunition. This requires you to think about each bullet you spend. The gameplay is clunky and awkward. The story is pretty boring as well, and ends in a ridiculously unnecessary cliffhanger. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    This game had potential at the beginning i enjoyed the climbing and all round atmosphere, but what let this game down was its linear firstThis game had potential at the beginning i enjoyed the climbing and all round atmosphere, but what let this game down was its linear first person mode and repetitive AI confrontation's I was bored fairly quick Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Just terrible on every level. I can't think of a single thing I enjoyed about the game. Even the "saving the game" aspect of it wasJust terrible on every level. I can't think of a single thing I enjoyed about the game. Even the "saving the game" aspect of it was frustrating. It made the game more redundant than challenging. A lot of bad climbing with poor combat. Graphics are dull and lifeless as well. I know its a post apocalyptic dust covered wasteland but I don't enjoy my games to be in black and white. As far as "survival" games go this one falls short as well. Scavenging really isn't scavenging when you simply find resources glowing on the ground. I prefer searching in burnt out cars and other places similar to a Fallout style survival game then just finding them in the corner of an alley. As a kid trying to work his way through school on a limited budget, thanks for wasting my money. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers